Pierre Spennard

Dear Sir or Madam,

I can not find a way to post on your site so I am submitting this article for your consideration and hope that you will post it

L’attitude beach bar and grill, Speightstown – how is this illegal operation allowed to continue?

L’attitude is situated on the Speightstown board walk behind Jordan’s supermarket. It occupies a vast space, illegally and on crown land. This establishment has no planning consent or permission to be there and yet it continues to exist even after several local business owners have made complaints to the department of housing and lands and town and country planning.

These departments must be applauded for their speedy actions in removing the gentleman who set up an illegal operation on the constitution river project, and for their slightly less swift actions in removing the gentleman with a café and rock dundo and the illegal structure in front of sandy crest medical centre.

No one should be denied the right to earn a living but surely if anyone can just come and set up a business on government land then we are headed for a state of anarchy.

So how is L’attitude being allowed to continue? Enquirers have been told by a gentleman at housing and land that the business owner, Canadian Pierre Spennard, has friends in high places and were anyone else to do what he is doing they would be shut down immediately Who are these friends? From what I am told they include professor Henry Fraser and former prime minister Owen Arthur. Does this seem right to you?

To add insult to injury it turns out that Spennard bankrupted his former company, Jusco Holdings Ltd and shut down Mangos restaurant, owing hundreds of thousands of dollars to his landlords and just about every food and beverage supplier on Barbados, None of them have been paid but he is allowed to set up next door and carry on.

I believe that none of this should be allowed to happen and that action needs to be taken sooner rather than later.

140 responses to “L’attitude Beach Bar and Grill, Speightstown – How is this Illegal Operation Allowed to Continue?”

1. You need to write that book Simple…..

2. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

BUSH TEA THE SELF CONFESSED RETARD COMES OUT FROM UNDER HIS LIKKLE ROCK

THE COMMON SEWER ROCK AND TURNED OVER TOPSY IS NOT MOCKING TODAY NOR IS HE CALLING BAJANS BRASS BOWLS TODAY

COME BUSHIE MOCK AND CHALLENGE ME TODAY WITH YOUR PUERILE PEDANTIC LOGIC

3. @MoneyBrain August 9, 2014 at 11:00 AM “Foreigners behavng badly in Bim has been going on for at least 70 yrs.”

CORRECTION: Foreigners behaving badly has been going on from at least 1627. Barbados was conceived in iniquity and born in the sin of slavery And for hundreds of years white Bajans and their white foreign friends have hugely benefited from this wicked arrangement, but now the shoe is on the other foot, and a few black people are big time sinners too (forget about the Christian thing which has never been practiced in Barbados, except by a few poor old little black ladies) everybody is FEIGNING surprise.

So Mr. Spennard getting through and the unknown letter writer is suffering…it has always been so.

Let me repeat:

First they came for the Socialists, and I did not speak out—
    Because I was not a Socialist.
    Then they came for the Trade Unionists, and I did not speak out—
    Because I was not a Trade Unionist.
    Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out—
    Because I was not a Jew.
    Then they came for me—and there was no one left to speak for me.

Maybe if the Jews and the Christians had spoken up when they came for the socialists, and the trade unionists, and the gypsies, and the bullers and the wickers and the Palestinians we would all have a better world. A world in which Jews and Christians, trade unionists, and gypsies, Palestinians and bullers and wickers could ALL LIVE in peace and prosperity.

But too often we are silent when others are being exploited.

When Town and country planning pulled down Jah See’s home from a spot in the village where he was born, and where his mother and grandmother were born, and where his great grand father, and great grandmother lived in peace and harmony did you “AJew” or did you “firbear” speak up?

Or did you see him as a rastaman squatter for whom is is ok for a Barbados government department to render homeless…while our politicians and policy makers, and our rich white people both foreign and local grow physically fatter and fatter and whose bank accounts grow fatter and fatter?

The man is 59 or 60 years old. Where is he supposed to go in his old age?

Ethics lesson 101.7: Wrong is ALWAYS wrong.

