George C. Brathwaite

At the 2007 Annual Delegate’s Conference of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP), the then Leader of the Opposition, David Thompson, began his featured speech by invoking a few disclaimers. It was revealed that there were groups within civil society actively speaking out against several perceived ills. Freedom of expression prevailed in Barbados under the political sacrosanct of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) that was being led by the economically acclaimed and intellectually gifted Owen Arthur, in spite of mounting and troublesome criticisms against the government.

David Thompson, in his address, said then that the situation in Barbados had reached a stage wherein there were pronounced “signs of frustration and despair.” Thompson goaded the public into thinking that it was inconceivable why the BLP had become “so indifferent and disconnected from the people it was elected to serve.” Thompson’s utterances were glazed in flowery language and buttered with a mischief to exploit weaknesses which appeared in the seemingly invincible Arthur-led team. The DLP, through its leader, promised to “imbue new hope and optimism” into Barbadians because Barbados was on a “slippery slope of division,” and it had become infested by “stagnation and malfeasance in public administration.” One wonders how necessary was this charade at the end of 2007 when now compared with those things have been evidenced this year at the end of 2013?

Read full article

328 responses to “Lessons to Guide Another Dichotomous DLP Cabinet: Save Barbados Now!”

1. Our problem is that for some reason we think Barbados is Utopia, hence success is not awarded but failures highlighted to falsely portray total incompetence. If you doubt me, look at the comments by the so called independents/neutrals directed at OSA on this blog. Keeping with this Utopian ideology, we are looking for the perfect political party (though most of the proponents are unwilling to join or start one far less face the polls) and or a Coalition government; and we believe the idea of a CSME is foolishness in spite of the number of RI being established globally. The refusal of Barbados to re-elect OSA in 2008 was a massive mistake fueled by our misguided belief that our fair land is Utopia.

2. As the year ends, the main event was the general of Feb 2013, it delivered my winners and losers for 2013.
    Winners: 1.Freundel Stuart for the DLP victory when the odds were stacked against him. 2. Dwight Sutherland , for a good performance by a newcomer
    Losers: 1. OSA and Peter Wickham
    2014 focused will be on the IMF , will its measures stabilize the economy and what will be the DLP reply to the social fallout ahead

3. @Prodigal Son and Miller…………..
    I thought I was the only one who remembered the interview with Stetson Babb and Dennis Clarke on Starcom Network.It was on the 12:30, the 4:30pm and 5:30 newscast on the particular day. This was when Caswell broke the news on the same Starcom Brasstacks programme that a meeting was held and the plan was to dismiss temporary workers. At time neither Clarke , Maloney or Cederic Murrell came out in defence of the workers and that was in May 2013. Stinlkiar ‘cuss’ Caswell left, right and center. S…………o, what is all this ‘bull shitting” and ‘pooping’ all about? Crocodile tears cannot help this time around. SORRY.

So tell me something Miller………is Barbados officially in an IMF programme? Because when Ms. Mottley was on Sunday Brasstacks two Sundays ago with David Ellis and Corey, she said the country was not in any official IMF programme. Enlighten me.

4. Even though our alternatives May be limited it did not bear well for those in opposition to unleashed a verbal and political assualt on the economy of barbados the equivalent of economic sabotage knowing full well the unfavourable impact it might have . needless to the say the end result became obvious and unerving as investors avoid us like the plague while others out of fear remove their financial support.

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bag Juice | 28/12/2013 at 12:31 pm
    โ€œshe said the country was not in any official IMF programmeโ€

The operative word there is “Official”.
    There is no โ€œofficialโ€ programme because Barbados has not yet drawn down SDR’s (as reported to date) or taken out any loans from the fund to shore up the balance of payments and foreign reserves. What Barbados is currently in is the preparation stage for the ‘official programme or what you would call โ€˜special measuresโ€™ or โ€œunder heavy mannersโ€, to use a Jamaican expression.
    An official programme would probably start around June 2014, or before if the foreign reserves fall to less than 4 weeks as was the case of 1991/92.

