Henderson Bovell

Unless Barbadians ‘force change’ soon and put this county on a different path, by April 2014, Barbados is not going to be a pretty or pleasant place to be! Tourists are already staying-away and capital is running!

What sense will it make having “new fancy looking money” that nobody in the Caribbean wants to see because no country within the region is willing to accept it?

You really have to be “terrified” of a Government that will celebrate the birth of Jesus in December and a few days after – fire 3,000 people!  Think about that for a while: the same DLP, which created this mess all across Barbados, expect and intend to keep their jobs but will fire 3,000 workers now engaged in the Public Service of Barbados, as its first order of business in January 2014!

When added to the fact that hundreds might also be forced to give-up tertiary education because of an inability to pay DLP-imposed-fees, the unemployment rate is not going to be flattering, at the beginning of the first quarter of the next financial year (2014-2015).

The rate of poverty is now likely to skyrocket while the economy will continue to shrink due to significantly reduce economic activity, cause by diminishing investor confidence, as well as – reduced consumer confidence and capacity to be taxed or to spend.

The DLP might be bashful to admit it but ‘Capital Flight’ is a serious problem, and a source of tremendous embarrassment for this DLP Government! Money travelling like that does not happen when business people merely lose confidence in a Government but when they have great fear, as regards what is unfolding. This is serious evasive action from people who are known to take risk with their money!

The productive sectors (including reduced earning from Tourism, FDI and the Financial Services Sector) are other areas of great worry.  When debt servicing requirements; pension commitments and retiring benefits are added to this pressure-pot, it will not be a brew that will impress Rating Agencies.

I doubt very much whether  social and economic instability compounded by political weakness and a phased approach to governance – is something that serious people would ever find comical!  This Government likes to hide the truth but it is looking as if Barbadians can brace for another Mini-Budget in the very near future and on that occasion – an announcement on foreign exchange restrictions.

Few will disagree that this country is burdened with social and economic instability and while we have excellent; dedicated and patriotic men and women in the Force, it will not take the criminal element long to figure-out that flexi-allowance and over-time pay for the Police ‘MAY’ have stopped, neither will it serve the country’s interest, “IF” Police Officers are also on the DLP’s-list, to be axed!

By now, it should be occurring to the private sector, exactly how an extremely weak Government and its reckless mismanagement of the economy, can pose a serious threat to their personal and financial security. The entire DLP Cabinet could next Thursday – determine that the Police and BDF will provide 24-hour armed security at their house and of course – free of cost to Ministers – and for an indefinite period, also.

The question for the country is: can a fiscally reckless Government, can be relied upon to exercise State power, in a responsible manner, in circumstances where the country has just cause to feel that the said Government cannot be trusted; that it is allergic to  truth and that it has unmatched skills in deception. Already we have seen the Police caused to question the political Opposition! Are we now to become like Zimbabwe?

Barbados has become a country where people are already starving based on reports from churches across Barbados. The lines at the Salvation Army also paint a frightening picture. Based on early warning indicators – next year will be much worse. Can you reasonably place a duty of care on hungry people – who fear dying of starvation – to exercise sound judgment?

Rating Agencies will not like this “DLP work of art”  and more downgrades will come! Every passing day this DLP Government is allowed to continue on its current destruction path (including printing money) Barbados will get a step closer to devaluation. This country is now beyond crisis and Rating Agencies and the IMF know that.

Perhaps Barbadians do not fully appreciate the gravity of this reality because Government may not be giving them all of the facts. That would be a very dangerous game to play!

Barbadians must brace themselves because 2014 will be a bumpy ride and there will be nothing happy about the New Year!  But, all of this is your special gift, compliments of your DLP Government, which you cannot trust.

237 responses to “A DLP’s Work of Art – Barbados Becoming a Failed Society”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Let’s face it; the DLP had a plan to win the election, but had no idea how to govern. Electioneering requires a different skill set from governing. Their governing skill set is somewhat underdeveloped. Put simply, they just don’t know what to do.

