Kamla Persad-Bissessar, Prime Minister of Trinidad

Barbadians were promised a Republican form of government in 2005 under a Barbados Labour Party government, 10+ years later this promise among others made by elected officials remain unfulfilled. It is a problem Barbadians have become frustrated by the inability to respond and is reflected in the increasing number of eligible voters who have deliberately not exercised their right to vote and or demonstrate ignorance to do so.

In the face of evidence that any system is not working efficiently, sensible managers of the system will make changes. There is a heavy reluctance by Barbados to address a governance system that shuns holding the main actors accountable, for example, ignoring a decade of Auditor General reports, the inability to enforce government’s financial rules, the untold power of a prime minister come to mind. Yet we continue to hold up a system that is falling short as sacrosanct. Who will bell the cat?

It is evident Barbados has lost the leadership position it once held in the region. One reason, the inability of the political directorate to make timely decisions and execute efficiently.  Against the background that change is needed to make our political system more relevant, the Kamla Persad-Bissessar Trinidad and Tobago (T&T) led government decision to propose constitutional reform is noteworthy. The T&T experience has been eventful compared to Barbados but there is no reason why learnings from T&T should not engineer proactivity on our part.

BU is aware Opposition Leader Dr. Keith Rowley has described the move to debate the amendment a distraction, and there is merit in his position. BU however welcomes the decision by the government of T&T to debate the issue. The inconvenience of cancelling summer vacation should not be too great a sacrifice by those elected to serve the people to make.

Proposed changes to the Constitution by Persaud-Bissessar are:

• Term limit for which a person serves as prime minister to no more than 10 years whether the service is continuous or has been interrupted.
  • The power to recall members of the House of Representatives if two thirds of persons who on the date of the petition were registered in the constituency.
  • Permit only candidates who have earned greater than 50% of votes cast in respective constituencies to be elected to the House of Representatives. A supplementary poll between the candidates who earned the highest and second highest number of votes would be held to resolve.

See The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 2014

80 responses to “Barbados Take Note – Trinidad Government Proposes Bold Reform to Improve Governance”

1. @Prodigal Son I am also not a card carrying member of the DLP and like you want what is best for Barbados and me.

I am also one of those “old time hypocrites” who has friends and family in both parties.

The BLP did not use to the term ” fatted calf ” but we all know that they were enjoying the “sweets” of their 14 years in power.

I never even get a piece of gristle from either party but not for lack of trying. lol

2. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

HANTS
    you mean you was trying to get some crumbs dat fell of the masters table?

3. @Prodigal Son
    “I am so sick of political yardfowls ”

Come on Prodigal, now is not the time to indulge in self hate.

4. @ Gabriel | August 6, 2014 at 12:23 PM |

I posit the view that Owen Arthur is right in distancing himself from the back biters and schemers now taking over the Great Party.I thought it a peculiar decision when a party stalwart like Hal Gollop could just walk away from the Labour party just so.I knew something was not right when the crooked Rommel the German jew killer was seen in the press delivering the judas kiss.Rommell the political weathercock is no surprise………..

Gabriel,

First of all, Hal Gollop is an opportunist. He said that Freundel was his friend for years. Hal took into account that Freundel was PM and with the way our politics work, he could have access to government work. Certainly after 2008, the BLP has nothing to offer Hal, so he went where he could get the benefits. Did you not hear his name mentioned in that controversial contract for the BWA headquarters?

Secondly, the first time I heard that that goat Rommel was dogging back around the BLP was recently at OSA’s branch meeting when OSA recognised him and welcomed him to the meeting.

RM showed up the BLP’s townhall meeting at Foundation School a few weeks ago and he caused an uproar. People shouted at him asking what was he doing here and some shouted traitor……..get out of here.

He appeared at the BLP meeting in Carlisle car park and the Nation “just” happened to snap a photo when he pushed himself up to Mia. I am sure he is not wanted around the BLP but he is like a dog begging back after the dems used him. I can still remember the idiot at a branch meeting of Irene Sandiford Garner saying he would do everything to help her win, cussing the BLP! Loser!

He aint no political body!

5. Eventually after all the blogging, marching and complaining Bajans will in fruatration riot. Who will take the blame? The house slaves masquerading as politicians.

6. We are back to reality, Crop Over with all the partying is over.

Twenty persons severed from BTA, more to go from other statutory boards. More layoffs will come as even the cuts are not meeting the expected goals, the expected cuts in expenditure are not being realised.

