George C. Brathwaite

At the 2007 Annual Delegate’s Conference of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP), the then Leader of the Opposition, David Thompson, began his featured speech by invoking a few disclaimers. It was revealed that there were groups within civil society actively speaking out against several perceived ills. Freedom of expression prevailed in Barbados under the political sacrosanct of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) that was being led by the economically acclaimed and intellectually gifted Owen Arthur, in spite of mounting and troublesome criticisms against the government.

David Thompson, in his address, said then that the situation in Barbados had reached a stage wherein there were pronounced “signs of frustration and despair.” Thompson goaded the public into thinking that it was inconceivable why the BLP had become “so indifferent and disconnected from the people it was elected to serve.” Thompson’s utterances were glazed in flowery language and buttered with a mischief to exploit weaknesses which appeared in the seemingly invincible Arthur-led team. The DLP, through its leader, promised to “imbue new hope and optimism” into Barbadians because Barbados was on a “slippery slope of division,” and it had become infested by “stagnation and malfeasance in public administration.” One wonders how necessary was this charade at the end of 2007 when now compared with those things have been evidenced this year at the end of 2013?

Read full article

328 responses to “Lessons to Guide Another Dichotomous DLP Cabinet: Save Barbados Now!”

1. How is the DLP going to save us now ?
    Why they did not do it over the last 6 years?
    They are a waste of time

The BLP can do a better job, never mind what anybody says. There are those who believed this and voted BLP Feb/2013 but the stinking vote buying by the DLP skewed the results of the elections;

You have a Prime Minister who does not inspire confidence , who is not married , who plays with words and lives in his own selfish world
    HE SHOULD RESIGN FOR TELLING LIES TO THE PEOPLE

RESIGN AND LET BARBADOS GO BACK TO THE POLLS
    THE DLP IS NOT GOING TO GET IT RIGHT ANY TIME SOON
    –(my words dont drop) (everything I said about them has come fruition )
    WHY ARE WE WASTING TIME WITH THEM ?

ELECTIONS NOW !
    IF DESPITE THE BUYING OF VOTES , THE RESULT WAS 14/16
    NOW THAT THOSE WHO COULD NOT SEE, SEE THE TRUTH
    WE CAN HAVE A CHANGE IN GOVERNMENT.

ST.JOHN PEOPLE NEED COUNSEL LING THOUGH !

2. Right now Barbados needs a lot less talk and more action. We need someone that will be decisive and not so politically oriented. We need someone to lead the country who can see when enough is enough. We need the repair job to start right now. The only one of a sorry bunch on both sides who has so far demonstrated the skills to act more decisively and informed is Owen Arthur. This is a fact despite whatever his detractors say.
    Barbados needs urgent change.

3. @Alvin
    “whether the government is good bad or indifferent. You must suffer

Yup, this is the problem.

And I’ll ask what I asked David. Did the free bus far policy achieve the objectives that you yourself outlined?

Has anyone ever costed the policy?

Have our children been saved from the “minibus culture”?
    Are the parents using the ($80 per child per month max) saved baring increases in other areas?

Social policies should be supported by economic/financial feasibility otherwise the eventually ejected policy serves no long term good and actually makes things worse in other areas.

btw, I agree with the policy in principle, but it appears it could / cannot be supported.

Just Observing

4. Given the results of the two approaches witnessed in recent times under recent leadership. The question to be asked and answered are Barbadians better off today? Or can there be some tolerance for the weaknesses apparent prior to 2008 but offset by a economic/financial position which inspired greater confidence and yes pride in our country.

The policies of the last six years have failed because they were never back by comprehensive financial strategy and therefore were only simple pie in the sky ideas.

Urgent change is needed right now!

5. Ann Reid said it.
    We are looking for a perfect whateva.
    The thing is the DLP has failed

Stop saying that we do not have an alternative because we do and this is how it works. They the DLP were given a chance and they have failed miserably , it is time for the BLP to take over and save the country. This is how the system works and the BLP should not be punished for the sins of the DLP. YOU VOTE OUT ONE AND VOTE IN THE OTHER.

ARE WE TO REMAIN STUCK WITH THE DLP ?
    THE PEOPLE MUST ACT AND ACT NOW

BACK TO THE POLLS–SEEK A FRESH MANDATE
    THE 14/16 RESULT SHOULD HAVE PROMPTED THIS MOVE ANYWAY.