2. IT IS TIME TO CALL GENERAL ELECTIONS IN BARBADOS
    THE DLP LIED–L—-I—-A—-R—–S

THE PEOPLE NEED TO BE GIVEN A CHANCE TO CHOOSE A GOVERNMENT CAPABLE OF HANDLING THE CRISIS WE FACE AT THIS TIME

**THE PRESENT MOF IS NOT CAPABLE OR DOES HE WANT TO CONTINUE TO STEER THE BARBADOS ECONOMIC SHIP.

**THE PRIME MINISTER OF BARBADOS DOES NOT INSPIRE CONFIDENCE.

**THE NEXT MINISTER OF FINANCE BELIEVES IT IS TOO LATE NOW AND THAT AFTER YOU MESSED UP, HE MUST COME AND CLEAN UP. SO DAVID ESTWICK IS NOT ENTHUSED. HE MIGHT BE IN AGRICULTURE BUT HE IS NO PIG SHIT CLEANER.

SO CALL THE ELECTIONS AND GIVE THE BARBADOS LABOUR PARTY, A TRIED AND TESTED RESCUER OF BARBADOS AFTER THE DLP DESTROYS , AN OPPORTUNITY TO SAVE THE COUNTRY.

==ALTERNATIVELY—

THOSE WHO ARE CONCERNED ABOUT THEIR PENSIONS AND CONCERNED ABOUT SAVING BARBADOS CAN CROSS THE FLOOR.
    HERE IS HOW TO DO IT ;
    manufacture a noise in the DLP, Leave the DLP in disgust , Declare your Love for Barbados and sit on the opposition benches. The majority approach the GG and indicate support for someone other that the present PM.
    i
    IT iS SIMPLE –YOU CAN DO IT —JAMES PAUL. DAVID ESTWICK, MICHAEL L;ASHLEY AND DONVILLE INNISS.

Well maybe not Donville Inniss, he wants to lead the DLP–IN OPPOSITION.
    BUT COME ON LETS DO IT PEOPLE -LETS DO SOMETHING–

one thing about me–I does offer SOLUTIONS

3. How many post over the years start with “unless Bajans force change soon…etc”. Nothing changes because there is no will. Maybe it is the same belief that God is a Bajan therefore no hurricanes hit us, so things can’t get that bad?

Somewhere along time Bajans lost the leaders and became sheep. Maybe too many of us left, like me (guilty as stated). We learned many skills abroad but did not come back to share them. I can read the newspapers year in and out and the same thing is discussed: too much wucking up in July crop over, quarreling over the 11 plus in May, etc. every year the same thing. No change or willingness to make it happen.

4. Unless Barbadians ‘force change’ soon and put this county on a different path, by April 2014, Barbados is not going to be a pretty or pleasant place to be!
    *********/\/\/\/\/***********
    Skippa wuh change yuh advocating Barbadians to “force”? Since an Election is not on de horizon what means are they going to undertake to achieve this “change” Are you proposing a coup d’etat? I plan to be in Bim around the end of April should I stay away lest I get caught in the crossfire? Does Mia know that her dogsbody is on de blog preaching insurrection?

Leh we keep mekking changes through de ballot box.

5. too much supposition and exaggerated extrapolation.

Facts are better suited for strengthening a cause.
    Fear often has an unwelcome and unintended effect.

Let’s debate and discuss rather than divert and distract.

Just Observing

6. Same old politics, when will we learn.

7. The majority of Barbadians still view the DLP as the DRINKING – WATER of the common people in Barbados; irrespective of the national sentiment that is being expressed as we speak. So hypothesize all you wish because it still doesn’t change the equation in any meaningful way. You know, as I hear the vocies of those that are bent on the DLP failure, it causes me to suppress an almost uncontrollable urge to VOMIT. And would you believe it, had general election been held in Barbados today, the DLP would still win by a commanding victory. lol

8. Agree. An incoherent puff of air. Stupse

9. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Henderson Bovell @ who told you who to blame , blp,Owen and MIA mess that is now ripe.DLP did not want to tell the truth and put the blame on these 2 crooks liar and scumbags fraud masters of land and history.

