The memory of SLAVERY lingers...
The memory of SLAVERY lingers…

CARICOM Heads of Government (HoGs) are currently meeting in St. Vincent and one contentious issue communicated by sitting chairman Ralph Gonzales is that leaders expect to hold talks with Europe later this year about the thorny issue of reparations. There is the other  issue which has surprisingly been slotted on the agenda – whether marijuana should be decimalized.

Leading the Caricom taskforce on the multi-billion dollar legal action for reparation for the slave trade is Professor Sir Hilary Beckles.  He has hit the British press with the zeal reminiscent of his assault on then Mutual Life Assurance Society. What is surprising is the speed with which the HoGs seem to be moving on the issue – see October 13, blog – The Caribbean Advances Claim for Reparations.

The Daily Mail has offered its opinion on the case and while we do not totally agree it does provide a different perspective that will be of interest to the region vested in the issue. BU’s provocative view is that the action maybe flawed in that governments are trying to usurp the prerogatives of individuals to bring their own class action for civil offences against their personal ancestors.

The attempt to provide grounds for governments to do this is pegged to the claim that these former colonial powers “raped” these territories, therefore suggesting that governments are in a class action with descendants of slaves. Is this the case? Have individuals been consulted? Do you know of anyone who has signed up as plaintiffs? Will individuals be granted any court awards?

<

p align=”justify”>Almost 50 years after independence we have to the question of our elected government. How much have they contributed to undermining our economy, our laws and the complete demise of our court systems? How many of them have come out of their tenures of office as millionaires while the rest of the country suffers? Do they think it is right that they should have a piggy bank built on the suffering if our ancestors on which to further feast at the trough now that other sources have dried up as a result of their ineptitude?

157 responses to “CARICOM Moving Full Steam with Demand for Compensation for Slavery”

1. More proof of too many lawyers in this world without meaningful work. Beckles is not due one iota of respect until he also includes all the African tribes (countries) that we’re wiling participants.

Oh, I forgot who it was that stated that would be too difficult and messy. Please excuse me while I get on my rubber boots to prepare for the rising level of BS coming from this article.

2. Well, ….. at least …. one very apt acronym ……

A HoG is a Head of Government!!

HoGs =Heads of Government!!!

3. Also on Trial is the UK and ECoHR Court Systems which are useless Circuses. The records will show that the crime committed for slavery was the biggest crime to mankind, perpetuated by the Devil, 3 or 4 times bigger than the Holocaust, and its only justification was white racism globally. History will prove that reparations were due regardless of whether Courts play fair of act ignorant.

4. @David. Good one. I have said before that this case is fatally flawed, as any action would have to be taken by the descendants of slaves, not governments. Certainly not successor governments. Any awards (which seems to me unlikely) would need to be made to individuals, not governments.

More than this, however, I would like to know exactly who is paying the fees of this London law firm to advance this (unsustainable) shakedown posing as a legal action. Stupid question, of course, as it is the taxpayers, many of whom are not the descendants of slaves.

It is going to be interesting to see the tabulation of the untold billions that EU countries (both collectively and individually) have handed over to governments in the region post independence, the latest causing a scramble to cobble together a Cultural Industries Bill so as to claim $50 million. Still, it would be interesting to see this tabulation (but the case likely will not get that far) so we can all be astounded that we did not know we had received it – OR WHERE IT WENT.

So history repeats itself. Once again we are being sold up the creek by our own people (governments) to the Brits (law firm) with any profits from the suffering of our ancestors to be pocketed by those who (supposedly) lead us (although there will likely be none) and a UK law firm (which will profit no matter what). Nice.

You mention the heads of government (HOGS) trough assembly in St Vincent where the agenda also includes a review of the Myrie CCJ decision. Likely to be an exchange of face-saving banalities.

@John. Thank you for the HOGS description and apologies for purloining it. It is apt. Very apt.

5. Amused wrote “any action would have to be taken by the descendants of slaves, not governments”

I thought governments were elected to represent the people.

Amused wrote ‘this (unsustainable) shakedown posing as a legal action.”

I am not a Lawyer and will accept the “legal construct” but I can never accept that the case for reparations does not exist.

