President of the West Indies Cricket Board Dave Cameron

We watch a boring cricket test match as the cultural dead-endedness of Caribbean societies is demonstrated through cricket. Cricket as a cultural expression of the British was never going to be susceptible to the radical transformation, in the Caribbean, it faced after the cultural revolution in North American, giving them baseball. For the Blacks with White masks at the WICBC and amongst the elites in the Caribbean are even more protective of this traditional British game than even the very British themselves.

Former players, administrators and newly minted Black lackeys get to trot out their knighthoods when cricket is playing. For them it is in the service of Queen and Empire that a nonsense of a rule could prevent Sunil Narine, the world’s top spinner, from playing for the West Indies but there is no problem for Corey Anderson, who was at the same IPL semi-finals, to be playing for the Black Caps. So a Black Cap can play while a West Indian player is to be sanctioned by the over-zealous plantation overseers of cricket in the West Indies. The WICB(C) will allow an Englishman to be a third empire. A man who has a personal interest in promoting English cricket. So West Indies bowlers could be outing people and all the marginal decisions go against us. All this for the love of pound and crown by Black and Indian Caribbean lackeys from Jamaica to Georgetown!

Nowhere in the world are people particularly interested in test cricket. And it must be allowed to meet its long awaited death. Nobody goes to watch it. TV audiences are never very impressive. It cannot attract pay-per-view revenues. The marketers at the WICB(C) must be infantile to allow such a strategy to take root. So much so that even when test cricket is aired free of cost only the diehards show any sustained interest.

And this is the strategic vision a backward Board can now come up with. The brains cannot be on the Board! What would it take for Caribbean peoples to run these nutters out of town, absent their heads?

When the West Indies were ruling the roost and given that they used to like to call us calypso cricketers we should have driven the dagger into its very heart by elevating the shorter form of the game and making the Caribbean the centre of world cricket but we lacked the ‘balls’, the creativity. Instead, we are now to be left in amazement that the WICB(C) has issued a directive that test cricket is to be their central or strategic focus. In response we want to tell them that within 20 years this game will be dead and may it rest in peace. This is the kind of underdevelopment you get when donkeys are left to lead lions.

It is alright to pelt in baseball but in cricket we are to be forever mindful of the feeling of massa. Humans are more disposed to pelting than bowling. The bureaucratic fools at the WICB(C) will proceed to pick a team of bowlers two of whom have a checkered past, allegedly, for not straightening their arms on delivery of the much touted doosra. But everybody else in cricket bends the arm more pronouncedly on its delivery. So why target our wicket-takers? This is just the latest set of abuse Caribbean people have suffered at the hands of the international masters of this colonial game. Remember the front foot rule. What ever the new demands are from the ICC ( International Cricket Conference) this group of Black lackeys on the WICB(C) will supinely comply. In fact, they will seek to outdo all others in their obeisance to massa. Only the structure of a slave society, without physical chains, can properly explain this engrained behavior.

But the cricket culture in the Caribbean is more complex. It is only in recent times that the sons and daughters of former slaves populated the highest positions on the Board and the captaincy. Before this the colonial masters had handed down the reigns to people like Peter Short, John (George) Challenor, Camacho, Jeffrey Stoymeyer and a wider cadre of English, Portugese and Indian elites well vested in the patronage derived from empire’s continuation. These were and are an interconnected clique of left-behind, cultural, warriors in all the (former) British colonies of the Caribbean. So when a Lloyd, a Richards or a Worrell would grind the English into the ground Black lackeys in high places would be begging for mercy for the White people, their friends, the gentlemanly types, who would tolerate them long enough for a cup of tea (toy). It is as if their friendship with Englishmen and other White people is more important that regional unity, self-determination and so on. Maybe it is!

Tony Cozier is the sole survivor of these moral managers of the Black lackeys. Cozier himself, nearly up to the turn of the 21st century, was running a cricket club in Barbados which was dominated by Whites – Wanderers. In a 98% Black population. And yet this bastard gets a pass to continue as some authority on West Indies cricket without even an investigation into these involvements. This is the man the West Indies present to the world. A man who pretends to speak for us.

Now that White people from New Zealand are in the Caribbean proudly calling themselves Black Cats we hope that this is a good time, it never is, to talk about race, racism, colourism, crypto-racism, classism, imperialism and the legacy of Anglo-American cultural domination which still acts to bestow privilege on some and maintains a hideous legacy for most. These are the truths that people here do not want us to speak about. They must known, for certainty, that as long as this here writer has breath the echoing of the truism that our region still suffers from White colonial exploitation, shall never cease. Take that!

