Submitted by Anthony Davis
Enrollment at UWI, Cave Hill affected by government's policy to exact tuition cost from students.
Enrollment at UWI, Cave Hill affected by government’s policy to exact tuition cost from students.

“Not a single one!

That was the reaction of a senior official at the Cave Hill campus of the University of the West Indies in response to SUNDAY SUN questions whether any students had turned up with proof of having received one of the thousands of bursaries promised by Government eight weeks ago.

On July 12, while speaking at an official ground-breaking ceremony at the campus, Minister of Education, Ronald Jones, disclosed: “Young people have been saying you need to do more to help us over the threshold now that we’ve made the adjustment in tuition fees and we are committed to that. In the first few years, we will do some 3000 bursaries to help those with challenges and this has already been agreed to.

“We can say with the greatest of accuracy that not one person who has registered has brought any document or payment showing they have received a bursary from the Ministry of Education, and as far as I am aware the university has received no correspondence from the ministry indicating that any bursaries have been awarded,” the official said on condition that he not be identified.

“On August 29 Minister Jones revealed that 1695 people had applied for bursaries to cover tuition fees and officials of his ministry were processing them, after which he would take the matter to Cabinet for “sign off”. Well placed sources in the ministry told the SUNDAY SUN they were unaware of any paper being taken to Cabinet on Thursday, the last time  Cabinet sat. Repeated attempts to reach Jones for a comment were unsuccessful.”

Well, well, well!

The Government of promises and plans have struck at the heart of the poor, the needy, and the vulnerable once again. This Government which always seems to have such lofty plans and make such promises which they cannot put into action is only demolishing everything that others have put in place to help those mentioned. Now they cannot even keep their promise to help them with bursaries!

Mr. Blackett said that it is a “people-centred government” and I still want to know what he means by that!. Which people do you mean, Mr. Blackett? The Butch Stewarts of this world and their ilk? You certainly do NOT mean the lower echelons of our society, because you and the rest of this government have done nothing but pull rug after rug from under their feet.

RPB needs to change the words to his song “Cahn find me brother” to “Cahn find me Minister”. Ministers in this government seem to go AWOL quite often. Only recently the Minister of Agriculture couldn’t be found either. I wonder with whom this one is hanging out.

Is the minister sure that he didn’t place his paper work in his cabinet at home? Maybe this all came about because he said he wanted to do the bursaries. You don’t “do” bursaries. You award them or give them. That’s probably why he doesn’t know what he has done with them.

You have millions of dollars to pump into a hotel which is always about to start building again, but “No Seasons” seems to be too far gone, or nearly $250,000 to spend on a trip, but cannot find the money for the bursaries for the scions of the poor, the needy and the vulnerable. This means that only the progeny of the upper echelons of our society will be able to study certain subjects because of the high tuition fees.

Is this being “people-centred?

I think not!

On the other hand: Enemies’ promises are made to be broken!

302 responses to “UWI Cave Hill Takes a Hit”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

It would seem that this Government is committed to keeping poor people poor and increasing the level of poverty except among the political class.

2. Topic: Coping with the Cost of Education Venue Law Lecture Theatre

Share this event. Come and let your voice be heard #Barbados.

3. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

This is just one of Mia’s PR stunts. If she really cared about the sufferings that this incompetent Government is inflicting on the people why has she refused to bring a case against the Government for the illegal increase in water rates. I am not convinced that she gives a hoot about the people of this country. These people’s assembly is only designed to improve her profile not get results.

4. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

Let your voice be heard and VOTE those CROOK , LIARS AND SCUMBAGS OUT OF OFFICE, The only way a crook change his mind to do right is when there is a GUN to their heads.

Stop trusting LIARS and dont even look to shake hands with a Sumbag.

Violet Beckles always said never dress up to go see no crooks, These People have no shame,

Now Sir UWI Crook to move up in a Promotion ? Boy o-boy only the crooks getting pay raise and all other going home ,

Proof all over the place and no one cant seem to see the truth ,All must be blinded with RED AND YELLOW ,, WAIT TILL GREEN SHOWS UP , GREEN IS FOR EYE SIGHT CALIBRATION ,

5. are-we-there-yet Avatar

I don’t think they are committed to keeping poor people poor. The political class does not care about anybody except their families and friends.

