If I signed the following, I would be as idiotic as the legendary Esau who gave up his inheritance for a bowl of stewed lentils (incredulous areas highlighted for benefit of legal readers out there) :-
Things will go wrongโฆlet us hope they get it right tomorrow.
Re: Top Gear Festival 17/18 May 2014
May 17, 2014, 1:52 PM
Well that was a bust wasn’t it? We paid for VIP tickets and the audio failed during the opening National Anthem, then again after a couple of races, then completely for 2 hours during which time the boys were introduced, Lewis Hamilton drove and was – I guess – interviewed. Deeply deeply dissapointing and badly run as not even an apology was forthcoming. I found out that power had died soemwhere and eventually a generator was hired to replace the feed. I have no idea if it did – the show was already ruined for me. Expectations of poor power supplies, poor performance are things we thought Barbados snuffed out years ago – especially at the opening day celebrations of the National Racing Circuit. I hope tomorrow goes better for those of you going then.
The racist promoter got what he deserved today, Hopefully , tomorrow will be more of the same. No one in government had the balls to respond when these comments were forthcoming.
There was a mention during the sports news but they are prohibited to show footage because of copywrite.
Loading…
robert ross
I wasn’t there and had no intention to go.. But now – St George, whose integrity is unquestioned, says he was and his experience was totally at variance with the Bourne report. So what do we say and to whom?
To Racehass
What it demonstrates is that Government paid “these comments” no mind which, as a responsible authority, was inevitable. Indeed, I can’t imagine that if any responsible person had read “these comments” he would have reached any conclusion other than that the show goes on.
Loading…
I understand from Bushie that some prostitutes refuse a fare if the client’s appearance is below par. It would appear that the Government is willing to take whoever comes with money. That is lower class prostitution.
so what is your point MR.bourne,,,,apparently you are more peeved off about your self interest than the interest of blacks who were insulted and pissed of at the comments made by mr, clarkson the real issue at hand,,,however u have made yourself the focus and a document to which you decided not to sign . couldn.t ;careless if you signed or didn;t ;t signed the paper,,,,if all u can pounced on is a piece of paper asking u to sign a piecev of paper with a clasuse of non- accountabilty on part of owners of top gear for any injuries or bodily harm physical or otherwise to your person ,,then u are as guilty as self serving as the promoters and sponsors of the show who thought it best to prote themselves and their show rather than show respect for the black bajan populace ,there , is no way that anyone with a modicum of self respect would use top gear festival to address an issue which is centered around self at a time when the nerves of blacks are rattled and looking for answers to how clarkson after his use of insulting language about blacks was allowed to come to a land in a country which is predominately black ..mr bourne i got news for you , nobody really cares whether u sign the document or not it is not significant and does not lend or fight the cause of all,but to a few including yourself ,,,,,furthermore to think u have even compared the document if signed as a comparison of signing away your inheritance,,is arrogant and ludicrous,,,,
Loading…
So everyone who didn’t go thought it was a terrible event run by a racist.
I went and I thought (as did everyone I went with and spoke to there) that it was one of the best things that has happened in Barbados for a long time. Certainly on a par with Rhianaha’s Oval concert.
Hopefully they will be back next year and will help (again) to raise the profile of Barbados and bring a few extra tourists into the country.
Loading…
robert ross
St George
Quite
We are in total agreement. Your stance is principled. I don’t agree with it but do not doubt your sincerity. This man, so far as I have ever read him, has a serious ego problem. Actually, I really don’t suppose that anyone would give a monkeys whether he went or not. And if I’m understanding correctly that he published the material he misleadingly says shows the event was crap then what can we be expected to make of him? The Nation in all it’s glory was not arrayed like one of these…………..
Loading…
Bush Tea
@ Caswell
I understand from Bushie that some prostitutes refuse a fare if the clientโs appearance is below par.
You may wish to explain further that Bushie was merely explaining to you the reason that the girl may have refused your debit card last weekend…..
…of course it could also have been related to the fact that the card was refused by the bank after similar use the previous weekend…. ๐
Loading…
catching up
When this was happening Air Bourne’s finger was up his ass causing him to miss all the action.
by Kamilah Cadogan
There were many thrills and, thankfully, hardly any spills, unless you count one of the most popular event of the day โ the car football. The teams were Barbados vs England. โจ
Representing for Barbados were Formula 1 star Lewis Hamilton, former Top Gear presenter Tiff Needell and The Stig. Englandโs โplayersโ were the Top Gear team of Jeremy Clarkson, James May and Richard Hammond.
