Submitted by William Skinner
Robert Clarke, Attorney-at-Law led a march recently and many hope it is the start of more to come.
82 year old Robert Clarke, Attorney-at-Law led a march recently, many hope it is the start of a movement.

We often speak of unfinished business and sometimes this saying takes on very interesting twists. Back in the late sixties and seventies, a progressive group of black Barbadians, spoke about the unfinished business bequeathed to us by our decadent colonial masters. They told us that failure to radically reorganize the society, would eventually lead to the marginalization of the poor black citizens.

Of course, the then political class adroitly led by Errol Barrow, in an attempt to appease the fears of white Barbadians, moved swiftly to destroy the black nationalists movement by going into parliament and passing the dangerous Public Order Act. This vicious piece of legislation brought tremendous comfort to those citizens who opposed the true emancipation of Black Barbadians. Ironically, there were Black Barbadians who also opposed the Black Nationalist movement and they heralded the passing of the Public Order Act as a master stroke.

As the old people used to say: Time longer than twine. Hence after almost fifty years of independence, we are faced with the same issues including the rights of the poor black Barbadian workers, who are feeling the full weight of the almost totally black political class. While the workers representatives vacillate and negotiate, the more progressive forces within the society, know that the time for talking has long passed.

With no real dynamic leader from within their unions and the callousness of the political class covering the land, the masses needed a voice. They could not find one anywhere because most of them have either been silenced by the political masters operating in both the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party or simply are not interested in the plight of their struggling brothers and sisters.

Fortunately for those now feeling the full weight of economic austerity and unemployment; the voice that has come to their rescue is from the group that once told them about the need to settle some unfinished business. That is why I am extremely supportive of the efforts of Comrade Robert โ€œBobbyโ€ Clarke, to be that voice. His message rings as louder and truer now as it did over four long decades ago. The voice of truth can never be silenced.

As long as the faces being laid off and marginalized are black; there will be need for progressive and enlightened leaders to challenge the political class. We are still dealing with some unfinished business and the sooner we finish it, the better it will be for our society. The race is not oโ€™er and the battle is far from won.

Thank you, Comrade Clarke, for continuing the march toward equality. When the true history of Barbados is written your prominent and earned place will not be forgotten.

100 responses to “The Struggle Continues in Bim”

1. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Well Well;

I know the man. I think he is as you describe. But I don’t think that is of, as I said, overweening relevance to the current situation.

His “leadership” here was in getting the ball rolling. It may be like a snowball or it may be not. But he provided an example.

What I think is noteworthy is that he took on that leadership role, unasked, while suffering some significant personal health and comfort sacrifices and with no obvious path to political leadership for himself or his party. That is of extreme importance now since a feature of all our current selfish leadership has been a very noticeable avoidance of any kind of personal sacrifice, from Freundel to Donville, from Trotman to Clarke, etc. etc.

Bobby Clarke may well turn out to be an unlikely initial small spark which the Government apparently feared might have led to their discomfort, if the over-the-top show of force at the march is any guide.

2. Are we there yet…….i am not disputing what you think, it all just needs to be put in perspective while allowing the black females on the island who are at risk of becoming just sex symbols and victims to a very sick mind know who and what they are dealing with, no more no less…Bobby lost his way a very long time ago, if he can now make amends without ulterior motives of a sexual nature, i would be the first to congratulate him, if he can get 50,000 people to march, don’t mind the asses in the DLP, they can only watch, more power to the people as a collective..

By the way, i have known Bobby for 40 years, personally, he knows how i feel and that i will talk out all his sick shit in a New York minute, it could only be for the better.

3. Bush tea u need to shut up ..u in no positon to school or dictate what great leadership is about..listen up negro.it is embodies sacrifices that few are willing to give……something that u would never give..as obvious on friday..now today with your self serving crticism because govt asked u to make a sacrifice in helping to restructure the economy….you are one self righteous bastard…

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

We all have our internal evils to control. All have sinned save Jesus the Christ.

