Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

There was a time not too long ago when Barbados was looked to for leadership on the regional front. We were told we were a country fighting above its weight. There was a time when a president of the USofA, or two, would visit our shores, today they pass us by. Sadly in recent years we have lost our way spiritually, economically, politically, morally…

Barbados Underground does not agree with the view that because the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) won the last general election it means all citizens, which includes the BU family, should agree with all policies being enunciated by the government. Rubbish! The DLP won the last election by a two seats margin and a little over four thousand votes made the difference in the total vote recorded at 152, 593.  Of growing concern is also the large group of Barbadians who continue to ignore the right to vote.

In the lead up to the 2008 general election what led BU to be supportive of the David Thompson opposition was his promise to communicate with the people and to lead a government committed to being transparent.. Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur had assumed a dictatorial approach to managing Barbados which offended the BU household.  Sadly Thompson died in office before he was able to achieve anything of note.

Perhaps not!

What stands out about Thompson’s brief stint as Prime Minister was his willingness to talk to the media and engage the people, especially ordinary people. In his short tenure (short of two years) as Prime Minister he held more press conferences and sessions with the media than Prime Minister Stuart has held in over three years. All political leaders by definition will offer different leadership styles, however, a single quality which separates those who make greater impact are the ones who are able to effectively communicate to the charges. In the case of Prime Minister this is defined as all Barbadians. Prime Minister Stuart must demonstrate the wherewithal to unleash a rallying cry. He must, it is what leaders do.  There seems to be a rancour which continues to characterize the local political landscape which does not make the job of managing in a challenging economic period any easier.  Yes we all agree it is a difficult period, all the more reason why we need to get over the egoistical BS, on BOTHSIDES of the political divide. BU is still trying to appreciate the tone use by Minister of Finance at the recent luncheon.

What will plague the legacy of the Stuart administration, unless there is a dramatic turnabout, is its unwillingness to engage the public. If his henchmen were as vocal as he is silent perhaps it would serve to compensate. With the exception of Donville Inniss and Stephen Lashley it begs the question, what of our ministers of government?  Worst of all has been the inability of the BLP opposition to capitalize on a glaring political vacuum.  Even in a post general election 2013 period the dissension continues. We have seen it with the egos of George Payne and Edmund Hinkson, the conflict finding its way all the way to the courts of Barbados. We have also seen it in a BLP opposition strategy where MAM has been relatively silent for the 100 days after the general election, a deliberate strategy we have been told. However, former leader of the opposition Owen Arthur and Kerri Symmonds have been very vocal representing the voice of the opposition party.

Whether you are ardent supporter of both political parties there is a melancholy which is sucking the last dregs of enthusiasm of a once proud people.

1. Common sense is not common Avatar
    Common sense is not common

Oh dear,he we go again.

While I agree that a press conference now and again to update the Nation is not bad,I must say I did not hear all this hue and cry when Arthur did not deign to speak to the media during his term in office.
    Stuart has only been prime minister for 3 years and not 5 years as stated above.Nevertheless hmmm….

I don’t know but sometimes these 5 and 6 posts every week of ‘the government bad,the government bad…..the government ain’t saying a pang,seems like overkill to me.

2. @ David
    Anytime a citizenry has to beg their servant to talk ‘with’ them something is wrong. Maybe on both sides

3. @Common sense is not common

That is all you see in the blog that we are bashing the government?

BU is not making any point about a press conference, the bigger point is the pressing need to create a culture of I am with you, I am in touch with you, show that you empathize with the people. If you don’t the spirit which defines a people will flicker and die. Obviously the five instead of a three was an error rather than making a fact. What five or six posts a week? If you are unable to absorb the bigger point that we need leadership now more than ever carry on smartly.

Why do you think BU was started? The event which triggered BU’s launch was when one of Arthur’s henchmen, Barney Lynch, so disrespected Loveridge at VOB and it was like it never happened.