The six stars took to the track with a giant inflatble football and much to the delight of the thousands of fans, took part in a hilarious game of football. โจ
Team Barbados were the eventual winners with the final score of 3-2.
Play was delayed several times as the cars tipped over often and the ball burst during a particularly intense tussle.
During the final minutes of the game, Clarksonโs car gave out and the Top Gear presenter took to the track Camera 360himself and kicked the giant ball around himself, inciting peals of laughter and a huge applause from the audience. โจ
At various points during the day, Hamilton set the track ablaze in his Formula 1 car.
The glorious sound of the powerful engine echoed throughout the Bushy Park Circuit thrilling fans, many of whom may never have seen a Formula1 car live and direct. โจ
Ken Block was the definite highlight of the Red Bull Global Rallycross. He showed off his skills drifitng around the track and serious catching air off the jump. โจ
Other events of the day included the F1 Showdown, several powerlaps by The Stig in various cars, batting and bowling cricket challenges and a supercar showdown.โจ
Loading…
Bloggist
Wait wunna call de man a blogger. He gine be offended. He likes to think of himself as a journalist. In Barbados we got such low standards of journalism that I guess he cud get away wid calling he self a journalist. De man got an ego that bigger than he physical size.
Loading…
@Ian Bourne
Hear hear to your stance Ian. However I cannot help wondering if you had received the invitation if you would be writing what you wrote. It comes over to me that you were peeved at the last minute objection to your invite. Emotions will run high in the face of disappointment; epecially at an event that sets the stage for world viewing.
Loading…
no prostitute .
Do we realise that Barados is presently beamed to the whole world as the country in which the world’s most popular F1 driver LOUIS HAMILTON is driving even in the middle of the F1 season when he should be preparing for his next race in Monaco this week ? can any amount of money pay for that advertisement and asses like Caswell Franklyn and the blogger writing such nonsense? Since Caswell Franklyn has such views about prostitution maybe he should tell us what he thinks about his poaching the real unions for members so he could make a living .
ross implies that mr bournes ego is as big as his physical size,,,,,,,got to be or he has grandeur of illusion…..to belive,,that signing a document of nonaccountabilty ,,would be tantamount to giving up his inheritance,,……and furthermore ,,the fact is that without that document,,,,bourne would have gone and enjoyed some of the freeness and rub shoulders with some of the closet bigots in attendance and would;t have think twice about giving up an inheritance or the potential of risk ,,, ,,right bourne,,,, ,not a word( one) would have been uttered from bourne,,,,,,only one this issue about(self) signing he comes out fuming about his boycotting the top gear festival,,,,,,wuhloss next time u have small fish to fry .tek it up wid those who u believe to have offended u stop releasing your petty squabbles in public meking an a.sss out of yuhself saving u some embarrassment……cause nobody cares,,,,,,,BTW did u published an article denouncing clarkson racist language ……just asking
glad to hear the festival was a sucesss,,,,,and it would be repeated for two more years,,,,,whatever the success ….the prevailing black cloud which stills looms large over the bushy park one of racism would not be forgotten,,,,,the people clearly were out raged,,,,, and for what it is worth,,,,on one side of the coin,,,our economy might have received a boost and our people reputation as one of PEACE and comradely would have remained in tact which is a positive ,,,,but on the other side of the coin there would be a lingering stain left over from this event which has left a bitterness between blacks and whites in our country ,,,,,,,BTW there is an article into todays advocate on page 8 about subtle racism and attitudes taken from a speech given by USA attorney general eric holder,
You need to separate the arguments. Many who have argued on principle regarding the asinine episode by Clarkson have no problem with the exposure which Barbadoe will likely get from Top Gear. We need to respect those of us who believe that Clarkson is an ass. You are also reminded CWC2007, Rihanna deal, Tiger Woods in Barbados, World Golf Championships were all predicted to push Barbados to the pinacle.