So with the secrets out in the open, the list of our once thriving gonads, libido, prowess and indiscretions, exposed for all and sundry to see, what next?

When do we march again?

With Kadooment around the corner, we have the national wuk up festival another tool to further inebriate the masses and dampen this summer, rather season, of discontent.

5 years of Lamentation – reads like a bible liturgy and littany, “Woe unto the inhabitants of Bulbados for they have been weighed in the scales of democracy and good governance and are found wanting…devoid of men and women of worth, led by Fumblers and Sickliars or Sincklers”

5. @ Bushie
    You are making a smaller point. We say that the people can lead themselves. Without a god-head. Without a devil. And without a heaven and a hell.

People can lead themselves in an organization as well. If there is to be a figure representing the mass, he must know that he will be there for no more than 30 days and can be fired by the mass at short or little notice.

So, why do we need a PM. for example, when there is a cabinet of 20? Why can’t anybody chair the cabinet? And why can we not hire and fire any of them at will. Because the Lord say so. The Queen say so. None of this so called leadership is about us. It is all about command and control sugar coated with nonsense,

6. David the next hot topic should be the resurgence of Owen Arthur. I hope you read BarbadosToday.bb

.http://epaper.barbadostoday.bb/

7. Pacha said:
    “Because the Lord say so. The Queen say so. None of this so called leadership is about us. It is all about command and control sugar coated with nonsense,”

Pacha…..when black people finally get to wrap it around their heads that the ALBINO led-westminister system was created as a fraud hundreds of years ago, managed as a fraud hundreds of years since, then you have a small island like Barbados with greedy selfish politicians who have giddily added the element of corruption that is so embedded in a system that is not even theirs and without knowing, lack of knowledge, ignorance, that they have merely been used to advance a myth and fantasy, viola, it was just a matter of time before all the shit started to fly and spatter, don’t mind all the pimp titles out of buckingham palace, that cannot save them, why? well of course because it’s man-made FRAUD………

Black males need to get with the program if they are to survive the next wave of FRAUD without becoming embedded and destroyed by the pogrom, just see how stupid the black politicians in Barbados look to the world, they are all holders of multiple degrees, some schooled in England, the US, UWI etc, all look made to look STUPID by semi-literate minorities who so easily bribe them with their own money and opportunities, same money and opportunites that they withhold from their own black people because of bad mind and selfishness, they should hide themselves.

8. No ac not coming around…however some of the crticism should also be levelled at those who did not have the guts. to sacrifice like the bush tea,s and the Caswells…bobby clarke aside…

9. @ Pacha
    …because it DOES NOT MAKE SENSE to have one focus today, another tomorrow, and a third the next day – as you rotate your .”leaders”.
    Which organization could survive that – unless you mean some meaningless concoction like CSME or the EU.

A Head provides focus, centralized control, co-ordination and most importantly….a common vision for the overall organization. Without these, you have constant infighting and chaos…. (Like the BLP ๐Ÿ™‚ )

@ ac
    The devil like he is in your donkey today woman….tek care that Bushie don’t turn the whacker in your direction and crank it up hear…!!?? …..and know that you are just two whacks from Jenkins…

10. well lokka dat..the a..ss hole wid the brass bowl stuck to his forehead is giving advice again….bush tea.the renegade incoompoop who knows every thing about anything .but when push came to shove…hollered not me…..bush tea u got no. blasted shame..

11. @ islandgal246 | June 23, 2014 at 11:50 PM |

Well done Lady! You talk the talk and walk the walk.
    Thanks for you well written report.