One thing you must say about the current MoF, he does a fantastic job of engaging the services of a good script writer to craft his ministerial pronouncements even if he himself finds great difficulty in delivering them in a convincing manner.
    The future role of the IMF in the management of the countryโ€™s fiscal affairs is well embedded in his last ministerial pronouncement. The following are not the words the current MoF is capable of stringing together; this kind of convincing bullshit language of the highest order just escapes him:

โ€œI am happy to announce that the Fund has accepted the requests and starting next month, the first team will begin its examination of the fiscal and operational challenges of some of our key statutory entities.
    In anticipation of that and in an effort to advance and concretize this work, the Ministry of Finance will assemble a high level task force of senior finance, business and accounting experts to work along with the Fundโ€™s team to finalize a reform agenda for the selected entities to be presented to the Minister before mid-year.
    I also anticipate that very shortly the Fund will identify a team of experts to conduct the long overdue comprehensive assessment of the direct and indirect tax systems in Barbados with a view to advising government on major reforms necessary in both tax policy and administration.โ€

6. The DLP damaged Barbados almost beyond repair.
    The BLP did nothing to harm Barbados during 2013
    The Democratic Labour Party did it all by themselves.

There are too many cunts walking around in Barbados talking shite and looking for a perfect whateva.

The BLP is better at governing Barbados. This is a scientific fact
    Whenever the DLP is in power , they end up sending home people and talk of devaluation . foreign exchange loss; unemployment and the whole gamut.
    The DLP has nothing good to show in 6 years–NOTHING !!!
    That is a fact

We should be talking about going back to the polls
    CALL ELECTIONS NOW !!!!

7. Is the NUPW in point number 8 of their proposals saying that Customs Officers are in collusion with the business sector in under invoicing?

#8 improve revenue collection and shifting around of Custom Officers by the Custom Department

8. @Clone

Is this the same NUPW who fought against the installation of cameras in sensitive areas at the ports of entry? Around and around we go.

9. @Abajan in new york.
    I wrote a blog earlier about the “free bus fares” and explained the rationale for its introduction. In addition I explained the difference between costs and savings. Of course it would cost the Transport Board lost revenue; paid back by the government, but it saved the parents that amount of money for them to spend on other things. It is a matter of choices. we have seen what the minibus culture cost the country in terms of the behaviour of a whole generation’s behaviour. The attempt by the government to reverse this behaviour comes at a cost. If it saves children from the effects of the minibus culture it is worth the cost. If it “puts money back in people’s pockets it is worth the cost. Either way the money will be spent, whether it is by parents or government. the government made the decision to bear these costs. Remember the concept of Summer Camps has been in existence since the 1980’s, so don’t keep harping on them. It gives the children an opportunity to learn new things and be busy during the long vacations.

f

10. Yes
    The NUPW message is confusing

11. The DLP is the worst political party in the history of political parties
    A party that can never get it right; A party with the reverse Midas Touch.
    The worst Government in the history of GOVERNMENTS-THE DLP

I challenge you to name a political party or Government worst than the DLP or name a set of voters more stupid than the people in St. John. Both are threats to Barbados’ stability

12. @Well Well,
    Happy New Year. Hope you had a nice christmas. We were without electricity for a whole week; temperatures between minus twenty and minus twenty six, no phone no nothing electrical. some people have not gotten back electricity yet (now two weeks) these people are also without heat.in these temperatures, and the people in Barbados are complaining?

13. On the news Denis Clarke said 4000 persons. Was that a slip?

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | 28/12/2013 at 1:59 pm |
    ” needless to the say the end result became obvious and unerving as investors avoid us like the plague while others out of fear remove their financial support.”

Why don’t you stop spreading doom and gloom? (Just a taste of your own medicine, ac). Look on the bright side.

Are you not convinced that the many projects about to be started in- according to the MoF’s schedule- January 2014 would indeed bear fruit?
    Aren’t there investors queuing up to back the new Cruise Ship Terminal, the Pierhead Marina, Four Seasons buyout and restart, the new Almond/ Beaches/Sandals hotel, the many housing projects including those at Exmouth and Pickerings?
    What about the massive road and bridges rehabilitation programme and even the upgraded sugar cane factory and your pet project the WTE? We would even overlook the St. John Polyclinic completion.

