Submitted by Anthony Davis
More private sector groups add raised voices to imposition of Muni Tax

He also stressed that the controversial Municipal Solid Waste Tax would be in place for one year and then be reviewed. Government would have to seek parliamentary approval.” This statement is the focal point because VAT was supposed to be hiked to 17.5% for one year, but is still at that rate for eons without the Minister of Finance even taking a look at it!

We are cash cows and he will continue milking us. I do not believe one single word he or any other member of this Government says. Didn’t Dr. Estwick have enough “C4” to blow the lid off all the goings-on in Government? Didn’t that fizzle out like a wet starlight?

The worst thing about this tax is that the same people he is overtaxing are the ones who are paying him, and therefore his taxes. So he can afford to levy tax after tax on the people of this country. He and his buddies on the Government benches in Parliament and the Senate do not have a thing to worry about. They are home free after destroying our education, health and welfare systems.

Every day one sees more and more people picking up bottles to take to sell so that they can add a bit more to their meagre lots. Some people are so ashamed that they are going through the garbage in their neighbourhood at night in search of the said bottles – and all this Minister of Finance can do is dream up taxes.

This Municipal Waste Tax is really a waste in the true sense of the word.

Many people would have slaved and saved hard to buy a piece of the rock, and build their dream home – no matter how large or small – only for the Minister of Finance to go to sleep one night and dream up a new tax that will probably deprive them of their dream homes. This means that they would have wasted their money, and must now seek rented accommodation. They will probably have to go cap-in-hand to the Welfare Department. This in turn is a waste of money as that money could have been put to better use. By waste I mean that that is money that could have been given to someone else had the minister not imposed this unnecessary dream tax.

How was this tax arrived at?

Is it fair for one person to be paying more than three? Is it fair for a disabled person sitting in a wheel chair to be paying so much? Will Government members be also paying this tax or will the overtaxed workers be paying it for them? Which member of Government will be taking a leaf out of former PM Owen Arthur’s book in this matter? How many up-and-coming entrepreneurs will be adversely affected? Will people be paying this tax for their properties and then their businesses? Will this not deter more people from setting up business here?

You said that you looked at the system other countries used. Such countries supply the garbage containers, and the size depends on the number of persons in the household. If the pickup day is Monday you can guarantee that the truck would be there on that day every week – not like here where the truck does not come for weeks sometimes. Will you give us such a guarantee? After all, we will be paying for the service!

I would not say that your way of imposing taxes is willy-nilly. I call them your dream taxes. Every night you go to bed you dream up some new tax with which to burden our country. You and your colleagues in Government must be the only people in this country who can sleep soundly, because the rest of us – and especially those who have children to bring up – will be up all night wracking our brains to see where we can find this extra money you are demanding up front from.

Then Minister Steve Blackett has the audacity to call this a “people-centred Government”! Which people is it centred around, Mr. Blackett? The members of this Government, their families, their friends, and their ilk?

Barbados has been downgraded so often since you have been in power that it is a wonder that this “rock” is not beneath the waves. Yet for you all is well. One can take a horse to water but twenty cannot make it drink. The horse is not willing to drink this time!

51 responses to “Willy Nilly Muni Tax”

1. I want to find out, if I don’t have the money I still have to pay this Muni Tax, and when I pay this tax I would write a letter saying that I don’t have the money. You think I would get it back, and when?

2. FILE THE PAPERS AND STOP TALKING. Make sure Sivers is one of the defendants in her personal capacity.

“The lawyers also threatened to file a high court application against the BRA declaring that the withholding of land tax certificates for any reason other than non-payment of land tax was “ultra vires”.

3. Not paying ‘cos I don’t have it. Period.

4. No one starting from today should pay it. Who paid already, fine, but the rest of us should take a ‘we aint paying it’ stance.

5. The People’s Democratic Congress (PDC) has been saying elsewhere recently that – in the event that the government soon from now reviews – and – let us say too – consequently alters the so-called NON-EXISTENT Municipal Solid Waste TAX (really helps alters the mindsets of the people) – the same evil wicked ideological psychological political structures and processes that gave rise to the same so-called mythical Municipal Solid Waste TAX – would still be in place, unfocused upon, untouched, and unscathed by the fury and fulminations of the broadest numbers of people in Barbados.

