Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

If I had to make a short list for our tourism policymakers, in an attempt to influence positive change, it probably might end up as quite a long list, but two pleas would be at the top.

Number One is to avoid making heady predictions, when even at the outset, any informed opinion indicated there was very little, if any possibility they would become true. Secondly, please do not use the word success when referring to a promotion or initiative, before there is at least clear evidence that it is, or will become one.

The second booking deadline of the Barbados Island Inclusive (BII) programme has just passed, since it was originally launched on 29th April. To refresh your memory, $11 million was allocated for BII to ‘bring an additional 15,000 tourists to our shores, with a total spend of BDS$30 million’ by issuing free spending vouchers’. The critical word is ‘additional’.

In July it was ‘revealed that more than 5,000 tourists had taken advantage’ of the offer. However, since the BII became effective in early May, we have experienced a fall in long stay visitors during every month, so far this year. May was down 29 persons, June down 2,965, July down 3,318 (the lowest arrivals for that month in eleven years) and August* down 2,591. So a collective decline for the four months of 8,903 people.

Therefore to boast ‘5,000 tourists’ have used the voucher may be true, but that does not in anyway reflect an accurate and fair picture of the current state of the industry.

One of our most senior tourism policymakers was quoted in the media on March 12 as stating ‘we are putting some programmes in place that we should end the year flat’. Even though the numbers were already down by over 10,000 long stay visitor arrivals at that stage, when compared with 2012. Well, here we are in the latter part of September and that number has climbed to over 26,000.

I cannot recall, at least in my 25 years actively involved in tourism on Barbados, that we have ever endured 17 consecutive months of visitor decline under any Government. And the very thought of ending the year ‘flat’, either reflects a massive disconnect with reality, or a severe attack of wishful thinking, which only may end in tears for some, but potential insolvency for others.

I also think ‘we’ need to look very carefully behind the economics of the Barbados Island Inclusive promotion. If all BDS$11 million is spent and that 5,000 jumps to 15,000 ‘additional’ visitors who spend BDS$30 million, that is an average per person subsidy of BDS$733. When you bear in mind that this is across all included durations of stay, and that subsidy figure has to take into account some visitors would have stayed as few as two nights.

There also appears that there is no effective way to confirm these are ‘additional’ visitors, as clearly various social media sites indicate the vouchers are being redeemed by many regulars. I am not saying for a minute that repeat visitors should not be rewarded, but in this case, is the result achieved only to dilute current earned revenue?

Simply put, could ‘we’ be spending more, to harvest less?

130 responses to “Managing the Tourism Industry By the Numbers”

1. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

And we all know that was PM ‘Fumble’ Stuart and not *Start*

2. When the E11 broke, BU posted the view that it had its genesis in the dissatisfaction which many in the parliamentary group had with Stuart and his genetic sloth treating with public service issues. This has seeped into the private sector. The nature of the marketplace calls for a more energetic approach.

3. onions i warning you tek them ears off the ground,, last time i warn you but you did not listen and yuh see what happen…..de shame on you not ac,,,, lol
    and looka dat ac even give you a vote pity i can’t tek it back…… but dat politics ,,,,politricks….

4. GB ! ouch i think my response did hit you in the cahooness ,cause uh neva respond,,, anyhow since we are talking about five years from now i will bet that in political years the possiblity of the world economies getting stronger is good and the impact on BArbadoswould be the game changer especially now it seems that Europe economy is strengthing,, so to look at what is happening at present with our economy does not give a realistivc view for the future , however i will take your bet and say the dlp would be given another Chance,,,

5. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

President of the BCCI also said that the laying off of 200 Lime workers is good for the workers!

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

How come that missed you?