100 responses to “The Black Caps Versus the Black Lackeys”

1. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

YES MB
    SOMEONE DROPPED GARY EARLY ON THE LAST DAY AND HE GOT HIS ONLY CENTURY VS NZ IN THE SECOND INNINGS
    THINK CHARLIE DAVIS AND HOLFORD GOT RUNS IN THE SECOND INNINGS TO SAVE US

2. @MoneyBrain | June 9, 2014 at 4:35 PM,
    Well spotted! Just testing the BU readership!

3. @Exclaimer
    Most here on this topic covered this Examination with Cambridge U back in the 1970s!

4. @ Moneybrain
    …what do you mean by “incorrectly thought to be sharing the plantocracy skin…”
    …you pulling a “John” on Bushie now too….claiming that you blacker than Bushie…? 🙂
    That just ain’t cricket,
    Don’t mind John yuh….face it Skippa….anybody with the sorta dollars that you and Lawson got – is white.

5. @Bushie
    U like you musseee White too!

I didnt know that White= $$$$$$?

Loads of Poor Whiteys up here in Canada and some solidly well off darker Bajans!

6. @robert ross | June 9, 2014 at 5:54 PM |

“Growing up in a racist and still racist UK”….. “Would you like to expand on that remark?” I have no desire to hijack Pachamama’s controversial post. However, I do find it strange that countries such as the UK, USA, Brazil and dear I say, perhaps Barbados, employ clichés such as “post-racial” to describe their countries position vis-à-vis the politics of race as if it was a remnant of the past without it having any significance to the present: the here and now.

I will use Brazil as my example. Brazil has a poor and hungry “negro” population of 30%. Apart from Pele and a handful of other talented “negroes” who have represented Brazil in football, over the years this country has consistently chosen to overlook this particular demographic group. Brazil is due to play this Thursday. Take a good at the make-up of those who will be selected to represent this so-called fabled footballing nation. You will not find many Negroid faces soiling that famous yellow shirt!

We may not like the rhetoric of characters such as Pachamama. However we should salute those individuals who refuse to accept this popular misconception that we now live in a post-racial world.

7. @Exclaimer
    I remember when i was a student in London in the 1970s there was a belief that black guys could not play Soccer and indeed I only remember Cyril Regis playing!
    There has been a lil change over the last 40yrs!lol

WC 2014 Final Brazil vs Argentina!

8. Exclaimer

Yes…err…thank you. But…???

9. Told you so. West Indies in trouble……..again!

10. Why is the pitch in Jamaica so brown. Are we finish with preparing pitches to lend some assistance to out fast bowlers!! I thought the match was playing in India!!

11. @Lemuel

Why not ask why our batsmen cannot bat on a docile pitch like the Black Caps?

12. The Caribbean is one of the few places where when a team fails the management has no price to pay. Gibson and his retinue of 10 should go. The Boards and the presidents should go! Gibson is a real lackey if there ever was one. Batsman after batsman seems not to have his own mind, are constantly playing too defensively. Everybody is now Chanderpaul! This could only be a product of the coaching of the Englishman Gibson’s. When we are bowling the wicket always seem to be a batsman paradise. When we are batting the wicket turns into a demon. Let’s run these lackeys out of town. They have long lost their way!

13. David:
    I got in Bajan terms very black when Garfield Sobers made 165 against the same New Zealand at the then Kensington Oval. I have had enough of west indies cricket. If they win I am glad but apart from that I don’t disturb myself about our cricket shadows any more.

I was once in Antigua and when I saw how the west indies team was picked I was shocked. It had nothing to do with ability. And we are reaping what we sowed!!

14. @ Lemuel
    “……when I saw how the west indies team was picked I was shocked. It had nothing to do with ability. And we are reaping what we sowed!!”
    ++++++++++++++++
    Cricket, politics, management, business, civil service, other sports, …..in EVERY damn area we have square pegs in wrong holes…. depending on who is family to whom….who in which Lodge….which church…. Which bed…..

…then we play we are shocked that we headed for rock bottom….?

15. Bush Tea,

It is difficult to make changes without a revolution. Talk is cheap.

Without Castro, Cuba would have been the Las Vegas of the Caribbean.

