115 responses to “Auditor General Report on Financial Statements 2012-2013”

1. Thanks BUPPS, a read of the AG comments should make ALL Barbadians hang their heads in shame. Note BU stated Barbadians and not Bee or Dee.

2. Due Diligence Avatar

This is from Page 6 of the Auditor General Report 2013

Staffing at the Barbados Audit Office

1.14 For a number of years the issue of the timely filling of the posts for the office has been reported on. I again have to report that the issue remains unresolved. There are seventy-six (76) posts assigned to the Office and only thirty-nine (39) are currently filled. In relation to the auditing staff only twenty-nine (29) of the sixty -five (65) posts are filled. An effort has been made to fill some of the posts but it was not very successful as there were not enough suitable candidates to be appointed to the posts. I also see the issue of staffing the Office by the Personnel Administration as compromising the independence of the Audit Office which is the external auditor to the Government. The external auditor should not be reliant on an entity it audits for resources and should be given responsibility for the recruitment of its staff.

Could it be a deliberate strategy by Government to starve the Audit Office of the (human) resources it needs to do its job; so it cannot do its job?

3. According to the auditor’s report, pg 19, item 11:
    loans made to Barbados Cricket Association:
    2012 restated: 144,664
    2013: 5,650,504

Can someone explain the 5.6 million loan for cricket in a time of austerity for Barbados? We already learned from the World Cup that cricket is not a money maker.

4. Check page 36:

There was also $124 million advanced to a Government owned company Clearwater Bay to settle a loan guarantee made in respect of the Four Seasons project. This advance was not from an appropriation as required.

It is recommended that:

The Treasury re-evaluates the accounting process for these advances and ensures that there are made from amounts approved by Parliament.

5. So David et toute monde bagai……the municipal tax has been reduced from 0.7% to 0.3% that is .70 cents on every dollar to .30 cents on the dollar. Didn’t the mof say that it was 0 .70% ? When Donville stated that there seem to be an error the idiot mof reiterated that was not the case. So what happened here then? Now all of a sudden it is now 0.30 %???

So if the improved value of the property is $250,000.00 that means I will have to pay $833.00? Plus land tax? Where does this government think people will get this kind of money from? People need to protest outside parliament because this an unfair tax and it is unethical. As bushie stated, we need to reduce our food bill and that is a priority. This government is holding the population hostage.

6. @islandgal

The government restated the tax.

It is only a very rich few whose improved value would hit such a big number.

7. DLP (formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) TV

@ Artaxerxes & Yagga that so-called “call-in program” Talk-yuh-Talk on CBC as it stands , is an abomination and should be renamed “DLP Talk”. Really, i though such a pro party program would be “alien” to the Barbadian media landscape because all they do is encourage “political garrisoning” like in other countries, and B’dos does pride itself (well at least before 2008) of at least trying to “appear” to offer both parties equal access to the media e.g. check the program “the People’s Business” before and after the 2008 election. I gine be real, during the BLP administration Talk-yuh-Talk was “leaning” to the gov’t side, i understood why (knowing the nature of CBC) . I couldn’t stand a program where callers got to be conscious of not “offending” gov’t and that is why i didn’t listen to it too often.
    Right now the “moderators” on Talk-uh-Talk barely veiling their assault on BLP supporters.
    Then you got people gine accuse Brass Tacks of being one that leaning towards the “Bees”. Before the 2008 elections most of the callers to Brass Tacks were “Ds” with their bellyaching; most of DEM some does still call in even now. Even some of the moderators ran on a DLP “ticket”. So the DEMs got a whole program for DEMselves and want to take over Brass Tacks. “DA CANT WORK!!!!!”. I mean, that Talk-Yuh-Talk “program” as it is just displays the DEMS lack of “finesse” in doing anything right now. There is a very subtle difference between having a program “promoting” a gov’ts position and its business in general and one that tries to push a party position at a populace. This is so even though a party will assume the gov’t

8. On a side note ANR Robinson the former PM of T&T died yesterday and one of his achievements is the proposal to establish a permanent International Court which led to the establishment of the International Criminal Court.

That is a legacy of which Trinidadians should be very proud.

9. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

David | April 9, 2014 at 8:28 PM |

Check page 36:

There was also $124 million advanced to a Government owned company Clearwater Bay to settle a loan guarantee made in respect of the Four Seasons project. This advance was not from an appropriation as required.

