What Does the Merger of American Airlines and US Airways Mean for Barbados?

Adrian Loveridge - Hotelier

Adrian Loveridge – Hotelier

The merger of American Airlines and US Airways has now pushed the combined frequent flyer membership above the 100 million mark. Put another way, almost 33 per cent of the world’s third most populous country, the United States. In any market it would be a difficult segment to persistently ignore, but from our second largest source of long stay visitors, it defies belief, especially during times of economic challenges, when holiday budgets can be among the first to suffer. It may also partially explain why some of our neighbours have overtaken us in American long-stay visitors.

Sadly, the loss of the American Airlines direct service out of New York will further restrict the potential, previously having lost Dallas/Fort Worth and San Juan, plus Philadelphia with US Airways. But with the miles now totally interchangeable between the two carriers, we still have daily service from Miami and currently once a week from Charlotte. Whether the re-organisation will result in a downsizing of the North Carolina hub and curtailment of this flight remains to be seen.

Route changes have yet to be announced, so ‘we’ are not fully aware of any new opportunities that it may present, but that should not stop exploiting what already exists. One of the reasons why I am so passionate about airline loyalty programmes is because existing marketing initiatives in the USA simply have not worked. There has been no overall long stay visitor arrival increase from this market for six years, so surely it’s long overdue that alternative strategies are at least tried.

Last year, up until the end of November there were 10,356 less US visitors and this when compared with 2012 which recorded 11,652 less than 2011.  Over the last decade an increased number of services and goods providers have seen the measured value of offering miles and become far more innovative in their promotional offers. For instance new websites like rocketmiles.com and pointshound.com tempt consumers by offering much high mileage on hotel bookings and if you pay by an affinity linked credit card, the miles mount up even quicker.

Several local hotels participate and guests can earn over 11,000 miles on a three night booking. A return economy flight is available from any American Airlines point served in the Continental States for as little  as 25,000 miles to Barbados, breaking down the price barrier for longer distances. For many it’s perhaps easy to see the benefits. It also attracts clientele to the hotels who are paying closer to rack rate, therefore driving more revenue for the accommodation provider.

Or as one of the two mentioned companies so aptly puts it, we ‘offer hotels a unique way to generate demand when rooms could otherwise go empty or when they are seeking to get the attention of new customers’.

Just as an airline cannot sell the same seat twice tomorrow, once the night has passed that vacant room simply represents lost income that is difficult, if not almost impossible to recover. With annual average occupancy at around 60 per cent across our registered hotels that equates to around 730,000 empty room nights per year and that’s before you factor in the villas, condominiums and unlicensed properties.

80 thoughts on “What Does the Merger of American Airlines and US Airways Mean for Barbados?

1. Mr Loveridge.
    Have you yet stopped to realize that tourism is not working for Barbados?
    Are you aware on any level that we cannot compete in this market anymore because we have no radical thinkers in he management of that sector now?
    Are you aware that all the writing that you are doing regarding tourism is simply appearing to many of us readers as self-servinng as you have a vested interest in this sector?
    Do you honestly think that this level of selfishness should be tolerated by us Barbadians as more and more funds are pumped into a failing business venture to the benefit of the few?
    What is your SOLUTION for the failing tourism market?
    Can it be introduced in a year?
    Can we measure its success in 24 ~36 months?
    Finally, if we cant see any meaningful solutions here, should we not act in accordance with one of the greatest US presidents who reportedly said ” The purest form of patriotism is anarchy!”
    Tel us Adrian, what is the real reason you are still beating this dead horse?

2. JC

“Are you aware that all the writing that you are doing regarding tourism is simply appearing to many of us readers as self-servinng as you have a vested interest in this sector?”

Adrian’s writing may seem to some to be self-serving; and may, to some extent, be so

BUT, as a veteran hotelier, he does have knowledge of what it takes to manage a hotel and does make valuable contributions to the dialogue to find a SOLUTION, to what is ailing the industry.

The horse may be dying, but it is not dead, and Government would be well advised to listen to the input from Adrian.

3. Tourism isn’t working for Barbados any longer because places like the Dominican Republic are offering much better deals than Barbados. Now, who would have thought that the Dominican Republic would have been a major tourist destination for people coming from North America?

4. At some point you have to face the reality that Barbados is too dam expensive when compared to other locations. Based on Travel and Tourism Competitiveness Index (TTCI), from 2011 the receipts per arrival show that Barbados is the most expensive destination of its 12 main competitors. Here is a sample of destinations Barbados is more expensive than.
    Costa Rica ….74% more expensive
    DR 41% more expensive
    Mexico 238% more expensive

Costa Rica in recent years has had a massive increase in tourism from Canada and the United States. And Cuba, which does not publish numbers on the list, has upwards of 400,000 US residents visiting per year.
    A lot of the disparity in costs can be accounted for as a result of the artificial increase in value of the Barbados dollar. Many of our competitors have free floating currencies and they are benefiting in a major way from our inability to compete on this one level alone. Almost 50% of our employment is related to tourism either directly or indirectly. These disparities are not only driving away tourists but also the FX capital investment to support a competitive product. Hopefully the IMF can help us develop a plan to change it but it certainly appears there is going to be a lot of hardship to endure to get the destination back to where it was.

