Submitted by Anthony Davis
Enrollment at UWI, Cave Hill affected by government's policy to exact tuition cost from students.
Enrollment at UWI, Cave Hill affected by government’s policy to exact tuition cost from students.

“Not a single one!

That was the reaction of a senior official at the Cave Hill campus of the University of the West Indies in response to SUNDAY SUN questions whether any students had turned up with proof of having received one of the thousands of bursaries promised by Government eight weeks ago.

On July 12, while speaking at an official ground-breaking ceremony at the campus, Minister of Education, Ronald Jones, disclosed: “Young people have been saying you need to do more to help us over the threshold now that we’ve made the adjustment in tuition fees and we are committed to that. In the first few years, we will do some 3000 bursaries to help those with challenges and this has already been agreed to.

“We can say with the greatest of accuracy that not one person who has registered has brought any document or payment showing they have received a bursary from the Ministry of Education, and as far as I am aware the university has received no correspondence from the ministry indicating that any bursaries have been awarded,” the official said on condition that he not be identified.

“On August 29 Minister Jones revealed that 1695 people had applied for bursaries to cover tuition fees and officials of his ministry were processing them, after which he would take the matter to Cabinet for “sign off”. Well placed sources in the ministry told the SUNDAY SUN they were unaware of any paper being taken to Cabinet on Thursday, the last time  Cabinet sat. Repeated attempts to reach Jones for a comment were unsuccessful.”

Well, well, well!

The Government of promises and plans have struck at the heart of the poor, the needy, and the vulnerable once again. This Government which always seems to have such lofty plans and make such promises which they cannot put into action is only demolishing everything that others have put in place to help those mentioned. Now they cannot even keep their promise to help them with bursaries!

Mr. Blackett said that it is a “people-centred government” and I still want to know what he means by that!. Which people do you mean, Mr. Blackett? The Butch Stewarts of this world and their ilk? You certainly do NOT mean the lower echelons of our society, because you and the rest of this government have done nothing but pull rug after rug from under their feet.

RPB needs to change the words to his song “Cahn find me brother” to “Cahn find me Minister”. Ministers in this government seem to go AWOL quite often. Only recently the Minister of Agriculture couldn’t be found either. I wonder with whom this one is hanging out.

Is the minister sure that he didn’t place his paper work in his cabinet at home? Maybe this all came about because he said he wanted to do the bursaries. You don’t “do” bursaries. You award them or give them. That’s probably why he doesn’t know what he has done with them.

You have millions of dollars to pump into a hotel which is always about to start building again, but “No Seasons” seems to be too far gone, or nearly $250,000 to spend on a trip, but cannot find the money for the bursaries for the scions of the poor, the needy and the vulnerable. This means that only the progeny of the upper echelons of our society will be able to study certain subjects because of the high tuition fees.

Is this being “people-centred?

I think not!

On the other hand: Enemies’ promises are made to be broken!

302 responses to “UWI Cave Hill Takes a Hit”

1. Twenty eight percent drop in enrolment is cause for concern but based on wild speculation we expected a 50% dip. If the 28% represents the slackers, spongers and others who used the campus to chill, hit on chicks and party their life away don’t think they will be missed. What about the drop in foreign students the ones Beckles proclaimed brought in more foreign exchange than the tourisses? Beckles and cohorts must tell us why they declined. Did Ronald Jones take away free tertiary education from the foreign students too?

2. @ overseasbajanyankee,

Barbados has no substantial natural resources.

A well educated population will allow the development of new industries and businesses.

Some of the most intelligent Bajans are from among the poor and low income segment of the population.

It should be a priority of Government to ensure that poor people are given the opportunities to better themselves and the country.

3. overseasbajanyankee | September 10, 2014 at 6:02 AM |

“It is now time for uwi to internationalise its institution and earn fx exchange.”

Sometimes it would be best if those individuals residing in the USA cease from making comparisons between Barbados and the USA, especially pertaining to certain matters. The variables in each island/country’s economies and educational systems are different.

As it relates to UWI earning foreign exchange, I refer you to Nationnews.com – Fri, July 04, 2014 – 7:30 PM:
    “BARBADOS BENEFITS FROM nearly $200 million in overall economic activity as well as some $80 million in foreign exchange earnings yearly through the University of the West Indies Cave Hill Campus.
    This is according to an impact study done by the university, which was presented yesterday by senior lecturer in UWI’s department of economics, Dr Winston Moore, along with Dr Dion Greenidge and Dr Wilberne Persaud of UWI’s management studies and economic departments.”