You guys were told beyond a shadow of doubt these projects will be coming on stream in 2014 with January being the start date for many despite Alvin Cummins revised calendar with January falling any time in the year.

Why are you now so negative and really down in the dumps? Have you come to the stark realization that the MoF is a stranger to the truth hence his name change to โ€œSi(n)ckliarโ€?

15. Freundel Stuart is loitering in the hallways of Illaro Court and should be expunged immediately.

ELECTIONS NOW !
    BACK TO THE POLLS
    FRESH MANDATE NOW !

16. @Clone

The PM and MoF promises zero layoffs therefore the NUPW is entitled.

17. WILL DOC. ESTWICK REPLACE STINKLIAR ???

JUST ASKING

18. The truth is that I post on these blogs hoping that my words would turn into arrows and darts and find their way through the walls of Government House , Parliament and wherever else the Fother Muckers can be found

19. I meant Government Headquarters not Government House

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | 28/12/2013 at 2:48 pm
    “The attempt by the government to reverse this behaviour comes at a cost. If it saves children from the effects of the minibus culture it is worth the cost. If it โ€œputs money back in peopleโ€™s pockets it is worth the cost. Either way the money will be spent, whether it is by parents or government.”

So what argument would you be putting forward when this โ€œconcessionโ€ is axed by the IMF come early next year when the Transport Board comes under the microscope of the same IMF officials?

Stop blaming the ZRโ€™s and minibuses for the societal failings. What about the parents, family, schools and so-called Church?

If the government wanted to control the minibuses to remove that so-called sub-culture it has the licensing and regulatory means to do just that.

Children donโ€™t have to be on a minibus in order to engage in so-called unseemly behaviours given the modern technology which offers easy access to the external and internal sources of the music and images representing the same bad โ€œminibusโ€ culture.

How come you were not influenced into becoming an outlaw or a killer when you as an underage Ghetto boy from Wellington Street used to frequent the pits in the Plaza, Olympic, Roxy or the other cinemas to watch โ€œcowboy and crookโ€ films and the numerous war movies showing mayhem and mass killings.

21. “Then you have to have as much money as Owen and Mia and and as many IPADS to give away like Sinckler or the inability to see people paying for votes (and a commensurate inability to speak) like Fumble”

If the people of Barbados really need change and a new set of people to give a chance at turning things around, money will not matter. You all will go out and vote for that party.

No need for them to be having big bashful parties at night calling them political meetings. If that’s what’s need you guys are not ready for change.

22. Just asking
    Yes I agree a general ERRection is what we need.
    We gine see a whole buncha PRICKS stand up..
    Vote for one vote for ALL. You get the same thing
    “Hemophrodites”
    Cos these PRICKS are CNUTS as well all at the same second..

All things to All men(women).
    Dem care?? Jus put dat X right here Bo!!
    Den move over leff me in at dat trough.
    Yuh ent hear dat??
    Where the Hell you goin;.Roun and roun disappear up yuh own Boxie..
    What we need is shovle the Shite,right out we door for GOOD.

I for one sick and tired a gettin shafted by these PRICKS and taken as a Pussy by the same CNUTS.
    Ifn yuh cant smell shite when yuh so close to Rahsools, yuh needs to get yuh to QEH and get you “head “examined.
    If dem open:)
    A ll Shite talk bout devaluation.If I ent wrong we PEGGED to de US$, dat has sunk likeTITANIC over the last so long.
    SO??
    Where DAT leave a BAJUN $??Still worth de same.?
    WE done devalue 20 times eversince.
    Witnessed by the fact you Grantleys ent worth Shite.
    Couple little bags a grocery en dem LONG GONE..
    Man wake the Fcuk up PLEASE!!?
    The Hi HEM Hef is jus another arm of Murican control,
    Dem wipen up BAHBADHUS arse cos we is not TOTALLY under dem control (as yet).
    But dem mekin FCUK in sure we soon gonna be.
    USA money ! USA ,BANKS run de show .DEM mekkin 100% sure dat ent a dime escape dem pockets.
    FCUK in, Ijjit Fruendel, Tekkin dem orders .
    Tell muh what de FCuk good its gine do tuh send home people.
    Dem gine get paid ONE way or another.
    Dem civil servants,the $ comes either from de right hand or de leff hand of Govenment..