Next this so call PM and AG also crooks liars and scumbags, The MOF bold face crooks , face to face and can tell the truth , He never called us a crook, . Land is at the roots of this mess , that ran a muck , As the MOF ran wild ,UDC , NHC and the BANKERS
    Henderson Bovell, this seem more like MIA written for you, she a crook also and you a fool for not doing your homework on what really went wrong, If you think MIA will or can do any better ? she know well first hand what went wrong , All of those lawyers and none cant find a case against the PM , AG,MIA and Owen first hand crooks ,

Henderson Bovell, unless this PM take off the Panties and tell the truth ,people will support him and lock up MIA and Owen and ham and cow.

Henderson Bovell LAND FRAUD , LOOK INTO IT AND LETS SEE WHAT YOU CAN WRITE , UNLESS MIA OR OWEN TELL YOU NOT TO.,

Henderson Bovell AS YOU CONTINUE TO LIE OR TURN A BLIND EYE,
    BARBADOS AND BAJANS ,will have to feel the full pain of this massive land fraud , PAIN , pain and more Pain ,until the pain reach 1937 , pain for lies , pain for crooks , pain for not telling the truth , pain for robbery, pain for fraud, The CHURCH AND THE MOSK pain for all want land free and not pay there share of what is needed to help all ,

Rule of law Mr Henderson Bovell, Who did you VOTE for? We vote for either side, New Elections , ? the Unity Party of the NEW DBLP will not risk elections NOW , for they rather be where they are than to let a 3rd or 4th Party win and expose ALL of what they were doing and did , FOI and IL will be the order of the day , Free Press and CBC will be FREE to play and print what they see and know , As long they do their home work and print facts,
    Henderson Bovell what Moodys and S& P ,the IMF and WB saying now
    We already knew , But the PM and MOF hide and have to let outsiders NEWS that they cant control tell the World that , the GOVERNMENT OF BARBADOS ARE 90% CROOKS LIARS AND SCUMBAGS,AND THE OTHER 10% IS CHICKEN SHIT

10. Wait, wait is the Reudon Eversley that penned this scathing article in barbadostoday?

11. @Mark
    “had general election been held in Barbados today, the DLP would still win by a commanding victory”

Don’t be so sure about that. All money and lies aside that is.

Just Observing

12. THE DLP NEEDS TO GO
    After the last BUY-ELECTIONS, the results should have prompted the DLP to work closer with the Opposition in solving Barbados’ problems. The performance of the DLP by not taking the people into their confidence tells me that they are a bunch of people who are not with it. They do not understand Barbados and what it needs. They failed to embrace the Opposition and kept throwing blame and further polarizing the country.

THE DLP has done a great disservice to Barbados and if they cared about Barbados would find a way to commit political hari-kari. The DLP needs to fall on its sword—OR BE PUSHED ONTO IT

ALTERNATIVELY
    some members of the Government must leave the DLP and cross the floor. PENSIONS would still be intact

13. THERE ARE ONLY TWO POLITICAL PARTIES IN BARBADOS
    THE BLP
    THE DLP

In the present circumstances , this tells me a lot

The WPB–WOMENS PARTY OF BARBADOS can become a reality but it seems that the women aint got nuh balls. They frighten and s hiding behind the men shirttails. I have lost confidence in the women of Barbados because they have failed to take up the offer to form a political party

So its between the BLP and the DLP

CALL ELECTIONS NOW
    GET BACK TO THE POLLS
    DLP IS BANKRUPT .

THE PRESENT MINISTER OF FINANCE DOES NOT WANT THE JOB AND IS DOING EVERYTHING IN HIS POWER EVEN WITH HELP FROM MIA TO BE RELIEVED OF HIS POST BUT STUART PLAYING A NASTY GAME TRYING TO HURT HE AS PAYBACK FOR THE EAGER -11- FIASCO. BUT IN HURTING THE MOF , HE IS HURTING BARBADOS–ME –AND YOU –AND WE FEELING IT.

WHY ARE WE PUTTING UP WITH THIS NONSENSE.
    I SUSPECT THAT MAYBE BARBADOS HAS BECOME EMASCULATED BY GENDER SWITCHING

14. Some here are acting as though Barbados is the only country in the world that have to address its debt problem. Don’t be surprise when you read in the Nation News that America turns to the IMF for help to address its debt condition. America still have a national debt of some 17.5 trillion dollars that it has to address.