UWI partners with a number of universities in countries such as Canada, Austria, Switzerland, Brazil, England, USA, and France to facilitate and exchange student program. Also, each year the campus hosts a number of international students who come here to pursue globally recognised degree programs.
    This can be indicative of the fact that UWI’s degrees are accredited. I refer you to the BGIS Media website: “UWI Cave Hill Campus Gains Accreditation”: Published on July 16, 2013 by Joy-Ann Gill: which stated that UWI, Cave Hill Campus received a certificate of institutional accreditation from the Barbados Accreditation Council.
    “The Certificate of Accreditation signaled a significant accomplishment for The University of the West Indies on the whole and the Cave Hill campus, in particular.”

Being able to assist relatives in financing their studies is a noble gesture. However, it is unreasonable to assume that everyone who enters UWI has the financial means to pay for their education, or their relatives are in a position to assist. To make an informed assessment, we need to evaluate, for example, the number of new students who have gained admittance to the university to determine whether the individual or family possesses the financial means to undertake university education without assistance and those who are financially able to do so. This exercise would also determine why registration decreased this semester.
    Additionally, in an environment where the recent retrenchment of public sector employees affected more than one person in a house hold, unemployment is rising and people are uncertain about their future, will make it difficult for relatives or friends to be loan guarantors, lend money or offer financial assistance.

I agree that government sponsored tertiary level education is unsustainable, but the process of making students pay tuition fees should have been done gradually, while considering any contingencies and implementing the necessary systems. Hence, all administrative procedures would be in place upon full implementation of the fee payment process, instead of the “knee jerk” responses by the government.

4. Sinckler said the tuition fees range from BDS$5, 625 to BDS$65,000 (One Barbados dollar=US$0.50 cents) and that the new policy would reduce the transfer to UWI by an estimated BDS$42 million a year.

Ref-caribbean360.com/news/barbados.

Annual undergraduate tuition fees at the England’s top universities
    University
    Tuition fees (US$)
    University of Cambridge
    $14,000
    University College London (UCL)
    $14,000
    Imperial College London
    $14,000
    University of Oxford
    $14,000
    I can see why both lectures and students are leaving the sinking ship called Barbados.

5. Hants | September 10, 2014 at 10:19 AM |

“Barbados has no substantial natural resources. A well educated population will allow the development of new industries and businesses. Some of the most intelligent Bajans are from among the poor and low income segment of the population. It should be a priority of Government to ensure that poor people are given the opportunities to better themselves and the country.”

I agree with your comments.

Hants, we have read suggestions that the private sector make a contribution to financing UWI education. However, I wonder how many of those UWI graduates, especially those living abroad, who benefited free, would be willing to contribute to a fund to assist future graduates who do not have the financial means to support 4 years of university life.

Let them put their money where their mouths are.

6. Beautiful submission Hants

I am always of the view that University education provide poor Barbadians with an opportunity to be employed in high positions.

Years ago, poor people of African decent could only reach the position of Office, accounts, sales or stock clerks and must report to the rich owner, his son, daughter other family or friends of the same colour. Only a few Blacks like Newman Wilson, Archibald Rollock, Alleyne of Shamrock fame, Husbands (now Nasser), Rayside, Everson Elcock and a few other blacks were able to be called Managers since the businesses were theirs.

With University education, blacks were able to achieve degrees in various disciplines and become doctors, lawyers, entrepreneurs, CEO’s, Directors etc due to the foresight of Error Barrow, Grantley and Tom Adams, Erskine Sandiford, Owen Arthur and now this administration feel that blacks and poor people should be disadvantaged once again and restart the 1937 cycle as slaves. At least the educated ones that are holding managerial positions in large corporations will continue to reach great heights, whilst young people who are close to attaining degrees and would-be or wanna be students who are unable to source funds will have problems in obtaining high level jobs since the rich will continue to protect family, friends and political buddies.

7. To the person behind the pseudonym, overseasbajanyankee

We do not normally respond to persons making comments generally on here; normally to persons who claim to be in the USA, and be normally spewing vitriol towards any persons on here, but this time is another exception.

Hence, otherwise, it is clear how immensely stupid and idiotic you are in your reaction to us and how terribly lacking in common sense you are.