4. @GP
    I take your point and to my shame, no I did not speak out. To be fair, I never hear ANYONE speak out.
    However, I am unaware that any “rich white people both foreign and local” were involved in the eviction. To the best of my knowledge, and I am willing to be corrected, the Town and Country Planning is 100% local black.
    If you are saying that they were bribed that is no surprise, but what evidence is there that they were bribed by “rich white people both foreign and local”. Maybe it was rich local black people, would that make it OK?
    Are we content to have local black officials that are open to bribery?

5. Jah See’s house was all wood now many of his possessions are scattered around the ground. I saw a truck taking away some of his furniture on the day they came for his house. It was a cute house too all built by him. Much of it was from discarded and recycled lumber and it had some nice windows too. I once asked him where he bought them from and he told me those were factory rejects and he got them free. We both laughed because the price was right.

6. @Simpy
    U do realise that Barbados was uninhabited when the English arrived and claimed the island for the crown. Therefore, in modern history Whitey was here first and white Bajans can NOT be foreigners in BIM, EVER!
    Furthermore , all Bajan Whites are NOT rich or were/ are from families that owned Slaves. Just like today where all Black people are NOT CORRUPT POLS!

Slavery did NOT start in 1627 in Bim or indeed elsewhere. Black slaves were not the first slaves in Bim. Slavery in my opinion is WRONG wherever it is practiced, like in the Sudan today where dark Arab Muslims enslave Black people.

I dont live in Bdos and have never heard of Jah See’s property, BUT certainly would not support putting anyone out of their home unless they are crazy or the place is being condemned and the said person is going to be assisted or placed in a better abode.

Surely U dont believe i am a Jew! If so, U are MISTAKEN! I would most certainly say I was a Jew if I was!

I dont need any Ethics lessons but Bajan POls do, so please feel free to help them.

7. My bad, my post should be directed at Simple. My apologies to GP.

8. Simpy wrote
    The old rascals die, and leave behind a generation well taught in the ways of evil, and it has ALWAYS been so in Barbados.

Are U suggesting that the Pols today are all fathered by Rascal Whiteys???? Interesting Revelation!
    ( Only now read that AJew is a poster my apologies on that)

9. Simpy wrote
    Don’t be fooled. I am not on the side of the Canadian fella (if he has set up an illegal operation.) I am not on the side of bribe taking politicians (if they take bribes) and civil servants (if they take bribes)

I am on the side of righteousness.

And righteousness. is not something to be done in Church on Sundays.

I agree with this in its entirety and your point about supposed Christians of all ethnicities. The majority of them are as fake as a $3 bill!

10. Surely one of the issues here is why is Jah See’s house pulled down when he is a local person but the shady Canadian is allowed to carry on his business illegally. I guess that’s just how it is right? Why do we stand for this shit under our noses?

11. Newman
    That is the central issue! In such circumstances ALWAYS follow the CASH!

All the racial talk is meaningless!

12. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

YOU ARE 100% CORRECT MB

13. MoneyBrain August 9, 2014 at 3:38 PM…@Simpy
    U do realise that Barbados was uninhabited when the English arrived and claimed the island for the crown.

A Simple response: That is the generally accepted explanation as written by the conquerors. But I’d have the Kalinago people in the region if their oral history says otherwise.

Therefore, in modern history Whitey was here first and white Bajans can NOT be foreigners in BIM, EVER!

A Simple response: I have NEVER, EVER said that white Bajans are foreigners in Barbados. I

Furthermore , all Bajan Whites are NOT rich or were/ are from families that owned Slaves.

A Simple response: I know that all white Bajans are not rich. Some are my kinfolk and are poor as @ss.

Just like today where all Black people are NOT CORRUPT POLS!

A Simple response: I know. I know. I know a whole lot of decent black people

14. If you all want to see it shut down go a protest outside there tonite and on the 16 th when they are having a special dinner and live music show. Maybe when you see the patrons you will understand why he is able to get away with this. There are so many ways to shut him down especially if he has no liquor, health or entertainment permissions.

15. He has been reported multiple times and NOTHING happens

16. Firbear……the ‘rich’, ‘white’ locals and rich foreign whites ALWAYS pay the black politicians, civil servants, town and planning employees etc to do their dirty work re evicting black people like themselves from lands the greedy culprits both local and foreign want, remember the genetic memory and learned behavior black people have of betraying each other……..that is the root cause, Barbados is the perfect example.

