Unions Have Outlived Their Life Expectancy

Submitted by Wayne Cadogan
unions in Barbados lost their way in the early 90’s

…unions in Barbados lost their way in the early 90’s…

A few years ago there was a calypso called “Captain, the ship is sinking” and the unions are contributing to the downfall of the country. During the 1940’s thru the 1980’s unions worldwide were powerful, they had teeth and they would bite very hard. In those early days, the unions worldwide fought for the workers’ rights and in many cases where successful in defending the blue collar workers rights from unscrupulous employers. Unions served its purposes then and in many cases destroyed many businesses in the process and in some cases, countries. Unions worldwide are practically non-existent and no longer serve the purpose that it did in the earlier days. Those that are still around are just a figure head and they no longer have that power and teeth to bite but only growl.

The unions in Barbados lost their way in the early 90’s and similar to unions worldwide are no longer effective in carrying out their mandate. During the past few years, the unions have been unsuccessful in a number of negotiations with the private sector and especially within the public service. In the case of the government, it would appear that the union is in bed with the government, especially the Barbados workers union, because of all the political affiliation of some of its members. In recent years, the union has been threatening to shut down the country over some very frivolous issues, where they did not have a foot to stand on. Very recently, the union threatened to shut down the country over an apology. I cannot fathom how a company can be closed and not functioning, and the union called a strike to have workers from that company that were laid off to be reinstated. It must be noted that all of this has taken place in the middle of the sugar crop, the very industry that this country depends on to earn foreign exchange for its survival. Can the union be serious? How can a union that purports to represent the worker want to destroy the workforce that the country depends on to bring in foreign exchange to run the country?

The government has contributed to the low productivity that exists in the public service and the unions over the years have encouraged it. This is quite evident with the workers that were laid off recently from the NCC, everybody can see for themselves that this group of workers hardly does any work. One would think that since they are always in view of the public eye that they would look busy on the job even if they were not working. This is also the case in many a government department, the only difference is that they are not in view of the public eye. The public service is bottom heavy similar to the shape of a pear and with the low wages at the bottom. The main reason for this, is because every time an election is called; the politicians gives hundreds of people jobs just for their vote and this has been the case for many years with both administrations. On the other hand, the small top is loaded with the high salaries and which is never affected by the down turn in the economy and rising prices.

The current system that the government is using to cut employment will not solve this country financial problem. This will only continue to hurt the low income bracket while those at the top continue to live a life of luxury. This system will put Barbados back to the days of when there were only the poor and rich. Over the years, a middle class culture was created and now that is about to be eroded. The government had asked this nation for their recommendations and what the union should have been negotiating was for a four day work week in the Public Service across the board for all employees. If this system had been implemented, the backlash would not have been so great, since it would have insured that every household would still have an income coming in; and the government would have been able to achieve their financial goals quicker than the current measures that they are currently pursuing. You have Permanent Secretaries and others making $144,000.00 annually plus the perks that are not being affected. There is an old saying, the poor will get poorer and the rich get richer.

The public service was due for a pay increase since 2008, which was frozen. The only pay increase was given a few years ago when the Chief Town Planner, Permanent Secretaries, their deputies were given a $10,000.00 pay increase to bring their salaries in commensurate with the job. Mean while, the rest of the public service salaries remained frozen, while the cost of living continued to rise at an alarming rate. Over the years, the unions have not represented the workers in their best interest as it would appear that there is more in the mortar than the pestle.

Like anything else, the union has outlived its life expectancy, it’s like an old lion that has lost its teeth due to old age, lost its bark and can only growl. These days the union is only growling and fighting for its own survival. The reason that they are fighting is for survival and hanging on a string is because of the blue collar worker. It is the blue collar worker that props up the union with their dues, without workers there is no union. Although the unions do not command the same power as in the past, those at the top still have to fight in order to maintain their big salaries and perks. It is only for this reason that the unions are barking, because they know that the times has changed worldwide and that unions do not command that same type of power as in the past. It is only a matter of time before the unions become just a figure head and this will be because they would not have the numbers to prop them up as the unemployment rate in the public sector tapers off and most private sector companies do not have unionized workers. The reality of it is that without the blue collar worker who makes up the vast majority of the union, they will not be able to sustain the membership to run the union. It’s only a matter of time before the unions in Barbados suffer the same fate as their counterparts worldwide.

