Submitted by Rickford Burke, President, Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID)
I applaud President Obama for the bold reforms to the nation’s broken immigration system

I applaud President Obama for the bold reforms to the nation’s broken immigration system, albeit temporary. Immigration reform does not only impact our Latino brothers and sisters. Hundreds of thousands of immigrants from the Caribbean, South America and Africa now qualify for relief from the threat of deportation and will become eligible for lawful employment.

Almost all undocumented immigrants from the Caribbean and Guyana enter the United States lawfully but overstayed their visas and thus are out of status. A large percent has children and/or spouses who are either US citizens or permanent residents. Thousands more arrived before their sixteenth birthday but are ineligible for DACA because they are currently above age thirty-one. They have all lived here for a long time – decades in some cases, and are law abiding. America is their home. They deserve a shot at the American dream. Thanks to President’s initiates, they can now emerge from the shadows to pursue that dream, once they pass a criminal background check and pay any back taxes accrued.

This is a historic day for America – A nation of immigrants. Millions of families will remain united and millions of people will without fear begin to contribute to society and the US treasury. Economists forecast that this could boost GDP by over $1 trillion.

Republicans are not only opposing President Obama. They are attacking the relatives of millions of US citizens who vote, as well as millions of US permanent residents who will soon become voters.  When these millions of Americans go to the polls to exercise their franchise, they will remember who stood with them and fought to keep their families united and who fought to tear their families and the nation apart!

653 responses to “President Obama’s Immigration Reform Initiatives…”

1. @Pat

Do you watch Jeopardy?

What is Gallows Bait?

2. David

YOU HAVE THIS GROWN MAN WHO GOES BY THE NAME GEORGIE PORGIE, BEHAVING LIKE A THREE YEAR OLD ON THE BLOG AND YET YOU HAVEN’T GIVEN ANY VOICE TO HIS CONDUCT. IT KINDA REMINDS ME OF A PARENT WHO ALLOWS THE LOVE OF THEIR DELINQUENT CHILD TO CLOUD THEIR VISION OF REALITY. SOONER OR LATER YOU WILL BE FORCE TO TAKE A STAND WHETHER YOU LIKE IT OR NOT.

3. David

I think Pat watches the game: Who Wants to be a Millionaire. And can identify the definition of Hypocrisy when she sees it.

4. JACKASS
    EDUCATED PEOPLE OUGHT TO BE ABLE TO CONSTRUCT A PERFECT SENTENCE

YOU OUGHT TO BE ABLE TO DO THIS LONG BEFORE COMMON ENTRANCE EXAM

YOU ARE WITHOUT EXCUSE THERE

YOU ARE ONE OF THOSE DUNCES THAT GOT INTO ST LEONARDS BOYS WITH IO IN ENGLISH OR LESS AND WHO COULD NOT SPELL THEIR NAMES OR SPELL SIMPLE WORDS LIKE CAT RAT BAT FAT ETC

I KNOW THIS BECAUSE I ACTUALLY TAUGHT AT ST LEONARDS IN 74

DOMPEY YOU ARE A DUMMY
    30 YEARS IN THE USA DOES NOT MAKE YOU EDUCATED

YOU WRITE A LOT OF SHITE ON BU THAT IS IS BARE BOVINE EXCREMENT.

YOU CAN NOT FOLLOW A THREAD TO SAVE YOUR LIFE
    YOU ARE SO DELUDED YOU THINK THAT YOU CAN CHALLENGE FOLK

FOLK HERE ARE LAUGHING BEHOIND YOUR BACK AT YOUR SUBLIME STUPIDITY

CARRY ON AND KEEP THEM LAUGHING YOU STUPID ASS

5. THEN YOU WENT TO USA AND GOT A DEGREE FROM SOME LOWLIFE SCHOOL WHERE THE EXAMS ARE ALL SIMPLE MCQ QUESTIONS THAT YOU CAN GET CORRECT BY GUESSING

