Democratic Labour Party Celebrates Errol Barrow’s Legacy

102 responses to “Democratic Labour Party Celebrates Errol Barrow’s Legacy”
-
How so ,no free UWI? what a start
-
The point was made that what defined Barrow and the DLP (education) has now been dismantled, true?
On 21 January 2014 12:16, Barbados Underground
-
Someone has to pay for “free”, it’s not delivered at no cost.
Rain falls free on everyone’s property but they still have to pay water bills.
Question is what and where is the pay back from free. -
Yes today WE the supporters of the DLP celebrate the many dreams that have been made possible because of the RT honourable ERROL BARROW..His preferance in makingsure that an educatedl people are the building blocks of a secure country was not forgotten. even as our country fight the harshest economic climate the DLP govt will continue to make sure that the dreams and desires of our founding father, that of educating our people will remain intact.
-
-
@ ac
You missed off the last part, “while bankrupting the country in the process”.
Errol Barrow may have been a champion of free education but he was also a realist who believed in the country living within its means.
Tertiary education has mushroomed and it should not be taken for granted that it should always be free to all. It is not undermining Errol Barrow’s legacy to say that – times have changed.
By the way, what happened to the introduction of tuition fees at UWI? It’s all gone very quiet since Fumble said he was open to discussions on alternatives. Did he win, or did the Monster of Finance? -
I’ve had the privilege of seeing the man in the flesh, where back in the 1980’s. As a matter of fact, he used to frequent the then Home Center where I used to worked as a teenager. Good God, I really missed the Barbados of old.
-
Please don’t use the name Errol Barrow and the present crop of DLP Ministers name in the same breath…it’s sacrilgious.
ac….if i did not have respect for Mr Barrow, I would tell you something, but will save it for another time.
-
Is this going to be another exercise in verbal diarrhea? Another TALK SHOP? Without any real on the ground SOLUTIONS!
EWB died without having the “LUXURY” (or as is seen now – the necessity) of carving out a future “DEVELOPMENTAL VISION” for Barbados because of the pressures in the Party; enemies within the government and “DARK” powerful “COLONIAL” forces which certainly did not appreciate EWB gravitas, brilliance and unique individuality!
On the EVE (no pun intended) of EWB birthday, why are our modern politicians still eating from the antiquated “TREE” of the knowledge of good & evil? Flirting with people lives – cumfy in bed with the DEVIL, all the while positing in the eyes of the masses a pseudo-demeanor of doing the RIGHT thing!
Are our people (especially our leaders) still so DEAF, DUMB & BLIND that they do not realize that if you keep doing the same ‘ole, same ‘ole but expecting a different result, that in itself is a recipe for all the MADNESS currently being experienced amongst the political classes!
We need a CLEAR VISION for the future but most importantly, there must be an END to financial oppression from the 1% in BARBADOS; an end to all the CORRUPTION in gov’t, in the economic framework and amongst those who wield social power yet ABUSE their privileges at the EXPENSE of the POOR & the voiceless!
As we sit idly by, watching the WORLD go to HELL in a hand basket – let us spare a thought for all those who are suffering WAR & UNREST (Syria, Kiev et al) and may we be reminded that no NATION on the earth is EXEMPT from what is coming down the road! Barbados more so given the climate of UNREST, looming POVERTY and a form of dissatisfaction not seen since the 1930’scivil strife!
TIME TO AWAKEN FROM THE DEEP WINTER-LIKE SLUMBER GUYS!
-
The DLP died with Errol Walton’Dipper’Barrow on 1st June 1987.Ever since that date the DEMS have known no other way than to visit upon the gentle folk of Barbados, TORMENT.
And so,its fitting to write on his epitaph Errol W ‘Dipper Barrow 1920-1987
Here lies a man who sowed his pearls among swine.RIT. -
Gabriel I agree with you. If Barrow was to come back now from the dead, He will drop dead again for what is happening to his party & the people of Barbados
-
At least the DLP have had a hero who fought for the common folks in Barbados. It is quite unfortunate for the BLP, because we can’t actually say the same for them… lol…
-
Sir Grantley Herbert Adams setted the current trend for the BLP….. He represented the interest of the planters – class, against the interest of the common- folks in Barbados. Which is still in existence in our present day and time but under a different disgusted….!!!!
-
the just asking above is not me JUST ASKING
People always trying to take this name . I dont know why but I am not moved by that kind of flattery.
