Kamla Persad-Bissessar, Prime Minister of Trinidad

Barbadians were promised a Republican form of government in 2005 under a Barbados Labour Party government, 10+ years later this promise among others made by elected officials remain unfulfilled. It is a problem Barbadians have become frustrated by the inability to respond and is reflected in the increasing number of eligible voters who have deliberately not exercised their right to vote and or demonstrate ignorance to do so.

In the face of evidence that any system is not working efficiently, sensible managers of the system will make changes. There is a heavy reluctance by Barbados to address a governance system that shuns holding the main actors accountable, for example, ignoring a decade of Auditor General reports, the inability to enforce governmentโ€™s financial rules, the untold power of a prime minister come to mind. Yet we continue to hold up a system that is falling short as sacrosanct. Who will bell the cat?

It is evident Barbados has lost the leadership position it once held in the region. One reason, the inability of the political directorate to make timely decisions and execute efficiently.ย  Against the background that change is needed to make our political system more relevant, the Kamla Persad-Bissessar Trinidad and Tobago (T&T) led government decision to propose constitutional reform is noteworthy. The T&T experience has been eventful compared to Barbados but there is no reason why learnings from T&T should not engineer proactivity on our part.

BU is aware Opposition Leader Dr. Keith Rowley has described the move to debate the amendment a distraction, and there is merit in his position. BU however welcomes the decision by the government of T&T to debate the issue. The inconvenience of cancelling summer vacation should not be too great a sacrifice by those elected to serve the people to make.

Proposed changes to the Constitution by Persaud-Bissessar are:

• Term limit for which a person serves as prime minister to no more than 10 years whether the service is continuous or has been interrupted.
  • The power to recall members of the House of Representatives if two thirds of persons who on the date of the petition were registered in the constituency.
  • Permit only candidates who have earned greater than 50% of votes cast in respective constituencies to be elected to the House of Representatives. A supplementary poll between the candidates who earned the highest and second highest number of votes would be held to resolve.

See The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 2014

80 responses to “Barbados Take Note – Trinidad Government Proposes Bold Reform to Improve Governance”

1. Well, this is a good and promising start for T&T. But if you think Barbados will ever do anything, as limited as it is, you may keep on dreaming. Every dog of the British empire would have to be pronounced dead first. And there are yet too many puppies blindly searching for nursing a teat.

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Don’t be misled by Kamla. These reforms were promised since 2010 and the People’s Partnership Government did nothing to implement them until now that they are fairly certain that they are going to lose the next election. If these reforms were implemented earlier Kamla would have lost more than 12 MPs. This is just a political gimmick with the added advantage of Kamla and her Opposition in the next parliament being able to harass the new government with new opposition tools. T&T will become ungovernable.

The cynic in me tend to believe that these reforms are only now being introduced to get Kamla back in power after a short stint in Opposition.

We need reform in Barbados but not something sprung upon us like these reforms.

3. @Caswell

All decisions by politicians are politically motivated. At this stage if Barbados were to begin the reform process the question to ask ourselves would be if it is a good thing. We need to begin the process of reform. Let us not forget Mia expressed concernsl at the party level as well. Why wait for the T&T experiences to replicate here.

4. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Again I will say don’t be misled. Mia is the worst example that you can cite. She only spoke of internal reform when the system was not in her favour. Now that she is in charge, has she even dropped a hint about reform.

5. @Caswell

To be fair to her you have to give her time to vacumm the closets to cement her authority. For her to attack the party with reform at this time may hurry her demise.

6. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Don’t forget that Mia was General Secretary of the BLP for most of the 14 years that they were in power and she did nothing to change the corrupt system that operates in the BLP. She is in charge now so it is unlikely that she would change anything to diminish her power.

7. What is crazy about what is happening in Trinidad is that the process of reform seems to be driven by politicians to your point. It is only when narrow political interest overlap with people concerns, we benefit. There is no robust narrative coming from civil society, the church, academics, fourth estate etc.

8. At another level Persad-Bissessar maybe looking for a way out of the growing turmoil within T&T. Her actions could be interpreted as a rational assessment of the balances of forces in T&T – politics. Maybe we need to create the conditions in Bim where the power centre will have no choice but to do the things we think they should be doing.

9. Life changer + Avatar

@ Caswell

There is no clear definition for political reform, for the average Bajan, but i think it mainly swings between two definitions, the first is โ€œpolitical reform is a social movement that aims to make gradual change, or change in certain aspects of society, rather than rapid or fundamental changesโ€ or โ€œpolitical reform is the development of the institutions, attitudes, and values that form the political power system of a societyโ€; studying both definitions, I’m sure we will find that the demand for political reform in the country, actually, goes beyond political reform; so, what the people are requesting is not political reform, at least in its terminological meaning.

