The Collapse of Capitalism Continues Apace, While Caribbean Elites Dither

Is Capitalism about to crash?

Complex societies collapse by continuing to do the same kinds of things that cause that collapse – Derrick Jensen, Philosopher

The mass cling to its masters, loves the whip, and is the first to cry ‘crucify’.” Emma GoldmanAnarchist, Political Philosopher, Social Activist

Recent comments by the Prime Minister of Barbados Fruendel Stuart (FJS) in relation to the perilous state of the world economy come mere months after similar remarks by the Prime Minister of Saint Lucia. Both maximum leaders rightly located the problems of their countries outside of their respective spheres of influence, even spheres of control. More precisely, Kenny Anthony told us that Caribbean countries were on the brink of collapse while Stuart went straight to the crux of the matter in stating, clearly, that no minister of finance, in the world, knows what he/she is doing. What a profound statement! And in this, he is absolutely correct!

While we have had occasions to publicly indict FJS for governmental malpractice of the highest order, at this time, we are indeed happy to see that what we have been saying for more than ten years is now just starting to be mouthed by the backward political elites in the Caribbean. This time we hold out no expectation that the clock to disaster will stop for one moment. We do not expect that there will be any vigorous debate about an alternative political-economy model. We do not expect, that for one moment, the regular cut and thrust of the petty adversarial politics in the Caribbean will cease to bring a wider understanding to the words of these two prime ministers. Words that are pregnant with meanings.

Instead we would, this time, expect the commentariat and scribes, here and elsewhere, to deliberately ignore the gravamen of this historical moment and press for the continuance of a politics of trivia. Not even the titanic collapse of capitalism could distract the party loyalists, on both sides and around the edges, from an irrational, binary, predilection. These scribes always fail to connect the political to the economy at the higher levels. The levels of invisibility where it matters most. For they are too wrapped up in the marketing of nonsense. A nonsense deliberately intended to distract from the central issues. For the commentariat will never connect the failure of the economy to the grotesque disparities in the distribution of wealth and the growing tendencies to exacerbate these distortions. And they may be thinking that they are doing the likes of Bizzy Williams, Kyffin Simpson, COW Williams and other petite elites a favour, but what they are really doing is failing to alert the elites that the serfs are arising and the protection they once had will not hold. The centre can no longer hold. This is an issue that has recently come to the fore in China.

In the past decades the number of billionaires in China have gone from six (6) to sixty-one (61). So, on the one hand, we have a political system that, for all intents and purposes, is a communist system. At the economic level however, gross distortions in the distribution of incomes and wealth have long appeared therefore forcing the Chinese Government to export people to the Caribbean and elsewhere, for many reasons. These are to include relieving the massive pressures of growing demands of a once galloping new middle class. Even though Chinese investment capital has started to influence Caribbean politics more than could have been expected, at home, the Bank of China has recently decided to institute curbs on the foreign currency exchange market for reasons inexplicable to most China financial watchers. This is merely the most recent sign of a slowing of the 7-plus percentage rates of ‘growth’ for more than a decade. In the USA the signs of capitalism’s demise are no less obvious.

When Bernanke came to the Federal Reserve (FED) its assets were 830 billion, now they are 4.1 trillion. This represents printed money ostensibly lent to commercial banks. The fed’s capital ratio was 3.22% now it is 1.34%. Bernanke found a DOW at 10,954 now it is 15,776 at this time on 1/30/2014, 80% of which is supported by high frequency trading, computers trading with computers. This fictitious expansion has been characterized by a contraction in the ownership of stocks with 10% of the population now owning up to 80% of stocks. The 10 year bond rate was, on Bernanke’s arrival, 4.5% now it is merely 2.65%. Readers will be well aware of the other indices of a generalized failure of the US economy and by extension the global economy about which this writer oftentimes opines. These economic failures when coupled with ecological and other systemic problems at least point in the direction of the collapse of capitalism but more importantly may signal a demise of humans. All these signs were visible for decades, and more, yet Caribbean elites neglected to properly inform their populations of a new world order that beckons. Thanks for nothing ‘the Bernanke”.

The Stockholm syndrome which pervades the minds of Caribbean elites makes them pretend that they are part of the sophisticated communities of which Derrick Jensen spoke. Such a mindset consigns us to the fate of others, solidifies the notion that we cannot avoid the issue of which Merrs Stuart and Anthony were courageous enough to speak about, on one hand. On the other, they provide fertile ground for the party hacks to see a singularity of failure instead of its generalized nature of the problems we face. And therefore, the anarchist- philosopher Emma Goldman is also right for the party pimps can only cling unto their ‘masters’, call for more licks from the whips of the elites and are the first to demand the crucifixion of any one who is a truth-teller.

109 thoughts on “The Collapse of Capitalism Continues Apace, While Caribbean Elites Dither

1. It appears the faith-based concept that a viable, long term economic system can be organized on a basis that expects infinite growth can continue indefinitely in a finite world is now and in the coming months and years ahead finally being put to the acid test.

More and more of planet Earth’s cheap to produce oil and mineral ores have been used up, therefore world economies have to make use of harder to get at (and consequently increasingly expensive) oil (including the oil derived by fracking) for a higher and higher portion of the oil they use while also utilizing lower quality mineral ores to produce increasingly expensive raw materials vital to today’s high tech, globalized economies.

Gail Tverberg, an actuary and energy industry analyst, explains why she believes the resulting increases over time in energy and raw material costs will not allow (capitalist style) business as usual to continue for much longer. See below

A Forecast of Our Energy Future; Why Common Solutions Don’t Work
    January 29, 2014 by Gail Tverberg

In order to understand what solutions to our energy predicament will or won’t work, it is necessary to understand the true nature of our energy predicament. Most solutions fail because analysts assume that the nature of our energy problem is quite different from what it really is. Analysts assume that our problem is a slowly developing long-term problem, when in fact, it is a problem that is at our door step right now.

The point that most analysts miss is that our energy problem behaves very much like a near-term financial problem. We will discuss why this happens. This near-term financial problem is bound to work itself out in a way that leads to huge job losses and governmental changes in the near term. Our mitigation strategies need to be considered in this context. Strategies aimed simply at relieving energy shortages with high priced fuels and high-tech equipment are bound to be short lived solutions, if they are solutions at all.

OUR ENERGY PREDICAMENT

1. Our number one energy problem is a rapidly rising need for investment capital, just to maintain a fixed level of resource extraction. This investment capital is physical “stuff” like oil, coal, and metals.

We pulled out the “easy to extract” oil, gas, and coal first. As we move on to the difficult to extract resources, we find that the need for investment capital escalates rapidly. According to Mark Lewis writing in the Financial Times, “upstream capital expenditures” for oil and gas amounted to nearly $700 billion in 2012, compared to $350 billion in 2005, both in 2012 dollars. This corresponds to an inflation-adjusted annual increase of 10% per year for the seven year period.

