DLP 2008 Manifesto under heavy criticism by the Opposition.

BU joins many who are concerned about the lack of ideas and fertile discussion coming from the political platforms by both political parties.  One should easily have thought that the economic and social challenges which confront global economies  – and which ours is very dependent – would have guided the platform speak of all candidates in the coming general election.

The other concern is the reluctance by the two major political parties to release their Manifestos at the earliest time in what is a short campaign period. Up to now a Manifesto was taken for granted by the political parties and the public. BU is hopeful that in the age of social media the time has come where ordinary citizens will be able to demand accountability of our governments. What we have is the ridiculous situation of politicians barking about the past instead offering proposals of how to chart a path forward for Barbados.

We wait!

118 responses to “General Election 2013, a Campaign of Nothing So far”

1. Have a listen to the first 10 minutes of Adriel Brathwaite at Rices last night.

http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/29029450

2. An on the other side:

3. @David
    Follow the BLP at BayStreet and hear clear policies. An absolute difference between the BLP and that nonsense Adriel Brathwaite engaged in. Mascoll explaining how to lower electricity bills and the policies of the BLP in their return to power.

The DLP has been running from all the serious issues, hurling nasty personal attacks.

4. Ddaravid there is a history in Barbados of theft of ideas at election time.

The real campaign starts when the manifestos are made public.

Right now we are treated to salacious tales, comedy and vacuous threats.

5. sorry for the misspell

6. @Fed Up

BU is not concerned about cosmetic changes which will bring feel good satisfaction in the short term.

7. @Hants

Why are Barbadians – including our traditional media – tolerating this foolishness? In a campaign period of only 3 weeks why should we allow 1 week to past without calling for the MANIFESTOS?

8. @ david
    You can’t see the BLP strategy?

9. David please look at the videos and listen to people in the street.

Bajans are only interested in political entertainment.

The bloggers on BU do not represent the crowds I see in the videos.
    Dem dey to fete and de BLPites dey to party.

10. I too am very concerned about the lack of anything of value in the campaign so far, but only today I was telling someone that the manifestos would, or, should contain the meat of the party proposals. I don’t expect them out until a week or so before elections. Although mind you, the DLP one of 2008 was full of gimmicks and tricks, free this and free that. For that reason alone, I knew that it was a desperate attempt at not being in the wilderness for 19/20 yrs. Duty free promises that would never of happened any way.

Unfortunately most people bought it, including the blogs. BU and BFP were doing some serious DLP spinning and BLP comment blocking back then.

Until…..

11. @Enuff

Where is the strategy articulated?

We should operate to our standards.

12. I meant election strategy…simmer down. lol

13. Owen Arthur is a relic of the past ( 1994 – 2008 ) . There is nothing refreshing or innovative that he can bring to the governance landscape of Barbados. Prof. Neville Duncan will agree with my assertion as well.

For example, in Haggatt Hall on Saturday night he double spoke on the economic environment.

# in one sentence he said things are tough locally and regionally….then the very next sentence he says the DEMS caused it !

No wonder Lil Rick had to be leading him around the stage………he is now seeing DOUBLES. !

Barbados deserves the BEST………not BITTER .

DEMS………always.

14. I’m at work what is the BLP crowd like in Bay Street? It larger than the Dees last week? The Bees hire two and half dozen entertainters last time Im wondering if they repeat that . No wonder Stuart asking where this lotta lick out money coming from. I want to know too wont mind getting my hands on some free blenza.

15. @enuff

There is an emphasis on execution andthe appearance of team.

Interesting to note also that Mia spoke in front of Arthur tonight. And it was interesting to see how Barney Lynch was manged to deflat recent comments from the PM.

What is your observation?

16. Mia sounded great.
    Owen now warming up, I would take my changes with Owen, because the DLP moves too slow for my liking. Even Standards & Poor, and Moodys felt that the DLP moved too slow during the time of the late PM Thompson’s sickness. The whole country was at a stand still, at least the BLP with do things and try things, I prefer to try and be wrong that to do nothing.

Until……….

17. The crowd the crowd how big is it

18. @ David
    Haha Barney was simply telling the PM bring yuh wife and come. Like you, Mia coming after Dale and introducing Owen. The Bees pushing the Dems in a corner, they know their strategy is smut and nothing else as that record can not be defended. Stay away from smut, force the Dems to do likewise and their strategy catspraddled.

19. David

Why do you keep bothering yourself about manifestos? It is clear that the DLP only produces a manifesto because that is what happens in an election campaign. From as far back as Sandiford, they claim that a manifesto is not a social contract. The present lot has governed as though they had not produced one: they ignored it, and now they are saying that it is only a statement of intentions.