5. Wouldn’t it be wise for the Tourist Industry in Barbados to study what the Dominican Republic is doing Right, in order to determining what Barbados is doing Wrong?

6. @ sith
    “At some point you have to face the reality that Barbados is too damn expensive when compared to other locations….”

That is 95% of the problem, but we preser to dwell on the other 5% …like marketing, airlift, hotel plant etc….

Wuh unless the damn tourists are donkeys, will they not compare the cost of coming to Barbados with the Gazillion other options?
    Who will then choose to pay 4 times as much to come to a little rock before going to, in many cases, a cheaper, much better quality destination?
    Steupsss

Why is it more expensive?
    -Because local salaries are TOO DAMN HIGH in the real world.
    -Damn foolishness of expecting to increase pay every year…just so
    -Damn foolishness of putting square pegs into round holes
    -Second rate jokers who looking to be millionaires overnight

The reality is that the Barbados dollar is overvalued in relation to international currencies. The value of the dollar should be such that the cost of a tourist coming here should be about the same – in hard currency- as the mean cost of going to a comparable destination.

We can’t expect to earn easy money and have it valued the same as that earned by hard working and productive competitors out there.

• The MoF alluded to the rollout of the Tourism Master Plan, how will this impact our approach? Both parties see tourism as the only game in town so where do we go from here?

7. @Mark Fenty

In the last 4 years the DR currency has dropped about 25% compared to the Barbados dollar. That alone makes it 25% less expensive to visit. The problem of being competitive extends beyond the capability of the Tourist industry in Barbados to deal with.

8. @ Fenty
    …you ever been to the DR?

Trust Bushie. It is not the model we would want to follow.
    They model needs masses of low wage, desperate people willing to do the kinds of work that Bajans resent doing.

The model needed for Barbados will be characterized by highly technical and productive people, using creativity and ingenuity to stay at the cutting edge of the industry.
    The kind of managers and innovators required to drive such a system does not exist among the existing bunch of outdated jokers currently in place…and that includes Loverage… 🙂

9. @David
    If tourism is the only game in town we had better make sure it is very very competitive. It is said to employ close to 50% of our work force. Getting the currency valued correctly is the first major step to recovery. If that means imports are more expensive then that will lead to more local production taking place to reduce and compete against the imports. That will create more employment. Everyone will have to tighten their belt in this rebuilding process. Our major FX earner is tourism….end of story.

• @Bush Tea

Not to mention cheap Haitian labour and a thriving sex industry 🙂

@Sith

Tourism will always be high end because cost of labour is high. This is a present reality.

10. @David

Don’t be fooled into thinking competitors offerings are not high end. There are many remarkable true 5 star facilities at competitive destinations. High cost labour will translate into high unemployment as more tourists head to better value destinations. That is the way capitalism works be it on investment return potential or value return on a tourist trip.

• @Sith

We maybe thinking the same way, point of departure is that those high end properties have a lower cost of labour compared to Barbados.

11. @David
    It is all about how we fix the problem and get onto to an even playing field. That is what needs a lot of thoughtful thinking. I am not sure of the MOF connects the dots on our ever increasing dollar to a decrease in tourism.

• @Sith

Not sure the MoF has addressed in a direct way how the BBD should be positioned. All seem to be busy defending the peg.

On 20 January 2014 18:37, Barbados Underground

• Thailand experienced the greatest growth in tourism receipts, or money spent by international tourists, of any country in 2013.

Thailand’s tourism receipts grew 27.5 percent, according to provisional statistics released in the United Nations World Tourism Organization‘s 2013 Tourism Barometer.

Thailand also posted significant gains in tourism receipts in 2012. Despite its rapid growth, it made less money than the major European destinations and the United States that year.

Asia Leads Growth in Tourism Receipts

http://skift.com/2014/01/20/15-countries-with-biggest-gains-in-tourism-receipts-in-2013/

12. @ Bush Tea | January 20, 2014 at 1:25 PM
    “The reality is that the Barbados dollar is overvalued in relation to international currencies. The value of the dollar should be such that the cost of a tourist coming here should be about the same – in hard currency- as the mean cost of going to a comparable destination.”

Very sound reasoning. However, its implementation can lie only in the proposal outlined by sith| January 20, 2014 at 1:45 PM .