10. If people do not want to march then stop buying the Sunday Sun in protest against the hiding of the truth by the Nation!!

11. Try buying the Advocate!!!

12. I stopped buying the Nation since November last year.Stopped buying the Advocate for almost 10 years.She who must be obeyed insist on having the Sunday Sun mainly to read the ‘passing parade’ notices.

13. Yet we continue to hold up a system that is falling short as sacrosanct. Who will bell the cat? – David in the above lead article.

David, you mean with all the fundamental wrongs and transgressions that both these jack o lantern DLP and BLP disorganizations have been doing to so many thousands of people and many sectors over the years, and with the relatively recent coming about (2007) of this essentially progressive BU blog, you are still found to be asking: “who will bell the cat?”?

We would have thought that by now – without even an agreement going between yourself and us – you would have seen it fit to use the blog to the greatest effect possible in helping to the broad masses and middle classes to ABSOLUTELY PERMANENTLY remove these two jackass parties from the parliament of this country.

But NO!!

It is amazing how you could find the time on here – with such technological informational tools to your and many others’ finger tips to otherwise assist in not any belling of any disagreeable cat but in pummeling its head and knocking it clean out, and how still you can be found to be so tacitly and otherwise supporting ever so often both these evil corrupt factions in the face of their continued systematic wretched destruction despoilation of many of this country’s affairs.

Who will bell the cat what, what!!

Where is your mirror image??

14. Every 5 years we hear the same bullspit from the two political parties. They make promises and when they break them the spin doctors make excuses.

The majority of us are hypocrites. We don’t talk about Integrity legislation or freedom of information act and we don’t care if politicians and big ups busy and bolting when the economy is booming.

We boast about shopping in Miami twice a year or buying a new car or meeting the outside woman in New York or Toronto.

The only time we voice our opinion about alleged corruption is when the economy is declining and there is no hope for a strong recovery.

Well this opportunity is going to last for a long time in Barbados so keep talking, keep marching,keep protesting and keep demanding FOI and Integrity Legislation.

If we are of “good character” and if we are honest upright citizens we should be marching and demanding that government enact Freedom Of Information and Integrity Legislation.

I can’t march because I have character flaws but just as the politicians would say,
    “do as I say an doan watch me”

15. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David [BU]

You said …”There is no robust narrative coming from civil society, the church, academics, fourth estate etc….”

Of late we have started to see the state of apathy among parts of the society that used to speak BEFORE.

The lukewarm church, replete with its bullers and charlatans continues to be so interested in their diminishing tithes and the taxes levies on their properties, that they remain silent while the people are raped, bereft as they are of purpose and commitment to Our Lord.

Eloysius and Durant dont not really care about telling the kings of the land that they are wrong so long as the collection plate does not fall below the level allowed for them to drive them V8 Jeep

Civil Society is toothless, in fact other than sending non-solicited email to nuff people bout Coalition of Palestinian Something or the Other what the PHVCK do those clowns do but beg the incompetent government(s) for money every chance they get.

Academics!! Whuloss man other than Tennyson Joseph who risking not getting his contract at UWI renewed (though to fire he wud mean dat de man dat does blow golfballs pun all uh he students PEARSON BROOMES and plagiarize other writers content from the internet and tell the students in his classes that if he caught anyone taking pictures in his classed that he would have them expelled!!) what other academics are there?

Ironically, the Pearson Broomes scenario brings something to the fore that is indeed the sickness that affect Bulbados, the minions (students and citizens) are subjected to sanctions and punishment when we run afoul of the law but the “privileged” (professors and “the haves”) are above the law and there is no one to sanction them

Look at us David, we have become impotent in our old age, “old fogeys” (according to Alternating Current) whose physical prowess has died, or is much exaggerated nowadays under the umbrella of Cialis and Viagra.

Further, if one is like me, one’s mental prowess lies in “ad hominen” or, like the West Indies cricket team, in “after shots” (suggestions devoid of teeth) well after the ball has knocked all of the stumps out of the ground, we are but a nation of suggestions that are, at best, 60 years dated!!

Or like me, denizen of the fourth estate, afraid to show my head, content to hide behind this empty “nom de plume”, safe, for a while at least, to rant about these offensive things, to make one or 2 interesting points, then do nothing until the next insulin shot kicks in, and then start to rant again.

