Submitted by the Mahogany Coconut Think Tank and watchdog Group
Caricom Heads

It should now be obvious to all and sundry, that the year 2014 will mean nothing more than depressingly minimal growth for most if not all Caribbean states. We are being directed by the International Monetary (Mercenary) Fund; relying on the cooked up statistics of agencies such as Standard and Poor and Moodys. Almost daily we are being “rated” by foreigners, who still see us as fun-loving natives who spend our time in lazy repose on our beaches. As far as they are concerned, we are non –productive and incapable of managing our own affairs. Imagine they come out of the United States, a country that is saddled with its own debt and whose economy and corporate corruption are directly responsible for much of the world’s current economic crisis, which was fuelled by the greed of the Wall Street titans, and brazenly try to project themselves as our saviours. Why do we subject ourselves to such humiliation is beyond the imagination but there is nothing more pathetic, than witnessing foreign economists come into our countries ,and treat us like some abandoned outpost, as obtained during the days of the wild west.

Certainly those workers who built these economies by the sweat of their brows would not have imagined that almost fifty years after independence and in some cases more, we have reached the sorry stage, where it is believed that we cannot manage our own affairs and resources. The victories over slavery, colonialism, and rampant racism should have better prepared us to be masters of our own fate but somewhere along the way, we lost focus of the journey that started in the 1930’s when the labour movement started to show serious signs of becoming the driving force of a truly democratic Caribbean region.

Today, that same labour force is under constant attack. Throughout the region both public and private sector jobs are disappearing and unemployment figures in many island states exceed or are approaching twenty per cent of the labour force. The often referenced service industry is under pressure and competition from external sources. In the mean time, efforts to rebuild and reform the agriculture sector, are meeting road blocks ,such as lack of capital and ideas and an absence of progressive land use policies. As we approach the half year mark, it is more than fair to say that our Caribbean region is on the brink of total economic collapse and we join those who are calling on the citizens to save themselves because throughout the region most of our leaders, both public and private sector, are out to sea drifting in leaking, rudderless boats. However, we at the Mahogany Coconut Group fear that while we attempt to plug the leaks and use make shift rudders; the simple truth is that we are also without the essential compass. We are drifting but even more dangerous is the fact that we don’t even know where we are. How do we get back to shore? Region overboard!

78 responses to “Time to Right Ship Caribbean!”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Baffy

“….has been inadvertently granted significant power in influencing policy implementation……”

A system that has been designed to fail tell me something Baffy, what de france does a lawyer, retired civil servant (like Ralph Boyce @ MESA) an insurance executive or an ole fart like me who retired 20 nuff years ago know about or can inform on innovation?

Man you could as well hire the gardener to run EGFL man.

Jes suppose dat you did had an idea bout how to mex a new form of energy from dogshite (and we got alot of that in the House of Assembly, Ronald Jones, Richard Sealy and de res uh dem fellows wid a monopoly pun turds) tell me sumting Baffy whu is de mechanism dat dem does use to evaluate the idea?

You too young to know dis Baffy but during de war we used to run down by Braffwit (not Adriel Brafwit de Attorney General) but de man who did own cows and look for dry manure to bring home and put it in de fire fuh coal substitute or heat up de iron to iron de clothes dem.

But back to de point, which one uh dem officers gots de mental capacity to evaluate my hypothetical idea? Dem ent even gots nuhbody from de University wid de technical capacity like William Hinds pun dem board man!! Jes bodies! and fuh dat dem is get millions of dollars to donate to charities and de res uh applicants jes to deliver nuffing every single year!!

Leh me axe you a question Baffy causing you know bout dese tings dem, does EGFL go through any type of portfolio evaluation? Like does any body anywhere examine whu money it get and den review whu it produce and den do a cost/benefit analysis uh whu it worth is?

Man Baffy it seem like dem is a real waste foop man, the sin of Onan personified, seed pun de ground en ting

I know dat dat fellow Trotman doing an excellent job at de Auditor General regarding the generally accepted Accounting principles ting but is dere an equivalent tuh he dat does evaluate the efficacy of de funding dem does get, and waste??

2. LOL @ Exclaimer
    Who going hang him boZie? …. After you give him so much power?
    …and suppose he only took $700,000…? or suppose his friend in no leper? ..still hang he ???