You seem to be surprised that the politicians are not really dealing with the issues. The problem is that the issues are too complex for most of them to handle. They are more at home with rumour and gossip. The DLP is now trying to prosecute the BLP based on information that they would have had in their possession for years. If this information suggest any wrongdoing on the part of any former government official, we should be asking why was this information not used to secure a criminal conviction. Unless, the information was presented to the DPP, I, personally do not want to hear it. Politicians laughing at we.

20. Fiddler on Roof Avatar

@ Caswell

The foreign bank accounts of former ministers soon gonna hit the big screens and the platforms. Barbados too small to expect to hide them ten and tens of millions of dollars.

21. The sad thing is that when one moves through the crowd this platform comedy is what seems to be of interest. However some of us who know better must continue to highlight issues.

22. By the way, many sensible Barbadians understand that the global slow down has prevented many promises from being realised _ however, we also know that many promises were made without proper consideration for implementation. This is where politicians show that they are the masters an we the servants.

23. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

It is really unfair to the country to have evidence of wrongdoing and conceal it because you want to make a splash in a campaign. The Public Service Act makes it an offence for officers to know of wrongdoing and not report it to the relevant authorities. Politicians put that law in place for public officers but they fail to see that it is reasonable that something similar should apply to them. You see why I have opted to stay away from politics. Politicians somehow feel that they should not be regulated.

24. from what is being said the BLP is promising to reduced the fuel charges on the light bill by reducing the vat and handing out profits. from BNOC.Alsopromising to increase public servants wages. Talk about gimmicks.. Waiting to hear how the BLP plan on reducing the high debt and pay off the outstanding loans left behind from their administration. the BLP is talking issues but is lying about how they are going to get the promises they are making durable .
    the dots are not being connected. more like the politics of spagehetti being thrown in the air and hoping some stick.

25. Watching Carefully and Listening. Avatar
    Watching Carefully and Listening.

If nothing , as you claim , is coming from the platforms , that is a clear indication that the OPPOSITION is failing miserably . It is left for the opposition to drive the incumbent Government to defend its record and in the meantime provide plausible alternatives . Can you honestly say that they have been doing this ? it would seem they are more interested in feteing hence the Haggatt Hall circus .

26. barbados need a tariff tax free enterprise zone, where factories can be set up to manufacture or assemble products to be sold elsewhere (caricom) and beyond this would create jobs other than tourism and bring in foreign currency

27. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

Yes dear-hearts, me and my girls went up Rices Sunday night ef yuh please! It was hot. Sinckler wash of Affah wid licks. My foot like it wanta hurt me. I went in Swan Street Saturday and buy a cheap pair a soft wears. One foot good but de other one burning me lil bit at de back yuh know. Anyhow, dat cant stop me cause I got nuff walking bout to do.

I see de Bees keep a dance Saturday night and had a lil spot meeting in Bay Street last night too. But wait, all now Affah can’t deny wa my PM say about how Affah wanta get de rid a Mia! Murda, de lil short man frighten enuff fuh Freundel. Tek it light. de best is yet to come.

BEES… BUZZ OFF!

28. Pearlie sweetie, you got muh laffing but we dun wid DEMS!

29. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

BUZZ OFF dear heart. BEE GONE!!

30. When will all the evidence of wrongdoing come to light when everyone is having such a good laugh at all the comedy, maybe when they are unable to buy food, then they will force the hands of the leaders, who knows.

31. Think Differently Avatar
    Think Differently

@ Well Well & Caswell

First we have to have the entertainment, you know bajans like a party before the serious business take over the campaign.

Tomorrow night Fruendel going to produce the hand written note from Owen which is handwritten on the official stationary of the Leader of the Opposition.

After that coming the FBI report and the bank accounts. And after that a week before the elections the audio tape at the Pegasus Hotel in Kingston, Jamaica where the HMP Dodds prison deal was carved and profits determined by those in attendance.

32. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

Think Differently, dont tell de Bees nuffin let dem find out de hard way cause dem hardears. When Freundel ready Affah gine be stuttering am am am … Murda! Dont tell de Bees nuffin. Dah’s dem business fa keep Affah instead a Mia.

33. The BLP campign is/all smoke and mirrors which is trying to appeal to an uneducated electorate but bajans not so stupid to be misled by the false promise of vat reduction. when everybody is aware that the most important sector which is tourism cannot handle sufficently the burden of producing enough foreign reservers that it used to and the vat is one to the ways available for shoring the reserves up. OSA is a voodoo economist tryng to pull the wool over the electorate eyes.

34. Think Differently Avatar
    Think Differently

@ Perlixin Pearlie

And you know Owen had the gall to tell Fruendel, take Mia and I (OSA & BLP) will talk whomsoever you wish to give in exchange.

