Submitted by Bajan Patriot
Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart and Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler, How Much More Can Bajan People Bare?

By now it must be clear to all with “common sense” living in our great nation that we have totally lost our way on many key fronts with tourism and the general state of the economy in mind.   After many years of prosperity we have found ourselves in an economic, political, and social hole we just can’t seem to muster the intellectual capacity to dig our way out of.  Instead of a democracy we have found ourselves in an “Idiotcracy” which gets more and more out of control with each passing day.

Like crabs in a barrel we are clawing our way with the weakness crabs out numbering those of us that know better.   Common sense has totally left the stage and has been replaced with selfish disengaged self-serving leadership, poor business performance at all managerial levels, poor customer service on all fronts, and partisan politics that cares nothing about putting country first.

The recent IMF projection that showed Barbados at the bottom of the barrel has largely gone ignored by the public like sheep we continue grazing the grasses of economic destruction.  As the bible says “Pride comes before a Fall” and the partisan political landscape that currently exist is on track to ensure that fall.

How much more can the Bajan public ignore and bare, what will it take for people to say “enough is enough”, what exactly has to happen is my question for Bajans in the final days of 2013 as we brace ourselves for 2014.

50 responses to “Sad Times In Barbados Fuh Real: How Much More Can Bajan People Bear?”

1. The PDC will continue to say it more and more that the DLP and the BLP must be permanently removed by the broad masses and middle classes of people of Barbados from the political landscape of this country in less than 5 years or not this country will in 9 to 14 yrs become like how Jamaica was in many regards in the 70s, 80s, 90s and even now at this stage where it has reached a point of no return on its current political trajectory.

Remove the Damned DLP and the Blasted BLP!!

2. @ Bajan Patriot.

I am sure that you meant to say “bear” and not “Bare”

While it might not be something that you are aware of “baring” oneself in Barbados has, of recent times, become a very dangerous passtime and has gotten people sent to Summerville, put on bail, put on curfew, put on facebook, put on the front paper of the country’s two newspapers.

No No the word is bear not bare

3. LIKE IT OR LUMP IT Avatar
    LIKE IT OR LUMP IT

Nation newspaper reports that the tax on lottery winnings is no longer being implemented as communicated through a letter from the Ministry of Finance, however, the Minister of Finance indicated the tax is still to be implemented.

Sir Hilary claims government gave them a letter of guarantee to build 3 dorms at UWI, Minister Sinckler said not from what he is reading on file.

We are being made a laughing stock by this inept leadership!

4. Mr. Patriot,
    Have’nt you heard….you supposed to hold your tongue or be branded a trouble maker and traitor. Shut your eyes to all…We living well bout here, highest taxation in the western Hemisphere or not,…wanna Bajans like to complain too much….What ya expect….”nothing is perfect…we can make corrective actions” as we go on….”don’t you know we are ‘new to this and on a learning curve for our NEXT TERM……give-us a break nah.”..

The jib has been set and the now concussed crew knows it..we in for a “pound and a crown” forget? …no turning back.

As much as some would like to accommodate such litmus deliberations, question begs given past situations and performances, how sincere can we be to ourselves in expecting any real difference from our past, given that we have the same old batsmen standing on the same old wicket. What’s worse, past policies and ideas seems identical(as if) etched in stone and no perceived change….

Being a realist, one cannot help but accept facts and call a spade a spade. Who may want to say different, must be prepared to offer good reason and not just rhetorical party support. The C train leaving Fulton Street inbound to New York station will arrive as is accustomed unless circumstances and situations change. Similarly, taking a Transport Board bus or a buggy ride to Connell Town, though more familiar, both have high probability of reaching destined points operating lever set: ’ business as usual“.

5. #BITCOINS went up from US$500 on the weekend to US$900 this morning!

Check this out: If an Bajan had invested $1000 in 2012 in #BITCOINS that grand would be worth over half million dollars this morning.

