Henderson Bovell

Unless Barbadians ‘force change’ soon and put this county on a different path, by April 2014, Barbados is not going to be a pretty or pleasant place to be! Tourists are already staying-away and capital is running!

What sense will it make having “new fancy looking money” that nobody in the Caribbean wants to see because no country within the region is willing to accept it?

You really have to be “terrified” of a Government that will celebrate the birth of Jesus in December and a few days after – fire 3,000 people!  Think about that for a while: the same DLP, which created this mess all across Barbados, expect and intend to keep their jobs but will fire 3,000 workers now engaged in the Public Service of Barbados, as its first order of business in January 2014!

When added to the fact that hundreds might also be forced to give-up tertiary education because of an inability to pay DLP-imposed-fees, the unemployment rate is not going to be flattering, at the beginning of the first quarter of the next financial year (2014-2015).

The rate of poverty is now likely to skyrocket while the economy will continue to shrink due to significantly reduce economic activity, cause by diminishing investor confidence, as well as – reduced consumer confidence and capacity to be taxed or to spend.

The DLP might be bashful to admit it but ‘Capital Flight’ is a serious problem, and a source of tremendous embarrassment for this DLP Government! Money travelling like that does not happen when business people merely lose confidence in a Government but when they have great fear, as regards what is unfolding. This is serious evasive action from people who are known to take risk with their money!

The productive sectors (including reduced earning from Tourism, FDI and the Financial Services Sector) are other areas of great worry.  When debt servicing requirements; pension commitments and retiring benefits are added to this pressure-pot, it will not be a brew that will impress Rating Agencies.

I doubt very much whether  social and economic instability compounded by political weakness and a phased approach to governance – is something that serious people would ever find comical!  This Government likes to hide the truth but it is looking as if Barbadians can brace for another Mini-Budget in the very near future and on that occasion – an announcement on foreign exchange restrictions.

Few will disagree that this country is burdened with social and economic instability and while we have excellent; dedicated and patriotic men and women in the Force, it will not take the criminal element long to figure-out that flexi-allowance and over-time pay for the Police ‘MAY’ have stopped, neither will it serve the country’s interest, “IF” Police Officers are also on the DLP’s-list, to be axed!

By now, it should be occurring to the private sector, exactly how an extremely weak Government and its reckless mismanagement of the economy, can pose a serious threat to their personal and financial security. The entire DLP Cabinet could next Thursday – determine that the Police and BDF will provide 24-hour armed security at their house and of course – free of cost to Ministers – and for an indefinite period, also.

The question for the country is: can a fiscally reckless Government, can be relied upon to exercise State power, in a responsible manner, in circumstances where the country has just cause to feel that the said Government cannot be trusted; that it is allergic to  truth and that it has unmatched skills in deception. Already we have seen the Police caused to question the political Opposition! Are we now to become like Zimbabwe?

Barbados has become a country where people are already starving based on reports from churches across Barbados. The lines at the Salvation Army also paint a frightening picture. Based on early warning indicators – next year will be much worse. Can you reasonably place a duty of care on hungry people – who fear dying of starvation – to exercise sound judgment?

Rating Agencies will not like this “DLP work of art”  and more downgrades will come! Every passing day this DLP Government is allowed to continue on its current destruction path (including printing money) Barbados will get a step closer to devaluation. This country is now beyond crisis and Rating Agencies and the IMF know that.

Perhaps Barbadians do not fully appreciate the gravity of this reality because Government may not be giving them all of the facts. That would be a very dangerous game to play!

Barbadians must brace themselves because 2014 will be a bumpy ride and there will be nothing happy about the New Year!  But, all of this is your special gift, compliments of your DLP Government, which you cannot trust.

237 responses to “A DLP’s Work of Art – Barbados Becoming a Failed Society”

1. are-we-there-yet? Avatar

David; I too have been trying to get that message across. No entity outside the Government has access to all the facts that should inform the development of good policy and strategies for fulfilling those policies. The very interesting points made in submissions by Miller, Bushtea and others are in general details of strategies that the Government would have to take on Board and implement if it saw fit to do so but they can never have the underpinnings of what is possible and feasible that Bay street should have.

There are strategies that several Governments over the world have successfully used to reorient their economies in the face of problems such as the ones we are now facing. Our Government planners must be well aware of those strategies. That is what Planning units should be for and there are several of them in the Government. Only the Government can implement any agreed strategy.