64 thoughts on “Unions Have Outlived Their Life Expectancy

1. All the major unions in this country have allowed themselves to be taken over by political operatives of the Democratic Labour Party. As a result, unions have failed to make the interests of workers their priority. I’ll give an example:

In 1991 the Government brought an amendment to the House of Assembly to reduce the amount of severance that employers would have to pay. Two backbenchers, Leroy Trotman and Bobby Morris were members of the House at that time. Bobby spoke in favour of the amendment to reduce severance but did not vote for or against; Leroy Trotman went to the House, got his name marked as present, then left and did not participate in that important debate. Government won the vote 11 to 10.

Those two trade unionists, to my mind betrayed the workers cause for their party. Ever since then, every time there are redundancies and Trotman is involved, he tries to force employers to pay what he likes to call an enhanced severance package. If that traitor had stuck around and supported the workers when it mattered, he would not now be making himself look silly, by asking for the equivalent of the old severance package.

2. @ Caswell

Both parties have union operatives and they took over the unions decades ago.Just because the Dems are in the leadership ,it does not mean that the Bees are not a part of the whole conspiracy. The workers have been dealt body blows by both administrations. This is only a case of the pot calling the kettle black. We are perhaps the most politically polarised society in the region. It extends to all branches of society and it makes no sense trying to separate the Bees and the Dees. lets look at the country and realise it was governed by only two parties since independence. The unions have simply not escaped the Bees or the Dees.

• William Skinner

I joined a union in 1980 and became a shop steward almost immediately and have been an active trade unionist since then. As a matter of fact, I was a member of both NUPW and BWU.

From my experience, you are simply not correct when you assert that operatives of both political parties have taken over the unions. In the case of the BLP, they bought certain individuals who already had power and influence in the unions, whether financially or with a knighthood. On the other hand, DLP operatives managed to get themselves elected on the executives of these unions. Can you name an executive member of the BUT that did not turn out to be a DEM? I know of only two since its formation in 1974.

During the last NUPW elections, Government ministers were reported as canvassing for certain individuals. They even laid on transportation to carry voters to the polls.

I have never seen the BLP so involved in union elections.

Do not tell me that the BWU was started by BLP operatives. It was taken over by the DLP when Sir Grantley refused to make Frank Walcott a minister. Frank took the union into the arms of the DLP and it has remained there ever since.

3. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad on said:

One Union , One Union Leader , One Caswell

4. Caswell
    If both political parties in Barbados are intricately interlaced in a conspiracy to undermine the collective will of the people of Barbados, as you have claimed. Then what ought your response to be, beside the commonplace rhetoric? I think we are sick of the armchair advocates who sits behind their computer monitors and spew their doom and gloom conspiracy theories. What about motivating the Barbadian – electorate into an active involvement to effect change in the existing state?

5. Caswell
    The problem with your union is that nobody is going to be led by a man who gets fired from every job. you will soon fire yourself and leave them high and dry .

6. AC:

Be a dear and acknowledge that the DLP has taken over all the unions in Barbados. At least Fractured does not hide his glee!!

7. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad on said:

Union members are 2 faced, they trust the government more than their Union leaders and both are paid off by government in different ways.Some with cash and some with Votes,Then DBLP turn on them and now they run to the Union leaders. Maddddnessss , The union members cut their own
    throats can now just waiting to bleed out,

By the people voting for the DLP this time again, Expose the workings of the BLP ,under MIA and Owen .The Fraud is now exposed ,
    circle gets the square .The People are the monkey in the middle.

8. @ Caswell,
    Are you suggesting that only members of a union’s executive can be party loyalists ? Your argument escapes me. I am saying that both parties are littered with operatives who have hijacked the trade union movement and the unions. They may not all be outfront and in the public eye but they function solely within the movement to protect both parties. Some of the most powerful political operatives do not seek office because they are the eyes and ears of their political masters. You have completely missed my point.