17. Moneybrain…….you keep forgetting there is no first for bajan whites in Barbados. Barbados was inhabited when the british, portugese and lowlife columbus and all the other foreigners went to shore there. There were natives on all of those islands in the Caribbean, native to the Caribbean, pottery was found as proof of their existence, everyone else is foreign to those shores……Bajan whites cannot lay claim to anything in Barbados or the Caribbean…..they are only in Barbados because they were barbadosed from England, thrown out of England for one reason or another…..that is the reality.

18. WW
    We been through this before. Bdos is outside of the island chain and yes there is/was evidence of Arawaks living in Bim before the English arrived BUT not on their arrival. However, I dont care simply because my first family member died there in 1651 bringing Cromwell’s people ashore! I was born and raised on Bim and I have always loved the island and the Bajan people of all shades. Some Bajans are bad like some members of any race, class, creed.

Some Bajan whites were Barbadosed. Indeed, I am proud to say part of my family participated in the Monmouth Rebellion. It is the Barbadosed whites that did NOT own Slaves! They were NOT rich so could not have afforded that luxury! Thanks for bringing it up!

I not only can claim Bdos but DO! I am Bajan and will always be Bajan and there is NOTHING that can ever be done to change that, by anybody!

It is my view that Black peeps of today should be very happy to be Bajan rather than African. I am Bajan and would not want to be British instead.

Is Buhbadus me from! Son of the soil!

19. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

MoneyBrain | August 9, 2014 at 6:30 PM

I AGREE WITH YOU
    I AM HAPPY NOT TO BE AN AFRICAN AND WORSE OF ALL–AN AFRICAN AMERICAN

20. GEORGIE PORGIE | August 9, 2014 at 7:36 PM

MoneyBrain | August 9, 2014 at 6:30 PM|

I AM HAPPY NOT TO BE AN AFRICAN AND WORSE OF ALL–AN AFRICAN AMERICAN
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    SO WHAT DE HELL ARE YOU ? A RUNAWAY BARBADIAN….?

21. My argument is that if the people of Rock Dundo and Gibbes bough their land in the 1930’s 40’s, 50’s and even before and that if the government of the day brought in zoning in 1962 for an excellent public purpose..to protect the country’s water resources, then the government then or any government since 1962 should have made an offer to the good people of Rock Dundo and Gibbes that they will re-site them in zones 2, 3, or 4 on land of equal economic value, and equal social agricltura usefullness to which they will have good title, and that the government will take possession of their previous lands, and that if at any time in the future the government should decide to dispose of those lands then the former owners should have the FIRST right to re-purchase their former lands.

But for the government of 1962 to inflict zoning on the people, and for the government of 2014 to evict an elderly man form lands purchased by his great grand parents is so fundamentally wrong that I a truly surprised that some people cannot see the INJUSTICE.

And for those of you who do not understand what zoning means in Barbados it means that:

If you own land in zone 1 you cannot put any new buildings on the land (although you can repair and live in the family house)

1. It means that you cannot subdivide the land. So if you have a 2 or a 15 acre lot and you would like to give 1/2 acre to your grown son or daughter so that he or she can build a house for a growing family you cannot do so. And this creates conflict in families because once the kids are all grown up or once the old people die all the children and grandchildren cannot live in the family house or on the family land even though there might be plenty of land. It also puts moderate income families under enormous stress as they struggle to purchase land elsewhere. Some succeed, many do not.
    2. It means that you cannot practice animal agriculture, no chickens, no pigs, no cows, no sheep (so normal rural economic activities are constrained)

3. It means that you cannot use many pesticides and herbicides, so your agricultural practices and your ability to earn a living or to supplement your living from agricultural activities are severely constrained.

4., It means that if you own a home in the area and you wish to build a 2 family home by building up or building out your are forbidden from doing so so your family life is fractured, adult sons and daughters cannot live close to their aging parents, grandparents are not readily available to spend time with their grand children.

