Submitted by Douglas
'she, after being part of the planning committee, has decided to ‘boycott’ the 375th anniversary'
‘she, after being part of the planning committee, has decided to ‘boycott’ the 375th anniversary’

A few weeks ago in the article titled ‘Its Friday Mia!’, her bluff was called regarding the change of strategy from attacking The Minister of Finance to the Prime Minister. As usual, nothing happened.

In that article as well it was predicted that there will eventually be a political obituary entitled ‘The Self Destruction of Mia Mottley’. The Freundel Stuart administration in protecting Barbadians from the self aggrandizing megalomaniac BLP members have created many a political duppy and Ms. Mottley seems adamant that she wants to join this group. The irony is that like Ceaser, she has to fear that by the Ides of March she too might become politically irrelevant.

Regarding leadership, Mia has failed dramatically. As the Leader of Her Majesty’s Loyal Opposition, she, after being part of the planning committee, has decided to ‘boycott’ the 375th anniversary of the Parliament of Barbados, which is one of the oldest Parliaments in the entire Commonwealth. Imagine the embarrassing implications this has for the Barbados Labour Party, that their leader would boycott a grand international occasion that involves the Royal Commonwealth Society and the Prince Edward that helps the image of the country just to try to divert attention unto herself and claim she is doing it for Barbadians. So the question is, does anyone care if she goes?

Persons have seen the value of recognizing the 375th anniversary and have even encouraged Bridgetown to have attractions and good store prices as well as encourage cruise ship passengers to come and see a momentous occasion as we highlight heritage tourism, but of course it would shed a positive light on the Government instead of herself, so she puts her foot in her mouth, once again. We imagine that Leader of Opposition Business Kerrie Symmonds and former Prime Minister Owen Arthur would be there though, showing their face for imminent appointment of a new opposition leader. Of course, she could always be two faced as usual and show up after reading the article.

The situation is so dire that the rank and file of the Barbados Labour Party have started to show dissent in many ways, far from a united front, far from having a leader at all.

Information has been going around from credible sources that after claiming that the unions are not doing enough to represent the workers of Barbados, she is going around behind the scenes trying to get their support to talk at her ‘People’s Assemblies’ which the nation and the BLP supporters are growing tired of. Her advisors are sitting back and laughing with glee as she sharpens her own knife to be plunged in the back of her political career. Her desperation is apparent. Will she ever learn?

It is clear that due to the recession the BLP see and opportunity and everyone is trying to break for themselves. Their representatives have praised our policies, including the soon to be established Revenue Authority. Seeing the eventuality of the vacancy, they have once again began to pick sides.

It is reported that when she goes to meetings she can only get her minions to follow her, in particular a political neophyte, a political duppy from the south and one referred to as a ‘dilapidated chattel house’ by her predecessor, who might be auditioning for the role once again.

Indeed she, it is reported, has been asking persons to speak on information that they should not have as it has yet to be laid before Parliament. Imagine the dangerous implications this could have on persons.

The time is running out. Her situation is dire. It has been her last chance to prove herself and she has been failing miserably and like crabs in a bucket, it will not be long before the crabs in the bucket begin to claw and pull her down as they rise.

We wonder if she was ever exorcised of the demons Owen had referred to. He certainly doesn’t seem to think so with his recent ‘Not me and Mia’ comment. Gilded and arrogant he is perhaps sticking around to have a second coming as he desperately wants to be Errol Barrow, a man whose stature he cannot even begin to compare to, much less copy.

In light of the imminent end, we urge Barbadians to wrap themselves in the flag in these difficult times. We are Barbadian first and foremost. The constant attempts to create tension and agitation to force a result will not work as at the end of the day the power belongs to God, not man. It is not the will of the people, whether DLP, BLP or neutral to have an election at this time. Only that of the power hungry Mia, who will be looking for a new role in her political life as there is an imminent opening for the Vacancy of Leader of the Opposition approaching.