12. David | June 24, 2014 at 9:49 AM |
    @Tell me Why

You need to stop, really
    ………………………………………………………………………
    Yes, you are the blogmaster and you have the power to accept or deny a blogger/commenter, but I am surprised why you want me to stop. You don’t stop cursers, the abusers, the liars, the yardfowls, the political pimps, the commenters with many monikers, the politicians using monikers to destroy one another,,,,,,but you have sensitivity with law enforcers who plied the route during the march. Sir Erskine wasn’t accommodated back in 1994 when the people march. As a matter of fact he never used his power to silence the people or stop then from marching. He had the balls to do what was right and put us back on an economic footing. Are we protecting democratic and human right issues with the help of yourself. I will say no more.on the subject.

13. @Tell me Why

Stop being dramatic, the point without getting emotional is that many did not respond to the call to protest but in the context of Bobby requesting permission for 200 expextation was set. All your talk about defence force truck and soldiers driving the route is meant to sensationalise and YOU know ot.

14. Failure as a PM -holding onto power for the sake of holding onto power–a complete waste of time
    STUART – VOTE STUART OUT NOW
    TROTMAN ; DENNIS CLARKE AND MALONEY and the DLP should be behind a COW waiting to get fart out

15. @ Bushie
    If there is a collective imagination, and there is, there is utterly no need for a dictator, a god, a devil, a maximum leader or a Christ. Or a reliance on a one. What kind of a people would entrust all that they are to one mind when our collective minds are ways superior to an one being. Is there any wonder we fall for the trick, time and time again? Bushie if you are really committed to transformation you must be prepared to give us something. It surely cannot come based on the conception that everybody else has to change to the ‘truths’ you hold. We suggest that you give up your religious devotion to quaint concepts in exchange we will match your commitment.

16. Pacha……i have been repeating the word COLLECTIVE for a couple days now, trying to show the followers that as a collective they do not need to depend on any one person to lead them, collectively they are one voice, one aim, one destiny and as a collective they can organize their villages, towns and areas to march, everyone knows everyone else, tiny island.

Apparently some have not been disappointed enough and are willing to blindly follow and sound just like the resident yardie AC…lol

Amazing is the only word i can think of right about now to describe the fact that man and womankind are doomed to keep making the same mistakes over and over and over and…….without fail, follow if you must and are too weak to do otherwise, but at least know whom and what you are following so that you can get out of any situation, but no, i will hear how many of the former PM’s slept with whom and beat how many black females in Barbados, so that makes it alright as long as they like the perpetrators who do the same in present day Barbados and who i know personally would tell them how good they bubbies look and how good they boxie look while raping their sisters and daughters and……that’s why some people just leave the shithead males and females in Barbados alone to just muddle through……..steupss

17. Pachamana
    It takes a lot more than the collective exercise of the intellect and the human imagination to address man condition.
    Pachamana

Question for you brother: why was government instituted in the first place?

18. What is this “collective imagination” Pacha?
    Boss …all we have is a huge vacuum that will be filled by any idiocy put forward …from any source.
    Look at the USA with George Bush and Reagan…..
    UNLESS firm, thoughtful and well regulated LEADERSHIP is instituted and put into place….we will get what we have now in Barbados (and many other places…)

It MAKES SENSE therefore to identify, select and GROOM those among us with the required talent….and who go on to demonstrate the required integrity and commitment …to fill such positions.

OTHERWISE…the vacuum will be dominated by the Dompeys, ACs , and Jack Boremanns of this world – and we will end up with the kind of people we now have in politics (leadership)

The option of “collective imagination” is a fairy tale….

19. The Bushman said:
    “It MAKES SENSE therefore to identify, select and GROOM those among us with the required talentโ€ฆ.and who go on to demonstrate the required integrity and commitment โ€ฆto fill such positions.”

The Bushman, i see the sense you make but it sounds just like a utopia cause we both know that as soon as those groomed talented selected with the potential for integrity and commitment meet the likes of cow, bizzy, jada, simpson, seale, harris, parris et al, they will do the same shit, take the same bribes, sell out the same people who look just like them, embarrass the same island of Barbados, just more of the same, even though they may start out with all the requirements to fill the position(s). It happens in Africa, the Caribbean and anywhere you find gullible people.

