Jeremy Clarkson, Top Gear Presenter
Jeremy Clarkson, Top Gear

Equal Justice Solicitors acting on behalf of several clients have called for the sacking of several BBC staff associated with the Top Gear Show,  they include Jeremy Clarkson, writer and presenter, Brian Klein, Director, Andy Wilman, Executive Producer, Andy Wilman, Executive Producer and Richard Hammond, presenter. The solicitors have also sent the correspondence to the Barbados High Commissioner in England. BU understands as a result of the legal protest media watchdog Ofcom has started an investigation into the Jeremy Clarkson N-word saga.

See documents received by Barbados Underground from a source:

137 responses to “Call for Jeremy Clarkson to be FIRED”

1. St George's Dragon Avatar

It’s good to see that BU has taken up the anti-racist agenda in posting about Clarkson.
    Perhaps it should apply it a bit closer to home like on this blog:
    “it’s time to recognize that local bajan whites always have a nasty agenda and it’s always to the detriment of the black majority.”

2. While I admit Clarkson is an idiot, bigot, etc., I am getting very concerned from news in the US and EU that suggest people now can’t have an opinion or belief in anything that does not pass the Liberal sniff test.

If you do not support gay marriage, then automatically you are anti gay and hate them. If you are pro life, you are assumed to have no respect for women.

Where does it end? It seems as if tolerance has left the building. Clarkson and kind will suffer their demise in the end without the public stoning and verbal executions thrown at them. The venom in the attacks is disturbing. Who is next?

3. konkie man……no tolerance has not left the building……intolerance is being kicked out the door,,,,,,get on board ,,,,,,before u and others that don;t understand and appreciate the meaning of change for the better get kicked out also,,,,,

4. Konkieman you are right …..I am tired ….so very tired…. every year I spend thousands bringing people to my second home but I am getting worn out by the drama mike Jordan hates whites but not now so that’s okay paula dean said the N word in her past ….she must lose her business and life…I am getting fed up and I love Barbados .

5. The best course of action from where I stand(sit) on the Clarkson issue is to boycott TopGear altogether. When this fool is counting his dollars(pounds) he cant tell from whence they came and through whose hands. Some white folk believe that blacks are bast left in positions of servitude to them, so when we all flock to BushyPark, another white owned entity, to see the “toys” brought here by a racists minion for us to “ooooh” and “ahhh” over knowing that we may never own those very toys, we do ourselves an injustice to by paying homage to the belief which he, and many of them have, they they are somehow better than we are.
    Not going unless he can repeat his three times table without making a mistake!

6. ‘Get on board or else…’

Gee – that’s the future you see?. It’s My WAY or NOTHING? You people are fast becoming dodos. The ipad has left you behind. The young don’t give a shit. BTW I heard Negroman has died. So sad thank God..

7. Konkieman, Lawson, St George, RR……….

8. David:

Having read both documents, it is a pity that nothing shall come of this attempt to make the Barbados government do the right. But the big question is, if Barbados goes forward with this, ignoring these complaints, could tourism feel a backlash if these people decide to start a boycott Barbados hypocrisy campaign? Fumble Stuart’s stoic silence shall not be enough. We shall gain a few quid from Clarkson but lose millions through the broader picture.

These complaints make a very compelling case for Barbados to do the right thing, and not sell ourselves for a few pieces of silver!!

9. @lemuel

A corrolary issue which was raised today by former tourism minister, is event tourism the way to go or should we go after the affluent middle segment which aligns with the Barbados brand. All one can do is what we believe to be right. It is good the White world is showing intolerance to the Steerling type remarks. We have reached a special place in the world these last weeks.

10. lawrence davies Avatar
    lawrence davies

Very grateful

Best of luck with it.

Protect your sources!

Kind regards

Lawrence

11. @ David,
    You attach far too much importance on Mr Clarkson. Quite simply, he is who he is: a mid-upper class English buffoon who takes delight in mocking people who do not resemble him. Unfortunately this is the trait of the English they get their kicks from looking down on others.