130 responses to “VACANCY for Leader of the OPPOSITION”

1. @ Mark Fenty

“Now, let’s deal with the Barbados Labor Party that has and continues to favor the well to in Barbados. And as long as the Good God pump breath into this mortal body of mine. I would never vote for party that have never cared about the real issues and concerns of the downtrodden in Barbados.”

The DLP spent millions of dollars during the 2008 and 2013 election campaigns. From whom did the DLP source their campaign funding? Surely, it could not have been from those poor supporters who contribute the $100 or so dollars. To which class of society are all the government contracts to build houses, roads, etc. going to?

So, the government’s handling of the current economic situation indicates to you they care about the “real issues and concerns of the downtrodden in Barbados”?

For example, let us talk about the “down-trodden”. The government loved poor people so much that they gave them the NHC units free of charge. Units given away means a reduction in NHC revenue; hence, government must supplement this shortfall in its vote for the NHC. Then they have to recoup or finance this supplemental by way of taxation; and we all know that there was a substantial increase of taxes over the past 6 years.
    How many were hired prior to the 2013 elections, especially in an environment where such an increase in expenditure was not viable, and were first casualties of the “retrenchment chopping block”?
    Essentially, poor policies and delayed decision making by this administration have added to the populace of down-trodden in Barbados.

Talk about grammar?

“I would never vote for party that have never cared about the real issues and concerns of the downtrodden in Barbados.”

“I would never vote for party that have” ……… Incorrect use of English

“I would never vote for PARTIES THAT HAVE…..” Correct use of English – OR –
    “I would never vote for a PARTY THAT HAS….”

Stop stressing out “Piece”

2. Enuff……..as far as the history from older folks go, that land at Paradise was owned by the Wards, at least a vast amount of it, don’t know how they got it or who they sold it to since they sold Mount Gay Rum 34 years ago and no one or very lfew people in Barbados knew, so it’s hard to tell who owns what in Barbados now or better yet who has stolen what, seeing the amount of disputes and original deeds suddenly appearing….lol,

3. Well Well

Well according to Plantation, Violet owns Barbados lol.

4. Enuff………i heard it really was a lot of property owned by these ladies, it probably sounds like the whole island to you….lol

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Artaxerxes | March 2, 2014 at 11:06 AM |

We are glad you have come to the realization that Mark Fenty (M F in American slang) is a genuine fool.

You should do like some others and just ignore him.

The old folks used to say “education is not commonsense”. It’s a pity both of these attributes elude that idiot.

6. @ Prodigal Son
    What I have been hearing from people who usually travel to Caribbean from this part of the world is that Barbados is too expense of a destiny. So their are opting for alternative destinations in South America, such as Mexico and the Dominican Republic just to name a few.

7. “The political spin is par for the course.”
    Yes indeed and I do wonder why we waste time discussing the political tantrums of our political masters. Remember Mr Sandiford voted with the opposition for an increase in salaries for parliamentarians; remember when Mr Kellman refused to support a resolution brought by Mr Thompson to the House and Ms Mottley then Leader of Government business had to second the resolution;

8. ‘I would never vote for party that have never cared about the real issues and concerns of the downtrodden in Barbados.”

Outstanding list of projects and policies of the BLP include: Universal Adult Suffrage (right of all to vote), formation of the Barbados Workers Union, Holiday With Pay, public markets, health centres and later Polyclinics, motorised fishing boats, low income housing, Government Headquarters, tourism industry, industrial development, Deep Water Harbour, Queen Elizabeth Hospital, start of free secondary education, Tenantries Freehold Purchase Act which empowered the ordinary Barbadian with land ownership, financial services and international business, unemployment insurance, equality of women, equal status to children born in and out of wedlock, ABC Highway, Central Bank Building, Rural and Urban Development Commissions, Urban Tenantries land programme, poverty eradication, Tourism Development Act, and Special Development legislation

9. and I forgot one. access to medical care and drugs for aids patients available to all;

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ are-we-there-yet? | March 1, 2014 at 5:54 PM |
    “In fact, don’t you understand that we are staring down the barrel of a possible 5 to 1 devaluation and that on the current trajectory we cannot avoid it. In such a situation the most sensible thing for the Government to do is to concoct a situation where they are not the ones to be in power when the devaluation has to be implemented, i.e find a reason for calling an election. Mia has to avoid any possibility of taking over a Barbados government that will have to devalue. If that happens it will be the BLP that will be in exile for the next 20 years.”