15. Do not compare Barbados with America
    Barbados is a small grass Lizard
    America is an Alligator
    It is a Stupid comparison and its only done by those who want to justify –folly and who think that they are somehow a part of America

16. Partisan Drivle.

DLP BLP.
    Like a choice between Aids and Syphilis.

Keep Drivilin .

This Rock soon to be ,also the Hard Place, and there is no in between .
    In very short order,Riots and Looting.
    Then total shutdown.
    Anarchy .
    Dems and the B’s.
    Mark my words
    DEM aint going to be here
    Nor B’s B here.
    The ones that can ,the ones with the cash,the ones with the stash, long gone to more peaceful climes.
    HAITI move over. BAHBADHUS coming thro.

17. The US$ is the worlds reserve country. It is the currency against which all other currency in the world is valued. Barbados is pegged to the worlds reserve currency. Comparing the situation in Barbados to the USA has no basis of logic. Barbados is the Cyprus of the region. .If you want to knock the USA then unpeg the dollar. I think we would find out that the Barbados dollar is overvalued by something in the order of 40 times. 40 to 1 is likely a fair value of the currency given the valuation of other countries in the region. We are living in a dreamland that is about to change in a big way. Ask the people in Cyprus and then look at the hardship Iceland has gone through to straighten out their economic experiment of having massive deficits. We are headed in the same direction. A very large correction is head our way

18. @ SITH
    Now that will REALLY be something to see.
    40 to 1.
    That should provide the Chute,thro which BIM will rocket into a Haitian Non existance.
    Really ask your self,.What is the difference at the moment between Haiti and Bim?
    WE got what they got, in fact.
    Sea ,sand ,sunshine LOTSA hard up Black people, NO tourists.Thieving lieing cheating politicians and a queue to join them.
    A NON legal”legal” Non System.
    A DPP who is a bigger Criminal than those he has( who cant pay his bribe of course) before the twisted judges in his twisted NON legal ,legal non system.
    A Government that are incapable,incompetant,and therefore Totally unecessary.
    Bankrupcy and the IMF.
    YES. I reckon we well on par with Haiti.
    You sure you would like to rethink to 400 to 1??

19. Konkieman

Had you come back to “share” would you have been welcome?

20. Some continue to ask why we continue to update these obviously political partisan submissions? Because they give an insight into the dearth of political leadership. Be warned!

21. David

And in the process what insight does it give us of ourselves – well, if we had the insight to see it?

22. @ Just Asking
    What does size have to do with anything? If Alaska which I believe to be ten times the size of Connecticut, has a crime/ economic problem. Don’t you think that the both of them would have to obviously implement measures to comeback their respective problems? Likewise, America is broke as does Barbados; there is your comparison. And the both of these nations, irrespective of they size, would obviously have to find alternative ways to address their individual debt problems.

23. Barbados has opted for the IMF solution which in itself isn’t always a bad decision. Let’s wait and see what move America makes to address her growing debt.

24. @ Just Asking
    It there any statistical data which speaks to the fact that the IMF intervention is to no avail?

25. I’ll start somewhere into the article.
    Towards the end of the Arthur government, the PM complained that more money was leaving the country than was coming in – that was on his watch.

Based on a very narrow and basic economic structure that is at its heart very fragile does not leave much room for manoeuvre.

That the education system turns out large numbers of civil servants, some doctors and lawyers but very few productive workers is a fundamental weakness.

A country has to have a large productive workforce backed up by a proportionate number of civil servants, sales and marketing teams that create opportunities that keep the productive workers producing.

Other countries are not sleeping or self-congratulating themselves on how educated they are, they work very hard at ensuring they deliver an education that not only delivers certificates and degrees but turn out knowledgeable graduates with the skills and ideas necessary for the demands of a modern economy.

Check and compare what’s available via the Samuel Jackman Prescod Polytechnic – just a bleeding hearts prospectus.
    The UWI Cave Hill – Electronics – one lecturer with a first class honours degree but supposedly delivering degree level courses. After the thread bare introduction there is a “More …..”, click on it and there is no MORE.
    Where are the M.Sc’s and Ph.D’s that deliver correspondingly named courses elsewhere where their graduates are the designers and innovators of the future?