• William

I have not missed your point. Your thesis is incorrect. The hijacking is done at the level of the elected executives. They are the ones who make the decisions to take industrial action and run the unions. It does not matter how many operatives are found within the ranks.

9. So funny to read caswell comments here is a man whose business is that of being a union leader but can,t help himself in his quest to demonise other unions while on his way to self destruction.

10. @ Caswell,
    In my readings of all politically inspired offerings, I have always noted the influence of operatives in all organizations. There is something called ground work that is done away from the glare of the public. I can assure you that as we speak , there are operatives on both sides seeking to maximize the current conditions for two reasons: 1. To keep their party in power; 2. To get their party in power. On this occasion, let us agree to disagree because it is really impossible, for a group of six or eight executive members, to absolutely control an organization in our polarise atmosphere, without the assistance of skillful party loyalists and operatives.
    There are no clean hands in this deck but I respect your position..

11. very interesting and well written article. When I listen to Sir Roy, Mr. Clarke and some others I see your point clearly. When i hear Bobby morris and Walter maloney I see hope for a trade union movement that can reinvent itself and play a very constructive role.

12. @ Caswell

You know I like you. I have supported your views. I will not dispute that you are knowledgeable in your area of expertise; but one thing is for certain, when you take this partisan historical view to relegate the current government as being the operatives that sink there teeth in the trade union leaders without involving the Barbados Labour Party, you come over as a real pimp and for that you and l will come to high words. The Barbados Labour Party where also picking what tunes unions should sing and dance too. Owen Arthur did it regularly to that other idiot before this current idiot o the NUPW that you had to acknowledge as your superior. I will support you Caswell but stop with this one sided shite. The BLP just as dirty as the DLP.

• SSS

Would you go back and read my submissions. I clearly stated that DLP operatives manage to get themselves elected to leadership positions in the major unions, and in so doing they control the unions for their party.

On the other hand, I never said that the BLP was guiltless in seeking to influence union decisions. Their strategy is somewhat different: they do not encourage their members to infiltrate the councils of the unions. Their strategy was aimed at isolating senior members of the union and bribe them into supporting the BLP’s mission.

Some of these people get promotions and even national honours.

When you seek to criticize me, please do so on the basis of what I have said or written not on a misinterpretation. Both sides have been screwing the workers.

13. Bad Boy:

At last you have seen some light, but do not go around AC and become fully infected politically!!

14. Wayne Cadagon,

Much in your article above makes great sense about many of the adverse political and other effects upon the country, and or sectors of it, by the senseless stupid actions of trade unions in Barbados.

Along with the DLP and the BLP, Trade unionism and Trade Unions must sooner rather later be driven by the broad masses and middle classes of people from the political landscape of this country.

Trade unionism and Trade Unions in Barbados are vulgar, odious and obnoxious in essence in today’s Barbados.

Imagine the workers that these unions claiming to represent NOT owning the unions themselves!!

15. William Skinner:

Be aware that a lot of people drop their guard when engaged in union activities, unless they are specifically sent there to infiltrate.

16. A woman said on “Brass Tacks” yesterday that this DLP administration has been responsible for two significant events: the abolitions of the “single cents” & the abolition of common sense.

The abolition of common sense……. ac is that you?

17. The Unions in Barbados are a hindrance and an obstacle to those who are drooling at the mouth to put us back into the cane fields. Even the Prime Minister jumped on the bandwagon with his ” could as well go back into the cane fields,” statement.

• There is truth in Caswell’s position if you are to judge the few members who turn up to vote to elect officers. The majority of members have disengaged with a few people running the hen house whether from the floor or executive.

18. U know the blp yardfowls are short on issues when buttonheads like arterexes refer to mouthings from a radio show..by the way my man have u yet figured out who introduced the vat tax to barbados.OSA tell me to ask u so..

19. @ ac

I love to tease you……. So I’m guessing that you are DLP yard-fowl.

Seriously, ac, when it comes to economical and financial issues, I am intellectually superior….. you are way, way, way below my intelligence level on these matters.