In addition, I think they are basically inept and overwhelmed with the situation they have placed themselves and the nation in. Everything that’s been published recently about their inability to pay relatively small debts to or for the people who have supported them over the years points to the fact that they just can’t afford to pay any substantial committments at this time and the source of funds has dried up whether they would like to honour these committments or not. Ignore the spinning Governor of the CB,

The 1/4 million spent on the Samoa and New Zealand trips is just akin to Nero fiddling while Rome was actually burning.

The situation has to be very dire. Miller knows what the next phase will be.

6. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

We at PLANTATION DEEDS , know fist hand that MIA is a first class Bitch , crook , Liar and bag of Scum , She cant face Us with her control media lap dogs, We know the crimes of murder and death , So CASWELL you think she cares about water, Maybe only water under the bridge that happens each day of her crooked life before she faces Jail after the next election,
    Remember MIA , no time LIMIT on Fraud and Murder,
    MIA so nasty as a so called woman ? AG and now leader of the doomed BLP that even Owen had to walk from you,, Mia is a time bomb about to go off, Now you know whit her size its going to be a mess.

7. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Poor Mia is damned whatever she does or does not do.

8. @Are-we-there-yet

Inniss to head delegation to China

INTERNATIONAL TRADE and investment opportunities in the Caribbean will feature high on the agenda when Minister of Industry, International Business, Commerce and Small Business…

9. UWI drop

10. Did this Minister of Education speak out of turn as he always does?

At the time when he announced government would award bursaries, I took note that he said he “was not to say but I will say it nevertheless”. Out of a clear blue sky at the time when the elderly of this country were frightened into paying the solid waste tax because they feared that this wicked government would take away their properties if they did not pay……………as the money began to “flow” in, Ronald Jones made this statement.

I wonder if there was ever any discussion at cabinet level about awarding bursaries. The heat was on the dems and he opened his mouth and anything flew out. I may be wrong to draw this conclusion but you would note that as soon as the Stinkliar gave extra time to pay the tax, lines dwindled at BRA offices and the talk about bursaries died down until last week after the UWI reported that the numbers were down.

When students began asking questions……….you would note that at the meeting of the scholarship winners, Jones mentioned NOTHING about bursaries only loudly telling students to go across the yard and apply to the Student Revolving Loan. Dont you find it strange that he would not refer to the awarding of bursaries right when he was congratulating scholarship winners? I believe the dems intended to use the solid waste tax dollars to save some face and when the money stop flowing in, they were left up shit street.

How else would one explain that a ministry responsible for education would wait to award bursaries weeks after an academic term has begun. Does this makes sense to sensible people? Dems really feel Bajans are fools!

11. Perhaps someone will enlighten me…..I don’t understand how a government can offer a ‘bursary’. Surely ‘bursaries’ are offered and funded by the university institution to whom application is made by either an intending or a resident student in case of financial hardship; and this typically to cover a proportion of fees and other ancillary burdens such as the purchase of books? Applications would surely normally be made to the university which would assess the merit of the application and make a final decision.

12. @ Caswell Franklyn
    How much longer, will it take for you to get over what you think the
    B L P has done to you , man you are over 60 years let it go , and try living with out HATE

13. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David;
    Re. the proposed Trade and Investment trip to China headed by Donville Inniss, I think that this could be very useful if they don’t take too many people; if it is largely funded by the Chinese; and if they fully utilise the services of their very astute Ambassador there. A good case can be made for that trip unlike the one to Samoa and New Zealand which only merited perhaps a delegation of 4 that could have reduced the cost substantially especially if the PM stayed home.

Barbados should have been represented by a small delegation at the SIDS conference in Samoa with the Foreign Affairs Minister heading the delegation supported by 3 or so relevant technicians. Maxine McClean’s suggestion that Barbados’ voice would not be allowed to be heard there unless the delegation was led by the PM was not only laughable but almost certainly a blatant untruth.

14. So can anyone state if it’s factual that Chris Sinkliar bought a yacht and when questioned recently at a function, said that he’s always had money?

