Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

If I had to make a short list for our tourism policymakers, in an attempt to influence positive change, it probably might end up as quite a long list, but two pleas would be at the top.

Number One is to avoid making heady predictions, when even at the outset, any informed opinion indicated there was very little, if any possibility they would become true. Secondly, please do not use the word success when referring to a promotion or initiative, before there is at least clear evidence that it is, or will become one.

The second booking deadline of the Barbados Island Inclusive (BII) programme has just passed, since it was originally launched on 29th April. To refresh your memory, $11 million was allocated for BII to ‘bring an additional 15,000 tourists to our shores, with a total spend of BDS$30 million’ by issuing free spending vouchers’. The critical word is ‘additional’.

In July it was ‘revealed that more than 5,000 tourists had taken advantage’ of the offer. However, since the BII became effective in early May, we have experienced a fall in long stay visitors during every month, so far this year. May was down 29 persons, June down 2,965, July down 3,318 (the lowest arrivals for that month in eleven years) and August* down 2,591. So a collective decline for the four months of 8,903 people.

Therefore to boast ‘5,000 tourists’ have used the voucher may be true, but that does not in anyway reflect an accurate and fair picture of the current state of the industry.

One of our most senior tourism policymakers was quoted in the media on March 12 as stating ‘we are putting some programmes in place that we should end the year flat’. Even though the numbers were already down by over 10,000 long stay visitor arrivals at that stage, when compared with 2012. Well, here we are in the latter part of September and that number has climbed to over 26,000.

I cannot recall, at least in my 25 years actively involved in tourism on Barbados, that we have ever endured 17 consecutive months of visitor decline under any Government. And the very thought of ending the year ‘flat’, either reflects a massive disconnect with reality, or a severe attack of wishful thinking, which only may end in tears for some, but potential insolvency for others.

I also think ‘we’ need to look very carefully behind the economics of the Barbados Island Inclusive promotion. If all BDS$11 million is spent and that 5,000 jumps to 15,000 ‘additional’ visitors who spend BDS$30 million, that is an average per person subsidy of BDS$733. When you bear in mind that this is across all included durations of stay, and that subsidy figure has to take into account some visitors would have stayed as few as two nights.

There also appears that there is no effective way to confirm these are ‘additional’ visitors, as clearly various social media sites indicate the vouchers are being redeemed by many regulars. I am not saying for a minute that repeat visitors should not be rewarded, but in this case, is the result achieved only to dilute current earned revenue?

Simply put, could ‘we’ be spending more, to harvest less?

130 responses to “Managing the Tourism Industry By the Numbers”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Loveridge

And by what means would the Ministry of Tourism be able to tell this?

They are unable as of today to get a report from the immigration department which gives accurate data on arrivals and departments furthermore to determine if vouchers are being redeemed by new visitors or old visitors, where and with what frequency

2. Carson………..i thought you would be down Adrian’s throat by now, what happened?? Too much shame and scandal in the family?? remember that calypso?? Carson don’t disappoint me.,..

3. Adrian……..Carson can’t be bothered with you today, head hot.

4. um i belive adrian 15mins of fame on BU has ended,,,,,,,,,,Adrian don’t forget to turn the lights off when u leave,,,,,,,,,,,,

5. Adrian, if you we’re appointed Minister of Tourism today, what measures would you immediately implement to improve tourism arrivals?

6. Michael,
    I would form a National Marketing Committee which would hopefully attract the very best marketing brains, irrespective of political leanings. With 17 consecutive months of long stay visitor decline, it is NOT going to be a quick fix band-aid solution. It has to be clear by now to anyone in the industry that the status quo is NOT working with the current leadership.

7. Interesting was T&T advertising on the boundary boards at the Cricket Champions League Twenty 20 in India. Even the non traditional tourist market have raised their game.

8. David,

I noticed that too and the interview with Brian Lara enticing more Indians for India and the diaspora. They must think its cost-effective. Mumbai to Port of Spain is a pretty daunting 8,725 miles (15 flying hours), but I believe one of the Middle Eastern airlines could be encouraged to operate a limited service with a stop in Dubai or Oman.