It would appear that Cabinet has given its blessing to a tried and tested, albeit painful, strategy for getting us out of this situation. It would also appear that tensions in the Government are sending mixed messages re. the implementation of these strategies. Those mixed messages are diluting implementation and it is clear that the PM is firmly in the mix of those tensions.

His colleagues should give serious thought to reenergizing the eager plan.

2. In retrospect we have to say a kind work on behalf of the Eager 11 who saw that the PM Stuart is a hopeless leader and they tried on at least 3 occasions to get the GG to agree.What they didn’t do was the Math simply because the de facto leader had proved he was not good in Math.
    Irrespective,they told a story by attempting to jettison Fumble Stuart and lo and behold they have been proved right all along.

3. There is no need to call an election immediately. One of DEM going get a heart attack on April 1st, 2014 and force a bi-election. Real simple. This is the best solution for DEM to become the opposition and keep DEM pension. at the same time.

If we lucky maybe all of DEM may get heart attacks and seeing the condition the QEH is in right now, maybe we may save a few more $$ by not having to pay out pensions at all.

4. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Wily Coyote | 31/12/2013 at 11:10 am | Reply To Fix , Audit need to be done , All Minister and big Ups not paying their fair share of what we seem to live by TAXES, RENTAL AND INCOME OFF THE BOOKS DUTY FREE,
    Many Minister and friends and family dont pay taxes as we all have to , CARS among other things,
    Audit On Inland rev, will show a lot of things , COURTS, LIME , RAM and other QC,SIR,GG< PM and so on , ,
    Just look at the companies that are not paying taxes for business being done in Barbados, Who dont like it to, too, two 2 bad. For we not getting anything any ways .
    Audit audit AUDIT and you will see the waste,

Audit will let us know how we stand and how to move ahead, then we can look to cut the 10% people talk of Ministers getting kick back funds for doing there work, most on building projects

5. There is a big irony here to consider. The government pads the public service, successive government and the country has to pay for it. Successive government are inefficient at collecting revenue and the country has to pay for it. What is the common denominator you ask?

6. Christopher Stinkliar in a salacious video? BU, can you post the link?

7. The man said the name of the site on the news. Why don’t you go and look for yourself. You want to put David in trouble.
    David, Denis Clarke said he is trying to protect the sending home of 6000 public workers in 12.30 news not 3000 as is being talk about.

8. Yes Clone he did, food for thought don’t you think. A Lot of mamguying going on. The MoF has denied he is in the video rumored to be circulating on FB.

9. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Earlier today I received word that at 10: 30 the Ministry of Education requested the names of all temporary teachers at Queens College by 11:00. Apparently, the Principal did not respond to an earlier edict to submit the names in October. The names are now required urgently so that these people can get their walking papers before the end of the day or they would have to be paid for January.

Information reaching me also says that all the temporary workers at the Drainage Division were ordered to down tools and the appointed ones instructed to report to MTW on Thursday.

10. Thanks Caswell, so it is unraveling as you said it would.

11. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

If Caswell is correct. So much for the promise Sinckler made to the Shepherd?, the head of the BUT.

12. The BUT has scheduled a meeting of all its members for Friday at Solidarity House to deal with matters of the impending layoffs.

13. IF the teachers were promised that their profession would be untouched by the MoF why do they need to meet? So much fuzzy communication all designed no doubt to raise confidence in the country. If PM Stuart alive?

14. BUT member better watch themselves because Anthony Allyene campaigned for the PM.

15. I DECLARE Caswell

MAN OF THE YEAR

I really think that Caswell should be somewhere in a new Political PARTY.
    We need men like Caswell
    W e need to deal with the issues straight
    The present crop need to be more honest in their deliberations and really Man up and stop the pretending. Those days are over. Stop the tricks, The funny flowery talk, The one-upmanship, the FOLLY.

The West Indies Team needs to be brought in line –same way too.
    Our Institutions need Revamping; they are misfiring.