In theory, we would expect extraction costs to rise as we approach limits of the amount to be extracted. In fact, the steep rise in oil prices in recent years is of the type we would expect, if this is happening. We were able to get around the problem in the 1970s, by adding more oil extraction, substituting other energy products for oil, and increasing efficiency. This time, our options for fixing the situation are much fewer, since the low hanging fruit have already been picked, and we are reaching financial limits now.

To make matters worse, the rapidly rising need for investment capital arises is other industries as well as fossil fuels. Metals extraction follows somewhat the same pattern. We extracted the highest grade ores, in the most accessible locations first. We can still extract more metals, but we need to move to lower grade ores. This means we need to remove more of the unwanted waste products, using more resources, including energy resources.

SNIP

9. My expectation is that the situation will end with a fairly rapid drop in the production of all kinds of energy products and the governments of quite a few countries failing. The governments that remain will dramatically cut services.

With falling oil production, promised government programs will be far in excess of what governments can afford, because governments are basically funded out of the surpluses of a fossil fuel economy–the difference between the cost of extraction and the value of these fossil fuels to society. As the cost of extraction rises, the surpluses tend to dry up.

Figure 8. Cost of extraction of barrel oil, compared to value to society. Economic growth is enabled by the difference.

As these surpluses shrink, governments will need to shrink back dramatically. Government failure will be easier than contracting back to a much smaller size.

International finance and trade will be particularly challenging in this context. Trying to start over will be difficult, because many of the new countries will be much smaller than their predecessors, and will have no “track record.” Those that do have track records will have track records of debt defaults and failed promises, things that will not give lenders confidence in their ability to repay new loans.

While it is clear that oil production will drop, with all of the disruption and a lack of operating financial markets, I expect natural gas and coal production will drop as well. Spare parts for almost anything will be difficult to get, because of the need for the system of international trade to support making these parts. High tech goods such as computers and phones will be especially difficult to purchase. All of these changes will result in a loss of most of the fossil fuel economy and the high tech renewables that these fossil fuels support.

http://ourfiniteworld.com/2014/01/29/a-forecast-of-our-energy-future-why-common-solutions-dont-work/

2. To collapse – a sudden failure in the way something works, so that is cannot continue – taken from a very dishevelled version of the Oxford English Dictionary.

So long as the political freedoms, liberties and autonomies supporting the political system of capitalism are far in excess of the political tyrannies, authorities and conformities going against it, capitalism will continue to exist in any parts of this world where such circumstances obtain.

So long as many millions of people can use themselves and others use them too socially politically psychologically in the process of the achievement of multifarious material financial objectives, capitalism will continue to obtain.

Therefore contrary to what Dr. Tennyson Joseph, Dr. Rodney Worrell, Mr Edwin Cobham and many others dream about (to put it mildly), capitalism will never collapse, die, go into terminal decline or anything of the sort once such fundamental existential conditions remain.

Notwithstanding the establishment of those necessary political conditions though, it is the essential extensiveness intensiveness of the recurring operating wickedness evil of political economics and western political finance that have long been and are the principal causes of increasing vicious poverty among the masses now; the growing disparities in remunerations and wealth among the major social categories currently; serious rate of political economic dispossession of the properties of the masses and middle classes presently; and the escalating levels of dependency and exploitation of the broad masses and middle classes at this stage.

So Up with Capitalism!!

And Down with Political Economics and Western Political Finance.

3. @ac
    Good idea to recognise Black history month.

David focus on very succesful Black business people like the BET’s Johnson family, the many rich Black Bajan families like the Miller’s, Symmonds, St John’s, Motley’s, et al.

4. I wonder when we the progeny of many tribes,encompassing the total melanin spectrum will stop playing follow pattern and start to come up with our own thoughts and actions to suit our unique place and situation.

5. @David
    Inequality was a CERTAINTY for the simple reason that when Political “leaders” give mucho $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ to LazyAsses they are quickly satiated at a low level and just continuously open their arms and mout for more handouts instead of getting off their backsides and doing something about their NET Worth.

In the last 40 yrs the USA has gone form 2% on Foodstamps to 16.67%! We all know how great a proportion of Americans are in jail. What would have happened had these people been properly assisted with Education of high quality and ENFORCED DISCIPLINE of produce something, DEVELOP yourself or ULTIMATELY YOU STARVE! Carrot and Stick works everytime!

Why dont we stop blaming the cleverer side of society who CREATE and CREATED the majority of JOBS! It is loossey goosey Political crap ie giveaways, that cause INEQUALITY! Why should I or YOU guys be EQUAL to Bill Gates????/How many thousands of Jobs did we create? How many operating systems and software did we develop to make lives and businesses faster and easier?

Stronach of Magna came to Canada 50 yrs ago with NOTHING and employs 117,000 people WORLWIDE today, what have we done to make us EQUAL?

6. Man requires food and shelter,early man foraged to satisfy those needs….then wants entered the picture and he decided to barter…..now we have something called capitalism,a spinning wheel ,once entered their is no stepping off without damaging ones self.
    This system recreates itself continously with the sole purpose of having a few who can satisfy their wants and the majority trying very hard to satisfy their needs.
    We must come up with a better system as this one will definitely destroy man.

7. PDC said (in a single sentence…..
    “Notwithstanding the establishment of those necessary political conditions though, it is the essential extensiveness intensiveness of the recurring operating wickedness evil of political economics and western political finance that have long been and are the principal causes of increasing vicious poverty among the masses now; the growing disparities in remunerations and wealth among the major social categories currently; serious rate of political economic dispossession of the properties of the masses and middle classes presently; and the escalating levels of dependency and exploitation of the broad masses and middle classes at this stage

Where the hell is Jack (donkey) Boremann when we need him…?

8. Look fellows….
    If wunna really plan to discuss such complex issues as “equality”, it is important to understand that this is a massively complex subject that has – to date – eluded the minds of our world’s greatest thinkers.
    ….but feel free to expound MoneyB and Vincent…. 🙂

Equality of what?
    Money?
    Political influence?
    Prick size?
    Steupssss

In order to understand “equality” one needs to establish a conceptual construct that quantifies what is important in life.
    Bushie is tired telling wunna now that the ONLY REALLY important thing in life is something called RIGHTEOUS CHARACTER.
    ..If Money Brain feels that because he got a million Canadian dollars stashed in some bank (which will collapse by year-end), ….that this makes him more “equal” than a penniless Bushman (Bushie’s poor cousins) then he may not be as smart as he thinks that he is….

The poor often are less distracted by the bling and meaningless junk of temporary life than are those who define their very existence by this shiite…. those who worship the very stuff…. (and then claim to believe in no god…. LOL)
    Blessed are the poor, in the spiritual realm of things (the REAL reality) for THESE shall inherit the earth…..

