Noam Chomsky opines thatit is the responsibility of intellectuals to speak the truth and to expose lies”. It begs the question do we have intellectuals in Barbados? Who are they? BU adds another question to the pile – is there morality in local politics?

During the last general election Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart was portrayed as a man of integrity when compared to Owen Arthur. Whether one agrees who won the integrity vote Stuart did not object to the comparison. One year later BU believes Stuart has fallen short of being a man of integrity. Before the political cackle begins it is instructive to lookup the definition of integrity, the quality of being honest and having strong moral principles; moral uprightness”. Did Prime Minister Stuart and his Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite now appointed admit that they witnessed unsavoury (illegal) events during election day? The Prime Minister promised he would check every election law  on the books and bring the matter to parliament to prevent recurrence and in the process finger the culprits.

On another front BU is reliably informed that the government had been in discussion with the NUPW to send home workers for several weeks before the recent announcement. One must reasonably conclude that Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart – who is the minister responsible for the civil service had to be aware of the decision to retrench workers a long time before it was announced. Remember when the SmartStream system was blamed by Stuart as the reason why temporary workers were not paid? We subsequently found out that temporary workers are not registered on this system for payroll. The decision to send home workers was not arrived at overnight. During the time the discussions were being held the Prime Minister suggested there was a computer glitch when many public officers complained about not being paid. We hesitate to call Prime Minister Stuart a liar BUT he has been less than transparent about government’s position on the tenure of public servants.

The other issue which raises questions about the integrity of the Prime Minister is a recent report by the Nation newspaper which highlighted correspondence related to Leroy Parris CIBC matter  apparently shared with the Prime Minister. To date Prime Minister Stuart has not denied the report. An international bank would not have made the decision to close an account with a reported balance of hundreds of thousands of dollars or millions, depending on which Nation report you believe lightly. Why would the Prime Minister his Minister of Finance and Central Bank Governor allow themselves to be dragged into this matter given the CLICO connection? If Parris has a problem with his bankers giving him the boot let him resort to the law courts for resolution.

Part two of BU’s concern: why are our intellectuals not speaking out about the issues whether social or economic affecting the country? This is the country which has invested heavily in their education. There has been no strident discussion mounted by the Bajan intelligentsia to dilute the partisan political diatribe which continues to pollute the Barbados space. Why have they allowed themselves to be intimidated and be cowered into silence? There is no time like the present, a parlous period of our existence, that our brightest and best should not feel obligated to leverage their knowledge and expertise to give back to their nation. Instead what we have are intellectuals who have no backbone or are willing to compromise their intelligence because of partisan political leanings.

If the lack of involvement by the local intelligentsia to become immersed in the issues of the day to problem solve, it makes a compelling case for Barbadians to evaluate how tertiary level education should be funded in the future. The last 5 years provide ample evidence to judge relevance.

142 responses to “Integrity and Education On the Backs of Fallen Leaders”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I will never forget Panday, the former PM of T&T saying that politics has its own morality. Apparently, the politicians in Barbados subscribe to that philosophy. They call themselves honourable but their conduct suggest anything else.

2. ” We hesitate to call Prime Minister Stuart a liar”

Cheeez on bread why do you people like to play with frigging words??? This why we have problems with integrity. People playing with words, AFRAID to call a spade a spade. AFRAID to call a LIAR a LIAR! Stupse! All this fcuking lotta talk when we all know they are ALL LIARS! STUPSE AFRAID to rock the boat, AFRAID to stand up and be counted! AFRAID of wunna shadow! AFRAID of loosing yuh pick! AFRAID of doing yuh job! AFRAID of what people will say! Bunch of COWARDS dat is what wunna is!

3. Laaawd Caswell you took the words outta muh mout.

@islangal
    Cowardice or lack of integrity too? lol

4. @islandgal

If you read the blog it is clear BU is calling out the PM. The fact that we used the tern ‘hesitate to call the PM a liar”is simply to create emphasis. Who feels comfortable calling a Prime Minister a liar but there it is.