IT IS BETWEEN THE BLP AND THE DLP
    THERE IS NO OTHER VIABLE ENTITY SHOWING ITS FACE
    THE DLP LIED-:
    L—I—-A—R—S
    AND SHOULD GO BACK TO THE POLLS.
    THIS IS THE ONLY REASONABLE DECISION

SO YOU WANT TO SAVE THE PENSIONS
    WELL TWO MPS SHOULD CROSS THE FLOOR
    IT IS A WIN/WIN SITUATION
    PENSIONS SAVED/BARBADOS SAVED
    IT CAN BE ARRANGED BUT BARBADOS MUST BE SAVED AND THE PRIME MINISTER OF BARBADOS –FREUNDEL STUART DOES NOT INSPIRE CONFIDENCE

THE PRIME MINISTER OF BARBADOS –FREUNDEL STUART DOES NOT INSPIRE CONFIDENCE

6. Twoeyes;
    Well said! Urgent change is indeed needed. I am certain that over 90 percent of the population felt in 2008 that the dlp would manage the country in a way that was consistent with previous governments and put the welfare of the COUNTRY first, that was not to be. We have been exceedingly badly governed since 2008. The external environment has little to do with our current situation.

Barbados cannot survive as a viable state under its current leadership. The calls for sinckler to go must be replaced by calls for freundel to go. That is the first and most important step to put us in the right direction.

7. @Just Asking:
    Scenario; Elections are called and a campaign follows. The DLP wins again, What then?
    @Miller,
    One lesson my mother taught me and I still maintain it, “You can be with the crowd, but not Of the crowd”
    I was b0orn in Wellington Street, but I was never in the ghetto or of the ghetto. I will tell you the difference between people of my generation and people of the present andcoming generations.I will tell you how people like my mother and other mothers from the gaps and streets etc of my
    generation were able to instill the values that have us the envy of many places in this world.

8. Alvin Cummins | 29/12/2013 at 1:42 pm | Reply

@Just Asking:

Scenario; Elections are called and a campaign follows. The DLP wins again, What then?

THE DLP LIED-:
    Lโ€”Iโ€”-Aโ€”Rโ€”S
    AND SHOULD GO BACK TO THE POLLS.
    THIS IS THE ONLY REASONABLE DECISION
    THE PRIME MINISTER OF BARBADOS โ€“FREUNDEL STUART DOES NOT INSPIRE CONFIDENCE

9. @Are we there yet.
    You say the present government like other governments should “put the welfare of the COUNTRY first,” Too many people make statements that are not closely examined or analysed, so let’s examine and analyse your statement. What do you mean by “put the welfare of the Country…What constitutes the “country”, is it the physical land space? Is it the people? what do you mean? If you mean the physical landspace what should have been done that was not done? If you mean the people; have there been diminution of the social net? Are you talking about disposable income? Are you talking of expenditure on the social net? has there been reduction in the availability of pensions. social welfare, unemployment insurance, increase in bus fares? what exactly do you mean by not putting the COUNTRY first? You see, it is easy to make these platitudinous statements, but then you have nothing to justify them. I will suggest that there is a bit of reluctance on their part to put in place the neccessary draconian measures that would go a long way to solving some of our import problems, such as forcing plantation owners to plant at least 40% of their ara ble land in the production of food crops; praedial larceny or not. We MUST reduce our import bill.
    @Dr. Love
    Just as I said above all of you are going to have to answer questons about your statements. For instance you say:
    “Why is it we feel we should concern ourselves with survival ,rather than living?.
    Living in the full sense of the word rather than the โ€œjust being aliveโ€.

What is “living in the full sense of the word? what does that require? You in Barbados have a healthy climate that can support you fully. You may not have luxurious vehicles but you have public transportation. You have food to eat, or if you can’t provide for yourself there are social assistance agencies that help you provide. You have a good health system, that is available free of cost (from stumped toe to neurosurgery) and you have access to education from nursery to university at no or minimal cost. These are the seeds that enable you to grow to whatever heights you want. You have freedoms that many people all over the world can only dream about and never achieve. You can travel unencumbered. You have a good public protection system in a good police force, and you have a parliamentary system that functions without being intimidating or coercive. You do not have the problems of winter and all its accompanying inconveniences; during the recent ice storm and loss of electricity people in my building had to climb as high as 17floors everytime they left home (up and down),
    and your beaches; to which all have access are such that people are willing to pay money to share them.
    What more do you want out of life?
    Tonight when you go to bed count your blessings, not the things you don’t have, and then see if you really need the things you want, rather than what you need.and give thanks for what you have.

10. @Just asking.
    You did not answer thw question put to you based on the scenarion. Whether the DLP lied or not;disregading that the BLP is not the bastion of truth,if despite everuthing said, the people reelect the DLP what then? Answer the question.

11. @Alvin
    I trying one more time. Would you say the free bus fare policy worked based on your stated objectives?

