The CLICO mess thickens

In the business section of BBC of 19 June 2013 there was a headline Deloitte gets one-year New York ban In the world of global finance it represented a routine report given the vagaries of how business is done today.  Then it dawned on the author to question – why is it regulators in Barbados are never driven to censor the entities which they regulate? Is the corporate climate in Barbados so  principled as to avoid the censure from those with oversight?

Then there is the association to be made between Deloitte,  who is the Judicial Manager of CLICO and PriceWaterhouse (PWC), who acted before as external auditors for CLICO Barbados. Why have we not been asking robust questions of PWC?   It seems all of the focus has been directed at Leroy Parris, and yes he should be held to account given his fiduciary role. However, if we want to fully prove what led to the demise of one of the largest privately own conglomerates in the Caribbean, we need to cast the net far and wide.

Under the Companies Act of Barbados CAP.308 Section 150-167, the external auditor derives wide powers to ensure the integrity of the financials of any company regulated under the Act. The realisation that the Deloitte CLICO Forensic Report established that there is a shortfall in the assets of CLICO of about 300 million dollars places PWC under the radar. PWC must be forced to answer whether the erosion of CLICO assets occurred during the period of the Oversight Body – headed by William Layne  – and immediately thereafter  or whether financials audited by PWC without notes were inaccurate. We must ask the hard questions. After all it is the taxpayers who are being asked to bail CLICO.

In a related development: the Deloitte Judicial Manager (JM) Patrick Toppin submitted their final report last week and to the surprise of many asked the court to seal the report. BU is on record that the CLICO mess will take years to unravel, this recent development confirms it. We may speculate why the JM has request the report to be sealed. From this distance there is one person who stands to benefit if the court agrees to the request.

BIPA has explained that the group is happy with what it was told by the JM this week. A picture of BIPA members with beaming was posted in the local press to confirm, missing was the lawyers who must be a tad happier.

94 responses to “CLICO: Is and Therefore”

1. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Crooks , Findings , Please , Nouns , Names of the crooks

2. Blaming Price Waterhouse is like blaming the doctor because you are sick.

Blaming Deloitte is like blaming the undertaker because you are dead.

Maybe CLICO died because the principals and their closest family, and friends sunk the company.

But if the court seals the audit we will never know. But if the court seals the audit it will seal the fate of the DLP. 15 or 20 years wandering in the political wilderness fa dem

While in the ZR this morning I saw Leroy Parris’ wife drive past in she big, new, posh car. So sign of suffering nor hardship there at all

Good thing I ain’t got na money in CLICO.

3. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Simple Simon@ GOOD THING, AND GOOD THING CLICO HAVE ANY MONEY IN CLICO, LOLOLOLOL

4. I have my life insurance and pension plan tied up in Britishsh American Insurance Company. These two companies have ripped off the people of Barbados and by extension the other Caribbean islands. ONLY IN THESE COUNTRIES CAN PEOPLE BEHAVE LIKE THIS.

There is a rumour that ALL the Caribbean governments have received money from Clico in some form or other. How do these criminals sleep at night. This is fraud at the highest level. Criminal behaviour and it seems no one give a damn. My grandmother always said. DAY DUZ RUN TILL NIGHT CATCH IT.

5. Both political parties in Barbados are responsible for this whole debacle.. “One can’t tell the other come back” The whole thing stinks to high heaven..

6. Wunnah know where Jordan is reported to be going to? PWC.
    Anyone willing to connect the dots?

7. I have always on BU, referred to the Arthur Anderson – Enron example and have always asked the question … never found it difficult. I asked Affra Raymond the same “Easy” question about spot lighting PWC in Trinidad and returned with an awfully technical response which as now escaped me.

The matter of “Autonomy” has to be defined, particularly in a country as small as Barbados, and the ability for the US to place “sanctions” on and to “freeze” the assets of other countries and individuals has to be made redundant …

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well as the old Bajans used to say, “better late than never”, finally Barbados Underground is putting the Audit Firm under scrutiny.

For years I was asking here on BU why is the Audit Firm being given a free pass in this issue.

Why was the Supervisor of Insurance given a free pass as well.

Simple Simon by his/her comment is demonstrating to the World that he/she does not understand the importance of the Audit process.