“If tourism is the only game in town we had better make sure it is very very competitive. It is said to employ close to 50% of our work force. Getting the currency valued correctly is the first major step to recovery. If that means imports are more expensive then that will lead to more local production taking place to reduce and compete against the imports. That will create more employment. Everyone will have to tighten their belt in this rebuilding process. Our major FX earner is tourism….end of story.”

The current vacillating actions by the MoF and Guv of CCB are akin to what a blogger described as kicking the overpriced can down the inevitable cul-de-sac. There is no way out for Bim, if it wants to remain in the tourism game, unless it plans to go back to a pre 1980’s exclusive tourism offer for the rich and famous only.

Devaluation is inevitable and the quicker the decision-makers accept this economic reality and swallow the bitter medicine the faster will be the cure to initiate the kind of recovery identified by “sith”.

• @Miller

To implement what Sith has suggested would create a major shock to how Bajans live. Politicians will never cotton the political will to it.

On 20 January 2014 19:21, Barbados Underground

13. Take the taxes of toursim (like Sandals) and it would be more competitive plus volume and occupancy would be higher to offset any loss to Governement. With a tourism leakage rate currently at around 80 per cent, what do you think devaluation would do?

14. @ David | January 20, 2014 at 3:25 PM |

It will be ‘forced upon them ,one way or the other.
    Do you really believe Barbados can continue to live off other people’s money without paying a huge cost in the future?

Adrian has made a reasonably sensible suggestion regarding the removal of onerous taxes on the industry. Do you really feel the stubbornness coming from the MoF about not granting the full range of concessions to the entire hotel sector as Sandals enjoys would augur well for the implementation of such a proposition unless the other players threaten to close their business en masse; and really mean it?

The Government under, any political administration, must see
    the industry as an ‘export’ industry that must be managed to generate forex and job and not as a primary direct source of tax revenues to support a bloated public sector and welfare state.

15. David, you ought to know why Thailand tourism grew 27.5 2013? Prostitution is practically legal in Thailand David; it’s one of the main sources of foreign exchange. Do your research brother….!!!!

16. What Does the Merger of American Airlines and US Airways Mean for Barbados? A question posed by Adrian Loveridge.

And what does it mean if the very blog on which you are posing the question still refers to murdered tourists on Barbados, jokingly, as “white trash”?

17. “Whether the re-organisation will result in a downsizing of the North Carolina hub …”

Do you want to re-try that, in English? Try it in Spanish or Portuguese if you want. Try it in French. We cab babble in those four. But first, since you seem to be writing in English, can you say “Whether the re-organisation will result in a downsizing of the North Carolina hub” in English?

18. wait uh mean to say ..that thailand beat ST .LUCIA,,,,,,,blouse and frock,,,,,,,ra,ss hole,,,,,,,,,some body say that ain;t true,,i gonna have a drinkk…..maybe it is my imagination………Lawd cum fuh yuh world,,,,,Adrien at it again………..

19. @Miller (especially) and Adrian (more especially0 and other “devaluers”)
    The Barbados dollar is NOT over valued. Would you say a Honda Accord is over valued? you get what you pay for/ :You people are looking at the money tourists would bring as a result of a lower valued dollar, however you are losing sight of a couple of important faacgtors:
    1. An incrfease in the number of Low end tourists will result in an increased demand for products that would have to be purchased from overseas;eg Whisky. As a result more of the “devalued dollars would have to be used up to purchase these things. Back to square one, or even lower. Check Guyana and Jamaica. Even though their tourism numbers are greaater than ours they are still in the hands
    of the IMF. WE ARE NOT THERE YET.! A devalued dollar does not automatically mean an increase in tourism or tourism receipts. Our labour costs are high, because the society as a whole is far ahead of the countries you would want us to emulate. The social safety net available here is far bigger than any of those others. In the DR the number of teenaged prostitutes, male and female far exceeds anything we would even want to have. The desire of the North Americans to replace the former “whoarehouse” of Cuba, brought to an end by Castro, I haave been to Thailand I have seen the level of child prostitution, male and female, I have seen the degree to which perverts from other countries flock there for their self fulfillment, and to satisfy their perversion, the level of crime etc far exceeds what we would want to tolerate here. Believe me the cheaper currency is not the drawing card.
    If you had a Rolls Royce, would you want to turn it into a ZR? Our Currency has stood the peg for fortyseven years, there is no need for devaluation. What we have to do is get the private sector to pull its weight. Why should we be importing guava jelly “prepared in Costa Rica for SBI distaributors, when the same jelly can be made in Barbados, and be prepared for the same distributors. That is foreign exchange that can be saved.
    By the way Adrian, I notice others are calling for you to offer SOLUTUINS. Didn’t I throw out this challenge to you over six months ago, with nary a response from you? Let’s see if you answer them.