Loading…
Artaxerxes
@ no prostitute . | May 18, 2014 at 7:07 AM
โDo we realise that Barados is presently beamed to the whole world as the country in which the worldโs most popular F1 driver LOUIS HAMILTON is driving even in the middle of the F1 season when he should be preparing for his next race in Monaco this week? can any amount of money pay for that advertisement and asses like Caswell Franklyn and the blogger writing such nonsense?โ
I am truly amazed that some people are willing to ignore the fact that Jeremy Clarkson has made racist remarks against Negroes and Mexicans, and are willing to support Top Gear while giving the stupid excuse as the one quoted above. It shows individuals like โno prostituteโ is either white, in that he/she is not offended by racist remarks against Negroes, or have no principles.
In 2014 when someone could call our Black brothers and sisters โniggerโ and we could go out in our hundreds to support any event that is hosted by the said individual, shows that we have not outgrown or overcome our mental enslavement.
So, call me โniggerโ, host a show and invite an international super starโฆ.. it’s ok……. I will attend, my excuse being โdonโt mind the racist comment; Barbados is being beamed to the whole world.โ Yes, Barbados is being beamed to the whole world, but what impressions are being derived from our actions? With this type of attitude, I can only conclude that โno prostituteโ is indeed โa prostituteโ.
Loading…
I think Ian Bourne has inadvertently decided to pick a fight with worldwide motorsport with his stance on the terms and conditions attached to his access to Bushy Park.
A quick check with a well known search engine comes up with the Confederation of Australian Motorsport which has almost exactly the same conditions attached to ticket sales: https://www.ntmajorevents.com.au/v8supercars/hidden-valley/event-disclaimer/
It’s a fair bet that Bushy Park is required as part of its FIA approval to adopt certain standards, one of which could well be these conditions.
If there is a story here, it is that ordinary ticket holders presumably agreed to those conditions as part of the ticket purchase process. If we did, then I for one was not aware of it, but would have bought anyway.
To continue the earlier comment: it is amazing we are only able to debate issues by concluding that economic considerations must trump everything else. The DLP talking heads not too long ago were preaching that the government is focused on building a society. Where are the positions taken based on a moral code?
If that is the case, any Motor sport with this stipulation will miss me, I am not Esau, when (not if) it comes to bite the proverbial ass I will try not to laugh or mutter “I told you so”
Loading…
This is a knee jerk reaction really.
Ian was not invited to the British High Commission and has decided that he will not be going to the BushyPark session.
Let me explain why
Let us say that we do have a problem with Jeremy Clarkson and his insensitive remarks.
Let us further contend that Clarkson is a racist, (by the way I was looking at the team picture for the Top Gear staff and only saw one seeming Injun in the almost 100 Caucasian faces)
While it would be obvious that the High Commissioner does not want to be hosting a function where (cantankerous) news reporters come to his domicile and pose questions to the insensitive, purported racist, why would i refrain from going to Bushy Park where, if Hamilton is there I could do a sort of interview with Hamilton to ask him, as a man of mixed descent, what he thought of Clarkson.
I doan know maybe the ole man is a fool or the insulin ent wukkin en ting, but there is more that one way to approach this issue is there?
But then again we have journalists and real journalists and like true village cricket, much in the vein of the Governor of the Central Bank of Bulbados, “I out, i ent want to play no more, de bats and ball is mine, i tekking dem and going home…”
I have come to the realization that it is a penile thing, all of these problems across the work are connected to the size of the doggie of we offended menfolk.
When we have big ones we cope with the slight better but when we are short, in stature (vertically challenged) and in appendage (without “rudders” to sail the oceans presented us) we become veritable pains in the ass in our respective jobs and take out our shortcomings wherever we are working….
look a boss man ian……..no body cares especially the public,,,,,,blacks most likely not to have a vested interest in motor races,,,,,,in any case take that problem to a lawyer ,,,and furthermore as a journalist u have the right to banned yourself,,,,,,,LOL jack a,sss…….let freedom RING,,,,,
I also feel the word should be banned for Life, as far as I know all Media Houses were told to stand down from attending but sheeple are sheeple will be better at it than ruminants themselves
Outgoing President of the BAJ is slated to give an interview with Carol Roberts today on VoB in the afternoon sometime. Yes folks you read correctly, OUTGOING PRESIDENT!
Now that BU has nailed its colours to the mast so clearly about anti-racism in the (alleged) Clarkson incident, presumably we can expect it to apply the same principles to its own contributors in the future.
So we will have no more “coolies”, “white trash” or “curry boy rat catchers “.
