The Sunday, July 6, 2014 Voice of Barbados (VoB) talk show will be the host of The Hon. Christopher Sinckler, M.P. Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs and Commissioner of the Barbados Revenue Authority, Margaret Sivers to clarify public concern about the Municipal Solid Waste Tax and related issues โ€“ Click image to follow the program from 11AM.

The Sunday, July 6, 2014 Voice of Barbados (VoB) talk show will host The Hon. Christopher Sinckler, M.P. Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs and Commissioner of the Barbados Revenue Authority, Margaret Sivers to address public concern about the Municipal Solid Waste Tax and related issues โ€“ Click image to follow the program from 11AM.

280 responses to “Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler and Commissioner of the Barbados Revenue Authority Margaret Sivers Meet Talk Show Host Corey Layne to Debate the Muni Tax”

1. Truth is hard for fools Avatar
    Truth is hard for fools

All seem to be point

2. Everybody creates waste yes and can you imagine the amount of waste the MOF creates? Here he is on the airwaves with so much shoite coming out of his mouth! He is making up policies and reasons as he goes along. He is such a piece of solid waste!

3. Imagine this fool for a Minister – in response to himself rejecting why persons complain about the myth of land taxes when they already own the rights over the land – just stating that all lands in Barbados belonging to the Crown?!

What an absolute fool!

That type of uneducated response shows why he, the DLP and BLP must be permanently removed in less than 4 years from the governmental corridors of power of this country.

That is the type of unstudied response that should ignite a popular people’s democratic uprising in this country.

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Where did they hire this man who is reading the news now?

He must be related to Minister WeJonesing whu he name is Emerton Motlley?

He is awful

5. We wonder if there can be no end to the demands from this MOF for increased tax revenues. Indeed, that this MOF with a straight face could insist that an additional pound of flesh must be surrendered to this Ptolemy.

6. The man who made the point that the tax was applied to landowners because this group has to pay, the minister was speachless.

7. The DLP/BLP elites are circling the wagon

8. David @ 12.55
    And this man, made my point!!! the minister did not have an answer and it sounded as if he heard for the first time that there is such a thing as “tenants”.

9. Bajans can’t live in Barbados no more. We shall be taxed out of existence.

10. Imagine the same fool for a Minister of Finance later now turning around and saying that the government cannot huff anybody’s land that they have put down……just like that in view of the wickedness of the process under which this thieving robbing TAXATIO scheme operates??!

What a contradictory buffoon!!

11. “Three bins at each manโ€™s/womanโ€™s house where we place food/bio-degradables in Bin A, non-biodegradables Bin B and gl(ass) in Bin C”

This what I am doing in Toronto and it cost me about $200 PER YEAR.

12. One thing is absolutely about this whole affair…
    …the MoF is not very bright.
    …and he seems to outshine the PM..

…and ac speaks for them both……
    OH SHIITE!!!!!!!

13. Bushie your wit is refreshing. ROTFLMRAO

14. So maybe we black people should emulate COW and buy land.

15. @ Hants
    A caller just asked the minister if he was not worried that these taxes will be so onerous that come December, REDUCED VAT, duties and tax reductions will make the whole thing counter productive…
    …he sounded surprised at the thought….

Perhaps if he had gone to a school where the story of the man who killed the golden goose was told…he would not have been …..

16. @Bush Tea

The minister very loudly kicked the waste to energy issue into the goal of the environment..lol.

17. This is for sure…
    One can see why It is MUCH better for the DLP when these Ministers refuse to come to the public …and why they talk only at constituency branch meetings…

….better to be thought to be clueless, than to come on BrassTacks and confirm it without a doubt…

LOL @ Hants
    Emulate COW?
    You want Plantation DEEDs to cuss Bushie now?
    You think Bushie could bribe one of our ministers? Wuh the man would piss pon the whacker and toss Bushie out of the office…

Now Kammie Holder come and drive another spoke in Stinkler’s donkey…. Asking him why Barbados paying $240M for a WTE plant when the Chinese buying one from the SAME PEOPLE for $15M.
    ….he say something ’bout economies of scale…. LOL Ha Ha Ha

….wait anyone notice that since Stinkler on Brass tacks that ac off BU…? LOLOLOLOL Ha Ha

18. @ David
    …you mean he seems to be completely ignorant about the whole thing…..

