grenville_phillips_II

Grenville Phillips II, Blogmaster of Weighed in the Balance, Engineer

Pornography is now easily available to all school children who have access to a tablet or a smart phone. It is facilitated by persons who allow unrestricted access to the Internet in their homes or at the many Wi-Fi hotspots around Barbados. So let me share a solution; but first, let me describe the problem.

Pornography has two main damaging effects. The impact for viewers is that that they can primarily view sexual intercourse as a means to satisfy themselves rather than satisfying their partners. For male viewers, this can lead to a less satisfying sexual experience for her and a boring routine for him. He will likely develop an uncaring attitude towards her if she does not express a similar delight in his sexual performance as those whom he watches. His sexual experience should be all about satisfying her, and her sexual experience should be all about satisfying him.

The most damaging impact is on the victims whom the watchers are viewing. Many women, especially from Asian and eastern European countries, are forced into the sex slave trade, with harsh consequences if they do not show delight when raped (See Half the Sky and other research into sex slavery). As the watchers view these victims, they are supporting and sustaining this slavery. If people choose not to pay to view pornography on the Internet, then they still support and sustain the sex slave trade by adding to the web sites’ page views, which increases their potential advertising revenues.

For men to intentionally choose to harm themselves and their marriages for a few moments of pleasure is irresponsible. However, for viewers to sustain the sex slave trade, and the hopelessness of the victims who are repeatedly raped into submission, is unconscionable. The persons who forced the victims into sex slavery are vile. However, how do we describe the viewers who keep them in slavery by sustaining the slave owners’ profits? For us descendants of slaves, who should be held to a higher standard in this matter, to now sustain the enslavement of these women, is beyond my comprehension. So what is an economical and effective solution?

The obvious solution would be for the local Internet service providers to block pornographic images. However, this may attract claims of censorship from persons who feel entitled to access pornography regardless of the consequential damage to viewers and their victims. Yes, the sex slave actually becomes the victim of their Internet viewer. Therefore, the responsibility of helping the victims must fall heavily on all Internet subscribers.

Every household, school, resource centre and business with an Internet account should protect our children, and refuse to support the sex slave trade, by installing an effective pornography blocker at their router. I recommend the free Open DNS Family Shield software, which can be installed at the router in less than 2 minutes. This should have the added benefit of significantly improving productivity in the work place.

97 responses to “Protection from Pornography Needed”

1. However Don,t worry David i will sit this one out today and let the balance,s and bush tea,s blame all the evils of society on the female…..have fun..

2. AC……..don’t bother yourself, i will keep them in check…..lol

3. Well Well

You told me to drink it.

One good thing about porn – a pleasant diversion for the elderly and housebound who have forgotten.

We keep saying that we must return to traditional this and that. It’s an old story. It has some merit. Think of classic cars – wonderful as nostalgia (‘they don’t make ’em like that anymore’) BUT – the engines wear out quickly, they rust, the braking is duff, they are uncomfortable (‘thank God they don’t’).
    We say of kids – ‘They want discipline’ – by which we mean a cuff round the ear for every silly infraction. Fine – but not as a way of life.
    We say ‘this is a Christian country or was’ when we mean we are actually a bunch of Pharisees and that that’s good.

Now I wonder – just wonder, because I’m past the sell-by date too – whether the root problem with all this is that we simply don’t understand the minds of the young. They reject (maybe) the things we took for granted. They are forging their own values – as is right because they’re not robots. Sure it’s difficult to understand quite what they are. But I guess when the Beat generation grabbed us we had the same problem.

Yesterday I saw a kid adjacent to a line of traffic. His pants were half way down his ass. Most here would have been shocked. But you know…he went over to one of the cars and told the driver the rear passenger door wasn’t shut properly. See – he acted from instinct and the instinct was good no matter that his underwear was making a silly statement about him. But fine – be silly. It’s the one time you’ve got.

To one blogger – I am yet to see a naked girl in the street but do please direct me. But if you mean crop over – for gawds sake find some fun and don’t begrudge the young theirs. The stars will remain in their courses. And if you’re worried about your kids – don’t take them. If you’re worried about the bulge in your pants – deal with it – and don’t pretend your thoughts are other than they are. If they’re not – you’re a no-hoper.

4. Oh Amused – nice to see you. I was beginning to wonder.

5. Talking about banning Internet pornography is futile when we encourage live pornography on the streets at Cropover and at many competitions like Miss Banks Calendar competition. If we cannot teach our youngsters about sex before they learn it
    from the internet we are lost. Many people who are addicted porn cannot discern what is fake from what is real. Just look at how many “straight” men are into anal sex and women now believe that to please their man they must comply. How many articles have we seen published about the dangers of anal sex in women.