16. Hants:
    You are an old fart but this is one time I wid you!!

17. What an opening spell from Taylor and Roach!!!!!

18. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

BAD BATTING HANTS
    THESE TWO NOT ROBERTS HOLDING MARSHALL GARNER ETC LOL

19. Hope GP watching.

20. STILL WORTH WATCHING. BETTER THAN BASEBALL.LOL

21. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

YES HANTS IM WATCHING ON THE 24/7 WILLOW CRICKET CHANNEL
    BEST 15$ PER MONTH WE SPEND LOL
    YES CRICKET IS FAR BETTER THAN BASE BALL

22. WI batsmen just don’t apply themselves (Shiv excepted), they are mostly at sea versus swing bowling, hence Southee’s shredding them today.They wusser against spin, feet look like dem in concrete!

As a youth in Bim I used to bowl with the new ball and off spin. Many times i would get a couple wickets opening the bowling and then come back and get 3-4 more with spin. Much better at facing pure pace!

My kids played Baseball at a decent level and so i learnt the game initially in order to help coach. I respect the game BUT Cricket will always be my first love. Regret that we did not live in Bim as my kids would have performed well in Cricket but c’est la vie.

23. Hants
    “Without Castro…. Cuba would have been the las vegas of the Caribbean”

But the social conditions of its people might have matched those of the people of Bangladesh. It seems as though you have little appreciation as well as understanding for what Castro and Che have achieved in the face of European Economic Colonialism? Che saw the exploitation of South America by the European powers, as a young man traveling the continent and he fixed his mind on do something about it. Until he was fatally shot by the CIA who saw him as a threat the European way of life the America’s, Africa, Asia and beyond.

24. @ Hants
    It is difficult to make changes without a revolution…
    +++++++++++++++
    No it isn’t!
    LOL…..
    It is difficult to make a revolution without change….since a revolution is basically sudden, complete change…

…but intelligent people make changes EVERY DAY. They assess situations; explore options; weigh pros and cons; and assess cost-benefit information……THEN THEY MAKE intelligent proactive changes.

For Brass Bowls, however, you are absolutely correct. …..so can you please qualify your statement?…don’t mind Lemuel…

25. Bush Tea have I not stated time and again that you know everything.

So you must know that Intelligent Bajans who have the resources to effect real change are only interested in enhancing their personal wealth.

1937 will not be revisited as long as the masses have a steady supply of chicken wings and barbequed pigtails.

Bushie did you advise the two plantations to leave ripe canes in the field?

Intelligent or brass bowls?

26. To be honest with you Hants, after years of pride in Bushie’s country, the bushman could currently be convinced that the term ” intelligent Bajan” is an oxymoron….

27. I feel WI will bowl out NZ cheaply tomorrow.

WI has got NZ’s measure on this pitch. Sure seen enough of them by now!!

WI should be batting by tea tomorrow latest, after if it goes NZ way …. but probably before if things unravel like I suspect.

Question is how far can WI survive into the fifth day …..
    ….. or can they make the 350 – 450 that will be required?

Would like to think the target is less than 350 but that would be wishful thinking, more like 400-450’ish.

Three first innings ducks in the top order and the wicket may deteriorate means it should be NZ’s game.

But I just got a sneaky suspicion …… but just one of those Black Caps could become a Black Cat and nail WI and take it out of their reach.

It is a good test and it could be electric at the end.

I remember the 1972 test well. I watched the last day at Kensington, first time to watch cricket live. Can still put my hand on the ticket!!

Second time was to watch Lawrence Rowe’s 302 and last time was at Lords to watch the WI in 1976 …. Holding V Close and Steele …. and of course Tony Greig.

Back in 1972 I saw Sobers graft till the match was safe and out of reach of NZ then cut loose and get out. By then he was just having fun with the bowlers and entertaining the crowd as he had done his job and wanted to get back in the pavilion …… a brandy and port with his name was probably waiting!!

Charlie Davis stood with him and I remember the edge to slip in the morning session.

The fielding of Graham Vivian was electric.

I remember the pacers, Murray Webb, Bob Cunis and of course Bruce Taylor and I think there was an off spinner called Jack Alabaster.

Glenn Turner was a thorn in our sides back then and Congdon the captain was always a worthy batsman and a fourth seamer.

Like now, neither side was great but sometimes it takes average sides to give us a good test.

28. Bushie:
    Hants does not have to mind me. He is his own man. But if the man correct shouldn’t I support his correctness!! Again Hants I wid you on this one!!