OR EXAMS WITH TRUE AND FALSE OR MATCHING

6. DAVID
    RE BU will venture to add, the message must resonate with the audience even if it motivates questions if initially the message is not understood.
    YOU MEAN LIKE MOST OF THE SHITE THAT PACHAMAMA PUTS OUT ON BU

7. dAVID
    I SENT YOU SOME PRACTICAL & RELEVANT STUFF TO POST ON DIABETES

8. David

I am going to take a break on this note David. The 13th century Jewish theologian and medical doctor Moses Miamonides, implore us to, ” Follow the truth no matter the source.”

9. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (make no riot)

10. @GP

5PM EST.

11. Georgie Porgie

You call yourself an educated man and allow and uneducated man to manipulate and influence your emotions so easily. (SHAME ON YOU RETARD) PG, your conduct clearly shows the polar distinction between your three education and Moneybrains’ first class one.

12. Dompey WROTE ON November 19, 2014 at 7:12 AM |
    I had a remarkable female philosophy professor in college, who taught me to question authority and challenge ideas.

UNFORTUNATELY SHE COULD NOT TEACH THE JACKASS THE COMMONSENSE TO PICK HIS BATTLES

YOU DONT CHALLENGE FOR CHALLENGE SAKE, YOU STUPID FOOL
    YOU MUST LEARN NOT TO KICK AGAINST THE PRICKS

THE BLOG USED TO RUN SMOOTHLY BEFORE YOU CAME ON HERE LAST YEAR WITH YOUR CONTINUAL CONCENTRATED SHITE

13. NO JACKASS YOU DO NOT MANIPULATE MY EMOTIONS AT ALL
    YOU JUST MAKE ME WONDER HOW CAN IT BE POSSIBLE THAT WE BREED JACKASSES OF YOUR CALIBRE IN BARBADOS

I HAVE NEVER MET A FOOL LIKE YOU IN ANY CLASS FROM LOW PRIMER ONWARDS——–EXCEPT OF COURSE WHEN I TAUGHT AT ST LEONARDS

I RATE YOU LOWER THAN PIG SHIT

AT LEAST ONE COULD THROW PIG SHIT IN THE GARDEN

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Kudos to the vision of a President who has decided that he is going out with a fanfare like none other while in his boots irrespective of their attempts to be lax and have an unfortunate incident.

Having determined that the ” cat is to be belled” I will like others watch and see if this man Obama, first and only black President of these United States, will be allowed to end what amounts to modern day slavery among business enterprise in said United States so called bastion of justice across the world or, will the governors of these individual states show him their disdain in deed as they have shown him, in word.

15. pIECE
    WHAT DO YOU THINK OF DR BEN CARSON THE RETIRED BRAIN SURGEON?

16. Georgie Porgie

What could possibly teach Barbadians about Diabetes that their don’t already know PG? Wuh looka hair, both foreign and domestic sweeter dan de Sugar cane juice we use taa steel from de white man up day by de stadium back en de day GP.

17. @pieceuhderockyeahright , wrote “modern day slavery among business enterprise”

You nailed it. Illegal immigrant = very cheap labour.

18. HANTS
    LIFE IN THE USA IS DESIGNED TO EMASCULATE MEN & GENERALLY ENSLAVE
    IT DEFIES LOGIC

19. Georgie Porgie

Dr Ben Carson, was a great pediatric Brain surgeon at Johns Hopskins Hospital. He was the head of the pediatric department at Johns Hopskins for many years. Would you believe the he and his brother came from a single family home? But the good think about Carson is the fact that as a kid he loved math. The bad thing about Carson PG is, the fact that he is a Republican like you.

20. @ Georgie Porgie

Why do you live in the United States?

Your attack on Dompey (poster) don’t you know is contradictive. Who is a jackass? Who, who writes a lot of shite on BU? You. Right? Carry on and keep them laughing!!!