For, it is these evil wicked rooted ideological psychological political structures processes that MUST BE DEALT with too by us – the vast majority of people in country – if we are to substantially begin to remove ourselves from this pernicious TAXATION bondage.

These structures and processes involve ALL TAXATION related ideas, materiel, and forces.

Moreover, at the centre of these things is where the government of Barbados and its evil demonic TAX enforcers have for a long time been hatching and conspiring more and more of their evil wicked THEFT ROBBERY schemes (the various repugnant Hitlerite TAX laws/rates/bureaucracies/divide and rule tactics) to fascistically seize the remuneration properties of the broadest number of people of this land, and, too, have been muchly using to put in place/to reinforce many of the same evil wicked THEFT ROBBERY schemes ( again the various TAX laws/rates/bureaucracies/divide and rule strategies) to outrageously wrongfully seize countless portions of the relevant remuneration properties of the relevant people, businesses and other entities in this country.

And damn it – many of the remuneration properties that the fascist government of Barbados/these tax enforcers end up with – DO NOT AND COULD NEVER HAVE BELONGED TO IT/THEM EITHER – BUT DULY RIGHTFULLY TO THE RELEVANT PEOPLE, BUSINESSES AND OTHER ENTITIES IN THIS COUNTRY.

So, it is these same structures and processes that have been at the CORE OF THE REPRODUCING AND THE EXPANDING OF SUCH HORRIFIC HORRIBLE DARKNESS AND EVIL THAT MUST NECESSARILY BE DEALT WITH ONCE AND FOR ALL IN ANY BID OF THE BROADEST NUMBERS OF LOCAL PEOPLE TO REMOVE SUCH DARKNESS AND EVIL FROM OUR COUNTRY AND TO CREATE A POST-TAXATION SOCIETY FOR BARBADOS.

Indeed, while it has been good, in itself, for many people, businesses, and other entities to have been rising up against this NON-EXISTENT Municipal Solid Waste Tax, of itself, it is far from sufficient to rightly remove us from this evil demonic TAXATION bondage, as that, it is those evil wicked ideological psychological political structures and processes that have given rise to this same mirage this Municipal Solid Waste Tax and to ALL TAXATION in this land, that must systematically be uprooted and removed once and for all from the political governmental landscape of Barbados, in the thrust of a people to secure total freedom from TAXATION.

We have already written on this BU network and have already said elsewhere, that if there is a time to REVOLT AGAINST TAXATION and to REVOLT against these intellectually backward, bankrupt, and discredited DLP/BLP factions in this country, it is NOW!NOW!!

6. Quit complaining and pay it .How do you expect the politicians pensions after just 8 years to be paid if you guys keep hoarding your money for food meds clothes and other bare necessities. Shame on you.. If you keep it up it wont even be worth being a politician.

7. When shall I hear the BLP saying that its members of Parliament SHALL NOT PAY THIS TAX!! I am sick and tired of Mia repeating what all of us know!! When shall the lawyers in the BLP get up off their arses can challenge this tax in the courts !! When! when! when!!

8. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

POSTED BY MICHAEL GODDARD 17 HOURS, 51 MINUTES AGO

The government tax is improper and already has many unintended consequences. Despite the name “Municipal Solid Waste Tax” this is simply an additional property tax in thin veil, the very legislation specifies that payments will go into the consolidated fund. We all know that is used for various public spending – starting first with payments on the ever increasing public debt.

While the drafters were simply trying to secure additional revenue and were not explicitly trying to force people or organizations out of their property. But it is clearly doing just that. The Boy Scout organization is in a bind, they may be asset rich but cash poor. The implications are dire. We should not judge a government program by its intentions, instead we must look at the results. Clearly the results are rotten. By merely owning land and buildings the government will impose a very large financial burden. IF you can’t pay the burden, then you are forced to sell the very land and buildings you own. And who will purchase said property? Perhaps the wealthy that can afford to? This tax amounts to theft of property and should be repealed. Government should instead sell its own assets and shrink spending. Barbados is already over taxed.

9. What arrangements, if any, have been made for SQUATTERS to pay this tax?

Is it fair for these individuals to occupy other people’s property and not pay land and municipal taxes, while those of us who seek property legitimately, are saddled with mortgage payments, land tax and now a municipal tax?

The mere fact that squatters generate just as much, or even more waste than most of us and are OR EXEMPTED from the solid waste tax, does this not give us a justifiable reason not to pay?