15. Always had money and raised in poverty, and worked for a piss poor NGO.

Stupseee!!!!!!!!!!!!

16. Barbados govt offers 3,000 bursaries to help students attend UWI
    Saturday, July 12, 2014 | 9:55 AM

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados (CMC) – The Barbados government, which last year announced that it would stop paying tuition fees for its nationals attending the University of the West Indies (UWI), says it will provide an estimated 3,000 bursaries to help students attend the tertiary institution.

“I have not gone public with it till now. Based on the resources which we have under the Ministry’s control, we should be able to do about 3,000 bursaries,” said Education Minister Ronald Jones.

His announcement comes on the heels of complaints that interest rates on students’ loans are too high.
    “I know young people have been saying ‘you need to do more to help us over the threshold now that we have made the adjustment in tuition fees and we are committed to that.”

“THE UNIVERSITY of the West Indies’ Cave Hill campus today reported a 28 per … He said there was a 34 per cent drop in new student registrations, from 2 240 last year to 1 468 this year.”

This means that there were obviously no beneficiaries of these bursaries.

Ronald Jones should be held accountable. Sadly, there is no legislation in Barbados to support “recall”. Unfortunately, we have to tolerate the likes of him, Kellman, Denis Lowe, Estwick with his occasional hot and cold rantings, Sinckler and Stuart for another 3 years and 5 months.

17. Reminds me of when David Thompson’s principal political adviser (wha’ he name now?) said that “The Prime Minister [David Thompson] is accustomed to living large.

The piss poor barefoot son of a single mother who was only a secretary.

Accustomed to living large m @ss!!!!

We all know that it was CLICO policy holder’s money that was funding the largesse

18. Anyone would with commonsense would have known that allowing children to ride free on buses would end up with many of them abusing the privilege and that it would be unsustainable.

It has taken these dummies we have for a government six years to find this out. I have always maintained that the children should have been asked to pay a little even if only twenty five cents. They would be taught that nothing is for free. Furthermore free bus fares was a political stunt by the dead king for cheap political gain. It was never costed to see the impact it would have had on an already debt and cash strapped Transport Board.

What would have made sense to any right thinking government would have for this to be done at the school level. The guidance counselors could have drawn up a list of those children who truly needed the help. The TB could then have issued bus tickets as were used long ago, the other children could then continue to pay as they go. In this way, the Education Ministry would not have have to cut money from the schools to pay the TB.

What idiots we have ruling this country. They chickens are coming home to roost.

What it is the Dems told us……… Barbados is more than an economy, it is a society. Well, the dems do have a society……..and, we are seeing the fruits of their folly!

19. @Artaxerxes | September 9, 2014 at 8:05 PM |

“Barbados govt offers 3,000 bursaries to help students attend UWI
    Saturday, July 12, 2014 | 9:55 AM

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados (CMC) – The Barbados government, which last year announced that it would stop paying tuition fees for its nationals attending the University of the West Indies (UWI), says it will provide an estimated 3,000 bursaries to help students attend the tertiary institution”.

Artaxerxes,

I understand that the bursaries will only be for $1500 or $1800 and they will be doled out as only the dlp can.

20. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

I think Ronald jones is the worst minister of education Barbados has ever seen. he has destroyed the education system. he has AWARDED development scholarships to people walking off the street and requesting.THEM ignoring the advice of his technocrats who now do not offer him any advice. They continue to argue he advises himself so they will watch him destroy the Ministry and the education system. They will allow him to kick down doors and crack some heads in achieving the targeted goals of achieving the destruction of the system over which he presides and demotivating the people who work around hum,
    I can trust nothing Ronald jones or Chris Sinckler say, they are two politicians Barbados should not trust, they continue to deceive barbadians over and over. It is time for them to be removed from their positions.

21. Both these older jack o lantern DLP and BLP factions must go from the parliament of Barbados or be forced to go from it by the broad masses and middle classes of people of this country, in the shortest time possible.

These intellectually and politically backward, bankrupt and discredited DLP and BLP governments have been systematically destroying many of the affairs of the people of this country.

