PRESS STATEMENT RE: REFERRAL OF NCC WORKERSย  by the HON MIA AMOR MOTTLEY Q.C., M.P. – POLITICAL LEADER, BARBADOS LABOUR PARTY
Mia Mottley, Leader of the Opposition

I have deliberately kept quiet while the events at the National Conservation Commission (NCC) have been unfolding over the last 3 to 4 weeks. I was of the view that the Government and the Unions should have been allowed to follow political and industrial relations processes to bring justice to the 200 workers being victimized by the NCC.

The Prime Minister’s statements today are a public confession of his failure to use the weight of his office to correct the illegal and unconstitutional actions of the NCC.

I therefore have a duty to speak.

Two options were available to resolve this matter. One was legal. The other was political. The legal route is protracted and will consign the workers to a prolonged period, without money, and of course it may well be subject to appeal to the Court of Appeal.

But there are also existing deficiencies in resorting to procedures under the Employment Rights Act. Just to mention two:

ย ย ย ย ย ย ย  1. Although the Act was passed in 2012, the Minister of Labour has not made Regulations as required by section 49.

ย ย ย ย ย ย ย  2. The Employment Rights Tribunal was established in July 2013 but no prescribed forms have been published to assist employees in filing complaints in a standardized way. An aggrieved employee can begin a complaint by any method. This is unsatisfactory.

The Tribunal is simply not ready.

I am shocked that the Unions have agreed to go to the Tribunal at this stage when they must be aware of the further delay that is bound to ensue by invoking the procedures under Part VIII of the Act. The Unions started the political process by involving the Minister of Labour and now the Prime Minister. They have abandoned that process, shifted gears and reverted to the legal process – all to the emotional and financial detriment of the workers.

I had hoped that the Prime Minister would have rejected the improper, discriminatory and unfair decisions of the NCC, which are outlawed by the Constitution of Barbados and the Administrative Justice Act. The NCC is NOT an independent republic. It is a statutory board accountable to the people of Barbados through a Minister. The Prime Minister himself is sworn to uphold both the Constitution and the Laws of Barbados. He must act decisively. He cannot pass the buck to the Chief Labour Officer when the crux of the matter is the conduct of Minister Dennis Lowe in this unsavoury affair.

It was Mr. Lowe who stated publicly that he had the list of persons to be sent home for review. He was the one who placed himself at the center of the process and in a position to usurp the functions of the Board and Management of the NCC.

The Barbados Labour Party is reliably informed that there were three versions of the list and the final version was settled on National Heroes Day. Included in that version, were workers who had given long service and some of whom are sole breadwinners. On the other hand, persons employed almost exclusively from Mr. Lowe’s constituency and hired during his tenure (including members of his family and relatives of certain persons in the management of NCC) are retained.

This is disgraceful, unfair and reprehensible.ย  It is nepotism and political butchery bereft of any regard for due process or legal propriety.

The Prime Minister should have castigated the Management of NCC for their conduct in refusing to attend last Wednesdayโ€™s meeting and flouting the directive of the Minister of Labour to provide the Unions with the criteria for retrenchment.ย  The Country would wish to hear from the Prime Minister whether he condones that type of behavior, which disrespects good industrial relations practice.

This matter must now be resolved.

1. The victimized workers must be reinstated. And if the Government insists on cutting public expenditure by sending home people, then transparent criteria consistent with the Social Partnership Protocol and indeed promises last year of the Prime Minister himself, must be followed.

2. Minister Dennis Lowe must be fired for presiding over the disgraceful behavior of the NCC.

3. And the Board must also be removed for its complicit role in this nasty affair.

We call on the Private Sector, the Trade Union Movement, Civil Society and the public of Barbados to join the BLP in calling for the swift action that is now necessary.

In failing to resolve this matter today, Prime Minister Stuart has shown himself as being incapable of taking decisive political action and he has yet again bolstered his reputation for dithering, fumbling and indecisiveness. It is a political cop out by him – all to avoid disciplining one of his Ministers yet again because of an unworkable Parliamentary majority.