THE DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY BROKE AWAY FROM ITS POLITICAL MOORINGS WHEN IT REPUDIATED ITS PHILOSOPHY OF FREE EDUCATION
DAMN THE DLP ON THE DIPPER’S BIRTHDAY
-
BUT THE BARBADOS LABOUR PARTY HAS BEEN A BETTER GOVERNING PARTY THAN THE DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY.
THE DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY IS NOW THE WORST POLITICAL PARTY EVER
WITH THE WORST PRIME MINISTER
THE WORST MINISTER OF FINANCE
THE WORST CABINET AND THE WORST RECORD.A PARTY THAT BROKE THE LAW IN 2008 BY ERECTING ILLEGAL BILLBOARDS
AND WON AN ELECTION BASED ON LIES AND DECEPTION
-
We were thinking all the time that Dipper was a Bajan and therefore a national celebration was required. We didn’t realize that is was to be ONLY the DLP celebrating. This hideous culture about a political duopoly is so steep that even in death Dipper is still a Dee. What a sad State of affairs! -
His Excellancy EWB ..sure nuff if was alive today would have had some not so pleasant words to say to the BLP …..Sure if EWB was a live today he would have continued to put this country and the peoples interest first instead of foreign interst making sure we relieve ourselves of the strangelhold and vice grip of economic madness. ..Sure nuff if the Great EWB was alive today..we would see a future with a built in attutde towards progess and an econmy capable of weathering any economic storm
-
So why can’t the present PM and DLP Ministers sure nuff do today what Barrow would have still been able to do at 90 years old? who or what is stopping them?
Why would they need a 90 year old man to do it for them??
So this PM and these ministers of the DLP would expect Barrow to do it for them while they collect their huge salaries?assc…..do you sure nuff listen to your self?
-
@Pacha
The DLP is a legit member of civil society which has a vested interest.
-
But if you want to talk about nationhood, with Dipper being its father, should there not be a language to describe such a phenomenon?Should Barrow, if he is what the nation says he is, not be removed from the rank political narrative that is as divisive as ever? We are not sure that there is any so civil about politics but if you are right where is the space beyond party. If Bajans believe that Barrow was who people say he was the national character of that personage should always eclipse party affiliation. -
@Pacha
This is true BUT we are not there yet.
On 21 January 2014 19:01, Barbados Underground
-
You are walking about talking about ‘father of the nation’ and saying you are near 50 years old and still not there yet. Well, well, then you may never get there then. -
@Pacha
One this crisis has tossed up is that we are politically polarized. You think the opposite would have been the case.
On 21 January 2014 19:23, Barbados Underground
-
So in short, no DLP should be doing any celebration for Dipper because he no longer rightly belongs to the DLP. He should belong to what you call a nation. -
Don’t agree Pacha.The DLP can celebrate his legacy as the political party he founded.
On 21 January 2014 19:26, Barbados Underground
-
With respect to Mr Barrow, the DLP was always the worst political party that ran Barbados as from 1961 to now
Barrow told the common folks what their wanted to hear to keep them happy and that is the hideous culture of the DLP
from the start, he made St. John inter a garrison to keep him in the house , look at the development of St J . Had not for the freehold tenantry act of the BLP what will St .J be like for the poor people housings
The BLP has done more for poor people in Barbados than DLP, please look at who building of the QEH, Deep water harbour, Highways, New Courts,
Government Headquarters, and many good things for the people,yes the DLP under
EWB give us so call free education that we paid for but look how we are today ,the suffering under the same DLP , and the ironic is a D L P member Sir Roy of the BWU is telling us that some of the layoffs will end up in prison ,the same prison that was built under the BLP -
Mark Fenty | January 21, 2014 at 12:42 PM |
Sir Grantley Herbert Adams setted the current trend for the BLP….. He represented the interest of the planters – class, against the interest of the common- folks in Barbados. Which is still in existence in our present day and time but under a different disgusted….!!!!Exemplified in today’s newspapers with the breaking of sod for the pie in the sky “new” SSA headquarters.
-
@ ac
Can you tell the blog, how well you knew EWB ? -
U knew the BLP yardfowls ought not to crticise EWB today or any Day for that matter.. Look what the BLP has turned itself into a National laughing stock. inthirty or so years when history record the legacy of OSA history not gonna forget his stellar role in decapitating the only FEMALE that Barbados might have to bethe nations first female PM….look high wind know where old house live and Barow might be dead but his legacy is one that the past leadership of the BLP only wish they could duplicate.