Such a beautiful assessment of the political game of charades being played out in Bim!

Mia should appreciate this is not the time to take over the government. Let the current administration implode on itself after being hoisted with its own devaluation petard.
    She needs to keep Estwick at bay while he continues to gnaw away on the current administration slender bone.

Despite all the appeals and protestations from the Governor of the ‘mistrusted’ central bank Devaluation is the only next option on the IMF table when the forex runs critically low in the coming months.

He is the same little bully boy who tried to fly in the face of the Head of the IMF whose policies he so publicly ridiculed but in a sudden flash of Damascene light has seen the wisdom of following the same prescription for the ailing Bajan economy.

Dr. IMF has diagnosed the patient (the Bajan economy) to be suffering from a serious case of economic diabetes as a result of too much ‘sweet-living’ and has prescribed a significant reduction in sweet life consumption if an amputation of limbs is to be avoided.
    Will we see such medical advice adhered to according to the diet schedule and within the timetable prescribed?
    Or will we soon be seeing a similar volte-face regarding the Guv’s position on the IMF Devaluation medicine to be forced down the country’s throat?

11. @ AWTY

Your question was “Ask yuh son if $50K BBD would suffice for a project to provide the electricity needs of 30 people in a typical neighborhood in present day Barbados?”

He says yes.

He also say that if the conventional means were used to source this equipment it would cost what you suggest $50K but he says that UNDP has a purchasing entity in the EU called IAPSO (see http://www.iapso.org) which buys all of the purchases for the UN agencies.

If you wanted to buy a truck that would normally cost $100K. That agency, because they buy in such bulk, gets the same item for 60% of the price.

This is why they were able to buy and fund that PVC project for that village for $5K in the 1990’s when siad technology was much pricier

UNDP is one of the 11 International Development Funding Agencies that is so pissed of at the DLP government and their underperforming loan portfolios and inert country indicative programming. Pick one of them and have a chat with their Representatives and you will hear the tales of woe that they tell.

The ironic thing is that Chris Sinckliar used to be the head of CPDC in Welches and worked with them for years trying to get grant money.

Now, as Minister of Finance, he is showing them what a phvcking ingrunt swine he is.

You know AWTH, head is not brain.

We have alot of so called brainiacs who have not got a clue as to how to do business in this global village.

IDB does not like underperforming loan portfolios, it looks bad on the Res. Rep and his country office, if that goes on long enough the directors make a decision to shut down the CO.

But i am wasting my time though cause neither the BLP or the DLP can think out of the box.

12. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Well Well | March 2, 2014 at 11:12 AM | @

WARDS sold off their Plantations lands to Beatrice Henry,
    Mount Gay also as far as we Know,
    Where is the Deed History leading back , Ask MIA the crook liar and scumbag .Mr Williams over at the archives,

13. Balance, as I have said, I have tendency to omit a word or two when I writing brother. And the word Have be can use interchangeably: past or present, just check it out sir.

14. So how Paradise Beach Hotel built on Beatrix land? What about Errol Barrow and all those residents from Pile Bay up to Batts Rock?

15. are-we-there-yet Avatar

PUDRYR

Your son is right about UN project sourcing. What does he think about David Estwick’s proposal?

16. Enuff………as far as i know, the house Kampala owned by Barrow was given to him so he would not stop the Wards from blocking the road to Paradise on the other side by Light & Power………the other residents, i cannot say.

17. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Well Well , , light and power is on the BAY Plantation deed from Big Black Cat John Beckles to Beatrice Henry about 180 acres 1930 and not William Skinner ,
    PM crook alone with the Barbados also is St Michael South voting block . No records of Brittions Hill can be found , But we have that deed also

So the PM of Barbados won in an area that do not exist ,Sir Crook Henry Forde seem to own every thing on Fords road and COW see to own every thing that anyone named Williams ever owned , but never sold to him.
    More paper play at the Archives on word done by H/Q

Just watch all we at PLANTATION DEEDS is coming to true in front of many eyes , to close your eyes and talk shit change nothing,
    Nothing will work out for Barbados until your voted crooks speak the truth,

18. so mottley says it was not a boycott,,,,,so then can it be described as a ‘gimmick’

19. LOL @ ac
    Sweet….LOL gimmick!!!.., Ha ha..

..see, these are the types of things you should stick to…
    Keep off other blogs where you need to know things and be logical..

20. ac,

The two hundred and fifty people from the Transport Board who will be given their dismissal letters today is not a gimmick, though!

21. Bush Tea | March 2, 2014 at 11:20 PM
    ..see, these are the types of things you should stick to…
    Keep off other blogs where you need to know things and be logical..
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

you and your ‘bullying’ ways just can’t seem to help yourself now having the audacity of telling me what to say and when to say it ….man you really need a good swift kick in your a,sssss ,,,,,,,,,,

22. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

The Gimmick is , If they laid off all as reported 10,000 to 15,000 , the DBLP government will not need to get any loans from the WB ,or IMF.

Use the same money to pay off their debt,

Rehire the workers 12 to 18 month before the next election and be happy again , after the next election lay them off again ,
    Best money spent on buying votes , Then they they will look to give them self a pat hike again .

VAT needs to go ,get rid of VAT

23. @David do you expect anything else from Peter Gilkes Bajan aka Fuh Life who drawing over $10,000 in largesse monthly while people getting send home. We can do without his services as a DLP or BLP spin doctor as he switches party every 15 years.

24. @Lionel

Both sides spin don’t they?

25. Doesn,t the BLP cackling yardfowls understand/realise the need for govt to take action necessary in order to control the country and stablize the finances ..why are u guys so miserable and twisted? …why were u not the same clowns callin for (said) action which u now calling gimmicks”” Ghee talk about a bunch of disgruntle retards

26. @ac

Yes ac you hit the nail on the head, many called for action years ago to make the economic intervention less painful. This government does everything in slow mo.

27. ac | March 3, 2014 at 9:21 AM |

Doesn,t the BLP cackling yardfowls understand/realise the need for govt to take action necessary in order to control the country and stablize the finances ..why are u guys so miserable and twisted?…………………………

Bush Tea does not all you a brass bowl for nothing!

Were you not the chief cheerleader for this wicked inept incompetent destructive lying party all during 2012 to 2013 saying that the economy was stable and that the BLP supporters were only preaching doom and gloom and that the economy was stable and on a growth path?

So what is there to understand the “need for govt to take action necessary in order to control the country and stabilizing the finances” you now come here talking about?

You bloody hypocrite!

28. is ac employed somewhere?
    Wow
    ac has to be the most frequent contributor
    ac cant be a father , ac cant be a mother
    ac seems to be more like a carrion fly
    defecating and puking and living a lie
    nothing is more stupider
    than ac spewing drivel on the computer

29. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@Bajanfuhlife | March 1, 2014 at 12:54 PM |

“She has lost the respect of even some BLP supporters.”

Mia Mottley HAS NOT lost anyone’s respect, in fact her actions has gained her the admiration of those who matter. the young who cannot find work, those that have been recently laid off, those who have mouths to feed but cannot get their money etc, those people understand that if the country is suffering, then any kind of funds should be utilized to assist families who find themselves in unfortunate circumstances not spent on celebrating a British system with archaic laws, brought into the island during slavery

30. Stewart and the current DLP aministration may not know what in the hell they are doing. The BLP administration before them also did not know what in the hell they were doing. Proof of this is Violet Beckles/Mass Land Theft, Contractor Al Barack, ABC Highway, VECO, etc.

Owen Arthur it seems has found himself a rabbit hole and stays in it. Mottley should follow suit. Both, Mottley and Arthur are responsible for a lot of woes on that island, should be in jail accompanying other BLP members: Dale Marshall, George Payne and Gline Clark. Their properties: home, car (s), banking account (s) should be conficated.