Some battles are worth fighting this one is not!

12. Konkieman

So you’re saying that it’s okay for a man to advocate that a woman should be chained to the kitchen sink and stove in 2014? Now,  should we as a society allow certain people to say and do as their please just because the law allows it? Shouldn’t there be a moral outcry as society against this egregious and atrocious conduct? Listen! We ought to draw a line in the sand and declare unequivocally and categorically, that these vituperative racial epithets, we’re going to tolerate no longer. And Ross, with respect to your comment regarding the young people’s attitude towatds race today: A philosophy Professor of mine, once told me that,” Each and every generation of black people view race differently”. Now, surely, the younger generation of black youth of today, haven’t had to contended with what my generation had to deal as far as racism is concern. My wife grandmother has a genuine fear of white people because of what she saw as a kid growing up in the South during 1930’s and 1940’s, so I would not expect her to view race as I do.

13. @Exclaimer

Highlighting this matter by shining a light on Clarkson is more about revealing who we are read meaning the state of our awareness, consciousness as a people, all people.

14. NO….clarkson is part of the problem he too is included in a battle..a battle for respect one which has only be regulated to a few upper class of the white establishment…..stopping now would only send a message that blacks are not serious,,,,,most notably as one door closes there is another which reopens,,first sterling and now clarkson..a RESPECT due to blacks is long over due and there is no stopping blacks from demanding such from the white establishment,,the fight for respect has reached our back door and it is only fair right and just to DEMAND it….

15. Again it is sad when a government of Barbados who leads a predominantly Black people AND an educated people would make a statement(s) which focuses on the economic benefits of Top Gear but no mention of the stupidity of the presenter who has a track record of uttering racial slurs. The analogy can be made to the CEO of the ferry which sank in Korea, economic considerations caused the lives of hundreds of young people. When will we learn. Grenada has come out to show moral leadership by condemning Boko Haram in Nigeria. Morality weighs as heavy or is heavier when considering the vicissitudes of life.

16. Those who do not understand that getting rid of racisim in any form is necessary to build a cohesive and unified society ,,,,are contributing to an intolerance which breeds hate and violence stereotypical and bigoted attitudes,,,attitudes that have left us hating and demeaning each other,,yes it maybe a painful method of seeking corrective measures but less painful than th negative and prickly thorns of hateful words that blacks have had to endure for centuries,,,,,,For we are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world,

17. David;

There is no freedom of speech in Barbados. This is why many here have to hide behind their handle. If any had the balls to go out and repeat much of what is said on this blog, the powers that be would at their door in no time. So we have learned to “grin and bear”, while our collective morality sinks slowly down the drain of fear and intimidation

.You think Pacha could be berating the white man Robert Ross in public in Barbados. The Bajan whites and the Expats would be meeting saying who he, and then calls would be made to DLP and Police heads to deal with Pacha who by then would labelled a racist.

By then AC and Dompey and all the yellow bellies in Barbados would be calling for his head. But not in the Clarkson situation; he can be forgiven for he is a foolish white man who aint got no sense. Boy what a place called Bim.

18. @ David,
    Nigger, shadow, darkie, sunshine, midnight, coon, ape, monkey, baboon are just a small sample of English words that have been and are still in use to insult black people. These are a collection of words and terms that the English have bestowed on us. There is an inexhaustible vocabulary of words used by other races to describe us. Conversely there exist a limited number of words that we could use to demonise whites and other races.

You may have noted that it is not in our DNA to use such disgusting words to describe whites and other races even when we are amongst our own. What does this proof? It proves that we are morally superior. Mr Clarkson is only guilty of been “discovered” to have used the word nigger.
    You should have tried living in the UK during the dark days of the fifties through to the eighties. There was a nursery song from yesteryear: “Sticks and stones may break my heart, but words will never hurt me”

Let’s cut some slack for Mr Clarkson, bear in mind he is a product of an era when things were very different; when dinosaurs use to roam the earth.