16. @SITH

See the following report:

Drill, Baby, Drill – Can Unconventional Fuels Usher in a new Era of Energy Abundance – The most comprehensive analysis to date of the prospects for shale gas, shale oil (tight oil), and other unconventional fuels. and this report

snip

Abstract

It’s now assumed that recent advances in fossil fuel production – particularly for shale gas and shale oil – herald a new age of energy abundance, even “energy independence,” for the United States. Nevertheless, the most thorough public analysis to date of the production history and the economic, environmental, and geological constraints of these resources in North America shows that they will inevitably fall short of such expectations, for two main reasons: First, shale gas and shale oil wells have proven to deplete quickly, the best fields have already been tapped, and no major new field discoveries are expected; thus with average per-well productivity declining and ever-more wells (and fields) required simply to maintain production, an “exploration treadmill” limits the long-term potential of shale resources. Second, although tar sands, deepwater oil, oil shales, coalbed methane, and other non-conventional fossil fuel resources exist in vast deposits, their exploitation continues to require such enormous expenditures of resources and logistical effort that rapid scaling up of production to market-transforming levels is all but impossible; the big “tanks” of these resources are inherently constrained by small “taps.” (My emphasis /GM)

About the Author

J. David Hughes is a geoscientist who has studied the energy resources of Canada for nearly four decades, including 32 years with the Geological Survey of Canada as a scientist and research manager. He developed the National Coal Inventory to determine the availability and environmental constraints associated with Canada’s coal resources.

Download the Drill, Baby, Drill full report here:
    http://shalebubble.org/drill-baby-drill/

17. @PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Corruption has been rampant in Barbados for numerous years, BLP/DLP doesn’t matter. Why do you think neither party would bring in Integrity Legislation, something akin to shooting ones self in the BALLs, oh yes I better correct that, Barbados politicians have no BALLs, substitute ASS.

Hopefully in the new year IMF will come in and “AUDIT” the country and the country will either LISTEN and ACT, which I doubt, the only other option is FAILURE.

I’m betting 10 to 1 on FAILURE.

18. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Hmm!

A pattern seems to be emerging here.

The MOE requested names of temporary teachers in October. Minister Jones made his “Cracking heads and shooting” speech around that time. The Teachers were told by the MOF very recently that their temps would not be affected in this round of layoffs. Yet Caswell reports that the Principal of QC was ordered today to send the names of his temporary teachers to the Ministry forthwith. In the meantime over the past day or so Minister Sinckler and Minister Inniss appear to have rejected the NUPW’s proposal developed in response to the PM’s request on further ideas that might replace the layoffs. There is no official word from the PM so far on this matter. However, it looks like everything is go for the layoffs. Will await further developments but something seems awry.

Hmmmmmm! again

19. Regarding the high stock market prices and low gold prices, Economist and former Wall Street Journal editor, Paul Craig Roberts, and others, see “faulty statistical measures that do not accurately portray economic reality” and market manipulation going on.

Remember at one time the tulip market in Holland was soaring too.

Manipulations Rule The Markets
    Paul Craig Roberts, Dec 20, 2013

The Fed’s reduced bond purchasing announced for the New Year still leaves the Fed purchasing $900 billion worth of bonds annually, so obviously the Fed does not think that everything is OK. Moreover, the Fed has other ways to make up for the $120 billion annual reduction, assuming the reduction actually occurs. The prospect for tapering is dependent on the US economy not sinking deeper into depression. Massaged “success indicators” such as the unemployment rate, which is understated by not counting discouraged workers, and the GDP growth rate, which is overstated with an understated measure of inflation, do not a recovery make. No other economic indicator shows recovery.

Until a whistleblower speaks, we cannot know for certain, but my conclusion is that the Fed understands that it must protect the dollar from being driven down by QE and that the orchestrated takedowns of gold are part of protecting the dollar’s value, and perhaps also the cutback in QE is a part of the protection by signaling an end of money creation. The Fed also understands that it cannot forever drive down the gold price and that it cannot forever pour liquidity into stock and bond markets. To retreat from this policy without crashing the edifice requires successful orchestrations. Therefore, we are likely to experience more of them in the days to come.

Allegedly, the US has free capital markets, and globalism is bringing free capital markets to the world. In actual fact, US capital markets are so manipulated–and now by the authorities themselves–that manipulation cannot stop without a crash.

http://www.paulcraigroberts.org/2013/12/20/manipulations-rule-markets-paul-craig-roberts/

And there is this, Manipulation Going Mainstream as Bloomberg Asks: ‘How to Keep Banks From Rigging Gold Prices?’

20. @ Well Well

Never ever heard “Barbados has/had the best schools in the world. . . . the best education system in the world”. The United States albeit has numerous ivy league colleges, more than any one else in the world: Harvard, Yale, Stanford, Princeton, Columbia, etc. [If] indeed Barbados has/had the best eduational system in the world, Rihanna is not proof of it, neither are Kerrie Symmonds and Mia Mottley.

21. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Nasty piece of work is this BLP Henderson Bovell

22. @Caswell, you were correct in an earlier post, Drainage Workers going home. My, My, no letters of termination. “Dems now Dems again ” (DWL)

23. ” Should he fail to seize the moment , the consequences
    for the Dems at the next election would be more
    catastrophic than 1999 ”
    Reudon Eversley- a known DLPite wrote these words in Barbados Today

I say BINGO !

And further call the elections NOW
    Stuart and the present Minister of Finance cannot hold this country up to ransom

Eversley talked about the possiblity of Stuart being the worst PM
    Hello !!
    The question to be asked is who is worst than Stuart
    THE PRIME MINISTER DOES NOT INSPIRE CONFIDENCE
    We have said so and we are amazed that others are seeing the light.

How on earth could we have voted for this lot

That is why I have a serious problem with DOTISH ST. JOHN PEOPLE
    They are the worst example of a people anywhere
    If you carry a Frog up there and paint DLP on its back, they will vote for it. The fact that we can have a group of people so stupid and ignorant in our midst is an indication that we have not travel too far ahead in our development. Voting should not be about blind loyalty to any party. ST.JOHN PEOPLE NEED REDEMPTION. TO NEGLECT ST.JOHN PEOPLE IS AN INDICTMENT BOTH ON BARBADIANS AND ON THE BLP.

24. It says a lot about the alternative doesn’t it?

25. @manipulation rules the markets

I recall when the dow was 1800…it is now at 16000 plus. A nice 29% jump in the last year Barbados would love to get just a few drops of that Fed stimulus. Back in 1968 the GPB was 3.26 to the us$. Now it is just about half that. We pegged to the us$ and the world has recognized that the US$ is the worlds reserve currency. That is not going to change for a long long time. Gold prices have dropped because the threat of energy starvation for the USA is decreasing every day with new fracking technologies. As a result just about all currencies are dropping in value compared to the US$. The yen is down 20%, the Real down 40%.. The problem we have is our currency is in the junk territory and we can not use it to pay for external debts. Our competitors have more value to offer because their currencies for the most part trade freely. Barbados dollars can only be spent on the island and when they are a great amount of them are spent on things that are imported and have to be paid for in US$ like cars, petrol, and cell phones. What the government is doing is cutting back the monies people going to get with the hope that cause they have not so much money to spend the outflow of payments in US$ is going to subside. OH, and by the way IMF make loans in US$ not Barbados dollars. And they do want to get repaid so they will ensure we get competitive enough to do so. Cutting the labor cost is only part of the solution. We all better get ready to tighten the belt a few notches.

26. Look…I got to admit that certain stages of the education system in Barbados is on par with certain other countries…won’t elaborate but I know from experience….I know they are not at the level of Ivy Leage but when Bajans attend Ivy league universities in the countries that have such, they do extremely well…..suffice it to say when those same ivy league bajans return to the island and try to give back in the form of changing the little incestuous system in place there for decades, they are met with scorn and ridicule, they then have no choice but to leave them alone because ‘dey like it so’ and do not want any change for the better…..

27. The BLP were superior to the DLP in 2008 and even more so now, but Bajans don’t read, don’t think and love salaciousness over substance. We now gotta tek wuh we get. The fact that people referred to OSA in such glowing terms tell us what? But noooo we wanted the perfect…well we got it.

28. I feel for those being sent home from Drainage today. I would imagine they thought they had a few more days as the initial layoff date I believe was 15 January 2014. I’d imagine it was a shock for them….. what a sad way to start the new year.

29. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

If it is true that the Drainage Unit’s temporary staff are being sent off from today when the MoF suggested that the layoffs would start on the fifteenth as far as I recall, suggests to me that things are even more dread than we thought. I wonder what the fourth quarter Central Bank report will say.

The situation has to be extremely bad for a DLP government to do this, even if it is the worst government in the recorded history of Barbados.

If this is how it starts, the journey will not be pretty.

30. To borrow erice’s lingo, the one foot swordsman” sounded very upset when he directed a tirade at ‘Donville Inniss’. Let the script play out!

31. Stinkliar is sounding very subdued while talking with Stetson Babb ob Starcom Williams News Makers. The movie is taking shape people. Look Out. Cannot t wait to hear what is going to happen in the schools when temporary teachers are laid. They are the most productive.