See why in the BU Ten point plan we does have a PRE-SIGNED letter of resignation BEFORE he get the pick?
    ….any shiite from he – and Caswell accepting that resignation fast fast…

So the Crooks won’t even bother to waste their money or time bribing him cause they KNOW he will be history the next day….
    …and um ain’t no sense trying to bribe Caswell cause he mouth ain’t got no cover… LOL Ha Ha

3. @ Vincent
    That may be true….but Bushie wrong?

4. Piece

I have to admit that I do have a very soft spot for the UWI academics .. the Don Marshalls, William Hinds, Justine Robinson and so many others. These men are forward thinking. But again, the four public servants that I referred to earlier carry a terrific amount of power. Most Barbadians do NOT even know who these people are … The Ministers of Finance have always been shy in demonstrating what little influence they have over them. The Chief Civil Servant has no authority over them. When Hard Wood became a public issue, SImmons merely retreated into the shadows until it blew over.

I am trying to find more video on Ali Mansoor, Mauritius Fin Secretary, but I can’t so far. David introduced this guy with the video presentation on the Macroeconomics Options thread (at about 1:40). Listen to him and recognize what development is all about …

5. Start the video at 1:14 (1 hour 14 mins) …

6. @Baffy

This guy is comfortable challenging Worrell because it is not theory or gut, this is strategy implemented and it works. A model which feeds itself and removes the artificial issue how many people a country can support as one example.

7. You know David it can be construed by what Mansoor said, that the Worrells in Barbados are paid twice as much as their counterparts in Mauritius … and that is the reason why it is working so well for “them”. The fixed exchange rate (with no true minimum wage) favours the high priced executive class. Barbados is merely a collective of administrators and consultants who thrive on the fixed exchange rate.

If I have stepped on your toe David, I do it without malice.

8. @Baffy

Good one 🙂

We need all class of workers, it is all about how resources are allocated employed.

9. David wrote “We need all class of workers,”

operative words being class and workers.

All of you agitators and prognosticators tend to forget that the majority of Bajans are low income hard working people.

All a wunna can eat bacon and eggs fuh brekfuss an eat at Cheffette or Brown Shuga fuh lunch.

Any restructuring of the Barbados economy must improve the lives of those hard working people who can’t afford Cheffette.

BAFBFP how your cropova preparations going. lol.

10. Exclaimer said:

“That is like a slave stating that he preferred Slave Master Jones over Slave Master Smith simply because he fed his slaves chicken meat rather than dog meat. ”

AND, that’s part of the problem that’s keeping the Caribbean from understanding they are ONE, I met a Jamaican female years ago at a corporation, she kept boasting to me how Jamaican slaves were treated better by their British/Spanish slave masters than Bajan slaves, my query to her was how?, were the whippings better, was the starvings better, were the rapes better, were the lynchings better, of course she did not know what the hell i was talking about, her mind was made up.

Took a trip to Barbados a couple years later and low and behold after talking to some Bajans, they were totally convinced that Bajan slaves were treated better by the british than other Caribbean slaves , I certainly was not going to waste my energy asking them the same questions i asked that dumb as ass Jamaican New Yorker……..so……yall see the problem, that’s what we are dealing with.

11. David

I would like to modify your last comment. Barbados needs all classes of “Producers” …

To Hants, there is a gland that only seems to appear when you’ve past a certain age that restricts your ability to pee. The ” cropova preparations” will proceed but with a contingency … 🙂

12. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

If some one works 40 hours a week , he/she need not worry about housing,
    If he/she works 40 house a week , they need not worry about health care.
    Tourist Help drive up the prices for food on different parts of the Island. The tourist dont now work for Bajan DOLLAR ,
    We need 100% Bajan or Caribbean stores or shops so we know we can get the best prices for locals,We think that will be a real COST U LESSthat will kill us 20% sooner than Nature . Its greed FRAUD ,driving Barbados , Behold the pale horse
    Before there were the IMF, Moodys, S&P there were PLANTATIONS AND NOW WE HAVE PLANTATION DEEDS, We will for sell Gold and Silver and then we buy what we want, let them keep their so-called Papers,

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Baffy

I followed your advice to start the video at 1.14 ( i started and 1.11 to get a feel of it all)

I noted that Fred ? whoever had to give some economics prompters for Delisle from time to time is that way that only they can.

But then Delisle started to speak of the social partnerships and I was spellbound until the end of the video Baffy!