19. Exclaimer:

When I was naming the yellow bellies, I forgot to number you with them. But your last post bears that out. This is pure DLP spin to stop foolish Bajans from calling for a stop to this festival altogether!! You think you could go to London and tell the English that they made drug addicts of the Chinese which is true and they will put that to your reading the wrong literature?

20. Excalimer:

To think that in this day and age, you could use the word “bestowed” to describe words like nigger and monkey!! DLP spin!!

21. Lets meet this Clarkson at the arrivals hall or at Bushy Park and let him know we see him as an unwelcome PIG. This country is a frigging joke.

Why Clarkson do make a joke or two about Muslims and Allah? The Muslims from England would fire bomb his house that’s why.

22. @ Lemuel,
    Get real! These crackers could write a thesis or two on the roots of words used throughout the ages to describe the black race. It is deeply ingrained in their psyche.

Do you not find it deeply sad that we have a number of our own black people who liberally use and feel comfortable to use the word “nigger” when in conversation with their fellow African brothers and sisters? This is no more acceptable than when a white person employs this word.

Lighten up brother. I’m just the messenger.

23. Look Lemuel, you and David beginning to raise Bushie’s pressure yuh….ever heard of much ado about nothing much…?

Wunna fellows live on a black majority island where the people who have the political and administrative power are BLACK….and where for our WHOLE independent history, the minority whites not only own practically every shiite, but probably have GROWN that percentage..and now included Indians, Chinese and Trickidadians…

……and wunna talking lotta shiite bout an OBVIOUSLY racist comedian who made a slip and mumbled in public what everyone KNOWS most of these white people say all the time anyhow…? Wuh that is probably Moneybrain’s favorite rhyme…. 🙂

That shiite is worth no more than a brief comment and then a Steupsss and let us move on……to the MUCH MORE MEANINGFUL concern of black enfranchisement in Barbados…..and why the distribution of resources here are NOT colour blind….

…Clarkson shiite….

24. The bushman has spoken!

25. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Jeremy Clarkson low gear,

26. Bushie:

When these apologists come here talking foolishness, it is impossible to keep quiet. Do not burst that blood vessel, yet.

27. Whether we realise it or not, there is progress. Both David and ac are NOW referring to racism in ALL its forms and in respect of ALL people..

Sterling – leaked
    Clarkson – leaked
    Letters – leaked (or fabricated)

Is there a pattern emerging?

Lemuel

You say you have read the letters. You are an attorney. Yes? As an attorney advising us what would you say about the credentials of the letters?

28. Exclaimer:

I hear you.

29. To disagree with Lemuel makes you a “yellow-belly” or a “foolish Bajan”..

Is that a statement about us or him?

30. MANJAK of MY LORDS HILL Avatar
    MANJAK of MY LORDS HILL

Absolutely agree with you Lemuel, sad indeed when you can still have these Uncle Tom arguments from the likes of Exclaimer/Konkieman who willingly provide bogus sheilds for vulgar and offensive dimwits such as Jeremy Clarkson…….postulating the cringe making .’cut him some slack as he is a product of an era’ is vomit inducing indeed.
    If this type of thinking emanates from black posters it compounds the offensiveness and sadness. Black skin white masks, to borrow Franz Fanon memorial phrase.
    Now that Clarkson has withdrawn his insincere so called apology which exposes further his utter contempt for black people one awaits the response from the governing DLP regime and the organisers of the Top Gear Rally at Bushy Park.
    One maybe being rather naive in expecting a response of some substance
    as the Bajan black elite has a tendency to exhibit cringing subservience to local and international white power and to any road block to the so call tourism factor. They are one is afraid more apt to behave no different from the venal political gangsters in Nigeria who loot their treasury and remain uncaring and inactive as their young women are kidnapped and brutalised by crazed and murderous islamic fascists. The best position to adopt being that of the ostrich..
    The scale maybe lesser than that of Goodluck Jonathan and his Lagos cronies but the thinking, policies and actions do have similarities, as many Bajans have come to recognise over the past fifteen years of the BLP/DLP incumbencies at Heroes Square.