We have migrated to being “shadows of men” protected under the swift and fleeting “shadow of the byte” while the “bites” of “real, shadows of men” (an unintentional oxymoron) applied in vampirish style to our arteries, bleed us like the content victims we are.

16. @Hants and PODRYR

Well stated.

17. @ Pieceuhderock
    …..yuh mean brass bowls?

18. Here he comes with clouds AScENDING (note not descending) .He ascends from the smoke of the drugs he inhales from his brass bowl-PROFESSOR BRASS BOWL HIMSELF

ARE YOU MOCKING AND TAUNTING AND CHALLINGING TO DAY ?

19. @ Hants
    The only time we voice our opinion about alleged corruption is when the economy is declining and there is no hope for a strong recovery
    ++++++++++++++++++
    A masterful observation.

We all knew of the levels of corruption for a while now…and particularly during the boom years….
    NO ONE ASK…..(with very notable exceptions like BU and BFP.)
    We were generally all looking to get into the action.

Bajans now are therefore NOT really seeking transparency, fairness and justice….we are just vex because the trough appears to be empty.

Change will come ONLY when we have a genuine commitment to building a transparent, fair, just and lawful society…..and such commitment is not imminent.

20. In his book Builders of Barbados, F A Hoyos wrote on page 121, about the Herald newspaper: “By 1924 the newspaper had become a formidable force in the life of the Island and seemed to have escaped the short-lived fate that had been the lot of most weeklies in Barbados. It had worked in and out of season to AROUSE the political consciousness of the people and to INTEREST its readers in the important questions of the day.

It is possible to argue that, if the Herald had not done its part to form and guide public opinion in the vital years between 1919 and 1924, O’neale might never have decided to stay in Barbados and undertake the great work of his life. And when the Democratic League was launched, the newspaper GAVE THE MOVEMENT A VOICE AND A FIGHTING FAITH that made it a mighty force in the land.”

Allowing for some objective analyses of the socio-political material financial events and times during which the Herald existed locally and during which BU currently exist internationally, and which must there suggest that there is only little reasonable comparison between the Herald and BU, it still has to be asked by the PDC if BU/David are doing enough to AROUSE the political consciousness of the “people” of this country, and to INTEREST their visitors/readers in the important questions of the day.

We must say a resounding NO!

In just one case, they have allowed this less and less essentially progressive blog to be hijacked by many DLP/BLP supporters, with much of their meaningless tripe and rubbish, and by some foreign based commenters who – in their groundless incorporate comments – it can be discerned that they have no fundamental contribution whatsoever to make to this country functions – to the detriment of the cause that needs assistance, the wrong that need resistance, for the future in the distance, and the good that BU can do.

And we must ask which social political progressive movement in this era in Barbados or elsewhere is BU presently giving a voice to and is reposing and infusing a fighting faith in?? Which?

We must say NONE whatsoever!!

The PDC is of the judgment that BU/David have as yet to remedy this very fundamental organic flaw that has been found by us in their ideological philosophical structures.

21. Bush Tea | August 5, 2014 at 11:29 AM |
    @ Hants

NO ONE ASKโ€ฆ..(with very notable exceptions like BU and BFP.)

IT SHOULD BE NO ONE ASKED

We were generally all looking to get into the action.

HOW DO YOU KNOW THIS ? WERE YOU ONE TOO?

Bajans now are therefore NOT really seeking transparency, fairness and justiceโ€ฆ.we are just vex because the trough appears to be empty.
    HOW DO YOU KNOW THIS ? ARE YOU GOD? ARE YOU OMNISCIENT?

Change will come ONLY when we have a genuine commitment to building a transparent, fair, just and lawful societyโ€ฆ..and such commitment is not imminent.

LOT OF HOT AIR
    HOW DO YOU KNOW THAT THERE WILL BE NO CHANGE

WELL THERE WILL BE NO CHANGE FOR THE CHURCH WILL SOON BE RAPTURED
    FOLLOWED BY THE RISE OF ANTICHRIST
    AND THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST

THIS CHALENGING AND MOCKING IS BARE SPORT MAN

NEVER HAD SO MUCH FUN ON BU
    THANKS FOR THE PRIVILEDGE DAVID
    THIS THING MAKES MEN WITH ACADEMIC TROPHIES THICK KINNED YUH

22. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

For this heading to work in Barbados both the DLP and the BLP must leave Office, We can not have any type of Reform with Fraud at the Helm ,
    GG, PM, AG, DPP,COP, all must go, Or some one need to start telling the truth with the right facts.