10. MoF, liar, liar tongue on fire. Review after 1 year my eye. You lied about the increase in VAT and we are now asked to take your word on this? The only salvation about this fiasco of a government is that one day coming soon all, I repeat ALL of you will be ordinary citizens again and walking amongst us without special privileges. Did I say walking? Think on that.

11. We need to have an occupy Bay St movement. Every property owner should assemble on the Esplanade opposite the PM’s office with placards.

12. The Muni Tax is not going away. To see the large amounts that the farming and hospitality sectors are being asked to pay. Bear in mind these are our most productive sectors. Will be interesting to see how the BRA and government respond to the ultimatum from the BA.

In fairness to the MoF to promise to review is just that, review.

13. Lawyers of the Barbados Bar Association must use the opportunity now available to them to bring a constitutional motion against government of Barbados in the High Courts of the people of this country seeking a declaration from those Courts that TAXATION is THEFT and therefore that TAXATION is illegal and unconstitutional in this country.

14. Two bedroom terrace house in UK. Council Tax applicable. Property identified as Band B. Occupier pays in excess of 100 pounds MONTHLY. Relief applicable.

15. ONE LARGE FARM group has been hit with a municipal solid waste tax bill for $170 000, while some farmers are being asked to shell out between $30 000 and $40 000.

If I were in business and forced to pay this tax I would borrow the money, pay the tax and lay off a few workers to ease my cash flow.

Just a logical business decision.

16. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

I really wonder if this government and their advisers carefully weighed in the balance the formula they derived to affix this tax. All the relevant people have ascertained that this is not a tax about waste but about land. Some articulated that it is ill conceived to create the equation used to determine the payment per household by the square foot the household lies on. Rather it should be done according to household numbers Well that SSS believes that the latter is a better idea because an island as small as Barbados with a small population should not have a problem with a per number per household generated refuse figure.

17. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

I see no reason why this tax cannot be base on household numbers and not land unless the government is in some type of sinister-ism. In researching some countries a few municipals calculate the fees to be paid to the collection agency on the amount of waste generated per city, per village, per town all on per house hold numbers. The calculation is base on the mean average which determines if house hold X has 7 persons, then X amount of kg of waste will be generated and so on. It does not matter rather you generate X or not the calculated average determines that you pay the affixed amount base on the mean average determined for that household. But that fixed amount will be determined by the overall average scale for which X kg of waste is expected to be generated. Thus if a family of five becomes a family of two a declaration of household numbers via the internet needs to be made in accordance with the law and an officer of the state will verify according to his or her accounting schedule. The law thus becomes the axe behind the drive to comply. This action will be two fold since the municipal registration system will account for what fees will be subjected to change whilst having statistical data for waste previously generated for the house hold of 7 determined under the average mean statistical chart for fees house hold 7 will now have to pay for the reduction in numbers to only 2. This determination will require and an analysis of variance to ascertain inference i.e. specific parish households that might have the same mean.

18. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

A municipal tax is a service oriented tax which derives a two fold benefit to the municipal and its people. The state provides garbage collection in the form of receptacles and collection trucks and disseminates collection information on a regular basis. Their responsibility is to ensure that taxes collected maintains the services provided. The people benefit in that the state provides “free” receptacles and garbage liners. The state can also measure per town the amount of waste generated and its types to establish recycling programmes to reduce, reuse and recycle.

I

19. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

It is my belief that Barbados could easily introduce this and it would not be a problem. But if you want to dupe people into believing this shite that a land gauge is the best gauge for this tax than the licks currently being afflicted upon them will get worse. The problem with my island is that no one wants the initial hard work. Most seem to want the easy and clout when the hard produce the fruits for those lazy ass no doers to jump on the bandwagon and steal the praise. It is clear, that this tax was ill conceived and makes no sense in the way people are charged. Rather the government needs money or not and has to generate it it does not make sense going by an “any means is necessary approach.

The government should therefore declare the tax as repealed and charge people a tax for refuse generated, which I think people would not have much of a problem with, as long as the state provides the necessities and show how the taxes are surfacing the collection of refuse and the reduction of it under a carefully monitored transparent programme.

20. Off Topic.. Good luck to anybody applying for a duty free car under the returning national program. A comedy of errors & incompotence.
    And wunna wonder why Barbados in the state it is !!.