20. Alvin
    Why don’t you stick with cytology and the few other things that you understand?
    Economics and particularly devaluation is not one of them….

21. “Why should we be importing guava jelly “prepared in Costa Rica for SBI distaributors, when the same jelly can be made in Barbados…?”

….because if you compare the cost of doing it in Barbados with doing it in Costa Rica any businessman would be FORCED to opt for the Costa Rican product.
    That alone should tell you that our rates are overvalued.
    Either pay rates/ production costs / taxes etc need to be cut; or the exchange rate need to be adjusted….otherwise no one will buy our OVERPRICED products anyway and we will have nothing.

The alternative is that we increase productivity to justify our high rates…but we can’t expect that from brass bowls can we…?

• @Bushie

Cannot understand why Alvin does not understand that if cost to product same item is high in Barbados importers will search for cheaper alternatives to ensure shelves are stocked with items the consumer finds affordable.

22. bush TEA don’t u get sick and tired of trying to tear down people…u are one sick m..udder f uk….er ,maybe u are related to OSA for basically the two of u have something in common

23. Gosh man, its the politics and those elite groups in Barbados that is slowly killing us(stultifying). Old heads are just protecting they interests and positions its there to see if you too…..

24. agree ! agree! kurt,,, but look-a hey who are the generals leading the charge ,ones like the adrein loveridge who keep asking govt to give these fat cats more of the hardworking tax payers money,,,but neva a word maybe an occasional mumble or two about how these fat cats should pay back govt what they owed.

25. @ Alvin CumminsWhy should we be importing guava jelly “prepared in Costa Rica for SBI distaributors, when the same jelly can be made in Barbados, and be prepared for the same distributors.
    Good idea but why do’t you just do it as opposed to talking

26. @ Alvin Cummins | January 20, 2014 at 9:22 PM |
    “The Barbados dollar is NOT over valued.”

You made similar bombastic assertions in relation to the layoffs and the issue of privatization. It is still not too late to change your ‘shamefully taciturn’ mind as January 15th has gone and January 31st approaches.

The Barbados dollar, unlike gold Mr. A C, has no intrinsic value itself but acts merely as a medium of exchange for the buying and selling of goods and services.
    Therefore to claim the Barbados dollar is overvalued is to argue that the value of goods and services produced and on offer in Barbados is way out of sync with what the market is prepared to pay for similar goods and services available elsewhere.
    The main problem for Bim’s tourism is one of value for the money demanded in return. As long as visitors feel they are getting their money’s worth in a safe and secure environment they would be ‘induced’ to return to the destination. This is the major challenge confronting Bim. If you want to keep your currency ‘highly valued’ vis-à-vis other competing destinations then you must be prepared to give value for money i.e. high quality service and goods in return.

Now please, Mr. A C, please do not mar the bright blessed EWB day by making a mockery of what the man stood for (education married to commonsense) and respond like one of Bushie’s blasted brass bowls as you did in the case of trying to force T&T to accept Bajan dollars for its oil exports to Bim.

“If you had a Rolls Royce, would you want to turn it into a ZR?”

That is precisely what is happening. How would you explain the situation where Barbados used to be the No. 1 developing country standing at No.20, just after Israel, on the 1992 UN human development index but has now fallen somewhere in the mid to upper thirties?

You as a Barbadian has no authority or standing to condemn activities or behaviours in other countries like Thailand which you deem to be morally off-putting.
    You must remember you are a product of a once thriving slave society that made people other than the slaves and their descendants rich and financially wealthy, if not morally and spiritually uplifting.
    What can be more sinister and morally shameful than slavery whose legacies are manifested every day in your own little hypocritical bagatelle of a incestuously corrupt law breaking plantation called ‘Bajan society’?

27. ‘Sandals is paving the way for a new change’

Barbados Advocate 21st January 2014

He (Minister Sinckler) stated ‘I know what Sandals is doing. The Sandals property is practically full every night since it has been here at Casuarina Hotel’.

Simply NOT TRUE Mr Sinckler. When I stayed here recently there were about 40 empty rooms, partially due to upgrading going on. Go onto the Sandals website and you will find space is available on nearly ALL five rooms grades from now until the end of March.

In FACT you could reasonably argue that if it had remained a COUPLES that a higher occupancy level would have been maintained without granting unilateral extraordinary concessions to the detriment of the entire remaining tourism sector and at no cost to the taxpayers of Barbados.

28. @ Adrian Loveridge | January 21, 2014 at 7:24 AM |

Are you surprised at the making of such a statement? The man is a pathological liar. He just can’t help himself.

He will soon deny ever promising to have the Central Revenue Authority up and running by April 2014 or try to blame someone else, preferably the Opposition, for sabotaging things.