23. Bushie wrote “Change will come ONLY when we have a genuine commitment to building a transparent, fair, just and lawful societyโ€ฆ..and such commitment is not imminent.”

I concur Bushie.

Too many people in Barbados benefited from the politicians, the Bajan elite, the Trinidadians and the rich whites and they all have to protect the assets they acquired.

There will be no radical change in the governance of Barbados unless there is a revolution so the lotta long talk will continue.

The best we can hope for is that an economic boom returns to the World economy and we get sucked into a cycle of “prosperity”.

24. Today’s Nation editorial is good.

25. Bushie wrote “We were generally all looking to get into the action.”

That is correct. I was one of those who tried ( but failed ) to get into the action.

26. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

Hants | August 5, 2014 at 1:30 PM |
    Bushie wrote โ€œWe were generally all looking to get into the action.โ€

That is correct. I was one of those who tried ( but failed ) to get into the action.

ARE YOU SAYING THAT YOU- ONE PERSON IS ALL?

NOT SO? THEN THE MORON IS INCORRECT

“MANY” IS NOT THE SAME AS “ALL” ah lie?

prof brass bowl said

Change will come ONLY when we have a genuine commitment to building a transparent, fair, just and lawful societyโ€ฆ..and such commitment is not imminent.

TELL ME WHERE IN THE WORLD THAT ANY PEOPLE ” have a genuine commitment to building a transparent, fair, just and lawful societyโ€ฆ?
    ALL HOT AIR
    LIKE IT OR LUMP IT

THE LACK OF LEADERSHIP UNIVERSALLY IS CREATING A VOID TO BE FILLED BY SOME ONE.

THAT PERSON IS ALIVE AND IN THE WINGS WAITING TO TAKE OVER THE WORLD AS ALL THE FEATURES OF GLOBALIZATION CONSPIRE TO FACILITATE HIS REVELATION.

27. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

lemuel | August 5, 2014 at 8:56 AM |

Try buying the Advocate!!! @ The Advocate is worse than the NATIONS paper.
    one is toilet paper and the other is napkin,
    Both papers are part of the problems of Barbados , Both will only print what the PM and the ruling party say to print, Both have lawyers looking to cover their own miss DEEDS.
    BFP and BU and the words of a few that will speak out for truth is worth more than those Bitches ,
    Better for them to go out of Business and USE BBC or ABC NEWS or google to know what going on next door,

28. @ David
    Do not be fooled by the slick public relations stunts of Mia Mottley. She is saying what she thinks will get her votes while not putting any credible solutions on the table but speaking in vague generalities.

Right now, she is using the BAIT AND SWITCH technique. If you look at how she promoted her megalomaniac march, she tried to use the idea of a “non partisan” march, that was the BAIT to catch non BLP supporters.
    Then she runs to Roebuck Street to declare how the entire BLP team is behind her.THAT WAS THE SWITCH. It was a stunt.

Mottley does not give a damn about serious political reform, she is saying what you want to hear David- that is the BAIT.
    Owen Arthur knows the deceitful levels to which she is capable of and at this point in his career he is not interested in these games and he left.

If you want real political reform,Mia Mottley will talk the talk but do not fall for the bait David because anytime Mottley gets political power the Mottley Crew is the first set of people who will look to benefit.

29. @Bajanfuhlife

With a two party option Barbadians want to believe even if it means to be hoodwinked again.

30. To those persons who come on BU and read our posts,

What we are stating for your understanding and acceptance is that whether or not you know what a political party is, there is no two-party option in Barbados.

The false notion that there are just two parties in Barbados is absolute unbridled poppycock that the purveyors of such gross and reckless information might otherwise want the politically uninformed to swallow hook line and sinker, to the same purveyors’ ignis fatuus comfort.

Indeed, there are several parties in Barbados – not just the two older ramshackled DLP and BLP disorganizations.

Our party – the People’s Democratic Congress (PDC) – is one of the several parties outside of those two intellectually and politically backward, bankrupt and discredited political disorganizations.

31. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar

PDC leave them , its good for people to what will hit them next time around, Like they looking for Owen the Crook of a Nation and Mia to split and make a so -called 4th party to split the Votes,
    All will have to see that the DLP and BLP and the new DBLP will do all they can to stop the CUP that have nothing to do with their Massive Fraud, Get people drunk for days and then send them to the Polls with hangovers,

32. I am so sick of political yardfowls like Bajanfuhlife.

If Mia sneezes, it is a problem to Bajanfuhlife, it is a political stunt. I lived through the days of David Thompson in opposition and saw first hand the nasty politics he played. There was not a political stunt in the play book of dirty politics that David Thompson did not pulled.

