Tracey Shuffler, President, Barbados Chamber of Commerce& Industry

The recent downgrade of Barbados’ bond rating by Moody’s from B3 to Ba3, to be followed by Standard & Poor’s, has triggered a national debate which has become routine in the last five years.  The harsh reality – which cannot be refuted by the political partisans –  is that all economic indicators  are trending down and there is a sense of hopelessness permeating this fair land.

Management 101 advises that a leader should do many things in a time of crisis, at the top of BU’s list is the need to communicate, communicate, communicate. All the channels available should be used effectively to get a coherent message abroad, the message, the output of a communication strategy. And importantly, the message must be repeated to ensure it resonates. Some functions cannot be delegated by a leader.

The calls coming from key stakeholders for the Prime Minister to speak to the issues to reassure Barbadians have been increasing and are sure to hit a crescendo when the Standard & Poor’s downgrade eventually comes. After six years of a Stuart led government, it is obvious the strategy is to retreat from the public space until seven days have passed. Unfortunately for Barbadians, it has become clear the economy is about to enter free fall because government policies are not visibly working.

Alex McDonald, Chairman, Barbados Private Sector Association

Occupying the attention of the government of late has been the more targeted commentary emanating from the offices of the Barbados Chamber of Commerce (BCCI)  and the Barbados Private Sector Association (BPSA)  as a result of the recent change of the guards. A key indicator which BU monitors is the Relationship Index which measures the level/type of engagement between government and private sector groups. After listening to Alex McDonald, head of the BPSA and  Tracey Shuffler, head of the BCCI in the wake of the recent downgrade one must surmise there is a level of distrust in government’s policies which will compromise any hope of building a cohesive public private partnership. Note that unlike 1990s when the Social Partnership was born in a similar economic climate it has not performed during this crisis.

Last year BU posted a blog which featured former minister of tourism of Bahamas and Secretary General of the Caribbean Tourism Organization – The Caribbean Must Become the United States of the Caribbean Tourism Style. A success story he shared which Barbados stakeholders clearly have not appreciated is the need for the public sector and private sectors to function as one sector. There is a symbiosis between the two which should be obvious more so in an economic crisis.

To restate previous points posted in other BU blogs. The government can rollout all the policies its limited resources can muster, if the Prime Minster through his leadership of the government is unable to infuse confidence in the citizenry, we will continue to travel on a pathway to nowhere.

The biggest embarrassment for BU was  to read the comments by Prime Minister Mitchell of Grenada in todays press expressing alarm at the state of the Barbados economy. How far this proud little island known for punching above its weight class has plummeted.

BU agrees with Minister Donville Inniss who has been the one to respond first to all criticisms levelled at government, the latest Peter Boos and the Moody’s downgrade, it will take time to turn around the economy but do we have the right set of drivers at the wheel to get it done?

177 responses to “It’s the Government Stupid”

1. @prodical

I got u where I want u , have I. Ponder on that before you respond, u hypocrite.

2. You mean to tell me that people are still backing the DLP to the hilt? Must be a little something in there for them.
    By the way, How come that a sister of the woman that De-not-nice Lowe was /is said to be screwing is one of those from the NCC who is still working, despite the fact that she was taken on long after many of those who were sent home. And we need a tribunal for this?

3. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Blue Boy

We do not need a tribunal: we need elections. The problem is, who to elect.

4. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Yankeebajan
    Thank you for putting in a plug with my boo boo AC. She means well and recently have improve her writing. She is a die hard DLP follower. My only problem with my boo is her failings to see the obvious in this party who has a heap of corruptive accusations labeled at them. I want her to drudge up facts so that when her detractors hit she can hit harder. But she continues in generalizations that makes her points dubious and water down. I really ain’t the politico type, though research is my forte. My boo has this propensity to attack the messenger without refuting with her facts the message. I mean the yard-fowls are on both sides of the fence. Benefactors from crumbs and choice bread have to defend the positions of their bakers – after all they receiving the ‘bread.” That is obvious, so people like me and that darling Tea Bush and a few others could afford to attack the shit on both sides of the toilet. Unfortunately the yard-fowls cannot.

