BU endorses the 10-point plan for discussion

The following 10-point plan has been championed by BU family member Bush Tea for several years and endorsed by Barbados Underground. There is rising resentment and criticism  directed at the feudal Westminster System which has become irrelevant in a modern global market which requires speed, flexibility, innovation and creativity even from small island states like Barbados.

1. We create a FORMAL political body (let’s call it BUP)
  2. BUP enlists representatives from the top 50 social, business, religious, sports and other organizations in Barbados (BARP, BMA, Co-operatives, Churches, Hoteliers,  etc.) and these constitute its formal membership. This body compiles a basic strategic plan for Barbados.
  3. BUP then elects a NATIONAL SUPERVISORY COMMITTEE of 12 persons – Unpaid, except for reimbursement of all expenses. The NSC refines the strategic plan into specific objectives and goals to be achieved.
  4. The NSC advertises for 30 political candidates, including specific ads for Prime Minister, MOF, MOT, etc. They interview applicants and select the most suitable 30 who understand the expectations.
  5. These 30 candidates ALL are required to sign undated letters of resignation to be held by the NSC and are then adopted as candidates of the BUP
  6. All constituent members then lobby for the BUP candidates in the next elections (which are called because the 200,000 membership represented by BUP all walk up Bay Street and demand it…)
  7. As long as BUP wins the majority of seats, the specific persons selected by the NSC are appointed.
  8. The NSC exercises absolute supervisory control and has confidential access to ALL information on contracts, deals spending etc. and ensures that it remains in line with the strategic targets set.
  9. Upon any breeches of ethics OR failure to perform as agreed, letters of resignation are duly dated and accepted (perhaps upon 75% vote by the BUP membership) and new advertisements are placed to fill the vacancy.
  10. That’s IT ….a do-able, effective political system that addresses the current transparency issues AND puts the best talents in leadership AND monitors for ongoing performance.

197 responses to “Barbados Underground 10 Point Plan for New Governance”

1. @ David
    While we generally agree. We trust that it has already gotten broad acceptance. If anything, it does not go far enough for us. For example, we would want to see that the constitution should be changed, integrity legislation enacted, that no minister including a PM should be in office for more than 3 months and that the culture of elected dictatorship be done away with. Then we have to also curd the power of the Civil Service to engage in graft etc. In the absence of these changes we will still be prepared to give our FULL support to this start, without decisiveness.

2. How does one get elected to the NSC?

This is important because it would appear like if we can have “more of the same” in using this system.

Everything else flows from this twelve and even the outreach to the 50 presents a further layer of gathering more of the same.

From items 1 to 4 I see us getting seduced by more of the same Brassbowls because these in themselves create the same conundrum re transparency and competency that we are dealing with today @ 2014

3. Just to start …

On point 1, who is “we”? Who, EXACTLY, is that? Who defines “formal”? And who defines what is a “political body”?

On point 2, who decides which are the “top” organizations in Barbados?

4. @David and Pacha…
    How do you make persons, entities, businesses, individuals outside of Barbados do business with you?Where would be the legislated authority to do these things? Etc. Etc. It is alright to postulate but the implimentation presents other problems/

5. Staying on point 1 for the moment, after “we” have “created” the “let’s call it BUP”, then “we” are going to “enlist” representatives of the “top” organizations in Barbados to “elect” some politburo.

After we’ve decided who the “we” is, just how do we “create” this BUP? “Enlist” is a slippery and meaningless word in this context and the notion of “top organizations” is infantile.

We’ll try to deal with point 3 later, if we can stop laughing.

6. Jesus Harold Christ on a bike (peace be upon him) democracy, like gravity, is a real bitch, isn’t it?

7. you all are looking for angels
    Get real people, Human Beings run Governments and Human Beings are not perfect. You people are sick and not dealing with reality. You all are dealing with Fantasy . You all must be Earth Wind and Fire –singing Fantasy–with Phillip Bailey on lead vocals and Rickey Aimey imitating

8. Jack, any fool can criticism, condemn and complain but it takes effort do something about the present condition. And any Jackass can kick down a barn but it takes a skilled carpenter to build one.

9. Jack, can you name any system of human government that is without its imperfections?

10. Bushie,

You’re always going to face an insurmountable problem in implementing your “BU-endorsed” suggestion for, er “governance”.

The problem is that too many people will question your every word. And they’ll do that because they know you’re an asshole.

Don’t get upset about it. As Big Boss Engineer said (Mathew, 27:4), “the assholes are always with us.”

