George C. Brathwaite

I begin by wishing all Barbadians and the Caribbean family, a hearty and improved 2014. I write hopeful that the political and civic leaders would be resolute in creating growth opportunities and access to decent work. Starting with those two societal expectations the possibility exists that the government may bring an end to the socioeconomic turbulence which has negatively impacted on Barbadians.

Even as everyday life appears tougher for Barbadians, I trust that our political executive would not to be fettered by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) nor employ the backwardness of worker retrenchment. Prime Minister Stuart can no longer refuse to exhibit political will. The prime minister cannot lay any special inclination towards resting hope on Morpheus. The current inertia that has gripped economic governance in Barbados must be overcome by indigenous efforts and meaningful political actions and national programmes.

That Barbados is a small and vulnerable economy is factual. Nonetheless, and barring the past four years, history demonstrates that, for the most part, Barbados’ post-colonial leaders have displayed immense resilience and chivalry of purpose in the pursuit of national development.

Read full article

70 responses to “Fool, It Is Not the Undervalued and Exploited Worker to Sacrifice Again: Seek the Political and Capitalist Classes”

1. @George
    A blessed new year to you and the comrades at the Roebuck Street Bar.
    You said ” I am calling on the cabinet to squash the decision to send home workers…” This statement is pure political showmanship seeking to appeal to the masses ; a mere political and popular overtone to the workers. Enjoy the bajan spirits and stop the drama

2. Just following the Mia dictate that ‘civil society’ must rise up and back the Labour Party in bringing this poor rakey group calling themselves the DLP,to heel.Mind you its a good call but I see all 10 pages so devoted myself.

3. ______________ Happy New Year to the people of Barbados_______________ This Year will test the limits of your Resolve__________________ But you ought not underestimate the Resilience of human spirit___________________Couple with the Grace of the Almighty God________________With God all things are possible____________________

4. […] Fool, It Is Not the Undervalued and Exploited Worker to Sacrifice Again: Seek the Political and Capi… […]

5. Correct me if you think that I’m simple – minded with respect to my extrapolation of your above comment, because I thought the “Political” as well as the “Capitalist” classes were the sum of 3000 that are expected to be terminated by the hands of government? Never mind the undervalued and exploited worker of Barbados, we already know how he viewed through the collective lens.

6. What! The political as well as capitalist classes constitutes arguably 1% of the general populace but controls 50% of the Enabling – Means? I don’t know but it does not hurt anyone to speculate on this possible theory.

7. As a public -sector – worker myself, I’m quite cognizant of the station we have been able to achieved due in part to the focused efforts of our Collective – Bargaining – units.

8. And finally, you have seriously ask yourself: where would the undervalued and exploited worker of Barbados be, without the existence of the collective – Bargaing – Unit? Of course, I am speaking prior to Business/ Management and the Union started the improper practice of sleeping in the same bed.

9. @ Fenty
    Why did you not have a late sleep in this morning nuh?

10. Happy New year tp all.

@George

not to bad an article. Rememer that Public sector reform was and is a waste of time, until we get serious abput promoting persons on merit, and placing the right persons in the job that fit their competencies., and not those who will sing in choirs. Further, until a proper evaluation of the Pblic Service is done; identifying the skills required and the optimun number of workers required for the public sector and boards, we will spin mud all over or face and repeat this process every 20 years, unfortunately by that time most of us wont remember what had gone before..

11. It certainly seems unfair that 3000 people are being asked (told) that they are the ones that must pay the sacrifice for all the economic mismanagement in Barbados. Barbados has to find a way to make its offerings of tourism and IBC operations more competitive. The increase in value of the US$ (and thus the Barbados dollar) is driving business to other free trading currency locations. If our FX reserves were strong none of this would be happening. If we want to share the hurt of poor economic management with all island residents, then unpeg the dollar and make the place more competitive. This certainly looks like a case of 3000 people being thrown overboard so that those remaining in the boat can continue along as if nothing happened. The problem is going to repeat itself. We gotta fix the real problem.

12. Actually, I did…..(!)……. But what does it have to do with anything….. anyway Bush Tea…..

13. i dont think that sight understands the consequences of unpegging our dollar.

14. Happy New Year … to all … except …

15. Newblood, have you any possible solutions, because I’ve heard from you thus far is mere Lip – Service? How about giving us some possible examples as to why you think that it is inadvisable to unpegged the Dollar?