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

If you find it difficult calling the PM a liar, you that he has a chronic truth-telling problem. Maybe that would suffice.

6. @Caswell

See it in the context that any Barbadian should have a problem referring to their PM as a liar.

7. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

David; I think I saw on another BU topic that you said that there were several BU posters who were in good positions in this country.

Would you classify most of them as “the Intelligentsia” and if so are they or are they not seeking to use your medium to highlight problems in Barbados and proffer their ideas of solutions.

Your piece above seems to be, perhaps unwittingly, downplaying the role of BU in educating the public through posts by several Individuals who obviously are knowledgeable about their topics but unwilling to make their comments, usually educational, outside the mask of their pen names.

Are you saying that perhaps the time is soon coming for persons to take off the masks?

8. The DLP have a set of people with NO Morality , they were hand pick by David and paid for by Leroy BLOOD MONEY to win , this is the MELTDOWN,

9. So what if the PM tells a white lie occasionally? Big deal!

10. Panday also said Kamla is an alcoholic. Panday also served some prison time for breaking the law.
    Richie Haynes also said perception is more important than the truth.
    The Eager Eleven made many attempts to remove Stuart as their leader.
    One can say he is a survivor.That’s a teacher for you.

11. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

David;
    Has he been proven to be a liar or not (in a court of law)?

I’m almost certain that his defence would be something like; Repeat the words that I actually used. Don’t you realize that I qualified that statement in such a way that it could mean the opposite of what everybody would think I was saying? There is no way that you can objectively prove that I lied. Ergo. I did not Lie.

Politicians are very good at giving us misleading statements.

12. it s obvious that Mark Fenty is challenged in certain areas

13. “So what if the PM tells a white lie occasionally? Big deal!”

Mark Fenty…….Why don’t you stop passing bad gas on BU?

It is people like you who are helping sink the ship by having an excuse for every shoite that is wrong in BIM.

14. @are-we-there-yet?

BU is not a mass player. It is why we have appealed to BU contributors to secure a few email blasts on out behalf to spread the word. BU has a target audience which includes the decision makers in the country but they will not feel pushed to jump unless we get the support of mainstream and other social media.

15. Mark Fenty is a classic example of individuals who supplant their intelligence with partisan political BS.

16. Maybe we could say the PM is “Veracity Challenged”. Most politicians are!

17. …Come people! The president of the most powerful country in the world isn’t immuned from this accusation. So why should it come as a suprise to some of the ingenuous people in Barbados?

18. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

David , No need to look up any word meaning for them , As you now can see in one of your best POSTINGS , right to the heart of this Matter ,
    This is why we call them CROOKS , LIARS AND SCUMBAGS

Central Bank Governor
                                    Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart 
                                     CLICO 
                                     Minister of Finance
                                     Nation newspaper
                                      Ex PM  Owen Arthur
                                     law courts
                                      Leroy Parris
                                     Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite
                                     MIA
                                     Sir COW 
                                      Sir  Cheltenham
                                     David Simmons EX CJ and EX AG
                                     EX COP Dottin

Which are the crook,liar or scumbag?All 3 can go next to each Name or title
    The New DBLP Unity Government

19. @Fenty

You are doing a good job to weaken your credibility on BU. If you continue you will soon be relegated to BU trash can.

20. THE DLP LIED TO THE PEOPLE–L—I —A—-R—S

21. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

David;

What do you mean by?:-
    we have appealed to BU contributors to secure a few email blasts on out behalf to spread the word.

How does one go about doing that?

22. Some when I see the name Mark Fenty, I am remembering Reverend Peter Fenty. At least that is some good there. Peter Fenty is a good man and one that I used to admire but this Mark Fenty seems to be a troll

23. @are-we-there-yet?

BU responded to a few commenters over the years when asked how they may help to spread the word. The two more popular email blasters out there are:

TELL Barbados and Classimax Barbados.