19. @Bush Tea

In fairness to the MoF he did say the specs maybe different. Let us see how the townhalls with Cahill go.

20. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Hants

You said “This what I am doing in Toronto and it cost me about $200 PER YEAR.”

This is why I am of the opinion that

(i) the DLP is bereft of any logical skills and conceptualization to even conceive a “sort at source” strategy
    (ii) they did not examine this concept in any detail
    (iii) there have been significant financial kickbacks that are obvious and which have in no small way informed on and complexioned the myopic vision and strategy of this programme and
    (iv) they are singularly the worst government we have ever had

21. @PODRYR

Don’t you get it, big capital works programs mean gravy to be had.

22. Hear the fascist Minister speak, words to the effect, that any body who fails to hand over the relevant portions of their remunerations to the government, they would be in breach of the law and that they are consequences of that failure….. that there is the amalgamation of the TAX authorities…..there is no getting away… from handing over their relevant remunerations because of the many functions a person/entity will be carrying out involving TAXATION in many ways in this country in order to carry out those functions which would be thwarted in cases where no relevant remunerations are handed over in the original instances under this legislation and which are original instances that would still be referred to by the Minister of Finance and still be subject to being handed over no matter what.

This minister is seeking to drive fear into the hearts of some Barbados by uttering such rubbish.

He will NOT succeed!!

Persons who are adamant that they are NOT going to be handing over their own remunerations to the government must follow their consciences and NOT hand over any of them to the government.

For, Taxation is Theft, Theft is Evil, Taxation is Evil.

We have said it many times before that a certain future coalitional regime of Barbados and of which the PDC will be part shall lead the way in the creation of a POST-Taxation society for Barbados.

TAXATION MUST GO!!

23. Bushie wrote “better to be thought to be clueless, than to come on BrassTacks and confirm it without a doubtโ€ฆ

Bushie you on a roll today LMRAO

What truly amazes me is that everything in Barbados cost 10 times more than anywhere else in the world.

24. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Do you note that, even with a calculator, Minister Sinckler still has difficulty with the decimal point?

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Bush Tea

AC is “drinking at the font of non-knowledge” so that she can come back and regurgitate the idiocy

26. The MoF fires a ball across Nelson before he left the program.

Total accessible incomes less allowances is a problem and must be reviewed.

27. Bushie and Piece:
    We know that Sinklair aint too bright but we need not rub his nose so badly!!

28. ALTER NRG TO SUPPLY 15 MW PLASMA GASIFICATION WASTE TO ENERGY PLANT IN CHINA
    3 March 2014
    By Ben Messenger
    Managing Editor

Plasma gasification technology developer, Alter NRG is to supply a gasifier to a 15 MW municipal solid waste to energy facility in the City of Bijie, China.

The company (TSX: NRG and OTCQX: ANRGF) said that it has signed a $15 million agreement with Bijie City Green Environmental Energy Limited (BGE) to provide a Westinghouse Plasma Gasification Solution to the facility.
    The 600 tonne per day facility has been officially designated as a key project by the Provincial Government of Guizhou due to the anticipated environmental benefits.
    Under the agreement, Alter NRG and its wholly owned subsidiary Westinghouse Plasma, will provide a site license, gasifier equipment, related control, instrumentation, and engineering services for approximately $15 million.

More Waste Management World Articles

Is Waste Gasification Finally Coming of Age?
    Combined gasification and plasma project in UK receives planning permission Plasma Gasification Waste to Energy Project to Inject Gas to Grid in UK Second Plasma Gasification Plant for Teesside Following Government Deal Plasma Arc Destruction System for Canadian Fridge Recycling Firm Plasma Arc Recycling of Precious Metals Alter NRG to Supply 15 MW Plasma Gasification Waste to Energy Plant in China Deal to Accelerate Plasma Gasification & Fuel Cell Use in Thai Waste to Energy Plants.

Alter NRG said that it expects to realise the majority of the revenue over the next 18 months, and has executed and received a mobilisation payment on the engineering contract and executed memorandums of understanding on the site license and equipment sale that will be finalised once final approvals are obtained.
    The final equipment package is subject to change based on the engineering work performed. The waste to energy project will not proceed past the engineering phase valued at approximately $1 million until final PRC approvals are obtained.

