Submitted by Douglas
'she, after being part of the planning committee, has decided to ‘boycott’ the 375th anniversary'
‘she, after being part of the planning committee, has decided to ‘boycott’ the 375th anniversary’

A few weeks ago in the article titled ‘Its Friday Mia!’, her bluff was called regarding the change of strategy from attacking The Minister of Finance to the Prime Minister. As usual, nothing happened.

In that article as well it was predicted that there will eventually be a political obituary entitled ‘The Self Destruction of Mia Mottley’. The Freundel Stuart administration in protecting Barbadians from the self aggrandizing megalomaniac BLP members have created many a political duppy and Ms. Mottley seems adamant that she wants to join this group. The irony is that like Ceaser, she has to fear that by the Ides of March she too might become politically irrelevant.

Regarding leadership, Mia has failed dramatically. As the Leader of Her Majesty’s Loyal Opposition, she, after being part of the planning committee, has decided to ‘boycott’ the 375th anniversary of the Parliament of Barbados, which is one of the oldest Parliaments in the entire Commonwealth. Imagine the embarrassing implications this has for the Barbados Labour Party, that their leader would boycott a grand international occasion that involves the Royal Commonwealth Society and the Prince Edward that helps the image of the country just to try to divert attention unto herself and claim she is doing it for Barbadians. So the question is, does anyone care if she goes?

Persons have seen the value of recognizing the 375th anniversary and have even encouraged Bridgetown to have attractions and good store prices as well as encourage cruise ship passengers to come and see a momentous occasion as we highlight heritage tourism, but of course it would shed a positive light on the Government instead of herself, so she puts her foot in her mouth, once again. We imagine that Leader of Opposition Business Kerrie Symmonds and former Prime Minister Owen Arthur would be there though, showing their face for imminent appointment of a new opposition leader. Of course, she could always be two faced as usual and show up after reading the article.

The situation is so dire that the rank and file of the Barbados Labour Party have started to show dissent in many ways, far from a united front, far from having a leader at all.

Information has been going around from credible sources that after claiming that the unions are not doing enough to represent the workers of Barbados, she is going around behind the scenes trying to get their support to talk at her ‘People’s Assemblies’ which the nation and the BLP supporters are growing tired of. Her advisors are sitting back and laughing with glee as she sharpens her own knife to be plunged in the back of her political career. Her desperation is apparent. Will she ever learn?

It is clear that due to the recession the BLP see and opportunity and everyone is trying to break for themselves. Their representatives have praised our policies, including the soon to be established Revenue Authority. Seeing the eventuality of the vacancy, they have once again began to pick sides.

It is reported that when she goes to meetings she can only get her minions to follow her, in particular a political neophyte, a political duppy from the south and one referred to as a ‘dilapidated chattel house’ by her predecessor, who might be auditioning for the role once again.

Indeed she, it is reported, has been asking persons to speak on information that they should not have as it has yet to be laid before Parliament. Imagine the dangerous implications this could have on persons.

The time is running out. Her situation is dire. It has been her last chance to prove herself and she has been failing miserably and like crabs in a bucket, it will not be long before the crabs in the bucket begin to claw and pull her down as they rise.

We wonder if she was ever exorcised of the demons Owen had referred to. He certainly doesn’t seem to think so with his recent ‘Not me and Mia’ comment. Gilded and arrogant he is perhaps sticking around to have a second coming as he desperately wants to be Errol Barrow, a man whose stature he cannot even begin to compare to, much less copy.

In light of the imminent end, we urge Barbadians to wrap themselves in the flag in these difficult times. We are Barbadian first and foremost. The constant attempts to create tension and agitation to force a result will not work as at the end of the day the power belongs to God, not man. It is not the will of the people, whether DLP, BLP or neutral to have an election at this time. Only that of the power hungry Mia, who will be looking for a new role in her political life as there is an imminent opening for the Vacancy of Leader of the Opposition approaching.

130 responses to “VACANCY for Leader of the OPPOSITION”

1. People who engage in exchanges of a partisan nature are either dumb or disingenuous … or both …!

2. That’s what happens when you try to play the electorate for fools, Inniss should also be reminded that is turn is just around the corner.

3. should read:

HIS TURN.

4. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

MIA looking to take lead , but not leading, Leading to cover up her work as an AG ? Crown land Well Well , Let us ask the Royals if they know about more land added to their Empire ,,, she will have to deal with Plantation Deeds,
    We can make a rope with the deeds we have and she can hang her self, Traitors way out.

5. Keep up the good work Mia you are winning the hearts and minds of the people.
    Douglas please go take a shower ! You are smelling rank!

6. The Anglican Church spends $75,000 on a service. The Government spends $100,000 on a ceremony. Meanwhile people are being driven to the bread line.