Just observing

12. Pathetic!!

13. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Anyone who is looking for a balanced non partisan coverage of current affairs and news in Barbados cannot seriously look to the Nation newspaper.
    This newspaper has discarded any semblance of impartiality and is plainly acting as a mouthpiece of the BLP opposition.
    While BLP supporters on the blog might want to suggest different, the facts are clear for all to see.

If Albert Branford’s Sunday attempts at political sabotage are supposed to balanced journalism, then the Nation is so blinded by its BLP blinkers that it has lost any credibility it wants to claim as “independent”.

Chairman and former BLP senator Sir Fred Gollop- your paper now fully reflects your politics.

A national disgrace!

14. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

How can the Nation newspaper try to claim independence when known political hacks like Clyde Mascoll, Harry Russell and Pat Hoyos are given free reign to lambaste their political opponents and no one at the Nation newspaper ever considered giving the other side a chance to put their perspective in a weekly column?

The Nation newspaper is behaving like the BLP’s journalistic prostitute. What mirror image does the Nation management have? Honestly.

15. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

I have never seen an article in any newspaper in the last 40 years that was so nasty to one politician as the hate speech which Albert Branford wrote in today’s Sunday Sun against Chris Sinckler.
    Keep singing Albert, your political masters in Roebuck Street and their connections in Fontabelle are proud of you.

One thing is for sure, if you had tried to write such an article in Owen Arthur’s “RULE”, it would never have made it to print.

The Nation newspaper is now fully in bed with the BLP.All that is left for the BLP is to get their hands on CBC and then we could have one political party controlling all the major media outlets in Barbados.
    Think about that.
    The media especially the Ntaion newspaper needs to reexamine its role. It is right now acting as the Public relations department of the opposition.

16. All of that is beside the point–(NATION) and AC

THE DLP HAS FAILED AND SHOULD BE REMOVED THROUGH THE IMMEDIATE HOLDING OF ELECTION
    GIVE THE PEOPLE A CHANCE TO CORRECT THE MISTAKES OF 2008 AND 2013

THE DLP BOUGHT VOTES IN 2013
    IT WAS A BUY ELECTION
    IT IS CLEAR TO EVERYONE NOW THAT
    THE DLP LIED—L —I—A—-R—–S

GIVE THE PEOPLE A CHANCE –DEMAND ELECTIONS NOW !!!
    FRESH MANDATE –BACK TO THE POLLS

HAVE BARBADIANS GONE STUPID OR WHAT—WHAT ARE THEY WAITING FOR—??? -THE COUNTRY TO SINK FURTHER DOWN
    CHEESE ON BREDDERS !!!

17. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Alvin;
    Good post above. I apologize for not giving chapter and verse of the reasons why I hold fast to the view that this current DLP Government has not itself continued the ideals of its DLP predecessors and that, indeed, many of its actions seem to be more in furtherance of the survival and welfare of the Party and its individual members of parliament than of the country as a whole. Just a few examples:-

1) David Thompson’s fatted calf statement clearly suggested that the “spoils” of the victory would be divided amongst the DLP supporters and not evenly throughout the country.
    2) Hartley Henry, in his obituary peroration for David Thompson indicated quite openly that David Thompson actively ensured as an unwritten policy that Combermerians were actively and disproportionately represented on Boards etc. There was no attempt to seek the best fit for a post.
    3) It is now clear that the slide in the Barbados economy was absolutely evident at least 3 years ago and that the agencies like Standard and Poors and Moody’s appeared to have bent over backwards not to downgrade us at statistical points in our fall that had triggered downgrades in a number of other countries. The MoF, Cabinet and of course the Central Bank were obviously aware of our serious slide yet they apparently did little to arrest the slide but instead continued to implement policies that appeared to serve the electoral interests of the DLP rather than concentrating on righting the economy for the eventual benefit of all.
    4) It is clear that nothing that the MoF did to improve the economy worked. the increased VAT; the increased taxes; the failed Medium Term Fiscal Strategies; etc. yet the PM stuck faithfully with the Minister and his policies to the bitter end rather than trying some new approach including first and foremost changing the Minister. Such strategies suggest that the PM and his Government were more interested in protecting the MOF than in doing what most other Governments would have been expected to do to ensure the economic survival of their country. No other country in the region would have retained the same Minister of Finance after February 2013, knowing the damage that the Economy had suffered.
    5) The NIS fund has apparently been plundered in ill advised schemes like the Four Seasons project, to the extent that it is unclear if it will have the resources to adequately fulfill its main obligation of providing pensions and other benefits. There is no clearer example of a Government reneging on its responsibilities to its country than in the way NIS funds have been apparently squandered while putting its contributors at risk.
    6) In the CLICO matter the Government seemingly did all in its power to protect David Thompson and his estate as well as Leroy Parris rather than the affected policy holders. All other independant regional governments acted early in setting up Judicial Management operations, etc. and have gone a long way to settling the CLICO matter. Barbados alone, dawdled on this matter, set up a Judicial management operation when perhaps the horses had already bolted from the stable and have so far done little to protect the policy holders and EFPA holders. However our former PM went the other way in that his firm (which was rapidly wound up when the unchallenged and perhaps unchallengeable news of the possible misfeance broke) ensured that a significant sum of money, at least 3.333 million dollars was apparently laundered by that firm. There is a clear impression that the DLP Government sought to protect itself first in this matter rather than the policy holders and ultimately the country.
    7) The DLP ran an election campaign of deception in the last election. Practically all election campaigns and Politicians are replete with lies but this one was excessive. Fortunately many of the deceptive statements are now being exposed quite early in the life of this parliament, but unfortunately too late to stop the electorate from having a different Government that might have been able to arrest the rapid slide in the economy evident since the elections. This was possibly the unkindest cut of all, to have misled the public for electoral gain for the party and for its prospective MP’s knowing full well that the economy was just a stone’s throw away from the rocks and that they themselves didn’t have the wherewithal to do anything about it.