De Hi HEM HEF aimin to bring DOWN BAHBADHUS.
    FCUK US UP GOOD.Cos den we gotta LICK ASS.
    Man study what the ongoin effect of “sendhome” en by all accounts its gine be more like 6000 to keep dem HI HEM HEF bo’s happy.
    6,000 x 300$(yeah its more I know) salary, per week=1,800,000 A WEEK x52 = 96,600,000$ .Gonna kick the FCUK outa BAHBADHUS,
    A financial IMPLOSION.Pull dat sorta bread outa BIM economy en we FCUKED BIG TIME.
    Businesses gine drop DEAD, gine shut tight , like you ARSE when yuh see what yuh got comin.
    An dem Hi HEM HEF bo’s want de port taxes Upped and upped en de VAT increases.
    En yuh still saying vote for ANYBODY??
    Yuh FCUKIN INSANE.
    PUT IN who you does feel like,MAN WAKE UP !
    DEM FCUKIN POLITICIANS!
    Gine sell dem AHSSE or CNUT to de highest bidder.
    DEM ent give ONE CNUT for dis ROCK DEM CARE FUH DEM and dem just only.
    USA gine slap us down,dem gonna have us licken ass,we gine be as FREE as they CHOOSE we to be.

You FCUKED Bo en yuh ent yet understand dat.!

23. Clone,
    The number being talked on the cocktail circuit is 5561!

24. I am not ‘tekking’ any salary cut. Cut the blasted Councils, camps and football tournament in memory of the ‘dam’ crook, David Thompson. Ms Mottley had set out earlier the conditions under which the Opposition members will take any cuts. I have not heard anything from the Cabinet since. She also made a proposal of having a panel with Mr. Erskine Griffith and Owen Arthur and others to really come up with a home grown programme to get the economy back on track, but I have not heard from the government as it relates to that proposal neither.

ac, should not bemoaning what is about to happen in the new year. The DLP yardfolws were at large and in charge for last 6 years. Nobody could offer any advice to them, they scoffed at everybody. Scoff the IMF now.

25. @Jus asking,
    We should be talking about going back to the polls
    CALL ELECTIONS NOW !!!!
    Isn’t this the same thing you were saying December last year and January this year? Didn’t they have elections in february/ Wait and the elections will be called at the appropriate time.

26. If we are going for solutions without including the BLP, DLP and PDC. Who will be the problem solvers? Letโ€™s have a BU conversation on ten Barbadians outside those parties who you believe can formulate a home grown plan to take us out of this situation. This is a selection, no elections involved so you do not have to bother about what constituents want but what is needed at this time

Here Is MY ten
    Ryan Straughn Minister of Finance
    Caswell Franklyn Minister of Justice
    Richard Hoad Minister of Agriculture
    CO Williams Minister of Implementation
    Henry Fraser Minister of Health
    James Husband Minister of Industry
    Alvin Jemmott Minister of Tourism
    Marilyn Rice Bowen Minister of Community Development and Gender Affairs
    Joan Blackett Minister of Education
    Rawle Branker Minister of Transport

Bush Tea would be the Chairman

27. @Clone

Would replace Sir Cow with Derek Foster, BU’s MoE would be Ralph Jemmott, we would give Adrian Loveridge a shot at MoT and Kyffin Simpson would be Minister at Large.

28. Excellent post, miller.

29. Hi Alvin…just glad to know you are well, soon people in Bim will appreciate the fact they DO NOT have to pay for heating, it’s free, not even the greedy industrialized countries can find a way to make them pay for it……that includes the wind and the sea..

Don’t know what it is but for some reason and because of other issues, I felt it would be wise to skip winter in Canada this Christmas, earlier this year we experienced negative 32 in some parts of Canada, I still remember it vividly, however, here is hoping things return to normal soon.

30. Bag Juice,
    Dont worry about the summer camps……the inept incompetent government seem to be slowly coming to their senses and facing reality. The minister has already said that there will be a charge next year….that is if the IMF allows them to have the camps. It is time the government leave the camps alone and let whomever were doing them for donkey years take back up the mantle. There has been church and community camps for ions.

