Press Statement re: Moody’s Downgrade by Leader of the Opposition, Hon. Mia Amor Mottley Q.C., M.P.

Mia Mottley, Leader of the Opposition

Barbadians need urgently to sit up and take stock.

We cannot expect to continue to do the same things over and over and get different results. Yesterday’s further downgrade by Moody’s by a staggering 3 notches must jolt us into our true reality.

We were warned that increasing our overall debt, especially our reliance on short-term debt, will lead to a further downgrade. Yet the Government continues recklessly to do so. Two weeks ago we increased the Local Loans Limit to $4 billion and now today we are increasing the limit under the Special Loans Act by $1 billion to $2.5 billion.

We were warned that continued Central Bank financing of our fiscal deficit will put pressure on our exchange rate. Yet the Central Bank continues to do so.

We were warned that increasing our fiscal deficit and missing our targets for fiscal consolidation will lead to a further downgrade. Yet the Government continues unashamedly to do so.

We were warned that declining foreign reserves will lead to a further downgrade. Yet the foreign reserves dangerously continue to decline in spite of the Government’s borrowing to prop them up.

Regrettably this downgrade by 3 notches also comes against increasing difficulties by the Government to raise medium term money with them having challenges with a recent 2019 Issue of Bonds. The market is reflecting their lack of confidence in this Government’s management of the economy and its fourth attempt at fiscal consolidation.

How many more people and institutions must speak, through their words and actions, before Barbadians tell this Government that the message is clear from everyone who assesses our economy? How many more Barbadian workers, families and businesses must be sacrificed before we recognize that all Barbadians must stand up and call a spade a spade.

The definition of madness is doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different result.

Our economy is in crisis and NO ONE has confidence in this Government’s policies nor in its ability to lead us out of the crisis.

The deafening silence of Barbadians is the greatest ally to this Government’s incompetence. The voices of all Barbadian patriots in the private sector, union movement, academia, church, civil society and among our general population must now be heard for it cannot be business as usual.

254 responses to “Moody’s Downgrade Barbados AGAIN”

1. $1 Canadian = $101 Jamaican.

Scary

2. @Bush Tea

“While you will have your opportunists like Miller, Prodigal and Enuff who can’t wait for their turn at the wicket…..and even some yardfowls who are awaiting their crumbs to fall…..MOST BAJANS would be more interested in hearing exactly what the BLP will do differently to address our plight….”

Why yuh calling muh name? You just shame!! Go start your BBE that remarkably won’t be party of the political class according to you.

3. LOL
    What the shirt…..
    First Prodigal and now you Enuff…?
    Bushie got this name-calling thing from Caswell…Ha Ha Ha

Wunna done know that the cap fits too….
    …at least Miller doth not protest….that blogger had on batting pads and gloves from right after the elections…. Ha Ha ….waiting to get back to the crease…

…you mean start BUP not BBE….BBE was “started” before time existed….
    If Caswell ever start the ball rolling …you would quickly see the end of the so-call ” POLITICAL CLASS”…..first thing is that Bushie, Baffy and Caswell will lock up bout 80% of wunna in Dodds.

Next, wunna easy pensions will be taxed at 90%

Then we will be advertising and interviewing candidates BASED ON TALENT, SKILLS, INTEGRITY AND QUALIFICATIONS to run the damn place

Finally, their performances will be MONITORED and ALL slackers and non-performers will “retire” gracefully.

…this won’t be any political class, but an executive management class…..
    …feel free to apply….Enuff….

4. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

UNDER BUP WICKING AND BULLIN WILL BE BUPPED LOL

5. GEORGIE PORGIE | June 5, 2014 at 8:45 PM |

UNDER BUP WICKING AND BULLIN WILL BE BUPPED LOL

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    U SUCH A LOW LIFE MONGREL>>>U NEED SPRAYING WITH RAID<<<<LOL

6. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

OK
    UNDER BUP WICKING AND BULLIN WILL BE BUPPED I.E IT WILL BE BANNED
    BUSHIE WEED WHACKER WILL BE APPLIED TO ALL HAPPY PEOPLE THAT DONT DO THEIR THING BEHIND CLOSED DOORS WITH NO LOBBYING

7. Hants it costs 505 Jamaican for a burger

8. are-we-there-yet | June 5, 2014 at 11:11 AM |

I always wondered what happened to Checkit-Out, but I suspected that the moniker could have changed to Are-We-There-Yet since the style of writing and substance are of the same high standard. Your posts are required reading for me, and I’m trying to sell the piece of the rock I own before the devaluation hits.
    Do you believe the economy was ‘stable’ in 2012 and 2013, or was it in decline and Dr. Worrell was blatantly lying?

9. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

All this have to do with land and land prices , we have nothing to export ,.
    we import people and rob them with no support of the law when dealing with land and money ,

BARBADOS can recover very fast , in 6 months to 12 months

All the government have to do is tell the truth , then to the fix is the land deeds and a path to a clear title of land , which will allow the people have equity in home for school, home and cars , the 3 biggest investment next you good health ,

How can this happen when the DBLP government take over the housing market with the UDC and NHC as a private slush FUND for the lawyers and Ministers. So the Bajan always have to look to government for work and care ,

Look at TERRA they are part and party to the problem like Pa-tcrook TODD.
    Along with all the new ministers need to be removed by next election

Barbados is still own by Bajans , You all will see who own what when the FRAUD IS REMOVED,
    All this long talk about unions and credit union is part of the on going fraud by the pimp title holders ,
    Trust no one with title of Minister, lawyer, QC, MP Sir or any other title such as Judge , AG and look out for some of the Police,
    STUDY WELL AND SEEK TRUTH , WHEN YOU IN A PIT OF CROOKS, LIARS AND SCUMBAGS

10. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Bajan-in-New York;

Thanks for the compliments. I’ve tried my best but am getting tired nowadays. I’ve been hoping beyond hope that something would happen to put us back on an upward trend but it doesn’t seem as if anything will come to save us. For a very brief time I thought that Dr. Estwick’s proposal might postpone the inevitable but that was totally wishful thinking.

We are left to now make our best individual efforts in every way to protect ourselves and loved ones and the people in general in Barbados. The current political class, as an all encompassing group, have surely shown that they are incapable of acting outside of their own self interest and putting Barbados first. But, IMHO, there are a few current politicians who are capable by virtue of their intellect, abilities and even past performance, to be assets to Barbados rather than hindrances at this time and I would put Donville Inniss, Mia Mottley, Ms Agard, Chris Sinckler – with all his warts he was trying but was stymied at every point by his PM, and some others of their colleagues in that category. Perhaps the best ultimate solution is a change of the total political system, removal of the current political class from power, and starting afresh with new blood but that solution is so fraught with likely chaos and mayhem that it does not even merit thinking of seriously.

Re. individual efforts, think very hard about selling that property here. It is quite possible that if you are still a relatively young man it will appreciate in value in your lifetime. Don’t sell it unless you must.

Thanks again.

11. @ GP

I need some help. Can you point me to the relevant scripture that explains why Barbados and most of the world is now at this point of ruin? .

12. millertheanunnaki | June 5, 2014 at 10:29 AM |

miller you are back you vanished for a while upon Trevor Prescod’s call to discipline and expel Owen Arthur and George Pain. Did you even comment on Trevor Prescod orders to Jerome to carry his frowsy self when he shout at Prescod to get off the platform in Carrington Village? Predictably you and you BLP fowls including of the blog owner are in full glee as Moody’s attempts to humiliate and destroy Barbados. It will not happen Barbados can and must see off this crisis. In the meantime cackle and laugh it up miller Barbados in trouble and you and the Bees like it so.

13. What is the political class doing about the trouble Barbados has been in since everyone has been aware that there is a continuing recession going on since 2003 which both the DLP and BLP have consistently denied could affect Barbados.

14. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

de hood
    2 Timothy Chapter 3 is a good place to start especially if you check the Greek

1 This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come.

2 For men shall be lovers of their own selves, covetous, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy,

3 Without natural affection, trucebreakers, false accusers, incontinent, fierce, despisers of those that are good,

4 Traitors, heady, highminded, lovers of pleasures more than lovers of God;

5 Having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof: from such turn away.

6 For of this sort are they which creep into houses, and lead captive silly women laden with sins, led away with divers lusts,

7 Ever learning, and never able to come to the knowledge of the truth.

PERILOUS TIMES ARE REALLY UPON US
    JUST LOOK AT THE VERY ACCURATE DESCRIPTION OF THE WORLD LEADERS TODAY AND MOST OF THE POPULACE

15. GP

Am already familiar with those. Any others? Isn’t the story about Balaam trying to benefit from Balak although the Lord warned him not to do so and his subsequent downfall part of the warning to mankind especially pertaining to our day?

16. Tenement Yard Avatar

BBD got a Bad Credit Rating? Never Mind. Don’t worry yourselves about all this finance stuff, being poor ain’t no thing, you can live in a wooden shack in a shanty town and still go to heaven when you dead

http://youtu.be/XTrp3BofJwI

17. Due Diligence Avatar

I see in a story just posted in nationnews.com that the IMF delegation have left.

“Members of the Washington-based staff who left Barbados today following a five-day periodic review visit, said the need for fiscal consolidation was urgent and predicted that real Gross Domestic Product would decline by 0.6 percent this year”

I guess that now that they have those guys out of the way, the PM, MOF and CBBG will have time to look at and comment on the Moody’s report.

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ bajanyankee | June 6, 2014 at 11:04 AM |
    “Predictably you and you BLP fowls including of the blog owner are in full glee as Moody’s attempts to humiliate and destroy Barbados. It will not happen Barbados can and must see off this crisis.”

Hello Bajan funnyman from the George Street cesspool who seems to be excessively keen to monitor my contributions, here is what I have to say to you:

To be honest with you, I don’t really know what you are on about concerning the petty politics of Prescod and Jerome whoever.
    But what should be more of a concern to a pea-brain person like you is what the IMF has just said about the management of your little economy. Don’t you think so?
    Yes carry on fool and attack the rating agencies and the Opposition and see how far you will get with that.
    Why don’t you blasted idiots look into the mirror to see the reflection of incompetence that forms a wall built on your lies and deceit?

No honest person wants to see Barbados in the state it is in; just the back of you jokers that have brought your once lovely country to its knees. Maybe the country that once punched above its weight has now been floored by the fumbling stupidity of a somnambulistic giant.

19. @ Miller

Touche (accent on “e”). You have me here ROFLMAO!

20. miller,
    Ignore these trolls, they are ashamed that their lousy DLP has brought our fair and to its knees. One of their liars tried to call out David Ellis today for preaching doom and gloom and said Ellis should find out why the IMF was here. The bold face liar said it was to do with the MOF’s statement in the August budget of the IMF helping with tax reform……….lo and behold we now know that was another lie……….these dems cannot help lying….. they are in denial.

Meanwhile Barbados sinks deeper and deeper into the ditch. But their party in power and the dems are happy.

One of them was brazen enough tell me that I pulling down Barbados…when I ask how could he be satisfied with what is going on, he asked me what I worrying for, I have nothing to worry about. I said yes but I worry for those who have been laid off and are suffering…..the dem told me why I worrying about other people for, let them worry “bout” themselves. That’s a dem for you!

21. Due Diligence Avatar

22. @Prodical

u still prophesying?