I’ll stop there for now. But the last 5 years is replete with several more examples of where the DLP fell short and apparently favoured its own self interest above that of the Country.

Looking forward to your response.

18. One thing about me though, I does come wid ideas and solutions
    But nobody dont pay me nuh mind

I proposed the formation of the WPB -(Womens Party of Barbados)

But the women in Barbados frighten . As much mout as they got , they still want to hold on to the men’s shirt tail. The women like they aint saying a pang

I am now proposing that elections be called and a fresh mandate sought.

These are positive solutions to get BARBADOS moving
    Of course I will call for the BARBADOS LABOUR PARTY to be elected because they are so capable that there is no one in Barbados who can say that the BLP is not capable.

Now tek dah !

19. Alvin that is the definition of welfare we talking bout.

20. are-we-there-yet,
    Excellent. Let the “dems now, dems again” crowd dispute any of your contribution!

21. @ Just asking
    educate me, where else in the world is there a women’s onlyparty? Get real man!. Secondly, while i can agree to a certain extent that the BLP is capable to bring us out of this mess, this is not like in 1994 when thy came in and the corrections were made and the economy was already growing @ 3.92%. If i were mia , i would wait until the Dems start to clean the mess up and then make my move!. Ask Nick Cameron and the Toriies in England
    Get real man!

22. .” I will suggest that there is a bit of reluctance on their part to put in place the neccessary draconian measures that would go a long way to solving some of our import problems, such as forcing plantation owners to plant at least 40% of their ara ble land in the production of food crops; praedial larceny or not. We MUST reduce our import bill.”

mere fantasy or hogwash- choose. The cane blade speech followed by the systematic cutting up of agricultural land for housing development in the sixties in addition to the proliferation of supermarkets and its attendant conspicuous consumption patterns to the attraction of the population slowly but effectively killed the taste for the agricultural products most of us were forced to consume in the absence of other eating alternatives. As soon as more attractive even if not better alternatives were introduced as with all things new the imagination of the public gravitated toward the alternative imports. So even if we force plantation owners to unfairly plant 40% of their arable land in an unprofitable exercise; who would force the populace to buy the produce.