Loading…
Artaxerxes
@ ac | May 18, 2014 at 8:10 AM |
โBTW there is an article into todays advocate on page 8 about subtle racism and attitudes taken from a speech given by USA attorney general eric holder,โ
If Holder had made these (alleged) comments prior to the complex in St. Joseph being named after him, I would be one to protest against the event. Racist statements made by either Black or white should not be condoned. If it has been proven that he actually made racially slurred comments, then we should seriously look at renaming that complex.
Loading…
The Watcher
It is time for Barbadians to love Barbados! This is especially true when it comes to foreign nationals coming here and disrespecting our own people. Personally, I really don’t care who those foreign nationals are, it shouldn’t be tolerated in any way or form. I would have banned Clarkson from entering this country period. I wouldn’t have accepted an apology from him in any form. He would have enjoyed a 10 year ban from these shores. No compromise!
As far as I am concerned, I am not lining any road anywhere in this land to jump, cheer and act the fool when some white person passes in a rally car which I will possibly never have the money to own. I’m just not paying that sort of homage to them. So Top Gear would have been even further down on my agenda of things to go see and do. Pay careful attention to rally events and how the white folks are up in their temporary towers constructed for the event. It is usually covered and they are lots of cold drinks and food to go around. The rest of us are next to the road risking life and limb to cheer on our favorite driver who hardly sees let alone knows us. interesting to note though that these events wouldn’t and couldn’t be successes without you little black-belly sheep in the grassy knoll, grazing blissfully on the entertainment value they provide while slothfully loafing on the side! Pitiful!
When we, as a people learn to love us, and show our disdain for disrespect and the proverbial “spit in the face” that others love to meet out to us so they can feel better about their own moronic existences, we will have done us and by extension our country a great service!
Bottomline is this, Clarkson was forced to apologize to his employer (BBC) and fans of Top Gear, Barbados being his first stop after his unfortunate remarks nothing less than a statement from Clarkson expressing his regret should have been a requirement. BU will not move from this position. If the White boys on BU don’ t like it they can lump it.
Loading…
robert ross
Do give over. You lost this one.
Loading…
And what about the Black boys who don’t like it?
Loading…
Code Name Octopussy
BLACK PEOPLE
FOREVER SLAVES
Now How is that for a Racist Comment
BLACKS IN THIS COUNTRY ARE STILL SLAVES
When you have IDIOTS, HALF IDIOTS AND POPPETS IN positions of authority not helping to further the cause of BLACKS in Barbados but who are looking for personal self aggrandizement, the result is Continued Enslavement. The present Government seem to have some agents of Continued Enslavement in their midst.
Then you examine the Education system with its proliferation of Teachers most of whom are not sensitize nor sensitive to the need for proper Education and who, most of them are just there for the Salary, and could not care less , you find agents of Continued Enslavement.
Ditto for many others within the Public Service
Loading…
The Watcher
Yes Robert. It is!
We’ve sat by for way too long and been passive and taken this “careful,” approach to a problem that hasn’t gone anywhere.So just because we can ride the bus in the front row doesn’t mean it has changed. Looking at how Top Gear can come here and demand that you produce and ID card, a sacred national asset, to purchase a ticket to a frivolous event, coupled by the comments of a piece of rubbish like J. Clarkson and now delicately iced with your comment /question, it remains abundantly clear to me, that nothing has changed. I guess we can all go back to the back of the bus now. In my view its time that we adopt the Bush doctrine espoused prior to the launch of the war. That is, If you are not with us, you are against us!
I find it so interesting to watch behaviors whenever matters of race arise especially in this country. Detractors can always be found trying to plant seeds of doubt and asking us to carefully consider what we are saying and thinking. But decades have past and gone with the problem still firmly rooted with its anchors wedged deep within society.
So I say ENOUGH!
Change has to come even if it means that some blood is spilt. 1937 is coming around again full circle, but those disadvantaged and sidelined will not just come out in the streets and throw bottles and rocks, they will join the gangs that give them a free smoke and put “money” in their pockets and will be issued with an AK or other piece of hardware to go out and protect their “boss”. After the dust settles, a new “power” will emerge, and that will not be good for anyone expect for those who have it.
