George C. Brathwaite

At the 2007 Annual Delegate’s Conference of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP), the then Leader of the Opposition, David Thompson, began his featured speech by invoking a few disclaimers. It was revealed that there were groups within civil society actively speaking out against several perceived ills. Freedom of expression prevailed in Barbados under the political sacrosanct of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) that was being led by the economically acclaimed and intellectually gifted Owen Arthur, in spite of mounting and troublesome criticisms against the government.

David Thompson, in his address, said then that the situation in Barbados had reached a stage wherein there were pronounced “signs of frustration and despair.” Thompson goaded the public into thinking that it was inconceivable why the BLP had become “so indifferent and disconnected from the people it was elected to serve.” Thompson’s utterances were glazed in flowery language and buttered with a mischief to exploit weaknesses which appeared in the seemingly invincible Arthur-led team. The DLP, through its leader, promised to “imbue new hope and optimism” into Barbadians because Barbados was on a “slippery slope of division,” and it had become infested by “stagnation and malfeasance in public administration.” One wonders how necessary was this charade at the end of 2007 when now compared with those things have been evidenced this year at the end of 2013?

Read full article

328 responses to “Lessons to Guide Another Dichotomous DLP Cabinet: Save Barbados Now!”

1. @Tell me Why

Again you have not factored that we live in a democracy.

2. If the MoF can beat his chest based on Flawed management, probably my writing between the lines, we can come to the conclusion that we need to get back to the electorate. Otherwise, we will have to look at a Collection of Intellectual individuals to join the rank in the formation of Members of National Unity. We just cannot continue with a car wid flat tyres everyday. BTW, even if it was a majority of ten. We will still in this predicament – The truth of the matter the driver can’t drive and the passengers ain’t know were to locate the brakes.

3. David. In a democracy people have freedom to speak. In a Communist state the people have to wait to speak and more than ever, don’t have the balls to speak. Now, tell me which one you trying to promote for Barbados.

4. @TMW

BU is stating the obvious so why should the parliament be expected to hear the Opposition?

5. Yet none of the then current partners and associates neither signed nor were aware of the cheque?

6. David | 30/12/2013 at 11:56 am | Reply

@Tell me Why

Where your argument is flawed is that it does not factor the politics of the issue, the government holds a 2 seat margin. Az we have forecasted, it makes it very difficult to govern in the circumstances

–BACK TO THE POLLS FOR A CLEAR MANDATE
    -IT IS NOT UNPRECEDENTED –

—-OR

TWO MPs CROSS THE FLOOR TO SAVE THE PENSIONS
    I

T IS CLEAR THAT THERE IS A CRISIS
    DR ESTWICK WILL NOT NOW TAKE THE MINISTRY OF FIN.
    THE PRESENT MOF–DOES NOT WANT IT (We will soon see this manifests) . THE PM -NOT INTERESTED——–HEY——C-R-I-S-I-S

WHAT WE ARE REAPING IS THE FRUITS OF WICKEDNESS SOWN BY THE DLP
    DECEPTION AND LIES –HAVE BROUGHT US HERE
    AND –A BUY ELECTION

7. @enuff

Perhaps this is the reason the forensic report redflagged the transaction.

8. Well “sold” needs to be defined.

9. @Just asking:
    Your words:”…$2880 per annum saved is worst case. i.e. 3 children having to take 4 bus rides ever day each . Such a worse case is an almost impossibility.”
    Here is the scenario:
    A family with three children at secondary school: 2 at Coleridge and Parry, one at Lodge, or all three at Cawmere, or two at queens college and one at Harrison college, the family lives in christ church (Silver Hill) all three require busses to get to school. the two at Queens college take the transportation (Minibus or ZR) to town then to take another bus (Minibusor ZR) to queen’s college (Wanstead), stationed on Cheapside. (two sets of bus fares: two minibusses $ 8.00 per day. the one to Harrison’s college One minibus fare twice a day. total for that day, $12.00. total for the week $60.00. Total for the month $240.00 ( not an impossibility). cost of travel by Transport bus, Zero.
    A similar family with two children at Queen’s College, one at the Alleyne, add an extra $20.00 per week (having to take an extra bus to get to Alleyne) , total cost for month $.300.00, Saving those families that three hundred dollars per month when multiplied by the number of children travelling on Transport Busses translates into a significant amount of money “put back in people’s’ pockets. Check the figures
    @ Observing:You said” And you asking me to enter the realm of Speculation ?
    I am dealing in FACTS here !!! MUH BRUDDA .
    Isn’t it just as speculative to assume that All the BLP politicians elected now will be elected in the future? Are you sure George Payne will be able to convince the people in Orange Hill that he is deserving of their continued support? Are you sure the people of St. Joseph will continue to support the BLP? Perhaps the same epithets that Just Asking cast at the people of St. John, continually, are equally applicable to the people of St Andrew and St. Joseph.Young Ms. Bradshaw won by the slimmest of margins, isnt it speculation to presume that she will win the next time around? If you said the DLP won by buying votes, does the BLP plan to outspend them next time around?
    As you say it is pure speculation. Accept the damned result and get on with the people’s work. members of the BLP were elected like members of the DLP. Do the people’s work and stop trying to sabotage the government that the majority of the people voted for.When you create problems those are not problems for the DLP, the problems are created for the PEOPLE of Barbados. the government side consists of about 16 people, so
    anything that affects the entire population affects 270,000people. Again, why would members of a governing party, cross the floor at this time? It would not necessarily trigger an election. if that happened would the BLP call an election immediately? What guarantee is there that they/ you will win?You were very certain of victory last time. You might be in for a worse defeat the next time.
    Is there a possibility that members of the BLP would; could, might, cross the floor also? Members of the BLP have crossed over to the DLP before.
    Think on these things.

