Dear Sirs,

BU has come across seemingly incontrovertible evidence that warrants both of your immediate investigation. The evidence involves Mr Justice Olson Alleyne. Evidence suggests that Mr Justice Alleyne continues to practice law under the business name of “Olson Alleyne Legal”, despite his elevation to the Bench and has indulged in the practice of law during his tenure on the Bench, even up to the present day. We are satisfied that as little as 14 days ago, counsel received correspondence from Olson Alleyne Legal signed by another lawyer on behalf of Mr Olson Alleyne. If proved, this constitutes gross and dismissible misconduct and we refer you to section 84 of the Constitution, to be easily found  online.

This is a matter of the gravest possible national importance. It requires investigation and explanation forthwith. BU, out of fairness and to permit you to conduct an immediate investigation, will refrain for the present from publishing the evidence. You are encouraged to contact us should you wish to avail yourself of this evidence and we will make arrangements to have it delivered to you. We await your expeditious response. It would be a great mistake to test our resolve on this one.

If there is no interest shown in this matter by officialdom we will interpret this to mean you have no problem with BU pursuing this matter in the public space of the Internet.

193 responses to “An Open Letter to the Prime Minister and the Chief Justice”

1. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Oh dear, some nasty bajan body didn’t like the decision of Mr. Alleyne recently.

2. They really do as they like in Bim.

3. This post is blackmail. Test resolve what? Put up or shut up!

4. How is it blackmail Caswell?

5. It will be amusing to say the least to see how long before there is a response, we can even take bets.

6. Big Guts Horse Avatar
    Big Guts Horse

Greedy grunt makes ample lunch by hungry barracuda…anybody here aware of what a Justice is paid ?

7. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

My Compact Oxford English Dictionary gives a definition of “blackmail” as: force someone to do something by using threats or other pressure.

How is this post not doing that?

8. Just image what Black’s dictionary would say.

9. @Casewell. I would like to see you answer David. Blackmail? What blackmail? Blackmail, you moron, is when there is an unjustified threat extracting a pecuniary or other advantage. This is a matter in the National interest – and if the two people who are allowed to take action under the Constitution, fail to investigate and, if the allegations are found to be true, fail to take action, then they are foresworn on their oaths of office…..and they deserve everything they get. If the allegations are correct, which I am not by any means saying that they are.

HOWEVER, I personally intend to check the allegations right away. And, trust me, Casewell, I know exactly how to do that and precisely how to get the answers as to whether true or false. I have to do this, because I am deeply shocked by the allegation and I will not only be deeply shocked if it turns out to be true, but extremely angry.

I observe with interest and disgust that in 2008 the Bar Association sought for and obtained an opinion from the then CJ and the then Registrar – which means that both these members of what is supposed to be an independent and unbiased judiciary, were PRACTICING LAW. Perchance Casewell’s disquiet is caused because of the similar gross misconduct on the part of his mentor, which IS proved.

10. @Caswell

So you are saying BU is blackmailing Alleyne?

11. What really going on bout this place though!

12. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Amuse opines
    I have to do this, because I am deeply shocked by the allegation and I will not only be deeply shocked if it turns out to be true, but extremely angry.

I concur, because Olson represented me for many years, and I knew him to be a serious by the book fellow

13. That should be: imagine what Black’s dictionary would say.

14. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Amused

You have just proven yourself to be a learned ass. I am not opposed to David revealing anything. All I intended to say to David is: if you have evidence, reveal it, don’t use threats.

15. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I am not saying that BU is blackmailing Justice Alleyne: you are blackmailing the CJ and PM.

16. @Caswell

How is BU threatening anyone? What if the case is active and by publishing the document (redacted and all) it betrays the confidence of an innocent party? You will just have to trust BU’s judgement.

17. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

So be it David. I suppose that I am just being a bit impatient.

18. @Caswell

BU is giving officialdom a chance to deal with this matter the slug like behaviour of the actors notwithstanding. It is fair to all given the ramification.

19. old onion bags Avatar

Not surprised….too many lapses wid this rue…..ample indicators if i may add….

20. @Well Well. I think that instead of running to Oxford of Blacks, it might be better to go to legal dictionaries.

One such defines blackmail as, “The crime involving a threat for purposes of compelling a person to do an act against his or her will, or for purposes of taking the person’s money or property.” That is the American law dictionary.

Another, the UK one, defines it as, “Blackmail consists of making an unwarranted demand with menaces with a view to making a gain or causing a loss.” The UK one goes on to set out the elements of blackmail thus:

“To be liable for blackmail the defendant must:
    Make a demand
    With menaces
    The demand must be unwarranted
    have a view to make a gain for himself or another or have intent to cause a loss to another”

It appears to me that BU, a news source, has alerted the PM and the CJ to something it has uncovered and which is a cause for concern. BU has requested an immediate investigation in a matter that, if proved, seriously compromises and threatens the independence and absence of bias of the judiciary, if the allegations are true. BU, with the interests of the nation at heart, has insisted that the usual cover-up not be practiced and, if it is in a matter of national importance, BU has advised that it will, I assume, ventilate the matter further.