My first thought about Mia was that she was wrong and too skittish for words. But as ever with the insight I lack SWMBO has just told me Mia’s reasons. And they were noble. It is about time that right is done; and Mia has demonstrated that principle is more important than empty posturing.

7. island gal speaking of appearances your girl Mia would be well served to go on a crash diet or head to fitness classes. Leaders should be nimble of brain and body. She was on television rubbing shoulders even as she was rubbing in different places.
    It would be of interest to know the means by which Mia plans to achieve her ends of overthrowing the government. Estwick is the China card she wants to play don’t know if finicky Estwick ready to embrace Mia yet . Time will tell.

8. DLP (formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) TV

The stupidity of this article. Douglas (Leopold Phillips) should not concern themselves with Mia or the 13 other members of the Opposition but the 275,000 other Barbadians that realize that the DLP pull a bait and switch on them less than a year ago. More specifically they should pay some mind to the Drainage Workers that were let go and after two months can’t get their severance pay but this gov’t could find $100,000 for ” pomp and pageantry”. Pay some mind to those who qualified for the Reverse Tax Credit probably get tricked by a bus add and voted DEM only to find their RTC gine get cut by half. What about the 3000 in the public service who voted based on Fumble’s declaration that “no one in the public sector will go home” only to find themselves on the bread line less than a year later. These 3000 workers wondering why i going home but this gov’t could find money for political football tournaments and constituency\vote buying councils while this country going through an economic disaster.

9. CAREER OPPORTUNITY

The country of Barbados is seeking applications from suitably qualified persons to fill the position of Prime Minister of Barbados.

The successful candidate will be expected:
    * To provide effective leadership of this country
    * To manage this economy very well so that its citizens can have access to a high standard of security, education and health care
    * Excellent communication skills
    *Strong analytical skills
    *Sound knowledge of how to run a country
    *Excellent interpersonal skills
    *The ability to both initiate and adapt to change
    *Proven problem solving ability
    * Honesty that when you see people buying votes, you report the matter to the police
    * Ability to control your cabinet
    * To cut the existing cabinet by at least 6 members

This job has to be filled immediately. The current occupant is lazy, does not communicate and when he does he insults the people, he does not seem to have a cue about what is going on now.

Salary will commensurate with qualifications!

10. I wish that certain people will stop saying that the Anglican church paid $75,000 to put on a service. Not true!

11. Man come off it Mia and Owen good Arthur done Mia is the Leader there isn’t a fraction or fractured Blp so come off man

12. Douglas, please ignore that fine specimen of human form. Whose conduct is exceedingly well-bred and gives no sign of moral turpitude. lol

13. Hippy | February 28, 2014 at 8:07 PM |

island gal speaking of appearances your girl Mia would be well served to go on a crash diet or head to fitness classes. Leaders should be nimble of brain and body. She was on television rubbing shoulders even as she was rubbing in different places……………………………

You Dems cannot help but live in the ghetto. Do you have a sister, cousin or niece? Would you like someone to write the filth you just wrote above about the relative?

Talk about spitting up in the air and letting it fall right back in your face! Did you happen to see the back page of Monday’s Nation? Go and look at it! When you are in George Street, do you ever see Chris Sinckler, Jepther Ince, Richard Sealy or Donville Inniss? Talking about leaders….dont go there…..have you ever looked your leader in the face? OMG!

While you are at it, install some mirrors in George Street too, in that way you would never come on BU and try to insult MAM again! With the exception of Richard Sealy, the Depeizas, Esther Byer Suckoo and Stephen Lashley, it seems as if only a certain type is associated with the DLP. Go figure!

14. GP

The cost of the Anglican service WAS $75,000 and parishes, including my own, are being asked to contribute. The Canon Missioner (so-called) is the person who advertised the cost. So check with him..

15. Sorry my last remark was for PS not GP. Apologies to GP.

16. robert ross | February 28, 2014 at 8:41 PM |
    CAN YOU SAY MORE ABOUT THE SERVICE IN QUESTION?

17. GP

What do you want to know?

18. Did Owen Arthur attend the Function?

19. Is George Payne still in Parliament? I have not heard a word rom him for a long time. Is he back to not talking?

20. This contribution is absolute rubbish!!!!

It is truly amazing, and probably a worn out political strategy, that when the DLP is seemingly under some pressure, their cohorts always seek to introduce a “red herring” to divert the focus of attention from their ineptitude onto the opposition.
    Just recently, we saw this stupidity being displayed by none other than Chris Sinckler, when, after reading a ministerial statement outlining the government’s intension of terminating 3,500 public sector workers, sought to suggest the opposition should table a resolution in parliament for a percentage reduction of civil service salaries, {after the fact}.

The government spent over $250,000 to host a royal visit approximately two years ago, then MP Hamilton Lashley used the halls of parliament to inform the house that he is not in agreement with the royal visit, and as such he will boycott the ceremony. I wonder what is Douglas’ take on this!!!

