... favelas that housed the poor were destroyed to make room for new construction ...
… favelas that housed the poor were destroyed to make room for new construction …

As the World Cup of Soccer enters the knock out phase we are closer to a declared winner, on the field. But regardless of the nation state that will hoist the trophy, FIFA will always be the real winner. The Fรฉdรฉration Internationale de Football Association, as founded in 1904, has grown up to be a leading beneficiary of the generalized misguidance of the vast majority of human beings wanting to believe in something. For the structure of FIFA represents God-like powers which are not unlike those of the Holy See, in particular, and religion more generally.

That structure makes sure that any country hosting the games are guaranteed to do this on the backs of the poor, the dispossessed, the national treasury. These games have never, financially, benefited any country but FIFA has more than a billion dollars in the Bank and has an ability to tax nations without representation. While stadia all over the world remain underutilized, empty and decaying as a result of these very world games. Ask the South Africans! That bank balance will increase from the series of religious revivals now going on in Brazilian cities. And this business model under the rubric of a false social formation remains as persistent as ever, if not more so. Its simple, they privatize  incomes and publicize the debt. This is corporate welfare.

This nascent form of power and control would make the political apparatchiks of ancient Rome envious. No other unaccountable organization in the history of mankind has been able to, conterminously, avoid paying taxes, avoid national laws, impose conditions on all national governments, impose rent on world nations like a Catholic Church and for decades avoid inquiries about corruption at the highest levels. This smacks of the rampant paedophilia in its sister organization โ€“ the Catholic Church.

Evidence has recently emerged that the award of the games to Russia (2018) and Qatar (2022) were ‘influenced’ (determined) by corruption in high places. But still there are no demands from anywhere for prosecutions largely because of the fear of FIFA sanctions on national governments. Governments which are largely complicit in the racketeering, organized crime and corruption that is the currency of the realm at this so-called non-governmental organization. The criminal-in-chief Sepp Blatter is himself a representative of a culture that pretends to be one thing when it is really an agent of imperialism, ownership and control without any corresponding and real social responsibilities. This is what democracy of 2014 has degenerated to.

One may want to broaden the argument and contend that there are no real difference between FIFA and any other international sporting body. Then we may counter by claiming that in cycling, for example, the international body, to its credit, was able to present a patina of accountability in the case of Lance Armstrong. Of course, the international cycling union has less relative power than FIFA. Maybe this was the reason this fig leaf was presented. However, they are all actors for and by corporates to maintain control and to advance certain economic interests.

Over recent decades the Caribbean has seen its fair share of FIFA maladministration. Our own Jack Warner has been connected to bribery allegations that relate to payments for votes. Some years ago Randy Harris, in Barbados, was censored for daring to approach a national court for redress to an internal football association matter. In the case of Qatar, the holder of the 2022 games, there is persistent and growing evidence that that regime has been engaged in near-slavery conditions for tens of thousands of migrant worker from South East Asia, who are to build the infrastructure for the 2022 games, and has done so for decades. But there is a lack of a consciousness at FIFA that will determined that these acts are anathema to the interest of the peoples of the world.

And we are again at Brazil. Where favelas that housed the poor were destroyed to make room for new construction. Where the persistent protest of Brazilians against the World Cup are largely ignored by mass media. They have long argued that the World Cup of Soccer will create a construction boom for real estate oligarchs and a bust for the poor, the homeless, the dispossessed. But FIFA is unable to estimate the damage it does to most of the peoples of the world through World Cup Soccer. Unfortunately for us, we no longer have our clearest voice, Socrates, the great Brazilian player and activist for social justice to remind us of our better selves, caring for the people, as a primary responsibility. Socrates would be forever the enemy of the gangsters who rule world soccer. These FIFA gangster were always the real winners and will continue to win ever other cup everywhere.

See Related l\Link: John Oliver’s hilarious rant explains why it’s hard to love the World Cup
By: Chris Chase June 9, 2014 9:47 am ET

54 responses to “World Cup Soccer – The Organized Criminal Religion, That It Is!”

1. Mr Watson Parkinson Avatar
    Mr Watson Parkinson

Anything that attracts money, will attract corruption…! An example on our shores, the cricket World Cup…! Like “Fast Food” sports has become toxic, the opium of the people…!

2. Pacha, I must agree that for most countries hosting any major world Sporting Event would not appeal to most business minded people if they had to fund it. Surprisingly, I broadly agree with your pov on this. money should always be invested in a very disciplined way to improve all the citizens of the Nation. ( However, the people that need help MUST also conduct themselves with honor in utilising the benefits proffered)

3. If the money earned from the world cup is used to rehouse the homeless, fine, if not it was just another corrupt money-making show for the already wealthy and greedy.