If Fruendel produces that document and what he (FS) is saying turns out to be the truth then OSA is guilty of human trafficing.

35. Buying and selling. Authorities keep saying human trafficking is slavery, is this what politicians are lowering themselves and each other lower to.

36. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

TD dear heart, dont mek me an you fall out. You talking out all de juicy details man. Wait til tomorr night neh! Tek it light. Murda!

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fiddler on Roof | February 5, 2013 at 6:36 AM |
    “The foreign bank accounts of former ministers soon gonna hit the big screens and the platforms. Barbados too small to expect to hide them ten and tens of millions of dollars.”

Let any candidate for the DL try it and see the million dollar lawsuits that will be filed against the candidate(s) both jointly and severally. The same foreign banks holding these phantom accounts will also be suing the same so-called whistleblowers for the falsification of fabricated figures and the unauthorized “stealing” of highly confidential private misinformation unlike the CLICO forensic report which was ‘stolen’ or even the only copy of a FBI report gone missing for the last 5 years or more.

You should stop fiddling around with things that are beyond your simplistic understanding of Data Protection legislation in progressive societies with mature well regulated financial and banking systems and where laws are enforced; if you can get where we are coming from.

38. @Think Differently
    “Tomorrow night Fruendel going to produce” & “If Fruendel produces that document”

Enough said.

@Watching
    “It is left for the opposition to drive the incumbent Government to defend its record

Some may say they have no real record to defend.

@enuff
    “The Bees pushing the Dems in a corner
    The Dems have started to push back. Will have to see how much the headstart impacts the overall race.

you are correct. We deserve better. Will the real leaders please stand up?

Just Observing

39. I swear they should all be in jail. Taxpayers would be a hell of a lot better off.

40. Interesting story today with the US Justice Department about to file suit against Standard and Poors over mortgage bond ratings. This is an interesting test case. Whereas there is clear precedent for Auditors firms, for example to be sued (Arthur Andersen), the opinions of ratings agencies have always been presumed to be protected as “Free Speech” and not subject to legal liability.

41. We voting Dems again Avatar
    We voting Dems again

David here is substance for you.
    Dr Dennis Lowe breaks down Owen Athur’s privatisation snake oil rescue plan:

-He told the citizens that the DLP has no plans of privatising anything in the manner of the opposition. Analysing the proposed plan by the opposition, Lowe spoke of the resulting unemployment. He highlighted, “The privatisation of the NCF, number of jobs to be lost, 300. The privatisation of education, number of jobs to go 1 000. The privatisation of health care, number of jobs to be lost, 2 000 jobs. The privatisation of the Barbados Water Authority, 1 000 persons must go home. The privatisation of the airport, 700 persons must go. The privatisation of the seaport, 800 persons must go. The privatisation of the Transport Board, another 1 000 persons. The privatisation of CBC, another 400 persons. The privatisation of NCC, 1 000 people. The privatisation of the Sanitation Service Authority, 1 100 people must go. The privatisation of the Harrison’s Cave, 300 persons. That is more than the current work population there. The privatisation of drainage, 200 persons. The privatisation of the BADMC, 200 persons and the privatisation of the School Meals Department, 1 200 persons must go.”

Let the Bees stay where they are in Gibson house and in Opposition.

42. Noticed the BLP yard folws are suspiciously quiet about the plans OSA have for the economy many of which are giveaways and nothing of substance for rebuilding the economy..mascoll have not even come to the reality that a golbal meltdown has affected major sectors that once kept many countries afloat. Yet he is trying to compare the years of plenty to the recent years of famine worlwide.

43. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right! Avatar
    Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right!

Ex nihilo nihil fit.

Out of nothing comes nothing.

The transition out of the voice of the confection seller to the horn of the snow cone man to the universal jingle of the ice cream cone truck may inform a little on this issue.

Even from as early as 4 years old any child can in their dim world of reasoning recognise that it is impossible to expect that after hearing the snow cone horn to find the ice cream van in front of Mummy’s house.

The issue of the dearth of ideas from either side of the “divide” is of no consequence to the “wuk up youth” who are constantly in party mode as we might have been in those tender years.

Unfortunately those of us who like to pontificate in this quarantined zone far away from what is happening on the streets of Barbados may be amazed at the simplistic reasoning of these teeming masses and the ease with which they will be swayed at the ballot boxes.

In their cretinous minds there is no need for OSA or the nitwit Adriel Brathwaite, nor any of the other 56 (yes there are only 2 who have sense on their combined platforms) to present any reasoned argument or clear strategy of a way forward for Barbados, past Moody’s or S&P,as long as the DJ Hypadog is likking the music that is the extent and basis of their current and future vote.

That is why some may agree with the practice in many past civilizations of according the privilege of voting to a select few.