9. BT…..Chuckle….Complex what!!!
    Man needs to exist in order to reproduce…..that is his sole purpose.
    Why he must reproduce is another question…..one that we refuse to explore,preferring to go down the road of BBE,Bling and wants in all forms and fashions,that bear no relevance to the purpose of mans existence.

10. stop panicking fellas
    we just practising for the REAL THING
    Revelation Chapter 18

Revelation Chapter 18: The Fall of Babylon

1 And after these things I saw another angel come down from heaven, having great power; and the earth was lightened with his glory.

2 And he cried mightily with a strong voice, saying, Babylon the great is fallen, is fallen, and is become the habitation of devils, and the hold of every foul spirit, and a cage of every unclean and hateful bird.

3 For all nations have drunk of the wine of the wrath of her fornication, and the kings of the earth have committed fornication with her, and the merchants of the earth are waxed rich through the abundance of her delicacies.

4 And I heard another voice from heaven, saying, Come out of her, my people, that ye be not partakers of her sins, and that ye receive not of her plagues.

5 For her sins have reached unto heaven, and God hath remembered her iniquities.

6 Reward her even as she rewarded you, and double unto her double according to her works: in the cup which she hath filled fill to her double.

7 How much she hath glorified herself, and lived deliciously, so much torment and sorrow give her: for she saith in her heart, I sit a queen, and am no widow, and shall see no sorrow.

8 Therefore shall her plagues come in one day, death, and mourning, and famine; and she shall be utterly burned with fire: for strong is the Lord God who judgeth her.

9 And the kings of the earth, who have committed fornication and lived deliciously with her, shall bewail her, and lament for her, when they shall see the smoke of her burning,

10 Standing afar off for the fear of her torment, saying, Alas, alas, that great city Babylon, that mighty city! for in one hour is thy judgment come.

11 And the merchants of the earth shall weep and mourn over her; for no man buyeth their merchandise any more:

12 The merchandise of gold, and silver, and precious stones, and of pearls, and fine linen, and purple, and silk, and scarlet, and all thyine wood, and all manner vessels of ivory, and all manner vessels of most precious wood, and of brass, and iron, and marble,

13 And cinnamon, and odours, and ointments, and frankincense, and wine, and oil, and fine flour, and wheat, and beasts, and sheep, and horses, and chariots, and slaves, and souls of men.

14 And the fruits that thy soul lusted after are departed from thee, and all things which were dainty and goodly are departed from thee, and thou shalt find them no more at all.

15 The merchants of these things, which were made rich by her, shall stand afar off for the fear of her torment, weeping and wailing,

16 And saying, Alas, alas, that great city, that was clothed in fine linen, and purple, and scarlet, and decked with gold, and precious stones, and pearls!

17 For in one hour so great riches is come to nought. And every shipmaster, and all the company in ships, and sailors, and as many as trade by sea, stood afar off,

18 And cried when they saw the smoke of her burning, saying, What city is like unto this great city!

19 And they cast dust on their heads, and cried, weeping and wailing, saying, Alas, alas, that great city, wherein were made rich all that had ships in the sea by reason of her costliness! for in one hour is she made desolate.

20 Rejoice over her, thou heaven, and ye holy apostles and prophets; for God hath avenged you on her.

21 And a mighty angel took up a stone like a great millstone, and cast it into the sea, saying, Thus with violence shall that great city Babylon be thrown down, and shall be found no more at all.

22 And the voice of harpers, and musicians, and of pipers, and trumpeters, shall be heard no more at all in thee; and no craftsman, of whatsoever craft he be, shall be found any more in thee; and the sound of a millstone shall be heard no more at all in thee;

23 And the light of a candle shall shine no more at all in thee; and the voice of the bridegroom and of the bride shall be heard no more at all in thee: for thy merchants were the great men of the earth; for by thy sorceries were all nations deceived.

24 And in her was found the blood of prophets, and of saints, and of all that were slain upon the earth.

11. Communism is not far from how Barbados works right now… the people pretend to work…and the govt. pretends to pay them

12. Lord have mercy!!!
    GP come in with the heavy hammer now!
    Man GP….these folks are not even open to the basics and you pushing the sledge hammer? LOL …. the bloggers here are still seeking ways and means of accumulating some material stuff…
    …you think they want to hear that “in one hour or so, great riches will come to nought…”
    You trying to give the BU brethren in NY panic attacks now?
    …man ease up a bit do!!!

@ Vincent
    Man if you have no clue in these things why not give it a rest nuh? You can’t admit to having no knowledge and at the same time categorically dismiss others who claim to have….. LOL …unless you are suggesting that no one can know things that you don’t…. 🙂

“Man exists to reproduce indeed…”
    You better watch that Peter Wickham don’t sue your tail…. 🙂

When did Obama become a benchmark for anything besides acting?
    …a black man arising overnight from possibly the most crooked and politically corrupt city (Chicago) since Sodom to become the first black president of one of the most racist countries ever to exist…..
    Hmmmmmm…
    ….Unnatural – Bushie would say……

13. BUSHIE
    I AINT SAY NUTTIN MAN
    I ONLY CITE A REFERENCE TO SUPPORT MY UNDERSTANDING OF WHERE WE ARE HEADED, AND SUGGESTED THAT WE MIGHT EVEN NOW JUST BE “IN THE NETS”

14. @Bush Tea
    Until you truly understand the political dynamics in America, it’s best you keep your mouth tightly close Mr. President Obama was up against an obstructionist GOP from the first day he set foot in the White House. Need I say more Bush Tea? He was greeted with racist slurs from the Republican machinery and it supporters; accused of using Negronomices to govern America as well as being a foreign born immigrant. And He was also painted as a leftist liberal with socialist tendencies, bend on undermined the American way of life by the rightist element of the Congress. Need I say more Bush Tea? But more importantly Bush Tea ,the Tea Party Conservative blog was designed much like BU blog to undermined his presidency. Need I say more Bush Tea?

15. @Bushie
    Just because you or others believe that great thinkers have failed to define equality makes no difference to my airing my views.

One would like to think we are all born equal but even that is not technically correct. Naturally, we are all equal in the sight of God because the Great one knows everything. However, some are imbued with high IQ, while others are given artistic talent, sporting/ athletic talent etc some have large penises and yet others are just BIG PRICKS!

The quote from David was about Economic InEquality BUT Bushie in your haste you decided to change the scope of the said Inequality.It would seem that MB is more equal in READING.

Since you suggested that I may have feelings of superiority the reality is that I am farless materialistic or superior in my ways than the vast majority of far poorer Americans and Bajans. If I looked down pun others why would I even bother to spend time on this blog? To me Money is about independence, getting the World off my back, to be beholden to no man!
    You are sure correct that there are many who claim to be God lovers when in reality they are $$$$$$$$$$ lovers. Yes according to JC it is more difficult for a richman to enter the Kingdom than it would be to pass through the eye of a needle. On the other hand there is the story of the Talons.