5. listen up yuh all that read my comments don;t worry about the contents most importantly its intent,,,,,,,ac not a dummie,,,,,doing it rhianna style,,meking people mad as helll and working the hell out of while doing it ,,,jaw dropping nonsense to those who does not understand , ..and it works,,,,,,,bush tea has two faces,,on any giving day no one knows which face he might be wearing,,,, one bold faced hypocrite,,,,,

6. @AC

morning u cant sleep. u up very early. I note that those detractors gone silent. They don’t have a response to the stamen from mof, only the miller could have a half spiited response about accrual accounting concept, not recognizing that cleaning up the mess, owen and his gang left behind. I am awaiting the prodical to give me the information I have requested of him, perhaps he waiting miller to help him, for I to then destroy his illogic with a laser guided logic demolition argument.

Girl have a good day, don’t let sss antagonize you. She is my new friend, not bushie. Wait girl, what has become of scott that used to here blogging, hope he aint sick, just hope he run out of steam.

7. @ ac
    bush tea has two faces,,on any giving day no one knows which face he might be wearing,,,, one bold faced hypocrite
    ++++++++++++
    What two faces bush tea got?
    Bush Tea got ONE phobia……..THE BUSHMAN DONT LIKE SHIITE..
    ….so Bushie don’t like BLP shiite
    ….Bushie don’t like DLP shiite
    …Bushie laughs at PDC shiite
    ….and the bushman DEFINITELY don’t deal with the homo shiite.

You could want anything more consistent than that?
    You like it when Bushie attack the BLP shiite and hate it when DLP shiite get thrown at the fan ….cause you is a singleminded lackey and yard fowl….YOU got two faces…. Ha Ha

Right now Bushie vex with Caswell too….doing shiite with one UNITY union when he should be working on Barbados UNITY Party….
    …too much shiite in the damn place. No wonder you seem so much at home…. 🙂

8. bushie,,,,,i am not a yardfowl ,,,,if you check my portfolio these are the adjectives to describe ac,,,,,,,,,persistent determined optimistic ,,,,,,,,,nuh…not yardfowl,,,,,,,,,does not attend organizations or attached myself to such,,,that preaches DOOM AND GLOOM whether it be Church or political parties too stressful for me…..ac wants to see that this tiny planet on which we share …we all live in peace and harmony………….no bull shit……

sorry bro but that Unity thing not going to work…..can’t see how u gonna control CASWELL……a man who takes on govt……well your a.ss would be grass when he gets to YOU……best fuh you to keep blowing yuh trumpet on BU and spinning as much crap possible,,,maybe ..just maybe one day BBE might answer your call…. bro…..

9. @Bush Tea et al

Please try to share your good knowledge on the content and avoid the distractions. Some people on this blog hold positions gleaned from the newspapers and are clueless to what is happening on the ground.

On 8 June 2014 13:21, Barbados Underground wrote:

10. @Due Diligence

Your comments suggest that you are either on the government payroll or have been smoking some of the local weed, possibly both.

The IMF has more knowledge and experience in economic finance than Barbados Politicians could remotely muster on their best day. It’s a fundamental BLACK POLITICAL PROBLEM WORLDWIDE, failure to listen to good advice but construe the advice as malicious interference. Well the are numerous countries that have been down this road to failure, the question being is BARBADOS NEXT. With attitudes like yours the answer is obvious.

11. @Willy Coyote

Onside with your view that our problem is rooted in fiscal indiscipline and conspicuous consumption. At some point when the economic boom subsided we should have anticipated the fallout. We have built our ‘success’ on the back of debt.

On 8 June 2014 13:39, Barbados Underground wrote:

12. David wrote “We have built our ‘success’ on the back of debt ”

Debt is an addictive drug pedalled successfully by the money lenders and Commercial Banks.
    Withdrawal symptoms are painful.

