Submitted by Gordon Jones
Dr. David Estwick, a key performer on the campaign platform

Although it might seem that I have been given the bad end of the stick it is my belief that I have been chosen by the Almighty, and my constituents of St Phillip West to work on behalf of this country.  My mother always said: time longer than twine and that the race is not for the swift but is for he that endureth.

Nation Newspaper (01/10/2010)

Despite a can-do attitude and an unmatched passion for politics the first term of the DLP administration was not been particularly kind or favourable to Dr.David Estwick. First there was the allegation of brandishing a firearm in the precincts of Parliament and then there was the public spat with a dying David Thompson ending with the now infamous Bajan quote ‘time longer than twine’.

Dr. Estwick who is affectionately known in the political arena as The Pitbull, undertook responsibility for crafting the economic message and arguments for the DLP campaign and also for analyzing the policies and personality of Owen Arthur and for the vicious attacks that resulted there from. Some will argue that it was the combined efforts of Dr. Estwick and Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart that ultimately destroyed the mystique and somewhat favourable memory of Owen Arthur as a leader capable of delivering prosperous times. The combined effort prove too fatal to Owen Arthur’s bid to regain the leadership of Barbados and the experience will serve these two well in 2018 when it is likely that they will be facing the more formidable challenger in Mia Mottley.

In addition, no other DLP candidate in the 2013 elections can match his 554 increase in votes nor his whopping 17 per cent increase over the 2008 vote tally. Not even the much acclaimed Chris Sinckler can match Dr. Estwick’s results in 2013 but that is not to undermine Mr. Sinckler’s performance in St. Michael North West but just to make sure the facts are not distorted, as is the want when it comes to Dr. Estwick.

In the 2003 elections Dr. Estwick secured 2714 votes, in the 2008 election he secured 2648 and in 2013 a massive 3, 720 votes. In each case defeating the same candidate in Lynette Eastmond.

The 2013 win for the DLP was delivered predominantly on the sharp intellects of Dr. Estwick and the Prime Minister and on the hard work of others like George Pilgrim, Donville Inniss, Ronald Jones and many others.

Clear the skies, the Pheonix has risen and is about to soar.

332 responses to “Dr. David Estwick – A Phoenix Rises from the Political Ashes”

1. Let’s hope that he gets better and takes his oath of office otherwise Freundel is up shit street. If James Paul is going to be Deputy Speaker, and he has already appointed all his senators, then he would have to choose a Minister from among them or “un-appoint” one one them and bring in someone who would have an interest in agriculture.

I do believe at the end of the pitbull’s huffing and puffing, he will shut his trap up, eat humble pie and take the pick, he needs it!

2. @Caswell
    “The best thing to do is to offer the job of Speaker to the Opposition”……

Caswell, you serious? The Dems on BU boasting that they won, let them govern as best as they could. If Mia joins them for this, she will have to deal with the fall out from the BLP membership. Of that I am sure! They won, TTP, ac and CCC keep throwing it in our face, we are not going to help them, they are an illegitimate government!

3. Actually David;

Estwick does not have to leave the DLP and FS cannot kick him out if he refuses the Ministry he has been offered.

Let me just paint one unlikely scenario as we all know that Estwick will eventually toe the line. Its this.

Estwick is holding all the cards.

FS can’t do a thing with him if he merely refuses to take up the Ministry offered him (The Ministry of Agriculture etc). He doesn’t have to become an independent. He just does a Mia Mottley.

Estwick probably cannot be sanctioned by the DLP council for refusing a Ministry also.
    The PM recognizes that there is a possibility that Estwick will do this therefore the current situation where Haynesley Benn is unallocated. Haynesley is in limbo precisely because if Estwick cannot be convinced to take the position offered he (Haynesley) will again take over the Ministry of Agriculture.

Doesn’t it seem strange that Haynesley’s role in the new Cabinet has not been clarified so far given that there seeems to be an expectation that OSA might step down from elective politics within 5 years. Haynesley has to be in the Cabinet to ensure the exposure needed for him to be certain to take the St Peter seat whenever it comes online. So logic says that the PM, despite whatever he says, is keeping Haynesley for the Min. Agriculture post as he is almost sure that Estwick will not take it.

Just one of my fantasies and usual over analysis as it is almost certain that, given the exigencies of Bajan politics, Estwick will once again meekly take the position offered. But can the PM be sure that he will act the same way this time as he did on previous occasions?

4. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

where wanna ppl living? earlier this week the DEM offer Cynthia Forde the Speaker’s chair. she tell them where to go. This is how people know they are in trouble. that is fact, let the DLP yardfowls (TTP, !, ac) on here say other wise.

5. Prodigal; I suspect that few people outside the Medical Field know that Estwick is the inventor of a piece of Medical Equipment that brings in royalties from all over the world. He can also go back to his medical practice, which along with a backbencher’s salary and the royalties, would keep him financially viable. In addition, an independent position in the House would make him the most important member of the house, calling most of the shots. Methinks he might be mulling over these possibilities in his mind as we speak.

6. Checkit-Out,

But Haynesley Benn is not in the Senate! The PM has already named the senators and as far as I remember Benn was not one of them. It was even being rumoured today that Benn is so vex,he was going to resign from the party! The PM may have to “un-appoint” one of the named senators and bring in Benn!

7. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

and here is the problem at hand. Estwick has made to many calls to people letting them know he is not happy. if he does not follow on with the promise that he does not want it, he looks like a rubber dog. if he does, he puts the DLP govt under pressure. chances are they will fall.

i don’t want this because this is not the time for this shit. not if you carry about the country, so Estwick should shut his cotton picking trap and go to the GG. for the good of this great land.

8. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

but Prodigal Son, you talking about Benn, what about James Paul? he won his seat. why is he being over looked the MOA? how does he feel about that? is he going to do something about it?

9. Oops! by “independent position in the house” in my post above I meant an “independently thinking DLP member” in the house. something like the position Mia took under OSA’s leadership.

Of course all this is total conjecture and examination of far fetched possibilities. Estwick is after all and over all a very loyal DLP. The only question is if sincerely thinks that if CS continues as MOF it will lead to dire happenings for the country then he might feel justified in holding out. Of course FS can’t go back on his cabinet choices, so we might have a case of an irresistable force butting up on an immovable object.

David; sorry to bring this matter up. I only did so as a mind game on the possible effects of the scenario I painted above even though one solution, Estwick getting sworn in as the Min of Agriculture sometime before Wednesday, is the only logical outcome.

10. Estwick listed a raft of his creative initiatives in Agriculture and Water among them after his visit to Japan a conversion of sea water to drinking water and electricity plant. He said the installation of the plant would flood Barbados with so much water shortages and outages would become non existent. He said he was put in charge of the Trini/Bim natural gas pipeline to drastically reduce cost of energy and by extension cost of living.

He plan to stop the unprofitable export of sugar keep it for local consumption and set up a sugar/bagasse factory to generate electricity for 50,000 households to slash cost of living and spend on energy imports. He was on about the new molasses and rum bonds at the port for increase export of spirits and the food security set up with Dr. Brathwaite etc.

These as he told us were transformational for the economy, ridding us of stagflation, creating jobs , saving foreign exchange and loosening the tourism strangehold. Why turn his back on his own projects which would secure his place in history for major contribution to the restructure of our economy?

11. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

Because Watching, this is bullshite and you know this MANNNNNNNNN!!!!!!

12. Prodigal Son; I did’nt know that Haynesley Benn was expressing displeasure at not being named in the cabinet. If that is so, it suggests that there is a deeper rot and fallout than is evident so far. So far it appears that Estwick isn’t pleased; Benn isn’t pleased and Paul isn’t pleased. With a majority of 8 or so the displeasure of 3 members over placement or non placement in the cabinet might be neither here nor there. However, with a House with an effective majority of 1 seat only, the people who are suggesting that this term might be a very short one only may have a good case if at this stage the PM could not placate 3 stalwarts of the party with inducements of some kind before their displeasure became known to the public.

Interesting days.

13. David (not BU)

I thought James Paul is slated to become Deputy Speaker? The victorious people do not have any wriggle room. They need a speaker, a deputy and a chairman of committees, dont they?

14. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I would like to set out a rambling mix of fact and supposition and draw an inference from the scenario. I keep hearing that Owen Arthur is planning to resign and allow Mascoll to run for St. Peter. When Mascoll was political leader of the Dems, Freundel was President and as far as I know they developed a friendship and had a good working relationship.