10. @ Alvin

Lets cut a deal here. Only the 3000 to get the free bus rides for their kids. Now let us take a survey and see how many rather be sent home to get this free deal that you consider such a great idea.

The auto workers union is claiming that the board owes them $15 mil for repairs. The fleet of buses seem to be problem plague. Service in recent months hit rock bottom, and you still trying to justify free rides at the expense of the tax payers.

This is purely a distraction. How did the children get to school prior to the bus fare being waved? Were the buses being adequately maintained? Was the service efficient and on time? Were there threats of 4 day weeks for drivers?

On a 2nd point here are your words.

“Do the peopleโ€™s work and stop trying to sabotage the government that the majority of the people voted for” Alvin’s statement.

The government needs little help in this department. It is “sabotaging” itself from all accounts through economic mismanagement, failed budgetary proposals, its inability to attract investors, its failed attempts to revitalize the tourist industry, its alienation of UWI students, completed by its invitation of the IMF to acquire payroll funds for the remaining civil service staff after the big job cuts since it failed at getting a substantial loan from any of the lending institutions.

Are we in the same zip code or am I just making this stuff up?

11. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Boots;
    Nice response to Observing but you seem to have neglected to factor into your surmises for another DLP win (which would normally, taken together, be quite valid) the effect of thousands who had not voted in 2008 or 2013 being so enraged about the volte face of the DLP and any personal suffering that they or their families or friends might have suffered, that they would turn out in their numbers to vote DEM out.

It sure would be interesting for someone to do a poll of how people now think of the DLP and if they think DEMS will do any better if they either carry on in their current vein or are reelected in an unexpected poll. But my very unscientific poll of acquaintances and friends over the Christmas holidays turned up not one single soul that thought the DLP was doing a passable job or deserved to govern at this time and several of them are DLP supporters with a few being rabid DLP supporters.

In fact, just look at the “political” contribution of the posters on BU now. There has been plummeting support for Freundel and the DLP policies here (minus the AC’s of this world and you yourself who seems to stand forlornly and somewhat lonely on the burning deck) over the past 2 or so weeks following Chris’ Ministerial statement. Where is CCC? has he now seen the light?

Alvin, I think it is just wishful thinking to consider that overall in any new election coming relatively soon after the mass layoffs and other horrors to be soon visited on the country by your party and with a significant reduction in the moneys available for electioneering by both parties as compared to previous elections, that the DLP will retain a majority. Yuh seem also to fuhget dat dey wuz a few close seats dat went to de DLP in de last elections. Yuh tink wunnah gine win back all o dose too?

De DLP should stay clear of early elections if, Heaven forfend, dey want to retain power. But it gine get suh dread dat duh might find it is better fuh dem tuh do so and forego de pensions rather than continuing to grasp the nettles of governing at dis time.

12. @Tedll me why.
    David. In a democracy people have freedom to speak. In a Communist state the people have to wait to speak and more than ever, donโ€™t have the balls to speak.
    Check Cuba, that has undergone almost sixty years of an embargo by the most powerful nation in the world.
    They have survived. And they do speak; through their talents and achievementsand they are proud of their country..Learn more world history and learn to seperate propaganda from facts..

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | 30/12/2013 at 7:10 pm |

Why don’t you come to grips with yourself and face reality?
    Do you really believe that the Transport Board (T B) in its present state can continue to operate in such a way as to provide free rides to school children and pensioners without massive subsidies from Central Government or by way of loans guaranteed by the GoB e.g. from the NIS?

Are you also aware that the IMF has instructed the Government that there shall be no more subsidies to that commercial entity and it must stand on its own four wheels? Read the recent ministerial statement from the MoF and you will glean what is in the petrol tank for that business.

We are putting it to you that bus fares will be raised in the new year and all of the concessions available to free riders will be severely curtailed or totally withdrawn as per the dictates of the IMF officials who made the decision to run the show as far as the financing of all statutory corporations of a commercial nature are concerned.

You stupidly and embarrassingly argued that there will never be any layoffs of public sector workers under the current DLP administration. We would strongly advise you not to argue about the T B and its preparation for privatization under the supervision of the IMF. Capiche, Alvin?

We will be responding to your earlier stated position on the CLICO fiasco in another contribution.

14. @Alvin
    firstly you’re mixing me up with another blogger… now to your post

“…….Check the figures”

I did, and I also checked the school bus routes from Silver Hill, which renders all of your calculations invalid and my point about it being an almost impossibility still accurate. But, stepping back a bit, you yourself said that the policy was more than free bus fares and had another main intended objective.

My question still stands..as unanswered as it has been so far…
    was it a feasible long term policy on its own given where we are now (were) economically

Also, a stated policy of the GoCB and the MoF was to restrain spending in order to contain leakage of forex. The BLP’s “money in your pocket” mantra was ridiculed as reckless in February. If your argument is true, which it isn’t, then it goes against the very fiscal policy held to by the DLP for the last 3-4 years.

