Submitted by the Mahogany Coconut Think Tank and Watchdog Group
Domestic abuse a scourge
Domestic abuse is a scourge mainly perpetrated by men

Once again, the self appointed guardians of our society are looking for scapegoats, to blame for the dramatic increase in domestic violence. They are attempting to blame women for being murdered by jealous, possessive men, who believe that in many instances, economic dependence by these women is a pathway to maiming and killing them at their pleasure! Misinformed groups such as MESA (Menโ€™s Educational Support Association) are doing a great disservice to our country by trivializing domestic violence. Any humane society should have a zero level tolerance policy on domestic violence and there should be a special court to bring these cannibals, who are liquidating our women folk, to justice with great speed.

The Mahogany Coconut Group has called for progressive legislation that will give state agencies and our police greater legal rights in dealing with instances of domestic violence. Our calls have fallen on deaf ears and blind eyes. We are not surprised. When we peruse the media and observe those who have been promoting themselves as the guardians of our abused women, we see the same faces: a combination of political aspirants and those who take up causes simply to get their names in the papers and faces on the lone television station. They have appointed themselves as an elite group, whose only qualifications are some connection, to the rambling political management class also known as the Barbados Labour Party/ Democratic Labour Party.

It is nothing more than a crying shame that two political parties, that have dominated our country for its entire post independence era, almost fifty years, could not have formulated better policies and legislation to deal with domestic violence. The MCG remains steadfast in its position that there must be legislation giving our law enforcement officials (the police) the right to remove perpetrators from the homes where they are inflicting abuse on our women folk. In other words, from the time a woman reports abuse, that man should be automatically and legally removed from the home and an automatic restraining order should be enforced. In almost every case of domestic violence leading to the death of our women folk, there is a history of the woman being abused and the police turning up and leaving her in the same danger because their hands are tied by archaic legislation.

The MCG is therefore proposing that there be a special arm of the state agencies that will have a close and progressive working relationship with law enforcement, so that there is a rapid response to domestic violence in order to save lives. There is no reason why even in tough economic times, this cannot be done.

While the Attorneys General engage in empty rhetoric, we are discovering young beautiful usually black Barbadian women in bushes and bath tubs murdered by men who believe they have some right to take their partners lives. As long as the status quo remains, we are going to unapologetically declare that the state is by its inaction aiding and abetting such crimes. We are therefore now declaring that the murders of our women folk by acts of domestic violence are state assisted! In our system of justice those who assist with crimes are usually charged as accessories to the said crimes. Our collective political management class (BLP/DLP) cannot escape this charge. They are as guilty as the real murderers by failing to radically reform the justice system in order to bring it up to date with more progressive jurisdictions.

Finally, we must state that in cases where the violence is executed by our women citizens against men folk, the same standards must apply. Such laws will be extended as well to acts of violence against children and our elderly.

129 responses to “Men MUST Protect Our Womenfolk from the Scourge of Domestic Abuse”

1. Thi

2. How many more of our women folk will die as a result of this evil scourge. The lives of these women have been snuffed out. Perhaps there will be children who will be without a mother. How will this affect those children is anyone’s guess. This is an evil that needs to be dealt with urgently, When I was a teenager I witnessed a man beat his woman, kicking her in her stomach and she cried begging him “don;t kill muh”. As a grown woman I saw the same thing again, men behaving as though they have the right to molest women.. Nothing has changed.It seems to me that the same kind of mental outlook still permeates our society. I believe the police needs to take complaints seriously, Our politicians must be willing to do whatever reform is necessary to our judicial system to get at this blight on our society..

3. Women also have to take responsibility for their own protection. Women must also recognize the signs of a sick partner.The law bout hey cannot protect women from their abusers so we wimmen gots to tek care of we selves. Dem gots ways to fix dese abusers.

Leff de rasshole man and don’t even take his calls

. Don’t even tell him where you are living and change your phone number. Don’t even meet him to talk!
    Slow poison dem especially when dem lickrish like Bushtea. He always peckish so give he sumting to peck at.
    Keep a pot of boiling water pon de stove at all times.
    When he come mekking noise go in de kitchen and put on some oil to boil and pretend yuh going tah cook he food fuh he. Eff he come to hit yuh toss de hot oil pon he face.
    Boils up some bush tea a certain bush (call me) would give he a heart attack.
    Eff he hit yuh aim yuh foot between he legs and a quick and powerful kick aim at he balls.
    Run outta de house and keep running. Start training in long distance running before yuh run outta de house.
    Wait till he sleeping and burn de house down wid he in it.
    If he is stalking you get some people to fix him for good. Brek he legs!
    If you have children with him take them and get help from friends and family. If yuh got some money leff de island and ask for asylum wherever you go.
    If your male partner threatens to kill you then it is the woman’s responsibility to eliminate him before he gets a chance to do this to her.