29. Sunil Narine now has to prove himself in Test Cricket where patience, guile and skill defeat a batsman.

So far he has excelled in T20, not even ODI’s, and depends more on the batsman defeating himself.

No way he was running back to play Test Cricket where he has a more than even chance of just being mediocre. I am sure the authorities like him were glad too.

He now needs to show if he has learnt anything and can become a great …. because I think he can!!

30. Bushie there are lots of ” intelligent Bajans” but they only excel when working overseas.

The have to “perform” or they will get fired.lol

31. A little diversion I am watching on tv.

Enjoy Bushie.

32. …. but Tony Cozier is the only local commentator that is believable …. imagine sitting down a day and listening to Donna Simmons or the other guy I know as “Smoods” …. nothing to do with colour!!

33. Holding is up there …. but Jamaican

34. This one is for you Bushie. Australian aboriginal singer / musician with a social conscience.

35. It’s not fear of being fired, it’s more seeing work from a totally different perspective.
    Ther are useless Bajans abroad also – can’t change, won’t change – possessing totally fossilized mentalities.

If there is fear, it’s probably fear of being classed as retards.

You have to be up there with the brightests and best to succeed, with a positive mental attitude and not only be absolutely sure of your abilities but to be able to perform and compete – one of the ones who stand out amongst the crowd in your chosen endeavour.

In 1976 our company advertiised for 2 UK Specialists and 13 applicants came forward, including 2 very senior guys who had ben tasked with showing the ropes when I joined.
    Eventually it was announced that there was one job and that I had it.

Some weeks later I walked into an office and was greeted by one of them with the statemant that a rose by any other name was still a rose. The other guy smiled.
    A couple of months later I got a phone call from my boss the UK Tech Support manager – Pete and Bill (the same 2 guys who were my initial mentors) were working all night on a problem and the computer system was still down.

When I arrived on site and asked for them I was told that they worked all night and hadn’t had any breakfast so they were out to have some lunch.
    Twenty minutes later they showed up and I had the system up and running again.
    Those guys never looked at me as a light weight junior again.

After I moved to my last company, lots of applicants from my previous company applied for jobs quoting that they worked closely with me.

In the 25 years I spent with this company before I took early retirement I performed as a World Wide Specialist solving problems on large computer systems across the globe.
    No one took me as some poor and downtrodden oaf, their trust in my ability was never misplaced and even today in my 10th year of retirement, almost every day I get emails form knowledgeable people across the globe, from Professors and PhD’s down, asking for assistance in solving some very tricky problems – I deliver by being ME and being able to deploy my knowledge and skills to solve problems.

In case this sounds like I know it all, I don’t. Sometimes it’s other guys that I have to consult in order to get my problems fixed.

The more you know, the more you realise how much you don’t know.
    Learning is, or should be, a life long process.

Have a look at hackaday.com and see the amazing exploits that versatile and inovative minds produce and they are not rich boys and girls with vast amounts of money to spend, some are not well of pensioners – mind over matter mentality drives them.

There was the doctor who discovered that a $100 Nintendo Wii did the same job as the $10,000 contraption in helping patients recovering from strokes or the guy who made a $50 prosthetic arm using a 3D printer which was trialled out by a warehouse worker in South Florida who reported that it worked better for general use as well as his work which involved lifting boxes than the professional one that was supplied through his medical insurance at a cost of $45,000.

These are truly exciting times, destined to get even more exciting.

36. BU’s betting window now opened. 20-1 WI win, odds on favorite NZ in the 1 1/2 days remaining.

37. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

you ought to bet can windies last out the day
    seems shiv should open
    that way he can bat with the tail (2=11)

38. Ignorance!

Narine to play in Barbados Test

Published: Wednesday, June 11, 2014

Fans in the Caribbean will be able to see mystery spinner Sunil Narine twirl his magic against New Zealand in the current Test series as a compromise has been struck between the Trinidadian and the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB). Narine stayed on to play in the Indian Premier League (IPL) finals for eventual 2014 winners Kolkata Knight Riders and missed the deadline to attend a camp in preparation for the current series.

The West Indies operations management team had set June 1 as the deadline for all players to show and Narine, as a result of missing this deadline, was ruled ineligible to play in the current three-Test series. However, T&T Guardian understands that negotiations will be ongoing between the player and the board and it has been agreed that he will sit out the first two matches and will be available for selection for the third and final Test in Barbados which starts on June 26.