21. @Hippy aka waiting etc

22. @ Prodigal Son

” You Dems cannot help but to live in the ghetto”

Waiting! Wasn’t it last year that a member of the BLP accused the Prime Minister of Barbados of having a face that only a mother could love? Come now, wunna got short memory but me don’t.

23. I love when David calls out the multi-pseudonym contributors. I am convinced the yachting consultant is one.

24. On a point of order. We see that the crumbling Empire, in its blind drunken state, is pulling the Bear’s tail again. We had forecasted elsewhere that Putin will put a hard slap in Obama’s fat ass. He was just waiting until the games Olympic were over. Same as in Georgia before.

It continues to amaze us how a war wary, bankrupted, dying Empire could pretend to want to continue ruling the world using terrorists and cheap military expansionism under the guise of freedom when the USA itself is less free now, if you are minded it ever was. And now the same people who supported the Nazis during WW2, in the Crimea, could now be supported by the criminal Americans. Fascists who are so rabidly antisemitic that even the regular hawks in Washington want to avoid them. Life is more tragic than the tragedy that is Othello.

For the ignorant here and elsewhere, it was the USA which had promised the Russians at the the fall of the USSR that they will not extend NATO to Russia’s borders. Every stinking American president since and including Reagan has broken that solemn promise.

Unfortunately, it will take a nuclear war at some point for the USA to retreat to the third world nation it is.

25. Why do we have to make nasty personal remarks a party political adventure? Is this constant name calling something about us? Must be I suppose. We do it all the time.

26. Perhaps there is another position. MAM as Opposition Leader is justified in holding her position i.e. government cannot pay retrenched monies due read Drainage, why spend the money. On the flip side there is another justified position that it is an ‘achievement’ and if Barbados is to be seen promoted as a historic city this is the kind of milestone we have to promote. There will be no meeting of the minds on this issue. Let us move on.

27. David

You are quite right I think.

28. David
    I would only accept those crocodile tears for the workers when all Parliamentarians only accept $1980.00 for a month salary which is the average salary of the Drainage unit workers so that they can be paid.

All constituency office allowances should be pooled to pay those workers

All entertainment allowances to MPs should be cut so that money can be available to pay those workers.

What sacrifices have Mia suggested that would affect her perks as Opposition Leader to help the workers besides talk.

29. Of interest to political observers AND interest in a ‘fit’ governance system is whether MAM socialized the idea of boycott with her parliamentary group.

30. @Clone

The Opposition is on record that it would follow government if it agreed to cut THEIR salaries, a fair position.

31. islandgal246 | February 28, 2014 at 7:37 PM

Keep up the good work Mia you are winning the hearts and minds of the people

lllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll

steupse;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; girl do mek me laugh…………. winning the hearts and minds of people and turning the stomach of OSA…..

32. Prodigal Daughter Mia did not ‘ boy – cott ‘ the celebrations as she promised….she was spotted among the crowd of dignitaries with 2 extremely young ladies at her side…..’ Cat – napping ‘

33. @Douglas you cannot be serious as you and your friends continue to rob persons via contracts. Wunna doing de same thing that the BLP was accused of by wunna. A bunch of crooks you all are. Have you no shame.

34. I hope the Government makes public why an event which was to last 90 minutes, be held in the Parliament yard (no venue hall rental fees should have been needed), and which was serving wine and finger foods as the refreshments would cost $100,000. How many and who, were the persons being feted at this event? Was it really value for money? Also, while I am happy that Britain feels they should send us the Earl and Countess of Wessex- at some cost to us taxpayers to host-, I hope through them or the Commonwealth Society, whom we are also hosting, that we can send back a message to Britain to cut out the unevenly applied Airline Passenger Tax which is helping cut our tourist numbers from our main source market, and therefore cutting our revenues which we need to pay for these official visits here to Barbados.

35. Interesting Mia’s position which is the 375 celebration is scheduled for June but the government took the opportunity of the Royal visit to put on a splash. She recommended a church service or some other less costly event. As stated, there is merit in both positions we should agree to disagree and stop the political haymaking.

36. let’s face it mia is a joke,,,,,,,she use emotion instead of commonsense as a guide,,,,,,,,what did her boycott prove,,,,,,,, absolutely nothing as thousands of bajans both blp and dlp lined the streets to enjoy or participate in the celebration…….mia reminds me of a chef who puts all the solid ingredients and hope the stew would boil without the liquid,,,,,,,,,,,,,the end result everything burns ..

37. Standing up for what you believe has nothing to do with what others believe or how they react. Do you get it?

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Douglas:
    “… Their representatives have praised our policies, including the soon to be established Revenue Authority.”

Are you saying the “soon-to-be-established” BRA is the brainchild and policy initiation of the current DLP administration?