4. Ah forget….keep a 2×4 handy hide um in places yuh could get to quickly. Like next tah de bed where yuh does sleep disguise it well wid a towel or sheet. Keep one in de kitchen and one in de living room. Move it round so he cahn get a chance to see it.

5. Islandgal
    …they only got one thing that you can slow-poison Bush Tea with…and that would take you a lifetime….
    …an enjoyable lifetime…. ๐Ÿ™‚

6. BTW Islandgal
    Bushie the bully supports your other ‘solutions’…. What happened to the 2X4 option….?

7. LOL…ok OK !!!

8. Bushie LOLL

9. “appointed themselves as an elite group”…eh? A bit rich that.

IS domestic violence on the increase? I doubt it. It’s like sex post-60’s. We are just more socially conscious of it and are prepared to talk about it. The murder statistics show that most killings are ‘domestic’ and that that is the milieu in which the defence of provocation typically arises. It’s a grey area which you can legislate about and educate about. But it won’t go away that’s for sure. Confusion and cruelty ever insist on playing unhappy families together. I wonder if there should be a cohort of flying mediators in emergencies, rather like the Samaritans, to whom either ‘party’ can turn in moments threatening to be ‘dire’.

Removal for mere allegation? Bit odd that one. There’d be no ‘families’ left.

What are the archaic laws to which the MCTT refer? Well, I can think of one – the matrimonial rape exception. But then I’m waiting for the case when an enterprising somebody will suggest that (a) the common law applies to us, and (b) that it has changed so as to recognize there is no exception.

10. @islandgal246 “If he is stalking you get some people to fix him for good. Brek he legs!”

Dear island gal 246: It looks like a young fella went and tek your advice today. ” Ya beat my mummy, looka tek dah, in both knees”

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/man-shot-in-both-legs-by-masked-assailant/

11. Dear Mahogany Coconut Group:

To ask men to protect women against violent men is rather like asking the fox to look after the hen-house.

A lotta lotta fatalities

12. Government ought and must implement as well as enforce the necessary legislation which would serve as a deter to the unpardonable conduct of domestic violence against women. Men in Barbados and throughout the Caribbean for that matter, obviously needs to be educated in the fine art of Conflict-Resolution. And as advanced as well as progressive as the American society may seem to be; it has yet gotten rid of domestic violence against women all together. But there has been a conscious effort by law makers on the federal as well as the state level to bring aware to this problem by enacting necessary legislation and developing the necessary domestic violence programs to address the obvious concerns of these battered women.

13. America: takes the issue of Domestic-Violence quite serious. With a domestic violence conviction: one cannot purchase a firearm which means in terms that one cannot working in Law – Enforce or Military service which obviously requires the use of a firearm. One is also restricted from working in any capacity which involves young children etc. And if there is a report of domestic violence which involves the police, the alleged accuser will be arrested even if the victim refuses to press charges: by law the state pursues the charges even if the victim refuses to press charges against his or her abuser.

14. And with a domestic violence conviction: one loses the right to keep his or her firearms; a real fear for those persons working in law enforcement, military- service and those who works in a social service capacity which involves children.

15. So all the government of Barbados needs to do is to strengthen its domestic violence laws and it should provide the intended deter needed.

16. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ MCG

This is a tough one because while on the one hand I agree with the stance against domestic voilence against both women and men, having had OVER 2 wives while on this earth, I can attest that your draconian suggestion of “that man should be automatically and legally removed from the home and an automatic restraining order should be enforced.” Would be one of the most dangerous protocols to be employed with some erratic bipolar spouse.

Say you come in later than expected after a game with the boys you mean that this imbalanced spouse can invoke this “he beat me claim” and have immediate recourse of me being put out of my house?

And what if she started the incident and was beating the dog melts out of me, you mean that with this automatic protocol I can be thrown out of my place of dwelling?

You need to go back and rethink this one. It is an absolutist construct that will not achieve its objective and one that will discomode several spouses if given wings in the format you propose

17. Piece, as you well know, if there is an alleged domestic violence accusation, one of the parties are automatically removed from the home until the courts renders its decision. The court could suggest such things as anger management or incarnation etc….

18. Good morning David, please ban de donkey. Ah cahn tek DAT ass no more pon did blog. Mark fenty tekking de mickey out ta Yuh and BU.

19. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@islandgirl246

It would appear like if this woman’s intuition thing is spot on.

Mark. Man you had me and my fellow conspirator Baffy completely fooled with the coherent blog on education.

The 4 successive blogs and the subject been (dis) agreement DIT it for me.