Furthermore, it is clear that, in your reaction, you are a moronic dolt.

Now, this is the comeuppance you deserve for your crass ineptitude and ignorance and that is what you have got.

That is our final response to you ever under that pseudonym on BU.

We have little or no time and energy to waste on unthinking mindless objects like you.

8. A government that cannot fund the basics of garbage collection and road maintenance promises a tablet computer for each secondary student and 3000 bursaries. And some of you believe this rubbish?
    They are going for the Guinness record for how many times the same dollar can be spent!
    They are all lying devious venal embezzling useless excuses of human beings, and that includes the opposition who are cowards afraid to challenge and expose the crimes because, guess what, they were at it in power and will be again.
    Third world banana republics would be ashamed.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | September 10, 2014 at 9:52 AM |
    “I belive the govt should provide…free housing..free education…free gas…free electricty..free water..free health care..pay all child support…free bus fare for all…and provide a healthy and sustainable economy…………………….
    Signed blp yardfowl…”

Sounds like a set of promises plagiarized or lifted directly from the DLP 2008 manifesto which ought to be renamed “ A Sure Pathway to Ruination of the Public Finances”.

Singed:
    Yours truly,
    Ac, dlp (dirty lying pimp).

Ps: Continue to stew in your ‘no layoffs, no privatization’ pot of lies.

10. @ BOOKWORM
    Well said.

Promises are a comfort to a brass bowl…..so Bajans revel in promises of free education, free bus fares, free school books, free this and free that….

…and for what? After 60 years of free education what have we got?
    …not one shiite.

Can’t find 30 decent politicians …shiite….can’t find four…
    Can’t find locals to run anything….hotels, supermarkets, banks, utilities,….the only shiite we can run (down) is the same education system….lotta JAs drawing salaries every month and producing 80% failures…..

Education for education sake? Spending good money on that shiite should have been ended long ago.
    The bible says that if a tree bears no fruit we should cut it to shiite down….and plant a productive tree.

11. There are many high profile bajans who have advanced financially ..some of whom have taken fulll advantage of free education and who are still standing with out stretched hands for assistance in helping with their children education.an economy of freeness is a favourite word to cast a blind spell..even inthe great usa anything outside high school education. .those attending college are expected to pay to cover costs.providing a social and economical path where all can benefit..easy to say govt shoudda ..woudda …coudda…but the bottom line is cost..an inheriant cost which the govt is struggling to pay offf for past years of a grand illusions.

12. Miller you could really hush. There us NO DIFFERENCE between your BLP lot and the incumbent jackasses.
    Wunna was promising to put money in the pockets of the BBs by selling off every shiite our grandparents worked and sweated to accumulate, and sharper out the money….
    …then what…?

Wunna don’t have any plan either….. Same breed of JA..
    …no wonder you and ac so “tight”….

13. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

@PDC
    the feeling is mutual

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Artaxerxes | September 10, 2014 at 10:21 AM |
    “I agree that government sponsored tertiary level education is unsustainable, but the process of making students pay tuition fees should have been done gradually, while considering any contingencies and implementing the necessary systems. Hence, all administrative procedures would be in place upon full implementation of the fee payment process, instead of the “knee jerk” responses by the government.”

The above painted scenario might have turned out to be possible when there was fiscal wriggle room available to the current administration up to 2011-2012. You remember when the PM gave a blanket cast-iron assurance to students that his DLP administration will never entertain any proposal that would require students to pay tuition fees at the tertiary level.

That window of opportunity has long passed.
    With a massive debt burden to service in a fast contracting economy there is no way government can sustain the financing of university education either at the tuition fees level or paying the full economic costs.

There is a bigger agenda set out for the Cave Hill Campus. Its eventual conversion to the University College of Barbados. There is no way that campus can continue in its present format as a ‘stand-alone’ tertiary learning institution.
    Its role at the university level would be one of an extra-mural centre linked to the St. Augustine campus of the UWI.
    With the other campuses having their own law faculty the justification for Cave Hill to be treated as a full-fledged campus would no longer exists. The recently established medical school is financially unsustainable in a profession that is already saturated and is just a duplication of the faculty at Mona.

