Submitted by  Napolean Bonaparte
Chris Sinckler,Minister of Finance has unveiled a $600 million stimulus program
Chris Sinckler, Minister of Finance has unveiled a $600 million stimulus

….what you waiting for? – Rouser

It is now almost two months and counting since the results of the 2013 Elections. By now, one would believe, that the euphoria of the occasion would have ceased and an awakening to reality ensued. Instead we were occasioned with the now accustomed, rather nonchalant and evergreen eulogy emanating from Church Village echelons that has obviously signalled the honeymoon is not yet over.

As one punter puts it, how much longer can Barbados remain out of gear? Could we then interpret the blank complaisant as a not knowing of what to do next or the calm before the inevitable storm?

Could the patient further afford the diapason. So far we have heard news of a $600 million instead of a once suggested $90 million stimulus package to help jump start the economy, but  nothing further as to the devil’s details. Could the privatization card be once more in the mix then? Could there be that yet another request for intermediated ‘silence in deals’ as with the recent $120 Million bond repayment?

Surely the populace needs to know more before imaginations again run wild. Are we rocking or rolling, galloping or strolling and to where?  As before, please do not leave us guessing again. Last time the bull was taken by the horns, popularity ratings soared. Less we fall back on old ways.

1. They got 5 more years to do nothing before they have to appear like they are doing something………….costing more, comes to mind.

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The DLP agenda will not be set by people like “Well Well” and the other BLP jokers on this blog!

3. Rouser is the Calypsonian you quoted Whitey never sang that calypso

4. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

If they deal with the truth they can get 10 more years , As we see lies still head of all things/.
    The Key is the land and always be the land in proper order.
    What can you do without land? walk on water?

5. @sweet lime

Will make the change.

6. Carson C………tell that to the IMF when they come for you, if you try to hide it the rating agencies will give the scoop to the New York Times, and i will still find out………..

7. @ Napoleon Bonaparte
    “By now one would believe that the euphoria of the occasion would have ceased and an awakening to reality ensued”.
    By the same token the naysayers and purveyors of doom and gloom would, or should, have also come to the reality that the election is over, the campaigning is past, the results have been declared and codified, and the country is progressing along the designated path. It is therefore time for all hands to be on deck, realize that everyone is in the same boat and therefore there can be no mutineers or sabateurs allowed if the ship is to come in to harbour safely, instead of going wherever the doubters of the captaincy want to push it.and pull it.
    Settle down and make the country better.Devote your energies toward helping not hindering.A great man once said “the universe is unfolding as it should”. I predict there will be NO IMF intervention, and things will remain stable, and there is no storm on the horizon.

8. @ Well Well

Did you not hear Mr. Evergreen say….IMF ain’t got nuttin in this DO…Carson chest puff up high believing all he hears cuz of the most miraculous Great Escape….Puff adders deflate only when crushed…all the meanwhile they are noisy and troublesome serpentines.

9. Alvin C………………So why is the dancing governor of the central bank, now wavering???

Old Onions…………..it is better to let them deny, deny now…….too late shall be the cry.

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

I have to keep reminding you jokers.

The people rejected you all in Feb. 2013.

11. Rejected who??????/ I don’t live in Barbados…………..the people rejected both parties and now there is a scramble in parliament……..so still don’t get it.

12. Carson………….that should read you still dont get it………..will it take a no confidence motion or a sudden call for elections??

13. It seems we live in times when anyone questions or offers another view a label awaits. Discussing the issues, proffering different views is all part of the dynamic of a democracy. Nobody knows the blueprint to get out of this mess hence a potpourri of views are likely to spring forth. Let us discuss the different views and leave the political rancor behind us.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

You are really talking like someone who dont live Barbados!

15. CCC
    Now to be fair you would have to say the electors “narrowly” rejected you jokers. Right now unless the House is off for a few weeks no minister can travel.

16. Not living in Bim does not prove that i would not know more of what is going on than someone who does…….you did not even know that unless I told you, however, knowing what I know, it will take pure intelligence to wriggle out of the ever increasing mess in which the DLP now finds itself………..can you tell me otherwise?? and why is the central bank governor wavering??

Also, whatever personal vendetta you got against Adrian, cannot change facts, if you were owed $30,000, unless government sent you a letter emphatically stating they could not pay you the money, you would want your money…….but their silence borders on contempt, I am sure Adrian would understand if they wrote him and said DUE TO………………we are now unable to pay at this time. Silence is definitely not golden in such matters. I hope this does not come back to bite you Carson C…….

17. Very easily possible: Carson wears his faith but as
    the fashion of his hat; it ever changes with the
    next economic juck. He is not the only one, right Mr. Chipmunk.

18. Chris StinkLiar or SickLiar is one of the biggest Liars ever to hold the post of Minister of Finance.
    The Boy could lie
    He said that the Medium Term Fiscal was wukking

LIe LIe Lie Phucking Fother Mucking Liar !

