115 responses to “Auditor General Report on Financial Statements 2012-2013”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

THis report is positively scandalous

We will soon be in the hands of the IMF

And these various heads of department should be in the hands of the Royal Barbados Police Force

Of course that would mean having a DPP with balls

And I would not expect Adriel Braffwit to lock up his fellow parliamentarians and their cronies

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I do hope that the Auditor General has someone “form the constabulary” like Mnister Chris tinkliar to protect his person from the death threats that Chris has “relaibly received from a senior police officail about the “hit” on Stinkliar’s life

3. It is not what is in the report for 2012/2013 but the fact that six years into another administration it is business as usual.

4. A casual look at the financials makes one wonder why we have not seen significant reduction in expenditure, for example transfers.

5. […] David Filed under: Barbados News Tagged: Auditor General Report …read […]

6. Some serious shiite has to be wrong in the thinking of all politicians in Barbados…perhaps ac and Dompey are REALLY advising the DLP yuh….

Imagine that the OBVIOUS problem with our finances is in a $800M and rising fuel bill and a near $1 billion imported food bill – and the minister of “fine ants” comes up with a new LAND TAX (and then is at pains to point out that a tax on the value of Bushie’s land is NOT a land tax – because he choose to call it a solid waste tax….?)
    ….Perhaps it is a shiite tax then??? .

This man is a COMPLETE IDIOT?

Any NORMAL human would tax FUEL, imported food, Luxury items etc….but no…..we can continue to drive around aimlessly and eat fancy imported genetically modified shiite ….but now can’t afford a little piece of land……to grow two sweet peppers on…

What the hell!!!!

7. The minister of fine ants is an idiot bushie, you shouldn’t be asking if he is one at this time. I am waiting to hear this municipal tax discussed in parliament. This is one tax that will make bajans see the full blown jackass for what he is. If fumble won’t fire him up until now then this will be the straw that should break the donkey’s back.

8. The Auditor General should receive a knighthood…..for bravery, honesty and diligence.

9. @islandgal

The Bill was debated yesterday in the lower house, it is .03% on the improved value on the site value.

@Bushie

To use Artex’s word to tax fuel will have a reverberant impact on the economy, if we lick we lock up and we are already in a depressed state.

10. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I was reading some excerpts from the Auditor General’s report as I am sure some of you have been as well, and you might think that it is bad. Well I have news for you: it is worse than you think. I will cite just one example for now:

The payment of reverse tax credits that have been paid out in error. There was no error, it was blatant embezzlement. Payments were made to fictitious persons and then encashed by a particular employee who deposited them all to the same bank account. This is known and the police was not called in for the individual.

11. It’s not that I don’t believe you Caswell, but can a ficticious person hold a bank account? How can what you described be achieved? Forgive my ignorance.

12. what is all the shite about lack of info from the private sector. this thing gets published every year.

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Peltdown

A ficticious person can hold a bank account if said fictitious person has two forms of Bajan ID that confirm their fictitious account name.

Our banks, without the benefit of any third party verification of the identity of the individual will establish the account and the party will continue to do banking under that name

Capiche?

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

But Caswell did not say that the fictitious person held the bank account he said the employee encashed them to their own account.

Which makes that employee a frigging idiot

15. @piece
    Capiche!

16. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

“encashed” the process related to cheque that is made payable to party “a” being made payable by “a” to “b” by words like please make the proceeds of this check payable to “b” signed by fictitious party ‘a”

Then B carries it to bank and bank gives them cash for it

17. @ David
    The reason why taxing fuel will be traumatic is PRECISELY why it is the right approach.
    WE CANNOT AFFORD TO BUY FUEL AT $100 per barrel to be used in the same manner to which we became accustomed when it was $20 per barrel…..
    Shiite man….THAT must be obvious.

So we will tax LAND to offset this obvious idiocy???? Wuh that is the sort of thing one would expect from dompey….
    Such a policy is saying that Bajans should sell their land and buy gasoline to drive around to the various supermarkets and cost-u-less to see which imported GM food cost a penny less than another venue..

That is what Bushie would call a brass bowl policy…..

Shiite man…the sooner BBE put an end to this lotta shiite – the better for all of us…..

18. We were told that the Stool tax was passed. Caswell or any other informed blogger, can you state if Arthur and Payne from the Bees or Estwick from the Dees were present at the voting. I am looking at a pattern by these gentlemen.

19. @ Pieceuhderock
    Boss man….why do you think that this “cheque cashier” is an idiot? This sorta shiite is common practice at the highest level in Barbados …who you know EVER get lockup?..?

Wuh if we started to prosecute people who do this in bubadus um would be easier to lockup the HONEST people safely in Dodds and have the damn lotta crooks outside…
    …Wuh we even got Prime ministerial material that admit to that shiite of taking cheques and depositing on their personal accounts.
    …..and don’t talk about those that demand CASH…..!!!!

Wunna think bout here easy nuh,,,!?
    Why wunna think that not a boy can touch Parris…?
    ….Wunna want he to start singing or Wuh…?