16. @ Bush Tea
    In order to make an objective assessment of Mr. Obama’s presidency, you first have understand the social as well as the historical forces that has given rise to the collective psyche of the America people. No one understands this better than those who resides in America friend. It is a whole new ball game when you’re living in this beast buddy… And Bush Tea, I am quite sorry to say this but you have fallen victim to the designs of the social – media friend. And the conservative one at that…..!

17. @ac
    Good video!
    Wunna notice how this gent told like it was/ is BUT emphasised “paying it forward” ie not wasting too much time griping. There are loads of good Black role models that should be relentlessly used to convince the youth to reach for the top .

18. Mark Fenty | February 2, 2014 at 6:18 PM |
    HOW DO YOU EXPLAIN THE HEALTHCARE DEBACLE?
    POOR BARBADOS HAS A SIMPLE SYSTEM SINCE SEPTEMBER 1985 IN WHICH EVERY BAJAN HAS EXCESS TO “FREE” HEALTH CARE WITH OUT HAVING TO HAVE AN EXPENSIVE HEALTH INSURANCE POLICY

WILL YOU NOW COMPARE THIS TO THE AFFORDABLE HEALTH CARE ACT.

IT SEEMS THAT YOU ARE AC-ESQUE

19. @ Bush Tea
    I am not afraid to say that I disagree with President Obama on issues such as: same – sex – marriage, abortion, and the likes. But there are many other issues that I agree with President Obama on, such as: equal pay for women, the wealthy paying more in taxes, giving incentives to companies that stay in America, and prosecuting American companies that hide they monies in offshore banks in the Caribbean to avoid paying federal taxes etc.

20. @ money Brain…but does any body care,,Even the “great: David BU…thinks that BLACK history Month is much ado about nothing,,,and one to be defined as celebrated “ceremonial”….. yuh think that a jew would ever resort to calling the history of the Holocaust a” ceremonial”, such mouthiness would be called blasphemy.. but it seems that the more gains blacks achieved or strife for we remain our own worst enemies,, hence u here such diatribe from people who say they know better ,,

21. @ Geogie Porgie
    “… Poor Barbados has a simple system since 1985 in which every Bajan has access to free healthcare…”
    Porgie, I have been to the QEH in 70’s, 80’s as well as the 1990’s and have never paid a red cent out of my pocket. Sir, we have always had access to free healthcare in Barbados as far as my understanding goes. But, pershaps, I am missing something here friend? So can you kindly enlighten me because I am not well informed, I suppose?

22. What the hell….
    Why wunna don’t leave Bushie doh? Shiite man, Bushie must be a centipede or something…evabody want to mash he…… 🙂

@ Moneybrain…who wants you to stop airing your views? You on some kinda guilt trip?
    If you and David was talking of ECONOMIC inequality why wunna didn’t say so………Bushie don’t ASSSUME……

LOLOL …BTW…what is the story of the TALONS…? dat bout eagles?
    You mean the parable of the TALENTS….?
    Ha Ha – Skippa, don’t bring up parables now, that would make GP nervous…. Ha Ha

@ Vincent
    You is family to ac…?
    She was a Fenty…?

@ Mark Fenty
    GET OFF THIS THREAD…..and stop calling Bushie name too… 🙂
    Go and discuss the DLP with ac..

23. Porgie, if my memory serves my correct, I recalled quite vividly when my madda took me to the QEH in the early 70’s for a dog bite I had gotten in the neighborhood. And the most disturbing thing about that visit was the time we spent in the QEH, moving from room to room before I saw the doctor. I think it took my madda and I a full day before I was seen by the doctor. And I am quite my madda didn’t pay a red cent because she had it not to give at the time.

24. added to the debate of the SUPER BOWL is the black quarter much pressure is being put on him ..if seattle wins he would once and for all closed an ongoing debate one which characterize black quarters backs as intellectual midgets hence giving preference to white,,a win for the Seattle sea hawks hopefully would put this racist assessment to rest,,,,

25. Sorry Bush Tea, I am like a white southern racist when it comes to the BLP, can’t seem to overcome my hatred for the lot.

26. I hope so AC, but it doesn’t seem likely, given the history of America… I hope we can put to rest this racial orthodoxy once and for all.

27. RE the most disturbing thing about that visit was the time we spent in the QEH, moving from room to room before I saw the doctor. I think it took my madda and I a full day before I was seen by the doctor. And I am quite my madda didn’t pay a red cent because she had it not to give at the time.
    I – YOU GOT SEEN
    2 YOU DID NOT PAY
    3 YOU DIDNT HAVE TO HAVE TO HAVE INSURANCE TO BE SEEN

IN SEPT A FRIEND WENT TO ER
    1 SHE HAD INSURANCE
    2 BILL WAS 23,000 US WITH A COPAY OF 1000 US
    THATS CALLED AFFORDABLE CARE!

28. Porgie, what did he go in for Cosmetic- Surgery? lol Now stop it man because you’re stretching the truth Mr.

29. collapse of capitalism can be traced right back to slavery, where inequality was born and bred fuel and ignited by a white race of immoral and unbridled principles… those seeds which were sown yesterday are now bearing fruit….

30. economic slavery which affects the poor is the equivalent of economic inequality an inequality that has now shaken and crumble the economic powerhouses of the world,, 1 % control the money and dictates how it should be dispersed ,,the other 99% control the purchasing power a power that is necessary to have and necessary for the 1% survive,,,,,,meanwhile the 1% keeps living in a fools paradise and denial….

31. @AC
    Whitey did NOT invent slavery! There are still slaves in Africa, India, Pakistan et al. Still black Pimps enslaving females of all races.
    AC f you were right about whitey then surely Bim would be in a much better position financially?

32. Moneybrain, you’re quite right the white man did not invent slavery but his economic – colonialism surely encourage it a great deal.

33. Mark Fenty | February 2, 2014 at 8:14 PM |
    Porgie, what did he go in for Cosmetic- Surgery? lol Now stop it man because you’re stretching the truth Mr.

OBVIOUSLY YOU DO NOT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT US “MEDICINE”
    MY INSURANCE WAS CHARGED $4000 US FOR AN ECHO CARDIOGRAM IN 2004
    WHY SHOULD I COME ON BU AND NOT TELL THE TRUTH?
    CCC IS GONE AND NOW WE HAVE A PIECE OF HALF ILLITERATE TO JOIN BU
    EVERY DAY YOU SPEWING YOUR BOVINE EFFLUENT
    IT STINKS
    I DONT UNDERSTAND WHY DAVID ALLOWS SUCH

34. Porgie, you’re a fucking asshole because I resided in the state of Connecticut and have been for the last 30 and I know for a fact that you do not pay 4000 out off pocket for a cardiogram. What the fuck you’re crying about because this money doesn’t come out of your pocket. Pay your co-pay ya cheap asshole…

35. Porgie, you have the option to change your plan if you so chose. Listen! The most my wife and I pay out of pocket is 15 dollars a doctor’s visit. There is also a list of checks my wife and I have to do annually, according to our specific plan or else the both of us are charged an extra fee. So you need to change your specific plan, its to expense dude.

