Mariano Browne to Interview Afra Raymond on the CL Financial Bailout

Blogger extraordinaire Trinidadian Afra Raymond will be hosted on The 95 Mandate i95.5 FM radio talk show Friday 6 February 2015 at 10AM to discuss CL Financial bailout.

The 95 Mandate talk show is hosted by Mariano Browne a well known personage to Barbadians whose bio records he was CEO of Caribbean Commercial Bank, a CL Financial owned company and former PNM minister of finance. It is no secret Mariano Browne was fired by Lawrence Duprey as CEO of Caribbean Commercial Bank. As a former CL Financial insider he offers a unique insight into the workings of CL Financial, parent of CLICO.

The coming together of Raymond and Browne promises to be an informative occasion

11 comments

• This is the same Browne who teamed up with Beale to deliver the CCB cheque to Thompson a la Haggatt Hall theatre 2008?

• @Norst

And what was wrong with Browne letting Barbados know about the cheque?

• And the fight continues there and here…

Preliminary hearing into lawsuit against Govt

REQUESTED INFORMATION: Afra Raymond

Preliminary hearing into lawsuit against Govt

Afra Raymond in court…

By Rickie Ramdass rickie.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Jan 29, 2015 at 10:13 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jan 29, 2015 at 10:13 PM ECT

TODAY marks six years since Government announced moves to embark on a multi-billion-dollar bail-out following the collapse of the banking and financial services subsidiaries of the CL Financial Group, including CLICO.

Yesterday, questions surrounding the financial records of that bail-out arose at the High Court in Port of Spain during a preliminary hearing of a lawsuit filed against the Government by Afra Raymond, president of the Joint Consultative Council (JCC).

Raymond had requested that the information, among others, be released to him under the Freedom of Information Act, but following the Government’s failure to do so, he initiated judicial review proceedings for the court to determine the legality or illegality of the State’s decision to not release the information.

The purpose of yesterday’s hearing was for presiding judge Justice Ronnie Boodoosingh to entertain submissions from attorneys representing both sides on whether Raymond should be allowed to present fresh evidence during the substantive matter.

Raymond, who is represented by senior counsel Gilbert Peterson, is seeking to include a statement made by Finance Minister Larry Howai during the last budget presentation and, also, one made in Parliament by former finance minister Winston Dookeran.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Preliminary-hearing-into-lawsuit-against-Govt-290281271.html

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@ Nordst

The problem with “People like you” Nordst is that when wunna are asked to definitively express wunna opinion and make a difference that when you come to post about “Mariano Browne, a well known personage to Barbadians” and the absolute irony of having Browne, the pillar of financial propriety, of all people, interviewing Afro Raymond, it pulls that comment from you.

Like the Patellar Reflex, before you could help yourself, you jumped on the cuntputer and start typing out of raw incredulity a knee jolt.

Your predicament is that you know what you know about MB and if, after the challenge by the Blogmaster, you come out and say what you know about Mariano then ** and the rest of the faction will know that it is you, and, because you is who you is, then “Whaplax”

After a while posting here and elsewhere, or talking with people in genral, de ole man realises that this life is really a situation of “Let him who is without sin cast the first stone…”

Now one sees why in the face of man knowing that we are all sinners, why someplace like the Roman Catholic Church, for example, Mother of the Inquisition, and the institutional Seat of the Bulleration of little boys, contrived that verbal absolution afforded by 10 Hail Mary’s, even at the Hour at our death….

For without this practice, and equivalent proxies across world religions, we would have nothing to offset our “practiced backsliding” as we practice the belief that, I did not do what he did, I only had sex wid two married women, he did it with ten or I only tief $20.50 cents, Carrion tief $205K as we, while commenting on the indiscretions committed by others cover ourselves under the chapeau and belief that there are “degrees of sin”

• @PUDRYR

The bottomline is that the cheque could have been released by anyone with access to the bank’s files.not seems that Norst knows as certain fact it was released by Browne. What would have motivated Browne to release the cheque?

• pieceuhderockyeahright

Of course wunna know dat de ole man, since he retired, ent got much to do but go to Mens Fellowship pun a **, go to Feed My Sheep pun a Fridey, the supermarket pun a **, run from Sister Headly and she sisterly hugs in Church pun a Sunday, when de madam mek me tek a lift to church wid the ** leaders of the “Holier than Thou” Brigade

Wunna dun know dat de ole man gine come back heah and talk bout all uh wunna tomorrow, as soon as wunna do something, or even if wunna ent do it, but planning to do it, EvEN IF WUNNA DOAN EVEN KNOW WUNNA SELF DAT IT TO BE DONE!!

“Prescience in Officiousness” euphemism for expert in Udder People Business

• Well said sir: “Now one sees why … someplace like the Roman Catholic Church, for example, Mother of the Inquisition, … contrived that verbal absolution afforded by 10 Hail Mary’s, even at the Hour at our death….”——–

Apart from the little boys thing which we may have suspected but didn’t really know until it blow up, I always used to marvel how the Mafia Dons and soldiers would do what they do and then just easily go to confession and bang…all sins forgiven. Week after week after assassination after assassination.

Truly is symptomatic of the general hypocrisy in society.

• Daviid
    You never wondered why he high tailed out of Barbados so quickly? The word is he wanted a benefit, so he Beagle hatched a plan to take it to the CLICO big boss and ultimately the dearly departed Thompson.

• @Norst

All the newspaper reports widely available on the Internet says he and Shorey were fired and in fact Parris had him in Court on another matter. If you know different cough it up.

http://legacy.guardian.co.tt/archives/2008-02-15/news11.html

Did he not work at Butterfield after he left the Clico owned bank?

http://www.broadstreetjournalbarbados.com/top-stories/2007-11-26/mariano-browne-denies-any-wrongdoing-as-claimed-in-a-2004-lawsuit-brought-by-

• Mariano was gone from CCB long before the elections.

• A reminder this show is on today. We invite you to post/share comments.

Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s