A local doctor was concerned that many young girls are coming in with torn wall membranes that separated the anus and the vagina. This a result of anal sex. Many are not told how their sphincter muscle weakens and will no longer hold their faeces in their bowels. The vagina is becoming extinct amongst men who practice anal sex.

Many sex addicts cannot perform adequately and suffer from erectile dysfunction with their partners because of watching too much porn. There was an article written by a former porn addict who had to reprogram himself to be able to enjoy sex with his partner.
    http://rebootblueprint.com/porn-ed-my-stor/

There is another phenomenon taking place in Japan where young people are not interested in sex and that is having an impact on the population growth.
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/01/30/japan-population-decline-youth-no-sex_n_1242014.html

So we have societies that are addicted to porn and those that are not interested in sex. Take your pick!

6. Ross…………..yeah, we can’t judge the young because of how they wear their pants, though i don’t like the below the backside trend, i tell my grandson, when you are with me, make sure the pants are on your waist, when you leave me, you can drop them to your ankles if you feel the girls won’t laugh at your ass and skinny legs…..and he does as i ask, well not to the ankles cause he knows everyone will laugh.

I believe after pointing the young in the right direction as parents/grand-parents, they are better left alone, most are now born with the intelligence that all the man-made mixup mixup and confusion is unnecessary, those are the same mix ups we held near and dear to our hearts and felt with all our souls that they were/are more important than the simple things in life, fool us, the young realize that we were duped and they don’t plan on falling for the same scenarios.

My take is that we look for the wrong things in the young, we look for them to follow the same template we did, it’s time to look beyond that and remember that the young are seeing things that we cannot see, just watch their body language and reactions and you see the difference…..let it alone and the understand perfectly.

7. Mother Earth has gone through asteroid strikes,weathered climate changes,seen the back of the Dinosaurs and most likely is preparing to say bye to the humanoids and welcome the next sojourners however brief on planet earth.
    Now prey tell what has Lucifer to do with anything???

8. @ Well Well
    What 80 year old man what!?! 🙂
    …you don’t have to let Pieceuhderock know that you have been talking directly to Bushie…

@ Vincent
    You got it right about the Mother Earth preparing to say bye bye to humans…
    With respect to Lucifer, where ignorance is bliss it would be folly for Bushie to be wise…. 🙂

9. How will you stop pornography when it is predicted in the Word that this ill will be rampant at the end time?

10. The Bushman…..pardon me, Piece, indeed i was discussing the subject with the 25 year old Bushman…..lol

11. End of time….chuckle…..whose time?
    I wonder if Mother Earth,the asteroids and the Dinosaurs are/were aware of the word?
    Humanoids….most that is…need a crutch such as the word,the book,the sign,etc,etc,….I suppose in the absence of these things their minds would implode….ah well….

12. What attention…………See u david that is call intelluctual snobbery ..U would never NEVER used such despicable chauvinistic language against the MALE…….. Attention what…….such language is out of line and character by one who professes equality for woman….. Woman are a rare breed of species and no longer should ask of or request of men when to speak.. and when we do are ridicule…….U have offended my last nerve and i will not forget..

13. “it’s not the first time, they are about to drop the one from the 70′s in a hole.”

But did he not end up before his current demise scraping the bottom of the barrel?

14. Second value of porn…….

enables us to live out our fantasies in private rather than repress them ….if you think you don’t have them, speak to Bush Tea and explore whether you’re both in denial.

15. Island girl ….”many straight men are into anal sex” that will make their transition to jail easier. My son just got back from Trinidad carnival so I went on line to see the parade, now it may have been the one or two I looked at but it seemed tamer than Barbados…… more fun than opportunism.

16. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WORD STUDY ON THE GREEK WORD PORNEO AS USED IN THE NT

17. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WORD STUDY ON THE GREEK WORD PORNEO AS USED IN THE NT
    http://www.religioustolerance.org/pornea.htm

18. Balance……as he should have and more, it’s called karma, let’s hope the other like-minded politicians are taking notes.

Lawson…………looks like you drank a lot of holy water at that pub…lol

19. @ Lawson

When you advance the view that many straight men are into anal sex, it is important that you make the necessary distinction between male and female anal sex. Because a man who has a sexual preference for both men and women can’t obviously be straight. He is defined as bi or bisexual; am I making sense here? Now a man who has anal intercourse with a female is either bisexual or gay right ? We should under no circumstances consider such a man straight Lawson.

