Adrian Loveridge - Hotelier
Adrian Loveridge – Hotelier

The merger of American Airlines and US Airways has now pushed the combined frequent flyer membership above the 100 million mark. Put another way, almost 33 per cent of the world’s third most populous country, the United States. In any market it would be a difficult segment to persistently ignore, but from our second largest source of long stay visitors, it defies belief, especially during times of economic challenges, when holiday budgets can be among the first to suffer. It may also partially explain why some of our neighbours have overtaken us in American long-stay visitors.

Sadly, the loss of the American Airlines direct service out of New York will further restrict the potential, previously having lost Dallas/Fort Worth and San Juan, plus Philadelphia with US Airways. But with the miles now totally interchangeable between the two carriers, we still have daily service from Miami and currently once a week from Charlotte. Whether the re-organisation will result in a downsizing of the North Carolina hub and curtailment of this flight remains to be seen.

Route changes have yet to be announced, so ‘we’ are not fully aware of any new opportunities that it may present, but that should not stop exploiting what already exists. One of the reasons why I am so passionate about airline loyalty programmes is because existing marketing initiatives in the USA simply have not worked. There has been no overall long stay visitor arrival increase from this market for six years, so surely it’s long overdue that alternative strategies are at least tried.

Last year, up until the end of November there were 10,356 less US visitors and this when compared with 2012 which recorded 11,652 less than 2011.  Over the last decade an increased number of services and goods providers have seen the measured value of offering miles and become far more innovative in their promotional offers. For instance new websites like rocketmiles.com and pointshound.com tempt consumers by offering much high mileage on hotel bookings and if you pay by an affinity linked credit card, the miles mount up even quicker.

Several local hotels participate and guests can earn over 11,000 miles on a three night booking. A return economy flight is available from any American Airlines point served in the Continental States for as little  as 25,000 miles to Barbados, breaking down the price barrier for longer distances. For many it’s perhaps easy to see the benefits. It also attracts clientele to the hotels who are paying closer to rack rate, therefore driving more revenue for the accommodation provider.

Or as one of the two mentioned companies so aptly puts it, we ‘offer hotels a unique way to generate demand when rooms could otherwise go empty or when they are seeking to get the attention of new customers’.

Just as an airline cannot sell the same seat twice tomorrow, once the night has passed that vacant room simply represents lost income that is difficult, if not almost impossible to recover. With annual average occupancy at around 60 per cent across our registered hotels that equates to around 730,000 empty room nights per year and that’s before you factor in the villas, condominiums and unlicensed properties.

80 responses to “What Does the Merger of American Airlines and US Airways Mean for Barbados?”

1. DWL @ ac……….’Deading wid laugh’ at ac

Ya joke!
    When you bwuse and carry on so….you only reinforcing what Bushie is saying about your juvenile idiocy….ya mean you can’t figure that out?
    Don’t you see that when Bushie cuss Miller or GP or Onions – they does come back with civilized rebuttals (LOL except when GP REAL pissed LOL)
    But we all know what happens when someone tells ninja man and those sorta fellows that they are Idiots…. LOL same as when Bushie tell you…haha …put two and two together and see what ya get…. 🙂

2. In the year 2014 Barbados is still using the antiquated marketing concepts used from the 70’s and 80’s. From where I stand that “sea and sand” thing only works for a very limited few.
    There is little high quality entertainment year round to attract new visits thus creating a cadre of quality entertainers and artists.
    Understandably things are expensive but I believe that matrix has long past. Prices are now exorbitant . Folks want value for their money.
    Lastly, for now, advertise differently. Continuing to sell Barbados in “traditional” markets only gets the same people year after year after year. Step out of the advertising bubble, sell the product in new markets, encourage reliable flights and the people will come and spend money.

3. Reblogged this on Guyanese Online and commented:

This article may interest readers, especially in the USA, who would like to visit Barbados using their “frequent flyer” points.