19. @Adrian,
    How many business owners; companies, corporations etc owe government VAT that they collected and have not yet paid? I am sure it will add up to more than $32,000.00. Not that you don’t deserve the money and should not get it, because cash-flow is the life blood of any company, and especially hotels, so you deserve your money and must get it. The no answer syndrome is unfortunately a given for persons doing business or corresponding (one sided) with the government (read civil servants).All I can say is keep pressuring, and ask for patience to be given to you from on high.

20. @Just Asking

The governor explained that from time to time we will have to change strategy based on current developments.

The problem Barbadians are having a hard time confronting is that we have NEVER had to confront a protracted economic challenge. We should discuss and debate the issues against this landscape.

21. It is understandable that this is new territory…………..the government should then not be pretending otherwise.

22. @Adrian

What Alvin neglected to advise in his last comment based on his veil reference to civil servants is that a call from Inniss or Sinckler and a few others in Cabinet will also do the trick. Also is works in reverse, a whisper to lose the file also will work…lol. Of course you already know this and this is why you have tried to contact the goodly gentlemen.

23. @Well Well

Forget the government for the purpose of the discussion here. We are the ones who should feel responsible for contributing to fertile debate and discussion. We are the ones who are intelligent and educated not so? Because the politicians are debating half positions and using smoke and mirror tactics it does not mean we have to do similarly.

24. And Carson got the nerve to tell me i sound like i don’t live in Bim………..he would be shocked to learn that I can predict their every move……they have not bothered to change their ways, habits and mentalities since independence.

25. We continue to wait on the intervention of Sir Frank Alleyne.

26. David…………….problem with forgetting them is they are the vehicles whereby laws are changed, new changes are introduced and also where the mentalities of the population can also see positive change. I wish we could bypass them………..this particular crowd enjoy contradicting just for the sake of doing so but until we can find better vehicles, we are stuck with this lot…………..asking them to look deep within themselves to affect change and getting them to actually comply, might be a stretch. It would be wonderful if we can do it ourselves………….as apparently only a few of us are blessed with vision.

27. old onion bags Avatar

Am I the only one to notice the continual increase in For Sale signs on top residential homes in some very affluent neighborhoods….Signs of the times I guess. I can also say with more authority( landlord) the number of stores vacant in B’town is definitely some cause for alarm, no matter how quite Ac, Carson fractured and that lot wants to keep it quiet….I challenge anyone of them to visit town and come back and say otherwise…. Being SILENT will not make it go away nor will it do anything to help solve problems .

28. @Well Well

Flip the comment. As Chomsky opines, it is the many who have no idea of decisions which are taken by government. It is this ignorance which supports the status quo. Therefore let it be the remit of those in the know to share ideas views.

29. I noticed they have been uncharacteristically quiet, less boastful. and braggart………i have heard of the many businesses closing daily….you are right, it will not go away nor fix itself.

30. David…….that was a huge point well taken, years ago when people wanted to affect change they threw leaflets out of planes……….maybe one of our geniuses……..David Weekes…………..can come up with something just as or more effective……………the citizens do have the power to make that change irrespective of the leaders.

31. @ Lemuel

“Right now unless the House is off for a few weeks no minister can travel.”

And that is a good thing.

32. David,

We put forward lots of ideas here on BU but you see how they are met?

Case in point, the nonsense posted above by CCC. We know you won, CCC, you really want to go there with the arrogance that the voters rejected the BLP on February 21? People voted for change but you thugs in the DLP made sure that the people did not get that change so long desired, by going into the drug infested areas and bringing out the addicts to vote, people who could not care less if Barbados swims or sinks.

As much as we put forward good workable ideas, as long as we have strong headed goats like those in charge of our finances, the ideas will only stay here on BU. And you wonder why we have not heard a word out of Sir Frank? They do not have a clue. I have long relegated Sir Frank to the junk heap……..hypocrisy!

33. @Prodigal Son

The Westminster System breeds adversarial politics. It will take time and yes it will challenge the patience.

34. @ David
    “Nobody knows the blueprint to get out of this mess hence a potpourri of views are likely to spring forth”
    Is that a low blow…?
    …are you saying that Bushie is nobody…? 🙂

To be honest, it make very little difference that Fumble has gone back quiet… The tsunami that awaits us is such, that even if we were advancing forward at full steam, with intelligent and enlightened leadership….. The grass still awaits our collective donkeys.

Nothing personal against us ….
    The project is just scheduled to be terminated so that the next phase can commence.

Wuh wunna think that because a mason like building blockwork and plastering that the property owner will not at the appointed time chase his behind off the project – so that the painters can commence that phase of the building…?
    …not that masons are bad fellows… But TIME is UP!! 🙂

35. David wrote “Let us discuss the different views and leave the political rancor behind us.”

Neva happen.

Barbados has always been divided by political party allegiance.

It has gotten more “serious” because we went from rum corn beef an biscuit to steak an single malt.

There is still some meat on the bones of the calf.

36. “knows the blueprint to get out of this mess except” Bushie. nuff said

37. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

You are fitting nicely with the other BLP jokers and misfits on this blog.
    Using a lot words to say nothing at all.