In the event of an Arthur resignation, the only thing standing between Stuart’s friend Mascoll and the seat would be Benn. Benn is now effectively sidlined by Mascoll’s friend Stuart. These political machinations are too scary even for me to contemplate, so I would leave it up to bloggers to speculate why Benn was thrown under the bus.

15. Look any flight by any Dem parliamentarian spells trouble for Mia because Owen is out there peeping ready to hustle back in and she again through the eddoes. The short man never say he done. The 5 Prior Park conspirators who plot against her are less happy than you all saying Estwick and Paul are. Payne and Marshall look pissed in the photo. Interesting to see if Mia make Marshall who betray her once her deputy. The fun and games set to begin or are they? The BLP told us 48 hrs ago the PM was in ICU. Lord come for your world.

16. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Lord come for your world.
    HE WILL AND VERY SOON

17. old onion bags Avatar

So finally Dr. Estwick got DEM hold up like a true pit bull.. ee BLOCKING…..Essie boi D whole a Barbados wanna see who is really behind that big brackish rough voice….Ya holdin all D cards Dawg…. Finally this is your moment in the lime light…WE AWAIT……whaloss !

18. old onion bags Avatar

Dr. Estwick now like a true Jesse James…..Doc take 2 steps back… put your hands in your kimba like a true star boy….and hollar….”Who robbin this train Boss, you or Jesse?” …..Leh dem know how is Big Dawg ! …Woof Woof….lol

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Watching | March 1, 2013 at 9:39 PM |
    “He plan to stop the unprofitable export of sugar keep it for local consumption and set up a sugar/bagasse factory to generate electricity for 50,000 households to slash cost of living and spend on energy imports.”

David (not BU) | March 1, 2013 at 9:54 PM |
    “Because Watching, this is bullshite and you know this MANNNNNNNNN!!!!!!”

At least there is another person in Bim who can see and smell bullshit and its depositor 21X 14 miles away.

50,000 household is over 50 % of total households in sugar land Bim.
    Would this amount of electricity be generated while the ratoons are being planted and the cane blades growing? Or is it only at crop time would we see 25,000 megawatts of generation enough to send man to the Sun and back?

Only in bullshit gullible “Buy”badus can such preposterous claims be made and go unchallenged.

20. old onion bags Avatar

Let J Paul or Benn be D minister of nut grass….you ent no palin cock boss…..time to flex

21. So we wait.

22. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Estwick is a very competent doctor and if the truth be told, even though some say that he never studied Economics, he is far superior to any of his DLP parliamentary colleagues in that discipline. You should note that the world over Economic theories have failed: the current world recession seems not to be falling in line with the nonsense that Economist have been spouting for years. So give Estwick a break in terns of his Finance and Economics background, at least he can add two numbers without the use of a calculator. That is more than I can say for a number of others.

That said, he is just a blowhard and I predict that his protest would just fizzle out just like his last when he was first appointed to Agriculture by a dying Thompson. The allure of being a Minister of the Crown is far too great: he will fall in line.

23. ”old onion bags | March 1, 2013 at 11:21 PM |
    Let J Paul or Benn be D minister of nut grass….you ent no palin cock boss…..time to flex”
    ————
    Onions, as my better half oft tells me, ‘you are having way too much fun with this’.

Good thing, in the interest of not spreading rumour, I have not mentioned more of what I heard, or you would be thinking that Estwick is thinking he be Django.

LOL.

24. Politics in BIM….new reality show!!!! Keep alla wunna from watching that North American crap…. 6 stupid people on an island marooned and bitching about one another.

25. old onion bags Avatar

I dis-agr38’….Lest ye forget Caswell, here before us stands a man wid political vintage and rough rider spirit (on the one side)…. while on the flippant, an inventor of celebrated medical patented( how many others blessed wid ministerial entitlements can make idle boast) ….a man of lineage …no johhny come lately. Dr.Estwick has to be treated with the respect deserving of his confers and not like a yard boy in short pants man…. And I do agree with you that he is the most qualified of the present lot for the position MOF. The man stands way above the “current many” I doubt Dr.Estwick will fold and throw away his hand….this is his crescendo moment . His unique position may never be replicated in Barbados’ political spheres again…..Ride on Dr. Estwick….. a possibly true phoenix rising from the sack cloth n ashes or a fading Roy Rogers into the jaded sunset…. Once more …we await..