This is a watershed moment for the Public Sector workers in Barbados.ย  A political charade and farce have gone too far.

Barbadians deserve more respect from a Government for whom they voted to represent their interests. Once again, this Government has failed its people.

May 25, 2014

65 responses to “Referral of NCC Workers to Employment Rights Tribunal – Prime Minister Fails Yet Again”

1. Caswell has described MAMโ€™s response as follows on Facebook:

As usual, the Leader of the Opposition talking nonsense. She should read the act: section 6 (3) of the ERA provides that sections 11 to 15 and 21 of the Commission of Inquiry Act apply in respect of the determination of complaints by the Tribunal. There is no need for any rules to get going. She is just bluffing again.

He further stated the PM cannot recommend any matter to the Employment Rights Tribunal, only the employee through the Chief Labour Officer.

2. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Mia Mottley, Leader of the Opposition@ This is her UDC and VAT coming back at them , Only MIA will know how she and Owen Set up the Fraud and the ones that know how to handle the BLP person they put in place.
    With a different Party in office heads will clash ,

Different parts of the Truth is coming out ,
    MIA need to be charged and bring before the Law Courts to a good standing Judge , not one that was a lawyer writing bad land deeds.

Slaves are still sold at the Auction Block , Union sold them out for cars and non VAT payments,

3. It appears the BWU triggered the process to go to the Tribunal?

NCC case to be fast-tracked

NCC case to be fast-trackedSome of the workers who turned out for this morning’s meeting. (Nigel Browne)

MON, MAY 26, 2014 – 1:20 PM

THE BARBADOS WORKERSโ€™ Union today assured its members that it would be pushing to have the Employment Rights Tribunal settle its latest case โ€“ the retrenchment of almost 200 National Conservation Commission (NCC) employees โ€“ โ€œin the shortest time possibleโ€.

The BWUโ€™s Assistant General Secretary Dwaine Paul gave the assurance when he addressed about 100 present and former NCC employees at the unionโ€™s Harmony Hall, St Michael complex this morning.

Paul admitted that the union had some concerns about the tribunal, the biggest being the issue of time that would be involved in settling the dispute that had dragged on for four weeks.

Deputy general secretary Veronica Griffith, who reported that the union had triggered the process for the dispute to be referred to the tribunal, said there were also concerns that the relatively new tribunal had not yet met and had a long list of cases before it.

However, she said the union was told during a meeting yesterday with Prime Minister Freundel Stuart, Minister of Labour Esther Byer Suckoo and Chief Labour Officer Vincent Burnett that the NCC case would be fast-tracked. (TY)

4. I would like to ask a few questions:
    Is there a Tribunal in place? If not why did Walter Maloney agreed to this?

Who comprises the panel?

Have they ever met?

How long would a person have to wait to get a hearing?

Are the unions playing with the lives of the workers by agreeing with the PM because they know that nothing is in place?

Is this a case of the PM’s usual inaction by kicking the can down the road?

Why was Dennis Lowe not censored or fired for this mess he created?

Was this can kicked down the road so that the Minister could be freed up to be able to board a plane on Sunday evening to go to Geneva?

I am just asking!

5. St George's Dragon Avatar

Is the NCC case exceptional?
    I would be surprised if the same nepotism and favoritism was not a feature across many of the lists of people being sent home.

6. The NCC list is exceptional because ig is where political intervention reached its commanding height or should that be how lowe it reached.

7. Which Minister Of Government going to Geneva first class at over $21000BDS this Sunday

8. If we are go understand from Caswell that the Tribunal is to follow the rules of a commission why has a three man panel not been appointed as yet? The Tribunal is an important piece of the Employment Rights Bill therefore it shohld be in place if Suckoo wants to support her claim in the Senate last week that Barbados has the most advance labour legidlation in the Caribbean.