7. THE DLP KNOWS HOW TO BUY VOTES
    SO AS A LOYAL DLP SUPPORTER SAYS : WE KNOW TO CHEAT AND WE WILL CHEAT

8. Dems Now! Dems Again! Avatar
    Dems Now! Dems Again!

@Just Asking Foolishness
    The BLP was the group trying to BUY votes in the last election. Santia Bradshaw would not be in Parliament if not for the thousands upon thousands spent by Mr. Hoyos.
    Dale Marshall by far the worst representative in Parliament depends upon his friend George Payne’s money to help save his backside despite being in a traditional BLP stronghold.
    Ask Mia Mottley who was the person giving Arthur Holder money to pass out next door in Bush Hall.

Finally, ask the question of whose phones were tapped and ask Dottin and Mottley to testify under oath about their knowledge of such.
    This opposition is big on public relations and artificial rubbing shoulders charades but does not put forward one credible solution for the way forward in Barbados.
    The only thing you can depend on them to do is to find the nearest camera and “POSE”.

9. Dems now..man you laff-a-bull …cuz bull is all we getting frm ur likes……but people cant afford your laff in these days. Elections dunn gone, but you so poorakey for lil distractions to adjunct the public from the morass we occasioning, that you come in here bringing your trite……Question is how comes these million dollarmen cud still be drawing $ 17,000 and got plans to cut the QEH budget, by $30 million, sending home 4000 workers, [cant even open St John polyclinic], but flying all bout to Los Angeles , Canada and the UK pun weekends…best of all I see that the minister who couldn’t write a cheque to KFC or Cheffete for a $13 snack box, now driving bout BIG Audi…. but that is annuda stamps issue well worthy to your offerings piled up down Paradise in the ghost town once call Four seasons…

Dems now fa real doa don’t you think the good citizens of this country deserving of better? This is PISS POOR man……shiite when the gully out !

10. Oh by the way…..better is subjective….even that I willing to accept.

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Onions

You really miss your Knighthood!

12. Carson
    How waana could look the DEM people in face.now after all these lies to DEM?
    Now I hear Bus fares gine up ? Man waana ent got nah shame at all?…Where d bus riding pensioner Ad?.. She next right? PISS POOR Carson….shame on you all !

13. onions life isn’t static boy today u make a plan with honest intentions tomorrow the environment changes and you have to adjust. If you doubt me ask Obama. Hell ask Mia before Arthur accuse her of thieving the BLP money and kick her out with the help of Payne and Marshall. Then looka muh crosses tie tongue Eddie Hinckson get up at a big able leadership meeting and call Payne a notorious thief who should be in Dodds. See how things change onions. By the way we know phone tap Dottin’s case not doing well what’s the latest on Payne’s case against Hinckson the man who boasting he will the next leader of the Bees.

14. You call that your excuse?…..stupes fa trute….Packa lacaka man…..tell that to those who believe you…yardfowls like Carson and ac…..I cud direct you to an IMF report way back…asking for bus fares to be increased….now you come in hay talking mo dog…..

15. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

Do you really believe that Donville Inniss is in a position to feel the anguish of temporary workers in Barbados? Inniss said “there may have been misinterpretations of Government’s policy and that has led to a level of uncertainty among public workers, particularly the temporary ones … I certainly wish to empathise with them because it can’t be good to know that you get up on mornings to go to work with a fear that you may be send home or don’t know when your next day will be.”

16. Ian Gooding-Edghill of the BLP challenged the government to deny if bus fares will be going up, it is up to the MoT to confirm or deny.

17. Igrunt GB do you know of any where in The world that a job is guaranteed. the BLP has no issues and evryday beat the drum of Fear. i think wunna message has run aground and the people have started to steupse…..steupse .wunna need to go back to the drawing board and start afresh. Doom and gloom not gonna hekp wunna win the next . election. people looking fuh answers. BTW Euroope is recovering. Look out the beast head is about to be cut off

18. David you might find this “interesting”.

http://www.indexmundi.com/barbados/economy_profile.html

19. Incompetence /Barbados -never used tobe
    politically /But
    Times are serious
    Cantankerous/ dangerous
    only in the father /to put trust
    paradigm shift
    not the same
    no blame /yes blame
    myopia
    crisis mentality
    city nights
    $60 for what/
    will I get food/clothes-Tee shirt maybe
    $60 for what
    Economically/ stagnant
    creative ideas/lacking
    MPs want sacking
    it sad and getting more bad
    Capitalism gone mad
    or politicians gone bad
    thanks Sparrow/thanks Admiral Nelson
    Keep the music flowing/–10:08
    Monday September 30

20. Carson C. Cadogan | September 29, 2013 at 6:33 PM |

Well Well

Are ADRIAN LOVERIDGE’s new gate keeper?