4. @Pacha

What is really sad is that there is a 50:50 scenario playing out here.

Submission received.

5. Bajans got what they voted for, inertia and corruption. Stay tuned, more to come in the coming days. It was instructive to hear on CBC TV what was reported to have been said by the president of the Bankers Association of Barbados. Surely, Jamaica and Guyana should examples of economic ruin in the region after standing on a pedestal for a long time. It seems as if Barbados is about to fall.

6. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Can;t Wait,
    “It seems as if Barbados is about to fall”…but according to you and people of your persuasion it has already fallen. check with Island gal, Buahie, Dr. love and thea ilk. so there is nowhere to fall. You’ll just have to sait and see; since you have no intention of helping “the country” of which you are a citizen. So sit on your hands and wait. I am sure they will get numb.

7. For me Alvin, Barbados at this point in time can be saved, but there is a lack of confidence by those with the cash to do so. When teachers and other public servants contracts of employment expires between now and August 31 2013, then for me Bim has fallen from grace. Go collect the 25 million dollars in VAT money from Courts and do not depend on the pro-BLP private sector to pump money in the economy for the garrison boys to tief. Let the whole thing crash and everybody start from scratch.

I suppose Stinkliar is waiting on the credit union money under the guise of the FSC to pay its bills. By the way Alvin, did you hear Ryan and David on brasstacks yesterday May 31 2013 with Stetson Babb predicting what the June quarter report from the Central is likely to be? “cat pis and pepper bout here”.

8. That credit union money got everybody talking in tongues, as i said, the government better watch how they handle that money………keep the minorities away from it and use common sense.

9. Common sense is not common Avatar

David/BU

In the interest of fairness I decided to reread the blog post and what I am taking away is that the P.M. must speak to and engage the people.

Fair enough?

Well hasn’t the P.M. been speaking to the people through addresses at BMA and Commerce and other public events which are carried in the press?Hence my suggestion of press conferences because that could only be the forum that it can be argued is least used.

His ministers speak on their areas of responsibility;whether agriculture,international business,tourism,culture,foreign affairs etc. so there is information whether to your taste or not in these areas being circulated.

Honestly,I much prefer to hear less of these ‘warm-over soup’ speeches written by dim-wit permanent secretaries who write pure jobby that is not worth 1 old time penny.

Because of the style of some past politicians we have become like children waiting to hear ‘ daddy’s voice’ or else we cry in frustration and fright.There is very little that is new that freundel stuart can say at this time.Right now he is like a jet on the runaway he is ‘on hold’ until the clearance signal comes from those away for this economy to take off.

He, arthur or no magician can make any meaningful difference right now.The cards are just not in their hands,all they can do is tinker here and tinker there and stop letting the private sector suck the country’s financial nipples sore
    Freundel stuart will never be an Errol Barrow or a Tom Adams,as a matter of fact he wll never be a David Thompson either.
    He has his own style which like Sandie people will give credit long after the fact.

It is what it is David.

On the matter of the start of BU,wasn’t your first blog about old man rayside and the hairy bank?I remember that one creating some consternation (and much mirth by yours truly) in the household and some sneaky methods had to be employed to get another read in peace and quiet.

So what Barney lynch episode starting BU what.

10. @Common sense is not common

This link may be useful for you to widen your understanding of what communication means in its widest sense. Not suggesting you don’t have sense common or otherwise.

http://www.forbes.com/sites/mikemyatt/2012/04/04/10-communication-secrets-of-great-leaders/

11. Regarding your snide remark about Lynch and BU launch, when did Lynch storm out of the VoB studio? When did BU launch? Does commonsense suggest it would have taken some time to get the momentum going? Does commonsense suggest that although the Lynch incident played a part in the decision to launch BU it does not mean we had to write about it for reasons we prefer not to publicize?