Simple reasoning dictates that slaves helped to build the economies of Europe and their descendants deserve to inherit what their forefathers worked for.

6. It is long past time that the collective governments of the Caribbean nations stopped blaming the current ills on past history.
    It is time that they take ownership of the problems that they and their predecessors have , and are still causing.
    Pray tell how slavery is to blame for the venality and greed of a long line of Caribbean politicians. Blaming slavery is a good sound bite and deflects responsibility away from the crooks running the Caribbean today.
    We are poor and have no jobs because our great great grand parents were slaves is an over played mantra and avoids an unpleasant truth. We are poor and have no jobs because our “leaders” thought it fair game to enrich themselves with our money.
    Reparations will NEVER happen, no figure has been mentioned but then again, neither has anybody told us how they propose to distribute these mythical funds.
    Will the African nations who sold slaves and the Arab nations who bought and sold them be chased for money? Not a chance!

7. Dear England aka white man,
    If you do find in your heart that we who are decendants from those whom were enslaved in a brutal fashion in which your hands played a significant role are entitled to some compensation, then please do me a favor; Do not hand over a single black ( pun unintended) cent ( though it is not even accepted anymore) to any and possibly all of these people who are masquaraiding as leaders. This is just a gambit to prop up economies that are reeling from maladministration and corruption and some of them are trying to find relevance to have their names etched in history. However if shame is killing you softly, then i would suggest that you set a series of bench markers for some level of accountability . Maybe perhaps you could ask them to run a regional airline properly for starters and then so forth with direct input from us.Please do ban all lawyers from this as we have found, first hand, their input extremely limited and their fees.. well you know.
    I do hope that these suggestions will find favour with you.
    Yours,
    Blackie

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ rass | March 13, 2014 at 8:15 AM |

I tend to agree with you in some large measure.
    Any compensation in cash will find its way in the bank accounts of the Chinese and Indians in less than 10 years.

Let the Brits pay for the full cost of education at the UWI for all students of Afro-Caribbean descent with scholarships available at British universities for those students who want to specialize in areas relevant to the development of the English-speaking Caribbean countries but are unavailable regionally.

However, “rass”, you have overlooked one important aspect.
    What about the local whites who played an important role in sustaining and maintaining the system of slavery and the more recent apartheid?
    Are you prepared to accept only an apology or would you want to go further and seek financial reparations from them from the proceeds of the sale of lands and businesses to Trinidadians and others?

9. @millertheanunnaki

Your post seems to encapsulate all that is wrong with current attitudes in Bim. It reeks of the politics, tribalism and racism of tinpot African politicians.
    Chinese and Indians getting all the money comes straight from Idi Amin, that great African leader!
    White men exploiting the poor black man is the stock rant of the black dictator.
    Trinidadians, who are predominantly black but are not Bajan and therefore another “tribe”

Much more of this and we will be no better than those toilet nations in Africa.
    Time to move on.

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BOOKWORM | March 13, 2014 at 9:07 AM |

Look here, you Johnny-come-lately to this blog and the reparations discussion, why not tell that same crap to the Jews too who were given billions in monetary reparations and their own State stolen from the Palestinians as compensation for what happened to them In Europe during the Third Reich?

My argument is that the descendants of black slaves are justifiably entitled to some form of compensation for the evil committed against them just like the Jews. Black slaves did not start a war against Europeans and must therefore accept the outcome of their defeat.

However, I will not want to see any monetary reparations ending up in the hands of the black dictators parading as leaders of the people in the English-speaking Caribbean. Because as sure as night follows day the money earmarked for developmental projects to mitigate the poverty of the same black masses will end up in either overseas bank accounts or in the form of imported luxury goods or trinkets and shoddy consumables imported by Indian and Chinese business persons from their own sources in their respective mother countries.

Let us see the reparations manifested in long-lasting meaningful developmental projects primarily aimed at removing the current lot of Caribbean blacks from mental and social bondage to offer hope for the next generation.
    But you know ‘Bookworm that would hardly happen as long as your type (aided and abetted by so-called black leaders) continue to feed them with a diet laced with lies and deceit and served from a pot of crap made by a white god called Jesus.