Imagine the BLP hosting a panel discussion on Coping With The Cost of Education to be held at the Law Lecture Theatre, University of the West Indies (UWI), Cave Hill Campus, tomorrow at 7 pm (Daily Nation, Tuesday, September 9, 2014), when it is totally clear that there are no money costs of education what so ever, fundamentally because money and education are two totally different variables that do not connect at all??

So money cost can never ever emerge from the provision of education any where in this world including at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus.

Indeed, what absolute philosophical backwardness!!

22. So Sinckler sailing yacht bwoi?Remember the liar tell Parliament 2 people hear somebody threaten he life and he got to get 24 hr police protection.So wuh,de harbour police out dey wid he now?Effing stinking liar.Effers.Bare foot bag bline hoes.
    And what about that Trini woman name Dookeran but spelt slightly different come to give advice to the cabinet to go to the IMF and get devalue like Trini did three or four times in the last 30 years and up to now with a 10 billion US budget,can’t get back on its feet up to now.Don’t talk bout Guyana and Jamaica.The OECS holding their heads above water if you please!Barbados should bite the bullet and join the OECS forthwith and protect the Barbados currency.Left to Idi Amin Stuart,SInckler,Worrell,Boyce and Jepter,Barbados headed for a devaluation as sure as this economy going collapse with all this taxation and borrowing to pay current expenses.Which household can survive if you have to borrow everymonth to pay light,water,telephone.food,clothes in other words the essentials.That is what the Barbados Government is doing:borrowing to pay salaries and current expenses.It is unsustainable.
    Fire the Dems now!or pay the price soon!It later than you think,ya hear!

23. overseasbajanyankee | September 9, 2014 at 8:36
    I can trust nothing Ronald jones or Chris Sinckler say, they are two politicians Barbados should not trust, they continue to deceive barbadians over and over. It is time for them to be removed from their positions.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………….
    And who has the power to do that? The same man who told us that he has all confidence in his Finance Minister, and the same man who pulled down Ronald Jones a peg, from acting as PM . Probably Jack Warner is a better bet for removing Jones.

24. Prodigal Son

Allowing school children to travel freely on the bus was an excellent idea yet by government. prodigal, education at the university level is free in France and I am sure many other countries in Europe, so what’s your point? And what is so free about riding on some dirty bus? You have to give the children some credit because children are cognizant of the fact that the finer things in life cost money. And how does forcing poor children to pay a few dollars to travel on a dirty bus, teach them personal-responsibility?

25. Caswell. It is about time you shift your venom against Mia. Mia is just an opposition leader that can only enlighten the public about the injustices being forced upon the electorate. The fundamental problem with partisan politics is party supporters love of making any opposition leader life as miserable as possible. If Mia give up the position, you will see the accolades bestowed on her. That’s the game of politics – dirty, spiteful, deceitful and lied bunch of political frauds masquerading as politicians. We need to speak, not with forked tongues, but be fair to everyone.

26. Prodigal Son, we often cry about the way in which government is taxing us to death, well, let us just look at this free travel by our school children as one way of obtain a return on our taxes.

27. @ Dompey, Bro , You keep referring to dirty buses.I take it that you are referring to the interior? Who are mainly to blame for such conditions. I recalled working on a 1940 something ex London Transport bus in the late 1980 that still had in its original upholstery. Teaching the children personal responsibility includes respecting other peoples properties ,otherwise when they become adults , they naturally add to the problem of littering the interior of the buses,and everywhere else.

28. Tell me Why

It is not about venom against Mia: I know that she is as genuine as a three-dollar bill.

Mottley admitted that the case against the Government for illegally raising the water rates is winnable but she will not pursue it because she might have to repay the money if the case is decided against the Government and then there is a change in Government. She said so in the presence of a number of people that I can name but won’t do so for now.

So my friend, “Tell me Why” you see, it has nothing to do about venom, I just honestly believe that she is bad for this country. I don’t have a venomous fang in my body. LOL!

29. @ Caswell.

You said “you see, it has nothing to do about venom, I just honestly believe that she is bad for this country.”