16. Newblood, how about some possible solutions, because you can’t take lip – service to the Bank.

17. @newblood

And where are you going to get the US$ to pay for all the things we import such as cars, food, gasoline, TV’s….nobody wants Barbados dollars. The consequence of not getting the Barbados dollar valued correctly has much more far reaching effects than you have thought about. When you cant pay your bills you get cut off. We could not as a country borrow $500 million US dollars in the open marlet and were able to get $250 million from a swiss bank with stipulations that we comply with IMF requests. So if you want to help don’t buy anything that is not made in Barbados. Stop driving your car and take the bus, stop buying things that are made anywhere except in Barbados because that is where we are headed. If the dollar were tied to a basket of currencies we would be in much better shape. And then get all your friends to come and visit Barbados and bring us$.

18. @SITH

What is your view about dollarization?

19. @SITH
    Happy New Year.

I read your few lines and was so happy,Well I was busting a gut actually.
    BUY only Barbadian goods?
    Your cupboards must be pretty bare and for sure your POCKET also.
    In case you have not noticed we dont make too much and we make NOTHING that is sensibly priced.(milk; Chicken??Shall I go on)
    The catch a bus suggestion??
    You dont try buses much I will guess.
    You get on a bus at around 4.pm in town and not get killed.You sure a hell wont get a seat.
    The dear ole BIM $??
    God rest her.
    Mr Stinkliar already signed the Death Certificate.
    You ask:Where we going to get all the US$ to pay for what we import?
    Answer:
    We will not be importing,cos as much as we want to ,we will be broke.
    Ergo:problem solved.

Sith.This matter affecting Bim at the moment is a conglomerate effect of World Down turn and BIM upturn.
    We have had over the years a continuous UPTURN in:
    Goverment wastage
    Ministerial Egoism.
    Massive Corruption
    Indiscriminate Spending on useless projects.
    A disappearing PM
    A clue less clut as M o F ( overweight also)
    NO ONE one either side of the HOUSE that is for BIM first and self last.
    Elected legal officers useing position for engrandisment , financial gain, and pay back of favours/enmities.
    ANY part of our system you choose,is totally shot, corrupt and useless.

It is rotten to the core and as such incapable of surviving.

Buy what you like and sit (if you are lucky) on a bus and suck salt.

We have a political dinosaurs,running a Circus, a legal system so corrupt,it got way past being rotten and PUTRID I feel is a better state to describe it.

NOTHING we have is going to FIX this situation.

Time will make it go away.
    What will be left is up for discussion.
    But sure as Sunrise what we all got coming we gonna get.

20. Thank you Dr Love
    You just explained “brass bowlery” to a T…..something that Bushie has been trying unsuccessfully to do now for years…

21. Listening to Sinckler yesterday he does sound like a broken man, certainly not the font of inspiration we sorely need at this time.

22. @BU,
    I do agree with you, in the interview with Stetson Babb on VOB yesterday he sounded like a man with broken spirits. However, he assured the Barbadian public that the Barbadian dollar will not be devalued. That is good news worth hearing.

23. Well talk is cheap. The dollar will not be devalued if we are able to arrest the downward trend. For the last 6 years we have not been able to solve the puzzle.

24. So Stew Peas
    Was it not good news when he said that they would be no layoffs “if it was avoidable”?

That man has NO clue…..
    If Bushie was his PR advisor, he would be advised to get a doctor to declare him “medically unfit for the job due to stress and overwork”, and to reluctantly advise his beloved citizens that regretfully he “was forced to withdraw his valuable services as MoF at this time, but that he would remain available to counsel and guide whom ever takes over that role at this critical time in our history”…(end of release)

25. @Bush Tea,

Nothing that Stinkliar say, I will believe, not now, not today,not next year or in the future. (Sounds familiar)?. That was Stinkliar earlier last year 2013, when Caswell revealed the planned layoff of temporary workers.The way how he sounded yesterday when he was being interviewed by Stetson Babb was pathetic. Probably it is the sexy video going around with him had him so subdued , OR the IMF and Ms Largarde is just around the corner.

26. Its really hard on the workers to have to suffer again. After 1994, I did not think that Barbados would have gone through this situation so soon again but the electorate was stupid to elect the DLP after only 14 years. in the wilderness.–Short memories–I tell yuh !

The DLP should have been punished for the recklessness in the 1991-94 period by in excess of 30 years in the wilderness.