11. @ Miller
    Why don’t you leave the damn people alone nuh?!
    Why should Caribbean government not go after reparations?
    …is this not about playing the “poor me” card?
    …is it not about portraying yourself as down-trodden and cursed?
    …is this not about mendicancy? Laziness? …easy money?

Well,shiite man!!
    THIS IS WHAT THEY DO BEST……and they have a TOP man in charge….the great SIR Cave Hilary…. You see how much $$$$ he has been able to milk from COW, SAGICOR, BS&T and all,the other plantation beneficiaries that he used to curse…?

Look Miller we got two choices….

Stand up and conduct ourselves like a proud, productive, and Industrious people – using creativity and ingenuity to forge success and RESPECT in this world…..
    ..or…. Snoop around the corridors of those who robbed us before, and who continue to dislike us, ….begging for their mercy and compassion…

Now which option do you think brassbowl idiots led by Sir Cave (who is paid to build regional ingenuity, creativity and respect) will take…..?

…man leave the damned people do….!

12. @Miller
    Sorry, I did not know that there was a deadline for joining in the discussion. My bad.
    You should also read what is written rather than what you think is written.
    What is this mental and social bondage? Who imposes it?
    If you were referring to slaves suffering mental and social bondage then I understand. But get this, there is nobody alive today who was a slave in Bim.Why should anyone pay us today for what their ancestors did to our ancestors? How do you know that your ancestors in Africa did not murder and enslave other tribes? Will you now send money as compensation?
    The only bondage that we have now is self imposed. Stop using slavery as an excuse to sit around doing nothing.

13. Bush Tea….I agree with your 9.38 am post,all is not lost with you,every now and then you talk sense.

14. “Stand up and conduct ourselves like a proud, productive, and Industrious people – using creativity and ingenuity to forge success and RESPECT in this world…..
    ..or…. Snoop around the corridors of those who robbed us before, and who continue to dislike us, ….begging for their mercy and compassion…”

This!!

15. It’s time the CARICOM politicians get on with what really counts, the economy, jobs, self sustenance, balanced books etc. It’s time for a revolt, take up arms and remove these leaders who are close relatives to a HORSE’s ASS.

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BOOKWORM | March 13, 2014 at 9:56 AM
    “How do you know that your ancestors in Africa did not murder and enslave other tribes? Will you now send money as compensation?”

My ancestors in Africa? How do you know my ancestors were from Africa? I mean we are all from Africa but how do you know my “Mueller” lineage is not from the heart of Germany or the west country of England? What about yours?

We are talking about moral principles and natural justice.
    It does not matter the racial or cultural background of the victims.
    We suppose you will have a similar view regarding the exploitation and abuse of Australian aborigines or the Japanese use of Chinese war prostitutes.

The fact remains Black people in the West have been used, abused and exploited to the hilt with their culture and family structures totally eliminated and replaced by a European value system and religious indoctrination.

You are now invited to join the discussion within a timetable ‘dictated’ by you but controlled by David(BU).

17. History is always full of flaws and it is so difficult if not impossible to undo it. I do not know anybody that would condone all of history. However it is history and one has to conclude where is the energy best spent to improve what history has taught us.. This article on Haiti is worth reading. https://www.commondreams.org/view/2010/01/17-6 and it is worth noting the offer made by President Obama. The uphill battle will certainly make many lawyers rich over a number of decades but in the meantime we have to take control of our situation and improve it. That is why we have leaders. If we have the wrong leaders we have nobody to blame but ourselves. What about getting the Clico mess sorted out first.

18. @Bookworm, Bushy and Sith. Good arguments. Enjoyed reading them. I am not sure if an action for reparations is sustainable or not. I AM sure it is not sustainable unless it is brought by individuals and NOT governments in such a case.

19. “We are talking about moral principles and natural justice.
    It does not matter the racial or cultural background of the victims.
    We suppose you will have a similar view regarding the exploitation and abuse of Australian aborigines or the Japanese use of Chinese war prostitutes.

The fact remains Black people in the West have been used, abused and exploited to the hilt with their culture and family structures totally eliminated and replaced by a European value system and religious indoctrination.”