Will Suckoo be travelling to Geneva solo?

9. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The Prime Minister’s intervention had one objective in mind and that was to create a situation where the workers would not be marching on Government Headquarters. The PM expected that the march would have attracted large numbers and he had to prevent that at all cost.

He does not have the power to refer any matter to the tribunal, and in any event, there is no matter before the tribunal since the unions have not set the process in motion.

10. How long will it take to mobilize the Tribunal.

11. The DLP has outwitted the BLP yet again. MAM expected the unions to create a destabilizing climate for her. Freundel rode into town and quell the show. DLP 03 BLP 00: Elections, Budget, NCC Showdown.

12. @Lighthouse

Here it is the focus is on politics and not the fact that all parties did not follow the process, lied to Barbadians, and led the workers down the garden path. If any member of the BU household were Prime Minister Minister Suckoo would be through the eddoes.

13. Nichelle Roberts Avatar
    Nichelle Roberts

This whole situation with the NCC workers is disgraceful and disgusting. The intervention by the Prime Minister was a sham to avert a strike. The Unions are equally guilty, they have done everything but represent the workers in this sordid mess. Unfortunately, the workers are standing alone. Who is paying them? Helping them with their bills, children and so on?

Was it just on Sunday that the PM discovered that there were missteps? Have there not been meeting of the Cabinet in the interim where he could have instructed his Minister of Labour to refer the matter to the Employment Rights Tribunal?

Barbadians need to know who is on the Tribunal and what the procedures and rules are.

We also need to know how one Minister can subvert the will of the Cabinet and why that one and only Minister found it necessary to review the list of persons to be sent home. Other Ministers seemed not to have acted in this way.

Where is the accountability?

Instead of coming to the people of this country with the ridiculous statement about taking the matter to the Tribunal, the Prime Minister should have been coming to Barbadians, taking full responsibility for the mess and announcing the name of the new Minister of the Environment. Let us not forget that this is the Administration of good governance, accountability and transparency.

As for Caswell’s comment about the Leader of the Opposition, he of all people should know that, as an experienced lawyer, she will check her facts before rushing to print. So Caswell, have you too taken your members to a non-existent Tribunal? Have you seen the Regulations, rules and procedures? Do you know the names of the 9 persons appointed by the Minister?

As it see it, this is yet another betrayal of the people. We need change!

14. In a New York minute……Stuart thinks he is slick, all that shit will bubble over and spill all over them shortly.

15. Dennis Lowe got to be a real big head, big mout RABBIT -four letter word– that Rihanna likes to use to try to pull this shaving cream -excretement- four letter word — on the people. All the people in his constituency retained but all the rest who have in more years gone. The man is a Buffoon –Freundel Stuart is one too and Dennis Clarke and Walter Maloney are Donkeys -four letter word –kissers.
    Heads should roll but don’t hold your breath

16. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Nichelle Roberts

The names of the members of the Employment Rights Tribunal were published since July last year.

As for the Regulations: new regulations are not necessary for the functioning of the tribunal. Section (7) of the ERA states:

Subject to subsection (4), sections 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, and 21 of the Commissions of Inquiry Act apply in respect of the determination of complaints by the Tribunal, with such modifications and adaptions as may be necessary, as those sections apply in relation to an investigation by a commission under that Act.

Do not follow blindly, Miss Mottley does not need any more mindless supporters: she needs people who would be honest with her.

17. Please remind us the names of the members of the Tribunal.

18. @lighthouse | May 26, 2014 at 5:32 PM |

The DLP has outwitted the BLP yet again. MAM expected the unions to create a destabilizing climate for her. Freundel rode into town and quell the show. DLP 03 BLP 00: Elections, Budget, NCC Showdown…………………….

No, no, no blackhole.

DLP 03 …..Barbadians 0. This is not about the BLP, it is about Barbadians. You dems continue to think that politics is a blood sport, you feel the DLP has to win at all costs even in this case to the destruction of Barbadian families.