Come on man, you mean you can’t even prevent yourself from telling such blatant lies on simple straightforward matters?
    Even members of both houses of parliament blindly supportive of the ruling administration conceded the ‘central revenue authority’ proposal and project initiation started prior to 2008.

So who is lying Doggie, you or them? Do you now see why you are deservingly referred to as the destructive lying party?

39. It is not lies more so propaganda.

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

ac | March 1, 2014 at 7:55 AM |
    “… absolutely nothing as thousands of bajans both blp and dlp lined the streets to enjoy or participate in the celebration…”

How do you know there were “thousands of bajans both blp and dlp lining the streets”?

Were you there and actually say the thousands or are you referring to a report in the Nation newspaper who according to you and “NationBLPNewspaper” is the “lying” mouth piece of the BLP?

Next minute you would argue there were also 10,000 visitors lining the streets and watching the parade and afterwards enjoying the food and wine on offer in the courtyard of Parliament.

41. Jug Jug Julian Avatar
    Jug Jug Julian

To saying OSA was fit to be tied yesterday was a gross understatement. He was livid and feels that Mia wanted to prevent him, as the longest serving member of Parliament, from being there for the celebrations.

Very bad move on the part of Mia.

42. Jug Jug Julian Avatar
    Jug Jug Julian

This was a unilateral decision by Mia which was public ally announced before other members of the Opposition parliamentary group could voice the position or concern.

43. Steupsss
    Can it get any worse?
    Unless we plan to shut the whole island down and give up completely, it is quite asinine to make such a fuss -and to actually BOYCOTT (at the last moment), an international event that would have been planned months in advance and which cost $100,000.

That event has the potential to be a major promotional item for Barbados in a key market….and was good for Bridgetown.

Mia is too petty….
    One wonders what was her fees from Four Seasons…?

On the other hand, the government – and particularly jackass Donville Inniss, is too fast to be aggressive and confrontational in such matters….
    Shiite man! Wunna win the damn government …why not at least PRETEND to be understanding and broad-minded?
    …always looking for a damn fight – and can’t even do it well….
    Brass bowls all!

44. It looks like Mia still has the “L’s” on the car.

45. “absolutely nothing as thousands of bajans both blp and dlp lined the streets to enjoy or participate in the celebration”
    PEOPLE FIND COMFORT AND SOLACE IN SPREEING ESPECIALLY FOR FREE WHEN THINGS ARE ROCKBOTTOM ON THEIR COUNTRY. IF YOU DOUBT ME ASK THE GUYANESE OR CUBANS.

46. Political tribalism is bad, but political tribadism is worse. Those who encourage both should be condemned.

Winston Churchill famously said that democracy is the worse form of government, excepting all others. One of the problems with our electoral system is that one never knows what it is going to throw up. Prior to September 1994 Owen Arthur was an unknown quantity, but a majority of Barbadians placed their bets on him. Maybe, that was because they were comfortable with his traditional virtues, and vices, for that matter. Ms(?) Mottley, on the other hand seems to represent a paradigm shift which raises serious doubts whether banking on her would usher in change for the better, or just small change. I s there any significance in the Central Bank’s decision to demonize the one cent?

Just wondering… ,

47. @BLP bloggers.
    Let’s see now; yeaterday we had over 10,000 cruise passengers in bridgetown, we had the celebrations for thr 375th anniversary of Parliament, we had the opening oe the largest Agrofest (10th year}, . Today is the running of another Sandy Lane gold cup (17th year of sponsorship). So far, contrary to the hopes and expectations expressed by you since before the last elections over a year ago, the island has not sunken in any way, projects are moving ahead, there has been no devaluation; and certainly is not in the wind, we have not had to obtain any FUNDING from the IMF, foreign reserves are still healthy, and there has been no collapse of the government. What do you have to say now? Something sensible I mean.

48. AC….you may not be able to see it now but what Mia did actually set a precedent whether she is cognizant of the fact or not, whenever these thieves and parasites from buckingham palace decide they want to show the islands they own that they are still large and in charge and are the true heads of state instead of the lying local politicians, it’s always the taxpayers in Barbados and other islands have to foot the bill for their visit and upkeep…..that is wrong.

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Jug Jug Julian | March 1, 2014 at 9:02 AM |
    “This was a unilateral decision by Mia which was public ally announced before other members of the Opposition parliamentary group could voice the position or concern.”

So what would have stopped OSA from further demonstrating ‘no confidence’ in MIA by turning up at the event?
    Such a move would really be a stab in the back. He had nothing to lose by turning his back on Mia.

Since he did not accede to your request of further “disrespecting” the LOTO you analysis is rather suspect.
    Maybe we can get your real ‘analytical’ position on the total disrespect and lack of confidence in the DLP administration shown by the errantly erratic madman wasting time and taxpayers’ money (certainly more than $100,000 p/a) in the MoA.