Where did you get that stellar insight from? It had to be in a PDF because when I googled it nothing came back but the BU posting

Lol

20. Piece I can smell a dead rat miles away LOLL.

21. Piece, I am referring to American jurisprudence which I have been subjected to for the last thirty years. Perhaps, I should have made myself a little clearer….! Piece do you reside in America?

22. So Piece…you are actually saying you agree with the point I made above? When it typically starts both spouses become bi-polar.

Dompey has made an interesting point – which is to say that in face of substantiated domestic violence there should be a knock-on effect to other areas as a sort of graduated penalty until “incarnation” comes. The word is entirely apt. It’s not really prison you’re looking for. It’s a different way of looking at yourself and the domestic arrangement of which you are a part – and it works both ways.

23. Islandgal

What I have expressed above are all facts and if youย do not believe what I saying; ask anyone on the blog who lives in America. And a word of advice: its best you keep your mouth shut, if you haven’t any clue about the American judicial system.

24. @ the donkey…KISS your ASS!

25. Why the worry about domestic violence in Barbados ? According to the top CoP, further substantiated by the head, a woman nevertheless, of a domestic organisation and further theorized by those opposed to the basic tenent of free movement within the Caricom, domestic violence is a scrouge that is imported and not within the character of a Bajan man.
    Nothing happening here folks, move on

26. Piece: “me being put out of my house”

Is that the attitude we need to work on?

27. Rass

Yes – that was EXACTLY what they tried to put over. Disgusting.

28. Rass yuh right pon dat one. Imagine these foolish Brassbowls beilieve that the perpetrators of domestic violence are from the other islands.

Ralph Boyce saying that men get violent when they have invested a certain amount of money pon a woman. Tell de men to invest their money in stocks and bonds then and not in pokey then.

Just look at how these poor rakey politicians refer to women when dem got an audience. “Bald pooch cat” “run down Broad St. naked for attention” are the words of our MOF referring to some women.

Let us face facts…women are worth nothing in the eyes of men in this country. It is up to WOMEN to do something about it. They cannot change it unless they get political power. They will not be given political power by staying home and voting for the men that ridicule them. Look how many women are in politics you could count them on one hand.

Men still feel that they could rule women with the baton between dem legs. De baton broken but dem still feel that it might still work.

29. To all children reading dis blog
    eff yuh fadder hit yuh mudder tek up a 2×4 or piece of iron and fling it in his head. Call yuh brothers and sisters to help put de abuser outta action.

30. Inciting violence in children, children taking sides, I really don’t think is the way to go. Dompey come back.

31. Thinking about it over coffee, I just wonder whether a post directed to ‘protecting OUR women folk’ is not just a little patronizing. It makes it sound as if ‘womenfolk’ are not human beings (‘protecting each other’) but, rather, precious THINGS, massa’s valuable consumption goods – which is also the attitude we seek to change.

All too often I hear men say: ‘Women are dogs’ – and then women say ‘men are dogs’. Men say ‘I bought this for you’. Women say ‘Who cares?’ -an easy cop out because now they’ve got it, though at the time they ‘cared’ very much.

32. Why would a man hit a woman,what about woman provokes a man
    some women take men munny and offer nothing but cunny
    there is no love as we know it -they then withdraw said cunny.Many stories of men giving them house,Then get chase out like a mouse, Giving them clothes and even car,Then having to bum rides and slam tar. Some women treat the men real bad and dont answer their questions , hide the children from them and vexx them , man ! Bajan women fairly demanding . lets admit it When a woman disses a man after getting tangibles and he just get cunny, it hurts to the core–real talk -real thing, sometimes a man’s only recourse when he head get hot is to strike the psychological balance and do something that appears to be ignorant. Many men have suffered psychologically. There is a man at Eagle Hall corner who was hurt by a woman, He aint catch heself yet.

advise:
    Love each other/Do not enter relationships for cunny nor for munny. Relationships need to be negotiated –go to a counselor , lawyer or confidante –negotiate. Dont just jump in a relationship.

Get real people. Real talk -Real thing.

islandgal
    -I would have to ask Daddy why
    I would have to hear the full story
    Yes he should not hit her
    but I will not make it better by hitting Dad

===============================
    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaagga —hits balls -not human beings

33. Yagga

A friend of mine once got into all sorts of trouble by asking ‘Is there love in the Caribbean?’ But given your ‘take’ and mine it’s a fair question I think.

34. @islandgal

You are focussed on the sympton and not the cause. Of course this is not to negate the issue under discussion.

35. @Men,

If you are in a relationship or marriage that crosses the threshold where you could be provoked into beating a woman it is time to end that relationship.

Leave the house and find somewhere else to live. Find a Lawyer to assist you in getting what is legally yours.