Look for another downgrade!

7. The best decision Owen Seymour Arthur ever made in his forty three (43) years as a politician was his decision to resign from the beleaguered Barbados Labour Party.What made his resignation more profound was the one (1) sentence he wrote in his resignation letter.He refused to go into any explanation.That tells the disgust he felt as being a member of that despicable party.
    The Barbados Labour Party no matter how they try to spin the issue the impact has them in a tailspin.
    Owen Arthur was not an ordinary member of Barbados Labour Party,after all he was the leader and longest serving Prime Minister of Barbados.
    Owen Arthur resurrected that blighted and cursed party from political ruins brought on by the devastating defeat in the general elections of 1986 when the party lost 24 to 3.He rebuilt the party with his brand of “politics of inclusion” that nearly decimated the Democratic Labour Party.He inflicted three devastating defeats on the Democratic Labour Party, the worst in 1999 when the Democratic Labour Party lost 26 to 2.
    Now the ungrateful goons in that party – Barbados Labour Party have now castigated Owen Arthur and have now labelled him as the worst thing that ever happened to the party.A bunch of ungrateful bastards.
    Owen Arthur,this Negroman is no great admirer or supporter of you. I never endorsed or supported your brand of politics.Indeed,I was one of your harshest critic. Nevertheless,I am not ungrateful like the members of your former party and I have acknowledged that you made a tremendous contribution to the continued development of Barbados.
    Politics have a morality of its own and if Owen Arthur wants to join the great Democratic Labour Party in the latter years of his political life,I would have no problem with that and I hope the members of the Democratic Labour Party would have no problems also.After all Clyde Mascoll left the DLP as Opposition Leader and joined forces with BLP and became a minister.

8. On Friday 8th August 2014 at 10:30 am , Prodigal and fellow BLP weeping widows are invited to Government House to witness Owen Seymour Arthur sworn in as the newest DLP MP in the House of Assembly.

9. I fuh one is enjoying all this bellyaching and boo..boo.crying by the blp yardfowls..oh..dat reminds me i got to post a picture of OSA sitting on the govt side ..just to rub it in a little more

10. @ Fractured BLP | August 6, 2014 at 2:53 PM |

So you think that this matters to me? I will still drive my car, eat my three meals, fly wherever I want and do whatever I want after Friday.

You dems should be ashamed to accept him into the DLP fold after all the nasty, vindictive, hideous and vile things you dems have said about him especially during the last election. Where you not the one who said you dems had some Pegasus tape to let go on him during the election? Where is the tape now?

It just shows how desperate the DLP is and how would be allowing the DLP to humiliate him by joining their ranks.

The BLP is 76 years old, so there was a BLP before OSA and there will be one after. During the days of blood letting (Fumble’s words) in the DLP when your dead king was tearing the party apart, not a dem thought that the DLP could survive to fight a general election. We constantly heard “David Thompson would never be PM of Barbados”. He did, did he not? So chill!

11. Prodigal stop your wailing and gnashing of teeth ?

OSA is a big man and makes his own decision.

He is not a clone of Mia Mottley (a.k.a Kerrie Symonnds words)

But wait.

12. cuh dear prodigal u sound soooooo pitiful…..stop uh whining ,THE BLP neva gonna rebuild,,,,,,the FACE of the BLP was taken away when wunna SAVIOR bolt out the door,,,,,,,,, the blp is like a body without a HEAD,,,,

13. Prodigal stop your wailing and gnashing of teeth ?

OSA is a big man and makes his own decision.

He is not a clone of Mia Mottley
    (a.k.a Kerrie Symonnds words)

But wait.

14. Owen is making it widely known that he would not spit or piss on the DLP if they were dying of thirst or on fire……lol

15. Oops……AC, i forgot to post the proof, you lying little fraud….lol

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/wont-stand-for-it/

16. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

I have a view on this issue that is gender related. I have seen others posit the view that having women leading is a recipe for disaster to say the least. I agree with people like David Ellis and Dennis Johnson re their views on women. My own views on women are simple–should be controlled -not in control
    Whenever a woman in charge , Life gets very hard for men , women and children alike especially when you have spiteful women in charge spiteful women who hate men !! especially if they are women = the ones that have no visible man- no children.