20. A common response from for the opposition is to blame the ruling government when all else fails. So we ought not be surprise when we hear these outlandish claims coming from the oppose end of the political divide.

• To use an analogy: in the US anyone watching cable TV will see Democrat Vs Republican debate 24/7. It is normal to have tension manifested via public debate. Next!

21. @ ac

I asked OSA about the VAT, and he told me that the value added tax [VAT] was INTRODUCED in 1993 under the Erskine Sandiford led DLP administration, who subsequently lost the 1994 elections. As we know, the governmental process is a continuum, and the VAT act was ENACTED in 1997 by the Arthur administration.

22. DAVID
    WHY SHOULD ANYONE PATTERN THINGS ON THE US MODEL?

USA IS NOT A UTOPIA, NEITHER IS IT HEAVEN

• @GP

The analogy could easily be made to the UK Tories and Labour. The point is adversarial debate (politics) is par.

23. arterexes @ ac
    I asked OSA about the VAT, and he told me that the value added tax [VAT] was INTRODUCED in 1993 under the Erskine Sandiford led DLP administration, who subsequently lost the 1994 elections. As we know, the governmental process is a continuum, and the VAT act was ENACTED in 1997 by the Arthur administration.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………are you saying that OSA now wants to take credit for a policy which was introduced by the DLP administration,,,,,,,,,dirty dog,,,,,,.and OSA belives that it was a damn good one at that,,,,,,,only it was implemented for the wrong reasons after the BLP had gone on a borrowing spree in times of plenty and the fiscal debt was getting out of control and the great magician thought it best to go for the tax payers jugular by introducing a vat tax to pay off debt ,,which he had incurred,,,,,the problem now is that the stranglehold which he tied around the necks of the taxpayers have become tighter and would have to remain in place for a long time as present govt have little or no wiggle room from where they can source additional funding at a satisfactory interest rate to reduce the long term debt handed to them by the great OSA …that dirty dog OSA,,,,, what nerve,,,,,

• Stetson Babb of VoB has posted on his FB page union talks broke down tonight.

So where do we go from here?

24. It is not the Unions that have outlived their usefulness (I will not parrot the title because it is pure dribble, tell me how someone can outlive their life expectancy?..whuloss)

It is not the institution that has outlived its usefulness it is that the institution is now beset by a series of nincompoops who are multiplying like rabbits, the female type, cvunts, and who are in such numbers that only a national pestilence, a selective ebola would get rid of these pariah.

War, disease, planned excision does have its place in the sun at times…

Saw a post earlier about the DLP always placing its agents into the credit unions and some other stuff dat the ole man was too tired to read

I was however surprised that Caswell did not rise up to say that this is not true and that the BLP also has done this and continues to do this.

I give you the City of Bridgetown Credit Union where the BLP has solidified its presence over their multibillion dollar portfolio.

I am straying from the point as usual but what I would say again is that it is not an issue about what is the purpose and role of the union, it is that the people who are being appointed to the positions are incompetent, ingrunt “shadows of men”

25. @ ac

“only it was implemented for the wrong reasons after the BLP had gone on a borrowing spree in times of plenty and the fiscal debt was getting out of control and the great magician thought it best to go for the tax payers jugular by introducing a vat tax to pay off debt”

That is not true, and you are misleading the public with erroneous information. Previously, I referred you to “Barbados: The Development of a Value Added Tax” (Craigwell, Darlrymple. Moore, 1996). Read the information therein.

As it relates to borrowing at the times you specified, I refer you to “BARBADOS ECONOMIC POLICY AND TRADE PRACTICES” compiled by the U. S State Department (February 1994)

Instead of making contributions that are based solely on your unsubstantiated “emotive, partisan opinions”, or what you were fed by other DLP supporters, you should do a bit more reading.
    This would enable you to gain adequate knowledge of diverse topics and different perspectives on various issues, instead of wallowing within the narrow confines of party political diatribe.

26. Artaxerxes,

I know it is hard for you to see the shiiiiite that comes from ac but you need to ignore her. Her ignorance is beyond help. After you explained how the VAT was introduced and one reads her response, it was horrifying that one person could be so ignorant.