20. The Bees did lots of nonsense during the 14 years at the helm of Government and within six years we are seeing the same level of diverting funds by the present Government. How is it that an invoice for $6,509.29 was paid $1,259.023.64? Also how can you overpay a bill by $29,375.00 and another bill of $18,973.14 being paid twice? The past MoT should be made to answer these questions. If the Financial Controller ain’t have a clue about finance and his boss admitted that he hate Mathematics, no wonder we are in sorry state of affairs.

21. I want to say some thing
    but I don’t know what to say
    I am loss for words today
    Its not easy trying to say something
    I dont want to just say anything
    I am dumbfounded so I am asking
    What is it I should be saying

————————-==

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaagga – Pon Top –
    listening to Admiral introducing Pearson
    with JU/C and milk -curdling on top
    why we should

22. Bush Tea said “…Wuh we even got Prime ministerial material that admit to that shiite of taking cheques and depositing on their personal accounts.
    TELL me WHY will go further ….and a Prime Ministerial material along with his attorney controller seeing actual vote buying and did nothing and one of our policing upholder hearing two people planning to dispose of a financial controller and refuse to apprehend the villains, but had the audacity to inform the person that he must be careful. Oh what a sorry state of Governance and Policing in this Country. Even a Kangaroo shows responsibility.

23. It must be something in the food or water that these employees and ministers don’t see anything wrong with what they are doing that is effectively destroying the island…….OR is it that they are just damn greedy and evil.

24. David | April 9, 2014 at 8:20 AM |

@islandgal

The Bill was debated yesterday in the lower house, it is .03% on the improved value on the site value.
    ………………………………………………………………..

David….was it passed?

25. VH. It was passed but we ain’t know who vote.

26. Georgie Porgie Avatar

The Bees did lots of nonsense during the 14 years at the helm of Government and within six years we are seeing the same level of diverting funds by the present Government.

THE TRUTH IS THAT THIS KIND OF NONSENSE IS HAPPENING ALL OVER THE WORLD SIMULTANEOUSLY. WONDER WHY?

HALF THE STATES IN THE USA ARE BANKRUPT. WONDER WHY?

27. @ Georgie Porgie WHO WROTE “THIS KIND OF NONSENSE IS HAPPENING ALL OVER THE WORLD ”

YES GP.
    WE HUMAN BEINGS ARE GREEDY SELFISH BASTARDS WHO ASPIRE TO OWN AND CONSUME MATERIAL GOODS ……BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY IN THE SHORTEST TIME POSSIBLE.

28. David

Thanks for this post.

The report posted is the REPORT OF THE AUDITOR GENERAL on the FINANCIAL STATEMENTS of the GOVERNMENT OF BARBADOS 2012-2013, which the Auditor General says “are not presented fairly in conformity with the International Public Sector Accounting Standards”

What we need to see now is the separate document REPORT of the AUDITOR GENERAL for the year 2013, which will record details the deficiencies etc he found.

The 133 page REPORT of the AUDITOR GENERAL for the year 2012 can be found at:

http://www.bao.gov.bb/themes/marinelli/files/Auditor%20General%20Report%202012.pdf

29. Georgie Porgie said: “…THE TRUTH IS THAT THIS KIND OF NONSENSE IS HAPPENING ALL OVER THE WORLD SIMULTANEOUSLY. WONDER WHY?”

So yuh mean we have to follow the Joneses. We have nuff problems here in Barbados and you shifting the goal post talking bout what happening in the world. You know that stress is one on the biggest killer in the world and you trying to increase our stress level.

The law need real balls to counteract the unknown borrowing without permission aka fraud.

30. @ Due Diligence | April 9, 2014 at 10:50 AM |

Please enlightened why the audit report is signed off since January 31, 2013 and we now seeing it April 8, 2014. What about the 2013 report which should have been published all like now. Will we have to wait April 2015 to see that report.

31. Just heard Mary (aka the “Trinidadian Woman”… but she reminds me of “AC” on this blog) on Brass Tacks, in her usually hyperactive and highly emotive style, saying that when she compared the Auditor General’s report prior to 2008, to present she is seeing something completely different.
    Although she is seeing wastage under both administrations, wastage under the last administration was under the direct oversight of the relevant minister, in terms of cost overruns, etc. However, under this DLP administration, the level of wastage has been directed to the civil servants and not the ministers.

She seems to be the DLP’s resident call-in-program spin doctor. Mary, after all that has happened under this administration, when are you going to admit that these fellows are doing nonsense? Perhaps being Trinidadian gives you the advantage of more analytical common sense than Barbadians.

32. Tell me Why | April 9, 2014 at 11:00 AM |
    @ Due Diligence | April 9, 2014 at 10:50 AM |

Please enlightened why the audit report is signed off since January 31, 2013 and we now seeing it April 8, 2014. What about the 2013 report which should have been published all like now. Will we have to wait April 2015 to see that report.

The 133 page REPORT of the AUDITOR GENERAL for the year 2012, signed off January 31, 2013, has be posted on the Barbados Audit Office website since shortly after January 31, 2013, as has REPORT OF THE AUDITOR GENERAL on the FINANCIAL STATEMENTS of the GOVERNMENT OF BARBADOS 2011-2012 .