9. Carson……….explain why for the 2nd consecutive year B’dos failed to capture the prestigious world travel award despite numerous nominations, but Jamaica continues to dominate the awards despite all the murder and mayhem between 1994 to present, except 2003 and 2005 when Barbados won the awards, i noticed that the awards were never won under DLP leadership, now tell me why.

10. @Adrian

If the Caribbean governments were on the same page there is a lot that might be accomplished if we worked together. Do you know how many Indians are more familiar with Sir Gary, 3 Ws etc? Barbados would resonate as a place to visit more than many of the other islands, therefore if Trinidad were to market a package it would be more appealing to the cricket crazed Indian.

11. DD apologizes for his long windedness

Adrian Loveridge | September 25, 2013 at 6:29 AM |

“I would form a National Marketing Committee which would hopefully attract the very best marketing brains, irrespective of political leanings. With 17 consecutive months of long stay visitor decline, it is NOT going to be a quick fix band-aid solution. It has to be clear by now to anyone in the industry that the status quo is NOT working with the current leadership.”

DD does not understand the need form yet another statutory corporation or PPP.

Why not fire all the brains at BTA whose management has contributed to the 17 months of decline.

The last evidence of promotion that I have seen in Toronto in 2013 was the 26 year-old Breakfast in Barbados giveaway promotion, apparently a joint promotion of BTA and radio station 104.5 CHUM-FM. In this contest/promotion BTA/CHUM brings 60 lucky listeners (plus BTA/CHUM entourage) each year for a week of sea, sand, sun and fun in April. See:

http://www.totallybarbados.com/barbados/Entertainment/Barbados_Events/Breakfast_in_Barbados/Breakfast_in_Barbados_2013/

And, why not replace the brains with the very best marking brains, irrespective of their nationality. Surely there are marketing experts in London, New York or Toronto who could help steer the ship back on course.

I do not think Sandals only employs only Jamaicans to run its apparently highly successful promotional machine.

This is from the MOF’s recent budget speech.

Government proposes over the next eighteen months to expend an additional US50 million dollars in marketing and promotional activities of the BTA starting with our traditional source markets and working our way into some of the newer growth areas. US $13 million of this will go immediately to settle all liabilities of the Authority with the balance earmarked for a new aggressive marketing and airlift support programme to be unveiled by the BTA in the coming weeks. These funds will be sourced from a proposed US$100 million fiscal Policy Based Loan to be negotiated with the IADB later this year

I hope I am wrong, but reading between the lines, it sounds to me like BTA simply has no money to pay $13 million of accounts payable, let alone to pay for new advertising/promotion, and will have to wait until Government gets the (to be negotiated) $100 million form IADB to settle its liabilities.

If this is correct, the tourism operators have to step up.

While much of the promotion and advertising cost may have been borne by BTA in the past; all of the responsibility cannot be laid wholly at the feet of the taxpayers.

Where are the hotels own advertising? They too are virtually invisible in Toronto media.

I am not a marketing, sales, promotion or advertising guy; so please excuse my ignorance.

Sandals/Beaches advertises properties in St. Lucia, Turks &Caicos, Antigua and Grenada at least weekly, and often more than once a week in Toronto newspapers, Globe and Mail and Toronto Star.

I think it reasonable to assume that the same is the case with Sandals advertising in New York, Chicago, Miami and London media.

I recently picked up a copy of the Fall 2013 edition of Dreamscapes, a Canadian Travel and Lifestyle magazine. See it at
    http://www.dreamscapes.ca Sixty four pages of advertising and advertiser paid travel articles. I can see only one mention of a Barbados property – The Sandpiper. And that is included, with 3 other Caribbean properties, in a quarter-page ad of Resorts to the Best, “a Canadian company representing unique, intimate luxury hotels and villas in the Caribbean, Europe, Mexico and the USA.” http://www.resorttothebest.com So total Barbados exposure of about 1/10th of a page in a 64 page magazine, that includes a full page Air Canada Vacations Grand Paladium Jamaica ad, a two page Sandals Emerald Bay ad, and a full page US Virgin Islands ad.