4. @Pachamama “Our own Jack Warner has been connected to bribery allegations that relate to payments for votes. …the gangsters who rule world soccer. These FIFA gangster were always the real winners…”

What???

You dare to call the FIFA boys (and less you thank that I am being sexist, they are all of the masculine gender) crooks and gangsters?

5. You mean what works cup CRICKET did to us….we all want it till we get it!

6. FIFA may be corrupt but our eyes are still glued to the TV as we are junkies in need of a fix. She is like a bad lover whom we are unable to ignore.

Ah Brazil when FIFA leaves the real professional vultures (IOC) will be coming to town so fasten your seatbelts it will be a bumpy ride.

Prostitution is legal in Brazil so at least some who get screwed will be paid for their efforts.

7. It appears the international media in this part of the world has made a decision to focus on the football and leave fhe issues of corruption and non football stuff until later.

8. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

BARBADOS , How soon YOU forget, DID we not see the same type of action and non action in Barbados during the building of the Oval and the cricket games in and during , while and after the games ?

The BLP took Violet Beckles lands and even moved the poor People around like dice. Kensington games and money makers for Sir Allen Standford and Sir CO Williams,
    The People in the CITY also on the same PLANTATION DEED BOUGHT IN 194Os, of the 73 acres PLANTATION,
    The IDB just took $60 Million Dollars away from the Government , nor the People living on the land could not and can never show Clear title to the land, Therefore the 60 Million was pulled back to the IDB. The $60 Million was to help 2000 families , The Master Crooks in the BLP Owen and Mia look to shut up the MOF Sinkman for defending himself with words of the BLP in this Fraud Matter,
    Now the Audit General Questions where all the VAT money went to over the years in the Billions of Dollars from 1997.=BLP
    Now , the CB , also said he did not agree with the VAT back in 1997 and maybe that is why he was not promoted then, Mrs Williams was at the head of the CB when $1,000,000 bds walk out the front door? No one arrested as i can remember ?

Now in the current state of massive Fraud the UDC nor the NHC nor DLP/BLP and the NEW DBLP government,do not have the FUNDS to fill the gap on all Trespassers hiding behind lawyers as now they must fend (FUND) for them self.
    World CUP more fraud than you ever know , Yes We at PLANTATION Deeds , Know the Truth, We Have the DEEDS and we have the living proof every day , every report, every heading is part and reaction to the massive Fraud and yes it leads in the TnT also.

9. Well we are in the crime prevention round, of the preliminaries. With the Aussies vs Spain and Chile vs the Netherlands. Yuh have to play these games at the same time otherwise skulduggery is likely. LOL

10. David | June 23, 2014 at 6:35 AM |
    It appears the international media in this part of the world has made a decision to focus on the football and leave fhe issues of corruption and non football stuff until later.

Here is an excerpt from a recent article on the Qatar-FiIFA corruption allegations – โ€œWe may never know how Qatar won the rights to host the 2022 World Cupโ€ at: http://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2014/jun/17/qatar-rights-host-world-cup-2022

โ€œFifaโ€™s dual bidding process for the 2018 and 2022 competitions was an invitation to collusion and corruption but Michael Garciaโ€™s investigation is likely to reveal only circumstantial evidence.

That the race to host the 2018 and 2022 World Cups was a chaotic, confusing, controversial mess is beyond dispute.

The dual process, imposed ostensibly for commercial reasons but also because it suited Sepp Blatterโ€™s political ends, was an invitation to collusion and alleged corruption.

Bidders were encouraged to cosy up to the 24 executive committee members, their associations and confederations who would โ€“ in the words of the disgraced former Brazilian football federation chief Ricardo Teixeira to the former Football Association chairman Lord Triesman โ€“ ask: โ€œWhat can you do for me?โ€

There were hardly any rules. Those that existed were changed halfway through. A technical evaluation process was commissioned then almost entirely ignored. A swarm of middle men, advisers and consultants descended on it looking for their cut.โ€

A May 23 story in Barbados Today titled โ€œFour Seasons deal approvedโ€ said:

โ€œCabinet has reportedly approved a multimillion-dollar deal for the sale of the Four Seasons property.

Government sources say the deal involves one of the worldโ€™s largest wealth funds based in Qatar, along with a group of local partners.

It essentially ends the five year saga for the upmarket 30-acre beachfront property, which has been lying dormant since 2009.