20. @ Lawson

This is probably too much information for the general subscriber to the blog but it is important to clear up one myth regarding gay sex: some gay men do not engage in anal copulation at all, their sexual activity goes no further than fellatio. End of discussion David.

21. Dompey you see the quote notation right …I didn’t say it… island girl did your quarrel is with her, but here is the problem, some people are so intent and focused on what they want to say or do and the point or action they want to achieve that they probably do not realize something is being stuck up their ass. But you may be right I have heard 70% of the gay population was born that way and the other 30% were sucked into it.

22. Lawson……that holy water got you going..lol

23. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

women mess up everything and women bosses are mostly difficult. It is their way or no way. They are dictatorial , must have the last word and do not take kindly to dissent. They are wont to discrimination and they promote disunity and disharmony. Is this unique to women ? Some men do it too but these are men who are heavily influenced by women-their mothers and their sisters

24. give them an inch and they want to be a ruler

25. Georgie Porgie Avatar

The Greek words “pornea” FROM WHICH WE GET THE ENGLISH WORD PORNOGRAPHY (often translated “fornication”) and akatharsia (often translated “uncleanness”) are key terms used to refer to sexual sins in the Christian Scriptures (New Testament). They appear dozens of times, particularly in the writings attributed to Paul, who concentrated a great deal on sexual sins. Unfortunately, diverse Christian groups have very different definitions of these words.

Religious liberals tend to define the terms narrowly and precisely.
    Religious conservatives often define the words to include a wide assortment of sexual activities, when practiced within a wide range of types of relationships.

By simply defining the words in a narrow or wide sense, religious liberals and conservatives can totally change the meaning of the Bible.

Appearance of the Greek word “pornea” in the Christian Scriptures:

The word “pornea” is normally translated in the King James Version of the Bible as “fornication.” There are 32 verses in the original Greek versions of the Christian Scriptures that contain the word. Examples are:

Matthew 5:32: “But I say unto you, That whosoever shall put away his wife, saving for the cause of fornication, causeth her to commit adultery…”
    Romans 1:29-31: “Being filled with all unrighteousness, fornication, wickedness, covetousness, maliciousness; full of envy, murder, debate, deceit, malignity; whisperers, backbiters, haters of God, despiteful, proud, boasters, inventors of evil things, disobedient to parents, without understanding, covenant breakers, without natural affection, implacable, unmerciful:”
    1 Corinthians 5:1: “It is reported commonly that there is fornication among you, and such fornication as is not so much as named among the Gentiles, that one should have his father’s wife.”
    bullet 1 Corinthians 7:2: “Nevertheless, to avoid fornication, let every man have his own wife, and let every woman have her own husband.”
    Galatians 5:19-20: “Now the works of the flesh are manifest, which are these; Adultery, fornication, uncleanness, lasciviousness, idolatry, witchcraft, hatred, variance, emulations, wrath, strife, seditions, heresies…”
    Jude 1:7: “Even as Sodom and Gomorrha, and the cities about them in like manner, giving themselves over to fornication, and going after strange flesh, are set forth for an example, suffering the vengeance of eternal fire.”
    Revelation 18:3: “For all nations have drunk of the wine of the wrath of her fornication, and the kings of the earth have committed fornication with her, and the merchants of the earth are waxed rich through the abundance of her delicacies.”
    horizontal rule

Modern-day meanings of “fornication”:

The definition of “fornication” in dictionaries, Strong’s Concordance, and among religious liberals is restricted to actual sexual intercourse:

The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition defines “fornication” simply as: “Sexual intercourse between partners who are not married to each other.” 1
    bullet This dictionary also discusses the origin of the world. “Fornication” came from The Latin word “fornix,” from which “fornicti,” the ancestor of fornication, is derived. It meant a vault, an arch. The term also referred to a vaulted cellar or similar place where prostitutes plied their trade. 1
    A Dictionary of modern American Usage, defines “fornication” to refer to sexual intercourse by:
    two unmarried persons, or by
    one unmarried person with a married person. 2
    Strong’s Concordance gives 19th century meanings to Greek and Hebrew words found in the Bible. It describes “pornea,” as having a somewhat broader usage in Biblical times, compared to today. When used literally, it includes three activities: prostitution, adultery and incest. Figuratively it means idolatry, or sexual intercourse between unmarried persons. 3
    However, most conservative Christian churches have greatly expanded the English term “fornication.” It is to them a catchall term:

According to Christs Freedmen, it now includes "premarital sex, orgies, masturbation, oral sex, fetishes, anything to do with pornography, 'improper' thoughts about the opposite sex, homosexuality, and just about any other sexual sin you could think of." He comments: "While some of these things are sin...this is a gross misuse of the word fornication." 3
    Some conservative churches and ministries extend the definition of "pornea" to include masturbation.
    "Adultery is one type of fornication...In Biblical usage, 'fornication' can mean any sexual congress outside monogamous marriage. It thus includes not only premarital sex, but also adultery, homosexual acts, incest, remarriage after un-Biblical divorce, and sexual acts with animals, all of which are explicitly forbidden in the law as given through Moses (Leviticus 20:10-21). Christ expanded the prohibition against adultery to include even sexual lusting (Matthew 5:28)." 4
     Easton's Bible Dictionary says: "...much of the behavior  that is fairly acceptable in our culture is exactly what Paul would term 'pornea.' Sexual immorality. Like what? Like premarital sex. Like sex outside of marriage. Like pornography. Like prostitution." 5
    The Jehovah's Witnesses teach that: "The Greek word translated 'fornication' is not restricted to sexual intercourse but includes a variety of lewd acts. So if two unmarried people engage in oral sex or in fondling each others’ reproductive organs, they are guilty of fornication."

26. Georgie Porgie Avatar

DAVID
    WHY ARE YOU BLOCKING MY POSTS?

27. “To one blogger – I am yet to see a naked girl in the street but do please direct me”
    If I am the blogger to whom you are referring meet me about 2.am at the corner of Combermere and Bay streets and we would take it from there but let me be more explanatory; my comments were not intended to portray the instances of which I speak as ‘stark’ naked as the older folk would so reference but to draw attention to the fact that women have become more daring in their manner of dress; more willing to expose or reveal more of their sacredness than hitherto before. In times pass, women were more conservative and respectful and sober in how they dress -even the ladies of the night -revealed just so much and one had to pay to see the rest or let imagination tickle one’s fancies; nowadays wherever you turn voluptuous looking breasts are all over your face; all kinds of ladies backsides are right up in your nose and to crown it off if walking behind ‘a lady’ could be greeted with the skimpiest of underwear or at times no underwear at all. See you tonite.

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ lawson | March 11, 2014 at 5:39 PM |
    “.. give them an inch and they want to be a ruler..”

Lawson, your funny puns are well appreciated but way above our heads. LOL!!

Never deal in inches, always feet. You will definitely get lost, otherwise.

We wonder if your girlfriend “ac” has the humourous grip enough to feel your puny drift or is she just a bottomless pit keeping you in ecstatic limbo between ‘blue balls’ heaven and the deep red sea.

29. @ DR HONOURABLE

I have had a few female bosses throughout my public as well as my private careers and I am afraid to say, I haven’t had your kind of an experience. But that’s not to minimize the validity of what you’re alleging because I’ve also experienced what some in the business world calls: the Alpha Female Syndrome. Now with that being said: I only hope that the women here do not take affront to my statement because it isn’t meant to demean the very competent women, who governs at the highest level.

30. @ Georgie Porgie
    What a Brobdingnagian ego! How dear you censor my posts. Well! The next time you think you’re perfect, try walking on water. Sorry, no disrespect intended, I just couldn’t help myself.

31. Dompey since you were giving me free advice in not advancing ideas without proper vetting, I would like to repay the favour by way of saving you money……don’t buy the plane ticket….big ben is a bell.

32. Lawson

Mr! I appreciate your watchful eye and supportive presence but those tickets would be of no use to a man who is blind in one eye and deaf in both ears.

33. You know in the land of the blind the one eyed man is king

34. Balance

….shit I only just saw your offer. You are still a wag I see. Good for you.

So there you are.. sex on saturday nights with your wife, mostly clothed, in the dark, in the missionary position is all. All else is fornication, is porn. Yes, I do see. Thank you.

IF anal sex, male to female, is indicative of ac/dc then seems that the ratio of straight to gay is more like 5 to 2. Or is there something special about the female….? Is it a statement about the death of female domination? If so, it may be a divine thing if Robert Graves is right and Jesus came to destroy the works of the female.

Third value of porn

It tells you, YOU, that others have the same kinks as you do so there’s no need to feel guilty all the time. It doesn’t mean you’re a sick pervert.