Barbados is SUFFERING under the Dems in the worst way and do not tell me look how many people were partying for Crop Over……..the people who were partying are the ones who are still lucky to have jobs……………..
    and a political operative can come on here to focus on Mia rather than on the Moody’s report, that Barbados tumbled down on the human development index, that Barbados needs to brace itself for the next onslaught of austerity measures as the measures implemented so far are not achieving the desired results.

Barbados is on the precipice of real disaster. You keep lambasting Mia and see how that alters Barbados’ serious economic problems!

33. The PNM have mobilized to ready for the debate!

Timeline Photos

Back to Album ยท Trinidad Guardian’s Photos ยท Trinidad Guardian’s Page

Trinidad Guardian

The Opposition Peopleโ€™s National Movement (PNM) went into emergency response mode yesterday, calling all MPs, legal advisers and officers to a series of meetings today to formulate its position on the Governmentโ€™s constitutional reform legislation, which will be debated in six days.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-08-06/all-hands-deck

34. While the need for reform in Barbados cannot come too soon, I am inclined to agree whole heartedly with Caswell’s point particularly as it relates to MAM. I remember talking about the stout and stubborn resistance she had encountered in her quest to bring change to the BLP. Since she reclaimed the position of opposition leader she has abandoned that path. She has to be made aware that the eyes of observation are affixed to her every move.

35. @ bajanfalife. ..the march had more to do with the fracture within the party than it had to do with any bait and switch. We were critical and rightly so of her earlier initiatives like the petition and the no confidence motion, so this time around she threaded cautiously, and if nothing else she has forced that bitter, spiteful, hate filled old goat out to pasture. For that she must be credited.

36. David the evolving situation with Owen Arthur is interesting.

He has done Barbados a service by leaving the BLP and forcing them to rally behind Mia and unify the party.

As the father of “politics of inclusion” Owen is “sitting pretty”.

37. Time will tell if they are rallying Hants.

On Wednesday, 6 August 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

38. @ David
    We don’t get the sense that Authur most recent move has been earth shattering. What’s happening? What’s your reading?

39. @Pacha

Many reads abound, when Mia ‘walked’ to Government House recently she put the cat amongst the pigeons. George Payne and Kerri Symmonds were forced to make a decision and they went with Mia. Arthur based on his public pronouncement on the solid waste tax was isolated. Resigning is probably a plan B move to be a disruptive force alongside buying time …

On Wednesday, 6 August 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

40. “Arthur listed three reasons why he left the party, including his disenchantment with the partyโ€™s direction, being labelled a divisive force and being humiliated by some elements in the party”

Note “being humiliated”

Seems like a burned bridge.

41. Hants | August 6, 2014 at 11:12 AM |

โ€œArthur listed three reasons why he left the party, including his disenchantment with the partyโ€™s direction, being labelled a divisive force and being humiliated by some elements in the partyโ€

Surely you must agree that by judging his actions and pejorative comments, Arthur has contributed significantly to the perception that he is a divisive force within the BLP.

42. It pains me to say this but OSA is now his worst enemy. I am truly disappointed with his behaviour. His behaviour is now irrational and erratic and even delusional. That a man who led his party to two defeats could still think that he is still a major player speaks volumes.

He can sit wherever he wants as far as I am concerned, let him humour himself with the very dems who up until two Fridays ago called him the worst names in the book, said he was past his sell by date, said he was irrelevant and run those paro ads last year. For him to go among them speaks volumes.

The very dems especially those with multiple monikers on BU with ac up front accused him of not attending Parliament regularly for the last six years, we will wait and see how often he will now attend the “poor rakey” parliament.

The more he pokes at the BLP, the more people will understand that it is him who has lost his soul!

43. I posit the view that Owen Arthur is right in distancing himself from the back biters and schemers now taking over the Great Party.I thought it a peculiar decision when a party stalwart like Hal Gollop could just walk away from the Labour party just so.I knew something was not right when the crooked Rommel the German jew killer was seen in the press delivering the judas kiss.Rommell the political weathercock is no surprise.Neither is the quisling Darcy Boyce.But Hal Gollop?.Why,he was from school days a downright BLP supporter!

44. While we are wasting precious time talking about a self indulgent man, quietly the BTA fired 20 workers on Friday and not a word from the main stream media.