21. What is the problem with the returning national program? We know Minister McClean reads BU.

22. lawson | July 11, 2014 at 7:22 AM |

Quit complaining and pay it .How do you expect the politicians pensions after just 8 years to be paid if you guys keep hoarding your money for food meds clothes and other bare necessities. Shame on you.. If you keep it up it wont even be worth being a politician.

Lawson…..that’s the whole idea, the way things are going Bajans may be a whole lot better off without politicians.

SSS said:
    “The state provides garbage collection in the form of receptacles and collection trucks and disseminates collection information on a regular basis. Their responsibility is to ensure that taxes collected maintains the services provided.”

Please note that emphasis should paced be on the “STATE PROVIDES”, how the hell did bizzy get into the mix, that is probably the first mistake the politicians made, replacing/transfering state responsibilities to bizzy, private entities are ALWAYS self-serving….lazy cowards.

23. Sunshine Sunny Shine “:I see no reason why this tax cannot be base on household numbers and not land unless the government is in some type of sinister-ism…”
    Your idea seems fair to all ‘fair-minded people’ but this government and perhaps the ‘previous’ cannot be called fair-minded.

I believe this government did thought out the above as you stated; but ask yourself, which homes are most likely to have 5 or more people occupying them?

My answer: Those people who are most likely to vote for this ‘LOT’ that is in government .Most are low wage earners; many who are living in rented accommodation;One parent families; many who are already dependent on the services for assistance.

The democratic labour party would not go this route because this is the area where its support is based.

24. The sad thing about this whole thing is imagine the person who has been living for generations on land that wasn’t considered desirable because of mosquitos and other things ..since the onset of a booming tourism market it has become valuable , but because of property tax on the inflated value and this new sewage one he cant afford the payments so he has to sell the land .Now the money he gets he has to put in the bank at no interest, invest in a clico or harlequin or hide it under his mattress as the vultures circle trying to figure out how they can get it. He cant claim hardship because they are land rich they are doomed to have to leave their birth rite whether they want to or not because the policy makers need there indexed pensions and salaries and damn it somebody has to pay for them.

25. @ Lawson
    …..one he cant afford the payments so he has to sell the land….
    ++++++++++++
    Wuh if you can see that
    And Bushie can see that
    …shiite ….even Dompey can see that

…and yuh mean the DLP can’t see um?
    BBs

26. Lawson…….one big problem for the poor land owner who happens to be land wealthy and the dishonest politicians and business people trying to rip him/her off………..no one is buying anything in Barbados, i am told there are properties up and down the South Coast, West Coast, inland and all around the island that have been on the market for 10-15 years and new ones are appearing on the market daily from bank repos etc……..who the hell wants anything to do with Barbados now with all the corruption in the judiciary and among the business people tied to the politicians……the land will not sell, the word has spread too far and wide, if the DLP/BLP think they have problems now, wait until next year….lol

When you plant corn, you reap corn.

27. Today on Brasstacks the spokesperson of the SSA Alf Padmore called to complain that a house was taken down and left “in de road”.
    Immediately I concluded that this was a case of a direlect property and the site was being de-taxed of solid waste.

28. @Gabriel

That was top of the class stuff!

29. David
    Honoured kind sir!

30. One of COW’s dump trucks was observed recently depositing a load of stone outside the Blood Collecting Unit at QEH, prior to an intended visit to that institution by the Prime Minister and the Minister of Finance.
    Apparently this duo has perfected the knack of producing blood from stone.

31. David | July 11, 2014 at 12:49 PM |
    What is the problem with the returning national program? We know Minister McClean reads BU
    ……………………………………………………………………………….
    Is the Department which deals with the Returning Nationals, still known as the Facilitation Unit of Returning Nations, FURN? The politicians and other officials have sure got the first two letters of that acronym right, in dealing with our very own people who have decided to return home.