Keep on smartly, some day the people will rise up and have the last laugh!

19. most importantly the country was saved from further economic ruination,,,,,,this too was MIA baby ,,,,one that would have given her the right to say ..i told YOU SO and the BLP yardfowls more mileage and crticism of govt ,,as the the country further slipped into economic doldrums the PM actions once again display leadership at a critical time……this time it was check mate all the way for PM STUART ……the spineless mia,,,,now have her work cut out for her in the weeks and months ahead as this one issue which she was hanging her hat on for political redemption has been snatched right from her under her nose,,,, OSA must be livid,,,,,,after all the stoking and agitating done behind close doors, by the BLP

20. Is it true that Tracee Codrington, Mitch Codringtonโ€™s daughter, (same Mitch Codrington lawyer of the NCC) is chair person of the tribunal? Tell me it ain’t so. But when you tell me it ainโ€™t so mek sure yuh telling me de trute

21. NCC, NHC, N(anything)C all have one core similarity. They are poor or working class people whose backs we ( the more fortunate or privileged) ride on, and they are not properly represented.
    Unions are a joke! They need dis-bandoning. I don’t care whose union it is, or long it has been in place or in operation, or how much money they have at their disposal. When there is so much upheaval between employers and employees and unions are powerless to bring about stability, or appear that way anyway, then their collective usefulness has reached an end-game. Time to move on!
    Trade unions in their purest, least corrupt form, are a threat to greed, and the greedy will always find a good “house-slave” to pay off in order to filter their message of acceptance and compliance down to the masses through this very conduit. So when your union seems to be quiet, compliant or otherwise not working in your favor, you can bet the higher ups got gifts of some sort and are now tasked with the responsibility of keeping you quiet!
    Take your union dues and invests in a small business ,kitchen garden or otherwise because you are pouring your hard earned cash into the equivalent of a bottomless pit!
    If you don’t believe me, or want to challenge me, then I ask you this: “How it is that Barbados and the Barbadian worker can be so easily and permanently displaced by all these foreign entities coming here to Barbados, and your union is not fighting for you?” Even if that fight means to bring to country to a grinding halt for a week or two and show these foreign folk, whose boss in what land!
    Don’t be fooled by union rhetoric and fancy talk, they all are looking out for them and until we get strong systems of regulatory and compliance in place that have stiff, even draconian penalties attached, and the friends of who game isn’t played or can’t be played anymore. nothing in this fair 166 sq mile land will ever be good for anyone, but the few!
    Prove Me Wrong if you Dare!

22. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Those who dont like the POST about your dear MIA , We have this to say ,
    Wait till you fraud land lord builds a house over a cave on land she dont own , Now for them to wake up dead in a hole in the ground . and to stay that way for a while ,
    Ask to see the deed on who she got the land from and who gave her permission to built,
    Until its is your own family none of you will care ,
    In the mean time Barbados is is the same mess, People dropping into holes , With Mia and Owen Prints all over the place.
    Keep voting for fraud, take what you get , for those who dont want truth and solutions to the fraud , keep with the long talk and cover up , we will keep at it, Until you wake up to the truth,

23. Hamilton Hill Avatar

@ David. ..what eddoes what? Minister Suckoo, just like the other players involved is just following the script. After permitting this matter to be drawn on for so long, Sir Roy had the temerity to tell the media that he fully expected resolution, IF All INVOLVED follow protocol.What the ass were they doing all this time? The unions and this CCG have conspired to give these workers the royal shaft. It beats me why these workers continue to let themselves be so openly misled.The wheels of justice turn ever so slowly, but perhaps resolution comes only after a full revolution.

24. Hamilton Hill Avatar

Jonesy doan shoot muh, nor crack muh head hear? I talking bout spinning wheels.