1. It means that as squatters, transients, and strangers with no respect for the law move in as the former law abiding residents are forced out the villages have become worse instead of becoming better.
  22. It means that the value of homes in the area have not kept up with the increased values of houses in similar pre-1962 villages. So the home owners have suffered and continue to suffer economic losses.

23. It means that those who have gone away are ashamed to come back or to bring back their children and their children’s children because how do you answer the question “why has your village made no progress? Why are the buildings so shabby? So people suffer loss of face.

24. And on top of this the government evicts an elderly man form land which was bought by his great grand parents in the 1930’s when it the government which forbids subdivisions and refuses to acknowledge that compensation ought to have been paid for the loss of use of the land, and that compensation ought still to be paid.

After the people had bought their land in the 1930’s 40’s and before with the understanding that it would be available for their children, their grand children, and their grand children’s children to live on then in 1962 the government changed the rules and did not compensate the people for the loss of use of their land.

The people of Rock Dundo and Gibbes are not asking for freeness they are asking for JUSTICE.

We gave up use of our land (or had it wrested from us) so that you can get clean water to drink, and for that the government rewards us by evicting our elders from OUR OWN long held family land.

First they came for Desmond, and Ollie and Jah See one of these days they will come for you.

• all this long talk about some man running a business without proper permission……the person that sounding off and who have brought this issue to table,,,,could have use the same amount of time and paper and ink to better use by drawing up a pettition and forwarding it with documented proof to govt officials and even submitting them here on BU ,,,,,,all this long talk does not add up to a hill of beans without facts and ironclad ones too……if u doubt me ask Plantation DEEDS he has been sounding off for umpteenth years but remains stuck in the same gear,,,,,never moving forward because he can;t or doesnt have the relevant documentation……..anyhow nothing beats a trial than never having tried at all… just saying…..

• Don’t get me wrong I too have a vested interest in getting clean water to drink. I live here. My children live here. My grandchildren live here. But my argument is that the people of zone one should not have had to bear the entire burden of providing clean drinking water to every Bajan and to every visitor. If the government can find a quick way to compensate Sustainabe Barbados Recycling Limited how come they have spent 52 years NOT compensating the people of Rock Dundo and Gibbes?

Maybe some of the lawyers who occasionally knock about BU can answer that question.

Or maybe some of the HC/Combermere boys like Georgie Porgie and Bush Tea and Caswell who also knock about here can provide some answers

Or maybe some of the religious people like Bush Tea, and Georgie Porgie and Zoe can tell me if JUSTICE has been done to these people.

• Money brain you are correct it does not matter who came ashore first white black green whatever but one thing for sure it never was a j woman so well well let the men talk and learn something lol

• What is wrong with the Sunday Sun publishing the name of the construction company caught with an illegal water connection? If it is a fact what is the problem? In many countries and definitely in the US, Canada, and the UK the name would have been shared with the public by confirming the registration records of the tankers where the water was being collected.

• David construction company caught with an illegal water connection is stealing water for “profit”

That could be a criminal offence but our Bu lawyers can tell us if it is so.

• Lawson…..i will not let Moneybrain rewrite history and further confuse an already screwed up society in Barbados, and with no women, there would not be any bajan whites on the island today, stop playing lawson.

Moneybrain……you still cannot claim shit in Barbados or the Caribbean, only a tsunami can do that, it’s not yours/ours and never will be, just enjoy the pass through. That is a big problem everyone makes, they think they own these islands and countries on earth, no one does and don’t care how many of the islands the British and Americans stole, they will never belong to them….

.Money, besides, the very first victims of the English on these chains of islands, including Barbados, would have been the Caribs and Arawaks, if you remember your history correctly, what you need to do is lobby for them to throw out all the books the English have in the schools telling lies to young students, if you feel it’s not true…….any other victims including Bajans whites would have to take up their gripe with the London Home Office……lol

• @WW
    With all due respect, the Arawaks would have been very pleased for the Europeans to kill off the Caribs for them. The Caribs were very AGGRESSIVE and would have killed anybody in their path as they DID with the Arawaks and probably would have done to Europeans and Africans given the technology and opportunity. When i toured the Carib Reservation in Dominica last year the Cacique ie chief, tried a smart one pun me BUT I told my guide that I had overpaid the Chief and that he had her Tip! The Chief paid her quickly! Any of wunna visit the Carib Reservation in D? U do know that if a black man want to marry a Carib female he must ask the Chief! Also, he cant live in the Reservation!