End the relationship and move on.

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants | March 18, 2014 at 9:27 AM |

Shouldn’t your advice be targeted also at “women”?

Remember this is not Barbados (or the Western world) of yore where women were predominantly dependent on working males for material support especially those females with access to limited educational and training opportunities to free themselves from such dependency.

Of course your one-sided sexist advice should apply only where children are involved in the relationship. That is the way of nature where the male leaves for the safety and protection of the young and vulnerable.

37. Hants

As there say in America: it is better to hit the walls or bolt for door, before you ever think about putting your hands on a Woman. Because a lot of the laws in this country are designed for women and for good reason.

38. millertheanunnaki | March 18, 2014 at 9:41 AM |

@ Hants | March 18, 2014 at 9:27 AM |

Shouldnโ€™t your advice be targeted also at โ€œwomenโ€?

39. @ millertheanunnaki,

Women do not need advice from a man.

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants | March 18, 2014 at 10:30 AM |

Are you implying men are psychologically inferior (weaker) to women?
    We wonder what Bushie would have to say about that. LOL!!

41. @millertheanunnaki,

I respect your point of view but it is men who usually end up beating and killing women because of a failing relationship.

42. @ millertheanunnaki

My ex wife and ex girlfriends will tell you that I am psychologically inferior (weaker) to women.

I am too “weak” to fight so I just walk out when the “love” is gone.

You an Bushie can stay and wait fuh Islandgal246 girl power to whack you wit a 2×4 but I weak so I does run and doan come back.

43. I running again…… to lunch

44. @ Islandgal

Read: Violence Against Women Act ( VAWA) 1994 signed by President Bill Clinton.

The act provides $1.6 billion towards investigation and prosecution of violent crime against women and imposes automatic and mandatory restitution on those convicted, and allows civil redress in cases prosecutors chose to leave un- prosecuted. Islandgal, it seems as though Barbados needs to get with the program?

45. All a man wants from a woman is a little sex and for that little space between a woman’s legs, a man does go berserk bewitched and befuddled. A little space yuh know –a little space between she legs- compared with other spaces that are wide and open and that welcome you . Sometimes a man dont even get further than actually between the two legs and not necessarily the hole.Some men dont even know when they not in the hole (space).

Bajan women are tough negotiators too
    Often overheard from Bajan women:
    –Wait wuh he cant gi mi nuttin–I aint want he
    –Wuh yuh got to gi muh ?—
    —I looking for a man wid munny–
    -Uh want uh want ; uh want ; uh want ; uh want ; uh want ; uh want ; uh want ;
    and they looking to get get get get get get –from whomever so they might not like the man but they want the money. String along the man even taking he money and giving to another man and then wham bam when she had enough —get rid of the man. He call she, he try to talk she and she giving he could shoulder and aint talking with the man. The worst thing to do is take a man money and then completely ignore the man. Problems man Problems !! Man head gets hot –and wham BAM , the only way to reach this woman and make she understand is Violence. Sad but true !

Woman would have contributed to the situation
    but here is where it is a challenge for the man to keep his cool. Not easy !!!

========================
    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaagga – Pon Top

46. Beating women (violently assaulting) is a national past time in Barbados and other Caribbean islands, it’s good not to listen to the police and their shit sometimes, most, i am not saying all, are abusers themselves, the politicians are abusers themselves, the very ignorant males in society are abusers, there are also female abusers, Mia is one, but, it’s more prevalent in the male group where they believe females are their children and are to be badly beaten and treated as such.

The likes of Lionel Craig beat women mercilessly all over the street in Barbados for many decades and had absolutely no respect for women and children on the island, no one should be lifting a hand on another person without being arrested and imprisoned.

Yagga
    grow some
    balls, MINE
    are bigger

47. Mill

“Women do not need advice from men”

It is kinda reminds me of
    the perennial dictum which tells us: “if you want something SAID ask man and if you something DONE
    ask a woman.” Mill, not all men are abuser and it is those men who have witnessed such unspeakable acts, that fight vehemently to bring those to justice that are guilty of committing them.

48. Islandgal

The advice that you have given is destructive and ought to be repudiated at all cost. I am quite sure the women in Barbados are sensible enough to know that violence isn’t the right course of action to take to escape their abusers. I would advice any woman who is being abused by her significant other: to report it to the police immediately or call the nearest woman abuse hotline and their should direct you to the near abuse center. If these kinds of resources are available to women in Barbados.

49. the sad irony is with such an uncontrollable epedimic of domestic abuse worldwide woman are still attracted to the kind of men that boyce describe.

50. Jezebel

I do know but I would surmized that the social scientists would defined these women who are attracted to these abusive men, as DYSFUNCTION and twisted in their thinking.