23. @Just asking: You still have not answered the question in my scenario: The elections are called, the DLP are returned with a majority. what then?
    Anyhow in respoou can do with money, save it or spend it. If the government saves poor people eithty dollars a week through providing free bus transportation for the children, what can that person do with the moneyunse to your blog. Let’s take it slowly point by point.
    First of all Observing asked whether I thought the “busfares” was successful or not? There are only two things you can do with money save it or spend it. What are poor people likely to do with the money saved? They will spend it…buy food etc, clothes, or save it probably in the credit union. Whatever they do with it it benefits the economy in general, instead of enriching the minibus owners; lawyers, policemen? ( as has been alleged) and persons with money, to increase their wealth. The most important thing, which Miller refuses to accept is that it protects the impressionable young people from the vile lyrics, the incessant noise, and the perpetuation of a culture that propounds negativity. that is important for a stable society. Therefore the answer is a resounding yes.Just asking; you go back (harp back Miller?) to David thompson’s speech at the annual conerence of the DLP before the 2008 election. You try to focus on the words “fatted calf” (you were probably) not even there and do not know the context, however if you examine what you said closely it does not make sense, the way you put it. In any case it is not applicable, because EVERY POLITICAL Party anywhere looks after its supporters, when it is victorious. Remember the reign of the BLP over the fourteen year period/ remember the inefficient contractors and the results of their work? Remember the Ackee tree saga?
    Next, “than in the way NIS funds have been apparently squandered while putting its contributors at risk.” How has this occurred? The NIS invested funds in purchasing GOVERNMENT treasusry notes of Bonds. Legitimate forms of investment. the only way these funds will be at ridk is if the government loses the ability to raise taxes to cover these investments. That can never happen to a government. Idle plantation lands can be taxed or expropriated and sold; (draconian but perfectly legal) to cover the debt.
    Next CLICO: Clico was supposed to be the game changer prior to the 2008 election.(It failed. The other Caribbean governments along with Barbados are working on the solution. Only the Trinidad government has come up with a type of Bailout solution for the trinidad investors. However you notice that the Trinidad government has not attempted to bring any charges against the main perpetrator; the head of CL Financial, the owner of CLICO; Lawrence Duprey. Why is this? Why are Bajans so intent on destroying Leroy Parris, who despite what may be thought of him as a person, was an employee of C.L. Financial; the clico subsidiaries throughout the caribbean were offshoots of CL financial.
    The people who invested in the EFPA’s have tow ait on a final settlement. they took chances at the Roulette table and their number did not come in. By the way why didn’t Owen Arthur “protect” these policy holders? It occurred under his watch. You want to put him back in; MIA is just a figure-head and Kerrie is his surrogate. Meanwhile how is it that DaLE Marshall and the other elder staatesmen of the parliamentary group have been sidelined? You going to put them back in? How sure are you that these people will be reelected again in an election campaign? You go on to say:There is a clear impression that the DLP Government sought to protect itself first in this matter rather than the policy holders and ultimately the country.
    Impressions don’t count..The damage was already done when the DLP won the election.Thejudicial process has to be followed. That is what is happening but the law must be followed.
    The electorate elected the government they wanted. the result was not yours to dictate. It was a free and fair election; not the result you wished for but the people have spoken. the government has the legal right to call the election when it decides.
    This perpetual state of election hype does THE COUNTRY , nor yoursel any good.
    To those talking about funny days and nights, this is not 1937. Remember that. Fourteen dead, five hundred lock up, how many wounded? check the figures mine might not be quite right. Much has changed since those days. Don’t pay attention to your TV and think it is playing cowboy and crook, as we played it.

24. don;t you have a woman as leader of your beloved BLP .seriously though with the lousy image she is presenting. you think any body gonna tek woman seriuosly

25. Tennyson Beckles on the Peoples Business can only be drunk with the kind of suggestion he is making about keeping your best workers whether they came in last or first I agree with Dr. Marshall, last in first out

26. @Balancea’
    Think EXPORT. Jamaica exports everything. I know I go to West Indian Stores here. they export June Plums (golden apples) Dasheen, Avocado, Yams, everything. There is a market for West Indian ground provisions. What taste are you talking about. The KFC chicken, and The Cherrette Chicken and roti, and the Strawberry shakes, are not good for your health.Grow more of what you eat, and eat more of what you grow. Eat fish and locally grown fruit and vegetable. the things you creave are not good for you. More attractive alternatives? A potato in Canada or in Barbados is still a potato.

27. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Thinker;
    The Dems have already started to make their moves to clean up their mess. The Layoff action (not plan) announced by the MoF is a clear statement that they definitely intend (with implementation dates to boot) to take that draconian action and can’t spin any other’s party into the ownership of that action. Perhaps If they had called an election before calling in the IMF some of the populace might have seen any subsequent action by the new Government as being that Government’s actions only but Sinckler has casted that die already, despite Freundel’s efforts to make him look like a fool and also have the Unions make fools of themselves.

28. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Alvin;
    Sorry!
    I see nothing of sense or worthy of a response in your post at 8.41 pm.
    Check it out again.

29. More hogwash. You back with this idea of exporting golden apples…really? Not even juice but apples?

30. @Just asking.
    I am “just asking your willingness or unwillingness to accept the decision of the people if there was another election called and the DLP won again.? Isn’t that worthy of a response? Vox populi, vox dei!

31. @alvin
    The most important thing, which Miller refuses to accept is that it protects the impressionable young people from the vile lyrics, the incessant noise, and the perpetuation of a culture that propounds negativity.”

Incorrect. There is the internet, BET, ipods, blocks, the radio and some contemporary homes . Plus, students still catch vans and ZRs to this day The “ZRs” only presented a public face to an already existing sub-culture that is still very much alive. Protection needs to start at the source not intransit.

regarding money saved.
    free bus fare served those who did/do not have money to begin with. Therefore the true benefit is children attending school more often when they probably wouldn’t have because they couldn’t get there, but let’s now add logic.

Free bus fare saves monthly $80 max, $40 min per child per month. How much spending power has been lost due to the increase in vat, the new consolidation and municipal tax, the tax on allowances, increases in water and electricity along with general cost of living and inflation? I”m guessing more than $80 per month or at least close. .