-
Political hacks who come in here to fanatically represent their respective political parties, whether its DLP or BLP,should first call the Met Office and ascertain in which direction the wind is blowing, before spitting up into the air.
-
Given the present conditions and the trajectory on which Barbados is heading, do the majority of young Barbadians have a bright future in this country? Does the response of young Barbadians to the recent Canadian job fair tell us something? If as of a result of large scale retrenchment in the public sector, crime increases,how will tourism fare in Barbados?
-
@ watchman i said enuff, talk enuff if u don;t like ..too bad,,,,,God BLESS EWB for all his efforts in putting country FIRST,,,,,,another first was fighting for our independence in spite of the naysayers and doom and gloomers of the BLP who in that era was wishing and hoping for the same things to happen that is to see barbados fail just because EWB wanted to rid Bajans and Barbados from the economic chains of colonialism and handing the country right back to the rightful owners,, Too bad he is not alive today to see how in some 14years Barbados was sold out under BLP reign with OSA at the helm to foreign investors, and now in economic hard times they have headed for greener pastures after sucking off the nipples of the fatted calf leaving it bony and dry ..,sure nuff EWB must be rolling in his grave,,,,
-
@ ac
EWB legacy is in education, but look at the people that got the education like yourself
Can’t face the truth about anything,
talk about yardfowl -
but u now what! out of every dark cloud is a silver lining..had not for EWB vision of having an educated people, No country would as much as take a look furthermore have any kind of interest in resourcing our people for employment,,,,,,God bless EWB for having the vision of education for it is with this education and in these hard economic times a window of opportunity has opened whereby our people can avail themselves for employment outside of Barbados , without such an opening and good education being a plus , many might be left hanging in the dark with no other options to turn to. something EWB Can be proud of,
-
Ping Pong said
“Does the response of young Barbadians to the recent Canadian job fair tell us something?”
DD says:
Does the response to the job fair of Minister Byer-Sukoo saying that she is going to arrange to get training for Barbadians so they will qualify for jobs as tradesmen in the Canadian oil sands tell us something?
With qualified Canadian tradesmen from across the country flooding into oil sands territory for the high paying trades jobs, the only jobs the Barbadians will be getting are jobs making sandwiches at Subway.
But I guess a Subway job beats no job.
-
@Ping Pong
Political parties must evolve to serve the markets in which they serve. The growing detachment disengagement by the electorate (reaching up to 40%) is a tell tale sign both parties have loss relevance. Attend a political meeting of any of the parties and it can be described as an over 60s club.
On 21 January 2014 23:03, Barbados Underground
-
@ ac
the DLP that Barrow formed is not the DLP of today. it is far removed from what Barrow formed all those years ago. in fact the DLP of today has totally shattered what Barrow fought for. he went all out to give us free education because he envisaged a Barbados, that would be ‘satellites of none’. he made that famous ‘Mirror Image” speech but look at Barbados since 2008. look at how our standard of living has gone right back to the days of what i was told of the 60s. look how. free education was for the poor especially, money has always been put aside for education, but where is it now? the present day DLP should have a name change because they certainly do not represent what Errol Barrow has fought for.
Erskine Sandiford had to ask the question about 2 weeks ago, ‘how did we get here again?’ that question of bewilderment shows that he knew that the state of our economy has absolutely NOTHING to do with the worldwide recession, or the goings on of some other country. he knew that Barbados is in the state it is in today because of its leader and extremely poor management of the economy.
Freundel Struart and Erskine Sandiford should NEVER be compared. Sandiford is a very intelligent man, look at the books he has written, Sandiford has admitted that the Democratic Labour Party placed education at the centre of its human resource development. Not the DLP of today however. He believed that the individual was the key factor in the growth and development of the country. Stuart has not written one book, has NEVER passed on his knowledge, etc. He CANNOT and will NEVER be equal to Errol Barrow nor Erskine Sandiford.