Without a change of national mindset where real value is the focus and people prepared to work hard and more to the point, work smart to produce products that add real value to the economy, you are going nowhere.
    Tourism should be a nice little sideline, valuable, but should be just a sideline.

26. @Sid Boyce

You make a valid and obvious point the public service is there to support the productive sector and it will live and die based on their success achievments. The social services come at a price and must be costed like any other budget item. Implementing social policy as a populous measure is not a sustainable option.

27. It is these stupid jack o lantern DLP and BLP factions that are primarily responsible for putting Barbados on a disgusting path of becoming in many respects like Jamaica.

These two ramgoat disorganizations must not only be condemned in the strongest terms possible but they must also as soon as possible or within the next 4 and a half years be permanently removed by the broad masses and middle classes in this country from the political governmental landscape of this country.

28. Absent comment about the MoF rejection of the NUPW’s 10 point plan.

29. @ The People’s Democratic Congress
    Name any country in our present world system that have seem economic success which has lasted into perpetuality. You must agree, that our current economic vicissititudes are indicative of our Capitalist way of life? Now, America which by all intents and purposes is regarded as one of the richest nations in the world today. But yet she has seen her share of economic difficulties, from as far back as the Civil War of the 1860’s as well as the Great Depression of the 1930’s.

30. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

David;
    Let’s hear what the PM has to say about it. Seems like getting in the first punch to me before roping a dope.

31. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

David; Bet yuh the PM won’t unpick his teeth about the NUPW 10 point proposal which he, himself commissioned. Wasn’t it somehow out of place for the MoF to comment on the NUPW proposal before the PM? Is that a sign of perfect accord in the Cabinet?

32. no comment necessary. It was expected. Can’t make it look like the unions running the show.

33. The NUPW 10 point plan sounds like something we would expect from a group of idealistic sixth formers after a spur-of -the-moment project.

34. Growth is Obsolete – Society needs to realize growth does not equal prosperity
    by James H. Kunstler

snip

We are in the third act of the industrial melodrama now where the dire sub-plot of peak oil has taken stage. Despite the wishful thinking and happy-talk propaganda lighting up the media-space, we have arrived at the problematic point of the story: the end of cheap oil. This is poorly understood by the public and, apparently, by leaders in business, politics, and the media, too. They misunderstand because they insist on thinking that peak oil was simply about running out of oil. It’s not. It’s about running out of the ability to extract it from the earth in a way that makes economic sense — that is, at a price we can afford in terms of available capital and energy invested (and also ecological destruction). That dynamic is now exerting a powerful influence on modern civilizations. We ignore it — even at the highest levels of intellectual endeavor — because we have made no alternate plans for running the complex operations of everyday life, and because the early manifestations of the dynamic present themselves in the realm of finance, which is dominated by academic viziers and money-grubbing opportunists who benefit from obfuscating reality.

The sad, stark fact is that oil is now too expensive to permit further expansion of economies and populations. Expensive oil upsets the cost structure of virtually every system we need to run modern life: transportation, commerce, food production, governance, to name a few. In particular expensive oil destroys the cost structures of banking and finance because not enough new wealth can be generated to repay previously accumulated debt, and new credit cannot be extended without a reasonable expectation that more new wealth will be generated to repay it. Through the industrial age, our money has become an increasingly abstract and complex product of debt creation. As Chris Martenson has put it so succinctly in The Crash Course, money is loaned into existence. Thus, the growth of debt (allowing the growth of money) has played a crucial role at the heart of our banking operations, and the very word “growth” has become shorthand for this process in the lingo of current economic discourse.

It is quite clear that the banking system has been thrown into great disarray as the price of oil levitated from $11-a-barrel in 1999 to the great spike of $140 in 2008, and then settled into a range between $75 and $110 since 2010. Most of this disarray is a result of attempts to offset the failure to create new real wealth with fake wealth generated by accounting fraud, “innovative” swindling, insider chicanery, high frequency front-running, naked shorting of securities, and the construction of a vast untested network of derivative counterparty wagers that give every sign of being booby-trapped. All this private monkey business has been abetted by public mischief in central bank interventions and market manipulations, fiscal irresponsibility, political payoffs for favorable legislation, statistical misreporting, and the failure to apply the rule of law in cases of blatant misconduct (e.g., the MF Global confiscation of segregated client accounts; the Goldman Sachs “Timberwolf” CDO scam… the list is very long).