We as Barbadians hate to change, We have to have it forced down our gut for it to be accepted and even then, we run to take a laxative to try to get it out. No Robert, we aren’t going to be good “field ” or “house” slaves anymore! Who ordained that whites should do whatever they like and the rest of us have to accept it? Your religion? Certainly not mine! Your God? Cause I certainly wouldn’t be following that sort of a God anywhere!
So don’t you or anyone else dare to come with your patsy arguments and attempts to throw a different light on the fact that too many black Barbadians are disenfranchised by the minority white population here. Don’t dare try to detract from the fact that Barbadians whose descendents were enslaved and horribly treated were responsibly for building this country. Their hard labour keep whites in power and their dishonest empires afloat to expressly keep the very pockets of the oppressors lined. Now that it has to be clearly said that the disrespect wont be tolerated anymore, you want to ask “shyte”!
I know many of you who benefit from things being “as they are” don’t want any change, so you will fight tooth and nail to pacify the masses even if it means that you have to throw “bones” and “crumbs” to the hungry flocks gathered outside your gates just to try to keep them appeased while you dine on caviar and sip the most expensive Monet!
Keep trying that dirt and hoping that in an Information rich age, you can still pull that wool over their eyes.
The EVENT is coming! You just wait!
Loading…
robert ross
Yes an event is coming. There’s a march for Jesus in June.
Caviar?…now come on friend, it’s more a burger at BK.
Loading…
robert ross
Oh and dunno about Monet. BUT there’s a marvelous Australian Waitrose red at Super Centre for $22.00.
Loading…
Dompey
Watcher
I hear ya brother… you couldn’t have said it better.
Loading…
Code Name Octopussy
To the Watcher
WELL SAID
and
ON POINT
Thank you for expressing it for me and many others
Thank you so much !
ross don.t be foolish…do u not realise how much money was spent in ticket sales prior to the racial slur ,,,,,don.t be foolish ,now if you had stated that a refund was offered after the racial slur to those who had intentions of boycotting the event and none took the offer ….your persumption given about the thousands in attendance would hold plenty weight ,,,,,,,,,but the reality of it all is that those who had attended had invested their hard earned money into the event and had no other choice but to attend…..(a) being a lose lose ,,,,in that their money would still have been used as a means to present the event .whether they had attended or not,,,given the top brass an opportunity to slap them a second time in the face by going ahead with the event at their expense with out a recourse for a refund,,,, …the fact is that those who aired their displeasure whether they attend or not over the event about the comments by Clarkson made a difference going forward as to how bigoted comments are unacceptable and would not be no longer tolerated ,,,,except by dimwits like u who seems to interpret the attendance of meaning ” all is well”.. and forgiven…
Loading…
Hants
BAFBFP I respect your honesty. You have no interest in car racing.
Well I like car racing so much that I would rather watch a race than your crop over chicks wukkin up. lol
While my first choice would have been that Clarkson be fired I cannot blame those Bajans who went to Bushy Park to see the events even though a racist is an integral part of the show.
I can go to montreal next month to see Lewis race. The majority of them can’t.
So I will subject myself to the racist Quebecois to see my favorite race car driver.
Black 209,109
White 6,135
Oriental 163
East Indian 3,018
Middle Eastern 122
Mixed 7,034
Other 231
Not stated 381
*Total 226,193
*Excludes the Institutional Population and the undercount.
Loading…
Colonel Buggy
Code Name Octopussy | May 18, 2014 at 11:52 AM |
BLACK PEOPLE
FOREVER SLAVES
The present Government seem to have some agents of Continued Enslavement in their midst.
……………………………………………………………………………..
Quite wrong there,CNO. Not “in their midst”, but on the periphery like puppetiers pulling the dollars strings attached to the government agents.
Loading…
Colonel Buggy
Did we really expect Bajans to kick up a fuss about Clarkson at Bushy Park?
Go to any Anglican church on a Sunday Morning and observe how very few people sit in those pews at the front of the church. Almost 50 years since we were given Independence, and some 77 years since the people of this country, the brave few,rose up in revolt for better conditions in this land, we are still afraid to sit in those seats , which were named and number and reserved for the plantocracy.
This says a whole lot of our people. We are still scared of shadows, bright shadows, that is why we have now been reduced to squatters in this fair land of ours. We haven’t got the guts to stand up for what we believe is not fair to us.
Loading…
The blogmaster invites you to join the discussion.Cancel reply