Now the DLP is seeing the folly of their ways…………they building a society as if there was not one before 2008!!

31. Remember after Caswell talked about the potential sending home of public servants, it was Stinkliar who mention the figure 6,000 workers so 5561 Prodigal Son is not far fetched.

32. aBajan New Yorker Avatar
    aBajan New Yorker

The list not bad but am concern about Sir. Cow. I once sat close to him at an airport and could not help my self but to ease drop on his telephone conversation. To my surprise it was a corruption conversation. I just had to shake my head as it involved vending machine in a government building.

33. coming soon to barbados the red mafia.!

34. ” Hence, decisive leadership was a profound factor in Barbadosโ€™ sustained economic success during those years for which you allude.”
    and that is exactly what we have been lacking since the current administration assumed office. Hence the present calamitous state of affairs with which we are now saddled

35. “We remember well how the four White men as heads of the so-called private sector organizations conspired to bring down Sandiford in the coup of 1993-4. If this is system we have or want it should be made clear and stop wasting peopleโ€™s time.”
    That is news to me PACHA. The historical records of parliamentary debate in Barbados would show that Mr Sandiford was brought down by a vote of no confidence which was supported by four of his parliamentary colleagues. Are you saying that the vote of his parliamentary colleagues was influenced by the business sector.

36. Alvin in his defiance eluded to 5 years plus 90 days to brings it right on time. Mid 2018.
    This young generation may not be so patient. This debate is slowly headed to a “today is a funny night” outcome.

37. The jackasses we have here for government seem not to be following what is currently happening in Jamaica under their current IMF programme. Their Parliament passing Legislation like it going out of style as part of the requirement of the Fund to meet the quarterly test. Pension Reform, Tax Reform, Public Sector Reform, abolition of waivers are just some of the things that the government must undertake in order to satisfy the IMF. These bitches led by Fumble, big guts bafoon Garrison Secondary School boy Stinkliar and ugly Delisle Worrell are going cause Bajan people to slip from the good life we accustom to.

38. Walter Maloney and Dennis Clarke are two big frauds. A definite smoke screen, they are just interested in peoples money while they live large. they do very little and are in bed with the DLP.

I am not accepting no salary cut when people who were used as a bribe for an X were given government jobs, many of whom go to work for 30 minutes and go back on the block at home. Passed by some who “clean” the side of the road and who wasnt braiding hair was on their cellular phone.

Oh what a tangled web the DLP weaved, as their job was merely to deceive.

Jones very silent, he mussee selecting a device that he could use to crack our heads and shoot we.

39. When Maloney states that the public sector’s productivity compares favorably with the private sector, what performance management system is he using to measure?

40. The World operates on two principles,Fear and Greed.
    Both are destructive.
    We have a negative World population if we veiw the “developed” World.
    AS we are initiated from birth into this society of fear and greed,.
    Wherever can we find peace?
    Merely to survive ,we must ,by our education, take more than we need .That by simple extension means that somewhere along the line there will be many without basic needs fullfilled.
    Why is it we feel we should concern ourselves with survival ,rather than living?.
    Living in the full sense of the word rather than the “just being alive”.
    WE are “fearfull”.Untrusting.Greedy.
    The roots of our very existance are flawed,so therefore we cannot ever properly exist.
    It is simply a natural progression of the flawed existance we lead that is manifesting itself in Barbados today.
    A multiple cancer has hold of the entire World,our litle speck of rock is infested with it ,in all its forms.
    Bigotted religious beleifs, Total Political corruption,Artificial Respectability,
    disregard of others rights,Perversion of the Law by officials, such as the DPP ,for personal gain.
    Misuse of position.
    Possession of wealth equated to possession of morals.

Barbados actually does not need any of the “assistances ” offerred by the IMF.
    Which are specifically designed to sell us into bondage for eternity.
    WE need firstly to simply moderate our demands on life.,adopt instead, as our ancestors did, a more self sufficient lifestyle.
    Reinstate ourselves as free people.
    Cast off the Instilled artifical”needs”, simplify ourselves and in the process simplify our lives.
    Barbados is Paradise,but “stone walls do not a prison make nor iron bars a cell”
    We choose to blindly follow the dicatates,of the “American way”.
    Is there then a cure for the cancers that invade us and our lives.
    I think not.At least NOT for us.
    That is not to say that the planted tree will not grow and prosper.
    A true father plants trees that will provide “shade”for his children and their children.
    We must rid our country of the cancers, the poisons, so that our children may live in peace and harmony and not feel the fear and greed we have to feel to fulfil our daily needs in this Filthy corrupt society that Barbados is today..
    “Throw out the money changers from the Temple”.