Out of the 14 managers who attended morning meetings, only three have been retained……………one has close connections to the PM, one to the minister and the other to the chairman.

This DLP is the worst thing to ever happen to Barbados. Under the BLP, yes some of their people got positions but dems got positions as well. They saw Barbados as for all Barbadians. Not these dems! The present deputy chief education officer was made a principal even though she was a known dem.

The Ministry of Education is a powder keg waiting to explode. The politics in there is beyond precedence. Positions are doled out according to DLP’s people. This ministry is being very spiteful if they think for a moment that you support the BLP. I know of a case where a teacher was made to act in a position until a member of the PM’s executive went to UWI and got the necessary qualification to qualify for the position! You think Charles Morris spoke out without reason?

45. @Prodigal Son,

Owen may be a “spent force” as a member of the BLP but you cannot deny that he has value as a Barbadian with his “training and experience.”

He did not suddenly become useless the day he left the BLP. You and your party kept him as your leader for 14 years during which time you chowed down on the calf that was so fat it gave wunna high cholestrol and heart disease.

I hope BLP supporters will rebuild the party so wunna can win the next election.

46. Prodigal Son | August 6, 2014 at 12:02 PM |

“The more he pokes at the BLP, the more people will understand that it is him who has lost his soul!”

I agree with you Prodigal. The bigger issue here is that Arthur, by his lone stance against the BLP, is demonstrating to the public that he is disgruntled at not being in charge of the party.

It reminds me when I was younger and playing cricket with my cousins. There was one particular cousin, who because he liked cricket very much, and had a bat and ball, always wanted to be in control. He had to have his stumps hit for him to be declared “out”. Unfortunately, when things did not go in his favour, he would pick up his bat and ball and “dun the cricket”. This forces us to improvise and continue play. He would go on the sideline and resort to criticizing everything that was done.

47. Gabriel,
    Take it from me, OSA brought all of this on himself.

For obvious reasons, I do not want to flog him on BU to give the likes of ac, bajanfuhlife and dompey any comfort. OSA was the leader and if he did not want Mia to become leader, he should have attended the meeting after the election. He said he was done, done, done. So what is his beef now?

If you are going to talk about back biters, it would have to be those like Kerry who was giving him comfort in the hope that he could again back raise Mia. She was ELECTED leader by her peers. Do you know and understand that OSA was planning to take over again? Did he considered what that action would have done to he BLP? At some point you have to think about the institution and not yourself, OSA.

He was left standing on a burning deck all alone when Kerry, George and Dale went with Mia. He had little choice left. If he had any pride left, he should have resigned from parliament and preserve his legacy. As he is behaving, he is damaging that and it is heart breaking! One of my children called me from overseas today to find out what is OSA doing to the party!

48. Hants | August 6, 2014 at 12:57 PM |

โ€œHe did not suddenly become useless the day he left the BLP. You and your party kept him as your leader for 14 years during which time you chowed down on the calf that was so fat it gave wunna high cholestrol and heart disease.โ€

Hants, that means your guys have had a double portion uh the calf…… all the men get big, wuh Sinckler neck just as big as my head.

Your beloved DLP said Arthur was past his โ€œsell by dateโ€ and was useless for the 20 years between 1994 and July, 2014. I remember Stuart saying if Arthur was such a good economist or the economic saviour as many were making him out to be, how come other countries and the international agencies were not seeking his services to help them during this recession.
    Now, suddenly after his resignation from the BLP, the DLP recognized that Owen Arthur has become USEFUL and has a lot to offer Barbados.

Politics……………Hypocrisy at its best.

49. @ Hants | August 6, 2014 at 12:57 PM |
    “He did not suddenly become useless the day he left the BLP. You and your party kept him as your leader for 14 years during which time you chowed down on the calf that was so fat it gave wunna high cholestrol and heart disease”………….

I hear you Hants, but I hope you have made that reference to the Barbados Labour Party and not to me.

I have said repeatedly on BU that I support the BLP but I am not a card carrying member. I have never feasted or benefited from any fatted calf. By the way, that fatted calf slogan was made famous by your dead king, the BLP has never used that kind of language.

All I want from any government is for it to create the right conditions that the economy would grow so that businesses can thrive to pay their taxes and employ people. I only ask then that the government use the tax revenues efficiently to provide health, security, education and good roads for the use of its citizens. In other words, all I want from a government is good governance which we have not got since the DLP came to power.

So do not paint me with your broad brush, please. I do not depend on the government for anything, I pay my taxes and they owe me to boot!