Anyhow David in 1 hour from now the entertainment starts. Go Windies Go.

I will have to multi task. Cricket streaming on the computer and Formula 1 on Tv. Sweeeeet!

13. @Hants

French Open!

On 8 June 2014 14:04, Barbados Underground wrote:

14. Hants:
    I saw a clip from a Canadian civil rights lawyer discussing freedom of speech and hate speech. I did not know that Canada had such stringent legislation which it came to hate speech!!

15. Caswell Franklyn | June 8, 2014 at 12:17 AM |
    Blue Boy

We do not need a tribunal: we need elections. The problem is, who to elect.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Looks like we will have to adopt the Jeremy Clarkson’s Method. With the exception that we should utilise the necks instead of the toes , of this lot now in charge, if any of them has the brass to try facing the electorate again.

16. Due Diligence Avatar

@ Wily Coyote | June 8, 2014 at 9:39 AM |
    @Due Diligence

Your comments suggest that you are either on the government payroll or have been smoking some of the local weed, possibly both.

The IMF has more knowledge and experience in economic finance than Barbados Politicians could remotely muster on their best day. It’s a fundamental BLACK POLITICAL PROBLEM WORLDWIDE, failure to listen to good advice but construe the advice as malicious interference. Well the are numerous countries that have been down this road to failure, the question being is BARBADOS NEXT. With attitudes like yours the answer is obvious.

Wily – you obviously missed the June 6 comment below

Due Diligence | June 6, 2014 at 10:27 AM |
    Wyly Coyote

I am sorry that my sarcasm escaped you.

“We don’t need no IMF or first world auditor to come down hey to tell us what to do” was said with my tongue in my cheek.

It is indeed thinking like that that has got Barbados into the financial difficulties it’s now experiencing, no plan, no action, no foresight except the greed to line one’s pockets.

Your food for thought was bang-on – nothing short of the measures you suggest will just lead to a deeper hole.

But I fear that is the reaction you will get from the brainiacs in charge.

See story “Last Resort” reporting on remarks of “Government’s principal advisor Sir Frank Alleyne” in today’s Barbados Today

“With a staff team from the International Monetary Fund [IMF] currently on island carrying out assessments, Government’s principal advisor Sir Frank Alleyne today issued a strong word of warning to the Freundel Stuart administration to stay far away from any formal reconstruction programme with the Washington-based institution.”

Nuff said.”

So, DD is neither on the government payroll nor smoking local weed.

And, yes the IMF (and Moody’s) has more knowledge and experience in economic finance than Barbados Politicians (and Dr. No Worry) could remotely muster on their best day.

BTW Any suggestions on how I can get on the government payroll or some local weed? LOL

17. @Due Dilegence

Big SORRY form Wily

18. Central Bank warning
    Added by Carol Williams on June 8, 2014.
    Saved under Economy, Local News

Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur is tonight warning that the economy could fail if the Central Bank of Barbados does not act quickly by putting in place measures to protect the Barbados dollar.

Speaking in the wake of last week’s downgrade of the country’s credit rating by Moody’s, which also pointed to increasing pressure on the currency as a result of Government’s borrowing, Arthur said the law governing the Bank clearly states what must be done if the dollar is under threat.

“Moody’s is telling us that it had to downgrade Barbados by three notches because the Central Bank has been printing money and it is undermining and threatening the stability of the Barbados dollar. The question that every Barbadian [should be asking], and I am asking it on behalf of the people whom I represent in St Peter, [is] has Dr [Delisle] Worrell, in the face of the situation where the actions of the Central Bank in buying up Government treasury bills by printing money, complied with section 48 of the Act that requires him to submit a report to the minister drawing attention to situation?