The Country is in the best hands. The DLP is the hands of the proper party which created modern day Barbados and they will continue to lead this country to new heights. You lot will recognise it in the next 30 to 40 years like everything else that the DLP has done.

I feel so sorry for you all. You are going down this five year stretch the same way you went down the last five year stretch, and where did it lead? Back on the opposition benches much to your chagrin!!!

I have already offered the services of a Therapist to you disgruntled Barbados Labour Party members and supporters. She might help you grapple with reality.

Her name is Dr. Ermie Belle and by the way she is BLP, so you all will be in good company.

Misery really loves company!!!!!

DAVID
    LEMUEL
    OLD ONION BAGS
    PRODIGAL SON
    MILLER
    CRUSOE
    COL. BUGGEY
    islandgal246
    CASWELL FRANKLYN
    Simple Simon
    ETC., ETC.,

YOU ALL SOUND LIKE A STUCK RECORD. Five years gone and you still with the same foolishness, now they have drafted in another joker, WELL WELL.

38. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I have a few spare Glorious DLP Manifestos left over from Feb. 2013 that I am willing to share with you all and enlighten your darkness.

Just give me your Addresses so that I can drop them off for you.

39. Chuck in a new gear… and go where? Mere wishful thinking! Better to get them to admit they don’t have a clue. Neither D nor B.

40. five years and counting and the same ole sh..yt talk. IMF! Standard and POORss ! the bogey man!

41. Carson C……….did that manifesto mention the fact that cost you less would cause the closure of businesses or drain the foreign exchange, since cost you less will have to import most of the food sold to the public??

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

For five years and counting you all have been predicting the demise of Barbados.

Every year the DLP keep disappointing you.

43. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

You lot are true Barbados Labour Party members and supporters, OPPOSE, OPPOSE, OPPOSE, OPPOSE for the sake of opposing!

44. @onions

And what about you! you put uh house up fuh sale yet! if things so bad in bim why you staying here for. Why not do like WELL! and walk. still enuff time left fuh u to pack uh bags………

45. @CC ‘YOU ALL SOUND LIKE A STUCK RECORD. Five years gone and you still with the same foolishness, now they have drafted in another joker’
    —–

I am not a member of any political party. Not BLP, DLP.

But it is informative that because I or others disagree with you, you wish to ‘paint all with the same brush’ and ‘brand’.

One of the things, even possibly the ONLY thing that worries me silly, is something called ‘group think’ and one sided thought.

It seems that is what you and some of your DLP would wish us to adhere to, one of the most, if not most dangerous thought processes, manipulations etc, to mankind, in all respects.

Informative that you wish this.

That said, on the issue of the economy, ANY JACKASS, I repeat ANY JACKASS, can run an economy for a while on borrowings, whether they be from outside, internal or NIS funds being ravaged.

The problem arises when one cannot borrow any longer.

The real ability is to enable business and economic activity to get moving and generate jobs and the economic multiplier.

Currently, there are jobs losses WEEKLY, the main tourist belt i.e. the GAP is virtually SHUIT DOWN, Bridgetown is like ghost town and economic activity as witnessed by people moving around, spending on weekends, etc, which was clearly strong three and two years ago, is fast falling and already VERY slow. Evenings are now very quite at places of businesses and as witnessed by traffic.

Yet, you are still here, mouthing off that ‘tings awright’, tings awright’.

The only things that might worry me more than if you were merely touting the party line, is if you AND others in authority, actually BELIEVE THAT.

THAT would be frightening!!!!!!

46. ac | April 14, 2013 at 5:34 PM |
    @onions And what about you! you put uh house up fuh sale yet.
    ——
    Probably because it would just join the other thousand and two houses for sale in all areas, tourist belt, residential, etc etc…THAT CANNOT GET SOLD!

Things are brown, not just the grass, and if anyone does not see it, please send me a pair a those glasses, I need them.

47. Crusoe……….prepared to be frightened, like fright night……………I couple years ago when I saw the start of the downward slide that could have been corrected, while the leaders were in the ‘let’s wait and see what happens in the US, England mode’ I realized the danger that was rising to envelope businesses in Bim……………I believe in self-preservation and have this knack for knowing when to cut and run……..plus for me I happen to be very in tune with the mentality of the leaders in Bim, so it was adios. Let me tell you, not once did they disappoint.

48. @Crusoe

You were around on BU in the pre 2008 general election. You may recall the same commenters who are critical now were doing the same of the Arthur administration then. You should check the definition of troll when you get a chance.

49. , Unlike the leaders, I listened closely to what the rating agencies were saying and even closer to what they were not saying……………..Ha, Ha is all I can now say.

50. Carson

I am tired of your snide remarks and silly comments about and relating to me. I know that you are a fraud trying to make the DLP feel that you are committed to them. Leave me alone or I will tell them when you thought that the DLP was going to lose the election, you approached me at CBC after the taping of Xtrail and tried to get me to join you in the formation of a third party. I escaped from you by pretending to be busy and said to you, give me a call. You remember? So leave me alone and I would not let your DLP colleagues know that you are a traitor.

By the way, I have no interest in forming anything with faint hearted opportunists, whose only goal is self preservation.