23. @miller

ur memory short, but then again, u r accustomed to handouts, this time around u aint getting none u dumb head. U and ur band of robinhoods who plundered the treasury have a long time in waiting. Mr. know all

24. @miller

this bajanyankee did not post anything about trevor prescod or Jerome. I don’t care if there is any infighting in the blp or the dlp, If two persons are posting under bajanyankee moniker the blog master can advise I will still attack u and prodical that false pretender when I have to, And I don’t have to get angry to do so,

25. @ bajanyankee

You continue to lie. You could not tell the truth if your life depended on it. I have copied your commnt below where you spoke about Prescod and Jerome. You are indeed a stranger to the truth. In plain words….. a LIAR!

millertheanunnaki | June 5, 2014 at 10:29 AM |

miller you are back you vanished for a while upon Trevor Prescod’s call to discipline and expel Owen Arthur and George Pain. Did you even comment on Trevor Prescod orders to Jerome to carry his frowsy self when he shout at Prescod to get off the platform in Carrington Village? Predictably you and you BLP fowls including of the blog owner are in full glee as Moody’s attempts to humiliate and destroy Barbados. It will not happen Barbados can and must see off this crisis. In the meantime cackle and laugh it up miller Barbados in trouble and you and the Bees like it so.

26. This is the comment that I wanted to copy that shows bajanyankee addressing Miller.

bajanyankee | June 6, 2014 at 11:04 AM |
    millertheanunnaki | June 5, 2014 at 10:29 AM |

27. The IMF officials could not even trust the incompetent DLP government to communicate the findings of their visit to the Barbadian public. They had to do it themselves. Of dear!!!!!!!!!!! it says a lot about how the officials think about them.

28. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The Government has an international reputation as being comprised of liars. No one has confidence in them.

29. BARBADOS: IMF CONCLUDES STAFF VISIT Press Release No.14/265 June 6, 2014 A team from the International Monetary Fund (IMF) led by Ms. Nicole Laframboise visited Barbados during June 2-6, 2014 to review recent economic developments and discuss the main policy priorities. Staff met with Minister of Finance Christopher Sinckler, Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados DeLisle Worrell, other government officials, and representatives from labour and the private sector. Ms Laframboise issued the following statement at the end of the visit today:

“The Barbadian economy continues to face major challenges, including low growth, a very large fiscal deficit and a high debt burden. Real GDP is expected to decline by 0.6 percent this year, as slightly stronger tourism activity is offset by the impact of the government’s deficit reduction efforts. Inflation is expected to remain subdued and private sector credit growth weak. The unemployment rate rose to 13.2 percent in the fourth quarter of 2013.

“The decline in international reserves through most of 2013 was arrested in the first quarter with external borrowing in the December 2013–March 2014 period, and reserves have remained at about US$570 million (3.3 months worth of imports) since.

“Discussions focused on recent developments, progress with announced fiscal measures, and the near-term outlook. The central government deficit in the fiscal year 2013/14 is estimated at 12 percent of GDP, higher than projected owing mostly to unbudgeted transfers to public enterprises, including to reduce arrears. Central government gross debt, excluding securities held by the National Insurance Scheme, rose to 96 percent of GDP at March 2014.

“The need for fiscal consolidation is urgent. The authorities agree and have implemented most of their announced budget measures. Follow up is essential to ensure that these measures produce material results in the near term to lower the government’s financing needs. Slippages should be met with offsetting actions in order to meet budget targets.

“Strengthened oversight and fundamental reform of the public enterprises are key priorities in the near term. IMF staff welcomes progress in this area and the government’s intention to significantly strengthen the monitoring and control of public enterprises, including through a high-level independent oversight committee and increased resources for the accounting unit responsible for monitoring performance.

“While awaiting the findings of a review of domestic taxation by technical experts, consolidation efforts should also focus on the other components of expenditure, including ways to improve the targeting and effectiveness of social services. This should include scaling back some universal programs available to higher income groups to ensure that they reach the most needy.”

“In parallel with deficit reduction, steps to raise growth are equally important. A number of large private and public investment projects in the pipeline should boost capital inflows and productive capacity. Efforts will be needed though to remove administrative impediments to doing business and lower production costs in the country, including unit labour costs. This is important for strengthening competitiveness under the fixed exchange rate regime.”