21. Piece, you speak as though your on the left of evil, but you better be circumspect with respect with your loyalty to Mr.Obama? PG, don’t tex too kindly to that, for he is a down to the bone Republican. Which simply means that he Black on the outside and White on the inside. You feel me Piece?

22. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Look

Why does Dr Georgie live in the United States?

Because, irrespective of what color you are, if you are good at your craft, the system rewards you, And, unlike Bulbados does not let cronyism, political persuasion, social stratification so cloud the issue of what a man/woman can do, that you become pariah BECAUSE OF YOUR SKILLS

I admit here that I am a hypocrite for while I come here and preach cvntry and pride I actively tell the grandchildren overseas or those studying overseas to leave and do not come back

GP and others like GP are the ones who realize that it is better to be a second rate citizen in Amurica and know that you will be discriminated against than to be no citizen of no calibre in your own land in spite of the fact that you are bright IN FACT BECAUSE YOUR PHRYGIAN DONKEY IS BRIGHT

23. IF all the illegal immigrants were kicked out of Texas the agriculture industry would grind to a halt and many other minimum wage jobs.

24. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Georgie Porgie

I respect the accomplished neurosurgeon for without doubt he is stellar in his craft as a black neuroscientist

America IS NOT GOING TO TOLERATE ANOTHER NIGGA IN THE WHITE HOUSE, particularly with this one being so uppity.

Can you hear Mitt Romney saying “lawdie, looks heah what de last here negro Obama done bin done, why this here neuroscientist liable to release some sorta brain pathogen dat going mek us all laik them there niggas…maybe even up to 49% of them, or more”

Hilary, if her health keeps up, and Bill’s doggie keeps down, WILL BE PRESIDENT

25. pieceuhderockyeahright

i HAVE SEEN SOME OF OUR BEST DOCTORS WHO RETURNED HOME TO SERVE THEIR COUNTRY THAT HAD TO RUN BACK TO CANADA & THE USA

I HAVE HAD MY IDEAS REJECTED ONLY TO HEAR THEM REGURGITATED BY SUPERIORS OF THE SUPERIOR WHO REJECTED THE IDEA

AT LEAST I WAS ABLE TO INFLUENCE THE ESTABLISHMENT OF THE NATIONAL HEALTH SYSTEM VIA THE POLYCLINICS

26. pieceuhderockyeahright | November 23, 2014 at 5:35 PM
    YOU MAY BE RIGHT THAT America IS NOT GOING TO TOLERATE ANOTHER NIGGA IN THE WHITE HOUSE BUT DR CARSON IS A LEVEL HEADED AND REASONED PERSON

27. Why was Hilary not Pres before BO????????
    The answer says something about the power that pushed BO forward!
    Afterall, the Clinton name had a very wide following and one would anticipate a white woman would make it to the WH before a non white chap, if for no other reason than the number of White women versus the number of total non whites.

28. MoneyBrain | November 23, 2014 at 5:42 PM |
    Why was Hilary not Pres before BO????????
    The answer says something about the power that pushed BO forward!
    TRUE
    THERE WAS ALSO AN EVEN HIGHER POWER– THE ONE THAT WORKS TOWARDS THE FULFILLMENT OF THE FORMATION OF THE TEN TOES OF DANIEL’S VISION. AND THE RISE OF ANTICHRIST

FOR THIS AMERICAN POWER WILL HAVE TO BE DILUTED AND DESTROYED, BECAUSE AMERICA IS NOT INVOLVED AS A POWER IN THE ESCHATON.

29. I think it all depends on WHO is backing the non white person for Pres. Initially who would have expected BO to win even though he was well educated and a brilliant orator?
    The majority White population in the US may not be as irrational as some think.