Please define “BAD” within the context of managing a country. The lady is pro-active in her thoughts, her decision, her motivation, her financial understanding in moving this country. At least, we will hear a leader with balls, just like T & T PM who is leading from the front and not getting on like Christopher Columbus the historian. Give de damn lady a break and you will surely be able to have more members in your union since employment will increase, money will again be in circulation, businesses will be flourishing once again and Barbados will begin to move forward to be a first rated country once again. Think about it my blood buddy and friend. Ha Ha.

30. Caswell;

Please explain the reason you gave above (post @ 10.35) for concluding that Mia is as genuine as a three-dollar bill.

As I understand it. You said that She thinks that a case brought against the current Government for raising the water rates is winnable.

She will not bring such a case against the Government because (if she wins, presumably) SHE might have to repay the money if the Government changes and also presumably she becomes PM.

This qualifies her to be as genuine as a 3-dollar bill.

Will you explain why “she” and not the government would have to repay the money which presumably would be refunds to the consumers, obviously a hefty sum, but unlikely to be her responsibility under any circumstance?

Looked at differently, could not bringing a case against the present government, be seen as offering help to the current government in its management of Barbados’ scarce resources and not possibly saddling it with unpayable debt at this time, especially since we have all paid the increased rates over the past few years and no one is asking for a refund for the bad taxation policy? Where does this reflect on her genuiness?

Give us a few more examples as that one is somewhat weak, imho. Could there be some other reason for not bringing that case and perhaps others against the Government at this time that revolve around the BLP having no stomach to be in Government at this time?

31. The question is should we hold a child aswerable for actions he or she may not fully understanding? That question is left to the child psychologist who makes the final determination on whether or not a child understands the course of his or her actions, or the legislators who are charge with implement the laws which governs our behavior?

Colonel, Cognitive-Science clearly informs us that there is so much you can do with a brain that hasn’t been fully equipped with the necessary infrastructure. Young people brains are still in the process of maturation and therefore, their ability to reason as wel as to make value decisions aren’t where it ought be. So we obviously cannot hold them fully accountable for some of their negative behavior. The law claims on the one hand, that a child cannot give consent to sexual intercourse beyond the age of 16 because of his or her capacity to understand the nature of such action, but on the other hand, it is okay for those implement the law to charge a child as an adult because his or her actions were premeditated. Need I go any further to explain the contradictory nature of the criminal law?

Oh Please! Colonel, have you done anything wrong when you were a child? I remember the days when my parents made reiterated endeavors to inculcated their values of personal responsibility upon me, but still they didn’t little to curtail my friends( who had had a meaningful influence over my actions) and myself from stealing the White man’s sugar cane in Waterford, just behind the National Stadium. My parents and quite a number of my friends parents attempts to teach us the Golden-Rules, did very little to preventing us from stealing people mango during mango season. Word of wisdom sir: children have never been good at listening to their elders, but their have never failed to imitate and emulate their parents negative conduct. Colonel, you were once a child I hope and you understand quite well what I am trying convey to your listening. And finally, just try to put yourself in the mind of a child for one minute, in an effort to ascertain whether or not your conduct were anymore different than the young people of today?

32. Lincoln Carrington Harper Avatar
    Lincoln Carrington Harper

David:

As a blog master you’ve got to do better than this! UWI (Cave Hill) is an institution, which is neither a black ball, a billiard ball, or any other kind of ball. In fact it can be argued, plausibly, that the UWI Chill has no balls at all. But, if you wish to claim that the persons that populate that institution – admin staff, teaching staff, and students – have taken a hit in the balls, let’s have a discriminating analysis of the effect of the trauma. Just a thought!

33. @Lincoln Carrington Harper

You realize this is a submission from Anthony Davis? What some of you need to do is attack the issues and leave BU out of it. There has been a drop in admissions, deal with it!

34. Caswell Franklyn | September 9, 2014 at 6:49 PM |

This is just one of Mia’s PR stunts. If she really cared about the sufferings that this incompetent Government is inflicting on the people why has she refused to bring a case against the Government for the illegal increase in water rates. I am not convinced that she gives a hoot about the people of this country. These people’s assembly is only designed to improve her profile not get results.”

Bro Cas all of what you are saying might be true but shouldn’t the opposition be perceived to be speaking out on such issues which are hurting the poor.? should the embattled leader of the opposition not try to raise her profile in some way lest she been as irrelevant? I think she has a duty to be more proactive.