You may have to start grooming them before they turn 4 years old to get the required results, that way it would be ingrained and totally embedded in their psyche.

20. Pachamana

You’re going to have to excuse Bush Tea because he has a profound intellectual disabilty. But reality is Bush Tea: it is only through the collective exercise of the intellect and imagination that we’re able have a germ of civilization.

21. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Pachamama | June 24, 2014 at 5:24 AM |
    Seems to us that everybody is describing a fascist state led by a dictator. Even members of that state are saying what it really is. Fascism writ large!
    ………………………………………………………..\
    You got that right!sir.

22. Colonel Buggy Avatar

@Caswell By now everyone in Barbados with half a brain would realize that the actors who now constitute the two major political parties are in business for themselves. As long as they and their friends are comfortable they donโ€™t really give a damn about this country.
    …………………………………………………………………………
    This was made clear, and driven home, when the Prime Minster touched on the Political Class, looking after its own, or words to that effect.
    Yes , ” I am alright Jack”, is the joint motto of both political parties.

23. Bushie is like most Bajan males ignorant and arrogant misogynists. Until the political parties embrace women and have women in leadership roles we will be just going to and fro on a see saw with no change of mentality. The men are holding unto power at all costs even to the detriment of the country. Until women are seen as partners in the rebuilding process we will continue on a downward slide.

Bushie can talk all over his face but he also lacks credibility. He is an armchair politician with very little ambition to get up off his arse. Bobby in his 80’s is a prime example of when it is never too late to start.

Peltdownman I didn’t know all the names of the marchers so I can’t help you. Ross didn’t introduce himself to me so I am not too sure who he was on the march.

24. @ Bushie
    Don’t you think that there are some basic needs, wants, ideas that all human have in common, imagine? That is the collective imagination. We know that we will try in vain to untether you from what you see as unassailable truths. The problem is that there are many truths. There were truths before the I Am and there will be after. There were truths before the collective imaginations of humans created god and there will be after that creation fails to exist. There was a collective imagination before capitalism and there will be after.

Unlike you we are guided that all humans have intelligence and dislike your notion that some are more ‘gifted’ than others. That notion promotes classism and tries to elevate some as ‘leaders’ while all the rest of us must follow. We must say No to this misguidance. Do you really think that any other PM of Barbados, or any other single citizen, could do any better or worse than FJS? Maybe the collective mind would defeat the single-mindedness that passes for leadership. Like Y2K, it is a fiction and a consultant’s boondoggle. We made a living selling this stuff some time ago, regrettably!

25. Island:
    ” Until women are seen as partners in the rebuilding process we will continue on a downward slide.”

That’s the battle right now for women to be seen as partners and not just SEX OBJECTS as they have been seen as and treated like for decades…….mere breasts and vaginas with no brains, that has been the male mentality in Barbados for i am sure more than 100 years, the same Bobby years ago echoed those sentiments that females should just have breasts and vaginas with no heads and of course i have a brain and had to return the favor by telling him that men should also be just a penis with legs no head, mouth and nose, so, if that thinking can be reversed and respect shown where it is due, half the battle would have been won.

26. @ Pacha
    Any of our former Prime Ministers would do better than Froon.
    None would be silly enough to talk that shiite about a “political class”….none would just sit back and say nothing…while Rome burns
    …none would be foolish enough to allow Sinckler to persist with the shiite tax or the Credit Union asset grab…
    Remember how Arthur got Wood to fly the bus fare kite…and then pop the cord when he see how the wind was blowing…?

Bushie is still awaiting your examples of complex organizations that operate with collective imagination.
    The natural corollary of your ‘collective imagination’ is exemplified by the concept of “survival of the fittest”….where the strong extract their needs at the expense of the weak.