36. Porgie, are you on a fixed income? And is this the reason you’re crying like a bitch? Piece of advice…. if all fails try welfare… lol… It’s cheap dude…lol… You cocksucker….

37. when the weakest support beam is used as a support for a strong rafter rafters that is a recipe for disaster.the 99% even though is stronger in numbers lacks the support that is necessary to keep an economy of alive by lack of monetary access……. a real failure through inequality that must be corrected to achieve and create a stronger foundation and a balancing of economic power,,,until that problem is address the support beam that keeps the rafter standing would continue to crack and buckle under pressure through failure of fiscal inequality breaking and collapsing the foundations upon which it stands taking rafters and all

38. FENTY
    YOU SOUND LIKE ONE OF THOSE ILLITERATES THEY ASKED ME TO TEACH IN A 1-6 OR SOMETHING SO IN 1974, AT ST LEONARDS BOYS WHO COULD SCARCELY WRITE THEIR NAMES OR SPELL

BUT GOD WAS MERCIFUL, AND AFTER TWO WEEKS, I RECEIVED MY LETTER OF ACCEPTANCE TO MEDICAL SCHOOL

39. Porgie, you sound like a Republican? Well, dude it’s time to stop living in the Ice- Age and get with the plan. You’re a narrow- minded son of a bitch as well as your racist Republican friends. Now piss off …..! David, I am sorry for my use of gutter language but I had give this Georgie Porgie a piece of my mind.

• Barbados needs to tighten on the extras GP and the new captain had an aweful game but it is good to be off to a win despite losing the bonus point.

40. MARK 7
    There is nothing from without a man, that entering into him can defile him: but the things which come out of him, those are they that defile the man.

20 And he said, That which cometh out of the man, that defileth the man.

21 For from within, out of the heart of men, proceed evil thoughts, adulteries, fornications, murders,

22 Thefts, covetousness, wickedness, deceit, lasciviousness, an evil eye, blasphemy, pride, foolishness:

23 All these evil things come from within, and defile the man.

41. DAVID
    WATCHING ON CRICINFO ESPN
    BOYS BATTED AND BOWLED FAIRLY WELL

WHAT IS THE PROBLEM WITH KIRK AND THE BCA?

42. Georgie Porgie, you claimed that you’re so educated but on numerous occasions I witnessed Mr. Bowman correcting your bad grammar. Do I have to ascertain the necessary evidence to corroborate what I am saying Porgie? Your grammar ain’t that great at least not from Mr. Bowman perspective, so give me a break with your stupid remarks dude.

43. Porgie, I received my education from Capital Community College in Hartfort Ct and the University of Hartford, where I took Liberal Arts and Science.

44. US HealthCare has been a DISASTER for a very long time. It is far too costly, does NOT serve the populace properly/ widely and general health in the US is actually quite poor, ranking like 25th in the World.

ObamCare is also a Catastrophic Failure even though one may argue that the key Objectives were honorable. The whole HC System requires major redesign again in order to achieve the levels desired. The architects of the system should research the various systems around the World, I would review Canada, Singapore, Germany and Japan for starters.(although those maybe enough)

45. @MoneyBrain
    “Obamacare has been a disaster”

Moneybrain, I am quite sure you would agree that irrespective of the imperfections of the Healthcare Act, it has achieved its of objective of insuring those eight -million uninsured Americans? So what if we have to pay a little more out of pocket? I hardly think that the majority of Americans would have a problem paying a little out of pocket, if it prevents those thousands of old folks who used to travels to Canada to get they fixed. Now, lets acknowlege the little good Obamacare has brought to bear upon the American way of life. All in all, the Healthcare Act has done more good than bad. And the main problem I think most Americans have with this Act is the fact that they’re being pressured by the Federal Government to choose they individual care.

46. Porgie, has failed to convinced me that his friend paid $4000 out of pocket for an Echo Cardiogram. The cheap man went on to insult our intelligence by trying to convince us that his friend paid an addition $1000 copay. Bullshit Georgie Porgie!

47. @Mark
    Pay a little more??? You call $160/mth becoming $450 a LIL MORE?

Many younger people are far better off paying the Fine than the costs!

In most systems those 8mn would have been covered somehow already but that does NOT validate this very poor design!

What about the MILLIONS that have had their coverage cancelled because of this ridiculous lack of planning?????

48. @WW
    EXACTLY!
    They have the populace TOTALLY CONNED into believing that a pill can solve any and everything!

Chantix can help you quit smoking BUT it can also make normal peeps COMMIT SUICIDE!

Big Pharma= Big CONS!
    These guys make Madoff look like a Choir boy!

I worked in consulting with these folks and they are EVIL!

49. Debt Rattle Feb 1 2014: Meanwhile Back Home The Thumbscrews Are Tightened

By Raúl Ilargi Meijer February 1, 2014

It’s been quite the emerging week in the financial markets, but we shouldn’t let that make us ignore what goes on in the real world. The numbers about US and UK real economies may not have been entirely surprising to those of us who peek behind the veil from time to time, , but they were surely as bad as they were probably confusing. The media and “leaders” never seem to get tired of reminding us what a great recovery we’re in. US GDP growth was supposed to have been 3.2% in Q4 2013. And we see headlines like “Consumer Spending in U.S. Increases More Than Forecast”. But we also saw that Amazon didn’t receive nearly its expected part of that increase, and America’s Shopping Malls Are Dying. So what gives? Well, for one thing, as I suggested yesterday, that 3.2% number is “perhaps” a little exaggerated. But there’s more to think about.

American disposable income fell 0.2% in December, 2.7% over the past 12 months, and if you don’t think that’s a big deal, please note that it’s the largest year-to-year drop since 1974, or 40 years. Still, household purchases were up 0.4% from last December. How is that possible? It’s so obvious you could easily miss it: Americans have cut into their savings to the tune of $46 billion to afford their holiday shopping. So when you see Credit Agricole chief economist Michael Carey claim that “There’s general improvement in households’ financial position; The strengthening labor market will feed back into spending”, you know that the first bit is baloney, and the second bit is about as questionable as claims come. The US is supposed to have created jobs over the past year, or so we’re told, but disposable income has only dropped deeper.

The truth is that the 3.2% US GDP growth number is based, for very close to 100%, on free money for the financial sector, and on borrowed money and diminishing savings for everyone else. Of course it’s utterly insane that such things are seen as positive and counted as growth, but we know by now that’s the model we’re being fed on a daily basis. A model in which it’s entirely acceptable to fight debt with more debt. If the emerging market crisis lasts, in which case it looks set to drag western stock markets down with it, that model will be tested. And so will US GDP numbers.