25. Interesting to note the President Maloney and General Secretary Clarke have been spear heading this NCC matter and on the other side a Dwaine Paul has been trying his best to promote process. We know Sir Roy is man down what about Toni?

26. Like him or hate him the Prime Minister is one cucumber cool operator the man must hold the Guinness book record for settling difficult labour disputes. His entry always brings a sense that the worse most intractable disputes will be wrestled to the ground. The man delivers every time. That means Mia , Caswell and the jokey crew of detractors look foolish whenever the PM makes a ruling. His sagacity always shines through, check Alexandra’s, Lime, BWA.The PM in his unruffled style unraveled those contentious issues to the satisfaction of the warring parties.

Its difficult to picture Mia, or Owen dealing with such explosive issues without triggering polarization and disruptive industrial action. They simply don’t have the calming authority FS possesses. Kudos PM you’ve done it again. You’ve settled the unsavoury and messy NCC retrenchment in a manner that guaranteed all sides left the table satisfied. That is why Fruendel is PM and not the buffoons who plot against him in the opposition and other places.

27. Hamilton Hill Avatar

@ the fan…your purpose is better served not letting anyone know that you bother to read BU.Oh by the way you forgot to mention the part he played in the hastily convened meeting down by Donville.

28. Prodigal Son | May 26, 2014 at 6:26 PM |

โ€œDLP 03 โ€ฆ..Barbadians 0. This is not about the BLP, it is about Barbadians. You dems continue to think that politics is a blood sport, you feel the DLP has to win at all costs even in this case to the destruction of Barbadian families.โ€

A very good point Prodigal. This mess we are seeing unfold during the DLPโ€™s botched retrenchment process, will only affect Barbadians, This is not about the BLP at all.

29. St George's Dragon Avatar

The thing I am missing here is what are the “missteps”.
    Fumble is clear that there has been some error but he is silent on what it is. Is he admitting to the same things everyone is discussing? No transparency, as usual.

30. boo blah blah.arterexes.the. dlp faithful been keeping score…boy how many times wunna going let mia spray egg in wunna face..yuh think. the blp faithful didn,t see or understand the political powerplay at work.yes it is about putting country firdt ..but nay a word was ever said by oposition or yardflows about country first when the. dispute was going on.as a matter of fact up to today they response seems to be one of disappointment..country first means having to make hard and unselfish sacrifice.the unusal circumstance and financial burden of the country should not be used as a battering ram against what is best for country.the turn of events today by stuart should be seen as a saving grace as one in which the best interest. of the country was put first

31. To the fan:
    You gotta be a blind jackass. What issues were settled by FS. You mean throwing bullshit on the parties, having hypnotised them and left every bloody thing hanging. Not only blind but deaf too.

32. What are the missteps is a good question to get a sense of what the Prime Minister is feeling on this issue. Bear in mind the NCC retrenchment was part of a bigger effort. To what extent has the missteps affected others sent home. But then again 30 days for filing to the Tribunal has expired right? Remember Caswell has been pushing this view for weeks, GO TO THE DAMN TRIBUNAL!

33. the missteps were the the sounds of background noises which became audible during the long rounds of the negotiations,,unfortunately for the noise makers ,, stuart intervention caught them by surprise an the inability to undermined the discussion was muted making the process to move forward a lot easier,,,

34. Call for new election ... We Bajans had enuff Avatar
    Call for new election … We Bajans had enuff

It’s time to stop the talk and for Bajans to take to the streets to end the worst government this country has ever seen, which is destroying barbados bit by bit daily, inch by inch with profuse lies, misdirection, and mismanagement at every turn.

When will the “bajan spring” begin MIA.

Time to put barbados first MIA the people are ready to march …. “Lead” and forget about OA and his crew, they don’t like you and never will however you hv the support of the majority of the blp with unhappy DLP supporters who where lied to joining your ranks every day.