32. @Henderson Bovell.
    You have some nerve writing another article for BU. You have no credibility. Up to now you have not answered my questions about the 1.4 billion dollars that “were taken out of the country.” Ask your handlers to restore your credibility by letting you expose the person or persons, or institution(s) but this flagrant violation of our laws must be exposed. Right now you have NO CREDIBILITY.

33. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

Sinckler said that Barbados had a ‘good’ Article IV Consultation. There is no humility left anywhere in this man and presumably the DEMS!

34. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

I wonder what Suckhoo as Min of Labour is saying to these people being sent home after she felt so proud about her legislation to give some job security. yeah, Bajans forgot that.

35. @Alvin

Credibility you say?

Hasn’t the government committed to sending home 3,000 workers or is it 6,000?

36. @George
    I was taken aback too with Stinkliar’s statement. A birdie who sat in on the meeting with the IMF team told me that even when the facts were staring the government in the face, they were trying to lie to the IMF team. No wonder the head of the delegation had such a cruel look on her face in the picture taken by the Nation newspaper.

37. Wily Coyote | 31/12/2013 at 3:33 pm |
    Said.
    “Hopefully in the new year IMF will come in and “AUDIT” the country and the country will either LISTEN and ACT, which I doubt, the only other option is FAILURE.”

Good luck to IMF in its attempt to audit the country.

The comments of the Auditor General in its Audit Report of the March 31, 2012, accounts are truly disturbing. The bottom line is in Section 2.7, which says.

Audit Opinion: In my opinion the financial statements presented for audit did not in all material respects, fairly present the financial position of the Government of Barbados as at 31st March 2012.

BU family members are encouraged to read whole sorry story in the Auditor General’s Report at:

http://www.bao.gov.bb/themes/marinelli/files/Auditor%20General%20Report%202012.pdf

38. @ Well Well

Did you know Pavlos, Crown Prince of Greece attended Georgetown University in Washington D.C. He graduated in 1993 in International Relations. His roommate at Georgetown was his cousin, Don Felipe de Borbon, Prince of Asturias, heir to the crown of Spain. The two could have and would have chosen the University of West Indies (Barbados) if it were better, better than Georgetown University in the united states. Oh and Well Well (poster) Georgetown is NOT officially ivy league. Did you know Princess Alexandra Josephine Teresa Charlotte Marie Wilhelmine of Luxenbourgh, 4th child and only daughter of the Grand Duke Henri and Grand Dutchess Maria Teresa is NOW studying history, psychology and sociology at the Franciscian University in mid-western Ohio (United States). According to http://www.royalinsight.net. She is following in her uncle’s footsteps by attending college in the United States. Prince Guillaume graduated from Georgetown University in Washington, D.C. (1987). The Franciscian University like Georgetown is NOT ivy league. Journalist, Robert Siegel on 12/24/2013 said that instead of sending students abroad the country, Qatar has effectively imported a host of American colleges and now you say Barbados has the best schools in the world, the best education system in the world – APPARENTLY NOT.

http://www.npr.org/blogs/parallels/2013/12/24/256874173/instead-of-sending-students-abroad-qatar-imports-u-s-colleges

39. @lOOK.
    i WROTE IN A BLOG SOME TIME AGO, THE WORDS OF jESUS HIMSELF, WITH REGARD TO bAARBADOS AND HOW bARBADIANS LOOK AT THEMSELVES. “a PROPHET IS NOT WITHOUT HONOUR, SAVE (EXCEPT) IN HIS OWN COUNTRY.” DID YOU KNOW THAT WE HAVE A bARBADIAN WHO WON A nOBEL pRIZE? dID YOU KNOW THAT dR. lIONEL nURSE, A LECTURER IN eNVIRONMENTAL sTUDIES AT cermes; cAVE hILL, WON THE nOBEL pRIZE WHICH HE SHARED WITH TWO OTHERS, IN 2007? cHECK IT OUT. wE ALSO HAVE OTHER HIGHLY QUALIFIED AND PROMINENT SCHOLARS AT OUR EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS. bE PROUD OF WHAT WE HAVE, BECAUSE WHAT WE HAVE IS AS GOOD AND IN MANY INSTANCES BETTER THAN OTHER INSTITUTIONS HELD IN HIGH ESTEEM BY OTHERS OUTSIDE OF bARBADOS.