29. It is very clear that there will be a change in the 2 to 1 ratio that exist between the Barbados Dollar and the US Dollar in the foreseeable future.

And, indeed, the relevant political and monetary authorities will be forced to do so, and it will not be in the country’s net favour.

The principal reason why there will be this change in the ratio will come about through the improper, prolonged, excessive and counter-productive use by the relevant Barbadian political and monetary authorities of the main ports of entry of this country (sea and air ports) as some means of meeting the existence of this unsustainably increasingly murderously high REAL ACTUAL COST USE OF LOCAL MONEY, to a greater extent, and of this burgeoningly alarmingly high REAL ACTUAL COST OF USE OF FOREIGN MONEY, to a little lesser extent, by their dishonourably continuing to meet such costs, via their cruelly imposing on the particular portions of the remunerations of the relevant people
    and business enterprises importing or exporting goods and services into this country, those parts of this sick evil demonic TAXATION system, and too this very false fictitious gory exchange rate parities system.

Moreover, the PDC will continue to break new intellectual grounds in this country by making it clear that the change in that ratio will have NOTHING to do any IMPORTS or EXPORTS, or the quantum of those per annum, but every thing to do Well such a position is very consistent with at y categoric scientific ideologies philosophies psychologies that goods and services do not cost anybody anything in money terms.

Furthermore, we are -in this way – again discrediting and nullifying further The Theory of Value that is supposed to form a big part of much of that that is bogus hocus pocus economics –

30. It is very clear that there will be a change in the 2 to 1 ratio that exists between the Barbados Dollar and the US Dollar in the foreseeable future.

And, indeed, the relevant political and monetary authorities will be forced to do so, and it will not be in the country’s net favour.

The principal reason why there will be this change in the ratio will come about through the improper, prolonged, excessive and counter-productive use by the relevant Barbadian political and monetary authorities of the main ports of entry of this country (sea and air ports) as some means of meeting the existence of this unsustainably increasingly murderously high REAL ACTUAL COST OF USE OF LOCAL MONEY, to a greater extent, and of this burgeoningly alarmingly high REAL ACTUAL COST OF USE OF FOREIGN MONEY, to a little lesser extent, by their dishonourably continuing to meet such costs, via their cruelly imposing on the particular portions of the remunerations of the relevant people
    and business enterprises importing or exporting goods and services into this country, those parts of this sick evil demonic TAXATION system, and too this very false fictitious gory exchange rate parities system.

Moreover, the PDC will continue to break new intellectual grounds in this country by making it clear that the change in that ratio will have NOTHING to do any IMPORTS or EXPORTS, or the quantum of those per annum, but almost every thing to do with the said REAL ACTUAL COST OF USE OF MONEY (local and foreign) and the USE of the Air and Sea port personnel and facilities to meet such COSTS.

Well, such a position is very consistent with our very categoric scientific ideologies philosophies psychologies that inform that goods and services do not cost anybody anything in money terms.

Furthermore, we are again – in this way – discrediting and nullifying further The Theory of Value that is supposed to form a big part of much of that that is bogus hocus pocus economics.

PS The above PDC matter was clearly not finished. It was inadvertently published. Our sincere apologies.

31. Morning David
    “Cannot understand why Alvin does not understand that if cost to product same item is high in Barbados importers will search for cheaper alternatives to ensure shelves are stocked with items the consumer finds affordable.”

…because he is an idiot…. He and ac
    Bushie readily admits to having a ‘thing’ about idiots….
    Interestingly, the biggest idiot that Bushie personally ever met had multiple doctorates in engineering…. 🙂

Hopefully after Miller’s patient explanation above, those two ac’s will understand that they do not understand and ASK rather than let everyone know how little they know…. LOL

32. This 2 to 1 peg of the Barbados dollar to the $US is outdated – just like the ‘free education’ mantra. These were 1960’s concepts that have LONG become antiquated.
    As Bushie opined before, free education was a master stroke in the 60’s because, coming out of the post slavery period, there was a legacy of illiteracy which hamstrung the country. There would have been VERY talented individuals who – for lack of formal education- had their potential seriously limited….. Shiite then, some of those fellows (like Bushie’s top boy Wynter Crawford) excelled IN SPITE of the education challenge.
    So it MADE SENSE to spend vital resources on education …say into the late 80’s …..

But when that that is NO LONGER a major challenge, we should be focusing on more vital areas….like MANAGEMENT, farming, manufacturing etc….instead of spending $500M every year on shiite education which is essentially a sexing experience that produces clerks with masters degrees…
    Let the empowered Bajans PAY to educate their talented children themselves….they would all value it much more.
    Think that if a parent was paying they would tolerate their children going school just looking for sex…?