11. Fenty: No. Democracy is the worst form of government, except for all the others. You think a blog like this could even exist in Cuba, which has a government very close to what the laughable idiot “Bushy” is suggesting?

12. Jesus Christ we have gone stark mad!! Jobs usually call for qualifications and or experience, I wonder how persons with NO EXPERIENCE in government would perform in the interviews especially when the intervieweees themselves have no experience in running a government either. How would you deal with nepotism in the selection? Appointing an NSC comprised of foreigners? Wunna really feel running a country is a circus ent?

13. @ David
    Thanks for putting Bushie on the spot 🙂

@ Pachamama
    Obviously it is not possible to answer all of the detailed aspects In a ten point plan, however it is best to start simple – so that jack donkeys may be able to follow point by point… After all there are some of us who are still focused on class three grammar….LOL

WRT you required constitutional change, you will find that procedurally, it makes more sense to install an intelligent government which is then charged with instituting such a vital change. When we drill down into the process you would be sure to see such change in the works.

The need for term limits is reduced by the standby resignation letters which is at the discretion of the Committee of supervisors. This body acts like an integrity board and has the power of censure and even dismissal for ethics or performance issues.

@ Pieceuhderock
    How elected to NSC?
    These positions are voluntary and unpaid, ..and the role is largely to supervise transparency, ethics and integrity.

It is a typical credit union supervisory committee.
    Nominees are invited from qualified persons (upstanding citizens with the educational background to understand the basic issues and no criminal past) and are elected by the general membership of BUP for specific terms of service.

Who comprises BUP
    ….again this must be developed, but may simply be two official representatives from any qualified national body, generally the president and secretary.

A Qualifying body….(for example could be…)
    Any national body over 5 years old, with over 1000 membership, OR with assets in excess of $100M,
    ….OR a national body over 50 years old with a minimum of 200 active members.

LOL @ Piece (worrying about the brass bowls…)
    Fret Not….this system is DESIGNED for brass bowls… (We can’t avoid them …). 🙂

14. We are up the creek with nary a paddle in sight…..let us see what happens next.

15. Jack, I do not know you from Adam, but you certainly come across as pure asshole. Which leads me to ask the question: brother what has happened to the constructive criticism, done in the spirit of the collegiate discourse?

16. LOL…Yes this would bother you won’t it Enuff…Ha Ha
    Don’t ask stupid questions man, leave that for Jack…

Business owners ROUTINELY interview managers for jobs for which the interviewers are NOT qualified. Often these are the very best interviewers…
    You think that Mr. Simpson need be a financial expert, Oil expert, vehicle expert and HR expert in order to interview managers?

Come with something meaningful Enuff….you can do it…..

How does the private businesses (to whom you and Miller wish to divest our state assets) deal with nepotism? LOL…the very fact that you see this as a challenge tells us that we currently have the WRONG types of persons in government.

…believe it or not, professionals hire for PERFORMANCE and RESULTS …and do it very well too…
    ….but that may be news to you…. 🙂

17. Firstly I endorse the suggestion of the alternative by Bust tea, but the reality is that this will not come to light given that we are very conservative in nature. The problem with the current west Minister system is that it is designed to generate decisions not through bipartisanship but through debate and confrontation. Just look at the way how the government and opposition are seated, opposite of each other and behind their leaders. It is like a battle field; leaders are suppose to clash, MPS to obey them with the objective of one side to prevail.
    We need to transform the current system of governance from one of confrontation to one of bipartisanship

18. Jack, democracy is the worse form of government. Ya! Winston Churchill said it and you obviously believe it right?

19. And business owners know their businesses. I guess you as the head honcho on the NSC knows what Barbados needs? By the way who polices the NSC or they are the untouchables in this fair and equitable governance model? I notice there are no unsigned letters for the NSC members. Stupse, I prefer reality.

20. @ Thinker
    Then how about the American Republican form of government? I would be willing to hear your views on this (Republican form of government), being an alternative system here in Barbados.

21. …and Bajans don’t know what they want for their country.???
    Do you understand the concept of a strategic plan Enuff. If representatives of all major Bajan groups get together and create a strategic plan,…. then select 12 representatives to represent their interest – you are saying that they do not know what they want…?
    …come again that one don’t add up.

22. Like the one done in 2007 that you rubbished?

23. @ David

If you start wrong, we’ll end wrong. This needs some fine tuning,

Point 4 has to include a clause entitled “Declaration of Personal Assets” at the start date.

Point 9 has to include a similar clause entitled “Declaration of Personal Assets” at the end date.