That Mia is in charge and Owen had to run is not an uncommon occurrence. Women run you with doings and they are very un-compromising.They fave no quarter but always want half , three quarters or the whole hog. When women appear every dynamic changes and standards drop , people’s feelings are hurt and to prove that she has clitoral fortitude , a woman goes overboard. Also they panic easily in simple situations, quite a contrast , if I might add. A lizard appears and they feel that it is going to run their legs so screams are heard. Roaches cause a catastrophe. Women are way too emotional to be leading anything or anybody. This is an old school idea and I am new school but I am sticking with this one. I do not expect the women who frequent this blog to respond because they cannot handle the truth.

ON the continued cancellation of events due to non existent storms and Bad weather, (OFF TOPIC BUT)

This is not to knock them , I love them dearly and women are women but since CERO now DEM is run by a woman, are we getting these panic shutdown of the country and cancellation of events every time a system appears to the east of Barbados. STOP IT !!

Talking about women cancellations brings me to Crop Over
    On the Calypso results:
    Ronnie Clarke really nailed it but the Minister seeking to stop picong at the Finals is a bit of a stretch. The calypso singers and calypsonians have to resist this interference from the lil short man. All you need to register your disapproval of Ronnie Clarke’s biting lyrics is to say you disapprove and leave it there. Do not go overboard. Leave that for the women.The anti Government songs placed down the line as expected . On the winner. Adrian Clarke could have received the top prize. There appears to be external influences and political considerations present.

On Columbus Short in for Crop Over
    Good to have had him. Who is he though? Never heard of him before
    Anyhow invite some celebrities every year, especially the ones who having problems so they can cool their heads

On Ri Ri
    Where was Ri Ri this Crop Over . Missed you dahling !
    Love you sweetie !

I am an expert on everything

DR.THE HONOURABLE
    CHRIST CHURCH
    BARBADOS

17. To all you DLP destroyers of the economic and moral fabric of this country Barbados,I say Gaul bline all ‘o wunna stinking hoes back up de place where the Dogood fella tell de Porn man N-niss.
    None ‘o wunna kahn ave pins wid de Barbados Labour Party.I,like,Prodigal,en no card carrying member of the Great Party and one time I did so foolish I used to tell off my mudda fuh singing the praises of the Labour Party,morning, noon and nite. Well i tek off de blinkers in 1966 and to my surprise in 1971 Wendell McClean call the result 18-6 in favour of the DLP,immediately after Goalie Taitt(not Goldie as he wud have wunna believe)when Goalie was declared the first winner in that election.
    I like Prodigal want to see the best for Barbados but with these bag bline hoes led by an idyut who scorns the electorate,it looks to me like the rotten ,thieving,corrupt Dems will continue down the path of destruction unless OSA assumes a role and become the lightning rod to guide the country’s investment portfolios.
    The sad story on Hal Gollop is in lying down with fleas he will get his fair share of them.He now driving a Benz a la leper Parris who is now his client
    too.

18. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Mia was really bad then and must have done something terrible to run this man from BLP to DLP. Do you mean that he could not find compromise and solace somewhere in the party , not even a shoulder to cry on. Mia taking this Queen Bee concept a little too far though. Anyhow Arthur seems to want to form a new party because it is clear that he wants to lead something that respects him hence his independent stance.

I take what Fractured BLP says as accurate because FB has been right before – because Fractured is really Donville Inniss, Owen’s representative.

On identifying who is who , you should note that AC is a certain fella that ran on the DLP ticket sometime ago, AC is not a woman contrary to popular belief . AC -I am correct -right ? Correct is Right.

DR.THE HONOURABLE
    is an honourable man from
    CHRIST CHURCH
    BARBADOS

19. Dr the Honourable
    You forgot to mention that they become hysterical if a situation arises which they cannot handle.I talking from experience working with nuff ‘o dem hoes.
    They nasty and men who willing to undress them would pay attention and lose sight of the company’s mission statement.The last hoe I had dealings with cause the company to go belly up.Nuff lies,nuff lying figuhs,nuff losses!

20. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

I think they are a problem but any attempt to finger them as the culprits meets with a lot of attacks from some men who should know better. I am told that their presence in the Police Force is a problem. Standards have to be lowered to accommodate them because they make excuses based on their so-called weaker sex claim that they cannot work here and they cant work there or do this that or the other. It is real problem in the workplace . They tend to get away with much more than the men get away with, –And then you see them on Kadooment with hardly anything on while the men are well covered. You really wonder if the mission of the woman is to destroy.