15. NOTHING about Cave Hill is logical or practical. Starting with its mandate of mass-producing graduates (one per household) rather than focusing on WORLD CLASS STANDARDS.
    Then the quality of its faculty is another joke….who up there is known for anything WORLD CLASS?
    What research contributions have come from there?
    Which industry breakthrough has originated or even been refined there?
    In which research area would someone OPT to come there from overseas because of its world renoun? …not even cricket.

We need to BEGIN by coming to an understanding of what EDUCATION is….. and in this case what TERTIARY education should entail…..and it is NOT a piece of shiite paper that any JA with google can get in three years of liming up there…..

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | September 10, 2014 at 11:57 AM |

Bushie, why are you laughing at the miller? Are you forgetting she, ac, is just a second-hand, hand-me-down girlfriend? She was yours before mine. You took her maiden of stupidity.

BTW, Bushie, why don’t you give the miller a break with your anti- foreigner thing and instead take a turn in the Porn King Donville’s ass for promoting the same ‘selling off of every shite your grandparents worked and sweated to accumulate’?

17. Some of those who have had free education including M of E, & yet they have hit at the heart of development in this country. Everyone in this government & the opposition has had the benefit of this system, & yet not one of them has said they will help one student. My greatest hurt are the ones who started their programmes one or two years ago and now before they can finish have to drop out. These politicians have no conscious, especially the ones who are running the finances of Government. Bastion of the poor what a joke !!!! Barbadians wake up you will soon have to be paying for Community College & The SJPP; and further more for any treatment at the QEH, it’s high on the list of cutback; so sleep on with all the promises that have been made, not one of them has manifested itself. ( Has the nurses been paid at The Geriatric hospital ?)

18. One cell phone per household is a sure guarantee for parents to help cover the costs of their children education ..look around and see the exhorbant charges attached. to growing culture of cell phone addicts mostly sponspored by parents who caterogorize themselves as poor and in need of govt hand outs..

19. @ Bushie and Miller,

Put aside some extra cash for the grand children. I know wunna well to do Bajans does send the children up here to University and fees in Ontario going up.

20. We have to measure UWI’s performance to date relative to Barbados global competitiveness. There is nothing wrong with continuous evaluation and implementing required change. The fact that much of the change by government is being driven by the fact it is cash strapped and not a philosophy is a slippery slope. We really have to stop making a political hash of education in Barbados.

21. @ David.
    You ” strike up the band ” and don’t like the tune..
    Most are born with sight – few are born with true vision- In addition to affecting the kinds of careers our college graduates are choosing, high college costs may disproportionately affect “minority” students. Minority groups are more dependent on financial aid and, therefore, more likely to have higher student / family loan debt. It seems that the gap between the rich and poor— will widen if the cost of college continues to escalate. Perhaps, these people in power should themselves take an IQ test to show there own capacity in “achieving more from less” particularly in TIME MANAGEMENT and take some responsibility? And that includes you Mr King.

22. Why has Caswell Franklyn the union representative for a clerical officer attached to Government Printing Department has that officer collecting a monthly salary for the last seven or eight years and that officer has not work a day for the last seven or eight years.
    Caswell Franklyn who wants us to believe he is the epitome of everything virtuous is supporting the raping of the treasury by this officer of drawing a salary and not working.
    The saddest thing about this whole fiasco is,former Prime Ministers as well as this present prime minister are aware of this situation and not one of them has done anything about it.
    The present prime minister sat in on a meeting regarding this matter and said not one word on the issue.This is the same prime minister who insulted Black Barbadians by stating if they cannot solve a simple problem in the school system we can shut down the schools and universities and go back into the canefield.This same prime minister has refused to offer any suggestion or make recommendations for action to be taken.

23. @ Miller
    “…..and instead take a turn in the Porn King Donville’s ass for promoting the same …”
    ++++++++++++++++++
    Touché …..good point there, but the truth is that this lot are not even worth criticizing…..bunch of damn ACs……

@ Hants
    If Bajans really understood the value of proper education we would sell all the lotta bling shiite we have….like the cars, fancy equipment, shopping vacations, etc and do everything possible to avail ourselves at whatever cost…..
    Instead, we are happy to wait for the government freeness at Cave Hill – which is about as useful as the health freeness at the QEH…….where you are very likely to end up with a foot missing….
    Boss man, “good thing no free – and mostly, free thing no good.”

The real sign of high quality education is when you can see multiple successful PRODUCTS of that system exercising the benefits gained in REAL LIFE.