These basic inclusion automatically eliminates 80% of the candidates who are technically the crooks that sit in Parliament on both sides of the isles. We need to keep them out of this discussion as my 5 year old say “period”.

Other than that I like the plan.

@ Mark Fenty

I like to read your entries (may not always agree with your thoughts but I think you are a straight shooter). You call a spade a spade and I like that. Please ease off Jack man, it does not sound good. You guys are better than that.

24. Btw would these individuals from ALL the major groups be tested to ensure there are neither B nor D or have any special interests?

25. @ Mark,

I believe the American system of government can be explored. However , we would need to revisit the constitution to revise what the government can and cannot do. While it is democracy in the truest sense, it allows party members to vote with their conscience and convictions rather that party philosophy. In addition I like the idea of having Limits on service of Representatives. No MP or for that matter Prime Minster should serve no more than two terms. Are we mature politically mature enough to change to such a system. The answer is NO!

26. So BT

How is your plastic bag project coming along?

27. @ Enuff
    Unsigned letters for the NSC may not be a bad idea. The question would be who would hold such letters and what point would they serve since the NSC is unpaid and plays NO ROLE in actual management, contract award etc. All they do is ensure that the hired managers observe the ethical, transparency and integrity rules …and that they meet agreed performance standards.

LOL only the hired political managers would want to bribe them.. …and that is not a likely scenario….

Why do you think our Credit Unions have been so safe and successful- with so much money ….LOL …while under the control of the same kind of brass bowls that we have in government?

The SUPERVISORY COMMITTEES…. 🙂

28. No longer a problem
    Thanks.

29. Look where the incompetence of the DLP has brought us!

30. Tea,

I don’t want you within a million miles of any authority that has any say over how I live my life. I don’t want that because I think it is demonstrably true that you are a laughable asshole.

I doubt that I’m alone in that regard. So how will you deal with the dissidents in your glorious new dispensation? We don’t want you (what with you being a ridiculous, wearying asshole and everything), we don’t want the BUP, we don’t want the National Supervisory Committee elected by the unelected “we”.

So what do you do with us, prick? You take out the Glock 17?

Prick.

31. And when I win the lotto, this is what I am going to do…………………….
    How did the British Pop Group called ” Freddie and the Dreamers.” got its name? They told the woman living next door to where they used to practice, that they are the group which she hears practicing, and hope to make it big. She replied, ” You are a right lot of dreamers!’

32. LOL man Enuff ..you was there at de Hilton?
    That was nonsense….
    That was not a Barbados Strategic plan. ….it was BLP wishful thinking…. Developed status Bushie’s donkey…!

On B & D …it would NOT matter in the least. B, D, or even P….they would be mandated to meet specific performance targets within clear ethical guidelines ….or they will be ‘resigned’…

All that would matter is honesty and performance.
    Sweet nuh!?
    Put on your NATIONALISTIC hat and you will love the plan Enuff…a true patriot as you are….

33. Mr Alleyne,S B , some years ago was suggesting similar things when Tom Adams was in power.

34. @ thinker

I think the key to the USA democracy that stands out most is that pre-set day that drives the election no matter who holds power. Every year “the 2nd Tuesday in November” no matter if it rains, no matter if it snows, no matter if there is a tornado, no matter if there is a hurricane, polls open at 6:00am and closes at 8:00pm do or die with a little variation from state to state. This is at the local, state and federal levels. Come 2nd Tuesday in November we got some action.

Also besides term limits representative seats are always in play. I think these are 2 points Barbados can take away from the US. A pre set date lets say every 2 years but have 15 seats up for grabs one cycle and the other 15 seats up for grabs during the next cycle. Now this will keep our friends in Parliament under their best manners and they will work their asses off to keep their jobs and to keep power. You screw up this cycle your party feels the power of the electorate during the next cycle. Love it.

This is real democracy when the electorate constantly has an opportunity to dictate change.

35. What is so difficult when asked to exercise intellect to discover alternatives? Why do we believe that to be wedded to a system which is leaking is satisfactory? Are we not failing future generations if we refuse to explore?

On 4 January 2014 02:18, Barbados Underground

36. @ Boy Blue
    There are few thing more critical than dreaming, visioning ….or strategizing…
    It is the very first step in real performance.

The alternative is to depend on lady luck to stumble onto a desirable position …. Oh well, that is what other sheep do isn’t it…?

37. Really sorry to have to say this, but the only thing worst that this DLP government would be Bush Tea and his jackass ideas of how the country should be run, which is like a rat or pig farm.