35. “So can anyone state if it’s factual that Chris Sinkliar bought a yacht and when questioned recently at a function, said that he’s always had money?”

So what; that is his business. We black people seem to think that only white people are entitled to luxuries. I bet if it were bizzy, you would be singing his praises and not questioning his taste.

36. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

Even though I have no love lost for Mr. Jones, I believe that the country can ill afford to continue to provide free tertiary education, all though the cost govt is asking its citizens is not much, The great America where I am residing does not provide free tertiary education, I am aware that there are a number of opportunities for students to benefit by obtaining grants and scholarships. This is time for the selfish private sector to contribute to Barbados’ development in this regard. for example, those institutions which benefit from the political largesse can assist. The hotel sector which continue to suck the country dry could likewise assist. For example, the weatherhead gentleman, the Jada man, the Maloney man among others,

I note that UWI intake is down, I would like the blog master to obtain from uwi if that means 1st year students or whether that figure includes repeat students. The trimming of uwi’ s role might be a good thing in the short term. it would give that institution time to revisit its push strategy it implemented over the years by introducing so many courses without evaluating their relevance to the cbean. I am told that that institution has been offering a Masters in project management and that masters is not accepted internationally, and further more graduates cant really cant use their knowledge after graduation, Perhaps that institution can cut down on such courses and integrate some project management courses into the MBA.

It is now time for uwi to internationalise its institution and earn fx exchange. For example, here in the usa, I am told, some educational institutions must have a certain percentage of international students to have state funding. govt should consider this option and force the lazy administrators who are highly paid to assist in earning their keeps. It cannot be business as usual.

Govt should without delay allow for the contribution towards educational plans as a charge against income tax. This would allow for the growth of another sector of the financial sector. I can hear people shouting that the poor cant afford such investment, but the middle and upper class can. That’s why we would need to have systems in place to provide grants for deserving students. The time has long past when a society with such limited resources must revisit its development strategy.

Yes, I have benefitted from free education while in Barbados, and I have paid for education here and I know what it is to make the sacrifice to succeed. By the way, even though I don’t have plenty, I have ensured that one family member who has been impacted is ot denied the opportunity to complete the final year. yes some of those who are shouting loud about the introduction of fees and who can afford can assist even offering grants or loans to their family members in need of such assistance. Some years ago, in time of plenty I refused to allow a member to take a burdensome loan and every month religiously that loan is repaid.

37. how about the situation at BCC? you have a raving mad woman named natalie walthrust ‘teaching’ Government and Politics for 14 long years!!!! The BCC principal is DOING NOTHING to get rid of her and she is walking around smug smug this semester despite the fact that she has plagiarised another staff member’s work.

38. @overseasbajanyankee

Many agree with you the funding of ‘free tertiary’ education was unsustainable, the challenges however is n the implementation of it. Check page 3 of Barbados today for a decent article on admissions.

39. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

thanks

40. So just as there is nothing such as the money cost of education, there is nothing such as the money cost of living, the money cost of doing business, fundamentally because money and living and doing business are so absolutely different variables, that money and they do NOT connect what so ever, even when in many instances living and doing business connect at various points.

It is clear therefore that these terms the cost of living and the cost of doing business do not make any sense what so ever and that therefore they are absolute nuisance terms when conceived or used by persons generally, since money can never ever represent or measure, quantitatively or qualitatively, how one lives or how one does business in any part of this world, including Barbados, where money is used by countless people.

We in the PDC have previously often essentially submitted on here – BU – that money is defined as a non-tradeable, non-consumable (and non-ingestible), measurable, usable, recyclable, socio-psychologically reactable to, physical commodity – and the only one of its kind in the world – that carries denominations for purposes of its users creating its own uses (at the same time as they are using it) out of their own nominal incomes, revenues, and transfers (commercial or financial transfers) etc. (meaning out of money and its uses themselves).

So clearly the two fundamental purposes of money in the “world” of using money are:

1) to ideologically philosophically psychologically represent/express remunerations and their costs, and

2) to mathematically statistically measure those same remunerations and their costs.