On 6 January 2014 00:24, Barbados Underground

24. Experience has shown that all too often politicias are guilty of stretching the truth. Adams, Arthur, Reagan and Bush have been guilty of it, so what makes Stuart anymore special?

25. @Fenty

Based on your last comment should we accept it or try to stop it?

26. @David,
    Hamlet: ” What a piece of work is man.” You ought to know tha man always act according to self – interest. Including Stuart whom you seem to think is without faults and failings!

27. @Fenty

Please have the last word.

28. IF STUART IS A LIAR………..HE IS A LIAR

WHY SHOULD ONE HAVE DIFFICULTY IN SAYING SO AND TELLING HIM SO TO HIS FACE.

SOME OF US ARE NOT AFRAID TO FLYING IN THE FACE OF THE GOD OF HEAVEN, BUT WE ARE AFRAID OF AN INCOMPETENT IMPOTENT MORON?

WUNNA MEK ME LAFF

STUART IS A LIAR………..HE IS A LIAR

29. I am writing on a phone without the aid of spell – check, so please excuse my many mistakes.

30. Porgie, so what if Sturat is a Liar? The Republicans also accused President Obama from day one of being a Liar. And those that supported him didn’t take to kindly to their sentiments.

31. AS A YOUNG BOY I WAS TAUGHT NOT TO LIE
    WERE YOU NOT SO TAUGHT MORON?
    THERE IS NO EXCUSE FOR STUART OR PINOCHIO TO LIE, FOOL.

WHEN YOU LIE, YOU EVENTUALLY GET CAUGHT OUT
    STUART SAID WE AINT SENDING HOME NOBODY AND LOCALS WONT HAVE TO PAY FEES AT UWI— HE HAS BEEN SHOWN TO BE A LIAR. THAT IS A BIG ISSUE.

PINOCHIO SAID IF YOU LIKE YOUR DR YOU CAN KEEP YOUR DR
    IF YOU LIKE YOUR PLAN YOU CAN KEEP YOUR PLAN. THAT IS A BIG ISSUE.

BUT WHY AM I WASTING MY TIME? YOU SEEM TO BE EVEN MORE BETZPAENIC THAN AC AND MORE IGNORANT THAN CCC

FELLAS LIKE YOU BRING THE DAILY HILARITY TO BU THAT MAKES BU SO POPULAR

32. @ Fenty

You sure it aint an ipad you using? dwl

33. islandgal246 | 05/01/2014 at 7:06 pm |

” We hesitate to call Prime Minister Stuart a liar”
    ………………………………………………………….
    First used by Winston Churchill, our own Grantley Adams once accused a fellow politician as being guilty of Terminological Inexactitude.
    In the services we were more direct, anyone guilty of lying was just a plain Foxtrot Lima.(uncoded)

34. Colonel, your own Grandley Adams who stood outside the yacht club on Bay -street in the 1940s to awaited his wife. Because he was prevented from entering because of the colour of his skin.

35. Mark, But that did not stop him from representing the murderous plantation owner who had shot the little boy who trespassed on his plantation, getting him off the gallows with a short prison sentence.

36. ….Of course not colonel, he was what the Americans call an Uncle Tom.

37. @Fenty
    what makes Stuart anymore special?

Because he ran an entire campaign on integrity and good governance.

“BU has a target audience which includes the decision makers in the country”

That’s step one. The path to step two seems to already be in process.

““There are exceptional people out there who are capable of starting epidemics. All you have to do is find them.” – Malcolm Gladwell

Just observing

38. @Observing

“BU has a target audience which includes the decision makers in the country”

That’s step one. The path to step two seems to already be in process.

““There are exceptional people out there who are capable of starting epidemics. All you have to do is find them.” – Malcolm Gladwell

For what it is worth we have put in 10,000 blog hours 🙂

39. @ Just Observing
    I guess David wont believe a word you have spoken, even if your tongue came notarized.