#Karatbars is the next global “GOLD” currency that launches in 2014 its own gold currency MASTERCARD (unlike paper money backed currencies) will now be able to be used as another key form of consumer transaction.

Barbados is behind in so many areas. Green technologies, R & D; medical research/ health tourism opportunities;

Enough said!

6. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Submitted by Bajan Patriot @ Bajan thank you and BU for the post,
    For We seem not to read the post of Plantation Deeds,We already know the reason and all we need now is ACTION, Let us try not to beat a dead horse , it will not get up and run, We need to dig a hole and bury it,
    As we need to do with both DLP and BLP

C.U.P. along with P.D.C posting is telling you all the truth along with the Information of the truth of the Violet Beckles and Beatrice Henry Estate,
    All this have to do with land fraud , over the entire Island , PONZI at all government Departments,

If the posters on BU dont sit down and focus to the truth , you all will be beat the dead horse over and over again.
    The pictures posted of the PM and the MoF is the keys to the truth , Both of them are blocking the truth by showing you numbers and playing with the numbers in ALL things.

Clue , Barbados police a few days ago was in court with a young man that had stolen goods, They as was told to me took him in the back and beat him up , We dont know if they wanted more information or he got licks that he never got from his father for telling lies or crooking people,
    The same can be done to bigger crooks to let us all know the truth , So we can work on the fix
    PLANTATION DEEDS KNOWS what, where, when , who , and why Barbados is this way,
    So if you all done look at check out words then enjoy the pain , as they enjoy the sweets,

7. What the CUP has been regularly saying on here is very true and this has been so from the start.

Rest assured there will be – sometime in the future in Barbados – a certain coalitional government formed in this country.

It will be formed out of groups that will be represented in parliament and that will totally displace these two stupid jack o lantern DLP and BLP factions in this country.

For, increasing numbers of people in this country are growing more sick, tired, frustrated and fed up with these two intellectually political bankrupt and discredited factions.

And they have every reason and right to be so, as that, these very vile and corrupt disorganizations have been together – and especially when they have been taking turns at being at the helm of government in this country – systematically more and more destroying this country by their gross and reckless mismanagement of the its whole affairs.

And, as it has been said by many people o’er the world: where organizations lead many will follow.

More and more people will either join the CUP and or it political components – the BFP, KGB, PDC, BURCP, or will join the PEP, the NBKA, etc., as socio-political material conditions worsen deteriorate in the island.

Also, what is very noteworthy at this stage is that there is a nationnews.com story of today that tells readers that the Barbados government could be further downgraded by the credit rating agency Standard and Poor’s in the months ahead.

Now, if the Barbados government eventually gets this further downgrade, the PDC will not be surprised.

As a matter of fact, we have been stating that there will be further downgrades of the credit ratings of Barbados by Standard and Poor’s and Moody’s, ever since the last one last year.

Furthermore, we are now predicting that Standard and Poor’s will downgrade the international credit worthiness of this DLP led government for another time.

We take absolutely no comfort in writing these things, but such downgrades are inevitable when it is clear that it is these jackass DLP and BLP factions that have – through the implementation of their inept and backward political financial TAXATION and other policies and programs – been principally worsening the material and financial conditions of this country and been principally bringing us too to this point of ruinous calamitous dedevelopment in our whole affairs.

8. After listening to JIM ROGERS this morning, I am more confident that governments are clueless and the entrepreneurs in Barbados are only concerned about their own bank balances.

Forget the idea of patriotism, that hinges on who is in political office. If the “right” party is in power – then money flows! If the wrong party wields power – then the captains of industry and the wealth investors try to squeeze and siphon off every last drop of blood out of the poor, marginalized and dispossessed.

When things go North or South depending on where you are – the population screams for political change and as usual we get what we deserve!

I am not sure what investments Barbados have in the global market but as Jim says – the only people who are making serious money are the giant Wall Street speculators, hedge fund managers and other savvy investors. These individuals do not know what RECESSION we are all talking about – for they have never been richer!