Dont dignify her with responses!

27. RU4real Artaxerxes?
    ……Instead of making contributions that are based solely on your unsubstantiated “emotive, partisan opinions”, or what you were fed by other DLP supporters, you should do a bit more reading.
    This would enable you to gain adequate knowledge of diverse topics and different perspectives on various issues,….
    +++++++++++++++
    Boss man, are you suffering from early onset dementia (like a certain Govnor) …?
    Um is AC you talking to …..GAIN ADEQUATE knowledge…?
    LOl Ha Ha ohhhhhh shirt!! Ha Ha
    …after all the trouble BU David went to – in recruiting ac to be BU court jester – you looking to spoil the whole show now…?

“….AC knowledgeable on diverse topics…..” Don’t mek sport, will NEVA happen…..you want the world to end sooner or wuh?

Bushie still feel that ‘ac’ is a brilliant PR strategy by David to promote his excellent blog and to fill a vital need…. You really feel that someone could be as dense as ac and not be playing a well designed role?….or that David easy nuh…?
    …Wuh – ac even makes Dompey look smart……and THAT is no mean task…. 🙂 ….because of ac, everyone feels comfortable posting on BU….cause what ever they say, it GOTTA be better than anything that ac EVER said…..

BU David is a BOSS then….

28. uh know bush tea u always right u are the supreme master of all intelligent life,,no one pass through this earth without getting your approval,,shite man…you are even better than GOD,,please excuse my dribble but couldn;t help but download some of it ,, on your shitty ,,, a,ss,

29. look arterexes i do not need u or prodigal to tell me how to think ,,i read many different articles on the barbados economy and one of the main reasons was fall in revenue and high debt that was instrumental in the vat,,,,nothing u say can change or deter my opinions.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….http://www.caribank.org/uploads/2012/12/Barbados-CALC-VOLUME-2-MSEA.pdf

30. for those who might find the page tedious ,,read page 14 that would give a short but comprehensive overview of what had happened to the barbados economy and the reason we are in dreadlock,,the many fiscal policies that were put in place between the years 1995 to 2008 and which overlapped and has caused the many hurdles we are facing…having to faced such problems the need for vat was implemented /introduced by OSA,,

31. @ ac | May 14, 2014 at 10:54 PM |

“i read many different articles on the barbados economy and one of the main reasons was fall in revenue and high debt that was instrumental in the vat,,,,nothing u say can change or deter my opinions.”

OK ac, let’s be rational in this discourse. I want you must bear the following in mind (a) the BLP won the September 6, 1994 general elections; (b) VAT was implemented on January 1, 1997.

Your explanation for the implementation of VAT: “one of the main reasons was fall in revenue and high debt that was instrumental in the vat”

According to the article on the link you posted on BU: “Barbados Country Assessment of Living Conditions 2010 Volume 2: A Macroeconomic and Social Assessment of Barbados: 1995-2010”- read pages 14 to 15, which clearly, explicitly and unequivocally (I borrowed the ambiguity from PDC) states as follows:

“Fiscal year 1995/96 saw a FALL in the fiscal deficit due an INCREASE in revenue from taxes on income and profit. The deficit deteriorated for the next 2 years as expenditure led by wages and salaries outstripped revenue, in spite of the estimated 21% increase in collections in 1997 due to the introduction of VAT. The Government substantially reduced capital expenditure in fiscal year 1998/99 during the slowdown in the world economy. This, along with a rise in revenue from taxes on goods and services led to a reduction in the fiscal deficit.” pp 14-15

You see what I tell you about common sense. Obviously, you or your source did not read that article, or you did not understand what you read.

32. As it relates to borrowing at the times you specified, I refer you to “BARBADOS ECONOMIC POLICY AND TRADE PRACTICES” compiled by the U. S State Department (February 1994)

Hi Artxerxes
    As it relaates to the great OSA project spree kindly point us to a document that will help us understand projects like
    GREENLAAND
    GEMS
    NIGERIA SOLAR HEATER PROJECT

Since the one you quoted to support OSA borrowing spree just NEVER made sense to rational thinking Barbadians.