Why do you think there is a falloff in foreign students? Would you opt to go to a university that even accepts students rejected by a community college? ….or to one whose goal is to graduate whosoever comes?……or to one who cannot name six globally outstanding graduates?
    ….or where the boss man is best known for running up to England begging white people for money because of slavery.

Of course, we are only making changes now because the idiots in charge (graduates) have run out of money as well as assets to sell off….assets accumulated by our UNEDUCATED fore parents yuh!!!
    ….don’t think it is because they have seen any light…..
    What a hopeless mess.

If wunna can’t see the need to reach out to BBE now….
    .. wunna better look for nuff polish……
    …..to shine up the lotta brass…. 🙂

24. @ Negroman
    Skippa, why you don’t leave Caswell nuh?
    The problem has to be the lotta BB IDIOTS in the public service who let Caswell make them look foolish. What are you saying, that Caswell is TOO GOOD a representative?
    …..you lucky Caswell did not make them promote the man to PS yuh…..and then you would have seen “getting paid without doing a shiite”….

….and the PM has been consistent when he suggest that anyone who can’t solve simple problems should be back in the canefields.
    Why you think they mashing up agriculture? They done know that this is where he and his political class are headed….cause they can’t solve one pang…..
    …so they trying to erase all the cane fields by then…..

25. It seems Ken Walters, Cave Hill registrar is more worried about the drop in enrolment by 2000 than how it might impact nationally. He is worried about loss revenue will impact the Cave Hill profitability model. What about how it will impact nationally?

26. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

This is what Barbadians voted for, a decrepit government . They are shame now, unable to come to grips with the pain . They got what they wanted. UWI takes a hit. Transport, NCC; QEH have all taken a hit. A interviewee on VOB’s 630 show said that he found it strange and funny that in these ‘hard times’, Politicians are necertheless , getting fat

27. ac | September 10, 2014 at 1:03 PM |

“One cell phone per household is a sure guarantee for parents to help cover the costs of their children education ..look around and see the exhorbant charges attached. to growing culture of cell phone addicts mostly sponspored by parents who caterogorize themselves as poor and
    in need of govt hand outs..”

All and sundry on BU expect you to support this DLP administration’s policy on UWI students paying tuition fees. It’s the norm for you to put the DLP first and not be sympathetic to the plight of others.

However, as it relates to your comments on cell phones, I refer you to an article dated Wed, April 30, 2014 – 6:56 PM, on Nationnews.com: “Cell ban could soon be lifted”:
    “THE BAN on cell phones in schools could soon be lifted.
    Minister of Education Ronald Jones hinted at such today during his feature address at the opening of a six-week workshop for primary school teachers titled Science Teacher Readiness for 21st Century Classrooms at Erdiston Teachers’ Training College.
    Jones said the cell phone was an “admirable” and “superior” learning tool and since every child had one, a lot of work could be done using the tool.”

I’m sure when you read the above excerpt and realise that Ronald Jones is in favour of cell phone usage in schools, and his comments encourages a “growing culture of cell phone addicts mostly sponsored by parents who categorize themselves as poor”, obviously, you will rethink your position on this issue.

28. @BushTea

“NOTHING about Cave Hill is logical or practical. Starting with its mandate of mass-producing graduates (one per household) rather than focusing on WORLD CLASS STANDARDS.Then the quality of its faculty is another joke….who up there is known for anything WORLD CLASS?”

Man stop talking shyte!!!

29. Do ANY non-Caribbean students EVER apply to be undergraduates at Cave Hill? What are the numbers? Why would anybody from outside the region consider doing it? A daily ration of “it’s all because of slavery” and much laxer standards in written English than prevail in Latvia do not invite the interest of the brighter student.

30. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

@Jack bowman

UWI has excellent standard and its degree is highly thought of. UWI now has to market its degree to attract international students. The faculty of medical studies was supposed to attract international students,but I don’t know if that is the case.

31. @ millertheanunnaki | September 10, 2014 at 11:58 AM |

“The above painted scenario might have turned out to be possible when there was fiscal wriggle room available to the current administration up to 2011-2012. You remember when the PM gave a blanket cast-iron assurance to students that his DLP administration will never entertain any proposal that would require students to pay tuition fees at the tertiary level”……………………………………………………………………..

miller,

Did you hear the worst ever Minister of Education say that had this government continue to pay tuition at UWI, the hospital would have to be shut down and a lot of crap………I would like to ask him what was happening before 2008? I do not think that there are many teachers left who respect him!

