David Estwick - Minister of Agriculture
David Estwick – Minister of Agriculture

We have had hints posted to BU in recent days that Dr. David Estwick is not a happy camper sitting in the ministry of agriculture far away from the ministry of finance and economic affairs. It must be clear to Prime Minister Freundel Stuart and his cabinet if they were not aware that Minister Estwick is not happy at events currently unfolding in Barbados. BU goes further to state that Estwick has been fuming since the late David Thompson banished him to the ministry of agriculture. BU is aware it had to take heavy language from DLPites to coax Estwick to accept the ministry and in the process the DLP was able to avoid embarrassment.

Any government which has to administer austerity measures will not receive acclaim.    What must NOT happen however is for the government to be perceived as divided on the issue of it’s economic strategy. Minister David Estwick’s maverick position today will only add to the lack of confidence currently affecting Barbados. Prime Minister Freundel Stuart must demonstrate he has a firm grip on his cabinet. With a 2-seat majority in parliament it is difficult to believe Stuart will be able to exert any influence of note on Estwick.

Estwick’s statement even if construed to be a bark has has done damage to the government by conveying to the Barbados public, and internationally, that the stability which Barbados has been known for over the years does not exist.  Unlike other political commentators who have dismissed Estwick’s public utterence, BU believes this Stuart government has been placed squarely on the defensive.

How long can the Barbados government continue to manage our affairs in an acrimonious climate?

232 responses to “Minister David Estwick Yelps Again”

1. Look braying miller u talk about economic problems like a child in a sand box.these problems had to be evaluated with crtical thinking one that would not impact severe harm and damage to a society whose lives are entangled with a fragile economy ur rationale that i will support harsh policies to do what govt have done and might do in the future is over blown but rather a look back into the past of mispent opportunities by a BLP govt thatgot us.into this mess. so u see miller u got nothing to cheer about.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | February 1, 2014 at 10:43 AM |

Me cheering, ac? Just having a right laugh at you and your volte-faced hypocrisy.

You keep looking back in anger not realizing your “experienced” DLP administration has been at the helm for 6 years to right many of the BLP wrongs instead of exacerbating them.
    You will soon be cussing Estwick for bringing down your DLP government thereby depriving you of the opportunity to be the most ardent supporter of privatization( as if you or your DLP administration have any say in the matter).

Should you start with Transport Board or are you going for the easy one called GAIA to get the most foreign exchange to prop up a valueless dollar and to meet debt obligations?

3. then uh got the likes iof one John boy williams bragging about what the govt should have done like it is a badge of honour to see people suffer for a long period of time , when He should have encouraging barbados business to help these people to adjust with a cost cutting strategy by implementationof reduce fees or a grace period .this is what the pig head could have said. but no talking shit bout displeasing human beings.

4. @ac

You remain clueless. Didn’t the private sector heed government’s advice not to send home workers for the last 5 years and with the exception of a few they adhered? The problem with you is that you feel a climate of discord is the answer but it isn’t, Why do you think Stuart addressed the BCC yesterday? The government cannot do shit on its own.

5. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

ac | February 1, 2014 at 10:43 AM |
    ” but rather a look back into the past of mispent opportunities by a BLP govt thatgot us.into this mess.”

ARE U STILL SO STUPID? if someone left u with a house to run and $50 which is not enough, 6 years later when u cannot feed ur children and pay bills, would u go around telling everyone that the reason u cannot feed ur kids etc was because 6 years ago all u had was $50? won’t u from day one look for ways to bring income to ur family? the people of the united states told President Obama not to come with this thing of ‘the Bush Administration”, they told him, he was now in charge. it seems that u DLP retards cannot get beyond ‘if it wasn’t for the BLP’ crap. the fact of the matter is that the DLP CANNOT run this government at all. we the people of Barbados are waiting patiently for this government to implode. apparently David Estwick has started the trickle, I anxiously await the implosion.

6. @millertheanunnaki | February 1, 2014 at 8:53 AM |
    Ac now you have come to grips with the inevitable reality of the “layoffs” are you prepared to spare yourself the ignominy about to descend on you as the DLP administration embarks on it next phase of disingenuous breach of faith and contract with the people especially suckers like you?…………………………….

Couldn’t agree with you more, miller. But do not bother to engage ac, it is a waste of time. It is hard for these Dems to come to grips with what is happening before their very eyes, we warned them and to this day they are still calling us prophets of doom and gloom.

I have not been commenting only because people like ac will say that we are gloating. My heart bleeds for the people, in one story today we read that three persons in one household have gone home. That is sad.

miller, do you remember that during the last election campaign, some person whom we believed was a DLP plant came on to BU saying that she was accosted at the BLP meeting at Haggatt Hall and asked why was she not wearing a red shirt………..she went home crying to her dad who said that that is how BLP’s are and told her that he is sure she would not be accosted at the DLP meeting at Rices.

Well, I sure hope like hell that she is not one who lost her job. To paraphrase her dad….that’s what the DLP does……fool the people, promise them the world, renege on every promise made
    because they know that they have yardfowl supporters like ac who will defend them to the bitter end.