The exchange rate is in similar vein.
    It was an initial benchmark that was needed once our new currency was established. There is no magic to the ratio.
    It is like a new employee coming in to an organization and the boss deciding to pay him half of what the big companies pay similar employees.
    Wuh after a few years, depending on how productive the fellow is don’t you think he should either get a raise or a lower? …..or get his donkey fired if he is bad enough?
    If we decide that he MUST always be paid 50% it is obvious that after a while the fellow will not do one shiite – and just enjoy spending the money….
    ..whereas if he knew that by hard work he could get a raise to 80% or even 120%, ….or that by playing the donkey, he would go to 10%, then he would make the effort….

People like Alvin and Commissiong who talk first and loudly – about things that they don’t understand are dangerous as shiite….
    …but not ac, cause everybody done know that she IS a shiite….

33. It’s official.
    December 2013 recorded the lowest long stay visitor arrival numbers for that month during the last 11 years and now marks the 21st consecutive month of long stay visitor decline.

34. There he go again bushie exposing uh ignorant a.sss wid u s.hht talk. who de .ass care wuh any bodythink about anyone..outside uh jack ass braying self thinking that uh some one important ….uh done gone and tek uh self so seriuosly that the thought of anyone else not agreeing wid u inflame yuh colon and got yuh spewing all kind of sh..te and insults at people… have an enema..jackass. and stop mekin enemies..

35. One has to understand that the Barbados dollar has a value that is worth almost nothing on the international market. This is a result of there being no market to trade the dollar in along with a continued increase in the amount of dollars being printed and distributed. You can only spend Barbados dollars in Barbados but the things we are spending them on are imported and must be paid for in US$. So we have to make foreign exchange to pay the import bill. If we don’t make it then we have to borrow it as we recently did with loan that created IMF supervision. We found out just before IMF came, that nobody on the international market wanted to buy our offering of Barbados bonds. So if you don’t have FX you cant buy things such as medicine, cars, gasoline, hard goods and food.

So the question to those who suggest no correct valuation of the Barbados dollar is necessary is “how do you plan on getting FX to pay for the imports”.

36. ac | January 20, 2014 at 8:01 PM |

wait uh mean to say ..that thailand beat ST .LUCIA,,,,,,,blouse and frock,,,,,,,ra,ss hole,,,,,,,,,some body say that ain;t true
    ///////////////
    ac look what’s happening on the island Adrian Loveridge ,his unpatriotic friends on BU and in the BLP, are telling tourists to go to and avoid Barbados. Its said some traitor hoteliers send people to the same island at Barbados’ expense.
    This is very sad and the outstanding RBPF must continue to do their excellent job to ensure the violence on that and other Caribbean islands does not take root here.

The brutal murder of Robert Pratt, a British sailor recently who was allegedly denied clearance to leave Saint Lucia last Thursday, should not come as a surprise to anyone, according to the Lucian People’s Movement (LPM) political party.

“Moreover, if it is proven that Pratt and his wife were denied clearance to leave because of our nation’s overbearing bureaucratic system and that the delay in processing their request to return to their homeland might have opened them up to the prying eyes of criminal elements, then our government no doubt has a lot to answer to the United Kingdom and the rest of the international community,” the LPM said in a press statement.

In Pratt’s online travel journal, he wrote about the difficulties encountered, a day before his death: “On Thursday morning the plan was to clear out from Soufriere, then to travel south and use up the 72 hours before we had to be away. But bureaucracy intervened. HM Customs and Excise (sic) in Soufriere told us that exit had to happen within 24 hours of clearing out; and that anyway, we couldn’t clear out of Soufriere that day because the Immigration Officer hadn’t come to work (!!).”

Based on that information from Pratt’s blog, the LPM insists that for “For many years now, Saint Lucian governments—and, in particular, those led by Prime Minister Dr. Kenny Anthony from 1996 to 2006 and 2011 to the present—haven’t done much to create an environment of ease whereby locals and visitors alike are able to conduct government-related business in a speedy and timely manner. This, the LPM says, must be reviewed in order to trim the unnecessary bureaucracy and create confidence in the ability of the government of Saint Lucia to operate within a modern and acceptable system that meets most international standards.”

Also, in assessing the government’s handling of the situation following Pratt’s murder, the LPM states that it is appalled by the denial and continued attempts to paint an inaccurate picture of how ruthless the criminal elements on the island have become.

37. Because some ones point a view might be different does not mean that the person is some kind of moron..meaning the ego of the one socalled intelectual Bush TEA reminds me of a constipated dictatorwith shot gun mentality. this guy needs to learn to respect all others opinion cause his don.T say much .phew really !