“The banking system remains liquid and well capitalized, though bank profitability has declined since the prolonged recession. Staff welcomes the authorities’ commitment to implementing recommendations from the recent Financial Sector Assessment Update, including measures to enhance the supervision and regulation of non-bank financial institutions and off-shore banks, and to enhance the independence of the central bank.

“The team wishes to thank the authorities and representatives of the private sector and labour for their hospitality and the constructive and frank dialogue.”

30. MEMBERS OF THE Royal Barbados Police Force and immigration officials swooped down on a construction site in St Peter today.

After checking identification cards, several people were taken awa

31. so some how the moodys downgrade and the implementations of the policies which the govt and imf had agreed upon seems to be at contrast,,,,,,,,,,,,the fact is that until these policies are fully implemented and given a chance to work the hastiness and the conclusion of the moodys downgrade all but says that no matter what barbados does these policies would have little or no help..so then what was the point for such drastic policies,,, the imf officials gave barbados the green light to impose as quickly as possible in an effort to stave off further decline,,,from my vantage point, i was meant to believe that such policies would move barbados in a positive direction,,however after the downgrade i am left wondering….

32. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David; some mischief seems to be afoot. You should check the facts urgently and remove that Stew peas post of 8;45 pm last night post haste.

33. @Are-we-there-yet

Thanks, missed it.

34. It is interesting that the Honourable Minister, responsible for Small Business Development among other things, thinks that the downgrade is nothing to get worried about and we(Barbadians) should get on with the business of the country.
    This is quite an interesting perspective especially since that minister is also responsible for International Business and I cannot say that he has successfully attracted any of that type of business investment here since he has ably held that portfolio.
    The downgrade has a significant impact on Barbados’ ability to access credit and loans on the world market. Since we seem not to be able to do anything for ourselves, and are always running about begging for money, it is pivotal that we follow the guidelines set forth related to accessing these funds.
    With a measure of short-sightedness, we have been happily ignoring that there are oil deposits off Barbados” northern coastline. No attempts are being made to even start an exploratory drilling project to determine the viability of accessing this resource. Yet we criticize the ratings agencies for their outlook on our fiscal ineptitude. No surprises here however, as the Political Class that the Hon Fruendel Stuart spoke of in a recent speech given in Parliament, would rather see the country suffer if their own selfish desires cannot be met.
    Elsewhere in thus blog is a mention of an energy policy for Barbados. Its hilarious that with the sun beating down on this fair land 350 of 365 days in the year, we cant yet get wind and solar energy projects off the ground at a national level. Instead, we await the Political Class on a decision on an energy policy, one that will undoubtedly be of benefit to them and the established sole energy supplier.
    Barbados needs a new system of governance and a new type of government. Away with B and D and get a system that engages the people who are the reviewers of performance and success of the Political Class. A system in which your performance as a politician is constantly reviewed and when you fail to make the cut, you are cut! A system similar to that of the great Singapore that we all like to mention, but are afraid to emulate because the class-ism and other folly has to be given up before success can be achieved.
    Downgrades mean nothing to people who believe that they are always right, and are are perfect in everything that they do. You have to remove them from their pedestals of stupidity and demote them to ignored members of society in order to jolt them into reality.
    The success of Barbados lies squarely in the ability of the people of this fair land to remove these inept automatons and replace the outdated governance system with a working prototype.
    Until that is done, no amount of fussing, complaining, criticizing and other forms of passive protest will work.
    Don’t believe me however, just have the backbone to try it and see!

35. @ are-we-there-yet and David

You all seem to be trying to dodge a missile that is surely coming our way soon.. Go the (Television Jamaica (TVJ))website and click on video, Then look at the posting; Barbados to turn to the IMF for help?Click and listen to that audio. Stew peas is not being mischievous at all, just keeping abreast of what is being said about the Barbados outside of the partisan press here in Bim. I will wait for June 23, 2014 to see if that media house was wrong in their statement.