So, we (well you really) have to decide…. was the free bus fares an economic policy (putting money in people’s pockets) or a social policy (keeping children of ZRs) or a hybrid. And regardless of the answer did it work? Here are my answers.

Economic: NO. Because any money saved (best or worst case) had to be spent or taxed eleswhere due to inflation, taxes, cost of living etc.

Social: NO. Because the ZRs are only but one of many of the negative social catalysts that abound. Tackling one without addressing the others is like treating a 7 inch gash with a 1 inch plaster.

Hybrid: Hell No. The financial cost of the policy contributed to the nations’ expenditure, students still ride the ZRs, the social decay still continues, the free rides are abused in some cases, the Transport Board is struggling to stay afloat and there is no evidence that money saved (however small) contributes directly to the local economy.

Let me declare my hand, I supported the policy then, and still support it completely in principle. But, different times call for different approaches and different ways of thinking. Also, hindsight allows me to say that an apparent right decision back then turned out to be the wrong policy for us right now.

Just Observing.

15. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Alvin C (The other AC);
    Yuh really tink your comparison between Cuba and Barbados in relation to surviving a sixty year onslaught of harsh economic medicine is a good one.

You are right about the resourcefulness of our Bajan people. But innate resourcefulness isn’t all. Resourceful people must have some extrinsic common resources to work with. Cuba has a lot of those. Barbados has few. Cuba has survived as a ghost of its former self of the early Communist days before the Americans faced down the Russians, because of its relatively large size, a wide range of resources, the discipline of the Communist system and the maintenance of the American bogie man on the border as a constant threat by succeeding US administrations, stupidly maintained in deference to their Cuban population in Florida.

If the DLP continue on their current trajectory of subjecting Barbados to their current bad luck and inept implementation of sometimes flawed policies the Barbados of 3 or 4 years in the future (Minus BBE putting in his appearance and smiting the whole world or the NWO people doing their thing in the same vein) will be very different from the Barbados of 2013. We may well have to survive on our own without significant resources and a carrying capacity that will probably be barely adequate for 1/3 of our current population. Those who had the resources to leave would have likely left.

That is the worst case scenario. Will it be allowed to reach that pass?

16. @Asquith;
    No deal cutting. In thepresenbt circumstances no sensible person, especially since this is still 2013, the plans for projects that are scheduled to come on stream in 2014; despite Miller’s intention to bring them on stream in January; even though I pointed ic and “throw in the towell”. that mistake has been made efore.out to him that 2014 will last from january to cecember, he still insists on January, Anyhow, it wouldbe foolardy o give the oppostion th opportunity to achieve their objective. The assumption of many people is that the people who consitute thegovrnment side are mindless automatons.They assume tha they will capitulate to the pressure, panic and throw in the towel. hye may discover to thei detrmnt hat the government memer are madeof stearner stuff.Ther s nothig to stop them from remaining in office. Despite the small (tiy mjority, they have the majority, so unless they throw it away they can remin in office. They have a nubr of ambitiusprojecs hat if brought on stream will go a long wa to cushin the results of the impending ay offs. They are job creating, foreign exchange generating,and combined with the austerity that will result from the reduction in government expenditure, should go a long way toward stabilizing the economy.
    Asquith yu will discove that I hold strong. I am the eternal optimist, and always see the glass as half full rather than half empty.
    The “sabotage” started long ago; even before the DLPwon the eection in 2008. remeber a conversaion I had with somone, one afternoon, at a “beehie” where I ws told thaif the DLP won th election there were “monied” peole who were prepared t withhold their investmnts in the country. The DLP won nd this same message was repeated again, wit more emphass ths time. This time it had an added dimension. People wh had investe in the counry, in the expectation that they would easily get permanent citizenship after a short time of residency. I have not spoken to him since the last election, but I will question him, when I see him again, since I want to find out what happened. This is one of the ways to sabotage the country. Another way is to deliberately refuse to plant in the hope/expecttion, of getting change of use so that agricultural land can be rezoned as building land, so that houses (with a view) can be sold at exhorbitant prices, far beyond the ability of Ordinary folk, to the detriment of growing food crops, increasing the import bill.and increasing foreign exchange usage..

17. I hate when people compare Barbados with any other place
    Barbados is unique. Barbados has the most docile people in the world

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | 30/12/2013 at 9:24 pm
    “This is one of the ways to sabotage the country. Another way is to deliberately refuse to plant in the hope/expecttion, of getting change of use so that agricultural land can be rezoned as building land, so that houses (with a view) can be sold at exhorbitant prices, far beyond the ability of Ordinary folk, to the detriment of growing food crops, increasing the import bill.and increasing foreign exchange usage..”

Why don’t you stop writing โ€œpupโ€ on this blog misleading those who know no better?
    The majority of the agricultural land is under the ownership of the Government by way of the BSIL& BADC or BADMC with much of the remainder tied up with the CLICO Holdings.

You need to direct your criticisms of the sad state of plantation-based agriculture primarily at the government for the widespread overgrown fields despoiling the once attractive countryside.
    You should also note that no piece of agricultural land can change to other uses unless the Minister responsible for T&C Planning (who happens to be the PM) gives permission. We do not want to hear about any BLP acts in the past.
    The current time is DLP time and the power is theirs to do the โ€œrightโ€ thing to satisfy yard-birds like you on the Animal Farm in George Street.