So, the question is, was it a feasible long term policy on its own given where we are now (were) economically, the 18M owed by the Transport Board in addition to their other woes and the continuing presence of social ills and a culture that propounds negativity among our youth?

re CLICO
    “There is a clear impression that the DLP Government sought to protect itself first in this matter rather than the policy holders”

imho, David Thompson sought to protect his interest(s) first rather than the policy holders. The avalanche simply rolled on from there. Whether the existing members of government are complicit, I can’t say and wouldn’t assume but, they are the government.

Just Observing

32. @Just asking.
    You people are so thin-skinned. Don’t want to enter discussion when faced with the facts. Of course my mission here is not to try to change the opinions of what my mother would call “hard mouth cows” like you lot, but to give the facts to those outside who may not be aware of all the facts, and just go on the basis of what you people write. I am here as Don Blackman once put it “to redress the imbalances.”

33. There is a stark similarity between the Transport Board bus which ran off the road and overturned yesterday, and the present government of Barbados, and its die hard supporters.
    The driver lost control of the bus, it ran away and ended up on its side. The passengers , who were lucky to come out of it, not seriously injured, are praising the driver, “for doing all that he could after loosing control.” Perhaps with a bit of Concentration , Observation and forethought the accident could have prevented.
    Will the passengers in the Barbados State Omnibus,driven by Shhhhhhhhhhh… ya know who, come out of this accident unscathed?

34. @Observing
    “Bus fares saves each child $80.00per month per child. So a family with three children going to school saves 240.00per month.Isn’t that putting $240.00 per month (2880.00/annum) back in the pocket of the parents?
    Every government, in every country derives its revenue in large measure from the taxes imposed. People in Barbados can never ezcape being taxed. There is a delicate balance between the types of taxes imposed and the amounts. The increase in electricity rates and water rates can only rise if the cost of fuel rises, so don’t add them in the list of taxes you are talking about. Electricity rates are not imposed by government.
    The law firm headed by David Thompson was the legal representative of the company that hired him. His first duty is to hisemployer. He was the lawyer before he was a representative for the policy holders. He resigned from the law firm when he became Prime Minister.
    David Thompson is Dead. He can do nothing from where he is for the policy holders so it makes no sense to keep “harping” on that. And if you keep “harping back” i will keep reminding you that the supervisor of insurance held office during The BLP administration and the Prime Minister of the time should have been aware of the malfeasance and acted expediciously and urgently. It was his responsibility.
    Here in Ontario we are paying a surcharge on our electricity rates for improvements that were made to the service, over and above the regular charges. You have : debt retirement charge, (money they borrowed to improve the service) you have delivery charge (for delivering the electricity to you) and you have regulatory charge, on top of that you pay HST a provincial tax.
    Don’t complain. You have it good. Right now we have people who have been without electricity for over eight days; they can’t cook, the temperature outside is presently minus 8 degrees, and even though they are working as fasst as they can the weather decides. Freezing reain expected again tomorrow, and the temperature is expected to dip below minus 10. Be thankful.

35. @Alvin
    bobbing and weaving was never been my thing. so my questions still stands… “was it a feasible long term policy on its own given where we are now (were) economically”

also, $2880 per annum saved is worst case. i.e. 3 children having to take 4 bus rides ever day each . Such a worse case is an almost impossibility.

in addition, regarding taxes and rates, I agree for the need, but my point was and still is, saving someone $240 per month (worst case) and then them having to spend $200 per month more than what they did previously via whatever taxes or increases (government imposed and justified) implies that your argument about money going back into pockets as a result of the policy does not hold.

now, almost finally, “He resigned from the law firm when he became Prime Minister.”

He made decisions, pronouncements and policy while in the office of Prime Minister after being privy to the legal (and possibly other) workings of CLICO. These decisions, pronouncements, policy and delay have put us where we are now…still waiting with bated breath some 3 years later with no solution as yet, while other islands have made headway and in some cases payouts on behalf of their people.

“The BLP administration and the Prime Minister of the time should have been aware ”

Then the incoming Prime Minister and just resigned legal representative of the company would have been even more aware upon taking office.

This government is fortunate that Barbadians are so docile.

Finally, I don’t complain, I just observe. Hope you are ok throughout the bad weather in any case.

Just Observing

36. The issue to do with 3.3 million paid to Thompson’s law firm was highlighted by the Auditors because it was invoiced as services rendered but ended up in Parris’ picket labeled as gratuity.

The issue about bus fares saved creating money in people’s picket and therefore help the economy. The economists will tell you that resources had to be injected to specific areas of the economy to generate growth.

The ac’s have it,,,lol.