According to Alter NRG the project has progressed steadily through business development and environmental permitting for the past four years, and has obtained provincial approval and is awaiting the People’s Republic of China (PRC) final approvals which are expected in Q2 of 2014. #
    The project intends to convert the vitrified slag output from the gasifier into block foam insulation which can be sold at a much higher sales value.

BGE has patented a process which is claimed to convert the slag which has passed Chinese technical certification into foam insulation which can be sold as a Class A, non-combustible building material.
    Following the initial start-up, which is expected in mid-2016, Alter NRG said that BGE intends to double the capacity of the facility with a second gasifier.

โ€œThis project will also provide a testing platform for clean coal applications,โ€ commented Jeffery Hu, Principal at BGE.
    Walter Howard, chief executive officer at Alter NRG added: “Having a simultaneous second large-scale project commencing is a significant commercial milestone as it will provide additional cash flow for 2014.

Read More

Plasma Gasification Plant Commissioned for Treating Incinerator Ash
    Alter NRG has commissioned the Westinghouse Plasma torches used at a new incinerator ash vitrification facility constructed by GTS Energy in Shanghai, China.

29. Could not believe Chris Sinckler could not answer the price differential from the future centre guy. Hope VOB or BU will follow as he said he will have to get answers from his technical people.

30. Where is Dr Denis Lowe and his new $250,000 BMW X5? it seems Denis does beg for he and Chris while Chris does face the public for Denis.

31. Was an explanation given for Sivers non appearance?

32. Listening to News Reading or Reading of the news at Starcom is a very comedic exercise for me. Don’t talk about Ken Husbands. If you think Everton Mottley is the bomb, you should check Ken.-absolute Dynomite.
    That whole lot at VOB including DJ with his arrogant know it all self, the self conceiting underminer mulatto boy RClarke , the biased and dirty linen displayer Ellis along with Carol with her penchant for disturbing the equilibrium of sane individuals , the whole lot of them are nothing but pollutants and should all pay a higher rate of Solid waste Tax

33. Jan Jan so why are you listening ? Just tune off or turn the dial right?

34. David | July 6, 2014 at 2:40 PM |
    Was an explanation given for Sivers non appearance.

Sivers is a self serving biotch who does not know how to relate to human beings and who has been foisted on the unsuspecting Barbadian individuals who have to contend with this waste of a Government to carry out an unnecessary mission of hate against humanity, in the name of an unnecessary entity -the BRA AND AGAINST peaceful law abiding citizens namely Barbadians workers and the public in general. Sivers should pay a higher rate of Solid Waste Tax for wasting people’s time and treating human beings with contempt. Ask those who work with her what kind of person she is.

35. So the conclusion is that Sink-wha” Sinckkklwer

Oh well ! –i cant get the name called
    It is he that is AC then ?

36. Islandgal
    I listen for Comedic relief.
    GET A GOOD LAUGH EVERY TIME
    Try it and see
    And on top of the News Reading, they always get the wrong extract to the news item. They will say here is the Central Bank Governor talking about the evaluation of the Barbados dollar and play an extract of Ronald Jones talking about babies—Amusing !!!

37. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Independent | July 6, 2014 at 12:57 PM |

David @ 12.55
    And this man, made my point!!! the minister did not have an answer and it sounded as if he heard for the first time that there is such a thing as โ€œtenantsโ€@

โ€œtenantsโ€@ As little as we know, The tenants, are to pay rent to the land owners. The rent then to be reported to Inland Rev each month and to be paid 17.5% VAT as the so-called law stands, Therefore the taxes of such can never be paid by thousands on the land for the records were removed or blocked by lawyers. 90% of land rent records and recordings are not at the inland rev. Because the government hide the records of Beatrice Henry and Violet Beckles, So with out the Official records not being in Order being that we at PLANTATION DEEDS report 90% of there records to the Royal Barbados Police Fraud Squad Station Sgt Mark White.
    40 pages signed in his Office over 4 weeks or recording by his hands , ears and pen.
    If the records of the people even in town of more than 2000 houses rentals would pay rent and enforce in court to pay rents , The 17.5% of said rent the be given and paid to inland to add to the nations banks accounts to run the gov..
    For now the biggest land owner by they fraud records seem to be the Barbados Crown ,not the Queen of England , COW, Tera, Credit unions,
    BLP and DLP ministers, NHC and UDC.Sir Forde, Sir Chelenham, Dennis Clarke QC, those who bought out Barclay’s Bank and took over Beatrice Henry’s bank accounts.
    Government on records will them self have to pay the bulk of the taxes they asking for, As time goes by the land moved from Queen Beatrice and Queen Violet is year by year moving in the the Wills and accounts of all the Ministers Friends and family. Ask Denis Lowe and you Sinkman Mof and CLICO..