19. @Observing.
    You are wrong!!! I don’t knowwho you checked with but Iknow you are wrong.. If you live in silver Hill, the SRs and Minibuses that ply that route end their run in the Riverside Bus stand. (Cost $2.oo) Te studnt oingto Queen’s Collegethen hass to wlk through Bridgetown to Cheapside to get the Wanstead,(ZRs) or HoldesHill Minibus bus. (cost 2.00.) Thus two students to Queen’s College $.2.00 to school and $2.00 home from schoo thus $8.00 per day (fo two childen in the family). Where are my figures wrong? .The route by Goverm\nment bus takes them straight to the school. Cost to parent; ZERO. When the free bus fares were introduced six year ago , and before the last election, the economic picture was slightly dfferent. ALL public transport in every western country is subsidized by government. By the way the cost of bus fares here for Seniors will increase by five cents from January 1st, and the transport system here is heavily subsidized.

Also, a stated policy of the GoCB and the MoF was to restrain spending in order to contain leakage of forex.
    Because they have that money in their pocket does this automatically mean spending on forex attracting puchases? We have a large import bill but all spending does not have to go that route..
    The Cuba of the pre-revolution days was a Cuba where the majoriy of the populace was uneducated, ei with practically no health care system. The Cuba of today, despite the embargo, is a Cuba with a highly educated, healthy, motivated, proud people. Far ahead of many countries in science, technolgy culture and potential.
    Barbadians could do well to emulate them.
    I keep asking where is our PRIVATE SECTO? What is its contribution to the present state of the economy?
    All I hear them doing is whining and/or asking for GOVERNMENT subsidies and/or relief from taxation.What is their responsibility?

20. @alvin
    “you are wrong!!!”

— I am not.

There are and have been school buses passing Silver Hill going to Queen’s, which pass Combermere as well as one to Lodge can be caught from Silver Hill or a simple walk down the hill to Maxwell or Oistins. HC is one trip as well. i.e. one trip, not two as you continually to erroneously put forward.

Alleyne and CP would be the furthest trip, but , a simple system of transfers for school children would easily take care of that. In any case, they can be got to from Maxwell or Ositins, again a short stroll down the hill. By the way, the partial zoning system should ensure that the CP and Alleyne scenarios are in the minority.

“When the free bus fares were introduced six year ago , and before the last election, the economic picture was slightly dfferent”

— The worldwide recession started mid to late 2007 and was fully evident by mid 2008. I’ll leave other bloggers to judge your statement.

“Because they have that money in their pocket does this automatically mean spending on forex attracting purchases”

— The entire economic policy of the last 3-4 years has been predicated on the premise that too much floating money in “people’s pockets” would lead to forex leakage. EVERY policy from the MoF and the GoCB has been to constrain this leakage. Therefore, a policy that seeks to “put money in people’s pockets” goes against the very fiscal “one path” that we were put on and held to.

Let’s get back to basics and I ask (again), in your opinion

was the policy economic, social or a hybrid?
    based on the answer to #1, do you think it has worked?
    regardless of the above, do you think that the policy was a feasible long term one on its own given where we are now?

Just observing

21. @Asquith:
    How did the children get to school prior to the bus fare being waved?
    Children have to get their bus fares from their parents these are the people who control the money. So the”free” bus fares would be directed at them, not the children. These are the people that get the money in their pockets. What has people upset is that the money is not going into the pockets of the ZR and Minibus owners It is going back to the people.
    Of course the free bus fares wll not immediately solve the indisipline as displayed on the ZRs. Of course we will have uncrupulous , uncontrolable over-sexed, unlawful young men, whose only intention is to seduce vulnerable impressionable young female students. Of course there will be the playing of loud music with dirty lyrics on these vehicls, but with decling numbers on the Zrs more and more children will be ‘saved.’ These things take time. If one follows a bad lifestyle and balloons to three hundred pounds, one does not get back to the desired one hundred and eighty pounds within a short time. Itis achieved gradually. We have ballooned to three hundred pounds, we have to deny ourselves the same wrn lifestyle to get back to a healthy size and weight. It will call for sacrifice but it can be done.

22. @Observer,
    The buses you are talking about are Government Buses. the Private ZRs and Minibuses do not follow the same route. The Oistin’s Bypass that “follows the government bus does not pass by Queen’s college. It passes the bottom of University hill. All the school buses are government buses. There are no “school” ZR or minibuses.There is not a system of transfers in use yet! .If free secondary education was a feasable long term proposition one (we have now had it for over 47 years), it is also possible. It depends on the willingness of the people to support it.
    We have to look at our selves and not at what others tell us we should or should not have.

23. WITH a proper decision on ZONING, this talk of children and Busfare would become obsolete.

Remember I always bring –SOLUTIONS

Therefore the Solution to this problem is ZONING
    NOT FREE BUS-RIDES.
    ZONING would free up more buses for adult use
    and ELIMINATE –the need for Bus fares among a large percentage of school children.