Hence OSA was rejected three times at the polls
    January 2008 ( General Elections)
    January 2011 ( St John Bye Elections)
    February 2013 ( General Elections)
    following his borrowing FOLLY !

Right thinking Bajans ain’t going down that path again…..they leaving that path to NITWICKS like you and Prodi gal !

33. @ Fractured BLP | May 15, 2014 at 2:07 AM |

“Hence OSA was rejected three times at the polls
    January 2008 ( General Elections)
    January 2011 ( St John Bye Elections)
    February 2013 ( General Elections)
    following his borrowing FOLLY !”

However, you should have taken the time to notice that that former PM David Thomson “was rejected three times at the polls” as well:

September 6, 1994 (General Election)
    January 20, 1999 (Genera Elections)
    September 21, 2001 (St. Thomas by- elections)

“Right thinking Bajans ain’t going down that path again”………………

Do you think right thinking Bajans will be going down the path with Stuart again?…..they leaving that path to NITWICKS like you and ac !

• With all that is unfolding the next general election will be interesting to see how the electorate responds. The last general election showed that the electorate was confused; the result a 2 seat majority which has stunted Stuart’s ability to marshall his resourses. This must be a flaw in our system of government.

34. i know you artexes would read the article and point out the those areas which were relevant and beneficial to the economy,,,,however what you are refusing to address that the benefits were times wasted ,in that the great OSA made some very bad decisions which sent the economy into down spirals with bad fiscal mismagement…over heating the economy ,,,increase labour force ,downgrades,,,,,foreign debt increases ,,,,,,,as you said that govt is a continuim and yes this govt continues to inherit lots of the debt because of poor fiscal mismagement by the great OSA,the article is interesting in that it gives a true perspective on how a person who is handed a gold mine in the way OSA was handed in the good times can turn that gold in to quick sand leaving a foundation of nothingness where everything can fall through,,,

35. btw carry on smartly ,,the electorate would not be fooled,,many people can relate to what is happening with this economy..many households have been in similar positions having the head of house hold spending money like it was no tomorrow borrowing and using that money in non essentials no thought about security for that rainy day until that rainy day came and the living high on the hog was over,, the monies borrowed had to be repaid,,,,,,nothing financial coming in …..no way to turn,,,,most people understand the financial juggernaut this economy is in ,,,,,and why,,,,do not need a ecnomic experts,,most who have run household with good fiscal management would agree that a strong foundation is necessary and vital whether it be a country or a household for long term ecnomic survival,,,,and the proof of this economy is that a weaken economy through years of poor fiscal management caused the foundation to crumble under harsh and volatile economic stress ,,no bones about it,,,,OSA had fourteen years in which to rebuild and restructure for rainy days ,,and he did not,,

• @ac

Some of us want to discuss ideas and you continue to have a hardon about Arthur, a government he headed which the people voted 3 times read he he did not elect himself. Frankly you and others contributions have become very boring read predictable. As always you may have the last word.

36. the govenor has brought to table an interesting and feasible alternative to vat,,,,,and one that should be given more thought…instead of the whiplashed and the usual cross fire debates

37. @Caswell

Thank you for your clarity. The long and short of the matter is: The Unions are contaminated. That contamination makes them ineffective and inefficient.

Contamination does not allow for these union bosses to pass up opportunities to make a little bittle pun the side. This is an island that is govern and control by the corrupt. Hardships would make some of the most righteous buckle and bend. Who the hell is Clarke or Trotman that they won’t play in the game.

The union leaders are all well off from their pledges to each of these “in situ” defunct – corrupt parties. The unions cannot represent the interest of the working class when their interests are set on personal gains. Its the same shite that prevails with these parties and old faithfuls. And what is that? GIVE A LITTLE BUT TAKE A HELL OF A LOT – Incognito

38. There is one significant problem in the BWU and NUPW: The leaders are serving too many Masters. Simple !
    Men /Women of Integrity needed.