32. That should have read ” Facilitation Unit for Returning Nationals.”

33. welll let me ask wunna a question since all is so up in arms by the muni tax,,,what would wunna prefer the govt to do in order to fix the dilapidated house call barbados we all live in……i meaning i can understand that there maybe many that the tax can be of a burden..but i am yet to hear the ones on BU and in the opposition political blp party come up with a less painful solution..for fixing de ole house,,,no more than to hear them repeat over and over again,,,,they don’t like the tax,,,,but what are they proposing,,,,,,,hell…..if u ask me i really don;t know,,,,

34. like … sinckler ..say ..this is where we call home,,,,if wunna want to make sacrifice and do the repair ,,it is up to wunna ,,or wunna can let it falll bit by bit as have been happening through out the years ,,,,completely to the ground,,,,,and let the termites feast from the remaining remnants,,it is entirely up to the occupants,,,,,,,remeber now it is wunna house,,,,,,take it or maybe if necessary leave it,,,,

35. I think that the Prime Minister has got Bajans, where he wanted them. To hear them crying, pleading,and begging him for mercy. Perhaps we should consider replacing the Broken Trident on our national flag, with something similar, a Black Scorpion.
    As the words of 1 Kings Chapter 12 Verse 11,seem to have come straight out of the mouths of our leaders.
    ” And now whereas my father did lade you with a heavy yoke,I will add to your yoke: my father hath chastised you with whips, but I will chastise you with scorpions.”

36. Colonel Buggy

Let me ask you this very important question: why do the people of Barbados continue to look at the instrument of government, as their only source to forge a productive living? I do agree that the fundamental responsibility of government lies process of providing the infrastructure necessary to make available opportunity whereby the citizenry can forge a productive living. But what has happened to the concept of private enterprise and doing it amiss the assistance of government? We have heard little or no discussion regarding this approach here on BU, and quite frankly, this has at least in my estimation, perpetuated this cycle of dependency one often sees in the developing countries in our time and age.

37. Colonel Buggy

Isn’t that what social democracy entails….? A minimum governmental oversight with a focused aim on the private- enterprise? I thought Democracy was created with the expressed purpose of freeing us from the shackles that the State endeavors to put on us, and offering to us as much personal freedom as possible. So why do we feel the need to cast our net solely on the shoulders of government, as though this institution is the only means to forge a productive living. Some here spoke of the despicable and dilapidated conditions at the QEH, and I say: what has happened to the idea of building a private hospital if you’re dissatisfied with the government owned and operated hospital? Isn’t that what free- enterprise entails these days?

38. Colonel Buggy

We cannot continue to look to the instrument of government as a resting place. We must do as the East Indians have done…. we cannot continue to sell sweet potatoes, breadfruits and somehow think we’re going to make it in this new global economy Bushie. We have to venture out in the areas of scientific inquiry and technological innovation, if we intend to uplift this small rock some refer to as Bim.

39. David

And finally, where is the future of Barbados David? I am sick of chat with these old fogies with their caveman ideas and concepts of how to move Barbados forward. We need to involve the young people in the discussion, or else we will surely end up like the Roman Empire.

40. Domphey is right too many of you old pricks are well past your best buy date. What is needed is a black plague ( no pun intended) When it roared across the continent yeah it was awful but the end result was the minimum wage went up and the people who survived had a better life. You old folks should step aside and let the brainiacs like my son who bought a motor or should I say donorcycle yesterday run things for a while. No more of that save for a rainy day stuff …spend…spend…spend…It is a shame that old people don’t get smart until their kids reach 30 and have families. Involve the young??? I would be suspicious of any youth who is not smart enough to be making preparations for residence relocation

41. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

We Will keep reading , Now you ALL seen NOW to be getting the Idea of how this Fraud of land is working, The Fraud of TAX is Working, These CROOKS LIARS AND SCUMBAGS ARE WORKING,
    How the PONZI is working,How the Ministers are not thinking , but only to TAX away your things so they can buy it tax free for Life.
    Now All is getting hit with the Same Lie and Fraud as Violet Beckles ,
    Now you all are waking up , Its Just on a More Massive scale when it on one Person,
    The DBLP government is the largest owner by way of fraud and lawyer tricks,So let see what there Bill alone is and then we have the govenrment taxxxxing itself, All ministers need to make sure that All pay their own Fraud TAX , On all the thing that they do not own , But yet get rents for.

Now LOOK, WELL WELL at what said,@@ Artaxerxes | July 11, 2014 at 8:03 AM |

What arrangements, if any, have been made for SQUATTERS to pay this tax?

Is it fair for these individuals to occupy other people’s property and not pay land and municipal taxes, while those of us who seek property legitimately, are saddled with mortgage payments, land tax and now a municipal tax?