It is recommended that:

The Treasury re-evaluates the accounting process for these advances and ensures that there are made from amounts approved by Parliament. @

wow and you all can not see where the money went or who got paid ahead of time before it was completed ,

All the crooks MPs got paid right before the last elections in case they were to loose, Now none want to give back the money .
    Give the people more TAXES ,
    The American went to WAR over taxes with England.

10. @ David
    An improved value of $250,000.00 is fairly common place when you consider that the actual sale price for a property at Coverley, Christ Church exceeds this amount. The likelihood therefore is that the improved value will be in excess of $300,000.00. Both the site and improved values are shown on the annual Land Tax Bills. A look at the 2013-2014 Bill would be instructive.

11. “That is a legacy of which Trinidadians should be very proud”
    International Criminal Court? another hoax like the International Peacekeeping Force and the promotion of Globalisation which are all designed among other things like Aids And the legalisation of abortion to eventually condition and manipulate us to accept a NEW WORLD ORDER the result of which would be to the benefit of the elite.

12. So what’s Mark Maloney’s role in the Adopt-a-km project, building the 4×4 displays and providing the flowers? Laawd could government not have empowered severed NCC and Beautify workers to set up a company to do the same thing? Stupse

13. a project that would create over 8 hundred non paying govt jobs,,,,,,,,and some can not even understand the simplicity,,,,,,,,but rather revert to the complexities that have put the country under financial strain…

14. @ balance
    Well said about the ICC.
    An institution – like most UN entities – that has been used predominantly against third world bullies by first world war mongers and tyrants to achieve their racist ends.

15. @ ac
    some can not even understand the simplicity,,,,,,
    ++++++++++
    There is a BIG difference between SIMPLICITY and SIMPLISTIC.
    If you just want to create NUFF jobs we can always go back to the plantation days…..and if you think about it, that seems to be successive Government’s approach.

Ever heard of EMPOWERMENT and enfranchisement? …that is what Enuff is saying….
    …wait…Bushie agreeing with Enuff..? !!!! 🙂

16. @ac

For those of us who pay taxes in Barbados our concern is about the lack of transparency around the project. All over the world citizens try to participate in their democracies by asking questions etc. You wouldn’t understand citizens trying to participate in a democracy, however if the BLP were in government there is a good bet you would.

17. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

I am still waiting on the management of The Nation BLP Newspaper to explain why it is necessary to have the BLP spokesman Clyde Mascoll writing a political column in the paper every week while refusing to allow anyone from the DLP to write in the paper.
    When you add Clyde Mascoll to the other BLP supporters like Glyne Murray, Caswell Franklyn, Pat Hoyos, Albert Brandford, Ezra Alleyne, Peter Wickham(Mottley political advisor) and Sanka Price you get a clear picture of the political bias of the Nation BLP newspaper.

A newspaper does not create the news but it chooses its columnists to give opinions. The fact that the Nation newspaper has obviously chosen to employ columnists affiliated with the BLP confirms that the Nation Newspaper is the BLP public relations department.

18. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

The Nation newspaper should be ashamed of their political bias.They are behaving like a journalistic prostitute with the BLP as their pimp.
    What mirror image does the Nation BLP newspaper have?

19. @ NationBLPnewspaper
    why it is necessary to have the BLP spokesman Clyde Mascoll writing a political column in the paper every week while refusing to allow anyone from the DLP to write in the paper
    ….you mean that you have not yet figured out the answer to your main question yet…?
    BECAUSE THEY WANT TO FRIG UP BARBADOS…and then buy um cheap….
    …so check that when the BLP forms the government, Prodigal Son and Enuff will be asking why only DLP people writing…?

The Nation belong to Trickidadians – whose aim is to take over every shiite in Barbados – so they will have a place to come to where they feel a bit safer…can’t you see what a great job they have done so far…
    …besides, how difficult is it to take away stuff from brass bowls….?
    They already have the banks, plantations, supermarkets, stores, oil, flying fish….and Miller and Enuff here on BU trying their best to sell them the damn airport, ABC highway, the Port…… last thing we will sell them is our actual asses…
    …wait….Wickham start that already….!!!