31. Pizza Pizza

I agree with you. If Lemuel et al feel strongly enough let them protest. Let them raise a banner saying “BU says NO”. Let ac/dc in drag carry it.

32. David

You say BU has received these letters from a “source”. Do you mean an anonymous source out of Russia? If so, wouldn’t it have been prudent, as a responsible blog owner, to counsel at least some caution? Or do you swallow everything you’re sent when it suits?

33. @ Lemuel,
    Thank you. The world would be a better place if we could all reconcile our differences. I’ve lost too much time today contributing to this blog.

34. Lewis Hamilton is supposed to be the main attraction at this event, no one else is necessary…

St. George siad:
    “it’s time to recognize that local bajan whites always have a nasty agenda and it’s always to the detriment of the black majority.”

…….sorry you are still upset, but the comment is still TRUE,thanks for reiterating it in all it’s glory…

I tend to agree with Commisiong……..England wants to get rid of it’s rubbish in the form of Clarkson and feels Barbados is the perfect garbage heap for Brits.

St…George, watch how much upset you will be now…lol

Two British females, white, are having a conversation in front of a british born relative of mine.
    female 1…..”can you believe how retarded black bajans are to allow bajan whites and any whites to walk all over them and do as they like in Barbados, i can’t believe how retarded are!!”

female 2…….”you better be glad that blacks in Barbados are retarded or you would never be able to live here so comfortably and freely”

My British born relative was stunned.

See St. George…….can’t get away from it my comment remains true I stand by it and i need you to reiterate it over and over until you understand it much better..

By the way, what tourism what, how does 4,000 brits feed over 1/4 million people, maybe if you were saying 10 thousand to 50 thousand, now that is tourism, selling their souls for pennies…Trinidad had 40 thousand tourist go to their jazz festival last week…..get with the program, kissing small time ass for small time money….steupse, even the little shit hound media in Barbados don’t want to say when a lowly bajan white practices racism against their own people like in the Bizzy H&B hardware issue, when will these black males/females in Barbados grow some balls.

Lawson…….change is always for the better, the island needs to move forward from the ugliness being practiced.

So…..Exclaimer, when will it end? Clarkson trains his little ape kids and grand kids to act like him and they train their little ape kids and grand kids to act like them…..in that case dinosaurs who still roam this earth will be roaming it forever, if they are not stopped in their tracks.

It has finally reached the world stage where the black leaders in Barbados will be known or not for taking a stand, i hope they know these types of episodes will decide if they are seen as pariah for condoning racist idiots like Clarkson, or if they will be known as conscious leaders who have the balls to send a message.

St. George….keep going, don’t stop.

35. @ David

What manner of man could question your ‘sources’ and your right to handle the information as you see fit? The lenths to which Bullen Robert Ross has gone to and continue to exhibit represents a staggering level of racism. This she/he will go to any lenghts to justify expressions of racism.

36. Belize City Walls Avatar
    Belize City Walls

A lot of hot air…….that’s what we bajans good for/at. Not a fella, not a boy, not a girl isn’t interested enough or have the balls to go up and Bushy White Park to protest in front of them country rednecks.

37. Belize City Walls Avatar
    Belize City Walls

See we in Barbados like bare sport and nuff entertainment like running up and down the highway wukkin up and jukkin. We like motor sport too much to give a damn that the presenter at Top Gear is a stinking racist pig. For that is but a minor technicality and one that should not and cannot stop us from wukkin up and jukkin up and jumping up and getting drunk and lewd.

38. Yall taking this for a joke and people around the world are serious as a heart attack….

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/retired-black-speaks-undercover-kkk-colorado-article-1.1785726

39. @ Belize

You are right. Bajans are the best slaves the world ever had. They lack a sustained ability to fight against racism

40. Bush Tea | May 9, 2014 at 7:33 AM | stated:

Look Lemuel, you and David beginning to raise Bushie’s pressure yuh….ever heard of much ado about nothing much…?