“If, after consultation with the Bank, the minister is of the opinion that policies being pursued by the Bank are not adequate or conducive to the achievements of the Bank as set out in section five, and section five says the Bank must promote monetary stability…then the minister shall send a written order to the Bank determining the policy to be adopted by the Bank and the Bank shall thereupon give effect to that policy while the order remains in operation,” the St Peter Member of Parliament said.

Yesterday, Prime Minister Freundel Stuart described the Moody’s downgrade as trash.

In response, Arthur merely urged the prime minister to seek advice before speaking on such matters to avoid bringing his office into disrepute.

The former minister of finance, who also served as a director of the central bank, told the meeting of the Barbados Labour Party St Peter branch at the Alma Parris Memorial Secondary School that the time for “announcements and pronouncements are over”.

“Freundel face it and fix it. Govern. We did not need Moody’s report to tell us the true state of things in our land. For many of you it is lived, experienced,” he said, adding that some of the actions required of Government may be embarrassing.

The veteran politician likened the situation in the country to an avalanche and pointed to recent statements by veteran hotelier Bernie Weatherhead, which suggested that some small properties could close this summer.

“If our leading sector fails, this economy can fail. And I urge Barbadians to take it seriously. There are others [countries] that have failed and it will take a generation to bring it back,” Arthur warned.

19. Owen Arthur is showing he still got some fire left. Beware of rejuvenated politicians.

20. Colonel Buggy Avatar

In my wildest dream, I could never have imagined that this island of Barbados, which had its eyes on becoming a First World status, now finds itself at the bottom of the barrel,with Haiti as its stable mate. And all that we are concerned about is Chicken Wings. Are these really chicken wings or red herrings?

21. I am waiting to see how things pans out in the Prime Minister’s constituency, where a Canadian rich man, who lives at Gunsite, is claiming the long established public road and is building high guard walls in front of ,and close to other residents homes.
    Apparently he was given notice to remove the illegal structures, but it looks as if someone , somewhere, is looking out for him.

22. Tudor, despite what you may think about this government and the manner in which it governs the affairs of Barbados, the fact of the matter is it has been elected by a fair political process. And I do not know what kind of genie in a bottle you expect this government to have; capable of fix an economy that has been afflicted by one of the worse economic melt down in recent times? Roman wasn’t built in a day, and as we well know: it is going to take sometimes to regain the progress that we have had and now sought once more.

23. @ Dompey
    …did you not say you voted for Obama twice?
    Why the hell don’t you go and confuse one of Obama’s blogs?

If Stuart and his band of idiots find themselves incapable of dealing with the difficult global economic conditions then they have many options:

• RESIGN and go away.
    • Say so – and seek advice from those who know. Set up a NATIONAL ADVISORY COUNCIL and take their advice.
    • Listen to the International experts who offer advise and stop talking shiite like little girls.
    • Call elections and let the BLP set of idiots embarrass themselves- cause they don’t know either.
    • Claim that his health is an issue and resign and go and look for a woman or some shiite
    • Help Caswell to set up BUP and get out of the way

……but instead of one of these, Stuart has chosen to…
    – RETIRE…and stay quiet until the pension date….

Perhaps you, Yankeebajan, Bajanyankee, Barbados1966, and Mark Fenty could follow Stuart’s lead…. 🙂

24. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Dompey

What is fair about buying votes and lying to the electorate?

25. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

Hants, your statistics are blips in the market, wings, thighs, legs and backs are offal in the US market, even in the south where they are ‘dumped’.

26. Bush Tea | June 9, 2014 at 7:13 AM |

@ Dompey
    …did you not say you voted for Obama twice?
    Why the hell don’t you go and confuse one of Obama’s blogs?

Hahahahahaha…………….Bushie…….. you is the best

27. Politics is a funny thing, when people don’t get what expected from an M P,they do their worse to discredit that individual ,and the party he represents.,I was of the opinion that this Corn beef and biscuits politics was a thing of the past,but when you come across people like boy blue, bush tea ,and colonel Byou cant help but wonder