40. De Higher De Monkey Climb Avatar
    De Higher De Monkey Climb

Well 2013 has to go down in history as a big wufless lesson for the igrant Bajans who have benefited from so-called free education and did not use it. Instead of rationally looking at facts, people chose to vote based on popularity and who could be the most bombastic and insulting on a platform, as if that runs a country. Instead of rationally looking at facts and ignoring those among us like Caswell and Ryan Straughn and others who never deviated from their stance from day 1 but were lambasted and branded with a big letter B, people chose iPads and a job wrapped up in false promises. Instead of looking at the facts that were to be seen a year ago at the very least when it was obvious that freeness was unsustainable, people voted for freeness.

The unions, in my mind, who have been “meeting” with government officials for MONTHS – what were they talking about at these meetings before now, I wonder, whose house to go at next to drink beer and play dominoes? – have lost all credibility and now the buddy-buddy relationship they had with their political cronies is starting to crack. I too heard the number 6000 drop out a man mout’ today. Caswell must be laughing – if this were a situation that people could laugh at.

And some people still have their heads firmly jammed in the sand, believing that their “party” can do no wrong and will, apparently, not understand what they have done by the choices that they made until they suck salt. Well welcome 2014, let the salt-sucking begin.

41. DLP (formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) TV

@Alvin Cummins You could got the gaul to say somebody ain’t got no credibility when YOUR DEM govt can even get an economy run !!!!!. A MOF that presiding over the worst economic crisis in B’dos history and a PM that should really fire himself after firing Stinkliar!!!. A govt that put up a LOT of smoke and mirrors during an election only for the electorate to find out the bottom fall out of the economy!!!!! Yeah man you does support a gov’t that is a bastion of credibility man!!!!! I got to hand it to wunna DEMs man. Wunna trick a whole electorate for 1 mnth out of a whole 5 year term to win an election. Wunna deserve a pat on the back fuh dat. But the thing is when people realize dey get trick they does look out for it later down the road. So wunna DEMS, could risk it again after now being branded LIARS and TRICKSTERS!!!!!
    Look, even anybody of low economic intelligence like Fumble and Stinkliar should see that Bdos had a expenditure problem but instead of reducing spending, they taxed the country into submission and abuse the NIS fund in the worst way to basically sustain economic ignorance. Gov’t controls spending NOT the internat’l community. So this CRISIS is a DEM creation.

42. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Oops! The fixed term contracts of the Temporary Drainage unit staff came to an end today according to a CBC report so the Government cannot be faulted for the timing of their going home.

43. @ Alvin

Why, why must you always embarasse yourself?

The 2007 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded jointly to the Intergovermental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and Albert Arnold Gore NOT your Dr. Lionel Nurse. Check it out.

44. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Look;
    Dr Lionel Nurse was a member of the IPCC. Check it out.

45. The word ‘confidence’ has escaped the understanding of the DLP,the NUPW,CTUSAB,the BUT and the BSTU.All are talking through every orifice they possess and none is telling the truth.I have tuned out of these wannabees long time.Everyman brekin fuh eself and not one gine get save.
    Worrell the great bankman who tell Xtine the watchwoman at the high hem hef go tek a hike,will pay for his stupidity.Pray that Fumble see the light and throw in de towel in the New Year

46. i THINK THAT FUMBLE STUART SHOULD BE RUNNING NORTH KOREA
    SEND FUMBLE TO NORTH KOREA

47. @Look.
    Poor look you are so intent on denigrating any and everything Bajan that you refuse to check, or believe the facts. Dr. Nurse was a member of the team; I said that he had won it jointly along with two others. Why can’t you believe facts. I keep telling you people that I know what I am talking about.. Dr. Nurse has contributed many scientific papers to the scientific community and he and the IPCC received the Nobel Prize based on their work on the environment. If you do not recognize him go to the Lobby at the entrance to Cave Hill and you will see his framed picture proudly displayed. In case you did not read my publication of accolades for another well respected Barbadian, professor Carl Wade, former professor at MIT and holder of many Patents, check it out on Google. He is now back in Barbados contributing to the scientific training of Barbadian scientists and engineers. There are many more, just take the time to give credit where credit is due. Everything in Barbados is not negative.
    COUNT YOUR BLESSINGS
    @DLp (Formerly).
    I will talk about the crediility of Hendersn Bovell, because his statement about the removal of ONE POINT FOUR BILLIOB DOLLARS from the economy has the potential to be damaging to the psyche of people who may not be aware of the facts. I want him to justify his statement and back it up with facts. I will keep after him until I get answers.