So true ownership hidden from the UWI History by Sir Beckles and Sir Henry of the National Trust that put out books and information that conflicts with Bajan History.
    So with World standards of TITLE SEARCH AND CLEAR TITLE BY LAW.
    NOT IN PLACE. The World Bank and the IDB took back $60 million,S&P,IMF can not support Fraud by any nations.
    At this time the same thing that happen to Grease Is now happening to Barbados , Loans by 3rd and 4th parties at rates We will have to pay back like Jamaica .
    These Billions in new Shark Slavery Loans will just prop up Barbados until next Elections , Who then Fools will fall for the same thing again and fall even harder the next time after the next Elections, Unless the people Wake up between now and then to VOTE them out.

The so called 3party that was defrauded in the last elections need to win to expose the fraud of the BLP, DLP AND UNIFIED DBLP GOVERNMENT .
    STUDY WELL.

38. “And on top of the News Reading, they always get the wrong extract to the news item. They will say here is the Central Bank Governor talking about the evaluation of the Barbados dollar and play an extract of Ronald Jones talking about babiesโ€”Amusing ”

Then Jan Jan you could say the same about all radio and our only TV station. Can you recommend one that is good enough to listen to?

39. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

To whomever asked the question about Shivers.

I was surprised when, on turning on the internet radio (yes boasie I did get it tuh wuk, I am joining the 21st century while leaving it shortly), I was the most surprised man that Sinkliar was there ON TIME!!

Somebody tell de man dat, even doah he tink dat he ent responsible tuh de Bajans dat he bettah be dere pun time.

I cud bet anything dat he did tell Shivers dat he did not going and dat she en blish tuh go.

Dat is a Sinkliar move, lef she out dere in de wild while he get to talk de whole time. If de nex man from whey evah he did from, say 50 words den my real name is Freundel Stuart!! Dat man did as lacklustre as Sam Headley black belly sheep pooch!! And all de time he tek was to find Article 19 uh de act dat he did responsible fuh. Idjit.

You wudda tink doah dat Sinckler wudda come prepared fuh dem questions dat de white umman who got some issues wid Bizzy did level doah.

It was obvious dat she had some confidential info dat wudda cat spraddle he, but it wudda expose she to the next nudder 5,999 white peoples in Bulbados and she halt short uh de point.

But she did point out dat (i) a ton uh garbage cost x to process and (ii) ef we Bulbadians giving we garbage to Bizzie and dat for each ton dat we gives he does get Y dollars den dat shudda be used to offset de cost from an actuarial point uh view, dat is a new word i hear de Central Bank Guvnor using so i is using it too.

Now I plans to write Corey and congratulate he fuh getting in he barbs against sinkliar while not getting sinckliar vex enough to cuss he, leff de studio and get Corey fire tomorrow,

He got balls dis Corey and some sense, he did had questions prepared and he did do some research too

I plan did to write he and axe he dat among de questions dat he is to axe de minister, whichin i doan believe dat de minister gine reply, if he wud axe he ef, given that he de minister excrete so much sh*te pun national radio if he de minister gine get a kick back for the ton us solid and liquid waste matter dat he deliver to VOB radio today.

I was didda have to tex tissue paper and wipe off my cuntputer fuh de ingronce en faeces dat he broadcast through de radio waves, sorry cybernet waves today fuh 2 en 3/4 hours.

At least he broadcast dat schoolchilren, de same chilren dat we Jonesing does be talking boat, gince soom have to pay a hybrid busfare.

40. @PODRYR

$144k per day she said, wow!

Yes Corey did a good job, refreshing, he was probing with a sincere ‘bedside manner’.

41. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Hants | July 6, 2014 at 1:11 PM @ nice YOUtube ,
    We have the DVD on that , This COW shit fisherman did not buy Shit,
    COW even went to Violet Beckels no, There are My Aunt things she leave for me she told him and he leave her place ,

Both the DBLP have to fight hard not to let a 3rd party in , Who in this COW , BIZZY and Et Alii will see in side of what 30 Million built on Violet Beckles ,
    Barbados books, Why you think Barbados is this Massive Ponzi Fraud now and blackmailed by all the ministers that know ad all the Sirs on the Iland in this she-it
    Let the Record reflect ,Vote better next time

42. The woman was tight.
    She more than anyone else make Sinckler look like a yard boy….

The folly of black Bajans….