Officials have welcomed the deal, saying it not only augurs well for vital tourism, but that it should also serve as a real confidence booster in terms of foreign direct investment.โ€

It is now a month later and no official word from Government, except Four Seasons to start SOON.

Assuming Barbados Today was correct in reporting that Four Seasons property was sold to a Qatar sovereign wealth fund, it begs the question โ€œWas Barbadosโ€™ bidding process for the Four Seasons property an invitation to collusion and corruption?โ€

Given the lack of transparency in Barbados and the decision of media in this part of the world to ignore the issue of corruption – โ€œWe may never know how Qatar won the rights to take over/buy Four Seasonsโ€

11. Black Barbadians supporting a racist teams like Argentina,Germany & Brazil. German supporters painting their faces blacks and making monkey chants.Argentina marginalizing not only their black players but also their black population.Brazil where more Black people reside outside of sub-Sahara Africa which means there are more black people in Brazil than in all the Caribbean countries combine has their black population living in abject poverty and not given the lime light.If you do not know the demographics of Brazil,Argentina and other South & Central American countries you will not believe Black people live in those countries.
    It is sickening that Black Barbadians calling themselves,Brazilians,Germans,Argentinians,Portuguese
    .Stupid people
    Do like me support all African teams and if those teams get knock out be neutral and just enjoy the damn tournament..

12. Negroman, you are right. We could add Cuba also but all these countries have suppressed Black populations. Its an open secret which most pretend is not real.

13. Pachamama
    I visited Cuba,Venezuela and Suriname & others South American states within the last twenty years as a member of various delegations representing Barbados.
    Marginalization of Blacks exist in those three countries.Suriname is the only country out of that lot that Black people had little bit more legitimacy.
    Many so-called Pan- Africanists especially David Denny,David Comissiong, Bobby Clarke and some others refused to accept the victimisation of Blacks in Cuba & Venezuela .Those clowns always putting a damn outdated once before useful political ideology before a whole race of people..
    In Barbados these so-called black conscious people are nothing but sell outs and traitors,David Comissiong & Bobby Clarke believe because they come from a middle class privileged background and their skin colour is of a lighter hue than other Black Barbadians,the two of them believe that they have or had some god given right to be the leaders of the black struggle.
    Luckily,many Black people in Barbados do not view those two clowns in that manner.

14. @ Negroman, even after the fall of the USSR racism came to the fore with endless skinheads and so forth. African peoples everywhere should know ‘race first’. But, on the other hand, when you really know Barbados as the global centre for chattel slavery you will understand why much cannot change. So political ideology cannot hide the basic instincts of Whites now that communism is dead. This communist/socialist trick can’t hide anymore

15. Negroman

Racism is a learn behavior so it is therefore unintelligible for anyone to advance the perspective that Racism does not exist in all corners of the global. Claudette Williams wrote a very interesting book called Cinnamon and Charcoal, which gave a chronological accounted of racist literature in the Spanish Caribbean. I saw a documentary about Cuba after the revolution several years ago and I do remember that some of the Black in that documentary spoke very forcefully about the way in which they were being marginalized in Cuba because of the color of their skin.

16. Bobby Clarke is well known for his blatant disrespect of young, old or very old black females, he loves to disrespect, demean, belittle and demoralize them and then boast about it among his comrades, he is definitely messed up in the head, for decades the riff raff that is Clarke has publicly spoken about sticking his dead (viagra laced) d**k in the mouths of black females particularly those who are still teenagers, the main reason why i do not take him seriously and have no respect for him as he sees it as his right, how could you disrespect a whole race of black females and then claim you are helping the poor of that same race, totally decayed psychology.

17. In every racial group on Earth, DARKER= Target!

There is an excellent documentary conducted by an East Indian Canadian who interviewed people in Jamaica, Phillipines, Sth Africa, India, etc and in ALL cases Darker peeps of that race were Discriminated against purely based on DARKER Skin! Including poor treatment by their OWN siblings!!!

The title HUE:A Matter of Colour it is a MUST viewing!

18. @Dompey
    The point is that it is not just about Race, it is about SHADE within ALL racial groups! This is not just a Dark, as in Black situation, it is very complicated. Have U seen this particular documentary? This Doc will win a multitude of Awards. The scenery is beautiful as well.

19. Moneybrain, do me a favour: google the words Sand- Nigger. Dr. Arthur Lewis wrote book that I have read many years ago and in that book he claimed that prior to the European chattel- slavery, blacks were viewed favorably by the European.