The people took things for granted and foolishly voted for the DLP in 2008 and the DLP in a desperate effort to save some seats and secure some pensions skewed the results of the last BUY ELECTIONS by of course !! —BUYING VOTES— and by telling lies and deceiving the people, the ignorant ones especially the stupid jackasses from St. John and St Phillip.

Call Owen Arthur what you like, he had this country –BOOMING–
    The DLP bust up all of that. Boom and Bust Economy , you say.

When the BLP is in –BOOM ; When the DLP in –BUST.

So why the ass wunna vote DEMS for—wunna imbeciles ??? –Stupid Yardfowls ! Gluttons for DLP punishment !

Voted for the DLP in 2008
    And what did the DLP do ?
    Pick up from where they left off in 1994 and continued their plans to destroy Barbados and that is why they have taken even further down.

And wunna standing around talking shite insead of calling for this country to go back to the polls if somebody dont cross the floor and save Barbados..

Wunna going to let Freundel Stuart destroy the present MiNISTER of Finance and destroy Barbados with him too. Freundel Stuart tried to destroy the former DLP leader –wunna know who –when he was vying for the leadership of the party.

Freundel has proven to be ( DUL) DECEIVER – UNDERMINER and LIAR.

Now if he were getting positive results with the country, it might have been bearable but the country is being destroyed and people are standing idly by and allowing it to happen

Somebody must save the city !

27. ADD TO HIS MANY NAMES
    FREUNDEL IS NOW

FREUN-DUL–DECEIVER–UNDERMINER and LIAR

28. Stew Peas, assuming the Barbados dollar is devalued as many here seem to fear. Then, perhaps, it would certainly call for an Inventive – Ingenuity on the part of young people in Barbados to forge out a productive living. ( never mind the middle -age fogies like me myself!) Now, you can best believe that these economic circumstances will obviously bring out the Good as well as Evil in the best as well as the worse of us.

29. LOL, Just Asking! You are on and popping as the young ones say!

Only this morning we came up with a saying…………the B in the.BLP means building up, the D in the DLP means destroying everything they put their hands on!

30. Someone who accepts first travel and accommodation for wife and family for a couple of overseas vacations a year is NOT a broken man

31. @David
    Seasons greetings.
    PLEASE. If we are being realistic and have any wish to find a solution for the current predicament (Of course there is none) lets take “IF” from the discussions vocabulary.
    We are not Politicians.Lets deal with things of this earth and not fanciful concoctions .

32. Seasons Greeting Dr, Love!

Where have you been hiding?

On 1 January 2014 21:10, Barbados Underground

33. Happy New year to all. Wishing you good health and prosperity.

34. @ George

I agree that the workers are not fully responsible for the problems and should not take the brunt of the corrective measures required to initiate a sense of apparent intervention.

Are those workers the ones that Donville and company hired when they became ministers since 2008?

If yes then I agree with the decision to send them home. However, should those workers be temporary employees outside of a substantive vacant post hired more than 10 years then that is not right nor just.

35. @Prodigal son
    You ought to know that the Pendulum oscillates in both…. Now, you obviously haven’t sufficiently appreciate what the Democratic Labor Party has done for the poor people of Barbados? And you have obviously forgotten that the same charges you’re leveling at the DLP, were leveled at the BLP during the 1985 – 1986 general – election.

36. @ David

Devaluing the dollar is imminent although not prudent as we will definitely be unable to pay national bills anytime soon as we will be paying back the same principal at a lesser valued currency.

Our health care would be under greater stress along with the education systems.

My first thought was: If Donville demands that public servants who are not interested in helping the economy should go home, how come he did not demand that Chris resign and he himself put in his resignation?

They both had opportunities since 2008 to show that they are willing and can help our economy as they said during the elections campaign and today neither can show how the Barbados economy was helped under them.

The hospital under Donville got worse subsequently having been replaced the now Minister Boyce is the one faced with no basic supplies within the facility and response time in AE at an even slower pace causing the life of Ms. Diana Wilson.

Had Donville shown effectiveness in his management we would have seen an improvement at the front door. Isn’t that true?

Chris had all of the answers, and answered his own questions. the BCC pleaded with him to look at and rethink the Duty Free offer to one section of the business community that can only benefit. He gave concession to the hotel sector that could not have been realized in the short term revenue on foreign exchange – now we see a no growth actually a decline between July and September. Furthermore, the various projects discussed today by a private sector member awaiting approval by Ministers are dormant and Chris is not looking for project or programme outside of his head.