@ Well Well
    No one is perfect….however we all have different talents and natural abilities. Not everyone can be a lifeguard. Not everyone can be a blog master…and not everyone can be a damn leader.
    One of the major responsibilities of an effective education system is to IDENTIFY the various talents we have and then to CHANNEL them in the right direction to best serve the country…

Contrary to your assertions, there are some persons who CANNOT be bribed. ……who stand up to bullies……who resist shiite – even when everyone else is shitty…..men like Caswell.
    THOSE are the people who we need to seek out…

@ Islandgal
    What women what?…like you? ac?
    Shiite den….we could as well bring back Dompey too then….

You looking to dun the whole shiite right now?…..as if um ain’t bad enough already… ๐Ÿ™‚
    Hahahahahaha

27. Bush Tea | June 24, 2014 at 7:45 PM |

Contrary to your assertions, there are some persons who CANNOT be bribed. โ€ฆโ€ฆwho stand up to bulliesโ€ฆโ€ฆwho resist shiite โ€“ even when everyone else is shittyโ€ฆ..men like Caswell.
    THOSE are the people who we need to seek out
    โ€ฆ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    see what i mean nuff words to fool and bewitched ,,,,,, negro u really need a sling shot to your head,,,,,,,,,and i hope caswell would be the one to administer ,,,,cause both of you remind me of bud and Costello….

28. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

there are some persons who CANNOT be bribed. โ€ฆโ€ฆwho stand up to bulliesโ€ฆโ€ฆwho resist shiite โ€“ even when everyone else is shittyโ€ฆ

Bush Tea
    these sort of men are feared and hated and targeted
    such men suffer and are put out to pasture to die

generally speaking we live in a world of dummies
    dummies hate bright men with brains and men who can adapt and adopt what they have learned to current problems to the chagrin of the dummies around them
    bright men suffer dearly for no fault of theirs–they did not ask the Lord to make them bright

it is better to watch johhny quest and lone ranger re runs than try to lead dummies

29. Hants | June 24, 2014 at 1:17 PM |

David the next hot topic should be the resurgence of Owen Arthur.

Bullseye hants on the street its the topic people are talking about although with an air of deja vu. Nobody is talking about Bobby’s march. Nobody at all. Don’t know where Skinner up there in the Great White North is gleaning his information.

30. @Pachamama June 24, 2014 at 10:04 AM “That is why we have high regard for George Lamming, He is the only man alive who ever told a PM to carry his knighthood and stuff it where the sun doesnโ€™t shine.”

That is because George Lamming is the most intelligent Bajan of his generation and of ours…and we don’t listen to him.

More fool us.

@Pachamama June 24, 2014 at 9:46 AM โ€œThere are few people who can lecture us about concepts, models or theories of leadership.,,we have made the determined or conclusion set out above.โ€

Dear Pachamama: So you are using the toyal โ€œusโ€ and the royal โ€œweโ€ now.

Who do you think your are?

31. @are-we-there-yet? June 24, 2014 at 10:14 AM “There was indeed a quite heavy overt police presence. This was possibly merely strategically designed to take care of any eventuality

Simple Simon responds: There was nothing “merely” about the heavy police presence. The police were sent there by the politicians to intimidate the people…to crack heads and to shoot people. Do you think that their machine guns were loaded with blanks? Remember that when next you get near to a ballot box…if you ever get near to a ballot box again.

@are-we-there-yet? June 24, 2014 at 10:14 AM “but carries the seed of affecting the outcome of future marches / demonstrations in ways that were probably not intended. The apparently inordinate show of force was probably to dissuade people from taking part in future marches”

Simple Simon responds: There was nothing “not intended” about the heavy police presence. REMEMBER that the police were sent there by the politicians to intimidate the people…to crack heads and to shoot people. Do you think that their machine guns were loaded with blanks? Remember that when next you get near to a ballot box…if you ever get near to a ballot box again.

I think that Errol Barrow refused a knighthood as wellโ€ฆbut I may be wrong.