In the UK, both real wages and living standards have kept on falling ever since 2010, the longest period in at least 50 years. The numbers spell a disturbing picture: Real wage growth averaged 2.9% in the 1970s and 1980s, 1.5% in the 1990s, 1.2% in 2000s, but has fallen to minus 2.2% since the first quarter of 2010. Not that this has kept the government from claiming wages are rising. They’ll think twice before making that claim again.

Continued at:
    http://www.theautomaticearth.com/debt-rattle-feb-1-2014-meanwhile-back-home-thumbscrews-tightened/

50. Money….if you ever worked in the Health Insurance Company themselves in the US, you would definitely get a bright new perspective on the world of fraud and criminal intent…….that is the main reason why the new healthcare players in Barbados need to be watched very, very carefully.

Europe is complaining that bribery is now so prevalent in their healthcare system that patients have to pay bribes to get life-saving healthcare, corruption and bribery rules the roost from top to bottom of the European system.

As for big pharma’s r miracle pills, one person I know personally is using a medication for one (1) ailment yet the miracle pill has 65 (sixty-five) side effects, all deadly, one side effect is suicide but the person tells me not so, it is murder she feels like committing on a daily basis, so they still have to work out if the side-effect is suicide, murder or murder/suicide….dangerous people pushing dangerous drugs.

51. LOL @ Moneybrain
    I worked in consulting with these folks and they are EVIL!

….you know the story ’bout birds of a feather right……?
    ….you know that if ya play with dogs ya does catch fleas…?
    But…
    Bushie here wondering if um is you that corrupt those scamps…. LOL…cause you is a real persuasive and influential fella….

52. “The Collapse of Capitalism Continues Apace” On which planet are you living? Now that those former hardline communist states like China and Russia along with India with their humongous populations to throw into the mix have joined the clubof freedom to choose; Capitalism has the potential to expand exeedingly fast and furious.Only the bunch of bungling geriatrics who continue to the riegn of power through fer in cuba remain obstinate to the fact that the world for all of its ills depend on free market enterprise forits survival

53. The architects of the system should research the various systems around the World, I would review Canada, Singapore, Germany and Japan for starters.(although those maybe enough)”

And Barbados as well. Our health system is not as bad as we make it out to be given our limited resources but people here do have access to adequate free and private care. Yes, i too believe obamacare has been a disaster with persons coerced to fund their own health insurance under threat of penalty. I see nothing innovative or caring about that. What should have been done is to try to put mechanisms in place where stes either by building more hospitals freely accessible to the public .

54. @Bushie
    Yes BM I have heard about Birds of a Feather and playing with Dogs and that is precisely why I am no longer interacting with such people.

I am not that persuasive or influential or I woiuld have had wunna pun here seeing the light!!!

55. where states shouldbe encouraged to build more hospitals freely accessible to the public to perform services like Kings County in Brooklyn. .

56. “You’re a narrow- minded son of a bitch as well as your racist Republican friend”
    Mr Fenty , American history would record the Democratic party as the party of Slavery and Crow laws. Robert Byrd former senior member of the Democratic party for mny yearswasonce a Gran Wizard ‘ in the Ku Klux khan. The majority of white people in the world are genetically racist, so the label cannot be attributed to one and not the other.

57. @balance
    Indeed, even Cuba has started leasing land for agricultural Businesses and Productivity per heactare has gone through the roof!!!

Incentive Systems WORK!

Continuous GIVEAWAYS without the discipline of results can NOT work!

58. @ balance | February 3, 2014 at 11:30 AM |

You forgot to mention Raul Castro is slowly but surely dismantling the archaic communist system of doing business more and more capitalistic line.

Cuba is planning to open a massive free trade zone to accommodate trade with China via the expanded Panama canal.

The deliberate handshake between “los dos presidentes” in South Africa is a sign of things to come within the next decade.
    American FDI is just waiting for the inevitable green light as soon as Fidel is given his last rites.

59. millertheanunnaki | February 3, 2014 at 11:59 AM | @ balance | February 3, 2014 at 11:30 AM |

You forgot to mention Raul Castro is slowly but surely dismantling the archaic communist system of doing business more and more capitalistic line”

‘Slowly, Mr Miller, but surely not’surely’ is indeed the operatinve word so do not hold your breath. My sources inform that some of these initiatives to promote free market and innovation have already been rolled back.

Please advise accordingly,

Regards,

Kern Romero

Please advise accordingly,

Regards,

Kern Romero

• @Moneybrain

You should post a graph to show how many are on food stamps in the USA. Also identify the ‘pork’ in the budget for us.

60. @David
    I dont have a graph but it has gone up to 47Million +. In forty years from 2-16% of the population is CRAZY! Stop the politicking and Educate the peeps! ( dont even review prison. Peeps in dey for selling Maryjane! Utter nonsense!) Educate the peeps and legalise it!
    Additionally, the unemployment numbers are PURE LIES since millions of people are no longer eligible for payments and PRESUMED Employed! the real Unemployment rate is at least 11.5%.

I dont have audited numbers for Pork but most Governments WASTE 30%+.
    For example at Toronto City they pay $30/hr for work in the Private sector that is worth $15-20/ hr. Uneducated workers ie Subway Cashier with minimal overtime can make BDS$ 150,000/yr for very easy work as in occasionally in Rush hour maybe 3 hrs/ day sell tokens and make change.
    So then poor workers must pay BDS $5-6 for a ride as little as mile or 2.

US “:leadership” has been PISSPOOR for at least 30yrs! Republocrats or Demicans it does not matter!

• @Moneybrain

What it tells us therefore is that even in the capitalist system humogous provision has to be made for citizens who are not ‘engaged’.

61. @David
    The problem is that the US is NO LONGER Capitalist but Socialist ie giving away the Treasury to both normal citizens and Banking WELFARE!

The USA is a mess! They have TOTALLY FAILED to plan for the Future
    1 Demographic—- aging of population—MASSIVE FAIL!

2 Emphasising Education—–CATASTROPHIC FAIL!

3 Insisting that China/ India play by the rules of trade in all aspects—FAIL

4 HealthCare—–JOKE!

5 Appreciating the necessity for DISCIPLINE in Society—- SAD!

6 Legalising Drugs—-nada.

What has the US Govt conducted Strategically that is a Positive???????

Most of the West is a mess because of lose nonsense Socialist Policy that is poorly thought out, impractical. Stupid monitoring of crooked Bankers from who they accept payoffs. The Banks were (are) Bankrupt so why NOT write the Stock price down to zero and then recapitalise with a combination of Government and Private Capital until the Banks recover and then sell the Government portion at much higher price.

Proper Leadership would have addressed all of the above and MUCH MORE! The problem is NOT with the Incentive System it is with the CORRUPTION by Greedy Humans, mainly Politicians, who dont have a clue what detailed Strategies make sense.

62. LOL @ MoneyB
    How you mean the USA WAS the bastion of capitalism…? What happened to IS….?
    They were only the bastion in the sweet days of growth?…..