However I think that women should be made to meet the standards and things should not change to suit women in the workplace especially .. Control Systems are needed to control women before they totally destroy every thing we have. This may sound a bit extremist but something needs to be done.

Get VEX now Curse and carry on because you are bombastic -Well Well and Simple Simon. Come in gals ! Islandgal !!!

21. Dr. the Hon……eat your heart out..lol

22. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Dr. The Honourable

Generally I have stayed away from this woman bashing, preferring instead to allow the women to deal with the crap that you and others spew about them.

I am the first to admit that there are some women who use their femininity to get by, but you can’t extrapolate to make a general statement. I am also the first to tell you that there are some men who use their “femininity” to get by as well. Many of whom don’t show any outward signs of preferring the same sex. Some of them even have wives.

The problem in Barbados is not the advancement of women in areas that they should have occupied long ago. It is the lowering of standards generally. Take for example the members of the House of Assembly and Cabinet, many of them would not have been given the time of day by the Rt. Excellent Errol Barrow. Could you imagine in his day a minister of finance who has trouble calling six digit numbers.

Don’t blame women, if you are looking to cast blame do so at the degree factory at Cave Hill that turn out graduates who do not add value to the country after spending 3, 4, 5 and even 8 years studying. Some of the 8 year people even end up in Cabinet.

By the way, you spoke about women in the Police Force. Again the problem is not women, blame the lowering of standards in order to meet the manpower needs. Many people with qualifications do not choose the force. An attempt to raised the quality of recruits backfired when they changed the academic qualifications for policing. You don’t only have women who can’t do certain task; you also have a lot of soft men who become trigger happy because they are afraid to confront criminals, armed or unarmed.

Give the women a break. Stop looking for scapegoats!

23. Now Dr. the Hon…….I hope you are not one of the ‘men’ using your feminine bitching, moaning, groaning and whining to have your way, cause you know it will not work with females of my ilk, we already shattered the glass ceiling, moan about something else.

24. Reform in Barbados at this time will amount to putting old wine in new bottles, The taste will still be bloody awful

25. Anywhere—–even in the home,you have women,you have trouble.In the Anglican church they causing bare trouble.Bare fashion shows,hair pieces,lipstick,all the paraphernalia of fashion and no depth in their sermons.They have been caught using internet sermons.One who was married to a priest got pregnant for another man.They cannot be called upon to administer the last sacrament to the dying if its outside normal hours.It’s all incredulous that there is a bishop who boasts about being the first to do this and the first to do that.It’s sickening and causes one to have doubts about the church.No wonder people are staying away.
    Recently the anglican church welcomed a husband and wife priestly combination.The place gone mad as a hatter..

26. lwad jesus Gabriel u nosy as shit..u got time to pay attention to all that crap,,,,wuh dam….but yuh seem to don;t like woman at all,,btw u male or female,,,,,

27. Caribbean Lover Avatar
    Caribbean Lover

“Barbadians were promised a Republican form of government in 2005 under a Barbados Labour Party government….”

Come on; Barbados will be the last country in the region to adopt a Republican form of government; after all, it will mean leaving the British Commonwealth, and that won’t be an easy thing to do. Barbados isn’t ready, and will never be ready, to go it alone.

28. These women haters on BU are obviously obsessed with whining and bitching, wanna be females if you ask me, now here is what interests me more than a bunch of ‘male ‘ whiners.

http://awareness-time.com/?p=4779

So damn cool.

29. […] Interestingly, Trinidad and Tobago's close neighbour, Barbados, seemed to think the twin island republic is in an enviable position. Barbados Underground, one of the country's popular political blogs, wrote: […]

30. Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar has given her MPs the latitude to vote conscience.

PM LIFTS THE WHIP

Govt MPs allowed to exercise conscience vote on Constitution (Amendment ) Bill

By Ria Taitt Political Editor

Story Created: Aug 11, 2014 at 11:00 PM ECT

Story Updated: Aug 11, 2014 at 11:01 PM ECT

“Vote as you think best,” Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar said yesterday as she announced she was going to allow Government members to exercise a conscience vote on the Constitution (Amendment) Bill 2014.

Piloting the measure in the House of Representatives, Tower D, International Waterfront Centre, Port of Spain, Persad-Bissessar said: “I want today to indicate that I am releasing all members of the Cabinet from the doctrine of collective responsibility on this matter.”

The announcement provoked sustained desk thumping on the Government side.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/PM-LIFTS-THE-WHIP-270842711.html