@AC cause I know you gonna comment on this post as it’s your job. “See you at the polls, save ya breath we tired of hearing your BS on BU as well, sell stupid on some other blog you gin still get ya check”

35. So the people March and what? What is the plan?

36. nuh lawyer but got commonsense Avatar
    nuh lawyer but got commonsense

@ Nichelle Roberts
    Wuh experience lawyer Mottley is dat does always check the facts you talking bout ? if you din remind we she is a lawyer nuhbody wont know ? The woman always get the legal points wrong. you fuget how Chris Sinckler expose she in de house recently and tell she a first year law student wont talk the foolishness she was talking? That woman is a joke lawyer.

37. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

OH I wish I could comment on politics like some of the fowls on either fence in here but there are so much supporting PIMPS in one place blinded by one lie, fact pretense or the other, it makes me want to cuss. So I gine leave out this wun…Language to darn high for the SSS. AC BOO be Good

38. Good to hear the PM who heads the civil service plans to introduce performance appraisal. Let us hope he is aware that performance appraisal is one aspect of performance management. Of interest to many will be how political parties that make governments deal with political recruitment. Are we serious?

39. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

When are you going to stop relying on anything the PM a says. There is a system of performance appraisal in the public service. It is not used to guide promotion or discipline because politicians would not allow it to work

40. @Caswell

If there is a system and it is not working or being allowed to work then there is no system. It is in the interest of trade unions to ensure this matter is an agenda item when negotiating and also by the social partnership.

41. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Caswell Darling

I hope you do not hate the SSS for what she said about you. You is my boy right tru. And I am glad that you rightfully point out that politicians inclusive of their lackey Permanent Secretaries do not give a cat piss and pepper about appraising in the the public service. Caswell can you enlighten us as to why these sons of bitches would seek to hinder and halt.

42. Performance appraisal should be used along with a Performance Improvement Plan.

You should not only appraise an employee’s performance but have a plan in place to improve their performance.

@Caswell Franklyn you are in danger of alienating yourself frmo people who are thinking of joining your union.

You may have to decide if you want to continue to build your “Brand” union or be a political activist.

43. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Hants

Know your place: I don’t need advice from you.

44. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

SSS

The answer is simple. The politicians use the Public Service to provide work for their people. A lot of these people would not be able to compete fairly and be successful, so the politicians intervene on their behalf. That is why productivity is low, the best people for the jobs are hardly ever selected

45. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Caswell

Figure that much. So the long and short of Barbados poor public sector outputs and dismal productivity levels is all the fault of politicians. There must be a reverse clause in the constitution by which the people can force these ruthless SOB’s into establishing a screening board for hiring, exclusive of the politics of interference.

46. Do not agree it is all the fault of politicians. The unions need to place these issues on the collective bargaining agreement table. Yes the politicians have run amock but what have the unions, NGOs and wider civil society done to clawback on the issue of holding politicians accountable?

47. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

There is no collective agreement in the Public Service. It is regulated by the Constitution, Public Service Act, Public Service Regulations and the General Orders.

Everything is set out but the politicians appoint their minions to decision making offices, and those minions carry out the will of their political masters. They end up breaking the rules with impunity and in many instances, where they purport to follow the rules, they are not fairly applied.

48. Anyone who was thinking that the PM would solve this NCC mess had to be delusional, What has he ever solved, the man is dis-engaged.

When the news broke on the break down of the persons who retained their jobs, the majority were from Christ Church East and Michael South.

Be that as it may, the PM had no right intervening, he had a political interest just like Lowe.

And a yardfowl on this thread saying that the DLP won again and the BLP lost. The BLP did not have a stake in this “per se”, the DLP has again failed the poor people of this nation.

The PM’s intervention was only to saw himself from being again likened to Sandi, he did not want workers marching unto Bay Street.

49. David:
    May be you post the list of the Tribunal members; the Nation carried it today.

50. Should read :
    The PMโ€™s intervention was only to save himself from being again likened to Sandi, he did not want workers marching unto Bay Street.