Skippa, capitalism is a multi phased experience….like many of the vices that lure idiots into traps….
    Um does be sweet in the mouth and then burn yuh ass on the way out….

Just like the Ponzi scheme that it is….sweet as shiite at first…just like Allan Stanford.

What the USA is experiencing now IS capitalism….in its last phase……and a lotta asses are due for serious burning just now….

63. CORRUPTION and PURE EVIL has BASTARDISED the BASTION!

I was never a convert to Capitalism as such but to A Disciplined Socialised Capitalism ie the country and people are better off in an INCENTIVE System BUT one where there is a GENUINE Disciplined plan to help the Populace succeed but NOT to Encourage LazyAsses.

WE agree that the USA is in deeeeeep trouble BUT that is due to CORRUPTION, IGNORANCE, GREED by Politicians, Bankers and LazyAsses. The richest Nations on Earth have some form of Capitalist base especially China!

64. @Georgie Porgie
    Do you remember quite recently, Jack Bowman labeled the BU bloggers as a pack of Semi- illiterates? Well, I am quite sure he was referring to you yourself as well Mr. intellectual. Jack, has pointed to your used of bad grammar on more than one occasion, so let not go there any long sir. And more importantly Porgie, your characterization of my intellectual stance, is the psychological equivalence of burning the Candle at both ends.

65. Proverbs Chapter 26

3 A whip for the horse, a bridle for the ass, and a rod for the fool’s back.

4 Answer not a fool according to his folly, lest thou also be like unto him.

5 Answer a fool according to his folly, lest he be wise in his own conceit.

66. Moneybrain, just blame America’s economic trouble on the liberal policies of the Carter, Clinton, and Obama administrations. Only a good conservative would do such a thing Moneybrain.

67. Georgie Porgie, a fool when used in a Biblical context, reference a person who is devoid of a proper understanding of the word of God.

68. Porgie it just striked me that you’re an Uncle Tom in the true sense of the term. You have the audacious impudicity to support a political party that has a historical record of Marginalizing black, women, gays and the poor.

69. Later Porgie, I would love to see how you change your color when you’re among those white folks. You’re the contemporary House Nigger Georgie Porgie…

70. Capitalism collapse? Some collapse it has succeeded spectacularly even the former Soviets are embracing capitalism and don’t ask the Chinese leaders where they have their money (it can have you barred from the country and jail if you are a citizen). The advantages mostly accrue to the 1% and some of the others in certain countries get the ancillary benefits but it’s still a dog eat dog world for much of the world’s population.

I posted the following about two weeks ago in another thread:

Ponder this: According to OXFAM the 85 richest people in the world own the same resources as 3.5 billion of the world’s poorest.

http://www.oxfam.org/en/policy/working-for-the-few-economic-inequality

71. @Mark
    I believe in helping people to Develop themselves through Education, Training BUT via a DIsCIPLINED system, NOT just giving $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ ad nauseum to people who have NO INTENTION of making something of themselves. Naturally, people who are Disabled, low IQ etc could qualify for long term help, but most of those types actually want to work/ contribute.

Politicians who support slackness do so for a few reasons
    1 VOTES
    2 VOTES
    3 some Pols are just plain dumb SUCKERS!

72. capitalism is not going to collapse in the true sense like it is ggoing to disappear but one cannot help but see that after the financial meltdown that there is vulnerability in some areas of capitalism,,what is missing is a secure foundation a complete overhaul made up of fairness an d reinforced with balance one that gives the bottom tier that is the 99% an fair share of the pie,

73. Wunna people who think that this current recession and the financial problems besetting the world economies is just one more recession like the others that have come before and once the Ministers of Finance and central bankers can put the correct policies in place we will return to business as usual are living in a fool’s paradise.

What you are missing is that the current financial crisis is at bottom an energy crisis. With the decreases in the availability of easily sourced and cheaply produced hydrocarbon energy (or cheaply and easily produced alternatives), the concept of economic growth continuing indefinitely into the future is a bust. It matters not how many trillions of barrels of oil exist in underground reservoirs under your feet, the crux of the matter is how much does it cost in terms of money and energy investments to get those barrels of oil out of the ground and into refineries and pipelines where we can make use of them to maintain our existing infrastructure with enough left over to enable expanding the infrastructure as is required for economic growth. See the first response posted to this thread.

Shake me, wake me!
    By JH Kunstler

The rot moves from the margins to the center, but the disease moves from the center to the margins. That is what has happened in the realm of money in recent weeks due to the sustained mispricing of the cost of credit by central banks, led by the US Federal Reserve. Along the way, that outfit has managed to misprice just about everything else — stocks, houses, exotic securities, food commodities, precious metals, fine art. Oil is mispriced as well, on the low side, since oil production only gets more expensive and complex these days while it depends more on mispriced borrowed money. That situation will be corrected by scarcity, as oil companies discover that real capital is unavailable. And then the oil will become scarce. The “capital” circulating around the globe now is a squishy, gelatinous substance called “liquidity.” All it does is gum up markets. But eventually things do get unstuck.

Meanwhile, the rot of epic mispricing expresses itself in collapsing currencies and the economies they are supposed to represent: India, Turkey, Argentina, Hungary so far. Italy, Spain, and Greece would be in that club if they had currencies of their own. For now, they just do without driving their cars and burn furniture to stay warm this winter. Automobile use in Italy is back to 1970s levels of annual miles-driven. That’s quite a drop.

Before too long, the people will be out in the streets engaging with the riot police, as in Ukraine. This is long overdue, of course, and probably cannot be explained rationally since extreme changes in public sentiment are subject to murmurations, the same unseen forces that direct flocks of birds and schools of fish that all at once suddenly turn in a new direction without any detectable communication.

Who can otherwise explain the amazing placidity of the sore beset American public, beyond the standard trope about bread, circuses, and superbowls? Last night they were insulted with TV commercials hawking Maserati cars. Behold, you miserable nation of overfed SNAP card swipers, the fruits of wealth and celebrity! Savor your unworthiness while you await the imminent spectacles of the Sochi Olympics and Oscar Night! Things at the margins may yet interrupt the trance at the center. My guess is that true wickedness brews unseen in the hidden, unregulated markets of currency and interest rate swaps.

The big banks are so deep in this derivative ca-ca that eyeballs are turning brown in the upper level executive suites. Notable bankers are even jumping out of windows, hanging themselves in back rooms, and blowing their brains out in roadside ditches. Is it not strange that there are no reports on the contents of their suicide notes, if they troubled to leave one? (And is it not unlikely that they would all exit the scene without a word of explanation?) One of these, William Broeksmit, a risk manager for Deutsche Bank, was reportedly engaged in “unwinding positions” for  that outfit, which holds over $70 trillion in swap paper. For scale, compare that number with Germany’s gross domestic product of about $3.4 trillion and you could get a glimmer of the mischief in motion out there. Did poor Mr. Broeksmit despair of his task? 

http://kunstler.com/clusterfuck-nation/shake-me-wake-me/

• @Green Monkey

Who is responsible for the monetary system? Will the money people allow the situation you describe to continue indefinitely before reording thing?