It almost seems like the Barbados government and hotel operators are just waiting for guests of past years to pick up the phone to make a reservation for this year.

But the numbers confirm that strategy is not working.

So why do Barbados properties not advertise

There are obviously some in the tourism business in the Caribbean who believe there is value in advertising.

The hotels simply must advertise.

The reality is that every consumer who responds to the ads of competitors is one less potential consumer to spend a vacation in Barbados. People who have had less than a stellar experience in Barbados, will look for other places to spend their next Caribbean vacation. And they will return to those other places if they have a good experience. They will be lost to Barbados. They will return to Jamaica, Bahamas, St. Lucia, Antigua, Turks & Caicos, Grenada, and to Mexico, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Belize and Panama.

The train is hurtling down the hill and the speed of the downward trip will only accelerate if something is not done to reverse its course.

.Finally, back to your suggestion to attract the very best marketing brains. Consider hiring a Sandals marketing/promotional professiional.

The solution is beyond DD’s pay grade, but clearly a solution must be found NOW

12. Carson…………i am waiting for you on a thread Alvin was on earlier today it is above this one, i think it’s the George Brathwaite thread.

13. What is the status of the 10 point plan which was articulated by the MoT in July this year?

14. DD,

Several points you raised. The National Marketing Committee would not be another statutory or Government entity, but unpaid dedicated volunteers. YES! the hotels have to do more to market themselves, but that takes money and I doubt many of our hotels are awash with funds currently. I would like to see more co-operative marketing, like when I persuaded the three largest villa rental agencies to jointly produce and insert full page colour ‘ads’ in leading travel magazines. I also think this could be done with our boutique hotels and a collective high quality video made. Like Atlantis and Little Good Harbour has done, but including ALL our boutique hotels.

The US$13 million to ‘settle all BTA liabilities’. I am not sure what this means, as US$15 million plus arrangement fees and other associated costs are owed to Carnival Corporation alone, after the disaster of CWC2007 and the chartering of Carnival Destiny.

And the often wide spread ill-informed comments that our tourism industry does NOT spend money on marketing their products is frankly a load of rubbish. Two years ago, Sue Springer of the BHTA quoted a figure of $45 million was spend that year by the private sector. In reality that is probably MORE than the BTA spends annually on hard marketing after all their administration and associated costs. It might be a bit more difficult now for the private sector, due to a 50 per cent increase in land taxes,72 per cent increase in electricity, 60 per cent increase in water and 16.6 per cent increase in VAT, amongst others.

Look at the video David posted with the Ten Point Plan. How many of those 10 points have been successfully implemented?

We are now 3 working days before the reduced rate of 7.5 per cent VAT is supposed to take effect (1st October – next Tuesday).
    Yet another broken promise.

1) Tourism Master Plan 2) restructuring of the BTA 3) APD Voucher 4) Reduced rate of 7.5 per cent VAT on ‘hotel accommodation’ and DTS providers……………. shall I go on?

A rudderless ship with failed amateurs at the helm.

15. The PM stated in his interview in Toronto that he has no plan to reshuffle his Cabinate.

16. @David. are u disappointed…

17. The PM cannot reshuffle anything, the next chicken coup might work.

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | September 26, 2013 at 7:28 AM |

David will not be but both Sinckler and Estwick would be.
    Sinckler because his ass will still be in hot water when the begging spree he is on proves fruitless and he is forced into the hands of the bailiffs the lender or loan shark of last resort. Let him go down in history as the first Minister of Devaluation.

Estwick is advised to stay clear of that ministry for the time being until after the IMF arrangements are put in place. He might be disappointed in being the Minister of Finance with great potential that never was but can always basked in the glory of being the greatest shadow Minister of Finance.