32. @islandgal246 June 24, 2014 at 12:21 PM ” Who do you think Fumble is doing???”

I think that fumble is a virgin asexual:http://www.asexuality.org/home/

Don’t you?

33. Georgie Porgie

The sort of men who are feared and hated also have a large following, Marcus Garvey, Malcolm X, and Dr. Martin Luther King Jr, comes to mind. And your absolutely correct about Bobby Clarke PG: he must be truly hated by both sides because he was able to aroused the awareness of fifty lackadaisical human beings, for a march which had a projection of thousands.

34. The Bushman:
    “Contrary to your assertions, there are some persons who CANNOT be bribed. โ€ฆโ€ฆwho stand up to bulliesโ€ฆโ€ฆwho resist shiite โ€“ even when everyone else is shittyโ€ฆ..men like Caswell.
    THOSE are the people who we need to seek out”

Bushman……..Actually, i agree, but these individuals have to remain invisible and run the risk of becoming endangered species if they so much as voice an opinion they are called traitors of the treacherous system by jackasses who know no better and don’t care to know any better, don’t you see the leaders of the day are mostly made up of psychological and pathological liars, thieves, corrupt influence peddling scum, it’s the nature of the beast and how the whole fraud was engineered in the first place….so the guys we know and you talk about have very little chance until that paradigm shift has taken place.

Simple said:
    “That is because George Lamming is the most intelligent Bajan of his generation and of oursโ€ฆand we donโ€™t listen to him.”

GP said:
    “generally speaking we live in a world of dummies
    dummies hate bright men with brains and men who can adapt and adopt what they have learned to current problems to the chagrin of the dummies around them
    bright men suffer dearly for no fault of theirsโ€“they did not ask the Lord to make them bright

it is better to watch johhny quest and lone ranger re runs than try to lead dummies”

The Bushman………see what i mean.

The scum of the earth are the ones who accept these pimp hood titles out of buckingham place, you are known by the company you keep and aspire to keep.

35. Angry workers said during an emergency meeting this morning, they were told that there were no funds to pay severance or vacation money and would have to go to the National Insurance Scheme on Monday.

That is why Unions still exist. Non Unionised workers can be left broke.

36. From Nationnews.

“The reality is that Barbadosโ€™ food import bill is not a major economic problem. In fact, reducing imports will compromise economic growth and Government revenue. Let us face the real problem, that the country needs to earn more foreign exchange.”

37. @Hants

Yes, the model is about feeding the beast, it will always be a fat beast, no thought about shedding weight.

38. @ Hants
    Let us face the real problem, that the country needs to earn more foreign exchange.โ€
    Come on Hants…..can’t you smell shiite when you read it…?
    Wuh ….that is identical to saying that NinjaMan’s real problem is that he needs a salary ….and that he should not have to be scrunting and begging… Which Jackass said that Hants…?

THE FACT IS that if we are NOT generating income, we CAN’T expect to be eating like a prince……and if we continue try living like a prince by begging and borrowing….sooner or later someone will put a sword to our neck….

39. LOL @ Hants
    …look how you gone and make Bushie cuss Mascoll again nuh….!!
    You is a real gallows bait…

Those economists are a set of dinosaurs from the 70’s era when oil was $10 a barrel….
    Did you read about Sir Frank saying that devaluation is “not even an option” LOL. ….apparently this is so “because it would hurt everyone”..

LOLOL
    Oh Shiite…. Reminds Bushie of the joke where the fellow says that the house fire could not be in his house….cause he had his keys in his pocket…. ๐Ÿ™‚

40. @Tea Bush

Mascoll recently completed his doctorate, what old what!?!

41. Bushie I cannot understand how educated people would not see food security as an absolute necessity in a country that has no natural resources.

Maybe I should have gone to University and would be able think like Mascoll. And understand why Barbados chooses to depend on others for food

However, I can say with absolute certainty that Barbados can grow and produce most of its own food and have some left over to export.