32. I saw a car crash close to Hastings last week. Two Toyotas, a Rav 4 and a Corolla. Nobody was too hurt but the smaller Toyota was demolished.

And you know why this happened? It was because of slavery, of course.

33. there was a time in barbados when people need genuine help having households unable to afford the luxury that most households have today, ,,back then family household was made up in part of laborers or unskilled workers ,those who toiled blood sweat and tears in the hot sun for pennies and could least afford a four square meal per day,,, with households having four or more children..many of whom literally went barefoot and walk to school,,,, yet without any additional means of income these families made sure that they children were unspoiled and prioritize the difference between needs and wants,,, now compare those families to this modern day technological culture of designer shoes and up to date latest attire and what we have is a culture made up of spoon fed spoilers who believe that they are entitle and deserving without justifiable proof and conviction that they are deserving of a helping hand…

34. Can anyone explain why law students expecting to complete Huge Wooding would be thrown into panic at the word they have to pay?

35. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

This was warned and now seen, Most may not see the land fraud issue in all things the foundation of any Nation is the land , whats on it , under it and next to it , The land and records were stolen , missing and hidden, No other
    Nations on Earth will deal with investments where land title are not CLEAR TITLES . Next VOTE and Election vote the NEXT party not 3rd nor 4th , No Owen Party or other ,,Vote the C.U.P and see to all things hidden,

American Gave Obama a chance now give the C.U.P NEXT PARTY a look and see, Hear Truth and all Questions will be answered .
    What the Pimp title holders run and the lawyers look to block truth with long talk ,
    We know by now that this will get much worse before it gets better,
    We are watching and reading and we also hope that the crooks liars and scumbags are watching , Heart attacks will go up in Barbados next election day, The crooks will be on their way to Jail,
    Investment will return by the Billions on clean banking and loans to do so.
    No drug money , no laundering , no nothing, Basel3 Banking.

First to go will be the DLP/BLP , 2nd will be the VAT , fraud system set up to crook the People, and fill the pockets of the Pimp title holders under the UDC. Mia and Owen ,
    UWI will be put back in place After we kick Sir Beckles out on his ASS,
    Student will be given what was taken away
    Low income credit will return .
    Audits will be done on all Ministers to see source of FUNDS , We will see what the Audit General have to show on his end ,
    Every Bajan will get land to build or farm ,
    Open land will be put in use
    Import GMO foods will be band ,
    QEH Will get what is needed to save Bajan lives and all worker will be paid
    Business will be audit and those who owe and dont pay their TAXES will shut down .
    Other business will open up clean and clear, no worries,
    Law and Order and Justice shall return ,
    A Promise to the People and a threat to the crooks, liars and scumbags,
    Time to go to jail MIA, we hear Ms RAM the new JP selling rope cheap.

36. Plantation you on generic meds? SMFH

37. overseasbajanyankee | September 10, 2014 at 6:42 PM |

“UWI now has to market its degree to attract international students. The faculty of medical studies was supposed to attract international students, but I don’t know if that is the case.”

UWI has had a steady intake of international students for a number of years. I suggest you visit the UWI Cave Hill International Office web-page.

38. Enuff
    What Shyte Bushie talking…?

What do you think is the purpose of a country investing in a university? ….to enable a set of hopeless jackasses to call themselves MA / BSC/ Dr. etc. and walk about talking Shyte? …(man you mean shiite right) and looking for freeness…?

NO Boss, it is to produce the HIGH quality, high value individuals NEEDED by society for its advancement…..the leaders, scientists, businessmen, technocrats, etc
    EMPHASIS on QUALITY.

Are we getting that from UWI?
    Any Tom Dick and Harry can walk in here and immediately take control of any and every shiite….
    …people who ain’t benefit from any free education..
    Shiite man…some who ain’t went school AT ALL from the looks of them…
    …meanwhile we got more graduates per square foot than ants….and none of them can’t get one shiite to work…?
    …all we can come up with is getting Adrian L to beg tourist to come here and leave us some tips ….and sending Sir Cave Hilary up to the mother cuntry to beg for reparations…..

…and you don’t feel some shiite wrong…?

Check and see if um ain’t you talking shiite bout Bushie talking Shyte….