I see no element of blackmail here and only a legal incompetent would suggest such a thing.

21. Amused……….i have a legal dictionary and would think BU would consult with attorneys before putting a letter of request in a public domain.

22. @Caswell

As someone who has walked closed to ministers in government and judges you must be aware of those who have entered businesses through the back door which others were supposed to be leading in their absence to give advice/consult on cases?

23. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You continue to prove that my assessment is completely accurate: you are indeed a learned ass. I was not speaking of any legal definition. Pick up the English dictionary that I cited you CLOWN.

24. @Caswell

There is only one definition for Blackmail. It is a heavy charge. The problem with some Barbadians is that they want to go to heaven but nobody wants to die. What is the worst that can happen? BU is taken out, so be it.

25. old onion bags Avatar

@ Well Well

Man you tekk dat? (Amuse snub)….let he get some caW-blind-ya’s and brass bowls….lehe kno how he farra is and way he cud cah he….LOL

26. Old Onions……….it’s a legal thing, don’t worry.

27. I admit guilt prior to posting this.

I will hazard a guess that every one of the submissions to this post will, like me, (a) either (if using their real names) say that David[BU] is disseminating lies or (b) say that David is speaking the truth under cover of a pseudonym.

I am not surprised that Caswell has rushed to protect Olson. The brotherhood is trained to protect their own.

Olson is practicing what some refer to as DP, double penetration, stroking the victim from the front as a man of the Silk in Coleridge Street and then from the back from 209 Dowells House Roebuck St. St. Michael

I know what i say next will be considered preaching sedition and anarchy but until somebody reaches out and “touches” this brotherhood like they did with the son of the Attorney General in Antigua some years back, these brutes and scoundrels going continue to pretend to be men of justice, meting out punishment to the have nots and permitting their friends, the privileged and and their freemason buddies free reign in BIM.

It only takes a man with balls to make an example of these DP specialists, of course that would not be the DPP (Director of Public Prosecutions – remember the Jada incident) and it will be the one incident which will make the rest of them pull up them socks and fly right.

But wait a second, you jest of course, this letter was written to Fumble and the Chief Jester himself MoreDum themselves, guardians of the secret fire of silence and slumbering.

Just today i was looking in the organ manual at the church to see why de organist cant get any of the accompanying livelier cadences on the ** electric organ to play and i came across a section on “dirges and funeral drum beats” and there were the pictures of Fumble and MoreDum!!

I kid you not!! It was so surprised i shouted out hard in the church and drop de manual and the pew with the “washed in the blood saints” looked across at me and there was an unholy frown on their faces.

And we expect an answer to this from either of these dimwits??

I give this blog 45. That is the number of responses before it flickers into the cyberspace doldrums. I will watch as the usual suspects gather to make this issue another political hanging.

Fumble will not respond and Marston, well he ent got the intellect to respond.

28. @Lassie. You accused BU of a criminal act. The dictionary of choice, to anyone who actually has a law degree and experience in using it, would be a legal dictionary. Only a bush lawyer would look it up in Oxford. Anyway, diverting as this discussion is with you (any maybe it is meant as a diversion) I have other fish to fry right at the moment. Those fish are of the concrete proof variety as to whether the allegations are true….or not.

As David most wisely points out, there may well be a matter of privilege and client privacy (or a plurality thereof) involved here. It is, in my view, sufficient that BU has offered to point the PM and the CJ in the correct direction so that they can satisfy themselves on the facts, while maintaining the privacy and likely privilege of other persons involved.

But what I want to know from Lassie, a big shot reporter from the Nation complete with ipad, is why are you not investigating what BU has provided you, instead of seeking to dismiss it all out of hand and intimidate with accusations of the crime of blackmail? You are, of course, very fortunate that this is a blog, otherwise your accusation of blackmail is, in fact, defamatory – but I expect your legal expertise did not take you as far as that of a “learned ass” like me.

29. There comes a time in the affairs of men when enough is enough as PS Ronald Bascombe should be starting to feel about now.

30. Amused………….right or wrong, i am beginning to wonder if Caswell was trying to say just produce the evidence on BU and dispense with the formality of giving both CJ and PM time to respond, that is how i read it, correct me if i am wrong.

31. @Well Well

If you are not taking the time to read BU’s responses to Caswell why not chill?

32. David………..I am reading your responses, I am dealing with what Caswell said initially, your response is not the issue.

33. @Well

BU’s responses are relevant if it clarifies for Caswell why we phrased the blog the way we did. You can have the last word here.

34. David…..Caswell did acknowledge he may be a little impatient in calling for you to dispense with formality.

35. @Well Well. I understand what you say without having to tax my “learned ass” of a brain – because it is clear. Now whether I agree with you or not, is another matter. I hope you understand me and whether you agree with me or not, is also another matter. But, to be honest, I did not get what you are suggesting Casewell meant – maybe I am a TOO learned ass to understand the obscure.