12. St George's Dragon Avatar

Fumble is just not a leader. Some people are; some people aren’t.
    Possibly his worst decision was one of his first – getting rid of Hartley Henry – who it seems to me was about the only person who might have been able to see how he was perceived by the voters and advise him how to change his behavior.

13. Common sense is not common Avatar

I worry about you sometimes.You see windmills where there are none.

14. Barbados Underground does not agree with the view that because the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) won the last general election it means all citizens, which includes the BU family, should agree with all policies being enunciated by the government. Rubbish!

I GLAD THAT YOU COME AROUND TO MY POSITION–

-I DONT BELIEVE IN THIS HONEY-MOON CRAP-especially a bankrupt Government like this DLP shit.. This Government is the worst Government in the History of Governments any where on Earth or Mars. I hope yuh know that there are people on Mars and they look just like Stuart and Carson Cadogan. There is a Carson Cadogan who lives in Eagle Hall. Is this the same Carson Cadogan on this Blog ?
    Yeah , as I was saying, this Prime Minister is the worst Prime minister in the history of Prime Ministers and St.John people must take the blame for this country being saddled with this inept Government. Why ! Because they say that if yuh bring a Frog to run for the DLP in St.John, they will vote for it. I am saying that changing that mindset is something that the BLP needs to undertake. I dont know why they dont go into St. John and hold all their Public meetings Now ? Attack the DLP from St. John and it will spread. The theory is simple. I f the DLP has something to worry about in St.John, they will be strongly weaken (sic) and totally destroyed. I advocate that to the Nation and to the BLP………………..

15. @St. Georges Dragon

The retort you are sure to get is that the DLP won. Pachamama’s earlier comment is insightful. The election result is like the people saying to the parties, please cooperate.

16. He has his own style which like Sandie people will give credit long after the fact.

WHAT CREDIT ?
    WHERE ?
    WHEN ?

I THINK NOT !!

17. This Prime Minister dampens everybody’s spirit

He said that Barbados like too much feting, something that generates economic avtivity and develops skills in the areas of Sound, Lighting, Event Planning etc. Why do you think that St. Lucia has such a good Jazz Festival that has grown and grown ?—IMBECILE !

You Clown

–Feting and Entertainment in a tourism driven economy is essential.. Tourist come here looking for Live Entertainment. They are up late in the night because they are on vacation–YOU ASS !–People need to Party whether you like to do so or not–Your are not The World BrerCUNT !

18. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The Government is chewing on more than it could bite off. It would seem that none of the members of Cabinet is equipped to handle the job of governing this country. Simply put, they do not know what to do.

19. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Caswell Franklyn@ they know what to do , The have to deal with Plantation DEEDS. The Wolf is stuck and now have to chew off its leg to get away.
    The President of the US of A knows what the PM not saying, that DEEDs is right about the land fraud and they dont want to land air force one in Shit. Barbados is a Bad Apple.
    The PM is an ASS playing with his ass and other asses, What a time to be a lawyer in Barbados ,

20. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@JUst asking.
    “feting and entertainment in a tourism driven economy is essential” True, but what kind of feting? What kind of entertainment? How many tourists go to Reggae on the Hill? what happened to the original Jazz Festival that started before the St. Lucia Jazz festival? Why did it cease? I remember the call in programmes and their content at the time Mr. Sandiford was battling with the economy. It succeeded than. I think that the problem with Just asking, and those of his ilk is that it did not work this time.And it will not work again.

21. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@JUst asking. The only spirit the Prime Minister dampens is the BLP spirits because he will not fall into your traps. All the hullabaloo you made over the Alexamdra issue, he was proven right, His process at this time will prove to be ight again. Keep cool the island will not disappear and the crisis will pass. go take a cold bath and cool your fever.

22. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Can’t wait.
    I do not get to hear Brass tacks because I am in toronto for now. But what I want to advise you people who see bad in every DLP supporter and government representative, is that the saame people who have run the Credit Union movement all these years will continue to run it well. there are laws that exist that do not allow access to credit union funds as you wouould like to make people fearful of. The funds have to be placed in a bank somewhere; money can only be spent or saved, so I have everyconfidence that those funds are well protected so don’t try to mislead people.