ZONING –Now !!!
    Barbados needs it

Another suggestion :
    The Roebuck Secondary School needs to be– REOPENED !!!
    Do the necessary and reopened the school
    The Laundry contributed to that problem that caused closure

The Laundry burnt down –Check to see if the problem regarding the chemicals that they used in the past still exists. I don’t think it does

Former Minister of Education Lloyd Erskine Sandiford now Sir Lloyd had proposed a Community College in the North, one of three to be built in Barbados. Sir Lloyd was a man of vision as Minister of Education and had we followed his lead in this regard , we would not be in this debacle with buses and bus fares etc

24. David. I just rad an article by Reudon Eversley in the Barbados Today regarding Stuart and Sinckler. Is he changing his tune? Probably I am n sleep mode and dreaming Lo!

25. “I just read……” “I am in sleep mode”

26. The BLP is not putting any credible spending cut proposals on the table. Despite all the political theatrics, not one major spending cut proposal has been advanced by this piss poor BLP opposition.

At least the NUPW has put something on the table, but the BLP is either clueless or is still playing political games.

Constituency Councils and the David Thompson Memorial tournament represent less than 2 % of total government expenditure. Yet, this is the smokescreen excuse that the BLP is using because they do not want to do what most people agree should be done which is reduction in MP’s salary during this period.

Serious proposals should be advanced as Barbados enters 2014. Instead, Mottley is running around selfishly trying to advance her political career as the Arthur / Symmonds / Payne and Marshall factions in the BLP plot her demise.

27. @Bajunfuhlife.
    WHY???
    You equate our countries problems just with money??
    WHY??
    You deaf ??
    You blind.??
    This Island could be “STINKING ” rich and will still be destroyed.
    We have NO LEADERS.
    We have OPPORTUNISTS.
    We have ROBBERS.
    We have THIEVES.
    We have TOTAL CORRUPTION.
    Barbados IS the LAND of the BLIND.
    Run by one eyed Rapists.
    You feel money will cure what is our Malaise?
    Pay CUTS, Pay increases will not make ONE JOT of difference.
    What will kill the infection we have ,is Isolation,which is exactly what is happening now.
    Barbados has the Yellow Flag flying at its masthead.
    Our life blood is being depleted.
    I would never choose Barbados as a destination when I see,rape of women, killing of children, and the perpetrators allowed to plead so as to avoid the punishment they should receive.
    When I see the Corruption.
    The blatent theft of Public funds.
    The abuses of position by Judges and high ranking government officers.
    The manipulation of reporting .The misreporting.
    The TOTAL disregard of the population by ALL of the politicians.

Yes ,”what goes around comes around” and what “comes around goes around”.
    Where we lose out is in the time scale.
    Independance till now to get to this.
    You figure you will ever live long enough to see us back to how we were?

Barbados is Barbados,a beautifull piece of the World,but taken over by Deseased Individuals, who have infected a vast amount of the inhabitants . Established a Corrupt society,proliferated disregard for the normal modes of human interaction.
    Established an Aberration in place of a Lawfull existance.

SO??
    Whats different to Barbados and other parts of the globe.?
    Truthfully virtually nothing!
    But two wrongs or two million wrongs do not make a right.
    Barbados,unforetunately along with a great deal of other semicivilised countries, does not have any Lawfull recourse for inhabitants to obtain redress for wrongs to their persons.
    Yes as in Zambia we have a “facade” of legality and as in Barbados ONLY there to be manipulated by those in a position to do so.
    Affording little real Justice to the inhabitants apart from the “token” justice on small matters of no real consequence,to maintain the facade of a “working” system of justice.
    What a wonderful place is Barbados, for those connected or in power.
    Life without regard for virtually any laws or simply change or ignore the law to suit.
    Millions of $ disappear, and NO questions asked , ever.
    A paradise for those able to live it, but paid for by the money and suffering of the population.
    Who Cares??
    Obviously,varified by todays state of affairs in Barbados.
    NO ONE does.
    I mean NO ONE who matters does, because those that “Dont Matter” are as routine, IGNORED by those who do.
    Therefore WHY, does one of you feel ,that ANY ONE of ANY PARTY , in this band of raping theiving Mercenaries has the competance, EVEN they had the wish, to rectify matters.
    NO.
    This state of affairs, suits a purpose for them.
    Anarchy and Mayem allow the robbery to be perpetrated on a continuous basis.
    Barbados will self destruct.

28. “Check Cuba, that has undergone almost sixty years of an embargo by the most powerful nation in the world.
    They have survived. And they do speak; through their talents and achievements and they are proud of their country..Learn more world history and learn to seperate propaganda from facts”

You surely do not know of what you speak. and survival does speak volumes about their resilience in the face of living under a dictatorship. By the way, over 176 countries trade with cuba despite the so-called embargo and the USA is Cuba’s fourth largest trading partner.

Trade in Goods with Cuba

Available years:
    โ€ข2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997 | 1996 | 1995 | 1994 | 1993 | 1992 |
    โ€ขNotes

2013 : U.S. trade in goods with Cuba

NOTE: All figures are in millions of U.S. dollars on a nominal basis, not seasonally adjusted unless otherwise specified. Details may not equal totals due to rounding.