41. Belize City Walls Avatar
    Belize City Walls

A bajan is basically a coward………..loves to complain but is not prepared to do anything to prevent something from happening the next time. We now have the country we deserve.

42. Billie “the goat” Miller did gush and rave in London about Bajans being the best slaves, it is true that when it’s time to come together as one and show resistance for a good cause, it’s usually only one person turning up, everyone else hides…..that cowardice is ugly……and if they think having ‘the best slaves in the Caribbean’ handle is anything to be proud of, they should be hanging their heads in shame.

We clearly see what type of legacy will be left for their children and descendants going forward, despite all the ‘best’ education, the leaders are jokes.

43. I have been watching Top Gear for a couple years and when I heard it was going to Barbados I spread the word to my Canadian racing enthusiasts.

Now this racist idiot tarnishes what would have been great entertainment.

I expect the “show” will go on but hopefully Clarkson will not participate.

I watch Barbados Rallying and racing on youtube and the spectators are 95 % black.

Too bad they can’t all join me at the Canadian Grand Prix in June.

44. Despite Clarkson being some type of official for the show, why can’t they just replace him, why palm him off on someone else, he’s their baby, keep him close to them, no one wants that stench.

45. Top Gear is Clarkson although the show has two other presenters.

46. Maybe they could use those two or one of them, Clarkson’s presence will certainly take something away from the show, hope they are not planning to parade him around, that would be just like Cow and the Gang to do so just to show everyone on the island, are these organizers not thinking, the people who are benefiting, (pocketing the money) from this event obviously don’t care about the majority on the island.

47. The government has pin its hat on this event generating arrivals for Barbados, it made the Governor’s economic review press conference. Unless Clarkson is fired the show will go on. Economics over anything else is what we have become.

48. In the letter “Race complaints about “Top Gear” and Jeremy Clarkson sent to BBC” the letter writer opines that “Mr Clarkson has a long-history of using racist abuse for humour” and goes on to list several examples. However, after reading the examples it’s difficult for me to really see any “racist abuse”. Yes some of what he is alleged to have said may offend and be in poor taste to some, especially those who are the butt of his attempt at humour, but it does look like it was said humorously and for comedic effect. Yes, he should be taken to task for using the N word in his recitation of a “racist nursery rhyme” but is he really a racist because he recited this nursery rhyme?

@ Hants

I have never watched a single episode of Top Gear so I really don’t know anything about the show or presenters. You say that you have been “watching Top Gear for a couple years” and seem to be fan. Now if this man Clarckson is a “racist idiot”, you never picked up on it over all these years and only now that he recited this nursery rhyme? Especially surprising given the litany of examples of “racist abuse” listed in the letter to the BBC. Have any of the 95% black spectators that you see watching Barbados Rallying and racing on You Tube, and who most likely watch Top Gear, also not noticed that he is a “racist idiot”?

49. Colonel Buggy Avatar
    Colonel Buggy

Well Well | May 9, 2014 at 10:59 AM |
    Billie “the goat” Miller did gush and rave in London about Bajans being the best slaves.
    …………………………………………………………………………….
    But lets be honest, we were and still are. We look out for the Clarksons types of this world, while kicking our own in the arse.
    If you, a private car driver ever attempt to park near or in a stand reserved for taxis, you will lucky not to be lynched by an irate taxi driver. One day I saw a planter class woman driving down the wrong way in a one-way street at Lower Broad St. Would you believe that a Taxi driver jumped to her assistance, which is commendable, and proceeded to direct her to park her car in one of the bays reserved for taxis.
    Yes, we will never be able to vacate the security of the plantation yard evergreen tree.

50. Colonel…….it’s so plain to see……I remember parking a rental i had in a taxi bay, did not know it at the time because it was newly designated for taxis in Broad Street, when i returned to the vehicle, a taximan had got one of those traffic wardens to issue me a ticket, so the difference is glaring, well, being me, i tore the damn ticket up and drove off, how was i supposed to know that the area was designated a taxi stand….steupse….now, given your example, if feel really satisfied…..damn slave minded black people.