Barbados has a Ministry of Agriculture that employs well educated and trained officers.= and there used to be agricultural stations at Jerusalem, Sayes Court and Haggatts Hall.

Then you have farmers all across the Island that can grow food crops successfully but need help with management, marketing and protecting their crops from thieves.

I could understand why Barbados chooses to depend on others for food.

In a crisis the USA and Canada will give wunna food aid or even MREs.

42. Mascoll is reported to have written “Let us face the real problem, that the country needs to earn more foreign exchange.”

Absolutely.

But every foreign exchange earning sector has been declining so please tell us how you would reverse this.
    What innovative industries or services can ve created to earn foreign exchange.

Help out your former party nuh!

Give them some free advice as pay back for the years you were in their bosom.

43. @ Hants
    LOL….chances are that if you had gone to university you may have been fcuked up too….

@ David (UB)
    …not George B too..?
    What does that tell you…?
    If you don’t think like the dinosaurs on the hill how will you get a doctorate…? Which of them have EVER done anything innovative?

Hants is right. ANYONE who depends on others for their food is a child…or a brass bowl idiot.
    SIMPLE!!!

44. Hants | June 26, 2014 at 11:35 AM |

Bushie I cannot understand how educated people would not see food security as an absolute necessity in a country that has no natural resources.

Hants…….when folks who had no degrees but more commonsense than the politicians and most of the UWI intellects, with the exception of Dr. Cyril Roberts, were telling them that food security was/is vital to the survival of the island, they claimed they had the tourists and tourism, what food security what………i am still waiting for the day when they can eat a tourist or two…lol

45. Another Crook Avatar

BY CASWELL FRANKLYN | SUN, DECEMBER 15, 2013 – 12:00 AM

After romping home to victory in the 2008 General Elections, the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) administration managed to squander the goodwill of the people in five short years. Even their diehard supporters expected that the DLP was destined to become a one-term government.

Fortunately for them, they managed to turn things around by promising temporary public workers that their jobs would have been safe under a re-elected DLP administration.

That promise resonated with those fearful workers and, it is widely felt that they voted to secure their jobs, which, to my mind, was responsible for the DLP barely snatching victory from the jaws of a potentially humiliating defeat.

Those temporary workers included in excess of 3 000 recruits that were employed mere weeks before the elections. They were assured that the economy was sound and that their jobs would be for the long term if they voted DLP. They kept their side of the bargain and fully expected the Government to honour its commitments. Mind you it is an offence under section 6 of the Election Offences and Controversies Act to offer or accept employment in exchange for a vote. But no one seemed to bother about such details and, apparently no one referred the matter to the Director of Public Prosecutions. People were getting permanent jobs or so they believed and persons on both sides of that bargain were happy with the results, until.

On Friday, December 13, Government reneged on the promises of secured jobs by announcing that 3 000 workers would be joining the ranks of the unemployed early in the New Year. This has proven once again that the DLPโ€™s solemn electoral promises cannot be relied upon. That alone should be enough to consign them to another long sojourn on the Opposition benches. But the cynic in me keeps suggesting that losing the next General Elections might not bother most of them. After all, the next poll is due in 2018 and by then most if not all of them would have qualified for their lucrative parliamentary pensions.

Those who entered Parliament in 2003 would qualify for a pension at a rate of two-thirds of their basic salary in 2015. (At todayโ€™s salary a minister would receive $8 405.00 per month at age 50). A minister who entered Parliament for the first time in 2008 would qualify for a pension of $6 349.25 per month, also at age 50. Unless they manage their personal finances like how they manage Governmentโ€™s, they are set for life.

However, after using temporary workers to secure their future, these politicians have shown utter disregard or even contempt for the people who secured their future, by casting 3 000 unfortunate souls into the purgatory of unemployment.