23. Don’t mind them Fruendel. You don’t have to talk to nobody. Ypou is Prime Minister, Like it or Lump it. Dem Now…… Dems Again. Right Carson

24. @ Cant Wait !
    Who is this fellow Straughn ? Does he hold a job ? Why do you consider his and David Ellis’ personal views of such importance ? Has either of them ever operated a snowball cart ? It seems that you are another one suffering from the post election syndrome that Minister Sinckler spoke about .Well you have AT LEAST FIVE YEARS to find a cure . I hope you survive .

25. @bemused!

Now now don’t be snobbish. It was not so long ago the MoF and cohorts believed similarly. You are reminded of the E11.

26. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

I don’t think its just the PM that finds it difficult to communicate. The Minister of Tourism recently aired a 45 minute News Extra programme on tourism.
    He was the ONLY speaker and even though CBC had a full hour, the Minister did not take any questions from attending journalists. When there are currently so many concerns regarding this sector, it does not give the impression that the administration is listening.

27. @Adrian

Perhaps it explains why Sealy is Stuart’s man for Deputy. These guys simply do not understand how effectively communicating with the people helps to bolster their confidence. A confidant people means there are opportunities created. There was victory at the polls and this is where is ends for these politiocs. In one word, naive.

28. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

I have finished off this weeks’ Tourism MATTERS column with:

It starts with leadership whose role is to inspire, direct and champion change.
    Leaders lead by example.

They are not entirely my words, but I thought they made so much sense.

29. Alvin Cummins | June 1, 2013 at 11:07 PM |
    @JUst asking. The only spirit the Prime Minister dampens is the BLP spirits because he will not fall into your traps. All the hullabaloo you made over the Alexamdra issue, he was proven right, His process at this time will prove to be ight again. Keep cool the island will not disappear and the crisis will pass. go take a cold bath and cool your fever.
    ——————————
    How was he proven right with the AX issue ?
    Tell me !
    It seems like Housing has now be exposed for what it was
    Kellman going to expose everything just now

30. Problems remain at AX but of course you should expect that it will take a while to settle the school. Only this week the big news was a video circulated on FB with two AX girls pouring licks in a CP girl. The fight continues.

31. why do you assume that I am Male ?
    —————————————————–>
    I think that the problem with Just asking, and those of his ilk is that it did not work this time.And it will not work again.
    ——————————————>
    Cracks me up everytime

32. old onion bags Avatar

Guess Whoooo?

Now if wanna want talk… I gine start

My dear and beloved people of this labored and all but washed up land.
    We got wanna now where we want nuh …so hush wanna F-ing mouts. Money talked ,bull shit wlaks

33. old onion bags Avatar

I wonder how come all we Bees finding it SO hard to get in here nowadays? Man you gotto hop pun friends computers to get in lil TALK….One mornin ya wake up and D HIVE move..just so…. Wanna want talk well here is mo….MEXICAN KIMMO_NAPPY time…..rest eva day ….is a cure all for ya who want answers…tekk a hint “we aint go nun”. Best part we doan got to worry Global recession see to that…. til manana…zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

34. old onion bags Avatar

Oh yeah… By the way

If dat ole bus riding pensioner woman ( wid D dream) DEAD by the nxt 4 + years….wanna doan worry …she younger sister pun contract……now stop confusing muh nah….siesta time….zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

35. We all know this was going to happen, who wants to buy a dump yard filled with old steel and concrete?

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/hot-price/

36. Correct me if I am wrong. But I didnt hear OSA coming to the nation so often. I remember hearing Mia but not Owen. I liked the quarterly reports David Thompson used to do. But we have to realise Frenduel is not D Thompson. He has his own style and manner and he won the last election with folks being aware of that same style and manner. On another note, I am impressed by the way in which Minister’s are given a ‘free’ hand to talk, Instead of hearing the PM on every issue, I hear Michael & Stephen Lashley, Sinckler, Kellman & Donville quite a bit. Let the Mnister speak about matters pertaining to their own Ministry, The PM doesnt have to talk about everything.