But there’s a down side. It means you’re not as kinky as you once thought. Live with it.

On the mechanics of sex -the Preacher was right… there’s nothing new. Check Is. 36:12…….an incitement to scat. Gee – and this is Big G’s ‘Word’? And ask Solomon how many concubines he bonks each night. Or righteous Lot how many daughters he’s given up for gang rape these days – and how he’s getting on with incest. But then remember….love makes all things clean – of the prostitute “for she loved much”. Jesus said so didn’t he?.

Some have argued that porn kills the fighting spirit. But that’s only the law of “too much/too little”. Too much sun, you fry. Too much water, you drown. Too much wind, you get blown away. Too much drink, you lose your liver. (Lawson) Too much food, obesity. Too much sugar, diabetes. Too much masturbation, arthritis.

35. “Too much masturbation, arthritis.”
    Speaking for yourself, I suppose.

36. Lawson

A man with boots employs a man with shoes and man with shoes employs a man who has none.

37. Porn V Prostitution Avatar
    Porn V Prostitution

Whats the difference between Porn and Prostitution?

except for the film crew and exhibitionism in front of a crowd

beeg.com/‎

38. Georgie Porgie

It seems as though you have forgotten that Jesus Christ brought us Grace? The opportunity to genuflect and pour out our spirit to God in our quest obtain forgiveness for the wrong which we may have done.

39. Porn is legal with two consenting adults of course but prostitution isn’t. And if you have any further questions regarding this issue, my advice is to take it up with your respective legislators.

40. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Bush Tea

I saw your remark “What 80 year old man what!?! 🙂 …you don’t have to let Pieceuhderock know that you have been talking directly to Bushie…”

It hurt me for two reasons.

Every time tings progressing and I getting “close” to somebody heah i does realise that you does be trying a ting,
    De second reason BT is dat I grudgeful uh you causing I cyan get me cumputer to put in dem smile faces en ting dat you does do!!

So, given all de flirting en ting BT, going on behind my back, i think it is time fuh us to meet at de Garrison wid flintlocks and seconds at the early glint of dawn.

But jes’ to mek sure dat we will be able to come home and type way pun de cumputer after de duel, we should load de guns dem wid blanks, I already have my own 80 year stock but I is not prepared to lend you nun. Bring you own!!

So dat nuh body doan tamper wid we weapons and eider uh we get permanently pass out, by accident, i tink dat we shud replace de flintlocks wid thesauruses, (I wudda axe dat fellow dat used to blog here jes recently fuh his but he withdraw from de blog suddenly) or rolls uh toilet paper, and whoever hid de nex body wid 3 in duh chess in quick succession, should be de winner uh de duel and continue to woo fair Capulet’s daughter. How bout dat man

In fact Bush Tea I jes had a nex idea!!

instead uh me en you slugging it out, why we doan bring de mos ingrunt politicians down dey and let dem slug it out pun de Garrison and depending pun who win, DLP or BLP, we choose a side and lef it at dat?

“de most ingrunt?

Why BT dat wud mean dat all uh dem wud be down deah at de Garrison fighting and after de duel, when dem annihilate each udder we cud get a nex general election fuh 30 new representatives.

I sure dat de IMF wud give de cuntry a grant to buy 30 gun carriages and coffins to bury all uh dem one time at a mass state funeral up deah by Cost U More or Coverley or one uh de many pieces uh land dat dem got in a controversy.

We cud get dat “We Move de Earth to Please” fellow to come and bring nuff dirt tuh cover Fumble and Stinkliar graves cause, give de shi$e dat dem does talk, it gine tek alot more earf dan normal tuh covah dem up.

Anyway I still wants you tuh lef lef out Well Well nuh!!

41. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Sorry Bush Tea

I did mean to say 60, not 30 man I like i went to de same school as Stinkliar!!

42. After months of being lonely, depressed and wanking off to porn I have decided to try a singles club tonight. I just have to find something to get this wedding ring off

43. Lawson

…that’s my boy

Balance

Check your fingers

Dompey

(For the record)….it’s not a criminal offence to bonk a prostitute.

44. Robert I agree with you, and I told the cops the exact same thing, if they do not want people going at it in the movie theatre they should at least post some kind of a sign.

45. Dompey………Dr. the Honorable has a thing for alpha females, he can’t get over them.

46. ‘Balance

Check your fingers”

With pleasure and you your tongue where the juice beckons

47. Balance

MMMMMMMMM – you’re SOoooooooo sexy.