Month

Exports

Imports

Balance

January 2013 65.9 0.0 65.9
    February 2013 53.0 0.0 53.0
    March 2013 26.4 0.0 26.4
    April 2013 31.8 0.0 31.8
    May 2013 37.8 0.0 37.8
    June 2013 20.3 0.0 20.3
    July 2013 20.8 0.0 20.8
    August 2013 19.5 0.0 19.5
    September 2013 19.9 0.0 19.9
    October 2013 34.9 0.0 34.9
    TOTAL 2013 330.3 0.0 330.3

2012 : U.S. trade in goods with Cuba

NOTE: All figures are in millions of U.S. dollars on a nominal basis, not seasonally adjusted unless otherwise specified. Details may not equal totals due to rounding.

Month

Exports

Imports

Balance

January 2012 53.1 0.0 53.1
    February 2012 69.6 0.0 69.6
    March 2012 42.0 0.1 41.9
    April 2012 23.8 0.0 23.8
    May 2012 37.3 0.0 37.3
    June 2012 30.2 0.0 30.2
    July 2012 22.5 0.0 22.5
    August 2012 37.9 0.0 37.9
    September 2012 20.2 0.0 20.2
    October 2012 48.2 0.0 48.2
    November 2012 43.9 0.0 43.9
    December 2012 35.7 0.0 35.7
    TOTAL 2012 464.5 0.1 464.4

29. “The โ€œsabotageโ€ started long ago; even before the DLPwon the eection in 2008. remeber a conversaion I had with somone, one afternoon, at a โ€œbeehieโ€ where I ws told thaif the DLP won th election there were โ€œmoniedโ€ peole who were prepared t withhold their investmnts in the country. The DLP won nd this same message was repeated again, wit more emphass ths time. This time it had an added dimension. People wh had investe in the counry, in the expectation that they would easily get permanent citizenship after a short time of residency.”

What I just cannot understand is how intelligent persons like you can fall for and sell this lame hogwash to excuse the shortcomings of an administration which has proven to be a failure by its own making and no one else’s. Do you think business people looking for a profit on their investment cares which party is in power. Sensible people must have confidence in the environment in which they are investing and wouldn’t this apply to you and me with our two cents as well. Couldn’t it be that the Government does not inspire that confidence?

30. @alvin
    yes, I mean government buses because, if a “needy”” parent chooses to pay for 2 zrs over 1 available TB bus then
    a) they will catch the zr regardless of policy
    b) will not be impacted by the minimal if any savings of the policy

also, the school routes and partial zoning takes care of most issues as I said.
    Transfers would have been an excellent option if we were thinking ahead.

Now, your crimson fish of full universal free education should return to the sea. This is not a feasible long term economic policy (as we have now realised with respect to tertiary), but it was ALWAYS meant to be a socio progressive policy, the national and developmental benefits of which FAR outweigh the financial costs when spread over 47 years and which would eventually lead to economic growth and diversity along with social mobilisation. I.e. it clearly, quickly and demonstrably benefitted the individual, the family, the masses and the country and was an excellent socio economic policy at the time and even now in hindsight.

can we say the same about free bus fares in our current context? Then again, I realise you don’t answer my questions. Good discussion though.

We can still support party and policy even though we have taken of our blinkers. If we leave the blinkers on we may miss that critical turn of the interstate to get to the town called progress and solutions

Just observing

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bajanfuhlife | 31/12/2013 at 2:21 am | Reply

The BLP is not putting any credible spending cut proposals on the table. Despite all the political theatrics, not one major spending cut proposal has been advanced by this piss poor BLP opposition.

In your blind partisan myopia have you not heard of the phrase (with its Biblical underpinnings) โ€œthere is none so blind as those who cannot see?

What BLP proposals what? You know full well asking the BLP or other so-called stakeholdersโ€ is just a lot of smoke screen red-herring fishing to daub others with the brush of blame for what is unraveling right before your very eyes.

The current administration- by its very incompetence to govern effectively- has ceded the countryโ€™s fiscal sovereignty to the IMF whose officials would soon be taking over the machinery of fiscal management from the goons pretending to be in charge.
    You will soon see what will be done with the DT Memorial Football and the other electoral gimmicks as the IMF employs the butcherโ€™s knife to remove the last vestiges of skin from the once fatted calf.

Watch out for the IMF approved fiscal adjustments in the upcoming Estimates.
    Which would you prefer to see in future Estimates? Constituency councils, subsidies to the Transport Board for free rides, Summer camps largesse for party supporters or provisions for the completion and operation of the St. John Polyclinic and Social Complex aka the DT Mothball Mausoleum? What about basic drugs, food and toilet paper for the QEH?

32. @ Observing
    Bushie is a little surprised that you feel so strongly about such a petty issue as free bus fares in the overall scheme of things….
    If we could afford free education for 50 years to all and sundry up to and including PhD level, pray tell why a thoughtful system of free bus fares – perhaps for EVERYONE, may not be a forward-thinking tactic – especially if it is then tagged to a 50% increase in gasoline and a complete ban on all vehicles over 1200 cc?

In 1960 the millstone around our neck was lack of education.

The actual millstone around our necks now goes by the names of FOSSIL fuels….and UNPRODUCTIVE investments in education….for a total of about $1.2 Billion each year.
    Bushie says we should Charge 50% more for fossil fuels; and only 50% of the cost of ALL education above primary school should be paid by government.
    What impact would such limits have on this annual $1.2 B bill? And how much would free public transport cost? …..especially if the Transport Board was run by competent professionals instead of politician’s women and political yardfowls…?

It is exactly such innovative approaches that are needed now….but such innovation is not normally associated with brass bowls….