In short, if the Supervisor of Insurance and the Audit Firm had done their jobs properly there would not have been any CLICO debacle.

9. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Simple Simon

You don’t blame the doctor if you are sick: he is blamed if he administered or prescribed the wrong medicine that killed the patient. Also you don’t blame the undertaker if you are dead but he would get some blame if you turned up at the funeral and found that the corpse was stink, bloated and covered with flies.

Regulators and auditors have jobs to do and if a business fails because of their negligence, they should be blamed and suffer the consequences. That was the case in Barbados when there was a supervisor of insurance. That changed with the advent of the Financial Services Commission, when the law was changed to give the FSC a free pass if they were found to be negligent.

10. old onion bags Avatar

@ June Fowler

What ever became of the promise by Govt to repay Clico pensioners?…
    Well we better off believing in Santa Claus and Giants descending Green Bean stalks and Hens laying Golden eggs now…..given the up-coming budget and the terrible pills prescribed to swallow…..WE GO HAVE TO FIGHT TOOTH -n-NAILS for anything….Poor Mr. Barrack……another 5 years in hell…..your new name sir shall be El Promised.

11. “the Financial Services Commission, when the law was changed to give the FSC a free pass if they were found to be negligent” … Oh. I could use a heads up right about now

12. And Caswell there is no need to stress the point that a weak governance system does not absolve individuals from operating at required standards, ethical behaviour and all the fiduciary roles which is expected.

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

For those who wrongly believe that focusing on the Audit Firm is a waste of time, you are simply demonstrating your naivety.

The work of the Audit Firms is crucial in verifying the sanctity of Companies Accounting Statements which they propose to submit to the Treasury of Barbados.

We are not out of the woods as yet either. For years a high level officer of Sagicor was stealing money from that company. Barbadians have lots money deposited in one way or another in Sagicor. However for some strange reasons the company’s internal Control Systems failed to detect this leakage. Also the Audit Firm that works for Sagicor failed to spot it either. The Audit Firms are supposed to go over Company Finanacial Statements with a fine tooth comb. Even if there is a hint of something fishy they are required by law to make this known and blow the whistle loud and long and they are supposed to refuse to sign off on the final Statements of the company. This in turn raises red flags in the Government. this obviously was not done, or if it was done then it was ignored by the relevant Government Department in oversight.

I know what I am talking about I worked with Audit Firms for years and they can give you grey hairs in places where you didn’t know that you had hairs. And this is as it should be. It shows that they are doing their jobs properly.

We have a real problem if we discover that Audit Firms are signing off on Financial Statements that they know are wrong, wrong.

This ought to undermine confidence. Bajans ought to be asking if this has now become the norm here in Barbados and if so may God help us.

CLICO may just be the first of many.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

WE ARE ON THE RIGHT TRACK.

Onions is trying to switch the conversation!!!!!

15. old onion bags Avatar

@ Carson
    Well as the old Bajans used to say, “better late than never”, finally Barbados Underground is putting the Audit Firm under scrutiny.
    Did the audit firms take the money?….Stop the theatrics nah, When last you read an auditors report…..the auditors report says : “Our responsibility is to express an opinion on these statements based on our audit..we plan and perform the audit to obtain reasonable assurance about whether the financial statements are free of material misstatements.”

The auditor does not set out to discover theft or fraud.If there is the slightest indication in their Test of Controls (control risk),they will not proceed with the audit. The cost associated with an audit failure see to this.The auditor does not examine ALL transactions but thru statistical sampling proceeds with selection…

With a big Co like Clico …they will not be able to spot evathing esp. $3.3 x 3 mil easily moving thru the back door

16. old onion bags Avatar

@ CCC
    esp. $3.3 x 3 mil easily moving thru the back door

How is that for right direction?

17. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar

Anne @ We will try to help all we can as we do our work , We are sorry for those who trust crooks in high and low places.
    We all need to remember and lets not get caught up with new companies under different names with the same owners.
    Soon others may join us in this work , and things will go faster and better once they believe the the path we are going , Many believe lies and now they dont want to believe our truth , WHY AND HOW THINGS GOT THIS WAY. The Roots of all things in Barbados.We will stay on the path of truth until more people can see the light.We will keep the light o for you.