37. @Kevin

Why do you think a Commander in Chief will visit the troops on the battlefield from time to time? This is despite having generals and others to lead.

38. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@David,
    You used the correct combination of words; “from time to time”. and that is to visit the troops. the PM does not have to “visit” the troops constantly. He has to manage the country in his own way, not the way you, Bush Tea, Dr. Love, or Just Asking would like him to. then he would not be doing it “his” way but the way others want him to. Whether people like it or not he will do it “his” way.

39. I heard Sinckler say that PM Stuart is there for each and everyone of the DLP members giving advice and helping to draft policy if needed. To me, he is doing his job, I would prefer less talk and more action.

40. Alvin…………..world wide economic conditions aside, i believe that everyone should now just be asking for things to be done the right way.

41. @Kevin

More action from whom?

42. @ David
    Action from the DLP team headed by Stuart. David, whether some people like to admit it or not, this administration stabilized the Barbados economy during the world wide economic downturn. There was 2 years of economic decline followed by 2/3 years of growth; weak yes; but growth nevertheless. The DLP now seems to me to act better as a team and does not come off as a one-man show like the BLP under OSA. Dont call me partisan either, my first ever vote was for the BLP but I believed the DLP deserved a 2nd chance to try to capitalize on their stabilization efforts. I will judge them on the work they are doing and not how much the PM appears on tv or radio.

43. @Kevin

Believe what you will but the government took a decision to use NIS funds to pay salaries. That is the sum strategy of the stabilization.

44. Telling it like it is Avatar
    Telling it like it is

Telling it like it is | June 2, 2013 at 12:35 PM |
    Caswell is one of those wrong and strong liars from school days. You would prove the bastard wrong or catch him in a blatant lie he would be silent for a minute but as soon as you turn your back he resumes broadcasting the lie. Caswell is Elombe Mottley’s closet rival for the sobriquet of “Barbados’ most sucessful failure.”

45. @Caswell

It seems the DLP’s strategy is to attack you. Always a tell tale sign. Don’t worry because they are attacking BU too. Be under no misdirection that the BLP people will do the same when they turn come…lol.

46. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I usually avoid fools: they have no impact on me. Why do you think that they are not attacking any other union leader? I suspect that the DLP is assured of their support.

47. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Caswell

If you usually avoid fools, how do you manage to avoid yourself……………multiple personality or some such other mental disorder?

48. Telling it like it is Avatar
    Telling it like it is

Caswell Franklyn | June 2, 2013 at 1:49 PM | Why do you think that they are not attacking any other union leader?
    ————————————————

Murder muh belly. Caswell you is a real plimpla in truth. You are the only member of UNITY trade union and you calling yourself a union leader. A leader of who or whom? Caswell you bursting muh guts with laugh this gorgeous bajan sunday.

49. Sounds like Barbados is seriously in trouble, exhausted every and all accessible financial resources to nourish the extremely ill country. Prime Minister, at this point, may not know the countrys fate and so he refuses to speak. Maybe.

50. Caswell Franklyn is an honest , upright and truthful man.
    Usually such persons have it tough in Barbados because Barbados is given to corruption, lies , covering each others’ ass in fraternal nasty shitty links that encourage nastiness.Caswell is a plain talker and such persons are always reviled in Barbados.
    KEEP YOUR HEAD UP CASWELL

GRASSROOTS BARBADIAN PEOPLE KNOW WHO IS WHO AND THEY SUPPORT YOU–I hear them talking
    In recent Times , your stakes have risen higher than the Empire State so the attacks will come. They have some real stinking people in Barbados