GOOD now LOOK, WELL WELL said @@ac | July 11, 2014 at 11:19 PM |

like … sinckler ..say ..this is where we call home,,,,if wunna want to make sacrifice and do the repair ,,it is up to wunna ,,or wunna can let it falll bit by bit as have been happening through out the years ,,,,completely to the ground,,,,,and let the termites feast from the remaining remnants,,it is entirely up to the occupants,,,,,,,remeber now it is wunna house,,,,,,take it or maybe if necessary leave it,,,,

These two post well apart from each other is closer to the truth as you may get on the BU,
    We At PLANTATION DEEDS HOW YOU ALL CAN SEE WHERE THE TRUTH LIES NOW THAT THE FRAUD IS AT YOUR DOOR, THE DOOR YOU MAY NOW OWN, WHICH CAN BE UP TO 90% of land being claimed by those who dont own nor pay , Who now maybe looking for the true owner not to pay this tax,
    By deed alone the high court move against land fraud.Nation paper heading.

42. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

UN-real , So real , The DLP has now find a way to get back at the BLP for this Massive Land Fraud against Violet Beckles in away they never saw coming,
    All the land and buildings taken and the BLP with AG MIA and PM Owen , now they will have to pay for,
    The Big LC building that is to be MIA By the SHELL gas station also will have to be paid for, Land rent tax, Apartment tax, Land tax and now Site tax , Will now make more people pay more in rent as more people move to a smaller place to live .
    This government and all others knows that Violet Beckles is the owner and refuse to even pay her the rents from the government.
    But yet dont want her to get her rents ad want non owners to pays owners taxes with out the owner getting their rent.

COW and BUZZY have a lot of money owed and the fraud MOF need to stop letting his big black and white friend free pass on taxes , We need to see what MOF/PM SIr Ham and Sir COW records on what they to own .

CUP/CUP stay on them , This is a Kodak share moment for Barbados,They are now getting the picture , the RATS are on the run.

http://epaper.barbadostoday.bb/
    look at MIA and Owen TAX BILL JUMP

43. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

It would be interesting to know what exemptions have government offered to those who own much real estate. Because if they have exempted in secret and it is ascertained may God help them.

44. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

All the big ups will have a nice tax bill now due, Let them pay the way from the top down in paying the unlawful fraud tax, Let all the lawyer now pay on all the rent they are getting off the books,
    Let the BLP and BLP now pay all the taxes due,

Let do this, Let NOW pay from the top of the food chain down first and then stop the tax when we reach 30 million Dollars,

Top one percent of all pimp holders MUST pay first, , then Ministers ,COW ,and family, , then Lawyer, QC, Sirs, Companies , Car dealers , Realestate companies , and so on ,

All Bill that are not paid from the Biggest man down , can now send their Bills to Plantation Deeds, We sure we have a Plantation deed to Match where you are doing your business, Paying the tax do not make you crooks, liars and scumbags the True , rightful , nor legal owner, No gain by law byway of Fraud,

45. leave it to the bushman..every manjack and baby would be riding in horse and buggy style,,,,,and weed whackers would be bushie version of the lawn mower,, this guy

46. David:

Do you know whether BRA is paying the front line workers charged with collecting income tax, land tax, muni tax, driver’s tax etc.

Are they being paid their travel allowances and their overtime?

Has BRA started to send out income tax refunds yet? If not why not?

If the government is late with refunds the government must pay interest to the taxpayers.

If the government is late with refunds the government in incurring debt.

Will the government have the money to pay these refunds + interest?

Just asking some

Simple Questions

47. @Simple

According to the MoF the BRA has until September to finalize refunds. As far as BU is aware travel allowances were not repaid since the MoF muddled the implementation of it.

On Saturday, 12 July 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

48. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Prodigal Son | August 26, 2013 at 9:31 AM |
    Come to think of it, this municipal tax would hit Donville so hard because he has 19 properties……………..no wonder it is being reviewed. You really think if it was not going to hurt him badly, they would care? Hell no!

49. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Caswell

So in essence the jackasses in this government forget to put protection measures in place for themselves and the other big ups. You know they will do so now and come back with another package that sounds appealing, implement it and then drive home the increases at a later stage in situ.

50. @ Bush Tea, I observed Bizzy Williams stole your policy of replacing the Muni Tax with a levy on imports and passing it off as his own in today’s Nation newspaper (lol).