37. There needs to be a movement for Restoration in Barbados. I nearly said a –War of Restoration— but be that as it may, there needs to be rRestoration . THE DLP cannot do it. It makes no sense waiting on them to to anything. The time for a change in GOVERNMENT is nigh,

GET BACK TO THE POLLS NOW !
    IT IS NOT UNHEARD OF
    THERE NEEDS TO BE FRESH ELECTIONS IN BARBADOS. THIS COUNTRY CANNOT STAND 5 MINS OF THE DLP FARLESS 5 YEARS.

I SAID THE SAME THING PRIOR TO THE LAST BUY-ELECTIONS
    AND IT HAS PROVEN CORRECT

IF THEY CARED ABOUT BARBADOS, THEY WOULD FIND A WAY TO DEMIT OFFICE, THEIR ECONOMIC ADVISERS HAVE FAILED, THEY HAVE TAKEN US RIGHT BACK TO 1991 AND THE SITUATION IS SIMILAR BECAUSE THE ECONOMIC POLICIES AND ADVICE ARE THE SAME. THESE ECONOMIC ADVISERS ARE STILL TRYING TO PROVE THAT THEIR OUTDATED APPROACHES CAN WORK AND THEY HAVE FAILED MISERABLY..

BAJANS SEEM TO HAVE LOST THEIR WILL.THE DLP SEEMS TO HAVE BEWITCHED THE PEOPLE. WAS IT THOSE PERSONS BROUGHT INTO TO PRAY FOR BARBADOS? IS IT THE THREAT OF CRACKED HEADS ? WHAT IS IT

RESTORE BARBADOS NOW!
    CALL ELECTIONS NOW
    BACK TO THE POLLS
    THE GOVERNMENT LIED
    THE DLP LIED L—I—A—R—S

IF YOU DONT WANT TO CALL ELECTIONS

DEMITTING OFFICE IS EASY: TWO PERSONS TO CROSS THE FLOOR, THAT WAY ALL PENSIONS ARE SAVED AND BARBADOS IS RESCUED—————-LETS START ENGINEERING THIS MOVE.—OPERATION RESTORATION——2014–

38. Alvin Cummins | 29/12/2013 at 9:54 pm | Reply

@Just asking.

I am โ€œjust asking your willingness or unwillingness to accept the decision of the people if there was another election called and the DLP won again.? Isnโ€™t that worthy of a response? Vox populi, vox dei

You have a Government that has failed miserably–the worst there is
    a PRIME MINISTER THAT DOES NOT INSPIRE CONFIDENCE
    A MINISTER OF FINANCE WHO HAS TRIED EVERYTHING AND FAILED.
    And you asking me to enter the realm of Speculation ?
    I am dealing in FACTS here !!! MUH BRUDDA !!

39. CALL THE FRIGGIN ELECTIONS AND LET US SEE WHAT HAPPENS

40. we await Alvin’s reply. Let’s also remember that the BLP’s 2013 election platform was vilified and “rejected” by the electorate. The notion of putting money in people’s pocket was punished with laughter from the political platform.

41. Pretty Blue Eyes Avatar

@Alvin Cummins
    You obviously do not live in Barbados, that money that is saved by parents of those school children is spent on the mini buses. My thing is this if the school children can find the bus fare to travel on the mini bus and ZRs they they can very well find it to pay Transport Board. I feel that government should allow the primary school children free, pensioners should be free also, anyone else should pay. And I wish that elections would call all like now cause I know fa sure these people gone fa a next 15 or 20 years.

42. @ Pretty Ble Eyes

You said “if the school children can find the bus fare to travel on the mini bus and ZRs they they can very well find it to pay Transport Board”

That there is a need for free busfares goes without saying so, on that point alone i agree with Alvin.

That there are those who have $$ and as such do not use the Transport Buses is true so in that regard i agree with you.

Now here are two points for consideration

the transport board buses are inefficiently run and as such any parent cognisant of that ineficiency and wanting their child to get to school on time will use transportation which while having certain “challenges” is for the most part available/timely.
    How does one, in this age of technology, make the correlation between the people for whom the free bus fares are being provided who refuse to take said freeness because (i) they live on a route serviced by an inefficient Transport Board or (ii) their parents HAVE THE $$

What are the metrics to show or gainsay your posit over Alvin’s and how are they (currently) measured?

I would hazard to say that the incompetents that abound at the Transport Board AND at the level of government, championed by Justin Robinson, “Idiot Exponential”, dont have a clue as to how this needs to be done

A simple fare card, a modified Magna Card, a phone with Near Field technology that, being held next to a received or swiped, registers who gets on the bus would allow is to definitively know which student, primary or secondary school, pensioner of authorised public servant, gets on the bus and correspondingly how many dont.