Chris should dialogue with his colleagues, PS and get information and files off of desks and have them active and signed-off. These projects are fully funded by the private sector.

37. The PDC has in recent timesย been in the forefront ofย telling many people in Barbados, that there must be evolved a new model of development for this country.

We have been stating on this BU network and in so many places in this country, that there must be an indigenized, egalitarianist, participatory and people-centered model of development brought about by the potential leaders and other participants involved in its evolution in this island, and whether these people are at the center or periphery – or on the inside or outside of Barbados, of it, at the time of its emergent and growing manifestation, for the great benefit of this country and many others.

Such a model of development must be made to replace this essentially very vile regressive Westernist, oligarchist, exploitative, dependency “model of development” that has been idealized practiced by so many multitudes of people in Barbados – and to their and the country’s overall and massive disbenefit – ever since the period of emancipation of enslaved persons in this country in the 19th century.

Indeed, we in the PDC have long been stating implying in many of our pronouncements on this question of this new model of development for the country, that the major premises propositions of this model must include the following:-

1) The coming to the forefront of and establishment in the political management process of this country of a set of very disciplined, efficient, very accountable, visionary, patriotic, coalitional building, nationalist, developmentalist oriented social political studies to rightly correctly replace these jack o lantern idiotic DLP and BLP factions;

2) The emergence and establishment of a system and culture of National Partnerships as the only domestic multi-member corporate business entities possible in this country under such a model (we have on numerous previous occasions on here written extensively on these matters), to eventually replace this system and culture of work in this island. As it stands this system and culture of this work is one of the most vulgar, despicable, demeaning and exploitative national systems and cultures of the masses, to a greater extent, and of the pseudo-oligarchs, to a lesser extent, by the ruling oligarchs in this country, and in cases where such is similarly done, but by the pseudo-oligarchs of the masses, by the former of the latter, actually;

3) The coming about of a post-Taxation society for Barbados, with the removal of this very wicked evil anti-masses, anti-middle classes and anti-productive and an til development system from the political financial landscape of this country;

4) The removal of this evil destructive interest rates system from the political financial landscape of this country and the emergence of a set of wider more effective national political financial approaches where financial institutions shall be made toย use money for two principal purposes: in the context of the carrying on of such real substantial business commercial activity locally ( which too ALL financial institutions will be forced under this model of development to engage in in order to get nominal incomes/payments), such activity will be being part of the material circumstances in which such financial institutions (just like all other business entities do now – except the government in the main) will be made to pay or be paid for the use of money out of their or the relevant other users own nominal incomes, payments and transfers; and be made to make sure that they likde all other business commercial entities in the country carry out the practice of money being fundamentally used by its users as a means for representing nominal incomes, payments and transfers, and any debts/credits connected therewith. Thus, as it so stands, interest and the giving of monies or any of its proxies by the relevant entities to financial institutions later in response to monies, or access to such monies by some others on the behalf of these entities, got in earlier stages out of such relevant financial institutions n this country, do NOT logically qualify as falling realistically within those two fundamental purposes of the uses of money and must therefore be stopped under such a model of development;

5) The establishment of the requisite national and sub-national financial approaches and policies for substantially reducing the real actual cost of use of money (local and foreign) in the long term in Barbados, in the substantial interest of the proper and efficient growth of incomes and payments and savings in the country, and the timely and necessary elimination of public debt in in it as well.

So there we go.

38. VOB Local News
    All news
    The Finance Minister denies he has resigned
    December 31, 2013

In an exclusive interview with Starcom Network News this morning Mr. Sinckler spoke publicly for the first time about the rumour that has been circulating for the past week, saying it will not โ€œget me off my gameโ€ฆor lose my poiseโ€. โ€œThose who know me know the standards and the kind of examples I set for my family and my childrenโ€

Mr. Sinckler also hinted that legal action may be taken against those who post or distribute the video since it may be possible to trace the origins.
    He also indicated that government will likely press ahead with the planned public sector layoffs early in the New Year, despite counter proposals from the NUPW.