As I said earlier, $1000 in #Bitcoin just 24 months ago would yield almost 400K this morning. So some of us are actually LOL!!! While the others are trying to catch up because if you have to buy 10 #BITCOINS this morning it will cost you $6000…

Time for BLACK people to wise up!

9. Did You Know These Surprising Facts About The World’s Billionaires? Juicy tidbits about the world’s richest people

http://www.blackenterprise.com/money/did-you-know-these-surprising-facts-about-the-worlds-billionaires-video/?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

10. A-COn

Looka here mate…nah foolish Bajan money left….COINS-BITS or DOLLAR-BITS…we just ent go nuh money bredds…..go peddle ur wares elsewhere…doan waste ya time…

11. @ANON

Scam!! Remem ber Pet Rocks?

12. ANON said:
    “I am not sure what investments Barbados have in the global market but as Jim says – the only people who are making serious money are the giant Wall Street speculators, hedge fund managers and other savvy investors. These individuals do not know what RECESSION we are all talking about – for they have never been richer!”

You mean the thieves on wall street…….right???

13. @Well Well

You mean the thieves on wall street…….right???

They couldn’t steal if they didn’t have a “LICENSE”!

Guess, how they got it?

LOL!

14. @ Onion

You probably ain’t got no $$$$$ – but I sure know a whole bunch of BAJANS who have it coming out their ears!

So what is your point?

15. @ Alvin

What SCAM?

What are you suggesting?

Bring your proof!

You remind me of those idiots who like crying “FIRE” in a crowded theater!

16. the entrepreneurs in Barbados are only concerned about their own bank balances.”
    those persons in barbados masquerading as businessmen are not entrepreneurs but nothing more than glorified shopkeepers and speculators who mostly depend on government handouts.

17. Only big Wall Street investors making serous money. Nonsense. If you had invested in CIBC common shares over the last year with dividends you would have made about 20%. One of the big issues with investing in Barbados is the fixed currency regime with tight FX controls coupled with a declining FX reserve. No one sure if they will be able to get their money back. Plain and simple the currency is near worthless unless you can trade it in the international market.

18. @sith

20% compared to 4,500%?

Your argument is already defeated given your own explanation!

No one is saying don’t invest in stocks!

The issue is who has earned $10 million TODAY!

ANSWER: The SPECULATORS, the hedge fund boys and the other savvy investors.

The rest of us may have scraped a few grand but in the grand scheme of things – a drop in the bucket!

Do you know that today if you are a millionaire as some are in Barbados because their asset base which includes house, land, a few investments and some money in the bank adds up to 2 or 3 million by 2013 standards they are still amongst the 95% on the lower tier of the socioeconomic ladder! In other words they are clumped together with the so-called “MIDDLE-CLASSES” & working class!

Anyone who can’t show 10 million or more today by market standards are merely just getting by!

Have you checked the cost of living in that great country called BARBADOS lately?

I spent almost 100K there in the last year and if I had spent that in GAMBIA for example, I would have had an asset base on that investment alone worth something in the vicinity of a COOL million! If I had invested it in NIGERIA – maybe, 10 MILLION or more!

But that’s BIM for ya’! Nothing to show because everyone is either on the “TAKE” or the entitlement attitude – what can you do for me!

You people better wise up before it’s too late!

19. The growing wealth disparity in American society (for example) beggars belief… LET’S NOT EVEN DISCUSS BARBADOS!

Americans are quick to frown on “SOCIALIST” policies that would invite a more egalitarian form of wealth distribution within their society.

Some have even called Prez. OBAMA a socialist (when in fact he’s poles apart from that ideological penchant).

After seeing this video and you are not convinced that this once great country is now heading fast towards a 2-TIER society, (and with this also BARBADOS & every other society on earth) then no amount of persuasion will change your entrenched mindset.

20. The US has gone from 17Mn on Food Stamps 6 years ago to 47Mn today and there are nearly as many people collecting on some form of US Govt assistance as those paying taxes!