38. @ sith | January 21, 2014 at 9:34 AM |

My friend in ‘finance’ arms, what you are saying is as clear as crystal . It’s a pity the many blind yard-fowls on this blog like ac, Fractured, Waiting and Bajunfuhlife can’t see.
    Even the most arrogantly stupid CCC has agreed the Barbados dollar is way over-valued given the country’s level of productivity and forex earning capacity.

We wonder if the current MoF will continue to hope to borrow from the international loan sharks to plug the forex hole in order to protect a valueless dollar holding on to dear life to an imaginary exchange rate peg?

It would do the country much good if the arrogant MoF bites the bullet and go to the IMF for balance of payments assistance.
    Let the dollar find its own level of competitiveness forcing Bajans to be more productive and self-reliant by earning their way in the world and not rely on borrowing other people’s money to feed their addiction to conspicuous consumption and unearned ‘easy’ living.

39. DWL @ ac……….’Deading wid laugh’ at ac

Ya joke!
    When you bwuse and carry on so….you only reinforcing what Bushie is saying about your juvenile idiocy….ya mean you can’t figure that out?
    Don’t you see that when Bushie cuss Miller or GP or Onions – they does come back with civilized rebuttals (LOL except when GP REAL pissed LOL)
    But we all know what happens when someone tells ninja man and those sorta fellows that they are Idiots…. LOL same as when Bushie tell you…haha …put two and two together and see what ya get…. 🙂

40. In the year 2014 Barbados is still using the antiquated marketing concepts used from the 70’s and 80’s. From where I stand that “sea and sand” thing only works for a very limited few.
    There is little high quality entertainment year round to attract new visits thus creating a cadre of quality entertainers and artists.
    Understandably things are expensive but I believe that matrix has long past. Prices are now exorbitant . Folks want value for their money.
    Lastly, for now, advertise differently. Continuing to sell Barbados in “traditional” markets only gets the same people year after year after year. Step out of the advertising bubble, sell the product in new markets, encourage reliable flights and the people will come and spend money.

• Didn’t we hear the MoT and others in the industry speaking to the fact we had so many tourist in Barbados over the Christmas period? Well the numbers speak differently.

@Bush

Why don’t you stop waving a red flag? You just cant resist can you…lol.

On 21 January 2014 15:35, Barbados Underground

41. Included in January 21, 2014, Toronto Globe and Mail, is a 12 page glossy Sandals book titled MORE QUALITY INCLUSIONS THAN ANY OTHER RESORTS ON THE PLANET.

The book promoting the Sandals Brand, includes photos of various properties, identifying them in Jamaica, Bahamas, Antigua, St. Lucia and Grenada. No pics of Barbados.

When will Sandals start using its vaunted “marketing might” to promote Barbados?

42. DAVID

Speaking of the MOT, he seems to have gone MIA.

Have not seen him in the media for a couple of weeks now.

Where is he?

43. DD,

Canadian long stay visitor arrivals were DOWN by 10 per cent in December* despite Sandals and their concessions.

*When compared with December 2012.

• @DD

You should check the BarbadosGIS website for a press release. The reality is that ministers do not have to communicate with Barbadians and taxpayers, it is not necessary.

44. Duev diligence stop being a jack.ass u keep repeating The same thing abut barbados not featured in the canadian adverstising…it not as if BUtch stewart can tell these advertising agencies how to scheduleand arange adv. deadlines to fit Sandals .most of the time the advertising is already been planned and schedule months in advance. maybe in the next line barbados would be featured could just simply deadline and time restraint in regards to the purchasing…..GEE

• @DD

We should focus on the tourism portfolio and not Butch or any individual. This is what small minded people prefer to discuss and focus on. How can we have years of decline in the industry and not hold the managers of the portfolio accountable i.e. MoT and BTA?

• It is obvious that Butch has timed his run perfectly knowing that our unimaginative politicians will do anything to acquire the brand if it means selling the birthright of the taxpayers. Hell even Butch has stated that the concessions he got should be made available to all. Blame the government DD.

45. And Busman u better tek David advice cause i know who u are jus tek it easy uh hear….i ain.t got too much patience wid fools FOOL….

46. @Adrian

10% reduction from Canadian arrivals….that is about what the Barbados dollar increased in value against the Canadian dollar in the last year…do you think the increase in value of the Barbados dollar when compared to the Canadian dollar has anything to do with the decline in arrivals.

47. sith, I am not sure. A prominent Canadian oil family normally stay with us enroute to Mustique, but we have not seen them this year. I am sure that is not about the value of the Canadian Dollar. I think we need a great deal more analysis.

48. ac

With all his “marketing might” Butch should be able to get (buy) whatever he wants in advertising in Canada; just like he is getting what he wants in Barbados – a brand new Beaches at the expense of the Barbados taxpayers.

Adrain

Agree it is not likely the value of the Canadian Dollar; but it may have something to do with the lack of advertising in newspapers and TV.