He thought that โ€œsome of the proposals are interesting and good food for thoughtโ€ but added: โ€œI donโ€™t think from first glance they will get us where we need to getโ€

Mr. Sinckler has also dismissed any suggestion of devaluation being on the cards.
    Stetson Babb

39. I just saw this online. Interesting how we can talk so loosely without considering our actions and public evaluation of them not to mention our business and social partners observation. See below:-

WED, JANUARY 01, 2014 – 12:06 AM

If youโ€™re looking for public employees who donโ€™t work, you only have to look at those you โ€œbroughtโ€.

That was the reaction of the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW) yesterday to Minister of Industry and Commerce Donville Inniss, who had warned public servants to go home if they did not intend to work with Government to turn around the economy.

40. The only way PDC can get power is by Force.Sign me up PDC I ready..

Like Bunji says. Ah ready, Ah ready Ah ready–Ah ready for the road oad oad oad oad

We ready for the road –oad oad oad oad

yes we ready

41. @David

dollarization would have been a good thing back in the sixties when the GBP was 3.50 to 1. We would have adjusted our living style to that which our GDP could support. Today it would be a difficult transition to accomplish in one step because the rating of the Barbados dollar is lower than junk bonds . Barbados needs FX to pay the import bill. That is what the crisis is about. I doubt if the MOF has any control over what the eventual outcome will be.. He has to stop the decline of FX reserves. If that can be done and FX reserves increase, the pegged dollar could survive.. IMF is not a charity and so if we want to borrow monies from them they will dictate the terms that give them a comfort zone of being able to get their loans paid. No doubt there will be another consultation in the spring. That could lead to more layoffs as a offer to stem fx outflows and keep the dollar pegged. It will be up to the populace to decide if there is fairness in having 3000 of our own paying all the costs of mismanagement.

42. Equal Rights & Justice Avatar
    Equal Rights & Justice

want FX free up de herb

43. Ladies & Gentlemen of the great nation of BARBADOS – (a NEW YEAR) 2014 has arrived on our shores. Many will attest to the blinding fact that the last year has tested our internal metal as a people.

In the immortal words of Albert Einstein – “Problems cannot be solved with the same level of thinking that created them.” So what is our quest in this NEW YEAR FOLKS?

The last year has seen multiplied economic difficulties. As a people, our lack of “GROWTH” has been endemic of our lack of spirituality – bogged down by materialistic pursuit.

We have “PREACHERS” who refuse “PRACTICE” – choosing lyrical aggression over compassion. Too many have chosen citizen issue repression over philanthropy and love for thy neighbor – all the while, the “POOR” amongst us suffer for a lack of a hand of “LOVE” & “CARING”. Yet upon the land is the “WAR” cry of as people shackled by the dark, ominous chains of political tribalism, scapegoating and finger pointing.

The time has come to lift the chains which holds our minds captive. We as a people are more than the sums of our disjointed parts! Our worth has never been equated in “VALUE” sums of NUMBERS, PIECES OF PAPER OR GOODS WE POSSESS!

As a nation, in serving eachother, we become “FREE”!

As a powerful nation, we have weathered many storms! While other houses crumbled – ours remained strong!

So I ask: “IF GOD BE FOR US WHO CAN BE AGAINST US?”

But we must recognize this – less we spurn the help that’s available to us and turn on eachother as CAIN slew his brother ABEL because of JEALOUSY, ENVY, POWER_GRABBING & HATRED!

TIME TO MAKE THAT CHANGE!

44. As we have said on BU some times before and as we have said in other places, there is and can never be any such thing as the devaluation of the Barbados dollar or any other currency in any part of this world.

There is no relationship whatsoever between any of the actual copies of ALL denominations of the local currency ( 1c, 5c, 10c, 25c, 1$, 2$, 5$, 10$, 20$, 50$, 100$), or between any of the actual copies of ALL denominations of foreign dollars, and between any of the same actual copies of the local and foreign denominations of these currencies.

So, there can be no basis – logical, rational or not – for any person to think that there are human exchanges between currencies internationally, and, too, for them to think that exchange rates between exist either.

Indeed, it does not mean that because something is written down or spoken in words, it can be supported by the facts of human material conduct!!

That is why too the PDC has been saying realistically that PRICES do not exist.

But, by many Barbadians continuing to parrot and accept such westernist drivel poppycock, they will continue to surrender to the inevitability of these destructive westernist mythologies taking over their minds (another series of steps in the wicked colonization of the minds of many of our people in Barbados by foreign forces aided and abetted by local puppeteer economists especially), and thus they will continue falsely on the path of believing – and to their own and the country’s greater political economic peril – that there will be this devaluation of the Barbados dollar.