The US is and has to be a SOCIALIST STATE!!!

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ balance | November 19, 2013 at 1:37 PM |
    “those persons in barbados masquerading as businessmen are not entrepreneurs but nothing more than glorified shopkeepers and speculators who mostly depend on government handouts.”

How true that is! Except for the foray into renewable energy technology- which is all imported and a carry-on from the Solar Water Heating project of the late 70’s 80’s very few business ventures undertaken by the local private can be considered “Entrepreneurial”.
    The term “Speculator” is more descriptive of these business tycoons like Simpson, COW , Mrs. Ram, the JADA group and the other parasitical tits sucking on the sore teats of the Treasury’s dried up breasts.

Let these self-acclaimed entrepreneurs invest in projects involving the earning or saving of foreign exchange instead of its massive utilization.
    We should take our hats off to any businessperson who is prepared to invest in environmentally sustainable projects and green technologies even if they require support from the Treasury.
    We fail to see how SOL can be interested in the importation of hybrid and electric vehicles or converting some of their petrol stations to accommodate the supply of alternative fuels or recharging of batteries.
    We should however congratulate Bizzy Williams in his ventures involving the generation of solar energy and the use of electric vehicles in his businesses.

22. pieceuhderockyeahright!!! | November 19, 2013 at 6:07 AM |
    @ Bajan Patriot.

I am sure that you meant to say “bear” and not “Bare”
    ……………………………………………
    Quite right,as we seem to have a load of grizzlies running this country.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David:

Are you in a position to clarify or shed some light on the comments made today by Minister Sinckler when he denied ever making a commitment to privatize or divest shares in the GAIA?
    Is he insinuating the position taken by the PM in his recent visit to Canada is the position he the MOF has been taking all along?

24. @Miller

Sorry, missed that comment. The comment we did NOT miss was the proposal to charge for barrels which was floated by Senator Irene Sandiford-Garner a few months ago. Do not believe this is a serious initiative by government.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | November 19, 2013 at 5:23 PM |

The barrel levy is stupid in light of the massive concessions given on food and drinks to Sandals. Most of these barrels are sent by relatives abroad at no cost or burden to the local foreign reserves.
    This administration has lost its way and is literally ‘scraping the bottom of the barrel’.
    Why not impose a tax on the fast food outlets that would certainly be passed on to the customers and absorbed in their ‘discretionary’ spending. It would also help mitigate the fiscal effects of the inevitable tax loss from the concessions granted of food and drinks to the hotels.

26. @Miller

Aren’t Haloute and Davis contributors to the campaigns of both political parties?

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | November 19, 2013 at 6:04 PM |

Do you think a fat tax (or to be more politically correct, healthy eating tax) would make a dent on the profits of Chefette or KFC? These businesses would simply pass it on without a trace of reduction in demand.

Bajans are “hooked’ on fast food and an extra 10% cost would be like a drop of water in the sea. Government needs to find imaginative ways of raising tax revenues in the coming dispensation. But not by way of additional taxes on the ownership of land (the only real asset black Bajans have) but on conspicuous consumption like fast foods and packaged goods and the excessive use of cell phones.

28. @Miller

We endorse and it would align with the national objective of healthy living.

29. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

How much longer can the PM keep Sinckler, the clown, as Minister of Finance without the PM starting to look like a man presiding over a circus?

30. Back in Time Jack
    BUT FUMBLE IS A CIRCUS BY HIMSELF EVEN THOUGH IT IS TRUE THAT HE PRESIDES OVER A CIRCUS
    NEVER HAS THERE BEEN SUCH A CIRCUS SEEN IN BARBADOS

31. @GP
    This guy would give the clever Foundation peeps a bad name!!!
    My friend that went to F ended up with a Rhodes Schol via HC and UWI.
    My cousin who went to F ended up with a Bdos Schol.

This guy has been inflicted on the Nation!