Money Brain

The idea of skin color originated during the institution of slavery and branched out to others races. Do you know that the racist whites here in America, refers to East Indians and Arabs and Sand- Niggers, on the account of their skin color?

MoneyBrain

If you were taught think from child that White was better than Black and this idea was perpetuated throughout your adulthood, wouldnโ€™t you not believe it? Well, weโ€™re living in a world which continues to reinforced and perpetuated the idea that the darker skin is of no value and whiter skin is to be reverence.

Moneybrain

I am not shock that some people were taught to think that the darker skin is inferior. The ideology was first peddle by the white man to discredited the black skin. But I know better than to buy into that erroneous ideology because I have never felt inferior to any race of people on the account of my skin color. As a matter of fact, I have been taught to love and respect my Race for what it is, and what it has been through. Unfortunately, a certain segment of the world population has buy into this fastidious and erroneous ideology, which reflects the level of their ignorance.

20. @ Dompey
    “……I have never felt inferior to any race of people on the account of my skin color…”
    ++++++++++++++++++
    One suspects that your inferiority concerns are more intellectual in nature…and are made worse by your propensity to verbal diarrhea….

21. BREAKING NEWS.

GO TO Barbadostoday.bb

22. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

MIA will see jail before ever becoming PM ,, she is nothing more than a crook , liar and scumbag of Barbados , let her ass rot in hell,

One day when the Nation wake up out this fraud of Fog and see the truth , you all will find better word to dis honor her than We .

23. It will all come out in the wash, nastiness prevailed for decades in the political climate in Barbados, there comes a time when even that……HAS TO GO.

24. @WW
    We will pray fa dat!
    But I will not hold my breath. Pols are usually Lawyers (LIARS) and they ABSOLUTELY LOVE MIND GAMES and ONE UPSMANSHIP! They are very accustomed to DIRTY TRICKS and attempting to have HEINOUS CRIMINALS found “innocent” They care for themselves and $$$$$$$$$$$!

The poor masses BE DAMNED, they are there to be CONNED!
    HAHAHAHAHAHA! is their mantra!

25. Hussien Worrell's photo.

Suarez the biter.

26. Suarez is a DEADLY scorer but fortunately not such a deadly biter!

WHY? This guy must have some serious mental probs. How can a World Class striker behave this way?

DeJong of Netherlands is another crazy ass fella, last WC he jumped into an adversaries chest and I still dont know why he was not Red carded.

These 2 are totally illogical!

Zidane was a great butter BUT should really have broken the Italian’s jaw.

27. Let us see what FIFA will do.

28. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

you love to harp about the need for professional leagues as the only solution for windies cricket

what do you think of the sri lankan story
    http://www.espncricinfo.com/magazine/content/current/story/755407.html

29. “This is the first Test series that Sri Lanka had sent players over early to properly acclimatise before the tour. Herath and Shaminda Eranga both came over. It was a step towards professionalism in a sport that has been professional for years.”

Going early, especially to Eng/ NZ is important. SL is the new edition of the old Windies, where players were DETERMINED to perform at the highest level. They had CHARACTER TOO! WI today have all the problems of SL plus too many of the youngsters dont seem to care, Those with piss poor attitudes MUST be settled by top quality Psyche help early on OR we will have MORE talented FAILURES like Samuels, Carter, R Hinds, Benn et al. Those “badasses” must understand that there is a great deal of $$$$$ to be made at the highest levels, so they MUST adapt or GET LOST! Cricket is a Professional Sport now!

Bim should be having “try outs” for big, strong fellas that want to be MILLIONAIRES, put the advertising in the Newspapers just like this,
    ” Big, strong men wanted, eventual Million $$$$$ lifestyle possible”

“Do YOU want to be RICH?”

Cricket in Bim is competing with several sports these days, things have changed.

30. Yes things have changed. The “Tall” fast bowlers playing Basketball with the hope of getting a scholarship at a USA college along with the Track and Field,Soccer,Swimming,Tennis and other sports.

Cricket has a lot of “competition”.

31. The Messiah like he starting to increase his attention!
    2 wicked free kicks! Nigeria would be well advised to foul earlier and further out, as Messi will mess them up otherwise.

Nigeria flowing fairly well otherwise.

32. Nigeria will go through based on the other group score.

Interesting article which reminded of our situation in the 70s. Nothing like hunger, enthusiasm, talent compensating for lack of resources.

33. Nigerian goalie worked hard today.

34. First African team to qualify.

35. Musa was excellent and the goalie played out of his skin, nigeria looking good but have to go to an even higher level asap.

36. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

David | June 25, 2014 at 1:28 PM |

Interesting article which reminded of our situation in the 70s. Nothing like hunger, enthusiasm, talent compensating for lack of resources.

yes David. that is how we were 40 years ago- not only in cricket.What went wrong? We tought that things would remain the same, and we did not guard the hen house, as it were

37. Progress got in the way GP. We have a small pool of players to pull, we became comfortable and smug with our sucess, cricket leadership allowed island politics/insularity to get in the way, the rest is history.

38. Ghana Is Flying $3 Million In Cash To The World Cup To Pay Players And Avoid A Potential Boycott !
    Further proof that there is little true LEADERSHIP around!

39. The good readers of BU have commented on the lack of black players and spectators present at the world cup in Brazil. It would appear that the main stream international journals have finally taken note!

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/jul/01/brazil-black-faces-crowd-rainbow-nation-world-cup

40. @Exclaimer
    What is worse is that the Black Players of Nigeria, Ivory Coast etc were unable to produce the high quality team effort required to at least reach the Quarters!

41. What does the development of African football have to do with the fact a predominant Black country cannot field 5 negroes on the team?

BTW, where is the Messiah today?

42. @ MoneyBrain,
    Perhaps, however you forgot to mention the excellent contribution of African players from Central and South America, with the possible exception of those hatchet men from Honduras. They have played a far more intelligent and cultured football than their cousins from Africa.

I believe that this talent will be recruited at the expense of African players coming from Africa. Have you heard the news that seven Cameroonian players have been alleged to have been involved in match fixing at this world cup. By the way the Argentina game is heading for penalties. The game has been truly terrible.

43. @David
    The Brazilians are hardly a white team! However, they have played Jo, who especially for a tall Black gent is SLOOOOWWW! Ramirez , who plays for Chelsea has come on and played adequately BUT is always a Yellow/ Red Card RISK.. Why are you gents so focused on how DARK these players are??? Surely not because you are just as racial as the Whites who do the same thing?

Do you fellas really believe that Brazil has a Pele sitting on the Bench??? There would already have been SOCCER RIOTS if that were true! Brazil has not set the tournament on fire yet, tis true, but while there are certainly racial problems in Brazil, I very much doubt they would take a risk of NOT Winning the WC as a result!

The Messiah, like his namesake, turned up when really needed removing 4 DEFENDERS and the Goalie from the play with a PASS directly from HEAVEN!

44. @MB

You need to read some Brasilian history.

45. Like I wrote above, “there are certainly racial problems in Brazil”

46. @ MoneyBrain,
    I have thoroughly enjoyed this world cup. We have been served a feast of football. Yesterdayโ€™s match between Belgium and the USA was breath-taking. The world cup is taking place in the spiritual home, and some would say the citadel of the football empire: Brazil.

Sport is a wonderful form of entertainment. However it is a distraction from the reality of life. Brazil is a sinister and a grotesque country with a slimy underbelly. All countries at some point in their history would have experienced periods of tragedies; injustices and shame which they would prefer to be omitted from their history. The question is how do countries learn from their mistakes in order to create fair and harmonious societies?

You commented that โ€œDo you fellas really believe that Brazil has a Pele sitting on the Bench??? There would already have been SOCCER RIOTS if that were true!โ€ I would ask you to think again. You implied that you were aware that Brazil had racial problems!

I would ask you to read the academic article below: FACT AND MYTH: DISCOVERING A RACIAL PROBLEM IN BRAZIL
    http://www3.nd.edu/~kellogg/publications/workingpapers/WPS/173.pdf

I am praying that Colombia with their racially diverse team fortified with a group of unquestionable โ€œNegrosโ€ will eliminate those racists Brazilians. That will send out a clear message to their neighbour.

Yes sir, Iโ€™m praying for a Jessie Owens moment.

47. Congrats to the Germans, they kick butt in South America!

48. @Exclaimer and David
    While I am not surprised that there are racial problems in Brazil it is hard to believe that when a country is spending $Billions on Soccer, their Religion, that they would be so stupid and racist to leave high quality Black players on the bench/ out of the team. This was a MUST WIN WC for them and Pele was the King 55-60 yrs ago. More recently Rubinho was a a top notch Black player who I certainly loved to watch. Who in their correct mind would squander such talent??? If this is what happened then Brazil certainly deserves to lose!

49. Without going race how could Scolari leave Kaka or Ronaldhino out?

50. Stop moaning over Brazil, they were not good enough