30. YOU ARE SPEAKING OF PEOPLE POWER AND INFLUENCES
    I AM SPEAKING OF DIVINE INFLUENCES AND POWER

THE FULFILLMENT OF THE FORMATION OF THE TEN TOES OF DANIEL’S VISION. AND THE RISE OF ANTICHRIST ARE TWO OF THE INCREASINGLY FEWER OLT TESTAMENT PREDICTIONS TO BE FULFILLED

31. Georgie Porgie

You’re lot of laughs, I got to admit but I am sure deep down inside you meant well. But I have one question for you though: how is it possible for people to laugh behind my back on the information superhighway? And how do you know the collective thinking of all of the people on the blog? I am afraid of you PG because it appears as though you have been educated on the planet Pluto because your level of paranormal insight is extraneous to the common human understanding?

32. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

BO was not meant to win twice
    against hilary and mccain 08
    romney 12
    http://youtu.be/GzVutFLdAw0

33. Piece

Please tell GP that a Black man in America who is qualified on the Moral and Intellectual level is viewed by some as no more different than the Negroes down in the slumbs of America. If you want to see a practical example of what I am talking about, just Ben Carson walk through one of the richest communities of America late one night.

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@. easy

Was not expected not was not meant

35. Piece

It has little to do with the Black man’s moral and intellectual stance, but more to do with the perception some have of the Black man in America. Piece, do you remember what John F.Kennedy father told him when he was running for president, he saidt:” It is not who you are that matters most, but how people perceived you.” And the Black man in America is still perceieved in a negative light.

Listen! Ronald Reagan never rode a horse prior to running for the presidency. But the Republican master mind Pat Buchanan who was cognizant of the American love for the image of the cowboy. Thow a big broad cowboy hat upon the top of Reagan’s head and glue him to the saddle, and brother, history was made. PERCEPTION!

36. Georgie Porgie

My madda use taa saa, it is not who you are that really matters, but what you answer to. Now put that in yaa pipe an smoke it.

37. @ GP

Hi Doc. Maybe we ought to give domps a likkle ease. I was just reminded of a line in the Desiderata, quote :-
    “Desiderata

Go placidly amid the noise and haste, and remember what peace there may be in silence.
    As far as possible without surrender be on good terms with all persons.
    Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even the dull and ignorant; they too have their story.
    Avoid loud and aggressive persons, they are vexations to the spirit.
    If you compare yourself with others, you may become vain and bitter;
    for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself.

Enjoy your achievements as well as your plans.
    Keep interested in your career, however humble; it is a real possession in the changing fortunes of time.
    Exercise caution in your business affairs; for the world is full of trickery.
    But let this not blind you to what virtue there is; many persons strive for high ideals;
    and everywhere life is full of heroism.

Be yourself.
    Especially, do not feign affection.
    Neither be critical about love; for in the face of all aridity and disenchantment it is as perennial as the grass.

Take kindly the counsel of the years, gracefully surrendering the things of youth.
    Nurture strength of spirit to shield you in sudden misfortune. But do not distress yourself with imaginings.
    Many fears are born of fatigue and loneliness. Beyond a wholesome discipline, be gentle with yourself.

You are a child of the universe, no less than the trees and the stars;
    you have a right to be here.
    And whether or not it is clear to you, no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should.

Therefore be at peace with God, whatever you conceive Him to be,
    and whatever your labors and aspirations, in the noisy confusion of life keep peace with your soul.
    With all its sham, drudgery and broken dreams, it is still a beautiful world. Be careful. Strive to be happy.”

© Max Ehrmann 1927. Unquote.

38. @Piece etc.
    Because, irrespective of what color you are, if you are good at your craft, the system rewards you,
    So it appears on the surface, but are the scions of the 1% languishing at home hoping to get a call for a lil pick? If Barack from Chicago suddenly appeared on the pristine lawns of Harvard or Yale with his backpack what will the other students saying under their breath? “Affirmative Action Baby” but when George from Texas appears does anyone ever think “Legacy preference”?

The rich, powerful and aristocratic are always rewarded by the system, all others fall in line sometimes they are allowed into the Party, other times they get to peer through the window.