Some of these workers are temporary in name only. As a matter of fact, there are persons who are considered temporary after working as much as ten years. My fear is that Government would send home 3 000 temporary workers only to discover that because of a hefty severance package, they cannot achieve the targeted expenditure cuts.

Since April 15 this year temporary workers, indeed all workers, at statutory boards are protected by the provisions of the Employment Rights Act. Laying-off these workers, in the manner being bandied about, could result in successful claims for unfair dismissal. For example, many of their temporary workers have been continuously employed for many years by issuing them a string of fixed term contracts. If these contracts are not renewed under the same terms, the Employment Rights Act deems the result as unfair dismissal. Under the heading of โ€œUnfair Dismissalโ€, section 26 states, in part:

For the purposes of this part an employee is dismissed by his employer where

(a) the contract under which he is employed is terminated by the employer, whether with or without notice;

(b) he is employed under a contract for a fixed term and that term expires without being renewed under the same contract.

The only way Government can make savings laying-off this category of temporary worker would be its failure to pay the appropriate termination benefits as required by law. We will have to wait and see if Government would put a law in place to protect workers in April and then breach it in December.

In an attempt to appease the gullible, the Minister of Finance announced that Members of Parliament would suffer a reduction of 10 per cent of their salary. In real terms that is only a token measure. A ministerโ€™s monthly remuneration is $16 693.85 broken down as follows: salary, $12 698.50; entertainment allowance $2 014.19; and travelling allowance $1 981.16. There are therefore only giving up a measly $1 269.85. They will still be entitled to a gross remuneration package of $15 424.00 per month.

The present Cabinet is the largest in the history of this country and, judging from the state of the economy, Barbados is not getting value for money. I am firmly of the view that instead of a reduction of 10 per cent of basic salary, there should be a reduction in the size of the Cabinet, if the Prime Minister really wants to make a difference.

The constitution provides at section 64 that the Cabinet shall consist of the Prime Minister and not less than five other ministers. This country does not need a Cabinet of 16 to get us into the mess that we are in: six can do an equally poor job. At least the Treasury would save just over $2 million.

In Government the DLP are horrible leaders; in Opposition they were not good followers; and the only thing left is get out of the way for the sake of this country. Lead, follow or get out of the way Mr Prime Minister.

Caswell Franklyn is a trade unionist and social commentator. Email caswellf@hotmail.com.

46. While I agree with many of the positions taken in this discussion so far , I must say that Barbadians seem a bit reluctant to express themselves in any dramatic way at this time. I also suspect that with the Opposition still unsettled under Mia’s leadership, the political temperature is being somewhat contained. Added to the Crop Over heating up, this may not be the best time for pushing heavy political activity. With the unions weakening; and the opposition floundering, it is quite possible that the citizens have decided to just wait and see.

47. Hants | June 26, 2014 at 11:35 AM |

Bushie I cannot understand how educated people would not see food security as an absolute necessity in a country that has no natural resources.
    …………………………………………………………………………………
    With a food import bill heading towardsr $1 Billion , it boogles the mind, why the Minister of Culture, is more active and productive than the Minister of agriCulture. Why we have a grand galla of pomp and ceremony for the presentation of the last cane, while not sure, or pays very little attention to the Harvesting of the First Cane.
    No wonder that our sugar industry is heading in the same direction as Trinidad and Tobago’s. viz.
    ” By the end of the 20th century as oil became increasingly significant, the sugar industry and agriculture generally sank into a low second place until the state closed down Caroni Ltd in 2003, retrenching 9,000 workers directly and a further 35,000 who were indirectly dependant on the industry. Just over 75,000.00 acres of land now became available for other uses.” (extract from Sugar Heritage Village)

48. David

Much respect to Mascoll on his completion of his doctorate but if he completed it at the University of the West Indies there is obvious cause for concern. I’ll simply say this: I am using Georgie Porgie as a prime example to express my deep concern for the quality of education there are offering at the University of the West Indies these days.