33. are-we-there-yet? Avatar

Bush Tea;
    Excellent practical suggestions. Now what do you think about keeping Freundel to oversee their implementation?

34. @ Are we there yet
    As Bushie said….
    ….such innovation is not normally associated with brass bowlsโ€ฆ.

Freundel is quite a nice chap and given the same choices to Bajans, probably has an even chance of being re-elected. But it is clear that he is much more suited to being a Sunday school teacher or pastor.
    …but then again his rival may be best suited to organizing football tournaments….
    …such is the state of our political (and other) leadership at present.
    ….AND YET CASWELL procrastinates … ๐Ÿ™‚

35. Bushie you serious?

36. Bajanfuhlife says:
    “The BLP is not putting any credible spending cut proposals on the table. Despite all the political theatrics, not one major spending cut proposal has been advanced by this piss poor BLP opposition.”

Miller responds:
    “What BLP proposals, What”

The opposition REFUSES to say what massive cuts they would make if in power.
    Interesting is it not?
    At the same time, the same opposition is running around the country trying to repeat the 1991 play book in an uninspiring ,selfish and futile grab for political power. Look and see how all of a sudden, the BLP operatives in the press are now saying how Union leaders need to stand up.

So, let me get this right- the BLP supporters want the unions to sing in their choir when we all know that the people who finance the BLP have no love for unions.
    At least the NUPW has put something on the table, but the BLP is either clueless or is still playing political games.

A piss poor opposition.

37. i have already posited on this forum that political parties have outlived their usefulness and to regain trust in our system of governance,the perception of accountibility, and transparency must be improved. To do this we have to take back Parliament from the politicians by having officials elected to parliament from the bowels of the constituencies to look after the interest of the constituents and not the party. Parliamentarians can be assigned certain responsibilties as members of various oversight commiitees or ministries selected from among the members of parliament. These oversight bodies suitably staffed by persons of varying disciplines would decide policy and forward to the technocrats in the relevant administrative departments for execution. In this way, it is hoped that the chances of parliamentarians getting involved in corruption would be limited if not fully eliminated and the characters of parliamentarians would not be open to abuse based on rumor and speculation.. The various independent public service selection bodies would be restored to select persons for employment and to head the various government agencies.Appointments to such critical and important posts like the Chief Justice will be free of bias and gossip.There will be no need for a primus interpares. The role of meeting dignataries and shaking hands can be assigned to the speaker of the parliament or rotated on an annual basis among the parliamentarians. In this system, the role of the governor general and term limits for parliamentarians would eventually come under scrutiny

38. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Balance; I agree with you re. your first paragraph and thus that Politicians have outlived their usefulness and that their roles should be changed. The mechanism you posit for this however needs some work, imho. How do you get representatives from the bowels of the constituencies? Wouldn’t they also be politicians, even if of different stripes? I’m certain that David can find some philosophical discussions on this matter of a few years ago that suggested many mechanisms. The one which springs to mind is Bushtea’s BUP formulation which I also feel needs a lot of work to be doable but is a step in the right direction.

In the interim, why not keep it fairly simple. Have all “politicians” who are selected for public office at any level sign a commitment to abide by the letter and spirit of proper Integrity and FOIA legislation. Have a system of recall and transparent punishment of all politicians who are found guilty of even the smallest infraction. Have Ministers and PMs, particularly, undergo professional testing for mental stability, true integrity, etc.. Remove all aspects of approving Capital projects from “politicians”. Ensure that all aspects of the project cycle are monitored by non-politicians, etc. etc.

Now the above, as you would see, needs a lot of work itself. But I think you and others on BU can come up with workable mechanisms that would essentially remove the means of politicians underhandedly enriching themselves and have them working on all cylinders for the good of the country only.

eg. The selection process will be key. How would the country ensure that undesirables (from the standpoint only of people who have tendencies and backgrounds that could be very injurious to the country) never gets through a well crafted net to exclude persons with immanent characteristics that could damage the country under unaccustomed types of pressure?

and finally, How would we get the elements of a system to exclude politicians from politics into fruition. The politicians wouldn’t condemn themselves or their brothers. How do we go back to a society where most people were essentially honest and were brought up with strict guidelines on what was good and what was not and what was honest and what was not, and actually made strenuous efforts to be on the right side of the law which was generally seen as even handed.

From reading BU over the past few years. Even the legal system has very serious challenges with honesty.

Its a hornets nest out there. Should we start first of all by identifying what is wrong with the current system in all their gory details and then, wrong by wrong develop workable strategies for new systems to right those wrongs?

Just brainstorming.

39. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

This situation may just be a catalyst for the development of a Brave New Barbados where a tight rein is kept on Politicians

40. LOL @ AWTY
    Skippa, this fallacy that ‘order’ tends to arise from chaos was started by the evolutionist jokers who claimed that our world as we know it (where a few degrees change in average temperature can result catastrophic weather as we are seeing even next door in St Vincent.) evolved accidentally from some single cell organism…

That is the second most stupid hypothesis ever postulated – after the Trinity…

A brave new Barbados can ONLY arise from honest, wise, and INTELLIGENT leadership and from creative, productive people.

Brass Bowls only degenerate into scrap, rust, and junk…..