19. One would have thought that a PM should hold unwaveringly hold the whip over the heads of his cabinet

20. Looka uh miller unpatriotic bastard wake up early this money wishing bad things for your country about fruitless trees etc………Shame on you miller . Disgusting and naeseauting comments .anyhow such to be expected from a BLP yardfowl. now go read the 2006 budget and see how the fuits were wasted in that heavily laden and overflowing basket.Now our country must go knocking and begging at other peoples door step… GOD BLESS BARBADOS and PM STUART.

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well. | September 26, 2013 at 8:08 AM |

The man’s word is not worth the micrograms of CO2 expelled in delivering it.
    His mutterings on not divesting the GAIA is a joke. That is one of the first assets that the IMF would be looking at.
    Do Bajans really think that the government can get access to over US$ 1 billion in junk bond sales and loans to finance infrastructural projects without letting go of their remaining family silver?
    The NIS sold the majority of the shares in the country’s main electricity generation plant a genuine strategic asset. What is to stop them from divesting the air and sea ports?
    The Fumble’s word? Like his word to never ask Bajan students to pay UWI fees? Or no workers will be sent home from the public sector? Or the gurantee given to the CLICO policyholders they will get back their investments, at least the full face value of the principal?
    Or the little school boy he told he did not know the time of the general elections but had the unmitigated gall to subsequently claimed he knew the exact date from the time he became the boss man after DT passing?

The man is a liar and not to be trusted.

22. In todays newspaperv an international economist was praising Sandiford or his hard decision by not taking the IMF advice for devaluing the dollar even though it costv him the election. PM STUART would be idolised by the BLP in years to come for his hard work in sustaining an economy in the hardest of economic times in the same vein the BLP like to use Errol barrow to defend their position on UWI. the people would not be FOOLED

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | September 26, 2013 at 9:06 AM |
    Looka uh miller unpatriotic bastard wake up early this money wishing bad things for your country about fruitless trees etc………Shame on you miller

The miller does not hold a Bajan passport based on economic citizenship; at least not yet. But will be early in the queue to buy one to help launder some of the millions like Leroy Parris.
    Don’t bring the jingoistic shite talk around me. The miller did not sell the shares in the BL&P and removed and power to determine the role of that strategic asset to the country’s economic future. Neither did he sell the remaining shares in the BNB or closed down the sugar industry and about to decimate the local poultry industry.

When Stuart and his party of lying deceitful incompetents start managing the country properly and face reality of the pending privatization the miller might just shower praise and buy a passport.
    You have 6 more months to the end of the fiscal year. How are the cuts of over $400 million coming along with $66 million of the payroll but no one to go home? You can ask Carson to shed some light instead of looking at St. Lucia.

24. And milller if it should have to come down to your doom and gloom solution. The BLAME would be squarely and Fairly placed on the govt of fourteen years who in the 2006 budget stated that high fuel prices were having a negative effect on the economy and could lead to destablising. however the visionless captan OSA did nothing. so the country has arrived at the four cross.

25. I do not think that is a question of doom and gloom for many of us. Neither party has addressed WHY nearly 40 per cent of the eligible electorate chose NOT to vote in the last election. From a tourism stance, September 2012 recorded the lowest long stay visitor arrivals for that month (27,230) in TEN years. If anyone really believes that September 2013 is going to show a marked improvement, then they are living in cloud-cuckoo-land. It is what WE are doing about it to improve the situation that is important.

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Was the BTA any better when ADRIAN LOVERIDGE was a member?

Is PEACH AND QUIET any bigger or better than ten years ago?

There was a program on channel 109 last night talking about the Tourism Industry and what we have to offer, ADRIAN LOVERIDGE the self Appointed Minister Of Tourism was conspicuous by his absence, on the panel representing Barbados were Henry Fraser and Peter Eddy.

Go figure!

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

millertheanunnaki | September 26, 2013 at 9:25 AM

I am raising a pet Tortoise in my back yard, and that Tortoise has more sense than you in a Month of Sundays.