Such point to how human beings – using money – logically rationally delimits money to such narrower confines of uses and not to involving any representing/measuring of any broader parameters of education, living, business etc where so ever, whereby it is impossible to do so for the reasons stated earlier and more.

So, what logical rational backwardness pervertedness (especially peddled by so-called economists) about the money cost of education, of living, of doing business any where in this world!!

41. Code Name Octopussy Avatar
    Code Name Octopussy

The DLP is a dissappointment

42. Code Name Octopussy Avatar
    Code Name Octopussy

Yuh mean the DLP is a waste that is what yuh mean Richard

43. So, in view of the above PDC contributions and in respect of those few fundamental principles concerning the use of money and what it specifically represents/expresses/measures in various contexts in Barbados and beyond, it is absolutely irrebutably irrefutably clear and obvious that when – at this juncture – the UWI is handing out so much money to various people – staff, providers of commercial goods and services, here and beyond, or getting some financial institutions to do so on its behalf, it must be too that it must also seek to and get – at this juncture too – reasonable increases in money contributions to it from staff, students, businesses, and other users of its facilities and services, and monetary donations, gifts and grants from many others.

Indeed, in doing the latter there are clearly absolutely no relationships between those things and all students’ education/indoctrination there, and or their particular ways modes of living, or their particular ways of doing business.

Thus, for any one therefore to attempt to introduce into the discourse that Cave Hill must almost always properly manage its money affairs, silly notions of the cost of education going up, so therefore students at Cave Hill must contribute more money to their education/indoctrination down there; stupid notions or assumptions of the poverty/the prosperity of some students and or their families, and therefore to falsely conclude that one set must give over very little money for their education, whilst the other set must give over much money for the same education that the ones in poverty are getting; some outlandish ideas that medium/big business should be contributing more money to Cave Hill simply because they are the ones that are presumed by many persons to have been benefiting from the skills of the UWI graduates they employ, and many more relevant false arguments that are made by many persons from time to time on the issue; do show the inclination of many of these people making such arguments to be entirely emotional polemical subjective in their arguments on the matter of the soundness, or lack of it, of the current administration of the finances at Cave Hill, whilst avoiding connecting with the fact that the general administration at Cave Hill must ensure that it properly fairly makes fundamental use of money in relationship to the relevant others receiving it, historically currently, that social commercial household personal sectors – including the inefficient irrational government and core financial sectors, businesses, and adults must also ensure that they properly fairly understand make fundamental use of money in relationship to the relevant others receiving it, historically currently, and furthermore that they ( Cave Hill’s general financial administration, sectors, adults, etc) must make sure that the relevant others do similarly (properly fairly understand make fundamental use of money) in relationship to their giving money to them.

That is why a certain future coalition government of Barbados and of which the PDC will be part shall substantially help to drastically reduce the increasingly gargantuan real actual cost of use of money (local/foreign) in Barbados, through the implementation of the appropriate political legislative regulatory financial policies to help achieve such a goal.

44. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

@PDC

I don’t normally comment on articles which are posited under your banner, but have to say that this articles is a lot of economic rubbish rambling all over the place. You need to say things succinctly for the average man to understand and reply to you. This intellectual garbage is for the stuff can,

45. I believe that University education in Barbados should structured so that all children who want a University education can get it.

University education must be heavily subsidised by government to help those who cannot afford tuition fees.

Unlike Canada there are no part time jobs for students or even parents so it is very difficult for low income families to pay tuition fees in Barbados.

46. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

thanks for the link, it makes interesting reading

47. I belive the govt should provide…free housing..free education…free gas…free electricty..free water..free health care..pay all child support…free bus fare for all…and provide a healthy and sustainable economy…………………….

Signed blp yardfowl

48. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

@hants

I have no problem with the subsidization of education, and it is as the true cost is not borne by the students. What govt is asking is a drop in the bucket compare to the real cost. I am quite cognizant that there are some people whose income level will not afford them to attend university, and those are the ones who can ill afford such cost and the way must be paved for them in some instance obtain bursaries or very heavily subsidized loans from a revolving fund. The aim of that fund should be to break even, Perhaps it is time for the govt to nationlise the lottery and the profits from such go into the arts and education.