In short, a society with deeply impaired capital formation has turned to crime, corruption, fakery, and subterfuge in order to pretend that “growth” — i.e. expansion of capital — is still happening. The consequences are many and profound. The chief one is that the manufacture of fake wealth is such an alluring activity that some of the smartest people in society have devoted their waking hours to making a profit off it. It absorbs all their energies and they are simply not available for other work, such as figuring out a sane and practical way to run civilization in the absence of cheap energy. Added to this is the administrative effort and the work-arounds needed to support all this corruption and dishonesty, which occupy the hours of another class of smart people who work in government, academia, public relations, and the media. The sustenance of these parasitical cohorts more and more continues at the expense of everybody else in society, who cannot find work, or cannot make enough money to pay their living expenses, and who have become deeply discouraged, disappointed, demoralized, and disengaged in their losing struggle to thrive. Hence there is little public vigor to even mount a discussion of these vexing problems and the final result is the greater wholesale failure to construct a coherent consensus about what is happening to us and what we might do about it.

http://www.peakprosperity.com/blog/83221/growth-obsolete

35. Are my ears working or am I hearing Donville threatening public servants and the UNIONS apparently silent. This goes back to the early 90’s and the same behavior.

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Enuff | 30/12/2013 at 11:27 pm | Reply
    “Wait, wait is the Reudon Eversley that penned this scathing article in barbadostoday?”

Very, very insightful and intriguingly thought provoking. It seems as if the rats are beginning to jump off the sinking stinking DLP ship with a man at the helm who does not know his elbow from his arse.

A scathingly revealing article that underscores everything we have been preaching all along on this blog. The time for Fumble to “Seize the Day” has passed with the Sun setting on a once popular party committed to nation building and positive social engineering but which has now lost its way and in the process taking the country down a path of economic slavery and social decay.

A proud nation brought to its knees just because of very poor leadership resulting in a square peg finding itself a round hole while pretending to be a man of integrity.
    Retribution, Mr. Fumbler, is a bitch to be feared and not to frig with! Instead of “Carpe Diem” just resign or call fresh elections since because of your lies and deceit and vacillating inability to make decisions you have lost the mandate to rule over the country in a time of crisis mainly of your own making. The country should not be further punished by having to wait the full 18 months you were expected to last before exiting the scene of the hot economic battle with fast fading cries of “No lay offs, No privatization” once emblazoned across the bandwagon of dismal failures.
    Your muffled last shouts in the ears of the IMF will be lost in the air as you mount your hobbyhorse called “Confusion” with shouts of “a donkey, a donkey, my government for donkey” to take me back to my place in the Cane field of waffle and verbosity.

Given the current crisis which you and your colleagues are supremely incapable of managing and the lack of integrity surrounding the last general elections which were fraught with fraud and bribery (by your own admission, that is) you should try to salvage whatever decency is left of your leadership legacy and resign or call fresh elections to obtain a new mandate from the people based of the facts and reality of the prevailing circumstances. Ask Reudon if you doubt us!
    Even your biggest fan and gallery supporter on BU (other than ac who has gone underground on this topic) Carson C Cadogan has abandoned you and, coincidentally by his loud silence, shares the same view as Reudon Eversley.

Must your fellow country men and women wait for Divine Intervention or continue to suffer the ignominy of 4 more years of social and economic decay and national embarrassment making Bajans the laughing stock of the region and the wider English speaking developing world giving credence and local relevance to the phrase “Oh, how the mighty has fallen”!

37. The cuts must happen as it is an IMF requirement. So the unions can talk forever.

38. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

David, @ 10 POINT PLAN IS JUNK , HE JUST WANT THE HEAR HIM SELF.
    even that fool dont want to deal with the truth ,No Plan will work until they deal with truth ,
    They all know what the problem is ,LAND all things are in the LAND, keep running from the LAND , its under your feet ,
    Violet Beckles , A few agree to know and more agree not to talk about it , Most agree to hide it , but all will be the LAND the LAND ,

You will see where All the Money is and went , Taking this PAIN and MORE PAIN , Until you all say UNCLE,.