39. @Bush Tea

Have to agree with you. Here we insist that our universities send us back Highly Qualified Personnel(HQP), after 4, 5, 6 or 9 years. And know what? We dont pay their school fees, and in Ontario they start at around $5000 for arts and $6,000 of the sciences and engineering.

40. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

Enuff | September 10, 2014 at 8:30 PM |@ If one time the money is there for all things and now the money is gone? where did i go and keep going?

The Nation get poor and poorer and the DBLP government get rich and richer, As you can see the People are being rob. With crooks out the way the money will be left alone and things will be put back in place, All the money needed is there just going to the wrong places , Things being build so money and be laundered in their pockets and over pricing and over charging , over runs and run overs,
    Many unneeded hands in the pockets of the people and just plane greed..
    All of these great minds at UWI and over paid pimp title croooks and none can see the numbers and weights to balance the budget?Each Minister seem to put self first over country and now working together,
    People rob you and you support them? they lie over and over again and you support them,? This is a Barbados problem and greed,Each new government look to take more than the other,Thinking is harder for some , just running the mouth is even easier,
    How did the country ran before VAT? Who got your mind stuck on VAT? Before 1987 what did we do with out VAT? Seem you want more and more vat? Vat dont seem to be working at all ,
    Enuff let move up vat to 33% will that now pay all the Bills? Vat the Gas, VAT the water , Vat the lights, Vat the food, keep vatting and VEX the people , while you see the party gain weight and the crime moves up.
    when the people cant pay or work to pay they will put a gun to your back ,
    snobs ,remember the world CUP, slums

41. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

@ANT

bajan local and away can comment on anything happening in their country. The article u mentioned I have read. Don’t you think that UWI should be earning more fx change to remain sustainable and also change its structure to accommodate more working students. For your information, I am a proud graduate and post graduate student of uwi many moons ago, so I have an interest in its survival.

Unlike you, I do not propose to take a myopic view to this developmental issue, neither do I propose to political in my thinking as I have no axe to grind.

SINCE you are so opposed to my thinking, ascertain how many fx students have entered the faculty of medical science as that faculty was supposed to earn its way.

I am cognizant that the only resource we have are our people and deserving barbadians should have an opportunity to realize their goals, and potential, but we can not continue with the present method of funding, the model has outlived its usefulness, it cannot be business as usual. The social, developmental and economic must come up with an integrated model.

42. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

a lot of us here are forgetting what led to the escalation of cost to uwi. Don’t forget that owen Arthur allowed uwi to increase its intake without due consideration for the consequences to the economy. The more Hilary pushed to have a graduate in each household, the more the cost to the county increased,

That’s why I have said that uwi must now revisit its developmental model. Shifting it courses to accommodate the working students to the evening where possible.

yes I got a call from one of my family who is a casualty of the restructuring as the part time lecturing position is now a thing of the past, but life must go on.

43. Pat | September 10, 2014 at 10:46 PM |

“Here we insist that our universities send us back Highly Qualified Personnel (HQP), after 4, 5, 6 or 9 years. And know what? We dont pay their school fees, and in Ontario they start at around $5000 for arts and $6,000 of the sciences and engineering.”

I think you people who live overseas are always too hasty in making comparisons between where you live and Barbados, without taking some very significant factors into consideration. This situation is a perfect example. I don’t believe Barbadians are against the payment of tuition fees, because they all know this would eventually come to an end, since it has become unsustainable.

The culture of paying university tuition fees existed in Canada for many years, and people have been able to plan their lives around this. “The Education policy in each province is meant to ensure that a structure is in place which will allow for the development of the personal capacities of each individual.” Consequently, the Canadian government made sure systems are in place to facilitate this process. The Canada Student Loan Program, the provincial student loans and bursaries are three examples, and banks offer education loans, at low interest rates that target students pursuing medicine, etc.
    Parents and guardians can also take advantage of contributing to a registered education savings plan. There is also the Canada Student Grant for students from low income and middle income families, students with dependents, and students with permanent disabilities, which provides a monthly for each year of undergraduate study, as long as they meet the eligibility requirements.

These programs do not exist in Barbados and rather than to explore these contingencies before the fact, we are struggling after.