everything in this little island has to be political, one cannot posit a view etc without some idiot accusing them of being a political pimp, i do not give a rat’s ass about any political party but i do admire some of the members of those parties
-
neither is the politics same today as it was minions of years ago, that does not necessarily mean that EWB legacy should be overlooked and contained to a mentality driven by those with a political axe to grind ,grinding it in the heart of what EWB stood for in a pretentious and self serving manner……
-
Smooth Chocolate
SANDI LIKE BARROW AND TOM WAS A BARBADOS SCHOLAR -
And on this day, Errol Barrow , this is how we choose to remember the father of our nation. Culloden Farm the official home of the first Prime Minister of Barbados, reduced a rusty ,unkempt , ramshackled ruin, recently set alight , more likely by parrows taking up residence there. What a crying shame! And we get on our high horses shouting about Heritage. In fact while I was about to take these photos, I overheard two young men around 25 years of age wondering what this old building was, and one answered ,after seeing a sign on another building, that it it must have been the Welfare Building.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/83717797@N04/11860984554/in/photostream/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/83717797@N04/11861393476/in/photostream/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/83717797@N04/11861023014/in/photostream/ -
A tribute to the Dipper
“Now what has bothered me in this society is that every time after elections, people expect certain things to take place….we know that even on polling day, people were given envelopes with $100 bills in them.
If there are corrupt ministers in Barbados tonight, you have made them corrupt. ”“When a government steals from people in the way of consumption taxes
then that government not only has contempt for you, but what is most unfortunate, you have contempt for yourself, because you allow them to do it.”“But there is another small country…that would be…the country of Singapore. They have developed an education system but they are teaching people things that are relevant to the 21st century. They are in the advance of the information age.”
“They have a desire to move their country forward by their own devices. They are not waiting for anybody to come and give them handouts.”
27 1/2 years ago and sounding damned relevant to today.
In the words of Sir Lloyd, “how did we get back here?”Observing.
-
Sandy Question:”How did we get back here?”
Answer: The Democratic Labour Party of which you are a Fatted Calf participant sent out to pasture in China,drawing ambassador salary with all the free perks plus your Prime Ministerial pension plus all the other freenesses that come your way.All add up to how wunna bring we back here! -
@ Observing
How?
“Familiarity breeds contempt.”We enjoyed so many brilliant leaders in our early years that we began to operate as thought any Tom Owen and Freundel could do the job….
Instead of demanding that our VERY BEST and BRIGHTEST take on the roles of leadership, we listen to brass bowls talking shiite about gender equality, about graduates from comprehensive schools and about generally second rate jokers….filling vital leadership positions….
Even among our Barbados Scholars there is only a small sub-set with the capability to successfully manage this place in these chaotic times….far less people like the jokers we have in Parliament…
Sandals Indeed!!!!
No wonder we are going backwards…. -
Barbados Scholars….how did they assist Barbados,were they constrained,was scholarship in the along the lines of the slave masters thinking????
-
uh see how wunna BLP yardfowls like to draw blood and when others draw wunna blood in return, wunna kick up a big stink like OSA… today is the celebration of the life and times of EWB and his birthday and all the bLP yardfowls can do is talk nuff yarfowlism and trash about the current govt,,,all which nuttin EWB has any control over,,,,,,Dam EWB was a great citizen of his time and made several inroads in helping barbados to strive for self determination ,not his fault if the past leaders took another path which has led us in a direction subjecting us to servitude with cup in hand..
-
@ Vincent
You may find this challenging, but Barbados Scholars tend to be INTELLIGENT.
That means that they tend to have the capacity to understand complex issues. It means that when other brass bowls are still trying to grasp the fact that one and one does not always add up to two, THEY actually GET issues like productivity, Exchange rates, and national pride.Sandiford stood against 90% of Bajan jokers and cut salaries by 8% …like um or lump um….because he UNDERSTOOD what needed to be done…..years later the brass bowls figured out the brilliance of his actions…..other jackasses would have done a poll to find out the most popular approach…
….or passed a Law to prevent such a solution from being applied in future…You think that because someone can read and write they are competent to lead a country.
-
neither can u BUSHman..You can’t even run yuh own website/blog,,but got nuff musty opinion on how to run a country,, u need to get down off the three legged horse uh riding before u brek yuh neck…. competence means being able to tek care yuh own shite before telling people how to tek care of theirs yuh mindless ole fart.
-
THE DEMOCRATIC HAS DESTROYED THE ERROL BARROW LEGACY–BIGTIME–
-
THE DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY HAS DESTROYED THE BARROW LEGACY.
THE DLP IS THE WORST THING SINCE SLAVERY