39. The unions have outlived their life expectancy….but only because they continue to insist on operating, in 2014, just as they did in 1960.
    Donkey carts outlived theirs too….why the hell do these jokers think that they can continue to be relevant when EVERYTHING else around them has changed….except them?

@ Caswell
    Boss, why don’t you stop wasting your time with that union shiite ..and start the BUP nuh? …..the days of running around looking to sort out foolish employers trying to deal with lazy workers as a means of getting us somewhere is LONG gone….
    You need to be in a PROACTIVE position to make any meaningful contributions to these (BB) workers that you care so much about….

BUP!

40. @ Tea Bush

I could not concur more. Caswell is Knowledgeable but he is just a voice shouting from the wilderness. He exposes the corruption and provides the reasons for the unions compromises but seems not able to rally the type of support his way that would make him the “difference” that the working masses will turn too. Barbadians are stubborn loyalist. It would take a space ship from out of mars to wake them up or break them up.

41. @ Sunny Sunshine Shine
    Caswell just stubborn.
    Bushie has already provided him with a clear path to relevance that uses his vast knowledge about our shiite labour and civil service regulations, his obsession with following rules – and with ferreting out cheaters, AS WELL AS it addresses our current shitty political toilet pit.
    It also provides a transparent and competent form of governance, and is achievable WITHIN the current political process

…brilliant BBE strategy….but…
    ….Caswell won’t budge a peg……

42. @ Wayne Cadogan
    “The only pay increase was given a few years ago when the Chief Town Planner, Permanent Secretaries, their deputies were given a $10,000.00 pay increase to bring their salaries in commensurate with the job. …”

Do you know that I saw on another blog Denis Kellman and his cohorts practically crucified a young lady who was brave enough to put that on his FB wall? In fact she was called a liar by and an instigator….

I per chance saw the memo and it was shocking to see that the Prime Minister and his Cabinet talking utter crap yet silently gave themselves and others salary increases in 2012. I personally know of one person who took home AFTER taxes $25,000 and that person was a deputy.

The Minister of Finance had the audacity to come public to tell the people that they were taking a pay cut…utter rubbish, their pay cut is NOTHING seeing that they had a salary increase and back pay to boot. but he could afford to spew such rubbish because he is aware that John Public is unaware of their adjustments and they can lie about it too, just like Denis Kellman has done.

I can only say, it serves those simpletons who voted them back into power right because they choose to bury their heads in the sand. I am in sympathy for the public servants because they are being asked to sacrifice yet EVERYTHING is going up around them.

the unions are pure rip offs and their leaders(NUPW) CROOKS

43. @ac | May 14, 2014 at 9:25 AM |
    “So funny to read caswell comments here is a man whose business is that of being a union leader but can,t help himself in his quest to demonise other unions while on his way to self destruction.”

YOU ARE A TOTAL ASS, MAKE SOME KIND OF SENSIBLE COMMENT…YOU TAIL, LIKE A MONKEY’S IS SHOWING

44. Artaxerxes | May 15, 2014 at 12:58 AM |
    @ ac | May 14, 2014 at 10:54 PM |
    “You see what I tell you about common sense. Obviously, you or your source did not read that article, or you did not understand what you read”

HA HA HA…LORD HAVE MERCY. 😉

AC obviously did NOT understand what she read, tho written in the Queen’s English….what is the saying about answering a fool according to his own folly?!!!! we seriously need help!!!

45. the problem wid people like you arterexes,,is that when people differ with your belief , you jump up and down,,frowns and become agitated ,to you there would be always one side of a story,,,,,,,my side of the story is what i see,,,, whether or not u agree ,,really does not make a difference,,however it might be a bit intimidating for you to rationalize that others might have differing opinions contrary to yours coming from the same story,,come next election u just might have another rude awakening when u arise out of your 14 year stupor,,,,,,of arthurisim

• @ac

You are incorrect. The essence of a good debate is to have the sense to see points in the opposing argument and adjust according.

46. David I just read a headline in the Nation “Lesbians Luring teens”.

Another salacious topic for Bajans to discuss.

Leave a comment, join the discussion.