When all uh dem get close to my age ladies and gents maybe, just maybe wisdom will set in after dem cant gyrate so furiously.

Maybe when osteoporosis set in and dem cant toss dem botsie suh high (talking about the buxom ladies only and yes i make no excuses for beint “a leecherous ole man” who is “old but not cold”) then maybe wisom will set in and dem will realise that having a fool officiating over the affairs of the Ministry of Social Services and NIS and a NGO clown whose only claim to fame is seeing the world while he was the Director of CPDC
    as the Minister of Finance is not too wise.

Do not think that this is limited to one side of the “Divide” my Bajan compadres cause having Mr. false Teets as we Minister of Public Works, a man who cannot propose any coherent strategy for road improvements if his next set of teet implants depended on it, is similarly devoid of any reason.

But (bad english is besieging my contributions of late) it is what we deserve and to quote the late Mayor Koch ” the people have voted and the people must be punished”

44. Think Differently Avatar
    Think Differently

@ millertheanunnaki

Barbadians, whether natural or otherwise are required by law to register foreign bank accounts with the Central Bank of Barbados. Failure to do so is a criminal offense and thats even before we get into the contents of such unregistered bank accounts and the origin of those monies.

The DLP will not be bullied by fear, the Prime Minister will show the oposition for what they are and also show how they benefitted when the had 14 years in office. Data Protection legislation does not trump the public’s right to know which politicians are violating the law in relation to unregistered bank accounts and whether those funds were honestly or fraudulently obtained.

Relax, all in the goodness of time.

45. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right! Avatar
    Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right!

@ Think Differently

A Change Gonna Come Sam Cooke 1964

I was around 30 when Cooke Crooned this song over the airways and i remember fondly the sweet encounters that resulted from his song and my essays with ….

I really dont think that many of you understand how a see-saw works.

When it was important for David Thompson (may he rest in piece) and Fumble Stuart to inform the public of the indiscretions of Dale Marshall, Owen S, Muscle Mary et al. they remained quiet.

Much like “speak now or forever more hold thy peace” these political nitwits kept their mouths closed and as opposed to destroying the political careers of their enemies/opponents they remained dumb.

Do you think that a single instance,or imagined indiscretion, in this finite 3 weeks of election fanfare and wuk up, is going to make a difference to how the masses (and the lower middle class that finds itself impoverished under the tour of duty of Fumble the sleeping giant) is going to vote?

As the young people say “meat going pull’ and they going pull Fumble and the Sinkliar out Illaro like pigs to the market

(Note that i did not say that Sinkliar looked like a pig)

46. Think Differently Avatar
    Think Differently

@ Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right!

How ever the young people vote or not vote as the case maybe, that is their right.

I await the expression on the faces of the youth when they see first hand that the politicans don’t care about them only about padding the foreign bank accounts with millions and millions of dollars.

47. I was at the meeting last night and the only person that aint talk no smut was Maria Agard, Mia Mottley and Anthony Wood. I aint stand to hear Owen talk. Barney Lynch deserves al the licks he getting. He started this gutter talk bout how the PM black, and nose broad. And now he getting blindsided cause the Frenduel fighting back. He was forced to bring his wife out to the stage last night to introduce him to try to quell the ‘rumours’ abut him. And on another note, nearly all of the speakers that night except for the few I mentioned, began their speech about the DEMS talking smut and not about the issues. Then in the next 5 minutes of their speech they still continued to talk the exact same smut. Smh.

48. @Rubes 7.19am
    Good contribution and worthy of serious consideration.There are such facilities in other regional jurisdictions like Panama and Curacao.
    @Voting dems again 10.35am
    If you say Lowe sed this,I accept that.I counted 11,300 positions.This present DEMS party is borrowing $40 million per month to help pay for these positions abd there is no corresponding revenue coming in to maintain this situation.If the DEMS should form the next Government and God forbid,a decision will have to be made on these positions.You must agree that harvesting will be done or face downgrade from Junk to Garbage status and a huge devaluation.I heard a clown say on a platform that the BWU must not allow the port to be privatised because it would deny them the right to starve bajans in the event of a strike.And I should vote for these fools?Stupid people deserve the government they get.

49. Jus Mekkin Sport Avatar
    Jus Mekkin Sport

@Gabriel Tackle
    Yes true, but also true is the Government they get, WE also get.
    Always run from the “Wisdom” of the masses.
    @Piece of de rock
    Out of Nothing comes Nothing.
    Rather ;out of nothing must come something,otherwise there is no beginning,therefore no end and we are thus in a limbo of existence as we have at this moment in time.Whereby we are cursed with a plethora of “something,” which is indefinable and unable to be catagorised and useless to man or beast.
    IE The Political System of Barbados and those that inhabit it.

50. VOTING BLP