I read everything that you write in the vain hope that one day , one good day something that you write would make some sort of sense.

Up to this point in time you have bitterly disappointed me.

But I am not giving up on you. Even a broken clock is right twice per day.

Continue to enjoy your day, UNCLE TOM!!!!!!

28. As fuh the hotel industry the past govt had initiated a 10million dollar revolving loan account for the fat cats to refurbish and remodel fiftten years later the same hotel fat cats have nothing to show but continual belly aching and asking for more hand outs .plus added to the madness is the debt incurred to the balloning deficit through default by this sector and the taxpayers having to foot another bill .LAWD HAV MERCI

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | September 26, 2013 at 11:47 AM |
    “But I am not giving up on you. Even a broken clock is right twice per day.”

Thank you Daddy Tortoise for having more confidence in your pet tortoise than the business community, investors and lending agencies have in your administration.
    But you are right, the miller is indeed right twice a day.
    First when he says your boss is a blasted twisted-mouth lying incompetent ass and second when you are put in his place and the gong goes off:
    ‘Ding Dong Carson Dung, Ding Dong Carrion Ca Dog an’!

Your loyal consistent and dependable Grandfather Clock.

30. So what,s your problem…..People have a right not to vote.! Protest! and write “posion pen” articles like yours adrian and talk nuff sh.iit like “rat mout ” miller.this is a democracy and if yu don.t like it there is always the great white HOPE England or another banna republic like the ones yu used to help destroy the barbados econonmy. my friend

31. Carson…………the state department issued this morning a worldwide alert of caution for Americans, do you think they left out Barbados.

Miller…………..the party and PM are a running joke,

ac…….remember, God don’t wear pajamas and rather dislikes guilty party(ies) chanting the name in vain.

32. WHY is the MOT is so badly informed. He was just on the VOB929 news stating that the Thomson Dreamliner (B787) will only operate to TWO Caribbean destinations (one being Barbados). In fact it will be SEVEN.

http://airlineroute.net/2013/07/01/787current/

33. Maybe he reads BU. sorry ac just rpeating what the illinformed Ryan strughan said about BU.

34. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“I must confess that I seldom read your blog because in my view it’s not a place for person truly seeking information and better understanding.

Ryan Straughn(referring to Barbados Underground)

AC

You are right, maybe, the MOT is now getting his information from BU.

Also Ryan Straughn’s statement is not saying much for ADRIAN LOVERIDGER.

35. And carson u were spot on wid miller the grandfather of all “cuckoo CLOCKS ” broken arms and all .i think he was also the gran master of the 2006 budget cause it had nuff money that simply disappreared into a world of pretentious luxury and esay come easy go living.

36. @ac

Which is it, do you agree with Ryan Straughn’s graphs or not? You are on record that you don’t. Do you then selectively agree with Straughn that a forum to which you are logged on and comment more than ALL is not informative? Tell us.

The BU family of which you are obviously not a member can arrive at conclusions from your ‘body’ of comments. We have.

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | September 26, 2013 at 1:50 PM |

There is an outbreak of bird flu in Barbados. Next will be the swine flu from St. Vincent via LIAT.
    Whom are you going to blame this time? The white people, the international recession, Mother Nature or like the broken cuckoo clock good old dependable BLP and the grumpy old Uncle Tom Miller for his doom and gloom predictions?

You better pray the virus is soon contained since any pandemic warning which would mean no tourism season and the ‘Dreamliner’ would not even land to bring those joining Caribbean winter cruises.

38. Miller…………i remember years ago when SARS literally shut down Canada, just the threat, they better be careful with this H1N1 i believe it is………

39. @Miller

Actually the MoH is currently managing a ‘matter’ which is being bottled because if it hits the media god knows where it will lead given our heavy reliance on tourism. BU (for now) will wear our patriotic hat.