No clear reason has been given for the decision but it is understood that the operations management team communicated to the WICB that they had a change of heart. The decision by the management committee which was ratified by the WICB led to debates around the region with most pointing to the fact that although there was this new policy in place called ‘Country First’, the punishment was too harsh.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/sport/2014-06-11/narine-play-barbados-test

39. you gine tell we that this management of the wicbc don’t want putting 6 foot under?

40. @Pacha,
    You maybe correct BUT what can any coach or manager do when 3 of your key batsmen cant scrape together 13 runs in a Test???

This team should be radically altered for the next Test.
    1 bring in the youngster Blackwood.for Edwards.
    2 Swap Powell for Kraig B
    3 Consider Russell as All Rounder

41. @MB
    Yes, but merely swapping failures for failures will not help. The problem is in the board room, the management. We should start by fireing the all these and the executives too.

Maybe we need what the Romans use to call a ‘Dictator’ for cricket and everything else. Like when Lloyd and Richards use to decide everything on the field and then inform the board. Yes, in that era some people got hurt, like Carlisle Best, but so far it was the best management model for us, in cricket. Maybe it could be in economy, politics too, LOL

42. @Pacha
    Certainly agree re the “damagers”.
    The leadership is poor in Politics and Cricket. SAD! We have the talent but——– not the performance.

43. You guys just don’t get it. You expect our cricket teams to compete against other countries which have entrenched professional leagues where their players can practice and hone their skills at the first class level. You want them to compete against countries with the resources to provide ancillary support like diet and psychological. Get real!

44. Cricket like everything else in the Caribbean , Barbados included is run by idiots who think they know AND PLAYED by idiots who think they know. They don’t listen to anybody. Freundel Stuart and the DLP are the same jobbyt

45. @David
    Cricket is our best team sport by far. Cricket brings in Tourist $$$$, therefore the Govts should spend money on Development.Why cant we afford a 4Day league where we bring in at least 2 foreign A Teams to play in our competition every year and/ or fringe teams eg India A and Kenya.

We must have a league equivalent to NZ and preferably Australia. The talent is there to Develop. If we had proper Contracts from Youth Days then WI would earn $$$ when releasing players to play in IPL etc. If you spend to develop then $$$ should flow back in such cases as happens in Soccer. After all students have to pay to go to UWI, so why not WICB or Bdos Cricket Training School?

There are creative solutions!

46. @Jason P
    The problem is DISCIPLINE, INTEGRITY and STATESMANSHIP!

Everyone brekking for themselves and dont care about black peeps besides themself!

47. I agree with you MoneyBrain
    However .I don’t know if having a league will; help. I have lost confidence in our people. Something is missing from the education system—Men I believe are what is missing now that I think of it. We need more men in the schools but wait if we bring effeminate men -well we still aint going nowhere. Man we like we in deep do do however you look at it. Look I quit. I just don’t know. I think the world is changing–change they say is constant

48. The problem is simple, we’ve lost that loving feeling for cricket!!

Check this

All the management big mout talk won’t work. That is for countries that have bare money to spend. We don’t.

If management were so important and the WICBC so vital then clearly we should be learning from Captain Short and his ilk!!

Lord have mercy … God forbid …. next thing I will be branded a racist!!

What sort of management caused Gary Sobers to develop into the player he became?

He grew up loving the game, breathing the game and playing the game.

When he became a man he just let it flow and did what came natural to him.

Some people may have chuckled at his social awkwardness off the field but rushed to watch the natural he was on the field where he had no equal.

In a way he always remained the little boy in love with the game.

See what this old geyser has to say https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RXOOH9xufO0

Lara I reckon was the end for WI cricket for he removed the love for the game and replaced it with love for money.

A guy remarked to me today that he reckoned Taylor only came back because he sees real money sharing and he wants some.

Could you imagine anybody thinking that about Holding for example when he was at his peak?

Watch the little boys on and off the field in this next video and weep.

See what I mean https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=loYyJllsj68&feature=kp

Look at the fitness level of the average bajans stowing away. You think any big guts bajan today could match any of them?

Fitness is the other issue but it gets resolved naturally if the guy really loves the game because he will be striving to excel and express his love for the game.

I reckon I knew we would lose this one before a ball was bowled when I heard big able WI batsmen talking about patience and waiting on the wicket that was prepared.

I don’t advocate throwing your wicket away but for heaven’s sakes, hit the ball like a West Indian.

You can still be circumspect.

49. Memories don’t leave like people do, they always stay with you…

50. People live on in memory …. they live on.

You may not be able to touch them but they are present when you think of them.