Submitted by Rickford Burke

It is with deep sorrow that I convey to our Caribbean Community that our good friend George Whitehead, aka Gandhi, of Barbados – proprietor of “Slope Auto Sounds” on Utica Ave, has died. Gandhi was an avid cricket fan, committed community and social activist, member of the Progressive Democratic Political Association and a humanitarian. We will miss his entrepreneurial spirit, kindness and activism. His funeral will be held on Monday, October 28, from 6 p.m to 9 p.m at St. Gabriel’s Episcopal Church, Hawthorne St. (between Nostrand and New York Avenues).

I extend my sincere condolences to his wife Emily and to the rest of his family and friends May his soul RIP!

24 responses to “Remembering George Whitehead, aka Gandhi – Barbadian”

1. Knew Gandhi briefly about 40yrs ago in Bim, a good guy who really excelled in NY. RIP.

2. Could the author submit a photo if possible…I do recall a guy nicknamed Gandhi….had white hair and was very fit….used to do gymnastics I think…..could this be the same gentleman

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

R. I. P. Gandhi.

We grew up together in Tudor Bridge. He was always a very outgoing and friendly guy willing at every turn to help whoever he could.

Mia would know him very well, he grew not too far from her grandfather who lived at the corner of Eckstein Village.

4. Onions your comment was the funniest of all…….why i almost thought you were describing MIA mottley LOL

5. however on a serious note,,,, judging from the positive feed back i wish i had met this person …may he rest in PEACE,,,,,

6. tHERE IS OF COURSE ANOTHER GANDHI, A DELIGHTFUL CHAP WHO DIGS GRAVES AT ST MATTHEWS, ST GEORGES ST JUDES INTERALIA

7. Yes GP. That Ghandi is a character and fitted well in the mould of another great gravedigger, Straffi who worked at St George’s church. I wonder how many of the BU regulars remembers Straffi?

8. Ghandi as he was known was the step brother of MAM?

9. Really? There must be a story there. Want to tell it?

10. MAM in her speech revealed this n her speech today.

11. Win some loose some Avatar
    Win some loose some

His. Brother Tony who passed away before him they were both very nice and social type people, May He Rest In Peace

12. Common sense is not common Avatar
    Common sense is not common

Would that be Tony Whitehead an indian looking guy who owned the gas station on whitepark road?

How was ghandi Mia’s step brother.Was he Amor or elliot’s outside child?

Are you sure you want to say step brother?

13. Step brother can simply mean That Ghandi was close to the Mottley family.

14. If so, It shows that familial connections in Barbados takes several twists and turns. Some of the connections wud tun yuh hed.

15. Yes, Tony was Gandhi’s older brother.

16. I first met George Whitehead over 30 years ago while he was working at Phil’s Auto Radio in Brooklyn. George was an accomplished 12V technician and I was working part time as a stock boy and attending Brooklyn College. Thru the years we remained friends though he was married with kids and I was single and on my own….we traveled in different circles. Later on George opened his own store in Park Slope and I began to grow in the 12V industry on the sales & distribution end of the business. Fast forward to 2002 and the company that we had both worked for in the late 80’s (that I still worked for) closed down due to a tragic and untimely passing of the owner. Having my own family to provide for by this time I took a lateral position outside of the 12V industry, meanwhile I tried to network my way back to the 12V industry. In early 2007 I got a call from the VP of Sales at Directed Electronics, a leading 12V security & convenience vendor and they wanted a face to face meeting….I had applied to this company several times and never heard from them, but now out of the blue…a meeting. I was hired for the position and retain that position to this day. When I asked the VP of sales, why he had called me at this time and not any other time when I was actively pursuing the position, he told me that George Whitehead from Slope Sounds a valued authorized Viper dealer told him that I was the right man for the job….he remembered me, after all that time had passed and I had practically given up, he remembered how miserable I was…stuck in a job that I didn’t like because I had responsibilities, a family to provide for….he remembered me!
    Here is to remembering George Whitehead, I will never forget the man you were or the impact you had upon my life.

Rest easy my friend, may you find peace now.

Link to photo–> http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f219/Bobnstuf/iPhonepics115_zps31da7732.jpg

17. @Bob H
    Thanks for the info. Please if you or someone else could give us more details about George’s life in NY and why he passed that would be great.

18. Thanks for your wonderful tribute Bob.

19. @BOB H.

What a great testimony to GEORGE WHITEHEAD a man who made a difference in your live and god knows how many others he touched , truly an extraordinary man who taught little of nothing doing extraordinary things for others,,

20. Labor Day in NY was no Labor Day if we weren’t liming by slopes auto sounds. Our Labor Day began right there as they prepared the truck to march down eastern parkway. Ghandi and the crew did a remarkable job over the years. I was extremely shock to hear of his passing. We will never know all the answers. Time will heal it all Thanks for all the good memories George 🙁

21. Knew Ghandi since he was about 12 years old. Had some of the best times at his house with him, Ed, Chi Chi, Pat and Gladdy.
    He almost convinced me that hair removal cream was actually hair pomade. It was a sad day for me when he left Barbados for the USA.
    R.I.P Whitehead.
    Andy.

22. An impressive share, I just given this onto a colleague who was performing somewhat analysis on this. And he in reality bought me breakfast given that I discovered it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to discuss this, I really feel strongly about it and really like reading even more on this topic. If achievable, as you turn into expertise, would you mind updating your weblog with a lot more details? It can be highly beneficial for me. Huge thumb up for this weblog post!
    isabel marant shoes outlet http://www.isabelmarantworld.com/

23. Wow most of my family is on here. My grand father James whitehead

24. To those that mentioned Tony Whitehead could you please email me any details of his death. My friend was good friends with him and lost touch. gawells2011@gmail.com Thank you