4. bushman… shut..to f up clown .uh meking uh self look ugly .just stay out my backyard and in will stay out yours… GEEE….

5. Didn’t we hear the MoT and others in the industry speaking to the fact we had so many tourist in Barbados over the Christmas period? Well the numbers speak differently.

@Bush

Why don’t you stop waving a red flag? You just cant resist can you…lol.

On 21 January 2014 15:35, Barbados Underground

6. Included in January 21, 2014, Toronto Globe and Mail, is a 12 page glossy Sandals book titled MORE QUALITY INCLUSIONS THAN ANY OTHER RESORTS ON THE PLANET.

The book promoting the Sandals Brand, includes photos of various properties, identifying them in Jamaica, Bahamas, Antigua, St. Lucia and Grenada. No pics of Barbados.

When will Sandals start using its vaunted “marketing might” to promote Barbados?

7. DAVID

Speaking of the MOT, he seems to have gone MIA.

Have not seen him in the media for a couple of weeks now.

Where is he?

8. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

DD,

Canadian long stay visitor arrivals were DOWN by 10 per cent in December* despite Sandals and their concessions.

*When compared with December 2012.

9. @DD

You should check the BarbadosGIS website for a press release. The reality is that ministers do not have to communicate with Barbadians and taxpayers, it is not necessary.

10. Duev diligence stop being a jack.ass u keep repeating The same thing abut barbados not featured in the canadian adverstising…it not as if BUtch stewart can tell these advertising agencies how to scheduleand arange adv. deadlines to fit Sandals .most of the time the advertising is already been planned and schedule months in advance. maybe in the next line barbados would be featured could just simply deadline and time restraint in regards to the purchasing…..GEE

11. And Busman u better tek David advice cause i know who u are jus tek it easy uh hear….i ain.t got too much patience wid fools FOOL….

12. @ac

Incorrect, advertising placement does not take weeks.

13. @Adrian

10% reduction from Canadian arrivals….that is about what the Barbados dollar increased in value against the Canadian dollar in the last year…do you think the increase in value of the Barbados dollar when compared to the Canadian dollar has anything to do with the decline in arrivals.

14. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

sith, I am not sure. A prominent Canadian oil family normally stay with us enroute to Mustique, but we have not seen them this year. I am sure that is not about the value of the Canadian Dollar. I think we need a great deal more analysis.

15. ac

With all his “marketing might” Butch should be able to get (buy) whatever he wants in advertising in Canada; just like he is getting what he wants in Barbados – a brand new Beaches at the expense of the Barbados taxpayers.

Adrain

Agree it is not likely the value of the Canadian Dollar; but it may have something to do with the lack of advertising in newspapers and TV.

16. It must be evident that in the face of declining numbers a change up is required. We need to new blood a chance to interject new ideas and confidence.

On 21 January 2014 20:57, Barbados Underground

17. it is not a matter of incorrect adv… it is a matter of scheduling and meeting deadlines which butch could have prevented Sandals from including Barbados in those ads,,..i meaning it just nick picking,,

18. Due diligence are you forgetting that in all of this Butch was in the process of making a purchase.what sense would it have made to include a product that might not have been finalize ,,what if the purchase did not fell through……then what ..a whole lot of mess for butch and the govt under laws that govern.. false advertising.

19. @DD

We should focus on the tourism portfolio and not Butch or any individual. This is what small minded people prefer to discuss and focus on. How can we have years of decline in the industry and not hold the managers of the portfolio accountable i.e. MoT and BTA?

20. ac

Sandals does have Barbados up on its website.
    See http://www.sandals.com/main/barbados/bd-home/

The following is copied from that link

SANDALS BARBADOS STATEMENT

In November last year, we had the great pleasure of opening our first ever resort in the wonderful island of Barbados. Opening a Sandals Resort there had been a dream of ours for many years and the chance to own and operate a resort as delightful as the former Casuarina property was magnificent.