I must confess that all I saw from Casewell was a reaction of outrage and an accusation of criminality (blackmail) against BU.

I am a very simple person. I am not accusing Alleyne J. All I am prepared to say is that my preliminary investigations appear to disclose some deep concerns that need to be addressed as a matter of urgency. And they need to be addressed by the PM and the CJ, regardless of the highly entertaining comments of @Piece Uh De Rock, Yeah Right!! | June 9, 2013 at 4:44 PM | BECAUSE the PM and the CJ are empowered under the Constitution to take action if the allegations are correct. Indeed, they are obliged by their respective oaths of office to take action, if indeed there has been misconduct.

@Piece Uh De Rock, Yeah Right!! | June 9, 2013 at 4:44 PM | Brilliant. You restored my sense of humour.

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

If what is being portrayed is true of a judge ‘moonlighting’ in the same legal field this country is really finished. The last bastion of democracy- the fair dispensing of justice- has fallen and crumbled into the ashes of political and social morass and decay.

Blatant Ministerial corruption, fraudulent businessmen controlling Cabinet decision-making and appointments, voter fraud, and now this!

Barbados is now a fully-fledged banana republic.

37. Amused………i did understand you perfectly, appears everyone’s reaction was a bit different but can actually be interpreted to mean the same thing, outrage at these irregularities. Everyone tends to process information differently….I interpreted Caswell as not wanting David to wait for a response before exposing his evidence……David thinks it’s prudent and practical to extend courtesies and so do you. Nothing wrong with all of that, Caswell acknowledged that he might have been too hasty in crying blackmail, without actually saying so, it is all in the way information is processed.

38. Well Well stop trying to kiss Amused ass.

39. Islandguy……..aka ‘islandgal’ see you have crawled out from under your rock, i don’t need to kiss ass, have you not learned your lesson yet?

40. Amused knows exactly what is going on between him and Caswell.

41. @Islandgal. I fully realize that my ass is not a work major work of art, unlike your legendary tush. In fact, at my age, it is a bit like Alair Shepherd’s – not a pretty sight. But please desist from persuading people not to kiss it.

42. Amused……..Islandguy aka ‘islandgal’ would prefer to be the one kissing your ass.

43. @Well Well. IslandGAL is certainly welcome to kiss mine, provided I can get my hands on HER legendary posterior and return the favour. Look, don’t tangle with Islandgal. She is MY gal and he who takes on Islandgal, takes on me and, even more dangerous, they take on Baffy and almost all of the family. Meanwhile, I refuse to be diverted from my own investigation – the PM and MoreDum can suit themselves what they do, but I will not be deterred nor distracted and I WILL find out what is going on – AND REPORT IT!!!!!! Enough is truly enough.

44. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

nothing will change and no one will be brought to justice since our country is being held to ransom by the following animals who have responsibility of some very important agencies.

1. a Jackass as Commissioner of Police
    2. a Gorilla as Prime Minister
    3. a Gorilla as Chief Justice
    4. a Gorilla as Attorney General
    5 a chameleon/ aka Duppy as Governor of the Central Bank
    6 a Bull Dog as Minister of Finance
    7. a Chimpanzee as Minister of Transport
    8. a Pipa pipa (Surinam Toad)/Bull frog as Minister of International Transport

Since they thought it fit of upgrade the Barbados paper currency, they should also change remove Paradise or island in the Sun as being synonymous to Barbados and give it a more fitting title known as Island of the Apes…

we ordinary humans are being held to ransom by these creatures especially, in the case of No. 5.. if these creatures have complete control of the very important structures of our economy then Barbados as we know it has become a jungle. if it is a jungle then expect that only the strongest will survive …in that case the law makers can by choice become the law breakers, it is the law of the jungle

45. Amused…………..in your belief it is a HER, please be aware it is really a HIM, but hey, to each his own………….and i ain’t scared, no one can cyber bully me.

Anyway, the results of your investigation will be welcome for the good of the country.

46. @Well Well

You have no idea what you are commenting about regarding islandgal. Why not stick to the topic and stop the diversions?

47. ROFL…Thank you Amused..Well Well needs to know her place on the back step. Now Well Well you can put what Amused said in a pipe and smoke it.

Smooth Chocolate you are sooo funny and I getting to like you badddd. What a Kodak moment you have painted of the present members of Government. ROFLMAO LOLLLL

48. Islandguy……………..you got put in YOUR place, cause you thought you were BUs bully………….but you actually met someone who don’t think too highly of you nor care about your extended bottom……….

49. Now we can get back to the topic at hand.

50. Good thing Bonny Peppa ent around cause she wudda roast yuh backside. You can’t shut your mouth for a few hours?? You like you like ketching nuff flies. You all ova de place like Poonka. Stupse!