18. What constitutes the assets of an insurance company?

Should any external auditor be equipped through examination of the asset register, board books and other avenues be able to detect if about 300 million is missing from the balance sheet of a medium size company?

Even if it was not detected in the risk tools applied AND not reflected in the Board minutes, who to blame.

19. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

BAFBFP

The Governor-General gave the law his assent on December 21, 2010 and it was brought into force by proclamation in April 2011.

20. old onion bags Avatar

Is only of recent that we came to learn of the colossal tentacles of the GIANT Caribbean Octopus CLICO, spanning many localities and sub companies….

To answer you YES ..in a medium size company….which CLICO is not…$ 300 Mil should be spotted… if they operated with due diligence and cutting no corners..but here lies the twist… if at all times running the full mile,
    Many times auditors become to ‘in bed’ (comfortable) with clients…they receive additional business (management services) and will keep on good.terms with their clients…sometimes letting their guard down.Not saying such was the case….but this was the verdict in the Enron audit failure and others…. the need for exemplary independence at all times was not upheld.

21. ole onions somtimes u need to change u diaper. focusing on a drop of the millions of dollars lost across the board is foolishness. the question is how and why did the company go belly up leaving thousands of people having no recourse of getting any of their money back. the 3million is driven by a bunch of political gas bags who are dumb and ignorant of all the facts and would rather close their eyes to the avariciousness and the greed at the top. PWC had a responsibility to lay out all the facts and rely them to the judicial managers and govt of the day, Clico is a story of LIES ! CoverUP and corporate interest protecting their own. while throwing the small guy to the lions fuh people like to u tear away at the flesh while they remain invisible disappearing out the backdoor.

22. Cas

It is the “free pass if they were found to be negligent” thing that you could help me with

23. old onion bags Avatar

@ Ac
    Sweetttttt…..(I want my money back as well)…..BUT can you prove it?…the format shall be…. the expected terms and conditions set out within the Auditors report, the Engagement letter and the Clients representative letter….what is understood between parties as to the scope of the audit…..in short the CONTRACT…. conjecture no..nothing else.

24. old onion bags Avatar

For those who so more interested in understanding the Auditor’s Report and the types to be dispensed…. Eva T crossed, every I is dotted….just in case ac……

http://www4.ncsu.edu/unity/users/b/buckless/www/audrpt450.htm

25. @Onions

We are discussing CIL which is a medium size company in the context of Barbados.

26. Johnny Cheltenham is the biggest ambulance chaser in Bdos. Time to retire Cheltenham you must be tired. We are tired of you.

Owen was correcto on Cynthia Forde she is a lada in a spot which belongst to a Rolls Royce.

Sinckler was right on June Fowler. She’s not sharpest tool in shed. She is a BLP yardfowl.

Mia and her BLP cohorts are toasting and cheering what they believe is the imminent crumbling of the economy. Under no circumstances should such persons be leaders of a country.

Oliver Jordan hopping from hot spot to hot spot that guy is stranger than fiction. He and Fowler are spin twins. Clico policyholders dont stand a chance with the twisted egos of them two. Both have sinister political agendas.

27. The only thing more pervasive and less useful than lawyers are auditors. Generally a TOTAL WASTE OF TIME….
    …they work WITH management, accept anything they are told, and only really check for enough ‘evidence’ to look legit to outsiders.
    What a scam.

Of the number with serious problems eventually showing up, how many organizations had been placed on ‘watch’ after audits…?

Problems like CLICO’s festered for YEARS while people purchased Florida swamp land, and fritted millions away…..and not a word from the auditors….
    ….but then again their fees were probably in line with CLICO’s lawyer’s…….

28. @ Political Trolls [ALL]

You cannot deny all of the common people who are suffering loss due to this CLICO and BAICO scandal. You spin politics, while the Thompson and Parris families are sitting pretty and the current politicians are unable / unwilling to bell the cat.

One of these days, may you feel the pressure, pain and angst that these people are going through. So, keep spinning you political yard fowl… I hope that you wake up and see your pension gone and some damned politician saying “everything is OK” and “You will get your money back”.

Obviously, you are one crass, debased, sociopath, who does not care about the suffering that these people are going through.