20. Bushie you sound like a miserable old fart. Why don’t you open your eyes as to why the trinies own so much of local businesses? The flying fish don’t even want to remain in BIM because it is too expensive to swim and eat in our waters. Stop bellyaching and waiting for your BBE to end the problems of Barbados. Why not get up of your fat behind and start helping instead of flapping you gums. You are sounding like a stuck 45 record. How about opening your coconut head to newer ideas. My 2×4 will open it for you if you can’t.

21. @ac
    I tend not to respond to you cuz um does be like pulling bird teet. Please tell me where I said government was to pay the workers running their own company? My simple brain tells me that the workers will be paid from the revenue collected from the fees paid by companies to “adopt”. So again I ask, what is Mr.Maloney providing–the 4×4 (concrete slabs?) and flowers? Stop writing cuntery on the blog!

@Bushie
    Aint the 1st time we agree…you doan know when I approve with a click if the like tab. As for columnists, I support openly political columnists. The nationblp character needs to ask the same of the publicly funded CBC too.

22. @Balance
    International Criminal Court? another hoax like the International Peacekeeping Force and the promotion of Globalisation which are all designed among other things like Aids And the legalisation of abortion to eventually condition and manipulate us to accept a NEW WORLD ORDER the result of which would be to the benefit of the elite
    Don’t want to hijack the post but you’ve said a whole mouthful without saying anything so let me see if I can decipher the meaning
    1) Aids is a plot to destabilise the Third world, I suppose you can add Ebola and any disease that is present in tropical countries or poor countries. Those poor bastards in the gay community where the illness first reared its head didn’t know their illness was the result of an experiment gone wild.
    2) Legalise abortion has been foisted upon poor countries by the big bullies in the developed countries ( why did anyone not tell the George Bush whose administration cut off funding to UN Agencies that provided assistance in the form of BIRTH CONTROL to Third World countries ) and you do understand BIRTH CONTROL is not abortion. I don’t want to even get into China being manipulated into a one child policy
    3) ICC is a hoax upon the marginalised- a pity that Uganda didn’t know because when those bullies were urging the country’s Gov’t to make some accommodation with Joseph Kony their Gov’t referred the case to the ICC which imposed a judgement against Kony which caused South Sudan to deny him access to that part of the country and gradually reduced his influence to the point where his force is a rump hiding in the bush in central Africa

I could go on but people should go by facts not wild speculation and as I said I don’t want to disrupt the post but had to combat the rubbish that you and Bush T are spouting.

23. What is the evidence for saying that the Nation refuses copy space to DLP columnists?

24. Sargeant

Spot on.

25. @ David
    Just like how Bush Park already design the redevelopment and not “consulting”. See why I defended Dr. Alleyne’s approach for the S.Davids plan?

26. @enuff

Hmmm

27. 0.7% of $100 000 (unimproved value) = $700

0.3% of $400 000 (improved value) = $1200

Does the revised municipal waste tax mean that open lots which have no improved value will attract no tax?

Do pensioners have to pay the municipal waste tax?

28. I meant to say they have completed the designs and are now consulting with residents.

29. Sargeant……..anyone who supports Joseph Kony is one sick fcuk, so i was right about you……lol

30. @ Ping Pong

Yesterday I asked David if the way the legislation is worded means lots without buildings would not have to pay the solid waste tax and I got no answer. Someone called brass tacks today and said that is the case. I’ll have to await confirmation from official sources.

31. @ NationBLPnewspaper

“The Nation newspaper should be ashamed of their political bias. They are behaving like a journalistic prostitute with the BLP as their pimp.”

As Bushie would say…. NationBLPnewspaper you wun stop dis newspaper hating shiite? The same accusations you are leveling at the Nation, could be aimed at CBC and the Advocate as well.

I asked you what was your opinion of the Nation when they had DLP columnist like Reggie Hunte, Irene Sandiford-Garner, Reudon Eversley, Peter Wickham and Harold Hoyte [when they were attacking the BLP], and Waldo Waldron-Ramsay?

Man, yuh controlling CBC radio and TV, the GIS and yuh got the Advocate in yuh top pocket. Cheese on bread, man, you want everybody to big-up the brass-bowl these fellows doing? {I too like Bushie’s words}. Even Eric Lewis left the Advocate after all these years. The definition of being “balanced” to you fellows is to praise everything the DLP do and cuss Mottley and them.

The amount of money you take to buy a Nation every day, read it, and then come on this blog to write shiite, you could buy an Advocate, watch CBC and listen to Maureen and John on 100:7 fm CBC radio. I’m sure this will derive much satisfaction from doing so.