39. @Sargeant

It is all defined as capitalism. Please take the good, bad and ugly.

40. De Hood

The Dull and the ignorant can be seen through the eye of perception. Let me give you an example: if you and Georgie Porgie were to engage in a conversation with Einstein and Newton and the decision was made all of you were going to discuss the Classical as well as the Quantum Physics. I am sure Einstein and Newton would regard you and GP as intellectual nincompoops because of ya’ll Harrison College intellects.

41. Surely ignorance has no bounds!

42. GP u making ac ashamed man.. i know u have cuss me out repeatedly but these innate and sour comments borders on insanity, i think it is time you chew on a candy or two,,,bro…

43. AC
    U KNOW THAT I DONT CARE TWO HOOTS ABOUT YOU OR WHAT YOU THINK
    YOU ARE IN THE SAME BOAT AS DONKEY
    AN IRRITANT AND A DESTROYER OF THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE
    GO AND LEAVE ME IN PEACE
    YOU HAVE BEEN AT IT SINCE 2008

44. De hood

GP, can inform you that in America and I am quite sure elsewhere in world, one does not receive brownie points for attending schools such as Harrison as well as Queen college. It is quite quite laughable to say the least De hood(!) But if it inflate the egos go right ahead, but in this part of world, you receive Brownie points for attending Ivy League Universties and placing first in your class as Sir Arthur Lewis did at the London School of Economics.

45. @David
    It is all defined as capitalism. Please take the good, bad and ugly
    ++++++++
    If you think it is only confined to capitalist societies, you got another think coming

46. @ domps

Skipper, at my age I ain’t looking fuh nuh brownie or whitie or yellowie points! All I am interested in now is how my creator gine look at all de wufflessness dat I bin doin fuh mos’ ah meh life instead ah listenin’ tuh Him and His only Begotten Son. Ah is hopin He will have mercy on my soul becos it ain’t gine be much longer before GP and David gine have to help PLANT meh ol’ bones or throw dem in de oven at Coral Ridge! Lol.

47. David

HERE THE BOTTOMLINE: IF GEORGIE PORGIE, PIECE, BUSH TEA AND DE HOOD CONSTITUTES THE EDUCATION CLASS IN BARBADOS, IT’S NO WONDER WHY THIS BLOG HAS BEEN ABLE TO ENGARE THE ATTENTION OF THE YOUNGER GENERATION OF BARBADIANS. ( HAVE YOU EVER STOP AND THOUGHT ABOUT THAT DAVID)? I AM TRYING TO HELP YA’LL BECAUSE I STAND IN THE MIDDLE , AND I AM TELL YA’LL AGAIN THAT: YA’LL ARE IGNORANT, CLOED-MINDED AND SET IN YA’LL ANTIQUATED WAY OF LOOK AT LIFE. YA’LL BETTER LISTEN TO DAMIAN, I AM TELLING WANNAH.

48. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

Hilary started the Obama race bashing when she ran an ad about a lazy CiC in bed sleeping

49. @Domps
    It is all relative and in Bim those families that have a child who gains a spot at HC/QC are regarded highly, especially 40-50 years ago when few went to Uni. Many who attended HC with me and performed very well had to go to work to support their family.

The chaps who took school seriously were almost all Ivy League material. Some were GENIUSES and have their own Software Corps today having received PhDs from top flight Unis or are MDs etc
    Many who were undiscipled as students became successful in business.

It makes little sense to try to demolish the standing of top flight institutions but it does make sense to say that for various reasons there are many who narrowly missed entry due to some complication eg developed a couple years late. My cousin went to Foundation but won a Bdos Schol and then came 2nd at Manchester Uni, another Bajan came first.

50. David/ De hood/ Piece/ Bush Tea

When you’re ignorant and believe that others are ignorant because the scope of your understand prevents from understanding that you’re ignorant, it’s a shame.