In Barbados, the decision to make students pay tuition fees was made without a “transition period”, thereby allowing people to gradually become accustomed to the new policy and giving them an opportunity to make the necessary plans. This administration itself was not prepared for the fall-out as a result of their tuition fees policy. If they were, they would have represented students by enforcing legislation to govern the loan policies of banks, and addressed the arrears issue at the Student Revolving Loan Fund since 2013, when they first announced the new policy.
    Without legislation, the interest rates on commercail loans offered to students are very high. Also, the government changed the regulations for persons applying to the Student Revolving Loan, making it difficult for persons 50 years and over to guarantor a loan or apply for one. However, in keeping with their usual “knee jerk” reaction, the DEMS reversed the decision.

Additionally, no consideration was given to the over 3,000 civil servants who were retrenched this year, since, after almost 6 months after being terminated, they are yet to receive severance payments, as well as those individuals in the private sector who, due to the economic situation, have either been terminated or asked to work less than 40 hours per week.

44. @ Artax
    Boss man, Canada is one of the wealthiest countries in the world, with extensive resources, land and low population density.
    Where do YOU get off comparing broke, little, underpopulated, leaderless Barbados with them?
    What Pat is saying is that if CANADA, with all its resources, potential and need for educated people, cannot afford free education how the hell can broke Barbados?

Wuh if we can’t afford to pay basic debts such as Barrack and the charge by the CCJ for rejecting a suspect CARICOM visitor, you saying we should find money to pay for “graduates” who have historically turned out to be useless brass bowls….working mostly as clerks and “go-fers”?
    …give Bushie a break man…..

If the UWI was actually producing SUCCESS STORIES on a regular basis then Bushie could see your point…but hey….where are they?

45. Bush Tea | September 11, 2014 at 8:36 AM |

“Boss man, Canada is one of the wealthiest countries in the world, with extensive resources, land and low population density.
    Where do YOU get off comparing broke, little, underpopulated, leaderless Barbados with them?”

Bushie, you got this thing wrong, yuh. I was not making a comparison between Canada and Barbados.

My point is Canada has systems in place to assist the vulnerable with tuition fees, Barbados does not.

46. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

@Bushie and Pat

I with you.It seems antax or however styled seems to have a political axe to grind and as david call ac a yard fowl, I now consider him to be a yard turkey flapping his wings all over the place.

Barbadians must recognize this freeness is over, in the early 70’s I lived in Canada and as a student I had to had insurance like the Canadians and I think it was called ohip, the powers that be will soon have to start looking and how it can effectively managed the health system by looking at compulsory health insurance, the same way we have compulsory car insurance, why hot start the debate on new financing model for health care.

How many people that are on welfare that spend the money on wants and not needs. By the way some of those top politicians benefitted form the student revolving loan fund and give the fund hell to collect the promised repayment.

lool we have some successful professionals who are making millions from benefitting from free education and what are they giving back society? look at the doctors at the qeh and some of the whose advanced studies, in some instance was sponsored by the state, they give very little to the institution and use some the institution’s resources for their private practice.

IN A NUT SHELL, UWI HAD ALMOST A YEAR TO TCOME UP WITH A NEW MODALITY BUT IT WAS HOPING ITS PUBLIC UTTERINGS WOULD HAVE INFLUENCED GOVT IN CHNAGING ITS MINE, HINK OF A NEW MODAILTY. uwi SHOULD BE ALSO BE CONCNTRATING ON OFFERING DISTANCE DEGREES. WHY HAS IT ALLOWED SO MANY FX EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS TO DO SO AND IT HAS NOT ADDRESSED AN AGRESSIVE MARKETING STRAT3EGY TO COUNTER THIS CHALLENGE. THE ADMINISTRATORS LACK THE FORESIGHT AND HAD PRLANNED TO RELY ON GOVERMENT AS ITS MAJOR SOURCE OF INCOME.

DOES UWIPUBLISH A BALANCE SHEET AND IFIT DOES CAN ANYONE TELL ME WHAT % OF ITS REVENUE IS DERIVED FROM
    FX STUDENTS.

47. @ Bushie

“If the UWI was actually producing SUCCESS STORIES on a regular basis then Bushie could see your point…but hey….where are they?”

I warned you about talking bovine excrement (to borrow from GP).

48. BT

What is a “success story”? And are you one?

49. ross what kind of a question u asking bt.lmaof

50. It is impossible to have a dispassionate discussion in Barbados about education. What is true is that the DLP can claim to have dismantled ‘free’ education a Barrow legacy. History will record it and many will not forget it.