32. @Ping Pong
    Per Sen. McClean the tax will be applied only to properties with an improved value but assessed on the site value @ the rate of .3%.
    Thus undeveloped land will not attract the tax.

33. Bush Tea, April 10, 2014 at 6:19 AM:

“Well said about the ICC … An institution – like most UN entities – that has been used predominantly against third world bullies by first world war mongers and tyrants to achieve their racist ends.”

Bollocks from an ignoramus who’s less concerned with facts than with angry and information-free assertions. All hat and no trousers. More mouth than brain.

Half of the cases now before the ICC were referred to the court by the African governments concerned with each case.

Bushie, man, you should spend less time on smiley faces and try to grow a brain. Read more than Lowdown, Dick.

34. Chapter 5 Page 132

“In December 1997, the Ministry compulsorily acquired 116,168 and 3,033 square meters of land at Six Men’s, St Peter, The land owner, in February 1998, claimed compensation of $75 million for the land but objected to the acquisition. In this instance, over 16 years have passed since the land was compulsorily acquired, and the matter of compensation has not been resolved. This matter is still before the Court of Appeal.”

The land owner claimed $75,000 million for approximately 30 acres of land. The land owner undoubtedly claimed more than the then fair market value. And Government undoubtedly offered less than the then fair market value.

DD may be incorrect, but understands that interest will be accruing on the compensation due from date of compulsory acquisition to date of payment; even though Government has trouble grasping the concept of accrual accounting.

The following is admittedly a ball-park guestimate. Assuming the Court of Appeal (some day) determines the 1997 fair market value and compensation due to be $40 million ($1.3 million/acre); with interest compounding at 5% annually, compensation with interest at this point, 16 years later, is over $88 million and accruing at over $4 million per year.

It would be helpful if someone in the BU family could determine the current status of this 16 year-old case.

Here’s hoping the Court of Appeal will render it decision before the proceeds go the Estate of the land owner.

Chapter 5.67 Page 134 Accounting for Compensation due by the Government

“As at March 31, 2013, the Ministry recorded that it owed compensation at one hundred and twelve (112) locations and reported approximately $157 million as its contingent liability”

If the compensation due for the 30 acres at Six Men’s is anywhere near $88 million, the $157 million “contingent liability” would appear to be grossly understated.

35. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

DD,

just a thought. Did Government not pay Neal and Massy BDS$100 million for the 32 acres at Almond Beach Village?
    Was this figure deemed fair market value and why would N&M settle for anything less?

36. @islandgal246 | April 9, 2014 at 8:30 PM |

So David et toute monde bagai……the municipal tax has been reduced from 0.7% to 0.3% that is .70 cents on every dollar to .30 cents on the dollar. Didn’t the mof say that it was 0 .70% ? When Donville stated that there seem to be an error the idiot mof reiterated that was not the case. So what happened here then? Now all of a sudden it is now 0.30 %???…………………………………

islandgal,
    I am convinced that the ignoramus we have for a fine ants minister only changed this because of Donville’s protestations. Donville said out front it has to be a mistake and had to be changed. It was in Donville’s interest to get it changed……………….you really think Donville is about paying out so much money for the umpteen properties he owns? Remember he said he was not about any salary cuts, he has bills to pay lie anybody else!

I wonder if Butch Stewart has to pay this tax on Sandals? LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!

37. @Well Well
    Sargeant……..anyone who supports Joseph Kony is one sick fcuk, so i was right about you……lol
    Who cares what you think about me, where did I write anything favouring Joseph Kony? You’ve just confirmed that you lack basic comprehension skills.

38. What should be scarey about the AG comments for 2013 is the wildly indiscipline manner our heads of government continue to flout the financial rules of Barbados. One must surmise that the same attitude and approach must inform other activities when performing their jobs generally.

39. “I could go on but people should go by facts not wild speculation and as I said I don’t want to disrupt the post but had to combat the rubbish that you and Bush T are spouting.”
    I was only wetting your appetite and you end up putting your foot in your mouth but thanks anyhow for elaborating on my rubbish,
    Why take every opportunity to take pot shots at poor George Bush. Do you not know that he is highly regarded in Africa for his vigorous efforts in the fight against the aids epidemic on the Continent.