What the current system needs now is transparency. Add that and most of the problems we have are gone.

38. @David (not BU)

Can you operate with an open mind for a change? The Westminster system given its adversarial nature is not relevant in a modern small island society, it suppresses and discourages the small pool of talent which we have because of size. Even enuff has admitted in the past given T&T’s experience that it will be very difficult to find qualified people to serve on our integrity and transparency bodies.

On 4 January 2014 02:25, Barbados Underground

39. Credit Unions are dens of nepotism and iniquity.
    The foundation of this model is one of the key reasons we are currently in a social and economic abyss, so determined to differentiate from the ‘norm’ it aims to dismantle rather than to build on what exists based on an ideology that is impractical but sounds good. Where are the mechanisms for participatory government?

40. @ Askuith
    You’re quite right and I ought to have known better and should have acted better.(I do apology) Now, I am cognizant of the fact that Jack is entitled to express his opinion in whatever manner he sees fit. But, Jack ought to and should have known that along with his right to free expression; comes a responsibility. So when he endeavored to audaciously characterized the entire blog as Semi-illiterated, I took offense to his rather vacuous remark. There was simply, no need to go to those extremes, if he disagreed with some of the opinions expressed here. I hope that we can learn to agree to disagree agreeably, in the not to distant future.

41. Wonder why david(Not BU) would be “sorry to say that”?

We all know that anything that cancels the political largesse and yardfowlism currently endemic in our system will be the “worse possible thing” for many among us….no surprise there.

BTW it does not take a lot of brainpower to work out that adding transparency alone will ONLY expose the incompetence and dishonesty.
    Unless we can ACTIVELY facilitate the truly talented among us coming in to leadership positions we will just be exposing more and more brass bowls …..and getting nowhere.

Surely that is not beyond your understanding D(Not BU)

42. So wait who voted for all thes govts ov er the years..not “WE” the peoople .wunna think things gonna change cause sumbody BUP they head… a whole set of brass bowl ideas with a bunch of collective know it all members qnd ranking file committe members like cawell sounds like ajoy ride to nowhere.

43. @ Mark

Well said Mark. I think Jack is seeking out that type of attention, There is a difference between smart and clever. Your entries elevate you to the level of “clever”, Jack may be smart but may not be elevated to the level of “clever” as yet.

44. Interesting how you only focused on the part about a “developed society” but conveniently ignore the other components of the vision: “..prosperous, socially just and globally competitive.” What Bajan would not envision such for Barbados? Since you know so much about strategic planning, you should know that the vision is always lofty, so calling the vision “wishful thinking” is being redundant.However if you examine the strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats you would see that there are no different to the issues you so often espouse on BU. This also holds true for the goals and objectives, which embody many of the ideas put forward here on BU by persons including yourself. I am therefore even more convinced that my likening of your BUP to the DLP of 2008 is justified as it is obvious that you, even before being elected to govern, are partisan and hypocritical. Like I said before, you are very dangerous.

45. @Mark Fenty

Do you read with understanding? Jack Bowman is a troll, when you engage in frivolous exchanges you do what he wants. Can you understand?

On 4 January 2014 03:00, Barbados Underground

46. Tek a few deep breaths Enuff….

Credit Unions have been the single biggest success story for the majority of Barbadians since independence. They have been the closest thing that we have seen to economic enfranchisement in the last 30 years.
    By nepotism do you mean that they are Bajan managed rather than TRICKIDADIAN or Canadian?
    Do you mean that ordinary looking folks are the executives?
    Do you mean that a normal looking fellow like Hally could be the national spokesman?

Participatory government? RU4Real?
    Skippa, credit unions DEFINE participatory government. So much so that there is almost something religious about them 🙂

…man ya scraping the bottom of the barrel now Enuff…. Breath deeply again….

47. What date is it again? I just went to bed on Jan,1st and woke up on April 1st.

48. The DLP did nothing to merit being in Government
    It was foolishness on the part of the electorate
    Voting for a glamour boy in 2008. All froth and no phucking substance . Then turn around and compound the situation by compounding the situation again = voting for a clown who feels that playing with words will open some font of wisdom or economic viability and stability. Bare Nonsense the electorate of BARBDOS did in 2008 /2013

49. Laawd fadda the incompetence of Freundel should temper your call for such an imposition on term limits. The US is blessed with a population of 317m and federal, state and local government. Just saying.

50. Askquith, point taken! But Jack ought to know that you can do more with honey than with vinegar.