How did you get that do Baffy?

How you get Delisle while he mout did moving to talk bout perfect social partnerships and ting? Man de man mouf was moving and he did talking bout a nex cuntry altogether!!

Dat is good video editing Baffy, ventriloquism at its best, de man did speaking bout a next Bulbados where de social partnerships was “all pun de same page en ting” and everybody did chanting from the same Prayer Book and even de Fred fellow start saying how he went all over de island even up by de University and even de academics was singing de same song….

I gine hafta get David[BU] to ban you Baffy cause you got dis video editing and splicing voice overs ting downpack to a “t” causing when dat video did dun, I did sure dat I was truly insane causing dat cuntry dat Worrell sing such praises bout did not de Barbados we suffering thru evey day

14. Baffy:

I have to apologize; I thought this man Mansoor was someone you met at the Obeah Man. He is good.

15. Lemuel | April 23, 2014 at 9:34 PM

|http://www.independent.co.uk/news/business/analysis-and-features/is-this-the-death-of-the-traditional-employee-9279083.html

Angola’s new import tariffs putting the squeeze on the poorest residents in one of the world’s most expensive cities:http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/africa/angolas-new-import-tariffs-putting-the-squeeze-on-the-poorest-residents-in-one-of-the-worlds-most-expensive-cities-9278530.html

16. Excalimer:

I glad you put that post about economic times in Africa. Somebody bout this blog, I do not remember who, was extolling the virtues of us following some african model for development. You need to send this clipping to AC and let her send it to Chris Sinker so he could see where he may be going with this country and these taxes.

About jobs, we too shall have an explosion of the self employed, but without some innovation many of us shall selling or making the same product.

17. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

10 years in Jail to go along with 10% cut in salaries for Ministers

18. Did a Minister trick Corey Layne last week that the 10% cut to Ministers pay was processed long time ago? Now we are learning it was effective from February 2014.

19. […] David Submitted by the Mahogany Coconut Think Tank and watchdog Group It should now be obvious to all and […]

20. I WOULD HAVE LIKED TO POST A LINK TO THIS ARTICLE BUT COULD NOT SO FOR A UPDATED PERSPECTIVE ON MANUFACUTURING COSTS AROUND THE WORLD I COPY AND PASTED THE WHOLE ARITICLE, NOTE THAN NONE OF THE BRIC COUNTRIES ARE ON THE TOP 10 COMPETIVNESS LIST. THE REPORT WAS PUBLISHED IN THE LAST FEW DAYS.

New report calls U.S. a ‘rising star’ of global manufacturing
    9 hours ago – Reuters

New report calls U.S. a ‘rising star’ of global manufacturing
    By James B. Kelleher

(Reuters) – Call it the comeback kid.

A new ranking of the competitiveness of the world’s top 25 exporting countries says the United States is once again a “rising star” of global manufacturing thanks to falling domestic natural gas prices, rising worker productivity and a lack of upward wage pressure.

The report, released on Friday by the Boston Consulting Group (BCG,) found that while China remains the world’s No. 1 country in terms of manufacturing competitiveness, its position is “under pressure” as a result of rising labor and transportation costs and lagging productivity growth.

The United States, meanwhile, which has lost nearly 7.5 million industrial jobs since employment in the sector peaked in 1979 as manufacturers shipped production to low-cost countries, is now No. 2 in terms of overall competitiveness, BCG said.

The biggest factor driving the U.S. rebound, according to BCG: cheap natural gas prices, which have tumbled 50 percent over the last decade as a result of the shale gas revolution.

Also contributing to the country’s attractiveness, according to BCG, is “stable wage growth” – a euphemism for the fact that, in inflation-adjusted terms, industrial wages here are lower today than they were in the 1960s even though worker productivity has doubled over the same period of time.

“Overall costs in the U.S.,” the report’s authors write, “are 10 to 25 percent lower than those of the world’s ten leading goods-exporting nations other than China” and on par with Eastern Europe.

Another standout in the rankings is Mexico, which BCG categorizes as a “rising star” with lower average manufacturing costs than China. But the country failed to make BCG’s list of Top 10 manufacturers because of other factors, including rampant crime and corruption.

BCG arrived at the rankings using a proprietary index that focuses on four major factors: wages, productivity growth, energy costs and exchange rates.