74. @Green Monkey
    I have been stating very clearly that the globe is in very DEEEEEEEEEEP Financial/ Economic Trouble for years. The question for me is exactly WHEN does the second major boot drop on our collective throats?

The Derivatives problem is a Quadrillion $ conundrum, where even with a 5% Fail rate we have a $50 Trillion BLACK HOLE, actually it really is a RED INK Hole! That number is the size of Total Global production (approx) for one year or at least 15-20 years of PROFIT!

The energy problem, longer term, can easily be alleviated with proper planning for using Nuclear. 5th Generation Plants can be built to solve the 2 critical problems ie virtually eliminate dangerous waste AND design plant that absorbs radiation by using Carbon. As per usual the so called Environmentalists have been screwing up the Solution! Additionally, in the next few years the problem is that Nth America has far TOO Much energy. The Political Clowns in Canada should have permitted for Pipeline and Export Facilities sometime back.

• “Globalization is the result of powerful governments, especially that of the United States, pushing trade deals and other accords down the throats of the world’s people to make it easier for corporations and the wealthy to dominate the economies of nations around the world without having obligations to the peoples of those nations.”

― Noam Chomsky

75. @David
    They will DECIMATE / DESTROY the Currencies via hyperinflation in order to “solve” the problem. Note that while the problem is very large it is somewhat Fixed. Therefore, in relative terms the Central banks will create money to Oblivion! Why? Eventually the relative Debt Anvil will be far more manageable BUT a Banks Beer will be $99 a bottle.

76. @David
    The US is way off script where China is concerned!

They might dominate the small fry BUT they should never have permitted China into the WTO without several requirements:
    1 free floating currency
    2 Patent law Protection
    3 workers rights
    4 pollution controls

So much for their domination. Conned by the Chinese as a result of Arrogance?

77. To Green Monkey and every one else – including those who just read the many comments on this blog network.

The PDC will continue on here and elsewhere to show and illustrate where the fundamental problems lie in Barbados’ rapidly accelerating plunge downwards this current dedevelopment ruinous path.

Whilst there is a plethora of disgusting social political material financial policies that are seriously contributing to such national degradation, there is also the use by many people in Barbados of many illogical absurd outdated concepts, terminologies and meanings in many commercial, and academic and social contexts of this country that are harmfully contributing to it as well.

Take for instance, when many of us in Barbados talk about the cost of living and the cost of doing business.

Indeed, on deep consideration and pious reflection upon the relevant circumstances in which they are supposed to be imagined, it is clear that they make absolutely no sense and are really unfathomable.

Furthermore, and In cases where many people here talk about the high cost of living and doing business in Barbados, a serious scientific investigation of those concepts and some of the contexts in which they are used, would lead to definite results that point to the fact that there can be NO or there can NEVER be any high or low cost of living and of doing business here in Barbados. And this is fundamentally so because there is NO NOMINAL COST that can EVER be related to such things, and this too is given our extremely profound logical theses that there are absolutely NO money costs whatsoever to, or to have, food, clothing, shelter, communication and transport (which are two other basic and fundamental human wants) any where in this world, seeing that there is NO way in which money can be related to those things.

Rather what the users of money (local foreign) in Barbados are experiencing when they do hold MONEY/MANUFACTURED NUMBERS is:

1) using it for purposes of dealing later with the REAL ACTUAL COST OF USE OF MONEY wherever possible;

2) using it for purposes of PASSING it ON whenever later to many others commercially (commerce is the use by any person of any commodity, or any relevant service, to help them secure another but different commodity, or relevant different service, in cases where it would have been impossible to secure one (commodity or relevant services) without the existence of the other);

3) using it for purposes of being a transient indicator of data savings in financial institutions;

4) using it for purposes of detailing the amount of money got from the relevant financial institutions to be used subsequently as debit transfers from the said financial institutions; and

5) using it for purposes of indicating gifts of remunerations from particular persons to the other particular persons.

So, hidden behind the corrupting distortive concepts and meanings of the costs of living and doing business is the reality that it is money and its ONLY RELATIONSHIPS to anything outside their own material make up – nominal remunerations (incomes, payments and transfers) and their costs or their variations or derivations that are being at innumerable points at the same time constantly added or taken away from the relevant individuals and at faster or slower than at some times before, or at the same rates as at some times before in various commercial social contexts in Barbados – that of any relevance or purpose in the ascertainment of the many money remunerations relatives that are debated by so many people on a daily basis in this land.

Hence, the corollary to these money remuneration incidences is that – aside from criminal evil wicked TAXATION – it is the political agreements and policies of countless people in the core and wider local financial system (with the various uses of money and manufactured numbers – principally driven by the real actual costs of use of money), and in countless ways and contexts commercially speaking) that are determining overwelmingly the multifarious unknowable rates at which persons generally get or lose nominal remunerations in the commercial markets.

Thence, it is clearer now, with such a necessary and precise consciousness and understanding of how the local financial system operates, that ( aside from the wicked TAXATION policies of government again) it is the dastard despicable actions of the monetary authorites and the money managers of the core financial system of this country that are the sources of the rampant money remuneration problems that are found in this country right now.

Contrary to what many people are thinking, it is not the merchants that are creating these rampant money problems in the country now or that are responsible for them via false flags raised at them by some persons re these tragic myths of the cost OF living and cost OF doing business affecting the general populace.

However, it is these financial people that must – along with the leaderships of the DLP and BLP – be surgically removed by way of the taking of serious severe political actions by the broad masses and middle classes of people in this country, for the former’s very backward regressive money ideas and policies and the consequent numerous rife money remuneration problems effects of such things on an already long suffering people in this country.

Indeed, the cost of living or doing business is not the source of these money remuneration problems of multitudes of people in this country for there is no cost OF living or cost OF doing business.

Thankfully, those two foolish inane distracting concepts have recently joined the list of many concepts that are found to be used in the every day vernacular of many people in Barbados, and that the PDC has not only exposed for their folly but has also totally discarded the use of unless they are used for purposes of illustration.

78. @David
    So if the USA cant dictate to China then Chomsky’s point is somewhat moot.

The interesting fact about China is that the high Net Worth types are moving $$$$ and their families to the USA and the West. Surveys show that 64% are planning to move or already have.Among the HNWs with more than $15mn, 33% have already taken action and own property or business in the West. 80% want the children educated in the West.

In 2010, 772 Chinese millionaires were granted US Green Cards and by 2012, 6124 had secured their GCs, an increase of 7.93 times! WHY?
    Many say Pollution as a key reason BUT a clampdown on Corruption is probably closer to the real truth.

The blogmaster dares you to join the discussion.