Let us examine these two paragraphs.
    I agree that moral principles and natural justice are in play and that racial and cultural backgrounds are immaterial. You seem to miss a salient point though, the abuse of Australian aborigines and the Chinese prostitution was within living memory and some of its victims and its perpetrators are still alive today.
    Note this, there are no slaves or ex slaves alive in Bim today and have not been for a century. This also applies to slave masters.

Show me one, just one, black person who has been used, abused and exploited by any one other than by the political class, who, shock horror are …..wait for it…..black.
    There is nothing wrong with a value system, European or otherwise and a persons religion is for him to decide, its called freedom of thought.

Your last paragraph baffles me.

20. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Admit and Pay , They know the rules of payment for they broke all rules and laws. There is enough information and records and archives to prove all things.
    We are taking to long to be paid out , We dont needed from 2013 to 2023 as mention before , To wait 10 years? Looking for more people to die off .
    120,000 Person is to be the number of People or Families to be paid .

Get the List , Get the Names , and Start to Pay and be done.
    Look out for the crook lawyers and Government to look put their hands in your Pockets for what dont belong to them ,Also it better be TAX Free or you are still dealing with Slavery .

21. @SITH & AMUSED
    Could not agree more. The problems that I have with reparations are that it is not for nations to receive them and on what basis could an individual demand, and more importantly,win them?
    If he/she could point at the scars and say “I was whipped and branded”
    that would surely succeed, And rightly so. But just to say “My great granddaddy was a slave and so he must have been beaten. Give me money in compensation” will not find a ready audience.

22. @John
    If the ONLY HoGs were Heads of Government we might not be in this Mess, BUT alas there are many MORE Govt HOGGS that DEMAND to be Fed $$$$$!

The slavery today is the teef men dem in Govt, supposed “Leaders”, who are stealing the Peoples Revenue and dont give a damn that it is Black peeps $$$$$$!

23. @Miller
    Naturally, my family and I MUST be EXCLUDED from your plan to extract $$$$$$ from those who Sold to Tdad interests since we were poor underlings until the 1950s!!!

My father did NOT have contacts or Rich Uncles he worked hard from age 13 being forced by circumstances to leave Cawmere, and did support the efforts of hard working Black Businessmen like NE Wilson (whose Wedding he attended), the Millers et al. Business aint got NO Colour or Race if conducted sensibly.Dead PMs with various colours are always acceptable especially Grantley’s!!!

24. Wunna like you going drive Commisong crazy cause he gin have to PAY and RECEIVE OR RECEIVE and PAY LOOORDDYYYY! Look at me crossings!
    Cor bluma I gots outside family in that same predicament, wuhloss!

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BOOKWORM | March 13, 2014 at 10:53 AM |
    “Note this, there are no slaves or ex slaves alive in Bim today and have not been for a century. This also applies to slave masters.”

But their descendants and the ill-gotten material accumulations from the same slavery business exist.

Same thing could be said about the debatable 6 million Jews gassed by the Hitler regime. When the compensation for those killed by the Third Reich was awarded it was not to the dead millions; neither were Hitler and his henchmen alive (at least very few were).
    As to the Aborigines most of the atrocities against them were carried out in the late 19th and up to the mid 20th Century certainly not in your living memory but like the slave trade and plantation system fairly well documented on the pages of history.

26. rass”, you have overlooked one important aspect.
    What about the local whites who played an important role in sustaining and maintaining the system of slavery and the more recent apartheid?
    Are you prepared to accept only an apology or would you want to go further and seek financial reparations from them from the proceeds of the sale of lands and businesses to Trinidadians and others?

Miller : i get your point but there are times when the line in the sand gotta draw. Who will be judge and jury ? and more importantly whose hands are clean ?.. let’s us not go there because the we may butt up to an inconvenient truth. Retribution is no substitute for the mental bootstrapping that is required to propel us for what lay ahead after these charlatans are done with their circus show.

27. Who in their right mind would waste precious time talking shiite about reparations at the governmental level – when there are CRITICAL and PRESSING issues like LIAT, deficits, inefficiency, graft, bribery etc to be dealt with…?
    Who…?
    Only jackass politicians who have run out of ways to waste time and money on the last set of shiite they came up with….namely CSME…..