40. Maybe it already hit the media, just waiting on results now, should take a week, does not mean they will actually tell the public what the results are though, given their history of secrets and lies;

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/concern-about-spike-in-influenza-like-illnesses/

41. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ David, Adrian, and BU readers

10 Point plan? Do you really take the combination of Stuart, Sinckler, and Sealy seriously? All S’s and all sinking.
    That media exercise announcing the 10 point plan by Sealy was a sham, a show put on to distract Barbadians at a time when there was another negative change in terms of our ratings. 2 months ago, and we choose to forget?
    It has been smoke and screens, and this certainly is not what Barrow would have envisioned; but if Barbadians are comfortable or even feel satisfied with this the most incompetent Cabinet in Barbados (challenged only by the 2011-13 Cabinet). Stuart handpicked and endorsed these failures since February in spite of the colossal failures.

42. GEorge BRATHWAITE WHAT DE brass bowl did you just say up in here , boy you need to watch yuh P”S and Q”S will yuh at it dot your eyes and crossed yuh TEES caused one day coming soon all the gibberish you launched here on BU to attacked and curse the most distinguihed and respectable of any PM going bad to OSA you will be reminded of, Yu have become a street mongrel drooling mistruths and tainted misinformation from your frothing mouth. just check the amount of money and projects the BLP wasted and the amount of high debt they left for the taxpayer to pay off, Now the bills have come due and hell yes ac mad as a.sss having to pay them.

43. Hey u David yes ac talking to you and ponting my finger right in your face. Some nerve u got trying to blame me. .. Wuh the heck. couldn’t give a rats a.ss what Ryan straughan think apparantly u do,,,

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | September 26, 2013 at 7:11 PM |

You sound as if you have a rather serious case of swine flu which has the tendency to attack the meninges. You better check yourself into the nearest Health Centre. Try the St. John polyclinic aka DT Memorial Morgue opened just for you since December 2012.
    You are the one case that confirms “Just Asking” assessment of people from St. John. Now please don’t make Leroy Parris look like an Einstein.

Do like the Negroman and just like a swine called Carson Cadogan wallow in your dirty trough of pyrrhic electoral swill until the butcher arrives with the knife marked “Carved by Denis Lowe”.

45. When they start telling the truth to the taxpayers, they will see things starting to look better, different and run smoothly.

46. Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy has promised to introduce something called a Tourism Product Authority?

47. @ Carson

This year’s St Lucia Month has been hailed a success after recent visitor numbers to the island are indicating that the island’s tourism sector is on the road to recovery.

During St Lucia Month, over 500 staff members from 200 travel agents and 300 frontline tour operators received face-to-face training from the St Lucia Tourist Board to boost their knowledge on this lovely Caribbean holiday destination so they could efficiently promote St Lucia holidays to their customers.

48. CL > Bajans including CCC do not disrespect St. Lucia’s efforts what posters realize is the BLP and loose cannon Loveridge use ST. Lucia for their nefarious purpose. Mind you the BLP and Loveridge don’t give a rat’s botsy about SLU its only a stick to inflict blows on Bdos. Well Well for instance another retarded traitor uses Trinidad to diss her birth land. If St. Vincent gains traction in tourism same disloyals will switch to the ganja producing state to try to diminish BIM.

So don’t fuss Barbados has its work cut out and the resilient folk we are we will get it done.

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | September 27, 2013 at 9:21 PM |
    “Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy has promised to introduce something called a Tourism Product Authority?”

This would be just another layer of unnecessary bureaucracy to the already over-manned army of occupation. It also goes contrary to the policy announced by both the MoF and PM about merging, streamlining and eliminating statutory agencies with duplicating or seriously overlapping mandates as part of the government’s need to rationalize the public sector in its drive to restructure the economy.

Why is there a need for this additional authority when there is the Ministry of Tourism and the BTA already in place? What is required is for the BTA to be isolated as much as possible from political interference and ministerial involvement in the day-to-day management of the corporation. A well appointed Board reflecting the concerns of stakeholders and not the political yard-fowls along with professional managers are what the BTA deserves. Not another set of confusion of who does what and who is getting more funding than whom and who finds more favour with the MoT of the day.