port-st-charles-barbados-beachWe the residents of Checker Hall, Half Moon Fort, Shermans, Maynards, Mile and a Quarter and Six Mens urgently request that the nasty gash through our beach be filled-in and the beach restored to its original condition. Until the dredgers came to rape our beach, we, from the region north of Port St. Charles, were able to walk the beach from Half Moon Fort to Speightstown and back without hindrance.

“Now we’re forced to walk around the Port St. Charles gated compound on the highway to get to Speightstown. And if we try to walk onto the small slither of beach between the bridge and the channel (also seen clearly above) we are often accosted by uniformed security personnel with fierce dogs. Trying to keep the beach private for PSC residents and visitors.

Read Full Article On Kool Barbados

72 responses to “Barbados Activists Want Beach Back”

1. @199… With respect…

Please forgive me, but you across to me as a bit hysterical…

Why do extremely high-cost condos and private beaches appear to be so important to you?

Care to share? Or are we to infer?

2. Chris, the reason is obvious!! I hope to purchase one!! Near to Bridgetown!!

3. I.e. purchase an appartment or house, in one of the Condos/Terraces!! Just as long as, it’s near to Bridgetown!!

4. I’m hoping that I might be fortunate enough to have a government minister for a neighbour!!

5. You would think that people could spare at least, ONE, measly, beach!!

6. @199… “You would think that people could spare at least, ONE, measly, beach!!

BU.Household: please forgive me for this. No holds barded on this one…

@199.. What fscking part of the use of the word “Precedent” isn’t clear?

We welcome your considered response….

7. Chris, why stand in the way of progress!! The abolition of slavery was probably, objected to on that grounds so it alone is no conclusive, argument, as I’ve demonstrated and should have expected you to know, by now!!

Progress is the key, my friend!!

8. Anyway, I need to be near Bridgetown!! Is Brandon’s Beach quite, near there??

9. They probably, objected to Obama on that grounds too!! U c what I mean!! and, presumably, u don’t object to the election of Obama!!

I suppose u could say!! “Game, set AND match, to me”!! but, I would n’t be so immodest, as to embarrass you!!

10. As you’re unable to think of a rejoinder, I gine!!

C u soon!!

11. Chris H:
    What letter of the word “troll’ are you misreading?

12. @ST: “What letter of the word “troll’ are you misreading?

Absolutely none.

Which is perhaps the most sad….

13. And what might that be, pray tell! Does it contribute to the argument or is some perverse, attempt of ‘ST’s’, at humour!!

I’m British, and more sedate in my efforts, but, I suspect the latter. It’s frightening!! Condos and marinas are go!!

14. http://www.unesco.org/csi/wise/tenure.htm

“Land tenure is a major source of conflict in many countries around the world and especially along the coasts of small islands where the limitations of size render the disputes particularly acute. For example, the loss of just one beach can be significant in the small-island context, in contrast to continental countries with their longer coastlines and wider resource base. Many small islands in the Caribbean, Indian Ocean and Pacific regions are experiencing rapid tourism growth, especially along their coasts. This is impacting coastal resources that islanders traditionally take for granted. Unfortunately, it is not until such areas become inaccessible, or their resources are destroyed, that people become aware of the loss of their heritage. And by this time it may be too late.”

“In Barbados, tourism development started relatively early, in the 1960s. Consequently, by the end of the following decade, much of the west and south coasts of the island, in particular the land between the coastal highway and the sea had been extensively developed for tourism. However, by the start of the 1980s, there was considerable concern about the rate and extent of tourism development, and in particular the fact that the sea was no longer visible to islanders walking or driving along the coastal highways.

‘A closer look at what had happened in one generation as a result of thoughtless building construction in the name of progress, showed the irony of a small island community which, from the beginning of its history, was given to regarding the “encircling sea” as the richest of its possessions, being gradually denied so much as a glimpse, was seen in all its tragedy.’ (Hutt, 1980).”

Three decades later………..

15. Jukecheckedeyskirt Avatar
    Jukecheckedeyskirt

The time for protest is long gone. The Port St. Charles beach rape occured at the inception of the decision and bajans stand by and let it happen. Now you want the beach back after it was given to the rich to relish in their religion of riches and royalities. The dogs should really bite all of you hard in the azz and wake you up from your lazy, procrastinating slumber. Because nearly all of the entire stretch of west coast will soon be out of your reach and as usual you will protest after the concrete has already been poured. You think when Four Seasons open we could venture much more on the beach in Bachs Rocks (spelling). All I can say is ain’t we a ignorant bunch of complainers.

16. Saint Michael Archangel… Saint James Apostle… Saint Peter anodder Apostle … St. Charles…wah?

AAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhh

17. At the end of which I’m still left with the pressing, question of (1) which condo, exactly, should I buy and (2) where is the best place to moor my yacht??

18. Apart from my perceived, benefits to B’dos of having these rich, visitors and residents can anybody describe what ,precisely, the benefits are of having these people living in Bim so that we can make an objective, assessment of whether there’re worth it or not!! I.e. does the country, REALLY, benefit economically, substantially, from having them here??

19. Now listen here you lot of layabouts. After making all my money, I reserve the right to buy some beach and not see too many of the people whose forebears were slaves. I wish you complainers would go away. I am having words with Dottin to make this happen. Since we allow you lot to read and write, now you are talking about wanting your beach back. I have news for you fools we already own the whole island , so please get lost and no more humbug, you fools.

20. You got to be a real Johnny Avatar
    You got to be a real Johnny

Keep the beach, we don’t really want it and we know that we cannot get it back. Keep the whole west coast for that matter. We just hope that our so called leaders would stop kissing your a s s in the future and not allow the same s h i t to happen on the east coast.

21. Blow the whole lot up—-footbridge and all

22. Just pass a law to make it illegal.
    Who is the government representing ?
    We are strangers in our own land.
    Declare all beaches national parks.
    If the politicans dont represent the people sweep them out.