In addition to China, four other countries with reputations as low-cost production centers – Brazil, the Czech Republic, Poland and Russia – are classified as being “under pressure” in terms of their manufacturing costs.

Here is BCG’s ranking of the world’s Top 10 countries in terms of manufacturing competitiveness:

1. China
    2. United States

3. South Korea

4. United Kingdom

5. Japan

6. Netherlands

7. Germany

8. Italy

9. Belgium

10. France

(Reporting by James B. Kelleher in Detroit; Editing by Nick Zieminski

21. all Caribbean countries are tiny except for Jamaica, and Cuba,
    what is it you all expect from such small, minute, places to export or make all this money you all want.
    you are dreamers.
    so stupid to have paradise but want new york and lots of money.and materialism.
    people in cold countries would trade with you and be happy with what they
    have.
    warmth and the ocean.
    sick people.
    tiny islands can not become big countries.
    do you follow?

22. look man if i was a african and could trace my roots back to africa and get back there and get back my culture and now a days open a buisness and make good money that is what i would do.
    but you africans sit in barbados and watch the whites and want what they have. total stupidity. whites and blacks are not the same.
    may have the same blood and so on but not the same mentality.
    back to your roots. before barbados get so overpopulated you got to live in the sea.
    man
    what is wrong with you all.?

23. @ Trip Advisor
    You are throwing pearls to swine – who resemble brass bowls… OK?
    What did Bob Marley say….?
    “In the abundance of water, the brass bowl is thirsty….”

24. Trip advisor:

What wonderful advice for all of us. I know that you belong somewhere; I do hope it is not in Delhi at the bottom of the hill where the untouchables reside. For we all know that you SHALL not go back there. If it is Europe, the unemployment is way up and given your mentality, I am very sure you are incapable of little. Do not waste the African thing on me; I am a half breed. You go and figure half breed what!

25. Le mule- as you are a fool i will overlook your total nonsense,
    truth is Africa is opening up and had possibly more to offer to you
    than barbados.
    of course you take it wrong! as you are a ass.when you are born a idiot it is hard to stop being one for life.
    i hope you do not end up anywhere as you must be a foolish idiot with no
    possibility of outside the box thinking..sad little person. mongrel you say.!
    wow!

26. Barbados Outperforms Emerging-Market Debt After Investor ‘Panic’

By Isabella Cota Apr 30, 2014 6:25 PM GMT

Barbados bonds are heading for the second-best performance in emerging markets this month as investors gain confidence in the government’s plan to narrow a budget deficit that prompted the firing of 3,000 public workers.

The yield on the Caribbean island’s dollar-denominated bonds due 2022 have tumbled 79 basis points, or 0.79 percentage point, this month to 8.33 percent at 1:41 p.m. New York time. The country’s debt has returned 5.8 percent, outperforming the 1.4 percent average for emerging markets, according to JPMorgan Chase & Co. indexes. Venezuelan debt led emerging markets with a 9.7 percent return.

The International Monetary Fund last year called on Barbados to make “urgent adjustments” to contain a debt burden that climbed to 94 percent of gross domestic product, higher than the level that prompted a European Union-led bailout of Cyprus. Bond yields rose in December, when the government announced the firings and said it would freeze public-sector wages in a country famous for its beaches and rum.

“Once people got over the panic we had earlier this year, they’re looking for some kind of yield,” said John Welch, a market strategist at Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce in Toronto. The bonds “are still discounting a pretty high probability of default for Barbados, which we don’t think is there if they continue with their current plan,” he said.

Calls to the Barbados Finance Ministry and Central Bank weren’t returned.

‘Significant Risks’

In February, after the IMF issued a report saying the island’s $3.7 billion economy faced “significant risks,” Trade Minister Donville Inniss said the government was confident that the fired public sector workers would find employment in the private sector.

Signs of growth in Barbados’s top market, the U.K., are positive for the island, Welch said. Cruise ship arrivals climbed 4.1 percent in February from a year earlier. The first-quarter GDP report is expected May 6.

“The government has put in a very large effort, and we’re still waiting for the first-quarter data,” Welch said. “But for sure they’ve been putting into place a strong policy.”

To contact the reporter on this story: Isabella Cota in San Jose, Costa Rica at icota@bloomberg.net

To contact the editors responsible for this story: Bill Faries at wfaries@bloomberg.net; Brendan Walsh at bwalsh8@bloomberg.net Lester Pimentel