40. My thoughts are that PM Stuart is Bim’ penance for 14 years of a tiefing Owen Arthur who enriched himself and party and was the first Bim PM to take tiefing to a high level worthy of other Caribbean leaders. No other PM before Owen can claim that fame.

41. Owen Arthur, I never like the man. I thought he was one of the inarticulate and unpolished politician in our political history.

42. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

Konkieman | 05/01/2014 at 11:10 pm |

PROVE IT…However, we all can say with certainty that this DLP has taken tiefing to its own level. in the space of 6 years they have out done, Sandiford, Tom, and Owen combined

43. Has a buyer been determined for the "Four Seasons" project? Avatar
    Has a buyer been determined for the “Four Seasons” project?

44. “We hesitate to call Prime Minister Stuart a liar BUT he has been less than transparent about government’s position on the tenure of public servants.”

” There is no time like the present, a parlous period of our existence, that our brightest and best should not feel obligated to leverage their knowledge and expertise to give back to their nation. Instead what we have are intellectuals who have no backbone or are willing to compromise their intelligence because of partisan political leanings.”

In examining the statements would I be wrong to surmise that perhaps we froth at the bit to much.

45. There is no way that you can objectively prove that I lied. Ergo. I did not Lie.

Politicians are very good at giving us misleading statements.”
    President Clinton of Monica Lewinsky and Opposition leader David Thompson’s ‘ i will not lie, cheat or steal’ tirade springs readily to mind.

46. There is a saying: One cannot be a politician, and a Christian also! Is this the case under the present Government? When a Government seeks to muzzle its citizens by muzzling the press, this is dictatorial, and should not be tolerated! During the BLP 14-year tenure, I wrote letters of a similar vein about anything which would not redound to the benefit of Barbadians/Barbados, and not once did they seek to muzzle me! Now those newspapers which pretend to uphold our rights have buckled to the dictatorial edict of this Government! This is a very sad day for Barbados where any Government feels so insecure that it has to stoop to such subterfuge! No wonder we cannot get anything done properly in our country. Getting back to your question, It should be: Will a buyer ever be found for “All Seasons”? I’m not holding my breath on that one! The Minister of Finance pillaged $60million from the NIS Pension Funds and pumped them into it, now we have the repercussions where they are that there are “technical difficulties” in paying people from it! What “technical difficulties”? Could technical difficulties last from November till now with the IT Department being clueless as to when it will find the problem and solve it? How many more months, in this day and age, will it take them to “seek and destroy” this “technical difficulty”? That is the million-dollar question which any Bajan who has been following what has been going on would be able to answer – without being an academic!

47. SMOOTH CHOCOLATE: give me a break, because it seems as though you have forgotten to acknowledge the fact that your PM Mr. Owen Arthur, has auction off a sizable portion of the Bim during his tenure.
    Perhaps I am simple minded but I’ve just gathered quite recently that your blog has been designed to besmear the integrity of the DLP. Well, good luck with that! How is it working out for you? Listen! To gain the respect of your readership, you ought to call it as it is and not as you want it to be. The God bless the DLP…. the “Drinking – Water” of the common people in Barbados.

48. David, you would never get a poor man like me myself to support a party that has a history of catering to the rich.

49. Mark Fenty | 05/01/2014 at 10:32 pm |

….Of course not colonel, he was what the Americans call an Uncle Tom.”

We Bajans in particular tend to have a delight in glorifying the evil that men do and interring the good in their bones; history records that the Black Bajan masses called him ‘Moses’ on his return from England where he gave evidence about the riots before the Dean commission.

50. Mark Fenty | 06/01/2014 at 5:06 am |

SMOOTH CHOCOLATE: give me a break, because it seems as though you have forgotten to acknowledge the fact that your PM Mr. Owen Arthur, has auction off a sizable portion of the Bim during his tenure.”

That is another myth which needs to be exposed. What did he auction off and to whom?