32. I WENT TO BFS TOO
    WAS TRANSFERRED AT THE FIRST COMMON ENTRANCE [OR SCREENING TEST]
    I WENT ON TO EVENTUALLY GET A BDOS EXHIBITION

FUMBLE GOT THREE FREE DEGREES FROM UWI…………NOW HE WANT POOR PEOPLE TO GO TO CAVE HILL.

AFTER GETTING THEIR DEGREES FREE AT UWI THE DLP KICKING DOWN DE LADDER FOR THE POOR PEOPLE OF BARBADOS

I LOVE TO BOAST TO MY AMERICAN STUDENTS THAT EDUCATION IS FREE FROM THE CRADLE TO THE GRAVE

AND THAT HEALTH CARE IS FREE IN A SYSTEM ]I DESIGNED] RUN BETTER THAT THE BRITISH SYSTEM

FUMBLE AND COMPANY WORSE THAN AIDS OR SARS OR ANY OF THE MOST WICKED INFECTIONS YOU WILL READ ABOUT IN MICROBIOLOGY TEXTS

THESE DISEASES MIGHT KILL A FEW PEOPLE BUT INFECTION WITH FUMBLE AND HIS CREW WILL INFECT GENERATIONS TO COME

33. @GP
    Why not tell us how you really feel? LOL

34. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

Seriously though, Sinckler is useless in the Ministry of Finance and the stark reality is he and everyone else knows it. We are tired of this clown and the economy cannot and will not improve with an idiot in Bay Street and an outpatient in the Central Bank.

35. @ANON,
    I will just remind you of CLICO and the EFPAs. I’ll also remind you of Allan Stanford, Rpert Murdoff, and Ponzi Schemes, and Pyramid schemes, and on and on.

36. GP said:
    “AFTER GETTING THEIR DEGREES FREE AT UWI THE DLP KICKING DOWN DE LADDER FOR THE POOR PEOPLE OF BARBADOS”

GP……a lot of good those free degrees did them, none of them have critical thinking skills, analytical skills, only skills the taxpayers are getting for paying for all that free education are LYING skills, something i hope they are not teaching at UWI unless it is law, but wait a minute, most of them ARE lawyers, so where did the non-lawyers, Sinckler et al, get all those lying skills from?

37. Well Well. | November 19, 2013 at 8:31 PM |
    a lot of good those free degrees did them

I CAN ONLY TELL YOU WHAT I USE MINE IN THE SERVICE OF BARBADOS

38. MoneyBrain | November 19, 2013 at 8:10 PM |
    Why not tell us how you really feel? LOL
    PLEASE…DO YOU WANT ME TO ILLUSTRATE WITH PICTURES PLEASE?

39. GP…………be glad you left Barbados or they might have reeled you in to their little enclave where your thought processes would have been forever screwed.

40. @GP
    I appreciate you would be very accurate in your detailed portrayal of the rectal parts with your background in Medicine! Probably do too fine a job!

Your real challenge would be removing the excrement from the cranial cavity.

41. OK MB PLEASE I WILL SIT TOMORROWAND PUT TOGETHER THE BEST PHOTOS FROM MY DATABASE THAT DEPICT THE DLP AND ITS MENDICANTS

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | November 19, 2013 at 8:19 PM |
    “@ANON, I will just remind you of CLICO and the EFPAs. I’ll also remind you of Allan Stanford, Rpert Murdoff, and Ponzi Schemes, and Pyramid schemes, and on and on.”

The men mentioned are all in jail. Lawrence Duprey, Leroy Parris and their henchmen are free as birds with some still dictating the decisions of government, as is the case in Barbados.

PS: We believe you meant Bernard Madoff. Don’t get mix up with Rupert Murdock the disgraced media tycoon.