Imagine Bushie have a dozen golden apple trees and all year long they dropping apples and got the place nasty up…..
    Bizzy comes along and tell Bushie that he building a golden apple juice factory and want all the apples Bushie can supply….

No problem.
    ….except that Stinkler now telling Bushie that because the bushman previously paid $1000 per year to dispose of the fallen apples, he now want Bushie to contribute $1000 per year to Bizzy for doing Bushie a favour and taking the golden apples…..

He is a shiite!?!
    GOLDEN APPLES FOR SALE SKIPPA….

Wunna see now why a fool and his money are soon parted….?

Anybody who think Bushie born this century is a bigger shiite than Al Malaki…..

43. @PDC “Imagine this…Minister โ€“ in response to himself rejecting why persons complain about the myth of land taxes when they already own the rights over the land โ€“ just stating that all lands in Barbados belonging to the Crown?!”

This is one time I have to agree with the PDC.

My land does NOT belong to the Crown.

1. I acknowledge no kings, queens or crowns anyhow.
    2. It was I, not the Crown who stuffed my holey shoes with newspaper and continued to wear them to work so that I could pay for this land.

Maybe the Crown and Chris have inherited their property, but I PAID FOR MINE denying myself, food, clothes, and proper footwear in order to do so.

No Chris. The Crown does not own my land.

The government of Barbados does not own my land.

I and I alone am the sole owner of this land.

44. Hants and the other Canadians

How do you handle the garbage separation in Toronto?

I’ve been told that the City provides a bin or basket for newspapers, flattened cardboard boxes and such and that since this is clean and dry is is collected once a month.

That householders are expected to rinse and store metal, plastic and glass containers and these are put in another bin and collected once every two weeks,

And that regular stinky garbage, food waste etc is collected once or twice per week.

That the various bins are provided to every household and that the bins are color coded, and that a public relations campaign taught householders how and when to put out the various bins.

Is this correct?

45. Concerned Citizen Avatar
    Concerned Citizen

Old Timer | July 4, 2014 at 7:51 AM |

“Wanted for questioning for allegations of crimes against Barbados. Owen Arthur, Glyne Bannister, Denis Lowe, Michael Lashley, Mia Mottley, Dale Marshall, Calton Brathwaite, Darcy Boyce, Glyne Clarke, Chris Sinckler, Billy Yhap, Bjerkhamn,Hallam Nicholls, Kenny Best, John DE Boyce, Mark Malonely, Kyffin Simpson,Rodney Wilkinson, Ronald Wilkinson and all the others at accused of taking bribes such as some of the corrupt workers at Licensing Authority and Immigration.”

46. I must commend Corey for his stellar work today. He makes Ellis and the rest look like force ripe mangoes. He was fearful and we need more like him.

47. QUEENS PLATE AT WOODINE

PATRICK HUSBANDS IS THE WINNING JOCKEY.

HE JUST SID HE CALLED BARBADOS TO TELL DE FELLAS HE COMING HOME TO CELEBRATE.

WHAT A CLASS ACT.

THEY TALKING ABOUT HIS FAMILY ALL BEING JOCKEYS.

IF THE BTA DON’T USE THIS GUY TO PROMOTE BARBADOS THEY ARE IDIOTS.

48. Barbados get a whole lot on mention in the live coverage of the race.

WELL DONE PATRICK HUSBANDS.

49. Yep … The White woman expose the plan … $144K a day when you are in fact supplying raw material to the plant. Jesus Christ… and somebody is going to call me a conspiracy theorist …. It is obvious that Big money has the political parties in their pockets.. the same parties that aided the private interests as they climbed the mound.

The woman asked what was the credit that the Sanitation Dept was to receive for the supply of this material and Sinclair, who was to have been prepared, had no f’cking answer, but a promise to deliver it in a week’s time. The woman said “I DO NOT BELIEVE YOU” … I luvs she baaad

Look, the whole of Barbados is being asked to facilitate the return on investment of ONE only Barbadian … Political Parties, my ass