26. No doubt the Blasted will be rooting that Estwick goes independent. Such is the nature of adversarial politics.

27. Rendered Assistance Avatar
    Rendered Assistance

The PM has upped the stakes by announcing Dr. Estwick to a Ministry which he obviously did not accept. But the PM has taken out and insurance policy by not yet appointing James Paul.

The Speaker will be Michael Carrington and Mara Thompson will be Deputy Speaker leaving James Paul free to take Ministry of Agriculture if Dr. Estwick refuses the appointment.nundortuantely that domes not help the PM if Estwick goes on the back bench or independent bench and votes with the opposition.

In is scenario the DLP administration would be VERY short lived.

28. @Rendered Assistance

If this scenario is as you suggest one wonders why Stuart did not take Estwick into his confidence about the role he was expected to play in a new government given is ‘history’. Bear in mind he was a key platform speaker. Some people have to be managed more closely than others.

29. Rendered Assistance Avatar
    Rendered Assistance

Dr. Estwick is reported to earn millions each year from his patented medical inventions. This makes him free to play this hand as he wishes.

30. Rendered Assistance Avatar
    Rendered Assistance

I agree. Dr. Estwick was a key to the DLP victory, there being two or three keys at most. I Think Dr. Estwick is smart enough to know he holds the cards even tho the PM holds the power. The PM has diffuse the situation or this bomb is going to blow everyone on the DLP side to pieces.

31. old onion bags Avatar

Crusoe | March 2, 2013 at 5:40 AM |

Good thing, in the interest of not spreading rumour, I have not mentioned more of what I heard, or you would be thinking that Estwick is thinking he be Django.

LOL.
    ……………

What rumour what….We all dun hear from the radio interview… straight from the horses mouth

32. As I see it, During the final reign of the BLP, Estwick was the lead in shadowing the MOF and had Owen on his toes. He made economic sense especially when he dealt with long term strategies. Unfortunately, Chris seems to believe in short and medium term strategies that are not working. Maintaining public employment is just a facade whilst the private sector is being engulfed with increase VAT, utility charges and reduced sales and in the end faced with closures. I say, David is better MOF by far. Maybe, the PM is afraid that David my be a challenge to his position. Presidents, Prime Ministers and Bosses are always wary of a talented deputy especially if that leader is weak in dealing with issues and unable to take the country or the business forward.

33. I have been firm in all my postings that David should be MOF and I stand by my statements.

34. Does Estwick have a powerbase within the parliamentary group?

35. Rendered Assistance Avatar
    Rendered Assistance

I doubt he enjoys a lot of support in the Parliamentary Group certainly not more that Stuart. That said, it is clear that David is taking (rightly or wrongly) his power from his national support and the inherent weakness of a 16 – 14 government.

36. Rendered Assistance Avatar
    Rendered Assistance

If he does not swear in by Monday as assued by the PM, what then?

37. a whole bunch of “Contortionist ” GEE! haven’t we learned anything that BOSSMAN STUART is many steps ahead of wunna , BENN has been taken under the PM wings for “good reasn” in time you would see.

Hi onions. did yu hear PRINCIPAL BROOMES! a Damascus moment indeed! i wonder what happen to the other “contortionist ” observing the one with the observing eye. He told BU that BROOMES was going to set fire to govt house cause he was owed plenty by govt . WUHLOSS ! now a converted and docile broomes. looks like he has settled down comfortably in his role at parkinson.

38. It is almost certain that Estwick will accept the MOA post and Haynesley will be given a position and Hutson will be rewarded for his faithful service etc. etc. as nothing else makes sense. But the manner in which this whole quite simple situation has been handled speaks volumes about the perspicacity of the PM, the only one with responsibility for choosing his cabinet. Perhaps, despite what he says, Illness might have been responsible for some of the decisions (and that would tell another story).

If this entire matter is a harbinger of things to come and if it provides an insight into the quality of decision making of the PM as well as his possibly having a predeliction for minimal consultation with his closest stakeholders, we are in for a rough ride in Barbados over the next few weeks, months and perhaps years.

39. old onion bags Avatar

Hi ac

Welcome to the Boston Tea Party…,,like you too sweating bullets so early tis morning…..On another matter looks like Seale’s horse going win the Gold cup again this afternoon…

40. Prime Minister Stuart has totally confounded you BLP supporters.
    He is smarter than all of you.
    You said that he created a constitutional crisis by calling the election too late. He did not and won.
    You said that the estimates would not be ready because there is not enough time. The estimates will be debated in the month of March.