40. “An institution – like most UN entities – that has been used predominantly against third world bullies by first world war mongers and tyrants to achieve their racist ends”
    Definitely. You would never see any of Leaders of the G7 before the International Criminal Court. Matter of fact, If my memory serves me correctly, THE USA is not even a member. As you pointed out in your rubbish according to the gospel of the Sargeant ; it seems to be a court for African tyrants only. Not in this world or the next would for example the likes of Clinton for the mayhem he created with his bombings in Kosovo and imposition ‘no- fly- zone’ over Iraq; Bush and Putin for the untold physical, psychological and sociological damage done to the countries Chechnya and Iraq respectively and Castro for the human rights abuses against the suffering Cuban people for half a century be ever tried before this mockery of justice International Criminal Court.

41. @ balance
    Sargeant means well.
    Not everyone is meant to be able to grasp the bigger picture….else no one would become a soldier and subject themselves to the petty idiocy of officers and politicians.
    Our world needs its sargeants, corporals and privates – who believe whatever they hear, and do what ever they are told.
    LOL…
    How much do you want to bet that Sargeant disagrees that the UN is fully responsible for the current cholera disaster wrecking havoc in Haiti…..?

42. @Bush Tea

You should go further that their claim for compensation was dclined. What a wonderful world we live in.

43. Sargeant……the error you made is thinking that no one else on the blog knows who Joseph Kony is…..now you are trying to turn attention on me, you know that is not a good thing to do right?

44. isn,t part of govt efforts to save money..then some blp yardfowl belives that govt should create some kind a fandangle agency to beautfy the road .here is a project that a private company is going toundertake and some blp yardfowl talking crap about empowerment

45. @Bushie
    How much do you want to bet that Sargeant disagrees that the UN is fully responsible for the current cholera disaster wrecking havoc in Haiti…..?
    Why don’t you ask David the reproduce the thread that I wrote that implicated the UN force in the cholera outbreak?

46. @Well Well
    Sargeant……the error you made is thinking that no one else on the blog knows who Joseph Kony is…..
    ++++++++++
    Will someone pin the tail on this donkey? Joseph Kony has been covered on this forum time and again and people have access to the Internet and all kinds of media why would I think that no one on the blog knows about Kony?

As I said basic comprehension skills

47. Bushie
    As I said I deal in facts FYI here is the submission from Nov.2010
    BTW the thread was about Tomas…..
    +++++++

Cholera deaths over 600 in Haiti. Why can’t we help these people?
    +++++++
    The hurricane was an act of nature while the Cholera epidemic is man made.
    Haiti, despite its many problems has not had Cholera out break in many years. According to the CDC the strain matches one that is found in South Asia and suspicion has been focused on some Nepalese peacekeepers stationed there. Apparently the compound of these peacekeepers was located near a river and according to an AP newsman who visited the site before it was “cleaned up” the toilet facilities were atrocious and in addition to stinking to high heaven the effluent found its way to a local river. Haitians were using the same river further downstream to wash their clothes, bathe and for drinking water.

The UN of course is trying to contain (cover up) the matter as the peacekeepers are unpopular with some elements of the community and if it is generally known that peacekeepers are responsible it would intensify efforts to get them out

http://news.yahoo.com/s/time/20101108/wl_time/08599202998200

48. @ Sargeant
    …man you think Bushie born in this century?
    You just quoted some news report…..
    Come out and say as man that the UNITED NATIONS carelessly and maliciously inflicted the dreaded cholera epidemic on the already poor and destitute people of Haiti and has since, in a cowardly and dastardly manner, sought to cover up the tragedy and to escape any kind of responsibility……
    …as your balls begin to grow, you can also add that – this is however STANDARD practice when it comes to UN actions in poor third world countries in Africa and Asia…… Which is the original point that balance was making….

49. Sargeant…..the Nepalese/Haitian issue is old news, remember everyone has internet, you are not teaching us anything new.

50. “The hurricane was an act of nature while the Cholera epidemic is man made”
    So was the Aids virus as an ethnic weapon as a means of population control the discovery of which was announced by Dr Robert Gallo at the National cancer institute on the grounds of Fort Derrick, Maryland, a primary U.S Army biological warfare research facility. The striking feature of the Aids Virus is that it’s ethno-selective. with the rate of infection twice as high among Blacks, Latinos and Native Americans as among whites.