43. Madoff was at least displaying full, plain and true disclosure in that he did Made Off with the peeps $$$$. LOL

44. i pick this column to write this as it seem most appropriate of the subjects i will bring up.no long talk.i have forward thinking mind capabilities.
    # 1/ AS THE BARBADOS GOVERNMENT IS STRAPPED FOR MONEY THEY
    WILL SOON SELL PRIVATE BEACHES.it is just a matter of time.!!!!!! as they already have practically.sell the beaches next…….why not?????
    #2 /where is the public entrance between glitter bay and royal pavilion hotels??
    is IT that washed away track that is extremely rocky and dangerous?
    and if that is the public entrance ,where do you park to go on that beach??????HUMMMMMMMMMM
    #3/ I ALWAYS WONDERED WHY DOES MOST PEOPLE WANT EXPENSIVE CARS TO DRIVE A FEW MILES?AND WATCH AMERICAN AND CANADIAN CHANNELS ON TV.i dont quite understand.
    a tropical paradise it used to be but we are making it in to a concrete jungle with prices for almost everything but rum almost the most expensive in the world????????keep the rum cheap /keep the masses stupid.!?could that be it?
    what do you think?
    #4 I BELIEVE BARBADOS IS ALREADY UNDER THE THUMBS OF 2 TO 4 ECONOMIC HIT MEN FROM DIFFERENT COUNTRIES.?
    #5 WHY DO BAJANS NOT HAVE THE ABILITY TO PROTEST THESE
    HEAVILY INFLATED PRICES AND JUST KEEP ON AND ON
    UNTIL THERE WILL BE NONE LEFT.!!!!!!!!!!
    JUST WONDERING.?
    OH YES, has any one heard of electric scooters.?????????
    that can take you all over the flatter parts of barbados for cheap and not pollute the air.AND DO NOT NEED ANY GAS OR DIESEL.
    MAY BE JUST SOME WD40 TO LUBE THE CHAIN. and could possibly be recharged with solar power.

45. “TES is a truly wonderful conference. It brings together people with different ideas, experiences and solutions. I have enjoyed it immensely.”
    Like to experience this time too, then dont look back to be a part of <a href="http://www.realshoppee.com/Products/TIE/TIE/TIE-Summit/pid-4694633.aspx&quot; TiE Entrepreneurial Summit 2013

46. i do not understand why most of you just ignore my post as they are true and exactly why barbados is how it is.but i know what is what.
    want to ignore me go ahead.but you will see.
    just by the way this was on msn from usa this morning of course it is already gone but i got the link to further proof that something or someone had to make earth and us.GOD COMES TO MIND.spaceships will go and the trillions of kabillions of tax payers money spent as the foolish Americans and who ever
    try to find what is out there.hello.[ there is nothing out there.]
    could we not use that money to feed the people wandering the streets in a society that a mans mind and body was not built to be in.thus stress so difficult it drives us mad in the millions and continues…………….unfocused!
    see link here——http://www.hngn.com/articles/17851/20131121/stephen-hawking-god-particle-says-discovery-makes-physics-boring-and-that-humans-cannot-survive-on-earth-for-more-than-1-000-years.htm

47. proof of god.
    this is what barbados needs . but is yet to find……….
    http://youtu.be/57UDyHOW6fc

48. bob Marley was definitely a prophet. we bajans do not follow the teachings of this once in a life time prophet.other artist like rush have seen the light also ……why cant all of us?????????????
    some songs written by various artist are prophetic pieces of the future but you must open your ears to it. not just bump and grind crap.which has no meaning.
    and is therefore useless noise.but that all bajans hear nasty ,stupid lyric’s and possibly try to follow them./kill whitey,funk the bitches,kill police is all in rap and crap,crop over songs, music.it is demonic and causes the masses to behave in a demonic manner. can you not see the truth????????

49. miller,
    We all said at the time that Irene Sandiford Garner was flying a kite when she went after the barrel trade. They intend to tax the people of this country to death but is giving Butch Stewart every conceivable concession that exists. The more they tax, the less they collect! How sensible!

But is it not passing strange that Barbados has been down graded again and we have not heard a word from the Minister of Finance, the PM or the Governor of the Central Bank? What manner of men are these?