Now you recognized that everything is in place for a DLP government with a reduced majority, you have turned to conspiracy theories on the health of the PM. You are now searching for the last ditch effort of getting Mr.Estwick not to accept his Ministerial post.

David told the DLP supporters not to gloat but maybe he should remind the BLP supporters to go and take a rest from the false rumours they are spreading to get over the hurt of not having their hands on the treasury.

Onions I am glad you did not change your name so I can recognize your pain.

41. Dr David Estwick is unlikely to join the cabinet or government bench in parliament. Two things to note
    1. A PM does not name a MP to a Ministry which the MP has declined
    2. A PM keeps his word and honors his promises.
    I believe the PM is not handling this right. If he thinks he is going to manhandle Dr David Estwick then he better think twice. They will fire Fruendel before the ship sinks.

42. David; He doesn’t have to have a powerbase in the parliamentary group to refuse the post of MOA offered and continue to sit as a DLP member of parliament.

He holds the cards. If he insists that all he wants is the MOF job and FS rightly insists that it is no longer available we will then see who blinks first and who is man.

It is quite possible, even likely, that he will be persuaded of the futility of his apparent stance and the likelihood that it will very adversely affect the DLP. But I think he can become a backbencher and make life miserable for CS for the rest of the life of this parliament without any legal sanctions. The effect on FS’ pmship would be just collateral damage.

Estwick is no ordinary garden human being.

In such a situation, what powerbase what?

43. Clone; the next 5 days will show if you are right.

44. @Checkit-Out and Rendered Assistance

The issue of powerbase was to make a bigger point. Conferring a ministry to anyone is at the prerogative of the PM. In this case Estwick does not have any powerbase within the parliamentary group which would force Stuart to give him what he wants. The fact that the DLP has a 2-seat majority gives Estwick an advantage BUT it is not one which any leader would want to succumb. It is tantamount to extortion. Estwick will likely fall in line.

@Clone

If the BLP had won the election preparing for the Estimates would not be a slam dunk. Remember the election was close.
    BTW, you obviously have missed BU comments asking for BLP supporters to line up behind the government and give them a chance.

45. Observing(...) Avatar
    Observing(…)

You have transformed your gloating into blatant lies. I have NEVER said that Broomes WILL set “fire” to any place or anything remotely close to that since I had no clue about the legality of his “letter”

If you continue to purposely misrepresent my words and positions for your blogging upliftment and I will have return in kind with truth, facts and your own exact words and miswords.

Enjoy the victory of OUR government, the appointment of OUR cabinet let’s give them a chance to settle, let’s see what the estimates are like and let’s hope the PM and AG say or do something about the election day scourge that has become the expected norm.

These are changing times. Observing rather than random spouting is best.

@all
    Estwick will be interesting. He’s now been “shunned” by both DT and FS after saving the economic day in Haggat Hall 2008 and West Terrace 2013. Now his ministerial progress depends on Finance’s discretion. He’s as loyal a Dee as they come but everyone has a limit.

Just observing

46. Check it Out

David Estwick will force the PM’s hand one way or the other. It will become crystal clear why Dr David Estwick is refusing to be a part of a Cabinet where Sinckler is Minister of Finance, just wait for the estimates debate in parliament when Sinckler has to show that the public finances in this country are a complete and total mess and are going from bad to worse.

I am with Dr David Estwick on this one.

47. old onion bags Avatar

A pea or a partridge..
    A peacock or a fowl…
    A gamblers dream worthy of drum.
    How the doctor will play them..
    For sure, for some
    Glossy hiccup to shun.

48. Checkit-out
    Do not give me five days. Give me five years because your predictions were wrong for the past five years

49. David
    A PM cannot and should not name a mp to cabinet when that mp has refused the appointment.

50. Observing(...) Avatar
    Observing(…)

@david
    Estwick doesn’t need a powerbase.

2 from 10 leaves none.

This slim parliamentary majority is historic in nature and fascinating in drama. If the players had more courage, then a lot of what needs(ed) to be done would have been long time ago. Timidity and passivity is the order of the day while the real sharks swim free.

Just Observing