Wuh boss…. The UNITED NATIONS itself recently went to Haiti and DEPOSITED cholera there….killing hundreds and taking the place even further into the dumps…..
    …and now playing that they don’t know anything about it…..

…but we looking to extract imaginary old money from back in 1850….?…while paying Sir Cave and nuff lawyers the little money we have left back….

….there must be someone who understands the concept of national educational development policy who can run Cave Hill….
    …Jeff… ? 🙂

28. …now if wunna want to talk reparations we should direct our questions to fellows like Lawson and Moneybrain…
    Those are two fellows who reap all the old plantation money in Barbados and then when they became multi millionaires, they sold out to Trickidadians and ran off to live in comfort in Canada….

MoneyBrain should be required to pay off the national debt, ….while Lawson should be legally made to buy back the EMERA and BNB shares and donate them to the Bajan public…..

29. @Bushie

Comfort in Canada??? MINUS 29 C this morning, what comfort dat???
    This imposition was caused by my correct assessment that sooner or later corrupt fools would be running amok in Bim masquerading as “leaders.”

I wish I had Old Plantation $$$.and enough to Payoff the National Debt but my family did not have any slaves to assist in generating such vast wealth and any how the criminals in power would have EXTORTED/ shakedown much of that by now!

I will gladly contribute to the cause when I receive money from the very brutal Viking slavers of the 6-1200s, after all, that is only another few hundred years before the Atlantic Slave trade got cooking. We must keep the correct chronology!

30. We have to first like ourselves. Our music, literature, our foods, our dress, our values and laws. We allow others unlike us to dictate same sex marriages, red riding hood, tie and jacket and now this ignorance about the copycats Bee Gees. This is absolutely ridiculous and those promoting such are without shame. We have enough authentic black music that we can use. Let us love ourselves. Now this is areal mockery of us; a bunch of cannot sing imitations is a lead attraction. May God help us!

31. @Miller
    “Same thing could be said about the debatable 6 million Jews gassed by the Hitler regime. When the compensation for those killed by the Third Reich was awarded it was not to the dead millions; neither were Hitler and his henchmen alive (at least very few were).
    As to the Aborigines most of the atrocities against them were carried out in the late 19th and up to the mid 20th Century certainly not in your living memory but like the slave trade and plantation system fairly well documented on the pages of history”

I think that you need to buy better history books.
    The German reparations were paid to the survivors, there are no surviving slaves hiding out in Bim.
    Very many Nazi perpetrators were alive at the time.
    Check out the aborigine oppressions of the 1960s, they are still alive as are the perps.(I think that mid 20th century is well within my lifetime unfortunately)
    BTW The only “debatable” part of 6 million is concerning an underestimation, dont let your racism cloud your mind on this.

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BOOKWORM | March 13, 2014 at 1:29 PM |

There is one piece of history you can’t debate though.
    Why were the slave owners massively compensated for the loss of their “properties” and not the slaves themselves?
    Don’t you think some retroactive payments are due to the inheritors of the mental estate of that vile vicious system?

Let us see you ‘worm’ your way out of that stark contradiction?

33. @Miller
    I will not deny that the compensation to slave owners was bizarre and wrong by our standards today. It would never happen now. But just as the lawyer elite in Bim look after each other, so did the plantocracy then.
    If there were any ex slaves alive today I would stand shoulder to shoulder with those demanding compensation for them.
    What mental state is inherited? Are you suggesting that the descendants of slaves feel inferior to others? Why would that be?
    A person of any colour, Black, White , any shade in between or Yellow is an equal citizen. We should stop the constant chest beating and go forward together, get rid of the crooks in charge and stand proud in our nation.
    Europe will not pay “reparations” to us, why should they, it is history.

For the avoidance of all doubt, I abhor slavery both historical and present day.

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BOOKWORM | March 13, 2014 at 2:08 PM |

The fact remains that the slave owners were “compensated” for their losses and the proceeds were used to expand the dominance of capitalism and finance the industrial revolution of the great Victorian Age.

The already wealthy slave owners were compensated by the British Government.
    So my proposal for going forward is that the same British Government should impose a “Reparations” levy on all stately properties built in pre-Edwardian times to finance an endowment plan (like the Codrington family thingy or Tate or Carnegie) for the ‘liberal’ education (at university level) of descendants of slaves in the English speaking ex-colonies especially ‘Barbadoes’ and Jamaica.