Barbados is small… do you have a family member that has been hard hit with this loss? What would you do when Mom and Dad has to come to you for food and money? ShIt, I forget – wunna covered by suckling pun de fatted calf…. at least… until it dies.

29. Who are what is Marryshaw?

30. @David
    Where are you going with this Marryshaw question…..

31. @Chaucer

Expressing a view which has always concerned BU. Leading professionals in Barbados sat on CLICO Boards over the years and one cannot help but question the colour of certain decisions through the years. In Barbados we do NOT like to question the establishment.

32. @Caswell and others

Did CLICO present authentic records to the auditors?

Remember Bernie Madoff? His company (he) manufactured fake records which the auditor (poor fella he didn’t recognize them as fake) gave a pass on.

If I present a very authentic $100 bill to a bank clerk, or or an authentic looking passport to an immigration officer is the officer at fault? Or am I the fraud.

A carefully planned fraud can be hidden for years from even the best investigators.

And this is not to give lazy or bad auditors a pass.

33. old onion bags Avatar

When management breaches all trust and consort to relieve monies thru cheques directed to themselves by utilizing legitimate companies (friends) who in turn looked for “whey my cut”……no amount of statistical sampling,or audit testing would be able to reveal such infelicities circulating at the top first ,other hand than insider information….
    we all are aware of how $ 3.3 mil was discovered ‘after the fact’..is like a shopkeeper stealing from himself?
    ….Summation…wicked and insincere scheming by those who were put as custodians…. at the expense of innocent and misled poor pensioners and investors…..Some really don’t have any heart..and no amount of bookkeeping principles can give them that…..how can one audit morally corrupt?..

34. A carefully planned fraud can be hidden for years from even the best investigators, this is especially so if the fraudsters have the protection of those who hold some of the highest offices in these fair lands.

Who was taking CLICO’s money?

And who was protecting CLICO?

If David Thompson was alive and still sitting as Prime Minister would we be willing to send him to jail?

35. No

36. @Simple Simon

Frauds are exposed when some are prepared to ask questions so your point is moot.

37. But we are willing to hide the CLICO report even while sticking the taxpayers with the bill.

Why?

38. It was not the taxpayers who murdered CLICO.

39. So why should we have to pay the bill.

40. CLICO never gave us a lift to Trinidad in its plane.

41. We have never lived large.

42. Didn’t Hartley Henry the principal political adviser to David Thompson tell us that David Thompson was accustomed to living large?

43. My question has always been living large offa who?

44. @Onions

You have your timelines warped. The 3 million check occurred AFTER the period of audit which BU has questioned.

45. @Simple Simon
    Taxpayers what?! The forensic audit was paid for by the CLICO policy holders! The money came from CLICO – in excess of $12 million to the Judicial Manager to date. As for this being a carefully planned fraud, you are giving LP too much credit. CLICO was an autocracy. Parris never paid for one thing out his own pocket – not coffee, not lunch, nothing! He would hold a staff meeting and give his dictates, and then asked if there were any questions. Anyone foolish enough to raise a question was on their way out the following week. Now we hear that he and his wife are driving a different luxury car every day – are CLICO still paying?

46. They can skin this bald pooch cat whichever way they choose…..the same kittens will always come out screaming……travesty indeed….

Hear granny….It feels good when you can hold ya head high….and no one tocry shame on ya ! Big house and big car doan mean a squat…

47. Bottomline, Frank Alleyne and Tony Marshall resigned from CLICO Boards prematurely. Does any one believe Jepter Ince does not have intimate knowledge of CLICO operations? The establishment was aware of CLICO’s shortcomings.

48. old onion bags Avatar

[: different time lines…..]

Man David……Wha ya saying? ….you mean discovered right?

49. Following from the gist of peltdownman’s comment, was CIL’s funded from premium income?

50. @ Onions
    “…..no amount of statistical sampling,or audit testing would be able to reveal such infelicities circulating at the top first ,other hand than insider information….”
    You mean for simpletons Onions.
    You ever heard ’bout one CASWELL yet….? Why you think Bushie pushing him for a big pick in governance? …on the NSC?
    Skippa, Caswell could smell a cockroach stealing a grain of sugar from the bond at the Harbour…..

…whereas you and ac don’t even know that sugar sweet…….