36. This is an article taken from rjrnewsonline.com posted on June 06 2014

Barbados likely to seek IMF assistance

7:36 am, Fri June 6, 2014
    //assets/img/stories/display_pic/default_story_img.jpg

Barbados is expected to turn to the International Monetary Fund (IMF) for help, after a downgrade from ratings agency Moody’s dealt one last blow to the heavily indebted nation.

Officials from Barbados will engage in fresh talks with investors on June 23 during meetings organized in London and New York by Geoffrey Bell and Company, a longtime financial advisor to the government. Last year the country was forced to ditch a new bond issue and liability management operation as it approached investors for the first time as a junk credit.

The IMF, which has so far engaged with Barbados only on a consultative basis, is scheduled to conclude a routine visit to the country this week. While the government has indicated it intends to implement economic adjustments on its own, many argue that any deal with the IMF would be the best course of action, in spite of the stigma often associated with requesting multilateral assistance.

Barbados reported a deficit of over 11 percent of GDP for fiscal 2013/14, while interest payments now absorb 30 percent of government revenue.

37. Due Diligence Avatar

Interesting to hear of June 23 date from TVJ

No doubt the PM, MOF, CBBG will talk SOON

38. @ The Watcher | June 7, 2014 at 8:23 AM |
    The following excerpt taken from Mr. Charlie Skeete’s comments under the headline “Moody’s downgrade ‘no surprise’” – page 12A Nation newspaper June 4, 2014, sums up the recent statements from minister Donville Inniss:

Skeete complained that instead of tackling the economic problems and living up to its own programme and timetables, some in Barbados were engaging in “fruitless and stupid debates” about sovereignty and outsiders telling the country what it should do.

39. Then they say that we are free
    only to be chained in poverty

Good God I think it’s illiteracy
    It’s only a machine that prints money

40. Please sell some assets and pay down the debt Avatar
    Please sell some assets and pay down the debt

Can the Government realistically raise a significant amount of funds from the sale of state assets to reduce the current debt and related interest expense and, if so, why no efforts in this area before considering the IMF?

41. @AC

join with me in requesting the blog master start a thread with the statement made by mof in the nation online. WE AINT going to get the sunday paper until later. I want to see what prodical, the miller man and the hood got to say.

42. Yankee…heard it all before

43. there are questions and comments being thrown to inflamed…calling Dr Worell a liar is one of them. his opinon on the Barbados economy wherehe states that the economy had stabilize in 2012was truthful and was included in the imf report 2012-13 report..there is a lot of verbal garbage making the usual noise stinking up the house as usual…

44. Dr. Worrell stated the economy had stabilized BUT we were borrowing to shore up the international reserves. Out of Doctor Woorrell’s mouth is that Barbados needs to earn forex to pay the bill, borrowing is NOT earning.

On Saturday, June 7, 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

45. @David

why don’t u have the statement of which I mentioned place on the blog, or because it does not coincide with ur agenda.

@enuff where u went and where is the other blogger named balance?

46. Haha looka how Yanks begging. What the Hon. Sinckler said was nothing new–projects in the pipeline. I noticed he said that Cabinet had agreed to sell Four Seasons as opposed to have SOLD. Strangely enough this is the same man that said few weeks ago the government can’t protect what it doesn’t own against vandalism.

47. David i am speaking to those who insist and persist in their stupidity of calling the dr. a liar. are u one of them as i did indicate a fact which was confirmed by the imf.this country is economic turmoil but it doesnt mean that innuendo and half truths must be presented as fact

48. To repeat, Barbados has borrowed and continue to borrow foreign dollars to boost forex reserves. We have to earn forex if we want to broadcast the country is stable. The last borrowing was credit suisse loan which the Governor stated words to the effect we did not have to. Yet we are at 16 weeks only?

On 7 June 2014 19:41, Barbados Underground wrote:

49. isn’t 16 weeks of fx exchange adequate cover?

50. 16?