From that ubiquitous technology coupled with a working GPS system where the minister and the Chairman of the transport board is not getting a kickback from GeoOrbis, or Mark Lee et al aint getting rich at the expense of the taxpayers, one can tell when my grandaughter is getting a TB bus, if the frigging buses are on time, what is the occupancy of the buses, how may children/beneficiaries are benefitting from the Dead King’s political largesse and how effective was the guess work that Justin Robinson got paid all that Fatted Calf money for.

There is a joke where a well known indigent “Jerkoff’ goes to court and is accused of well, masturbating in public, to which he responds that he was not jerking off, but shaking his doggie after a ling pee.

If you know the pass time of Bajan men then you know that we often pee in public and then shake our doggie before returning to drinking the rum, or playing dominoes, WITHOUT WASHING OUR HANDS.

The fact is that this SHAKING ONE’s DOGGIE is now a public pass time of many ministers and in fact has been so for a long time, it is called running the government a la BLP and DLP

43. @PUDR

Are you describing a technology called mobile wallet? Have seen it in use in our travels.

44. Go shake your doggie PUDR
    –If you can still find it
    It might be better for you

45. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

We need a better way to get the truth to the people
    Newspapers and TV stations are ruled and bought by Both DBLP Government.

46. Do you realise how igrunt you sound? When was the $3.33m cheque disbursed?

47. @enuff

Was it not after Thompson left sold the practice?

48. You people are so thin-skinned. Donโ€™t want to enter discussion when faced with the facts. (says Alvin)

I refused to comment on your statements since it is blatantly clear that you are dealing with the gospel according to Alvin. What nonsense you talking about parents saving $$$ due to not paying bus fares. But have you taken into account that the same poor parents are the one suffering by losing jobs and having reduction in pay due to them unable to get work because children abusing the system. If Trinidad who have more money and resources that we can’t afford to give free bus rides, or the larger develop countries can’t give Free bus rides, but here it is…..Poor Barbados trying to set set a precedent and wasting our NIS money to pretend we have money.
    What need to be done…(1) get rid of the Free Bus Rides and mek dem pay a subsidise $1. (2) Get rid of de Constituency Council and let the big guts politician walk off de fat and do de people work. (3) Three departments doing de same work….get rid of two ah dem (Welfare, Rural or Urban). Get rid ah one of two Ministers with overlapping ministries Estwick and Lowe. One dealing wid water on the surface and de other wid water underground. Since water seep under the earth – get rid of Lowe and leave Estwick who deals with the supply of water. (4) Get rid of Teking up we tax payers money to fund a football competition. If we can’t honour Barrow, why we honouring someone who received millions and have a Family First with nuff money and ain’t spending a cent on the people. (5) Since the polititians received raises in 2009 and now 17% in the first quarter of 2013, tek back de 17% raise and hit them wid a nudder 17% for hiding it from the public. (6) Dun way wid none performing Parliamentary Secretaries who gets over $150.000.00 per year fuh doin nothin – sorry St. Andrew drama queen. Get rid of the Ministers of State since all the other ministers have us in a STATE already. (6) Reduce the Ministers since Barbados only have 11 parishes and 16 ministers who have consultants helping them and consultants helping the consultants. (7) Send home the 3,000 people who we all know came in prior to de elections. (8) Reduce the remuneration of Ministers who would’t get marry and who ain’t have a yute. (9) Stop de free Summer Camps and let the University students and the Community College and SJPP students teach the campers as accustomed . (10) Get a PM that talk governance and not a lecturer who deals with reactive information and finally a MoF who dealt three budget exams and failed, yet we still keep him employed. With these measures, we ain’t need no IMF and we will move on to economic stability.

49. @Tell me Why

Where your argument is flawed is that it does not factor the politics of the issue, the government holds a 2 seat margin. Az we have forecasted, it makes it very difficult to govern in the circumstances.

50. I have to comment on Caswell’s report that a Ministerial Statement should be embraced by all Government Ministers. That is perfectly true my friend. However, based on the British system of Parliament, the opposition parliamentary group have the rights to question the statement immediately after the statement. This right was abused by the Leader of Government Business who rise faster the Bolt to suspend all other matters stating that only matters will be the alternative energy bill.

The following is based on a Ministerial Statement in the UK
    “After Question Time (and any urgent questions that may have been allowed) a government minister may make an oral statement to the House. Notice of statements is not usually given until the day they are to be made.

House of Commons
    Oral statements are made after Question Time (or at 11am on a Friday). Statements usually relate to matters of policy or government actions.

At the end of a statement MPs can respond or question the government minister on its contents”.

Why was the populace of Barbados blanked from hearing a response from the Opposition in a matter that will affect each and everyone of us.