Let us simply follow many of the blogs under this thread and it is/will be seen that the commenters behind them have been throwing up and will continue to throw up exactly what we are positing here: the serious oligarchic political exploitation of the broad masses and middle classes by means of false ideology and indoctrination.

What is primarily happening though, is that, because of the current and ALL former Governors of the Central Bank of Barbados; ALL Ministers of Finance of DLP/BLP governments; ALL of the Barbados Economic Society so-called economists; ALL so-called economists like Michael Howard, Anthony Wood, Brian Francis, Owen Arthur, Clyde Mascoll, et al, who have been a part of the joke myth peddling Economics Department at UWI Cave Hill, and a whole host of other so-called economists and non- so-called economists in the private and government sectors in Barbados, over the years wrongly believing in these false and mythical exchange rates that falsely exist between the Barbados dollar, the US dollar and the relevant other currencies; and furthermore because of their wrongly believing in the flagrance of the coexistence of the mental psychological ideological placing of these numerical ratios between the Barbados Dollar and these particular currencies in their own and many other persons’ minds (where God has not gone some human ignorantly believe they can go with their illusory mental psychological constructs stuff), there will inevitably be this farcical non-existent devaluation of the Barbados Dollar, and especially with local and external political economic conditions becoming more and more conducive to such thinking in Barbados.

Realistically though once the particular policy makers – at the behest of whomsoever – including some of the same joke feeble minded economists in this country, and some officials of the joke IMF – change that particular ratio between the Barbados Dollar and the US Dollar out of Barbados’ favour, there will NOT be ANY DEVALUATION of the Barbados Dollar, but there will be short and long term increased domestic costs across all business sectors to the nominal remunerations of the relevant people and other entities in this country, and there will be short and long term variabilities in nominal foreign remunerations for the relevant persons and other entities in the export sectors of this country.

45. Just how depraved have we become? Have we reached the stage now when hatred generated by blind political allegence can lead a “person” to publish a falsely represented video in the hope of destroying a member of the Cabinet of OUR COUNTRY? This cannot be the Barbados that I once knew where political fanaticism was a pastime reserved for the silly season brought on by pending elections. When will this foolishness stop?

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Pitiable !! | 02/01/2014 at 8:35 am

The evil that men do lives after them, even when they are still alive.
    Retribution my friend is the Mother of All Bitches.

Is this the same man who announced in that honourable place that he was reliably informed that his life was threatened by two goons? What has become of that case? Maybe, just like a mirage, the person in the unseen video was just a case of mistaken identity similar to the two goons allegedly threatened the Chris lookalike.

So Mr. Pitiful, when would the destructive lying posse of this DLP administration stop with the same foolishness?
    Here we have a cabinet member posing as the Minister of Housing unashamedly and recklessly denying any knowledge of planned job cuts in a Statutory Corporation under his portfolio. His claim that Cabinet has not made a decision regarding job cuts in his neck of the ministerial woods is the kind of behaviour that has forced the country down the path it is currently and would most likely keep it there. A courteous refusal not to discuss that specific matter until the PM speaks would have been more diplomatically apt than the bold-faced lies told given the serious ramifications of sending home at least 300 people from the Corporation from January 15th and the merging of that entity with the UDC.

How can the Minister of Finance announced in the highest Court of the Land a specific number of jobs to be axed by March 2014 without a detailed analysis of those jobs and where they are located? What kind of managerial competence is informing the MoFโ€™s decision-making?

Until you guys stop with the foolish lies and denials the country would continue to bleed economically and socially. The first step to recovery is to start telling the Truth. Do you agree Pitiable?

47. Can anyone explain the statement by NUPW quoted in today’s news regarding the sending home of 500 drainage workers. If some have been working under fixed term contracts which have been rolled for the last four years what has his union done to defend workers? Why wait until they are released to quote that many should have been appointed after 1 year?

48. How is this mass dismissals of public workers tying in with the Employment Bill touted by Dr Esther Byer Suckoo last year as the best thing since slice bread? Were the workers given their due notice?

Oh what a tangle web we weave when first we practice to deceive!

49. @Prodigal Son This matter is straight forward and should not be caught up in politics. The workers being sent home are on fixed contracts BUT some of them have had their contracts rolled over for several years. Why has the union not defended the workers when that time came for permanent appointment?

50. the plot thickens. The actors prepare for a retreat into obscurity…..

It begins.