Similar is the Apache in the US! Never forget 6 yrs ago in New Mexico meeting a native American and we were talking about my Uncle, by marriage, who was half Mohawk, he said unequivocally NEVER TRUST an Apache, we natives dont like them they are bloodthirsty bastards.

I am Bajan but we are ALL PASSING THROUGH this life. The Victors always write the History. WW, which blood u have Carib or Arawak? I suspecting Carib, please confirm?

Bim belongs to ALL of us and WE should ALL be PROUD, except the INCOMPETENT CORRUPT ONES!

• Barbados is a banana republic where corruption is prevalent.

• Someday someone somewhere will take the need for equality and justice personal.

• Northerner | August 10, 2014 at 2:51 PM |
    Barbados is a banana republic where corruption is prevalent.AND WHERE RETARDS AND THOSE WHO TINK THEY NOSE EVATING BOUT EVATING ABOUND.
    ALL YOU NEED TO DO IS WATCH AND LISTEN CAREFULLY AND ANALYSE

• Moneybrain….you are right, no group trusts the other, can you blame any of them, by the way, right again, multiple bloodlines running through my veins both Carib and Arawak a real melting pot, sub-saharan, European, Indian, sometimes i can’t think straight…lol

But if you think i am bad, check out Lawson, a whole slew of boats landed in Barbados in the second decade of the 16th century filled with English/Irish/Scottish MALES ONLY, NO WOMEN, who were Barbadosed from England and what did they do in Lawson’s World, got each other pregnant AND gave birth hence the population of Bajan whites in Barbados, only in Lawson’s world, no wonder the Bajan white population cannot reach the 10,000 mark on the island……lol

• @ WW
    “English/Irish/Scottish MALES ONLY, NO WOMEN, who were Barbadosed from England and what did they do in Lawson’s World, got each other pregnant AND gave birth ”

that is a neat trick, how did they do it? Is the medical profession aware? This must rank with the virgin birth in the miracle league table.

• @firbear
    WW did say that sometimes she cant think straight!
    It was the IMMACULATE RECEPTION! If we dig in Carlisle Bay there maybe traces of DNA!

WW, Is it the Carib wanting to eat the Whiteys?lol
    Not all bad to be “eaten”

• Firbear……all jokes aside, it makes one wonder it really does, and to be able to keep that population of Bajan white so small from the 16th century notwithstanding emigration, it’s still been 400 years…. can anyone say.Nazi experiment…

• Moneybrain……the mix up. mix up in the bloodlines is a real hoot…..lol

• @WW
    As a matter of fact the Nazis did land on many occasions in Oistins during WW2 they loved the Bajan Rum and girls.
    Were not permitted to eat Breadfruit though as Submarines dont often come up for air! lol

When i was a child they were at least 20,000 whiteys but plenty nuff people migrated to Aus, UK, Can and US!
    My domestic unit 3 of 5 live overseas. Over 100 yrs ago about 10 of 12 of my Mother’s father’s siblings migrated to Canada. I could tell U about the proportion that moved away exceeds 60%!

• The Nazis love to tinker with human behavior, appearances, psychological makeup etc……and don’t think they are extinct, they still exist and are still as mischievous, some of them have ‘jewish’ names, a rose by any other name is still a rose.

Yeah, migration, but it’s still been 400 years, Money, that’s my point, check out the black population, i bet more of them have migrated than minority whites and you still have over 1/4 blacks on the island from 400 years of reproducing, something is not adding up.

• John D Marshall. Avatar
    John D Marshall.

Barbadian politicians are so Nigerian. Corrupt, Corrupt, Corrupt..

• Do ny of you have anything goof to say bout anybody? What as bunch of loaers.
    Think good and try to improve the country. LeaVE OUT THE NEGSTIVE STUFF.
    ALVIN CUMMINS.

• The blogmaster invites you to join and add value to the discussion.