41. YOU CANNOT PROVE OTHERWISE BUSH TEA
    SO DONT GO THERE WITH YOUR ARGUMENT

42. ” Should he fail to seize the moment , the consequences
    for the Dems at the next election would be more
    catastrophic than 1999 ”
    Reudon Eversley-Barbados Today

BINGO !

43. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Bush tea; Actually I agree that, with all things considered, you are almost certainly right. It would take a miracle but I would like to think that, against all odds, the times could produce a stalwart who could get us there. After all, it is essentially the Government that is in potta. The rest of the society ie the majority of the country is fairly OK. Could a solution be to just ignore, downgrade and sideline the Government while the rest of the Society does what it has to do to maintain some essential elements of the old physical Barbados (i.e privatize practically everything). A very brassbowlish thought, I know, but even though it is quite stupid is there a possibility it might work if everything else fails? Is a Government actually essential to the running of a good society or does man’s inherent selfish nature makes it essential that a government must exist to protect the weak ones that would be wiped out in its absence? Are we seeing the ultimate expression of a capitalist society in a microcosm in Barbados?

I know, Brassbowlery you would say. But I’m not so sure that the world is not due a change in the current far from perfect systems we operate under.

44. @bushie
    it wasn’t so much the specific issue as much as Alvin’s refusal to see or think outside of what he believes to be factual and true. It’s my fault for persisting though..it won’t happen again…

There’s always more than enough room for another ac unit… wink wink

@just asking
    which article is this???

Observing

45. @bushie
    “A brave new Barbados can ONLY arise from honest, wise, and INTELLIGENT leadership and from creative, productive people.”

Serious question from and observer to a bush man, what do you think is stopping them from coming forward?

46. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Observing; Excuse me. Lemme push me mout in dat!

The system is broken, corrupt, decadent, etc. etc. But the conditions are not yet ripe for honest, wise, intelligent leadership and creative productive people to do their thing. That requires us reaching rock bottom and most people do not realize that we have actually reached there. When it is painfully obvious that we have indeed reached there, there is the possibility that such leaders and such a populace, forged in the fires of the offshoots of the restructuring programme and the recognition that this Government is straw will indeed come forward, do what is usually done with straw and rebuild with the bricks of progress.

Yuh know, Bushtea’s BBE might be getting that process ready all like now.

47. are-we-there-yet? Avatar

Observing;
    I should have added above that honest, wise intelligent people, with a few exceptions view the practice of politics in Barbados as totally unattractive to people with their talents.

48. @awty
    can we blame them?

Happy New Year fellow bloggers!

49. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Observing;
    No. We can’t blame them.

So, on its current trajectory, It looks like the political system will be unable to attract the very people that it needs urgently. a classical catch-22 situation.

I prefer to live in hope that there are a few honest, intelligent, patriotic and resourceful persons out there (in Barbados and the Diaspora) who might even be in the system already or on its verges – like say young talk show commentators and analysts and economists and actuaries and project managers and priests – who will be galvanized into action by the current economic and the coming social melt down. I am certain they are out there. Whether or not they will join and lead the fray soon I am not certain but I know that they will have to, for Barbados’ sake and their own, in the not too very distant future.

A resourceful New Year to you and all the BU family. Hope there will be silver lining somewhere.

50. Happy new year to all (although we all know it won’t be…)

…man AWTY, Bushie don’t know when las he heard such a logical analysis of a situation as your above analysis of our current situation and future prognosis.
    In response to your question about a need for government, where there is no overall authority, we have a jungle – like the American Wild West – and that is no solution.

You are BANG ON when you suggest that our government has become redundant. ….where you went a bit wrong, however, is in your supposition that this is because there is no direction…
    In fact, they are redundant because they have been SUPERCEEDED….we have been conquered by forces greater than theirs.

First they were brought out by the merchants who openly paid for their elections and various personal perks in exchange for prized contracts, immunity from the law, national honors, and tax exemptions. This is common knowledge and the names are public – mostly beginning with SIR (Suspected of Illegal Racketeering)

Next they went to the overseas merchants (when they decided that they wanted their bribes in FOREX deposited “over and away”). This led to VECO, 3S, China Construction, etc EVEN THOUGH there are local and even GOVERNMENT agencies that could handle these contracts. The result was massive cost overruns, humongous wastage (cricket World Cup) and unprecedented greed……leading to huge national deficits….

So now we have reached step 3…… The IMF
    Understand that these people cannot see why we expect to enjoy the standard of living that we have had….and will impose conditions to ensure that we are located in our “rightful” place…like they did to Jamaica.

Long and short of it is that when your leaders allow themselves to be compromised by outside power interest, you effectively have a new leader.
    Barbados has been led by the business sector with people like Allan Fields, COW and Bizzy, King, Goddards etc – who all ended up rich and mostly “Sirs”. Then by the Leroy Parris types: then we went to the Trinidadian bankers and businessmen like Le-Hunte et al, and the Canadians bankers and now Emera….

What Barbados government what?!?
    There is no such thing….just a bunch of farts jostling for kickbacks during their “turn”….
    …our last “government” ….ended shortly after Arthur told the OECD to go to hell and skin he pooch at ship rider…..think them people easy…?

Perhaps now you can better visualize our future. It will be the kind that results when there is no leadership vision…..
    Oops…
    Shiite….that almost as long as Alvin now ๐Ÿ™‚