Now who are “the crooks in charge”? Why not have a cathartic moment and call a spade a spade or a sambo a sambo?
    You can at least say that the committee set up by the HoGs and spearheaded by, wait for it, “Sir” Massa boy Hilary is just a ruse to put money in some lawyers pockets and is nothing more than a ruse to silence a loud mouth nigger in a woodpile?

Yours truly,
    The Miller, a part-descendant of some smart ass nigger.

35. A person working for Bovell discovered the cane seed,that allowed Bim to rule the cane roost for close to a century,forcing growers of that commodity around the world to come to us.
    Why is it so difficult for us to expend our energies on inventions,which will force the world to us and bring in forex.
    Rather than using begging bowls made by the colonials.

36. @’Vincent Haynes …who gloated…
    Bush Tea….
    all is not lost with you,every now and then you talk sense.
    +++++++++++++++
    Boss man….you putting a damn lotta licks in Bushie though… 🙂 What happen bozie?…..you get sting with the Bushman’s whacker or wuh?
    What you really mean is that every now and then you manage to comprehend the bushman 🙂

You ask…
    “Why is it so difficult for us to expend our energies on inventions…?”
    ..Vincent…what is it that you do NOT understand about brass bowls?

Old time UNEDUCATED Bajans made a success of sugar, education, tourism.
    They had a foundry….
    They built infrastructure like the Harbour, airport, factories…
    They were able to OWN assets like a bank, BET, Plantations, businesses
    They built a world class society…
    They were practically debt free….

Then the brass bowls with nuff nuff degrees took over……
    What the hell can a brass bowl invent…..? ….besides shiite…

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Vincent Haynes | March 13, 2014 at 3:55 PM |
    “Why is it so difficult for us to expend our energies on inventions,which will force the world to us and bring in forex.”

Very good idea! Why not let us start with the people on high at Cave Hill?
    What about experimentation with the many uses of marijuana with the possible genetic crossing of the sugar cane and the cannabis sativa, the mutated outcomes could be endless with a chilling high in a glass with no need to smoke.

But then again these kinds of cross fertilization discoveries seldom come from academics or boys on the block but from lowly coachmen and washer women similar to those of the two dollar Bovell’s days or George Washington “Peanuts” Carver or Madam C J Walker.

38. Both correct….BT & Miller….so we give up then…..shut shop…..????

39. @Vincent

What can’t we do both, lobby for reparations and be creative?

Sir Hilary was in the news waxing on this matter today. This is about European countries and International community embracing atonement, truth and reconciliation to ensure we create a better world. He also confirmed European Community has agreed to meet with Caribbean delegation.

40. Ethiopian Kings Avatar

400 Years of Slavery inflicted global mindset on Society Whites were Superior and Blacks Inferior which manifested itself as Racism where blacks were segregated from whites and were kept poor with unequal opportunities. Time is ripe now for Reparations Trial as previous attempts would have been squashed. 50 years ago blacks were fighting for civil rights in USA and 25 years ago in Africa against Segregation and Apartheid Institutionalized Racism Laws. There were even corrupt Laws legalizing Slavery and Apartheid. USA constitution stated Black Men were three fifths of a Man

41. @BOOKWORM | March 13, 2014 at 1:29 PM |
    With respect, point of correction. Reparation in the case of the Holocaust and Mau Mau was not only paid to survivors, but also to descendants. But I surmise that the argument there was that descendants had been deprived of family who lived during their lifetimes and this disadvantaged them. I don’t exactly see how this argument can be applied to the slave trade.

This London lawyer must have prepared and sent them an opinion letter, in which he would have set out the principles of law he proposed to advance, listed legal precedents (most of them available for us to study for ourselves at http://www.worldlii.org) AND stated clearly his assessment in form of percentage of the chances of success. I think we would all like to see that letter. After all, these are our ancestors they are dicing with. And our tax dollars paying for their gamble.