The country of Barbados and its people are so rich in culture, charm and personality that it’s little wonder that they have been one of the leaders in Caribbean tourism for decades. They have everything that any society in the world would wish for and more.

Even despite us not having had the opportunity to ‘Sandalise’ it yet, the resort itself is a fabulous addition to the Sandals family and our management team is now in place supported by some of the most professional and friendly team members you could ever wish to meet.
    Like all new resorts to the family, we will be taking some time in the future to elevate Sandals Barbados to greater heights of luxury such as the introduction of our world-renowned butler service, additions to the resort’s three existing restaurants and much, much more. Naturally, we’ll be keeping you informed of our plans every step of the way.

In the meantime, take advantage of some incredible offers and visit with peace of mind that our highly trained team members are ready and waiting to ensure your stay with us in Barbados is a memorable one.

All that’s Good,
    Signature
    Gordon “Butch” Stewart
    Chairman

Maybe he just waiting until he completes the the Sandalizatioin.

Or maybe the Barbados property is Sold Out, and he is using his Canadian advertising dollars to promote all of his other Sandals properties.

Or maybe he is waiting for BTA to step up and share the cost of advertising.

21. having a website and putting ads in papers and magazines is out of bUtch control ,, also note the date when Butch put any details concerning barbados was after the completion of the purchase,

22. It is obvious that Butch has timed his run perfectly knowing that our unimaginative politicians will do anything to acquire the brand if it means selling the birthright of the taxpayers. Hell even Butch has stated that the concessions he got should be made available to all. Blame the government DD.

23. David

Of course the blame goes to the Government.

Butch, and his team of negotiators and high-powered lawyers was just playing hardball, against a bunch of softball players

24. @ ac
    And Busman u better tek David advice cause i know who u are jus tek it easy uh hear….

If you knew who Bushie was …even a fool like you would know better than to threaten him….
    What is the matter ….are you no longer wanting the bushman “eradicated”? Since you know him …come!

Imagine someone foolish enough to use their REAL NAME In their email address on an anonymous blog, and making threats against someone unknown to them….
    You continue to define a new nadir ever hour on BU….

Man you hear that Bushie is allergic to idiots…..Bushie believes that ac has the potential to make the Guinness World Records for sustained and wide-ranging idiocy on a public blog… 🙂
    ..Bushie is her coach.

25. look at dat the ole boar bushman is at it again.talking trash,, pelting big rocks all ova de place some even smashing he right in he mout….u talk bout idocy,,, u get up in here talking about how de country should be run and you can;t even get a fly to land on the blog u got ova deh , now talking about people personnal identification .man u have reached a new low one lower than a sh,it bucket,,,

26. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Based on the current 280 rooms and a quoted 85 per cent average occupancy, Sandals Barbados guests will avoid paying over BDS$7.2 million of VAT each year based on minimum quoted room rate.

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ac | January 21, 2014 at 5:55 PM |

Why don’t you stop talking a bucket of shit (to use your phrase) about tourism? Something you know diddly-squat about other than you seem to deeply despise the people who make up the bulk of the tourists visiting Barbados just because of their skin colour, like “Negroman”, or are envious of their wealth like CCC.

Instead of leveling threats to attack people as part of your political masters’ plans to crack heads and shoot people for exercising their natural and democratic rights to march and protest why not ask the MoT if the Almond property at Heywoods has been receiving any of the thousands of guests expected this winter season?

Why not ask the same MoT if the January 17th deadline has been met and if not why not? That should be sufficient work for you to divert your violent mind away from personal attacks and shite talk.

28. Some friends coming out of New York in August are thinking of booking in to the
    Turtle Beach Resort or the Amaryllis Beach Resort.
    Any reports on the quality of service at these hotels?

29. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Hal,

They may want to read a selection of guest reviews on TripAdvisor. Current satisfaction ratings out of 102 Barbadian Hotels are:

Turtle Beach – #24
    Amaryllis – #59

30. Thanks, Adrian.