• It must be evident that in the face of declining numbers a change up is required. We need to new blood a chance to interject new ideas and confidence.

On 21 January 2014 20:57, Barbados Underground

49. it is not a matter of incorrect adv… it is a matter of scheduling and meeting deadlines which butch could have prevented Sandals from including Barbados in those ads,,..i meaning it just nick picking,,

50. Due diligence are you forgetting that in all of this Butch was in the process of making a purchase.what sense would it have made to include a product that might not have been finalize ,,what if the purchase did not fell through……then what ..a whole lot of mess for butch and the govt under laws that govern.. false advertising.

51. ac

Sandals does have Barbados up on its website.
    See http://www.sandals.com/main/barbados/bd-home/

The following is copied from that link

SANDALS BARBADOS STATEMENT

In November last year, we had the great pleasure of opening our first ever resort in the wonderful island of Barbados. Opening a Sandals Resort there had been a dream of ours for many years and the chance to own and operate a resort as delightful as the former Casuarina property was magnificent.

The country of Barbados and its people are so rich in culture, charm and personality that it’s little wonder that they have been one of the leaders in Caribbean tourism for decades. They have everything that any society in the world would wish for and more.

Even despite us not having had the opportunity to ‘Sandalise’ it yet, the resort itself is a fabulous addition to the Sandals family and our management team is now in place supported by some of the most professional and friendly team members you could ever wish to meet.
    Like all new resorts to the family, we will be taking some time in the future to elevate Sandals Barbados to greater heights of luxury such as the introduction of our world-renowned butler service, additions to the resort’s three existing restaurants and much, much more. Naturally, we’ll be keeping you informed of our plans every step of the way.

In the meantime, take advantage of some incredible offers and visit with peace of mind that our highly trained team members are ready and waiting to ensure your stay with us in Barbados is a memorable one.

All that’s Good,
    Signature
    Gordon “Butch” Stewart
    Chairman

Maybe he just waiting until he completes the the Sandalizatioin.

Or maybe the Barbados property is Sold Out, and he is using his Canadian advertising dollars to promote all of his other Sandals properties.

Or maybe he is waiting for BTA to step up and share the cost of advertising.

52. having a website and putting ads in papers and magazines is out of bUtch control ,, also note the date when Butch put any details concerning barbados was after the completion of the purchase,

53. David

Of course the blame goes to the Government.

Butch, and his team of negotiators and high-powered lawyers was just playing hardball, against a bunch of softball players

54. @ ac
    And Busman u better tek David advice cause i know who u are jus tek it easy uh hear….

If you knew who Bushie was …even a fool like you would know better than to threaten him….
    What is the matter ….are you no longer wanting the bushman “eradicated”? Since you know him …come!

Imagine someone foolish enough to use their REAL NAME In their email address on an anonymous blog, and making threats against someone unknown to them….
    You continue to define a new nadir ever hour on BU….

Man you hear that Bushie is allergic to idiots…..Bushie believes that ac has the potential to make the Guinness World Records for sustained and wide-ranging idiocy on a public blog… 🙂
    ..Bushie is her coach.

55. look at dat the ole boar bushman is at it again.talking trash,, pelting big rocks all ova de place some even smashing he right in he mout….u talk bout idocy,,, u get up in here talking about how de country should be run and you can;t even get a fly to land on the blog u got ova deh , now talking about people personnal identification .man u have reached a new low one lower than a sh,it bucket,,,

56. Based on the current 280 rooms and a quoted 85 per cent average occupancy, Sandals Barbados guests will avoid paying over BDS$7.2 million of VAT each year based on minimum quoted room rate.

57. @ac | January 21, 2014 at 5:55 PM |

Why don’t you stop talking a bucket of shit (to use your phrase) about tourism? Something you know diddly-squat about other than you seem to deeply despise the people who make up the bulk of the tourists visiting Barbados just because of their skin colour, like “Negroman”, or are envious of their wealth like CCC.

Instead of leveling threats to attack people as part of your political masters’ plans to crack heads and shoot people for exercising their natural and democratic rights to march and protest why not ask the MoT if the Almond property at Heywoods has been receiving any of the thousands of guests expected this winter season?

Why not ask the same MoT if the January 17th deadline has been met and if not why not? That should be sufficient work for you to divert your violent mind away from personal attacks and shite talk.

58. Some friends coming out of New York in August are thinking of booking in to the
    Turtle Beach Resort or the Amaryllis Beach Resort.
    Any reports on the quality of service at these hotels?

59. Hal,

They may want to read a selection of guest reviews on TripAdvisor. Current satisfaction ratings out of 102 Barbadian Hotels are:

Turtle Beach – #24
    Amaryllis – #59

The blogmaster dares you to join the discussion.