I do not see either of the (March 31) 2013 reports on the Barbados Audit Office website yet, but as they have apparently been laid before Parliament am guessing that both will be posted “soon”

33. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Peltdownman

All you have to do is endorse the cheque with the notation, Please pay to ………….., and deposit the cheque to the fraud’s account.

34. @Bush Tea

Explain why a political party would take decision which is guaranteed to make it unpopular, it goes against the grain.

@Tell me Why

The AG report has to be laid in parliament be law before circulation to public.

35. @Artaxerxes | April 9, 2014 at 11:12 AM |

Just heard Mary (aka the “Trinidadian Woman”… but she reminds me of “AC” on this blog) on Brass Tacks, in her usually hyperactive and highly emotive style, saying that when she compared the Auditor General’s report prior to 2008, to present she is seeing something completely different………………….

Artaxerxes,

I heard her too, do forgive her she is feeding at the trough so she has to protect her meals. I said what a JA? Did she not read that some of the contracts cannot be found?

She found without doubt support from the moderator who is trying to mast her political ambitions………….the moderator said earlier that the constituency councils are serving no purpose but she said even though the BLP opposed them, she has no confidence that the BLP would get rid if them when they next form the government. How could she come to this conclusion if she was was not a diehard Dem, every BLP MP has said that constituency councils will go as soon as they are in office. Yet she has no confidence that this will be done?

Ms moderator did you believe the DLP when they said that they would not send home not one person during the last election?

Just before the news break she again defied her own logic……….in response to a caller criticising a BLP caller who said that the DLP gave too many people election jobs…..ms moderator declared………the last administration was told to cut jobs …….all parties give their supporters election jobs yet she could not bring herself to think that hey……..if the last administration was told to cut jobs……..why on earth did this one hire so many people? To an unbiased person , that should have been her retort, not so?

I promise to save some energy when she is on and keep breaking my promise.

36. @ David | April 9, 2014 at 8:20 AM |

You said the Solid Waste municipal tax was reduced to 0.03%, but the Nation said it was reduced to 0.3%. There is a big difference between those 2 figures, so which is it? Does on the improved site value mean it would not be paid on land without a building?

37. .3% is correct, a Sinkler moment.

38. @ Prodigal

Have you noticed that the DLP supports only call VOB when Ms. Watson is moderating. They have all converged at the steps of CBC, where they are assisted in their quest to abuse the VOB moderators and the opposition by John Lovell and Maureen Holder.
    It surprises me that if a moderator’s critique or comments are supportive of the government they are viewed as being “balanced”.

Like Maureen Holder, Ms. Watson’s her slip is clearly showing.

39. @DD/David

Here is the link to the Auditor General’s comments on the 2013 Financials.

http://barbadosparliament.com/htmlarea/uploaded/File/Auditor%20General's%20Report%202013.pdf

40. Maureen Holder
    is the worst moderator I have ever heard and I have listened to talks
    shows for sometime now and from different parts of the Caribbean and the world.
    Despite that
    I find her to be a sexy woman
    and I would like to put my hand
    in hers and take a walk
    along the boardwalk
    around 11 pm in the evening
    and then take a soak in
    the sea off the south coast
    while soaking in the sea
    we would laugh our bellies full
    eat hard coconut
    and roast fish and drink mango juice

41. As a moderator the Watson girl ‘s voice
    sounds like a wheel on a donkey cart that want greasing
    If she is sexy
    a telephone pole is sexy

——–

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaagga –behaving scruggy

42. Georgie Porgie Avatar

43. Georgie Porgie Avatar

same thing in barbados with barrow

44. Due Diligence Avatar

Thanks BUPPS

I have just glanced at the first few pages (of 161 pages)

My suggestion to other BU readers is to proceed with caution, cause it is going to destroy any faith you may have had left in your Government.

45. Tony Marshall vs Maxine in the Senate…lol.

46. Georgie Porgie

Porgie, stop crying over spilled milk. Because it is readily apparent that your hatred for the DLP stretches as far back as the Barrow regime. You hater!

47. And also a smiley face!!!! Wid excklamashuns!!!!!

Jesus Harold Christ on a moped, when will BBE just come to put a fiery end to all this idiocy?

48. wunna finish bellyaching and complaining ,,well then i gone……..to BBE Land………..by the way im hear gripe water selling ,oo3 cent per bottle ,,,,some yuh wunna can use some,,,,,,

49. @Artaxerxes | April 9, 2014 at 2:02 PM |

I had great difficulty understanding her logic towards the end of the programme with regards to………..”we are living beyond our means, we have built houses we cannot afford, we have credit cards, we get loans to buy cars”………… and on and on she rambled.

I just want to know if she thinks that poor black people would ever own a house, a car or anything if they never borrowed. I would like to know if she ever borrowed money to purchase anything. She did not seem to understand there is not a bank anywhere that would lend anyone money whom the bank think cannot repay them.

Where the hell does David Ellis go to find these annoying people? She is another Maxine McClean.

Yagga, you are right, her voice just gets to me!