@David. I would not place too much emphasis on the willingness of EU authorities to meet with a delegation for reparation. They can hardly refuse to meet. And it is all very well for Beckles to wax lyrical on air to drum up support, but it would be far more helpful instead of favouring us with his views in order to win support for the use of our tax dollars, he let us see the opinion letter from the lawyers. Otherwise, he is merely a high-pressure salesman trying to sell us swamp land in Florida as prime real estate. However, I reiterate that this is a matter for individuals, not governments. Also, any final deal that the EU makes (for a few million dollars – which is all it would be – a nuisance settlement) with governments, will not provide any indemnity against further actions by individuals. Indeed, such a nuisance settlement is likely to open the floodgates to class actions by individuals, as an admission of liability will be seen to have been made. Governments can provide indemnity on behalf of countries, not individuals. And the EU is unlikely to provide a precedent that will lead to a massive knock-on effect in the USA.

Due to the lack of transparency here through not publishing the opinion letter, I am forced to question who the true recipients of this “better world” are intended to be. I am not against reparation provided there is a good chance of success, but I maintain that it is for the benefit of the INDIVIDUAL descendants (some of whom do not even live in the region any longer). It looks to me like this action has been cobbled together without being properly formulated with the objective of a quick shakedown to replenish the empty hog trough.

42. ‘Europe will not pay’

Dutch historian says C’bbean should not expect much from reparations claims

Thursday, March 13, 2014 49 Comments

OOSTINDIE… Europe is going to entertain the dialogue, but they will not pay

AMSTERDAM, Netherlands (CMC) — A noted Dutch historian has warned Caribbean leaders that they should not expect much from their reparation claims against Europe even as they adopted a plan to further pursue the issue on Monday.

“Europe is going to entertain the dialogue, but they will not pay,” Professor Gert Oostindie told the Dutch television station, NOS, on Tuesday.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/-Europe-will-not-pay-_16249001

43. DEAR PM,
    LOOK AT THIS GRAVY TRAIN.
    WHY YOU ARE NOT ON IT??
    You Tief every damn ting from bout heah!
    So teif a lil from de redmen.

LOL..

44. Inner Peace, Pick Up The Pieces, Collie Rock Avatar
    Inner Peace, Pick Up The Pieces, Collie Rock

Why should cases be filed by individuals when a Class Action Suit can be filed on behalf of descendants of African Slaves taken to Caribbean

If EU wishes to “entertain dialogue without paying” it will come back and bite them in their pocket when they lose credibility and are excluded from trade with Caribbean and African countries in the future. Whites do not own the world its resources and people and it is time to spread the wealth and reduce income inequality and third world poverty

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/darron-t-smith-phd/a-new-case-for-african-am_b_4345768.html

45. Judge and Jury Avatar

46. Judge and Jury Avatar

Have you ever seen a Black Judge in UK or EU,

Reparations case need a Black Judge not a Pasty Faced White one

http://www.theguardian.com/news/datablog/2012/mar/28/judges-ethnic-sex-diversity-judiciary

47. David…

Reparation in my view is an anathema to creativity,it suggest a master servant concept,a form of mendicancy akin to Oliver Twist with his begging bowl seeking crumbs from the table.
    Concentrating on begging inhibits creative thinking.
    Remember the crumbs on the table belong to the master,arguments for the crumbs are based on the laws belonging to the master.
    I subscribe to the making your own way against the odds and setting your own standards,that the world will have to subscribe to rather than the other way around and we only need to use our brains to achieve this.

48. Mace & Grenades, Riot, War Dance (aka Bongo Riot) Avatar
    Mace & Grenades, Riot, War Dance (aka Bongo Riot)

The Reparations Case is not about winning or losing
    but simply about filing a case for what you believe in

Streets full of Black Protesters is a Whites Nightmare

49. Mace & Grenades, Riot, War Dance (aka Bongo Riot) Avatar
    Mace & Grenades, Riot, War Dance (aka Bongo Riot)

“it suggest a master servant concept”

Not filing a case suggests a master servant concept by pussy whipped servants suffering from Stockholm syndrome.

50. Love it….Stockholm syndrome

I wonder what is more servile…..
    ….using the tools(laws&lawyers) made by the colonials,to beg for crumbs off the large table full of bread
    or
    …creating your own tools to take from the large table whatever you want?