Talk around it all you like , Mandala 27 Years Free =9
    This NOW the 27th year of Violet Beckles massive Land fraud , =9
    Barbados you are now on your 9 ,,Thy Kin9dom come

39. BU has been stating it all along, unless you sit in Bay Street it is very difficult for anyone to offer relevant proposals, just promises which is not a contract anyway.

40. @ Mark Fenty

“The majority of Barbadians still view the DLP as the DRINKING – WATER of the common people in Barbados; irrespective of the national sentiment that is being expressed as we speak”

Are you the new Peter Wickham? Are you the official mouth piece of the majority of Barbadians? Can you look yourself in the mirror and repeat that statement without vomiting? Lastly do you think the PM and MoF share the same sentiments?

If the answer to ALL these questions is YES, let us call an election right now to prove it out.

Let me predict the outcome. 2 seats. St. Lucy and St John.

41. @ People Dem Cong

“These two ramgoat disorganizations must not only be condemned in the strongest terms possible but they must also as soon as possible or within the next 4 and a half years be permanently removed by the broad masses and middle classes in this country from the political governmental landscape of this country”

These are fighting words. Watch out. This is a catalyst for revolution. You will need military and police support to get rid of the “ramgoats” as you call them. Be careful what you wish for.

42. Dear readers,

from an external perspective I would like to comment the following:

Even big tankers can be overhauled, so can small speed-boats. In the central and biggest European country eg the salaries in the public sector were cut by 20 % in real value the last 10 years: Extra-money for holiday and Christmas was stopped, allowance for health insurance cut, pensions lowered, retirement age now 67 plus option in some cases up to 70 years, new lower salary schemes for beginners introduced (in some cases – 20 to 30%), travel allowances lowered, weekly work-time expanded to up to 42 h, workload of judges and administrative officers raised dramatically, staff reduced by not hiring new staff for retired staff, manual work replaced by online-administration and and and …

Similar means were applied in the periphery of Europe (without external consultation), eg the UK.

Barbados-Fan

43. Now, now Bovell Henderson was not singing this song while a member of the DLP. He like Clyde Mascot and Kerri Symmonds were against the BLP not DLP. I wonder, which party Mia Mottley wants to side with.

44. After hearing many decades of boasting that Barbados has the best schools in the world, the best education system in the world (none other than PM Stuart gushed that one recently), I have all confidence that the best educated people in the world will be able to extricate themselves from the biggest and best mess the world has ever seen……

45. are-we-there-yet? Avatar

I just read Reudon Eversley’s post. It said nothing more than several posters on BU have been saying for some time now but it is nevertheless refreshing that there is a DLP analyst who is willing to talk truth to his party. I think however that he and several other posters here on BU and in the traditional media have not followed their sensible insights and suggestions to their logical conclusion. Freundel must go soon from the position of PM to give Barbados a chance of recovering from his inept leadership in the medium term. No half measures will do.

46. When the facts aren’t as conspicuous as one would have hope for, then Finger- Pointing seems to be the medium through which some measure of vendication is to be derived.

47. @green monkey

how do you explain that in 2013 gold has lost 30% of its value and the dow is up 29%.. The dow represents industries and in the USA fracking is going to make them the energy leader of the world. The Japanese Yen has dropped 26% in 2013 against the Barbados dollar, the real is down 40%, the Canadian dollar down 15%.. It is not the price of oil that is effecting things as much as the confidence people have in a economy. How can you justify such a highly valued currency in Barbados. It is keeping tourists away while they flock to other destinations that have free floating currency. .

48. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Police have the gas ready and waiting for people to Act up. Talk of burning down town , down,
    More talk of Vote being Bought in the PM area , taking the I.D Cards for 200,300, 400 bds , Going to the polls and voting for you and you never leave home.
    PM could have lost his seat, and also not be PM . Lost 2 ways , The Money had to run more than they reported , Crooks for Life

The World know before Bajans what they did , Bajans the last to know.
    When they know the what the crooks, liars and scumbags did , then they may need the police and the gas,

49. I Hear lots of complaints, but do not see any suggestions for resolution except FIRE the DLP. This will not solve anything. Barbados has dug itself into such a deep hole that it may well be impossible to escape.