One time whenever I comment on ADRIAN articles “miller(uncle tom)” would respond within seconds and it would appear that the Gate Keeper’s job has been passed onto to you.

Congratulations, I hope that ADRIAN invites to his INN for your Supper before you leave town and if you have already left Town then I hope you enjoyed your Supper.

Carson………….stop trying to change the subject and deal with the issues at hand, the stench emanating from the environs of Bridgetown has nothing to do with Adrian, it’s the ‘patriots’ like yourself who see it fit to pee all over the city in true ‘macho’ style that is the problem. The ‘patriots’ who litter all over the island and dump indiscriminately, allow bush to overcome the island, your DLP ministers ‘patriots’ who allowed the mosquito problem to get out of control…that is the problem, you cannot blame anyone else particularly St. Lucia, Bermuda etc, for Bajans ‘patriots’ not looking after their own island.

It could and should be an easy fix, i am yet to see one minister(s) deciding to do something in good faith about the above, where is the legislation in place to be enforced rigidly for the ‘macho’ pissers, litterers, dumpers/patriots?? exactly what does the minister for the environment do, is that a joke job, has the minister seen a bribe yet that he does not want to take? I can go on all day, it is time to clean up the island, paying lip service to the word patriot will clearly not cut it, you have to be seen doing patriotic things, being a yardfowl/pimp is not being patriotic, that is being self-serving.

21. Sadly, as soon as the FACTS become indisputable, some partisan hacks attempt to move the goalposts to detract attention from the actual issues.

These are the FACTS.

In 2012, of the 25 Caribbean reporting countries to the CTO, 19 reported an increase in long stay visitor arrivals. 4 reported a decline of 1.8 per cent or less. Grenada reported a fall of 5.1 per cent and BARBADOS led the way with the highest DECLINE of 5.5 per cent.
    Simply put, of the 25 reporting countries, BARBADOS recorded the worst performance.

We need some urgent solutions and changes in policy direction.

22. @Hants

Read the link on the weekend and but like everything it must be placed in context.

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“Ian Gooding-Edghill of the BLP”

Is this the same Ian Gooding-Edgill who the electorate rejected at the just completed polls here in Barbados Feb. 2013?

Is this the same loser?

Misery loves compay, a man with an INN that has not grown in size in the last ten years trying to tell a Black Government how to run Barbados.

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Am I the only one who finds this really hilarious?

25. NO THE FELLOW WHO HORNED THE TAXI MAN AGREES WITH YOU

26. I find it funny , it is like a self fulfilling prophesy. once Britain’s prayers were answered and its colonies became independent, and started to rule themselves it was only a matter of time before we entered the death spiral phase for business. and the country itself. What is really peculiar is how some of these businesses have been able to hold on so long. So again CCC yes I find it hilarious that good advise is overlooked because of color yet you will go hat in hand to the same white, or yellow devils to bail you out.

27. Carson Cadogan is a BORE

28. 14 August 2013 –

‘Minster of Finance Chris Sinckler today announced that effective October 1 the new VAT rate on accommodation in the hotel sector would be 7.5 per cent’.

‘Sinckler said in addition to the new VAT rate on accommodation, that from the start of next month direct tourism services would be brought in line with the accommodation counterparts at 7.5 per cent’.

29. I am genuinely happy to glance att this website posts ԝhich consists oof tons
    օf seful data, thanks for providing these kinds ߋf informɑtion.