48. WHAT GAME IS THE NUPW PLAYING

people chose iPads and a job wrapped up in false promises. Instead of looking at the facts that were to be seen a year ago at the very least when it was obvious that freeness was unsustainable, people voted for freeness.

THE ABOVE IS FROM THE HIGHER THE MONKEY CLIMB

AND IS THE REASON WHY THE BARBADOS SHOULD GO BACK TO THE POLLS OR PERSONS SHOULD CROSS THE FLOOR AND CHANGE THE GOVERNMENT THAT WAY.
    SOMETHING HAS TO HAPPEN

ALSO TO BE CONSIDERED

A BROAD BASED COMMITTEE TO OVERSEE THE ECONOMIC RECOVERY OF BARBADOS

LISTEN PEOPLE I AM SHOUTING AS HARD AS I CAN

WE CANNOT CONTINUE LIKE THIS
    Words of Darren Sammy in reference to West Indies cricket at the moment

WE SIMPLY CANNOT CONTINUE LIKE THIS
    A DYSFUNCTIONAL PRIME MINISTER WHO SEEMS INTENT ON COMPLETELY DESTROYING THE MINISTER OF FINANCE
    A DYSFUNCTIONAL MINISTER OF FINANCE
    A DYSFUNCTIONAL CABINET
    A DYSFUNCTIONAL GOVERNMENT THAT SHOULD NEVER HAVE BEEN RETURNED TO OFFICE
    A DYSFUNCTIONAL ELECTORATE
    A COMPLETELY DYSFUNCTIONAL CONSTITUENCY CALLED ST JOHN WITH A BUNCH OF IGNORANT PEOPLE

WILL WE SIT AND WAIT
    WAIT FOR WHAT ?

49. @ SITH
    Seems like the US stock market is looking maybe a touch overvalued to some analysts, here of late.

How Will The Economy Improve In 2014 If Almost Everyone Has Less Money To Spend?

By Michael Snyder

Is the U.S. consumer tapped out? If so, how in the world will the U.S. economy possibly improve in 2014? Most Americans know that the U.S. economy is heavily dependent on consumer spending. If average Americans are not out there spending money, the economy tends not to do very well. Unfortunately, retail sales during the holiday season appear to be quite disappointing and the middle class continues to deeply struggle. And for a whole bunch of reasons things are likely going to be even tougher in 2014. Families are going to have less money in their pockets to spend thanks to much higher health insurance premiums under Obamacare, a wide variety of tax increases, higher interest rates on debt, and cuts in government welfare programs. The short-lived bubble of false prosperity that we have been enjoying for the last couple of years is rapidly coming to an end, and 2014 certainly promises to be a very “interesting year”.

Obamacare Rate Shock

Most middle class families are just scraping by from month to month these days.

Unfortunately for them, millions of those families are now being hit with massive health insurance rate increases.

In a previous article, I discussed how one study found that health insurance premiums for men are going to go up by an average of 99 percent under Obamacare and health insurance premiums for women are going to go up by an average of 62 percent under Obamacare.

Most middle class families simply cannot afford that. Earlier today, I got an email from a reader that was paying $478 a month for health insurance for his family but has now received a letter informing him that his rate is going up to $1,150 a month.

snip

The Wealthy Save The Day?

Perhaps the stock market will continue to soar in 2014 and the wealthy will spend so much that it will make up for all the rest of us.

You can believe that if you want, but the truth is that there are a whole host of signs that the days of this irrational stock market bubble are numbered. The following is an excerpt from one of my recent articles entitled “The Stock Market Has Officially Entered Crazytown Territory“…

The median price-to-earnings ratio on the S&P 500 has reached an all-time record high, and margin debt at the New York Stock Exchange has reached a level that we have never seen before. In other words, stocks are massively overpriced and people have been borrowing huge amounts of money to buy stocks. These are behaviors that we also saw just before the last two stock market bubbles burst.

If the stock market bubble does burst, the wealthy will also have less money to spend into the economy in 2014.

Read more at http://investmentwatchblog.com/how-will-the-economy-improve-in-2014-if-almost-everyone-has-less-money-to-spend/#a0CxuT3tMfaI5PrX.99