Just start simply.
    As a daily practise DENY your self something that your mind tells you you really want.
    Do it on a daily basis.
    The following day, review ,what you saw as a “real need” and see how it was just a “greed” not a “need”.
    This way you will regain control of your mind, the first step in regaining control of yourself and then control of your life.

41. @BU, Maloney went even further in that 7:00 pm news and said words to the effect that in 1991 when persons were sent home, the others left behind stepped up the productivity level.( LOL)

@Time2Act,
    You got that one right. Jones musse planning to shoot and crack the skull of the teachers more so members of the BSTU and Mary Redman. (DWL) I do not put a thing pass him. He got the ‘paro’ in the mendicant section of his constituency to do such.

42. Walter is one appointed to big post after January 2008. Day does run till night ketch.

43. I hope union members are not fooled by Walter MaMONEY. He doe snot have the workers’ interests at heart. He is about himself and his wealth. Overheard him in a conversation that is why I say so

44. are-we-there-yet? Avatar

BU family; I think we are fooling ourselves.

I had a look at the NUPW’s 10-point plan to save the Jobs of the 3000 slated for layoffs early in the new year that was presented in response to, in my view, a very cynical invitation by a less than ingenuous PM to do so. IMHO, The NUPW proposals are essentially good workable ones but the time and opportunity for their implementation are long gone, and can now only find use as ADDITIONAL measures to meet specific fiscal targets.

IMHO There is no hope of acceptance of those proposals in lieu of the announced (not proposed) layoffs that the MoF’s statement implicitly heralded as a fait accompli. I am betting that every one of those proposals are not new to the MoF planners and would have been considered in depth by the MoF’s and Central Bank’s slate of senior economists and Planners prior to coming to the layoff decisions announced by the MoF, and would have been rejected as inadequate to satisfy the IMF and presumably stand a chance of getting the country out of its current state. To believe otherwise would be to conclude that our officials at the MoF and the Central Bank have degenerated into a bevy of unthinking and unsupervised workers who should not be allowed near their computers in those prestigious offices. I don’t think they are so hopeless although their leaders might well be.

Actually, our present position does not appear to be now amenable to even sensible suggestions from any entity in Barbados. The die is already cast. Only the Government can change the current trajectory and landing area to where we are heading. FS’s statement to the Union was essentially a last ditch attempt to appear to be doing his best to retain the “no jobs will be lost” mantra of the DLP and change that trajectory but everything points to that initiative not working. But of course an asymmetrically thinking PM could characteristically do what perhaps no other PM in the Caribbean would do and accept the Union’s proposals and thereby throw a spanner in the works that could have serious unwonted non-strategic effects that could postpone our recovery by years.

I wonder if his Cabinet will then insist on doing what is absolutely necessary as a first step to save the country? Nah! Wunt happen.

45. @Miller’
    Are you saying that the minibus culture has no influence on children going to school and catching these vehicles? You are in such denial it is unhealthy. Are you saying that the free” bus fares have no effect on the spending power of the parents? True to th ethics of the BLP; deny all the time. do you or do you not accept the will of th epeople who made th eDLP the government of their choice.? Did you or did you not predict dire consequences when the IMF visited in December? I leave it to you to diagnose yourself an prescribe your own medicine.And Just asking, keep asking. There will be no elections, whether the government is good bad or indifferent. You must suffer.

46. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

47. ELECTIONS NOW
    OR SUFFER
    DUMP THE DLP NOW
    OR SUFFER

OWEN ARTHUR AND CLYDE MASCOLL ARE CAPABLE OF PULLING US OUT OF THIS SHIT

48. NO ELECTIONS ? THEN CROSS THE FLOOR ESTWICK
    AND PAUL