My heart bleeds for our country because I have no confidence that the ones who have us in this mess is capable of getting us out. May the good Lord help us.

7. all this wasted energy energy on BU. could be at this critical time be put to good use by putting pressure on corporate barbados especially in the bank industry to relax fees or extended grace periods for these unemployed as a show of solardarity. custmers have power use it wisely don.t let corporate bleed these workers to death. if necessary when met withresistance closed accounts. who knowsthis may open up the way business is done in the future or pave way for a bank who is customer appreciative.

8. Man Hush Estwick do !……you becoming cartoon……some people got no shame….you sit down in Parliament for all den hours ( six years) and now just so you find voice…hush do !…..poodle poo…

9. Just Asking,
    Where are you? I hope you have not allowed the DLP yardfowls to run you off BU. Once you do not offend David, you have every right to post. Please come back, BU needs you!

10. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad
  11. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

12. david the last time u called me “clueless” \the DLp regained govt i got the last laugh, and u ate humble pie

13. @ac

You are clueless.

14. ac said “i got the last laugh”…

ac because you are fat does not mean your laugh is singing you know. watch what happens in the next couple days and cry now. stupid bitch.

15. david,,,,,,,,, i got ur point no need to remind me,,,,,,but..keep plenty humble pie ready u gonna need it………..

16. david BU i got the last laugh and that is no LIE,,,,, are u fuh real grown men don’t cry,,,,,,,are u fuh real

17. Though in agreement with the content of your article, I think that as a news publication, you should pay more attention to proof-reading. The article has a few typos and grammatical errors which really cannot be excused. Case in point – the spelling of the PM’s name!

Good and thought-provoking story, but you really must do better with your writing style.

Looking forward to an improvement

Casey

18. @ prodigal

Wait u BLP yardfowls now command more fire power on bu than the two or so DLP brigade that u come up against and u asking the” wasted” JAc assing to return to the front line and help ……jac assing say he ain’t no yardfowl ….

19. Thanks Casey, appreciate your feedback. Of course the message remains.

20. Estwick has blaster Fumble Tru-it

21. David why don’t you start a blog encouraging Bajans to blitz social media with positive comments about Barbados as a Tourist destination?

This is not my original idea.I just tiefin it from the SuperBowl advertizers who have hired an army of people to blitz social media during the SuperBowl.

BU will still continue to be political yard wid a palin an nuff fowls runnin bout includin dis DLP yardfowl.

22. @ ac/ mark fenty
    Your morality and twisted values are so bended up that you can’t leave your position ,the chemical precursor can’t pass the bends leaving you With the problem of staying alive in your mindless state of circulation, so you have to write
    When the pieces of what you wonder come
    and stay by the bend in your mind ,it passed as all kinds of shit

23. @ watchman………..i don’t understand all kind of gibberish like de kind u write shit man………..translation please……..

24. @ ac/ mark fenty
    Are you confirming that you are an uneducated man/ woman that can only understand the shit you hear from your party, if yes, then what I am saying is you think and write nonsense

25. @ watchman
    understand this if u can……..steupse…………..

26. The front page of Monday’s Nation says it all. Why put the country through this mess Estwick? You guys are jokers.

27. @ ac
    You should Write the word nonsense over
    and over , maybe it make sense to you

28. Ha ha ha…estwick shook the tree and the coconuts landed safely around him and not on his head. This government is so busy protecting the spoils they are ruining the country. The pm in the most critical time is putting his effort in bringing to parliament a bill to repeal the public accounts committee . What are they trying to surpress ? Something is rotten and starting to stink.

29. David. You see another view of Estwick in Yesterday’s issue of Barbados Today? This man is talking without thinking. He said and quote from the electronic edition ”
    “So therefore, my allegiance to the Democratic Labour
    Party will stay strong as long as I am confident that the
    Democratic Labour Party’s allegiance is to the development
    of this country, and particularly protecting its people and its
    resources. If the time comes that I believe strongly, that there
    is evidence that the opposite occurs, then I will leave the
    Democratic Labour Party.
    “And if that time comes, I will make my determination as
    to my political future, whether I sit as an Independent or I go
    and join the Barbados Labour Party,” Estwick pointed out.”

30. DE will not be walking anytime soon. I understand he has too many ‘agreements’ in the pipeline waiting to ‘mature’, and these will not bear fruit if the Gov’t changes. He will parade and threaten as usual as if he could be our savior (add elephant ego to pit bull analogy). However, his big ticket items are the Andrews Factory ‘spinoffs’, all while completely destroying the future of the sugar industry. Look for the same players involved in the BWA building to come to front shortly. DE does have some strengths, but his weakness could make us slaves to eastern nations if we don’t be careful.

31. It has become painful to listen to debates in parliament.

Jesus!

32. Very Concerned

Barbados is a slave to debt. At the end of 2007 the total sovereign debt of Barbados was BDS$4.6 billion at the end of the 2013 financial year it has jumped to BDS$11+ billion.